grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

“Change your lifestyle or order your casket, because you will be dead in one year.” That was the blunt advice of my doctor about 25 years ago, after she reviewed my cholesterol test results.

I had harmed my body with unhealthy food, especially when I attended University. After I graduated, I added: no-exercise, very late working hours, and the stress of structural engineering, where getting a calculation 99% right can be fatal to the users of the structures that I had designed.

After agreeing to change my lifestyle, she advised me to do three things. First, I was to visit nutritionist Dr Mark Alleyne at Sir Winston Scott Polyclinic, then get a massage, and do some exercise.

Dr Alleyne advised me to stop eating all dairy products and red meat, and gave me a menu of food choices. He also taught an exercise class, which I agreed to join. When I returned to the office, I searched the yellow pages for a massage business and made an appointment for after work.

When I entered the massage business, the lady turned off the lights and lighted candles. I inquired about this and she said that it was aromatherapy. I said that I came for a massage. She asked what type. I said the type that doctors prescribe.

She asked me to remove my clothes, so I stripped down to my underwear. Perhaps seeing my embarrassment, she said that I had the option of keeping it on. I took that option. Then she told me to lie face down on the bed.

She put both of her hands on a muscle on my neck and squeezed – hard. My body immediately tensed to try to suppress the pain. She told me that it was a knot and that I must not tense up, but I could not help myself.

She then put my arm behind my back and raised it until my shoulder blade stood out. Then she rammed her elbow under my shoulder blade. I opened my mouth to scream, but no sound came out. I wanted to cry, but no tears welled up.

The way that she contorted my body made tensing muscles ineffective at dulling the pain from her main tool, her elbow. So, I relaxed my body and decided to endure the torture in silence. That fateful decision only seemed to make matters worse – for me, since she did not know how much pain she was causing.

There is a level of pain between what a human body can endure, and death. That is where she took me, again and again. This pain was visionary – I believe I saw the gates of heaven.

At the end of the session, she seemed exhausted and finally spoke. She asked me to grade the level pain I had felt on a scale of 1 to 10. I said that it was a 9, because I suspected that a 10 was designed to kill her enemies. She explained that she does not like to start the first session so high, but that I had a lot of knots.

I paid her the agreed sum, and she said to return in 2 weeks to get the other knots out. I had complied with the doctor’s instruction to get “a massage”. However, I did not like the idea of paying someone to beat me up, so I decided to keep the remaining knots.

The following evening, I attended Dr Alleyne’s exercise class. He led us in a stick-dance of over 70 moves, to calypso music. After about 2 minutes I was exhausted – my mouth was dry, my heart was hurting, and I started seeing those black stars.

I thought how I could gracefully leave the class, but I was too embarrassed by my comparative lack of stamina. So I pushed through the 2-hour intense class moving as little as possible. At the end of the class, I decided to give future classes 100% of my effort – and I did.

After the first week, the fat around my waist and around my face was gone. After week two, I regained the body of my youth. After week three, I was ripped with muscles. Then I had an engineering assignment in Nevis.

When I returned to Barbados, I got another cholesterol test done. This time, the results were impressively good. I have maintained good health since then.

I knew that I was not healthy 25 years ago. But it took the bluntly presented option of prematurely ordering my casket to force me into meaningful action. May it have a similar effect on you.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

178 responses to “Order Your Casket”

1. Mr. Politician sir,

The cyber bully Donna has only one vote. There are many other readers and potential voters who do not believe that you got your deadly cholesterol level under control, lost troublesome body fat and got ripped in three weeks. For many of them who struggle have and are struggling with similar issues your story is incredible. It affects your credibility. If you are going to have a chance at winning an election you need your credibility. That is your currency. That is how you were supposed to be separating yourself from the Duopoly. You were supposed to be Mr. Nice Guy Christian fed up with all the duplicity, dishonesty and destructive decision-making, armed with no nonsense practical solutions for Barbados.

Why not be a smart little politician and dispatch the cyber bully Donna back to her lair with her tail between her legs??????????

What Donna believes is not that important when counting votes. There are some people who will believe your test results. So post them dear Grenville, dear Grenville, dear Grenville. So post them, dear Grenville, dear Grenville, post them! Don’t be like Henry who never did fix that hole in the bucket!

There’s a hole in your image, dear Grenville, dear Grenville! There’s a whole in your image, dear Grenville, a hole! Then fix it, dear Grenville, dear Grenville, dear Grenville! Then fix it, dear Grenville! Then fix it, dear Grenville, dear Grenville fix it!

And don’t forget the voice note or letter from the doctor.

PS. Nice try with the deflection there. But no cigar!

2. Correction – who have struggled and are struggling

3. This was supposed to be my brilliant contribution to this topic, but I place it elsewhere in error.
    Read, learn and enjoy,

A casket
    A basket
    A gasket
    Brexit
    Trumpet
    Forget it

4. PLEASE SEE FREEDOMS COMMENTS… Freedom Crier January 5, 2020 12:41 PM

https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/01/05/sweet-sunday-sermon-typological-method-of-bible-study/comment-page-1/?unapproved=1285206&moderation-hash=8d98ee2f9e7a183d1fdcb30542962e49#comment-1285206

ASTOUNDING… SEEMS THE CONGREGATION IS DIMINISHING EVEN FURTHER EVER WONDER WHY?

CONSIDER THE FOLLOWING! …

SUNDAY CHURCH BY PREACHER GP AKA THE GRAND CLOWN …SPEAKING THE WORD ON SUNDIES IN HIS SUNDAY SERMONS WHILE SPEAKING IN PORNOGRAPHIC IMAGERY WHILE PLAYING THE GRAND CLOWN THE REST OF THE WEEK UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF HIS SIDE KICK AND MENTOR…PIECE THE LEGION

5. @Donna: “PS. I never said there is anything wrong with studying metaphysics. I said it’s a pity you needed to study it IN ORDER TO FIGURE OUT what should have been obvious to anyone with a modicum of common sense.

Your gracious apology accepted.

And what can I say about having to learn a bunch of stuff before I figured out what was obvious to you?

Sorry, as a dyslexic / OCD / autistic scale type of person, I’m often a little slow…

6. That sure would explain it! Try not to fix your obsessive compulsive sights on me! I have done my time with that mess and have no more patience to spare.

7. @Donna: “Try not to fix your obsessive compulsive sights on me! I have done my time with that mess and have no more patience to spare.

Please trust me on this… I manage my Time /very/ carefully. It is a finite resource. I expect rational people to act similarly.

I cannot promise that I will never interact with you ever again. I invest my time and energy where I consider it to be potentially useful and/or valuable.

Oh, and BTW, to quote your above: “You may have the last word, oh Whitey One, offensive or otherwise. I have more juicy fish to fry.

8. Wow. BU’s cyber bullies are active even on a Sunday. I guess the devil rides his own every day of the week, and then discards them. Wise up bullies.

9. Piece the Legend Avatar

Bedroom Policeman aka Grenville

Dont you notice that YOU HAVE NOT COME BACT TO TOUR SUBSTANTIVE TOPIC, NOT ONCE?

how you think that makes you look little man?

Imagine that a man who wants to be Prime Minister getting sidetracked by people exposing his 2 week fat guy to ripped specimen of a MAN’S A LIE.

And you get sucked into the same trap every single day, every hour!

But bacy to your monkey web site Bedroom Policeman

You said and t I quote

“…The greatest obstacle to improvement lies within you, the reader – the voter.

This obstacle is the fear of change.

People would rather stay with what they know, regardless of how incompetent, than with what they do not know…”

“Regardless of how incompetent?”

To what does the word incompetent refer Bedroom Policeman?

an object or a human? De ole man, unlike many would suggest the incompetent cannot be use wit an inanimate object because competent can only be attributed to a person.

You then continue!

“Hopefully, after reading our Policy Solutions, you will at least know what we support, and to what we object…”

“And to what we object?”

“And to what…”???

Look, stop writing these articles and get a professional writer to first simplify your message AND THEN PROOF READ THEM, BEFORE PUBLISHING THEM

Your are definitively no Academic but simply get help FOR WHAT YOU DONT KNOW

10. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

11. @Grenville: “I guess the devil rides his own every day of the week, and then discards them.

It really is quite an amazing thing to observe empirically, isn’t it?

Their deep and hurtful attacks bounce of our skins like peas shot from straws.

As previously said, I don’t do a lot of video, but I am a huge fan of the Babylon 5 SciFi series.

Please see this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kHPY9W4qd9Q

As poignant today as it was then.

12. Dear Readers:

I believe that they have now exhausted themselves. One week of pure hatred by BU bullies Piece, Porgie and Donna, preserved here for all to read.

The catalyst? A benign post to encourage persons to pay attention to their health. Good grief.

13. GRENVILLE

ALL I ASK IS THAT YOU PRESENT SOME REAL PRACTICAL SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS.

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man was busy all day so…

To the liar Bedroom Policeman

What would you do if you faced a challenge where your fadder was a teif?

Would he feel the full consequences of the law OR WOULD YOU FORGIVE HIM LIKE MUGABE DO SHE FADDER???

so what do you have to say to the electorate of Barbados bout this item below?

“…Florida Profit Corporation

Shenfield Incorporated

Date filed: 6/1/1987

Event Date Filed: 9/14/2007

Principal Address:
    11620 S.W. 99 Street
    Miami, Florida 33176…address changed in 2004

Title D

Phillips, Grenville W
    10 Neils Plantation
    St. Michael, W. IND….”

Please try not to stumble about as is your wont!

Have you been to any hoares recently? Where your 1 incher embarasses you?

15. PIECE
    IF YOU DONT BEHAVE YOURSELF YOU WONT BE FORGIVEN
    CHECK IT OUT- ANOTHER OBVIOUS DISTRACTION BLOG

16. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Dr. GP

I saw the puerile wannabe politician crap and I said I did not have the time nor inclination to comment!

The man concatenated 3 different verses THAT ARE DIFFERENTLY PLACED IN THE BIBLE to mek he point bout forgiveness!

He has failed as a candidate with a political strategy THAT MAKES SENSE.

he has been exposed as a Bedroom Policeman who telling people bout their bedroom practices!

So now snufflepagus now going down the path of frightening people to vote for him cause he does misquote the Bible!

And, he vex wid you, Donna, WARU, and me!

And he beg Freedom Croaker and Chris Halsall to come and help he campaign.

17. PIECE
    I JUST SEE THIS PUN DE ADVOCATE
    PATHETHIC
    WUH YOU TINK?
    https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/political-leader-all-society-approach-required

18. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Dr. GP.

Snuffleuoagus does talk cause he got a mouf.

People doan really notice him so he pisseth in the sea

19. PIECE
    YOU ARE NOW LEGION WHO BRINGS DEMONS TO THE SUNDAY MORNING SERMONS
    I HURT MY ABDOMINAL OBLIQUES LAFFING AT THAT ONE
    I HAVE NOW COMMITTED THE UNFORGIVEABLE SIN OF STATING THE OBVIOUS

20. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Dr. GP my fellow myope

Really?

I get graduate?

Who gave me that new title?

Bedroom Policeman or Freedom Croaker?

I going tell yo a secret!

I dont read Freedom Croaker at all!

She does write too much mix up hoobledegook! so I does press de down button.

I learnt that from Mr. Vincent Codrington and Donna.

That way I dont waste valuable time that can be used EXPOSING THE LIED LEADER OF NO SOLUTIONS BARBADOS heheheheh

21. Well, as incredible as it may seem, the BU bullies have continued past week 1. Carry on smartly bullies. See if your hate can sustain you through week 2.

22. Please see Freedom Crier January 7, 2020 5:47 PM https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/01/05/sweet-sunday-sermon-typological-method-of-bible-study/

REMEMBER A LEGION WILL LIE LIKE A TROOPER…FREEDOM SUSSED HIM OUT LONG AGO, HE THINKS HE HAS POWER WHEN HE LIES LIKE A TROOPER, HE FEELS PEOPLE WILL BELIEVE HIS FALSEHOODS REGARDLESS. WHAT A DELUSIONAL PERVERTED ECCENTRIC ODDBALL!…

THE WORDS LEGION SPEAKS ARE OF A VILE KIND IN THE LOWEST ORDER… WHEN TOXIC PEOPLES LIKE PIECE THE LEGION CANNOT CONTROL A PERSON WITH HIGH MORALS, THEY TRY TO CONTROL HOW OTHERS VIEW THEM. REST ASSURED THE ONLY DEBASE CREATURE REVEALED HERE IS THE LIED LEGION.

An evil man will speak evilly all the time and seek to deceive, and somebody that is striving to do good will not speaks evilly!

READ MORE @ https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/01/05/sweet-sunday-sermon-typological-method-of-bible-study/

23. Readers should know that Piece, Porgie and Donna are BU’s resident bullies. Their hate filled comments are recorded for all to read. We need not be intimidated by them, or those they encourage to join them, in their irresponsible behaviour.

Jesus warned us that we should expect bullies like them. However, he promised that they will be sorted out. Hear Jesus.

“Then said he unto the disciples, it is impossible but that offences will come: but woe unto him, through whom they come!” (Luke 17:1)

Jesus encouraged us not to fear them or their accusations.

“A disciple is not above his teacher, nor a servant above his master. It is enough for a disciple that he be like his teacher, and a servant like his master. If they have called the master of the house Beelzebub, how much more will they call those of his household!”

“Therefore do not fear them. For there is nothing covered that will not be revealed, and hidden that will not be known.” (Mathew 10:24-26)

The dangers of embracing evil is that hateful mockers and bullies become deceived. Jesus warns of their likely end.

“A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good things, and an evil man out of the evil treasure brings forth evil things.

“But I say to you that for every idle word men may speak, they will give account of it in the day of judgment. For by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.” (Matthew 12:35-37)

BU’s bullies should be guided accordingly.

24. I read Njeri’s story in the Sunday Sun (12 Jan 2020) with interest. Hear Njeri.

“I’d never forget how amazed I was after two weeks of training with George. I showed up for every training session and stuck to the meal plan guidelines he gave me, which was the hardest part. I was truly in shock with the transformation in that short space of time.”

The important thing is to combine rigorous exercise with a healthy meal plan. There were dramatic improvements for me in 3 weeks, and reportedly for Njeri in 2.

Those who find it hard to believe should simply try it for themselves – rather than trying to discourage others.

25. Dramatic improvements are possible in two weeks. Solving a problem as enormous as that requiring you to “order your casket” is NOT.

26. DONNA
    THERE IS THE PROBLEM FOR MANY OF LEPTINS AND OTHER CHEMICALS PRODUCED IN THE BODY WHICH ARE NOT FULLY UNDERSTOOD

THERE ARE FOLK WHO EAT WHAT THEY LIKE AND DO NOT EXERCISE AND ARE AS THIN AS A RAKE

27. Piece the Legend Avatar

Here are some more “hate filled comments for you Bedroom Policeman

“…That this 3 week recovery you lied about continues to bring you here LIKE THE CHILD THAT YOU ARE, IS EVIDENCE ENOUGH TO READERS that you are not House of Assembly material.

You are a fvucking liar and this is part of your series of pure jobby topics.

You just dont understand that the most illiterate of the BU BORG is leading you on with this stupidness 2 times a week!

The strategy here is evident

“Grenville, you need to be seen in social media EVEN IF WHAT YOU ARE COMMENTING ON IS PURE SHY$E, and I going give you coverage on Barbados Underground

And all this coverage IN SPITE OF THE FACE THAT THE NO SOLUTIONS BARBADOS WEBSITE HAS BEEN IN A STATE OF DISREPAIR FOR 3 YEARS!

And you Bedroom Police out here writing a whole set of chvunt!

But I, Piece the Legend, am going to mek sure that you Lied a.ss is exposed when you says you have 28 candidates but you site site only got 11.

And your CV is 5 rass**e pages long while your other candidates’ profiles are 10 lines and most are all fvucked up like this one below.

http://imgur.com/a/mUVDY32

28. Piece the Legend Avatar

Your assistance please