The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) won a landslide general election 30-0 on 24 May 2019.  The result was an unequivocal rejection of the last Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government. After 10 years of being governed by a government with negligible political stock, Barbadians changed the script by giving the BLP an unprecedented victory at the 2018 poll.

The landslide victory has provided fodder for political pundits for another reason. A strong democracy requires a coherent and constructive dissenting voice. Ideally in our bicameral composition of parliament is where a dissenting view is designed to be most effective.

At recent count there were 20 known political parties registered to serve the people. Of the parties on the list 8 contested the 2018 general election. Believe it!

Source: caribbeanelections.com

As a keen observer of current affairs, the blogmaster observes that 20 months since the 2018 general election, no third party party has emerged to challenge the two major political parties. In fact if you remove the two major parties  – DLP and BLP – from the list of known political parties, you are left with the People’s Party for Democracy and Development (PDP) and Solutions Barbados (SB) that have remained active post 2018 general election. The PDP is the official opposition and SB the third party which secured the most votes outside of the two major parties in the 2018 general election. The United Progressive Party (UPP), Bajan Free Party (BFP), Barbados Integrity Movement (BIM), People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) have been missing in action.

The simple analysis forces two questions :-

1. How can the citizenry force the major political parties to re-engineer in order to better serve the needs of the people?
  2. How can citizens with the characteristics to improve the quality of public service be encouraged to offer themselves for public service?

129 responses to “Urgent: Credible Third Parties Wanted”

1. @ John:

Caveat: When any politician promises you that he will “drain the swamp” and end corruption, ignore him. A politician (read an oftentimes charlatan) typically travels with his own personal swamp. Thus, Trump, and his many associates (e.g his lawyer,, Michael Cohen; Atty. Paul . Manafort, his campaign manager, et al). Maxine Waters has been proven correct when she described Trump as absolutely corrupt at the very outset of his Administration.

2. There is a blog about Trump and the USA politics. Can we focus on the domestic issue raised please?

3. K. Best for 2020.

4. Caleb Pilgrim
    December 31, 2019 2:07 AM

@ John:
    Caveat: When any politician promises you that he will “drain the swamp” and end corruption, ignore him

Trump isn’t a politician!!

He is the third party experience for which this blog calls.

That’s the essential point any aspiring “third party” in Barbados or anywhere else on the planet needs to grasp!!

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Senator Caswell Franklyn

Here is a submission for when de ole man get in contact with Senator Caswell Franklyn of the People’s Party for Democracy and Development de ole man going give Caswell some serious advice on how to make the PdP legendary in the 13 months remaining to the General Election

First issue of the day Caswell, wipe your phone or buy another phone AND ANONYMOUS SIM CARD and INSTALL TELEGRAM FROM telegram.org

Do not put WhatsApp on the Same phone with Telegram!

Lock Telegram AS WELL AS ENGAGE AUTOLOCK ON YOUR PHONE AFTER 2 MINUTES INACTIVITY.

Also lock your SIM so that the phone WILL NOT ACTIVATE WITHOUT THAT CODE.

De ole man gine get someone contact you pun dat other phone as soon as you get it up and running

In addition to showing you the 18 Seats you WILL WIN (and how to ***) de ole man gine show you how TO CREATE A VIBRANT PARTY IMAGE that exceeds all the USUAL grandstanding.

Now we know that the BLP AGENTS ARE USING THIS BLOG TO GET IDEAS CASWELL so we going give them ideas that gone stick in dem craw!

The Reverend Joseph Atherley is considered to be a plant But you know the man Caswell so IRRESPECTIVE OF WHAT OTHERS THINK, you will have a better assessment of him Caswell.

But here is a way to sound him out Caswell!

1.Joseph Atherley is supposed to be a man of the cloth!

2.No other political party has a “man of the cloth” as its leader THEREFORE THIS STRATEGY IS NOT REPLICATABLE BY THE OTHER PARTIES

3.Ask the good Reverend Atherley to convene a meeting with the Church in January 2020 for a Strategy for said Lukewarm Church to LEAD IN THE BATTLE AGAINST CRIME IN BARBADOS

4.His outreach is initially going to be to church leaders only FOR ALL CHURCHES. IF HE CANT GET THEM TO ATTEND, ESPECIALLY BASED on the issue of Crime, then he is a real flyweight

5.Then there is the actual solution Caswell which, I wont share here cause dem is pimping BUT, which when implemented by the Church AND THE PdP in EVERY ONE OF THE HIGH INCIDENCE CRIME COMMUNITIES will be beneficial to the Church, the Community AND THE PdP

I, Piece the Legend, HAVE SPOKEN

6. Piece bets on the wrong horse. Instead of building a third party, we should focus on destroying the DLP and discrediting its members. I have collected some good advice on this.

Undermine DLP’s credibility: Put pictures of the villas and yachts of DLP ministers and senior bureaucrats on the Internet to discredit them. Particular attention should be paid to foreign property among whites in the North, so that everyone can see that the DLP is the party of the plantation class. Tell the people about the luxurious lifestyle of DLP-related senators. For example, the people have an interest in knowing that some DLP operatives drive cars worth the value of a family home. We must show the poor that the DLP is not the party of the people, but of the detached plantation class.

Arrest key DLP officials: It is best to let the Americans do the dirty work here, as the DPP will hardly initiate criminal proceedings against her blue brothers and sisters. Make sure that Inniss ends up in US jail by secretly cooperating intensively with US law enforcement agencies. You can shed crocodile tears in front of the camera. Provide the Americans and Brits with incriminating evidence, for example about the murder of the white Englishman in the Landrover case.

Criticize Barrow, the founder of the DLP, as an insane egomaniac who has led his country into the abyss. Any strike against Barrow is a strike against the DLP.

Keep reminding citizens that the DLP was responsible for 10 years of economic terror, the Cahill disaster, national bankruptcy and the South Coast excrement. In this context, also mention their possible responsibility for cockroaches, ants, termites, slavery and hurricanes.

Split the DLP by drawing the not yet discredited members to your side. Work towards getting the old blue guard to run again in the next election (Lashley, Sinckler, Inniss) because the people hate them so much.

Establish a party that adopts the DLP’s branding (Democratic Barbados Party with light blue colour as identification) and program (state socialism and promotion of laziness) as much as possible (especially the insane Barrow cult) to keep as many voters as possible away from the DLP. Staff this new party with your followers.

Claim that the constituencies need to be reformed and downsized. Destroy the DLP’s previous strongholds by eliminating these constituencies and dividing them among the remaining constituencies.

Search the state apparatus for lazy DLP members and assign them insignificant positions. Alternatively, you can search for incriminating evidence to fire them.

7. this man is diabolical and devious and well described in Titus 3:3
    For we ourselves also were sometimes foolish, disobedient, deceived, serving divers lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful, and hating one another.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Nice lizard pic David (I seeing it again like for the first time 🙃…an aside on that topic of pics. Few years ago was home on holiday and saw a troop of monkeys parading in neighborhood…was astonished beyond word. Either we have encroached so much in their habitat that they are boldly pushing into residential suburban areas or the govt needs to again up the ante on culling their population . soooo, pics of Bajan monkeys too maybe… and no rude jokes about pols 😂)

Alright den to my main dribbling… I agree that US politics and Trump should not affect local political blogs but we need to look pass the word Trump and see the POLITICS of the situation …that’s the common denominator.

Is Grenville Phillips a politician? I say that in the broad sense of life as a businessman he sensibly managed his company with acute awareness to the demands of the political scene thus he should be accomplished in the “arts” of political warfare….. Now of course he like the POTUS are novices to elective politics or as Webster says he in not “a person experienced in the art or science of government; especially, one actively engaged in conducting the business of a government”.

It’s beyond artfull to frame a man like Phillips (read POTUS too) as a non-politician when he has been doing business at high levels of government procurement (as a provider) and financial supporter (by attending various galas/events) over the years.

Grenville has also promised to drain the swamp with his solutions about what civil servants will be allowed to do and his contract with members re bribes; his problem is that he is truly a honest man and not a liar like the other guy, so he proposes what he sees as ‘real steps’ rather than grandiose things that excite which he has no intention of actually enforcing.

One non-pol, politician uses every nefarious tool which he loudly condemns and is heralded as as saviour; the other condemns bad practices resolutely and offers serious-intentioned remedies and is lambasted as an impostor.

One guy can’t even recite bible verse titles by long accepted methods, cheats, lies and divides repeatedly and yet is almost annointed with sainthood; the other guys is a pastor, has written books about theology affairs and knows his way around the Bible well yet he is villified as a patsy for disinformation and worst!

So what makes a great politician … certainly how you say, what you say… not just what you say! Oh…and fooling lots of the people most of time!…. Phillips clearly has no path for success as he will not use that metric!

9. @Dee Word

The green Lizard is classic barbadiana. Good to be reminded on a Bajan blog.

Nobody here can fault this blogmaster for not giving latitude to wandering discussion. It is when it goes on and on and on to the death of the substantive matter.

10. re and knows his way around the Bible well HILARIOUS
    REALLY? WHAT YOU KNOW ABOUT THE BIBLE?
    WHAT DOES GPII KNOW ABOUT THE BIBLE?
    EVERY TIME HE COMES ON BU TALKING ABOUT BIBLE HE IS OFF KEY AND WRONGLY DIVIDES THE WORD OF TRUTH! EVERY TIME!
    HE ALWAYS GROUP SCRIPTURES THAT HAVE NO RELATION TO EACH OTHER AND SEEKS TO MAKE THEM DAY THINGS THAT THEY DO NOT SAY.

YOU SHOULD STICK TO WHAT YOU KNOW
    AND BY THE WAY LOTS OF PEOPLE HAVE WRITTEN “THEOLOGICAL BOOKS” THAT ARE FALLACIOUS.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

“The green Lizard is classic barbadiana. Good to be reminded on a Bajan blog.”

True dat….

I grew up in a household where of course they made an appearenace often enough… And boy the screams from the ladies of the house…😂🤣!

Talk about scared for a lizard…green and particularly the ones that hang out in house long enough to become ‘white’. Bacchanal in de place.

And true dat point 2 also.

Bro.. may yours and BU household be a joyous and successful New year.

And too you Mr GP the same… I know not if Grenville is a ‘plant’ but I know he is a very decent man … And you sir Do NOT have a lock on Bible interpretations!

… and to the “septuganarian” @Vincent onward to 3 score and twenty… to @ Pieces what can I say other than ‘dont remove the tinfoil’ it’s becoming a dashing fit for you…

And too to all u awesome BU denizens who scibe so interestingly: much success in 2020…. And even too to the non-awesome (@ Mari) strive to be better 😂.

Peace (as in peace and love, not the blogger) out!

12. DPD

re And you sir Do NOT have a lock on Bible interpretations!
    NO ONE HAS A LOCK BUT JUST AS THERE ARE EXPERTS ON SHERIDAN AND CHAUCER AND SHAEKSPEARE THERE ARE EXPERTS ON SCRIPTURE TOO

IT COMES WITH TIME –YEARS OF DEDICATED DILIGENT STUDY

WUNNAH SO GOT THE PEOPLE THAT DOES COME PUN BU THAT WUNNUH TINK GOT A LOCK PUN DIS DAT AND DE OTHER BUT THE SAME WUNNAH WANT TO TELL ME IF I GOT A LOCK PUN MEDICINE OR BIBLE——–WHEN IT IS VERY CLEAR WHEN WUNNAH OPEN WUNNUH MOUT THAT WUNNUH DONT GOT A CLUE WUH WUNNAH TALKING BOUT

YOU THOUGHT YOU HAD A LOCK PUN CERVICAL INJURIES TOO AND YOU THINK GP11 GOT A LOCK PUN JOHN’S GOSPEL TOO……….BUT YOU WRONG IN BOTH CASES

I DIDNT GET MY QUALIFICATIONS JUST SO
    I EARNED THEM

13. @de pedantic Dribbler December 31, 2019 2:23 PM “green and particularly the ones that hang out in house long enough to become ‘white’. Bacchanal in de place.”

The green lizards and the white ones, and the “silver” lizards too are all different species.

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Tron

I like you bad, you does talk a good set of ingrunce and does got de ole man laughing bad

Among de tongue in cheek comments you made about blamingthe D I like this one real bad

“…Keep reminding citizens that the DLP was responsible for 10 years of economic terror, the Cahill disaster, national bankruptcy and the South Coast excrement.

In this context, also mention their possible responsibility for cockroaches, ants, termites, slavery and hurricanes…”

SLAVERY & HURRICANES

15. PIECE
    aRE YOU A PASTOR?
    HAVE YOU WRITTEN ANY THEOLOGICAL BOOKS?
    DO YOU HAVE A LOCK PUN ANYTHING?
    ARE YOU truly a honest man and not a liar
    DO YOU propose what YOU see as ‘real steps’ rather than grandiose things that excite
    IF A MAN CAN recite bible verse titles by long accepted methods, DOES THAT HELP IN A WORLD THAT DONT CARE BOUT DE BIBLE ANYHOW?
    IF A MAN condemns bad practices resolutely DOES THAT MAKE HIM A GOOD MAN?

DO YOU KNOW ANY WOULD BE politician WHO POSTS ON BU THAT offers serious-intentioned remedies?.
    DO YOU KNOW ANY WOULD BE politician WHO POSTS ON BU THAT is a pastor, has written books about theology affairs and knows his way around the Bible well

16. Tron u can also add to your list of dip things done yuh think so
    The rising crime death and gore that has become the “new”face of barbados landscape in 2019
    Dont know how you and the rest of govt can sleep at night knowning that so many youth have fallen victims to senseless crime
    In the meanwhile while all this chaos is happening present govt is planning a year long fete at taxpayers expense
    All i can say is have fun
    Time longer than twine

17. @ Dr. GP my fellow myope and apostate

I am none of those things but I know I am a sinner who prays that I, and mine, and my extended family, and my friends might be among those who are going to be called by Our Lord.

In this battle that faces our nation what I discern in my spirit is that Mugabe Mottley and Fumbles Stuart and Verla Depeiza HAVING TOUCHED THE ACCURSED THING, cannot be permitted to lead our country

People have been shown what they are and what they bring to the country AND IT IS BLACKNESS AND IT IS PUTRID!

In another time Joseph Atherley might have been a useful choice for Change but, EVEN SOMETHING AS SIMPLE AS SAYING THAT MOTTLEY ERRED TO SOCIET WITH THE CRIMINALS, ever a simple symbolic act JOSEPH ATHERLEY is incapable of doing.

And it is these small things THAT HE IS BRANDED BY, PERMANENTLY!!!

Where Barbados MUST GO IN 2021 Atherley CANNOT TAKE US!

We need men and women with resolve!

This is the time to build a New Ark of Promise to house our nation and the old guard CANNOT BUILD THAT VESSEL!

as radical as this may seem Barbados MUST RESET ITS COMPASS and shift from the DLP and BLP configuration

And Prime Minister Caswell Franklyn has to bring a 4 year term limit to any sitting government and the Power of Recall.

In addition to the Freedom of Information Legislation AND Integrity Legislation

And the one thing that Caswell HAS TO DO IN 2020 is to up the volume politically!

Joe IS SLOW! it is what it is but Caswell HAS TO USE HIS OWN COLLECTION MATRIX TO COLLECT AND COLLATE HIS INTELLIGENCE FOR THE COMING WAR!

Up the volume, or become a footnote in Barbados’ history

The Political Activism is NOW CASWELL and, mindful as you are of the former allegiances of the Earl of the parish of St. ***** and his high flying position, you are forewarned NOT TO SHARE YOUR STRATEGY, nor engage the services of that person ELSE YOU WILL KILL YOUR OWN PROGRESS TO LLARO COURT.

Listen to the ole man and win, ignore me and lose!

I Piece the Legend HAVE SPOKEN

18. There is no PM for Caswell as long as Atherly is joined to Caswell hip or vice versa
    Your job would be disconnected them and that not gonna happen
    Atherly opened the door for Caswell and he can closed it.

19. @ Senator Caswell Franklyn

This message in my New Year’s advice to you.

Heed it and you WILL WIN, ignore it AND LOSE!

This must be your campaign to Barbados starting on Jan 2020

The Democratic Labour Party ran a tired campaign of an incredulous 10 year “Homegrown Recipe Program” AND FAILED

Mugabe has run one based on equal jobby and some blown into secret places

MOTTLET did not even deign to create a Manifesto but ran on the default position of

“Gimme your Vote AND WATCH ME NOW!”

20 months later, bajans have watched her INTO A RECORD 49 MURDERS and a bumper crop to come in January 2020! She has delivered nothing BUT MORE TAXES!

She has been incapable of generating any economic growth to date but during this time, she has been doing all sorts of trips, AND SPEECHES, AND PHOTOGRAPHY SESSIONS!

so what is the PdP message going to be?

“The DLP promised you homegrown AND IT FAILED.”

Mia asked you for your vote AND SHE DELIVERED THE IMF, AND A TAXATION REGIME OF 28%, AS OPPOSED TO The DLP 17.5%!

Here is the PdP promise!

We promise every bajan that, even before you give us your “x”, before any PdP candidate even gets into the House of Assembly, WE ARE GOING TO GIVE YOU CHANGE AND IMPROVEMENTS!”

In every parish!

And here is how we propose to start

1.***

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, clearly both you and Tron have read and digested ‘The Prince’ and that lil booklet produced on the period before that on Roman methods of emphatic governance.

His notes tho tongue in cheek really were quite solid political guerrilla warfare.

Now Mr GP this is last time for year (and new one) I gine battle u on this so let me try to be crystal clear.

An expert on Chaucer or Shakespeare can do his thing but if I interpret the passage in a different way based on a completely different set of circumstances/experiences which inform my life who are they to tell me I am wrong!

It’s the same with scripture sir… The WORD can only catch me and inform me where I am… i.e. my experiences. YOU cannot tell me how MY Saul like moment should be gleaned based on what experts have defined.

That goes against the ENTIRE ethos of a personal acquaintance with the Lord….

For the LAST time .. I did NOT question your medical analysis re that case based on some specious unscientific uninformed bluster …. I touted the analysis of ANOTHER doctor and u in your arrogant mien determined that both he and anyone who disagreed with you had to be morons … You are entitled to that view of course but it’s a bit ridiculous and full of hubris.
    Your many years of study are awesome … More power to your scholarship … And no one doubts you EARNED every degree u have… Thus no one dismisses your expertise … but please stop telling us that your expertise MUST govern our acceptance or understanding of Biblical texts … or logical progressions of life.

That’s is for me wid u on this !

21. @ Mariposa,

You are not a strategist so I excuse you.

Here is the lay of the land

1.Reverend Atherley, after private consultation with Mugabe Mottley, decided that he would be the sacrificial lamb for The BLP

2.The BLP could not have risked going back to the polls for a re vote because ingrunt bajans would have voted back in the DLP inadvertently! just to address the 30 to 0 results

3.Caswell Franklyn and Jeff Cumberbatch and McCarthy were seen as activists who were a threat AND WERE SILENCED BY THEIR RESPECTIVE APPOINTMENTS

4.after Caswell and Joe sat a genuine appreciation developed and the two started to word together.

5.Joseph is a man of principles ALBEIT TO AN UNPRINCIPLED DEMON MOTTLEY and slowly he started to come around.

6.He attracted some more good men and women to him AND HIS OUTLOOK HAS CHANGED OVER THE TIME!

7.Joseph Atherley is afraid of Mia Mottley BECAUSE LIKE DE OLE MAN, he knows the animal that she is!

8.Here is the challenge they are facing.

Joseph is the LoO and the Leader of the PdP

If he does as Piece Suggests now and let’s Caswell Franklyn become the Leader of the Party how would this work out in practice?

Since you would have a LoO who was not the Party Leader.

It presents them with a problem which can easily be resolved by a name title insertion and a temporary agreement on the Roles of the Title Holder.

I guess that all like now they are waiting on the finalizing of their Constitution

Which DOES NOT MAKE SENSE because time is against them!

The workaround de ole man presents removes all the current hurdles.

The public wont be privy to the back end issues BUT THE FRONTEND ACTION WILL GIVE THEM THE MILEAGE REQUIRED @ 2020

I Piece the Legend HAVE SPOKEN

22. DPD
    RE It’s the same with scripture sir… The WORD can only catch me and inform me where I am… i.e. my experiences. YOU cannot tell me how MY Saul like moment should be gleaned based on what experts have defined.That goes against the ENTIRE ethos of a personal acquaintance with the Lord…

SCRIPTURE IS NOT INTERPRETED ON HOW IT CATCHES YOU OR INFORMS YOU WHERE YOU ARE
    SCRIPTURE IS NOT INTERPRETED ON ANY ONES EXPERIENCE

WHEN IT SAYS “THEY GOT IN A BOAT AND WENT OVER TO THE OTHER SIDE OF THE LAKE” IT MEANS .”THEY GOT IN A BOAT AND WENT OVER TO THE OTHER SIDE OF THE LAKE” NOTHING ELSE!

THIS PHRASE CAN NOT BE INTERPRETED ON HOW IT CATCHES YOU OR INFORMS YOU WHERE YOU ARE OR YOUR EXPERIENCE

WHEN IT SAYS HE WAS WOUNDED FOR OUR TRANSGRESSIONS HE WAS BRUISED FOR OUR INIQUITIES
    IT MEANS JUST THAT JUST LIKE IF I SAY DPD IS A MORON I MEAN JUST THAT THAT DPD IS A MORON

For the LAST time .. I did NOT question your medical analysis re that case based on some specious unscientific uninformed bluster …. I touted the analysis of ANOTHER doctor and u in your arrogant mien determined that both he and anyone who disagreed with you had to be morons … You are entitled to that view of course but it’s a bit ridiculous and full of hubris.
    NO YOU AND YOUR OTHER DOCTOR WAS WRONG AS I POINTED OUT BY PRESENTING THE OUTLINE OF CERVICAL INJURIES FROM MAYO CLINIC
    BUT YOU WERE INTENT ON PROVING ME WRONG BECAUSE IN YOUR ESTIMATION I COULD NOT POSSIBLY BE RIGHT AND YOU COULD NOT ACCEPT THAT
    YOU THOUGHT THAT YOU WERE MORE AN EXPERT ON CERVICAL INJURIES THAN I WAS
    I WAS EVENTUALLY PROVEN TO BE RIGHT AND YOUR OTHER DOCTOR WRONG

YOU WILL THEREFORE ALWAYS BE AN EXPERT ON CERVICAL INJURIES THOUGH YOU HAVE NEVER STUDIED THE SUBJECT

RE but please stop telling us that your expertise MUST govern our acceptance or understanding of Biblical texts … or logical progressions of life.
    I HAVE NEVER SAID THAT MY expertise MUST govern our acceptance or understanding of Biblical texts BUT I WILL AFFIRM THAT SINCE ZOE AND DICTIONARY —THERE HAS BEEN NO ONE ON BU WHO HAS A CLUE ABOUT understanding of Biblical texts

23. DPD

HERE IS AN EXAMPLE OF HOW SCRIPTURE IS INTERPRETED FROM CI SCHOFIELDS “RIGHTLY DIVIDING THE WORD OF TRUTH”

I DONT KNOW IF HE HAS A LOCK BUT HE IS CERTAINLY VERY LOGICAL AND HIS NOTES IN HIS STUDY BIBLE HAS MADE IT A BEST SELLER STILL

I CHALLENGE YOU TO READ THIS
    YOU OUGHT TO LEARN SOMETHING THEREBY

THE FIVE JUDGMENTS

“The Scriptures speak of five judgments, and they differ in four general respects:”

The expression “general judgment,” of such frequent occurrence in religious literature, is not found in the Scriptures, and, what is of more importance, the idea intended to be conveyed by that expression is not found in the Scriptures.

Dr. Pentecost well says:

It is a mischievous habit that has led the Christian world to speak of the judgment as being one great event taking place at the end of the world, when all human beings, saints, sinners, Jews and Gentiles, the living and the dead, shall stand up before the great white throne and there be judged. Nothing can be more wide of the teaching of the Scriptures.
    The Scriptures speak of five judgments, and they differ in four general respects: as to who are the subjects of judgment; as to the place of judgment; as to the time of judgment; as to the result of the judgment.

THE JUDGMENT AS TO BELIEVERS
    Their sins have been judged.

Time: A. D. 30.

Place: the cross.

Result: death for Christ: justification for the believer.

And he bearing his cross went forth into a place called the place of a skull, which is called in the Hebrew, Golgotha: Where they crucified him. (John 19:17-18).

Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree . . . . (I Peter 2:24).

For Christ also hath once suffered for sins, the just for the unjust, that he might bring us to God. (I Peter 3: 18)

Christ hath redeemed us from the curse of the law, being made a curse for us: for it is written, Cursed is every one that hangeth on a tree. (Galatians 3:13)

For he [God] hath made him [Christ] to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him. (2 Corinthians 5:21)

But now once in the end of the world hath he appeared, to put away sin by the sacrifice of himself. (Hebrews 9:26)

When he had by himself purged our sins . . . . (Hebrews 1:3)

There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit. (Romans 8:1).

THE JUDGMENT OF SIN IN THE BELIEVER
    Time: any time.

Place: anywhere.

Result: chastisement by the Lord, if we judge not ourselves.

For if we would judge ourselves, we should not be judged. But when we are judged, we are chastened of the Lord, that we should not be condemned with the world. (I Corinthians 11:31-32)

If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not? (Hebrews 12:7).

(See also I Peter 4:17; 1 Corinthians 5:5; 2 Samuel 7:14-15; 2 Samuel 12:13-14; 1 Timothy 1:20.)

THE CONDUCT, OR WORKS OF BELIEVERS ARE TO BE JUDGED
    Time: when Christ comes.

Place: “in the air.”

Result to the believer: “reward” or “loss.” But he himself shall be saved.

It is a solemn thought that though Christ bore our sins in His own body on the tree and God has entered into covenant with us to remember them no more (Hebrews 10: 17), every work must come into judgment. The life, the works of the believer must be reviewed by the Lord.

Wherefore we labour, that, whether present or absent, we may be accepted of him. For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ; that every one may receive the things done in his body, according to that he hath done, whether it be good or bad.
    ~ 2 Corinthians 5:9-10 ~

But why dost thou judge thy brother? or why dost thou set a naught thy brother? for we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ. (Romans 14:10)

It will be observed that both of these passages are limited by the context to believers. In the first, the apostle speaks of us as in one of two states: either we are at home in the body and absent from the Lord, or absent from the body and present with the Lord – language which could not be used of unbelievers. Wherefore we make it our aim to be well-pleasing unto the Lord, for we must all be made manifest (2 Corinthians 5:8-9).

In the other passage the words “we” and “brother” again limits it to believers. The Holy Spirit never comingles the saved and the unsaved. Then, lest it should seem incredible that a blood-cleansed saint could come into any judgment whatever, he quotes from Isaiah to prove that every knee shall bow [Romans 14:11 quoted from Isaiah 45:23], and adds, So then every one of us shall give account of himself to God [Romans 14:12].

The following passage gives the basis of the judgment of works:

For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ. Now if any man build upon this foundation gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, stubble: every man’s work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man’s work of what sort it is. If any man’s work abide which he hath built thereupon, he shall receive a reward. If any man’s work shall be burned, he shall suffer loss; but he himself shall be saved; yet so as by fire.
    ~ I Corinthians 3:11-15 ~

The following passages fix the time of this judgment: For the Son of man shall come in the glory of his Father, with his angels: and then he shall reward every man according to his works (Matthew 16:27). And thou shalt be blessed; for they cannot recompense thee: for thou shalt be recompensed at the resurrection of the just (Luke 14:14). (See I Corinthians 15:22-23.)

Therefore judge nothing before the time, until the Lord come, who both will bring to light the hidden things of darkness, and will make manifest the counsels of the hearts: and then shall every man have praise of God.
    ~ I Corinthians 4:5 ~

But how comforting it is, in view of that inevitable scrutiny of our poor works, to learn that in His patient love He is so leading us and working in us now that He can then find something in it all for which to praise us.

Behold, I come quickly; and my reward is with me, to give every man according as his work shall be. (Revelation 22:12)

Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, shall give me at that day. (2 Timothy 4:9)

For the place of this judgment, see I Thessalonians 4:17 and Matthew 25:24-30.

THE JUDGMENT OF THE NATIONS
    Time: the glorious appearing of Christ (Matthew 25:31-32; Matthew 13:40-41).

Place: the valley of Jehoshaphat (Joel 3:1-2,12-14).

Result: some saved, some lost (Matthew 25:46).

Basis: The treatment of those whom Christ there calls, my brethren (Matthew 25:40-45; Joel 3:3,6- 7). These brethren we believe are the Jewish remnant who shall turn to Jesus as their Messiah during “the great tribulation” which follows the taking away of the church and is terminated by the glorious appearing of our Lord (Matthew 24:21-22; Revelation 7:14; 2 Thessalonians 2:3-9). The proof is too extensive to be put forth here. It is evident, however, that these brethren cannot be believers of this dispensation, for it would be impossible to find any considerable number of Christians who are so ignorant that they do not know that offices of kindness to believers are really ministries to Jesus Himself.

As this judgment of the living nations is sometimes confounded with that of the great white throne in Revelation 20:11, it may be well to note the following contrasts between the two scenes.

The living nations will be characterized by the following: no resurrection; living nations judged; on the earth; no books; three classes – sheep, goats, brethren; time, when Christ appears. The great white throne will be characterized by the following: a resurrection; “the dead” judged; heavens and earth fled away; “books were opened”; one class: “the dead”; after He has reigned one thousand years.

The saints will be associated with Christ in this judgment and hence cannot be the subjects of it. (See I Corinthians 6:2; Daniel 7:22; Jude verses 14-15.)

In truth, the judgment of the great white throne and the judgment of the living nations have but one thing in common: the Judge.

THE JUDGMENT OF THE WICKED DEAD
    Time: a determined day, after the millennium. (Acts 17:31; Revelation
    20:5,7).

Place: before the great white throne. (Revelation 20:11)

Result: Revelation 20:15.

Some may be troubled by the word “day” in such passages as Acts 17:31 and in Romans 2:16. See the following passages, where “day” means a lengthened period: 2 Peter 3:8; 2 Corinthians 6:2; John 8:56. The “hour” of John 5:25 has now lasted more than eighteen hundred years.

The Scriptures speak, also, of a judgment of angels (I Corinthians 6:3; Jude verse 6; 2 Peter 2:4). Luke 22:30 probably refers to judges as under the theocracy – an administrative office, rather than judicial. (See Isaiah 1:26.)

24. @December 31, 2019 11:08 PM

Oh, You Legend,

You too are a supporter of state socialism. I quote: “She [Our Most Honourable Prime Minister] has been incapable of generating any economic growth to date but during this time …”

Since when have governments been generating growth? That is the job of the private sector. Remember that OSA’s plan to get all lazy Barbadians into government service and to allow mentally retarded children to study as traders at the UWI has ended in financial chaos.

It is rather true that the government must improve the conditions for the private sector: We need lower taxes and fewer regulations. We do not need a Senate, a Court of Appeal and other operetta institutions.

I see other obstacles: The local mentality of idleness and the unreliability of services. Then there is the island’s lack of resources, which has nothing to offer but sand. In other words, development opportunities are very limited.

We should criticise the government for not firing at least 10,000 civil servants, but not for not creating jobs. We must finally overcome the mental incapacity to always rely on others instead of determining our own fate.

p.s. I had garbage collection on Monday and today. I really do not understand all the whining about the garbage.

25. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Tron

How do you manage to do it?

You do not ever deviate from your message!

Not once!

De ole man would have had trouble maintaining that “tongue in cheek” facade for so long!

I heah laughing bad as you said

“…Remember that OSA’s plan to get all lazy Barbadians into government service and to allow mentally retarded children to study as traders at the UWI has ended in financial chaos….”

MENTALLY RETARDED CHILDREN!

and the part where they “study to be traders” man you shotting!!!

Oh Ramgeorge Tron!

Your postscript mekking de ole man piss meself!!!

“…p.s. I had garbage collection on Monday and today. I really do not understand all the whining about the garbage…”

You is sumting else doah but it is still good we can laugh at ourselves through the hardships imposed by the DUOPOLY.

If bajans were not able to sit down and share some shy$e talk bout Fumbles and Mugabe, and mek sport at Teets and Patrick Todd and Michael Lashes THINGS WOULD BE WORSE THAN 53 MURDERS!

Thank you for the smiles Tron we all need the comic relief in our respective lives sometimes.

A joyous New Year to you I had forgotten you.

Where is my Dearest SSS?

26. Piece the Legend Avatar

Your assistance please with an item here thank you

27. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Senator Caswell Franklyn

De ole man got sidetracked on the substantive topic, forgive me.

You Caswell are the new face of Barbados

And because of that you have been targeted by the Mugabe Regime

But you must not fear this Caswell, NEITHER CAN YOU CONTINUE HIDING YOUR CANDLE UNDER A BUSHEL

The Gathering started in St Lucy today AND IT HAD 100 PEOPLE!

De ole man projects that, BARRING THE SESSIONS IN JULY AUGUST AND SEPTEMBER, or Kadooment time, all of dem going flop.

Which will mean the fiscal targets for the IMF are not going to be achieved and the Standard and Poor’s people going stay any upgrade.

And what has this got to do with the PdP

Here is Mia’s Report card in 60 seconds Caswell.

http://imgur.com/qYNltuP

As you look at this Collage Senator Franklyn what I want you to comprehend about PIECE THE LEGEND is that I a am an expert at what I do!

What you are seeing is 13 thousand views OR 1/4 of the 57,178 total views of this Stoopid Cartoon.

Dis is what your People’s Party for Democracy and Development is lacking Caswell, Penetration!

And without that, ALL THE PdP Human Resources that have assembled like Gideon’s army will languish AND PETER OUT!

Emphasis on Peter Caswell.

You cannot afford to lose by guessing with someone who was part of a 30 to 0 defeat! Look at the evidence Caswell.

It may be grim but I’ll make the PdP win!!!

28. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Senator Caswell Franklyn.

you need to comprehend the purpose AND the power of your campaigns be that TV, RADIO, SOCIAL MEDIA OR PLAIN WALK THROUGH THE NEIGHBOUR HOOD, you have to understand how the PdP needs to structure your outreaches to tgrow awareness of your PdP Party.

If you dont understand your targets and your tools Caswell, the PdP WILL SPEND a lot of money AND WASTED TIME AND EFFORT with very little return.

De ole man suggests that you HAVE TO leverage social media in the right way so that the PdP becomes a key word.

I suggest that you start with a series of SPECIFIC OUTREACHES focusing your message on Crime Reduction

De ole man is gine give you a series of small “interventions”, which will deploy a specific messaging outreach in High Crime Communities using 3 different outreach channels, then measure the impact on crime and violence reduction, in these communities.

it is going to be very easy to determine the efficacy of your outreaches and expand on this strategy island wide

But the thing about my program Caswell IS THAT THE BARBADIAN CITIZENRY will be able to assess the outcomes of the PdP programmes WHILE YOU ARE NOT IN POWER and the BLP will not be able to take credit for what you have done!

I, Piece the Legend, HAVE SPOKEN!

29. Atherley respond to Mia long winded address was the truth and nothing but the truth
    An address filled with nothingness an a futile and desperate attempt to recover the lost ground of support when she won the election.
    People are desperately suffering
    A govt has all but turned a democracy into a dictatorship using every deceiving strategy to undermine the constitution
    Not to mention throwing the rule of law out the window by avoiding transparency to be the guiding factor in all matters that would bestow good governance