Barbadians were promised in recent days that 10 new garbage trucks – urgently needed – would have been mobilized in time for the Holidays. Although there has been no official announcement by the Mia Mottley government as to why a faulty configuration of the 10 trucks have prevented deployment, information in the public space indicates that the cab of the truck accommodates only two persons and the standing bar on the outside,  one instead of two. It should be noted this government in its infinite wisdom has recruited a PR/Communications team that is second to none if compared to previous governments. There is no reason information should not be readily available regarding matters affecting state apparatus.

The blogmaster is sympathetic to the fact there will be breakdowns in procedure from time to time, although it should never happen in a well functioning system. Garbage collection continues to be a hot button issue and the government leading into the last general election was not bashful about reminding the electorate the former government had not purchased a single garbage truck during its 10 year tenure.

The embarrassing fiasco currently playing out that the $400,000 dollar garbage truck x 10 will have to be retrofitted – no doubt at taxpayers expense – is cause for concern. Given the size of the procurement order, coupled with the importance of the transaction to maintaining a clean environment, a simple thought at the time of signing off on the purchase order should have suggested that those responsible ensure the garbage trucks  ‘fit for purpose’.

All that is left for the blogmaster to opine is that any self respecting administration should immediately request the resignation of the minister responsible (Trevor Prescod) and chairman of the Sanitation Service Authority (Rudy Grant) with immediate effect. We have to start to hold our officials accountable. Given historical behaviour the firing and or resignation of ministers appear to be removed from the remit of the Prime Minister.

The blogmaster is keenly aware the political polarization that exist means that every mistake will be amplified for political gain. This blogmaster is more concerned to ask – how was this sizeable mistake allowed to happen given the modus operandi of this government in period of enhanced financial surveillance ans austerity.

Thg more things change the more they remain the same.

668 responses to “Garbage Trucks Saga”

1. I know some of us are quick to believe everything that’s posted on Facebook, immediately run with it……WITHOUT VERIFICATION………. and post it on BU, believing they are privy to a “news scoop”….. an exclusive item of news before anyone gets it.

However, before we get carried away with what’s posted on that social media site and jump to uninformed conclusions, let’s be FAIR.

Why not CHECK and COMPARE the prices of new Navistar McNeilus International garbage trucks……. the model purchased for the SSA…….. and NOT the prices of USED Mitsubishi, Kentworth or Isuzu trucks……. or USED International trucks of a similar model that are nine (9) or ten (10) years old.

If we discover the trucks are actually cheaper than the $400,000 government presented to the public, then we can shout “SCAM” and “being robbed.”

2. Does anyone remember Dale Whistleblowers PORT SCAMMERS…he jumps out GUSHING …those scanners will cost i believe he said 20 MILLION DOLLARS…turns out 2 Port scanners…are 8K x 2 = $16,000 dollars …not 20 million nor anywhere near that vicincity…

but when ya retarded like Patrick King, yardfowls would believe anything…and get robbed, again and again and again….lol

by the way what does he need police protection for…who did he rob and is now afraid..

3. So because they got out there and EXPOSED DLP RACKETEERING using retarded Patrick…DLP family members are exposing them TOO..’..all on facebook my friends…fyah in ya wyah…

“Heather Stuart The person who purchased these trucks knew very well what he was doing .he got payed to go get them now he will be payed to change them around .he will pocket a few millions in his pocket. Friends and family government.”

4. BTW…that is David Thompson’s other sister…ah told yall fyah in ya wyah…lol, lol

5. Look govt once again on their smoke and mirror tactic one garbage truck as a publicity stunt
    Just wait and see how much loads it can pick up.in one day and how much time it takes in doing so
    In any case this govt has produce the most embarrassing moments of all time producing smoke and mirror policies that have backfired in their faces
    Dump trucks that are not standardized or regulated to drive on barbados streets( well govt tries saving face and put one out)
    contaminated fuel that plunged barbados into darkness for days
    Murder rate reaching unprecedented numbers
    Mia first of all first removing the skeletal remains of a slave without out giving due reverence to the deceased
    All it took was one year for present govt to expose its hands and reveal a handful of nothingness
    2019 would be remembered as a year of empty promises and govt debacles
    Phew what a year!

6. Mariposa…but they did reconfigure the trucks in no time flat…which can be attributed to all the heat now being SHOVED UP THEIR THIEVING BACKSIDES…..the challenges will be the narrow roads and large size of the trucks..

and Dale Whistleblower’s port scammers…he swore cost 40,000 dollars EACH, he was STILL TIEFING ALOT…

do you know why he needs police protection…apart from TIEFING FROM THE WHOLE ISLAND…never needed police protection from that before..

7. @Artax

Well stated.

The blogmaster has cautioned to be judicious in information gathering and its dissemination.

About this matter the obvious question is what is the landed cost of the truck. The cost of a vehicle pulled from the Internet would exclude CIF.

8. Gotta remember the trucks came from Mexico, the journey might be long, but they will cost less than if bought in Virgina…christ Mexico is not going to sell trucks more expensive than US…even with CIF..those trucks did not cost that much..

lies and padding…caught again..

they lied to the board

and are now lying to taxpayers…

bring the invoices and prove everyone WRONG..

9. And don’t bring any fake invoices either…we know what those look like, easy to call up the company and verify..

10. Wait a minute…i am getting slow…for purchases such as this, even when paying duties in the exporting port…should NOT SOME DUTIES BE WAIVED when government is making CERTAIN PURCHASES FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COUNTRY in Barbados even when bought through a 3rd part set up…..

why would government be paying the same incoming duties as Simpson Motors or Cave Shepherd, when we all know they themselves don’t even pay what they are supposed to pay…

i was born at night not last night..

11. Forgot to explain CIF = Cost, Insurance, Freight

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Vincent Codrington

De ole man was looking at an earlier statement more specifically, reported speech the Honourable Blogmaster had written where he said

“…Nassar confirmed today the trucks have spaces at the side for the SSA workers.

It appears the workers prefer to ride at the back.

Could it be they like the scent of the garbage?…”

De ole man will hazard that these people, including the Minister Trevor Prescod, never had to ride pun an open side bus going school so none of them know the dangers of two buses meeting coming down our notoriously narrow roads e.g. spooners hill, in front where popular is, with the out cropping of limestone.

Nor outside District A police Station.

All uh dese men who are involved in the purchase of trucks with inadequate, rear positioned stands, is animals and curs WHO HAVE NO FEELING FOR DE COMMON MAN AND WOMAN.

BEASTS! Mr Codrington Beasts!

And, to add insult to injury, the purchased vehicles are oversized American vehicles, left hand drive too, so by the time de driver see an oncoming, equally large vehicle, THE RH SSA EMPLOYEE PUN DE RIGHT SIDE LICK UP and de one pun de left side mash up pun a wall.

13. “Forgot to explain CIF = Cartage, Insurance, Freight”

is that not paid at the other end…OUTGOING PORT DUTIES..

14. “never had to ride pun an open side bus going school so none of them know the dangers of two buses meeting coming down our notoriously narrow roads e.g. spooners hill.”

those were scary experiences for children…utterly frightening..

they are trying to inflate what Mexico had to charge to export the trucks…but none of it is ADDING UP…lol

ah want to see those invoices…taxpayers HAVE A RIGHT..

15. CIF = COST , Insurance, Freight

16. Yeah…and what are they doing buying AMERICAN TRUCKS IN MEXICO…lol

ah would buy them IN AMERICA…

17. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Dr. GP

For a moment there I was wondering if it had changed to “Cartage” in Barbados only.

Sort of like “garbage” CIF CARTAGE that is paid on garbage trucks to carry way your garbage

@ WARU

Years ago CIF could be paid, on receipt of the goods, and there was also something called a revocable as well as an irrevocable letter of credit, where the former was to permit redress if the shipped goods were not as per the specifications of the consigned.

That was 40 years ago so de ole man ent know whu happens now in Barbados.

18. https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243316/compactors-hit-streets
    New compactors hit the streets

Three of the ten new compactor trucks brought in for the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) hit the streets yesterday as the state agency continues its battle with mounting garbage pile-ups.

And according to the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), the remainder should be on the road by early next week.

The large, all-white compactors have been retrofitted for Barbados’ roads and were dispatched to areas in St Philip, Vauxhall and Warners Park in Christ Church, and in parts of St Michael such as Pebbles Beach where one of them was used to assist the National Conservation Commission in clearing garbage from the beach.

NUPW president Akanni McDowall reported positive discussions with the SSA after a meeting yesterday to iron out some of the prevailing issues relating to the new trucks

19. i remember when all sort of rumours were being bruited about regarding the DLP. every Tom, Dick and Harry used to repost and regurgitate them and i dont remember hearing any cautionary words about whether they were true or not.

i remember one about Sinckler owning a property somewhere in St George that made the rounds.

nevertheless i agree we should not spread rumours. so, did Mia invite known drug dealers to the opening of parliament or not?

can one of the BLP sycophants answer that?

20. One of the problems will be people parking their cars on the narrow urban, suburban and rural roads. I see even Ministers parking on our narrow streets. Please don’t do that. Ok. People please park your car in your yard/driveway to make the garbage collectors work easier.

21. “Years ago CIF could be paid, on receipt of the goods, and there was also something called a revocable as well as an irrevocable letter of credit, where the former was to permit redress if the shipped goods were not as per the specifications of the consigned.”

There should still be a stipulation PARTICULARLY if the order needs to be RETURNED AND REPLACED with the correct order……as everyone from AMAZON to ALIBABA and between does..

But they nah DARE try to return those trucks….maybe fowl Enuff can tell us why.

We got Enuff legs between us all to pull though…lol

22. Drivers in Barbados are so inconsiderate..went to a convent fair over a decade ago, wento find some parking took the George Corner road closest to the convent…,and who should be parked around the bend, not even 5 metres from the corner but Erskine Sandifird, yes ya former PM…well i told him off before i realized it was him and then told him off again just for good measure and the words were just as flowery and pretty as Donna’s…….these act like they only exist to kill other people..

So yes…those wide bodied trucks/small, bad roads combo…with dumbass inconsiderate people,will not end well.

23. Yeah all publicity stunt
    Just wait and see

24. @Greene

It is good you cannot remember.

What is clear is that book learning is not sense if you read many of the comments. Some of the people criticizing the blogmaster for posting comments with errors that will happen is an example here. The flipside is that the blogmaster have corrected errors in the past from same individuals to protect their real identity.

Some of you are a bunch a menopausal andropausal lot.

25. Thanks for the correction.

26. “Some of you are a bunch a menopausal andropausal lot.”

Lol..

27. David BU

Don’t “get me wrong,” I’m NOT trying to DEFEND government purchasing the trucks, but I find that, in some people’s anxiousness to criticize, they often fall victim to believing unsubstantiated information posted on Facebook or Whatsapp, which they are excited to share, because it fits within their specific agenda.

Or, certain individuals expressing their personal opinions on Facebook, represent the general consensus of the population.

“Dump trucks that are not standardized or regulated to drive on barbados streets( well govt tries saving face and put one out).”

Mariposa

…………could you please explain what you meant by “dump trucks that are not standardized or regulated to drive on Barbados’ streets?”

If you mean because they are “left hand drive,” aren’t there several “left hand drive” vehicles in Barbados?

I recall some years ago, SSA had “left hand drive” trucks. Several trucking companies, such as Hinds Transport, L.E. Trucking Inc., Ince Transport……own “left hand drive” drive trucks; so too does B’dos Defence Force, Police, B’dos Light & Power Co. Ltd., FLOW, DIGICEL, C.O. Williams, Williams Industries……. etc.

However, you were constantly reminding BU those garbage trucks were “useless metal.” Since the deployment of three (3) trucks has proven your claim to be nothing more than your usual political rhetoric………

…………… you’re now saying it’s a “publicity stunt.”

28. David,

i dont know why you are addressing me? my post was in response to Artax’s post at the top of this page. do you have a pimpler in yuh pants?

29. Yes, you lot.

30. Pressure does bust pipes
    This govt has shown in the past year that most of their initiatives are not properly planned out
    Hence my reservation to applause what is now called retrofitted trucks in a short pace of time of time
    Also the many other issues which involved which had hampered the drivers from operating the trucks
    Again i reiterate pressure bust pipes.

31. The people have been living under unnecessary pressure for decades, generation after generation without any relief…those leaders who love to apply pressure for their own financial gain, can take some too…and if they bust, well all nasty things come to an end too.

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Greene

You asked: Did Mia invite known drug dealers to the opening of Parliament or not?

I cannot answer that. What I can say is that known drug dealers attended the State Opening of Parliament. I can also say that that entry to the event was by invitation only. I can therefore infer that they were invited by someone.

If Miss Mottley didn’t invite them, I believe that it would be her duty to find out who among her parliamentary group is associating with known criminals. And then she should take all necessary steps to deal with the situation.

33. Okay, Mr. Greene, is it me you’re calling “one of the BLP sycophants” to answer if Mottley invited 5 drug lords to the opening of Parliament?

I believe for a man who claims to be retired, your 7:44 AM comment has to be one of the most juvenile for 2019. It sounds as though we’re at primary school.

But, since you want to go down that line, perhaps you may want to tell us whether or not the following about Sinckler is true:

I also heard he was involved in importing car parts hidden in luxury cars in association with a man found dead in his car. He said the police told him they overheard two men plotting to assassinate him. How about during the 2018 election campaign he gave away nuff, nuff money in exchange for votes and after being defeated by Neil Rowe, he was seen in the Farm and surrounding areas asking back for his money.

Also, “I likewise remember when all sort of rumours were being bruited about regarding” Mia Mottley not having a LEC and being unqualified to practice law in Barbados. You, Mariposa, Maureen Holder, the Trinidad Woman, Fractured BLP and the other DLP sycophants “used to repost and regurgitate them and i dont remember hearing any cautionary words about whether they were true or not.”

It also became a political issue and into the 2018 general election campaign.

In June 2015, your former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite PROMISED to COMMIT the AG’s office to INVESTIGATE whether or not Mottley is a legitimate lawyer.

That was FIVE (5) years, SIX (6) MONTHS AGO…… and we HAVEN’T HEARD ANYTHING FURTHER to this day…….about that investigation or “whether (those rumors) were true or not.”

I mentioned all that for this reason. While you’re out there quibbling about whether or not Mottley invited drug lords to parliament, attacking people who you perceive through your narrow political eyes to be “BLP sycophants,” defending Chris Sinckler and continuing your BLP versus DLP war……….

…….. Mottley, Adriel Brathwaite, Sinckler, Donville, “Teets Marshall,” “Hats Payne” and politicians from BOTH the BLP and DLP gine be socializing together, drinking scotch, ESAF or “de one eye man,” eating souse, fried pork, fish and playing dominoes together down Pile Bay at Jack’s Bar or at various other “watering holes” and social events across Barbados.

This brings me back to a point Mr. Skinner ALWAYS makes…. the duopoly always PROTECT each other.

That’s why Adriel Brathwaite DID NOT COMMIT the AG’S office to INVESTIGATE Mottley.

Look at the glowing tribute Mottley gave John Connell.

This is REINFORCED by the fact that, after winning the January 15, 2008 general elections, David Thompson and the DEMS said they found evidence suggesting the BLP had engaged in corruption during their 14 year tenure. He promised to immediately introduce integrity legislation, transparency, accountability and lock up a few for BLP ministers.

Instead, the DEMS continued along a similar path to distribute the “fatted calf” to those who, as Thompson said “stayed the course.” And after, 10 years, 4 months in office, no integrity legislation and not a boy en get locked up.

Similarly, after winning the May 24, 2018 general elections, we heard speeches from Mottley about instances of corruption by the DEMS and her promise to introduce integrity legislation, while focusing on transparency and accountability has, for far, come to naught. Donville Inniss was unfortunate because he got caught by the USA.

34. @ Greene

nevertheless i agree we should not spread rumours. so, did Mia invite known drug dealers to the opening of parliament or not?
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I should say out of the 5 Major Drug lords who attended post BLP victory on the night of Elections May 2018 Mia was seen in a video celebrating and in smiles with 3 of them.

Shortly thereafter the video posted on BU and Facebook the same 3 drug lords were among the invitees to Parliament.

35. Wonder when we will see some seizure of assets from the small time crooks in Barbados who have been robbing poor, vulnerable people on the island for far too long..

….these are real, real billionaires…who are being brought to heel.not the pretend wannabe common class thieves thinking they will achieve billionaire status by robbing their own people.

https://bbc.in/37okv0n?fbclid=IwAR1OWVeyCTLHanWeLX0OTqilb0vNUNNuPLm11S5vYX0tH6FQXcxX6ZgX3kc

36. @ Artax December 31, 2019 10:10 AM

Dear Artax, agree completely with your comment. I say this now not as a court jester of the government, but as a concerned citizen. It is very clear that the BLP secretly supports the DLP so that the DLP does not disappear from the political scene.

37. wAITTTTTT

Then is the truck that mariposa said was a waste of money, useless metal that cant even pick up a toffee paper off the streets?

Now she reverting to smoke in mirrors

38. @Caswell

Earlier you submitted a somewhat cryptic post that flew under the radar about someone embezzling money from a relative who employed them, is it possible to elaborate?

39. @ Caswell
    Next time they may not miss.

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, you know well that there is little room or patience for balanced commentary like your 10:10 AM…on BU or in politics generally . Fairness in politics is thrashed these days … because one day you are deemed a DLP appeaser and on another a pimp for the Bees, thus neither side trusts you.

They want rabid loyalty to the party is it…nothing less is considered!…. But fellas like yourself learn to take the heat (and in your case return the missle fire 😂,). So onward ever!

That said, now re your post at the top of page: is the issue really about the ‘actual value’ of the trucks or rather the seeming infelicities (that used to be a popular word in Bim many years ago 🙃) and ‘incompetent’ missteps in the procurement process!

When I read about the trucks I smiled because it was so blatantly obvious (and was noted early on BU) that there would likely be ‘grafting’ done on this truck purchase operation. That the supposedly smart team so carelessly botched the operation and exposed their alleged graft incisions to all is unbelievable.

Didn’t the senator say very bluntly to effect that: if the government’s legit, well used procurement tender process was adhered to then this would never have happened!

The $$ value, whatever it is, merely sensationalizes the affair but the real questions go to the senator’s vieled accusation: Was the tender process corrupted and if so why??

Oh BTW, wasn’t the BLP the ones who blew up BIM with the first (? I think it was) big, big political scandal re a left hand drive government ride…that one too was ‘righted’ at big expense wasnt it! Whatever became of that Cadillac … it should be a collector’s item today worth a nice premium of folly!…. Did we ever discover why Tom liked General Motors Cadillacs so much or what else was in that mortar and pestle!

41. These are the SAME drug lords that were KNOWN to be associated with certain DLP politicians……… but apparently “jumped ship” when the DEMS were becoming increasing unpopular among Barbadians.

And, look at how they were eagerly embraced by the BEES.

Perhaps Mottley believed her increasing popularity was enough that no one would have raised any objections to her making the BOLD, but ill advised decision, to invite men of questionable character to Parliament.

Kinda reminds me of Trump saying “I could stand in the middle of 5th Avenue and shoot somebody and I wouldn’t lose voters.”

42. Donna

No one expect every resourceful bajan to leave the island all at once. There are some that will never want to leave no matter what. There are some that will leave and better themselves and then return to make a contribution.
    Mia, Thompson and Owen left and returned (just to name a few)
    Then there are others like a family from the pine/wildey housing units who left and are now owners of apartments and other properties in Barbados, just like the current PM and probably more than you.

43. @Piece “never had to ride pun an open side bus going school so none of them know the dangers of two buses meeting coming down our notoriously narrow roads e.g. spooner’s hill.”

@WURA-WAR-on-U December 31, 2019 7:13 AM those were scary experiences for children…utterly frightening..

Spooner’s Hill and the imaginary ‘hill” outside of District A scary, utterly frightening, lol. Clearly wunna spend way too much time in mummy and daddy’s car, clearly wunna did not go down, and up Whim hill in a bus like have done hundreds of times.

Wasn’t scared then, not scared now.

Don’t scare easily.

44. @ The Duopoly must be blamed.
    You note that the drug lords might have jumped from one party to another and were embraced.
    Point taken. Those are drug lords. Now let us look at all the politicians: Hamilton Lashley, Dr. Mascoll, Kerrie Simmons, and now the most recent Atherley who ran on one ticket and then left the party and formed his own.
    You see ,my fellow citizen, when political guile is the only criteria for leadership, it sends signals to the entire society that thuggery in all forms is acceptable.
    Everybody knows that to determine if a fish is bad , one must smell the head. The Duopoly has led this country every single day since independence.The obvious conclusion must be that the leaders (head) is bad.
    Can you imagine a former prime minister saying to the public that his former deputy ,and a former attorney general at that ,was a despot and unfit to lead the country and then he is offered and secures employment, representing the country ?
    Can you imagine a party leader as opposition leader bringing a no confidence motion against a government and then joining the cabinet of the same government(party) he brought a no confidence motion against?
    These jokers populating BU with convenient memories and publishing garbage cannot and should not be taken seriously.
    Finally why do you think Maloney was cussed for years by the Duopoly and now is the darling of the same Duopoly?
    Barbados is and has been a one party state for fifty three years. That’s why I don’t call anybody defending the Duopoly yard fowls. I grew up eating yard fowls and they were delicious . These so called yard fowls have no taste and I personally would not even allow them in the same yard as my salmon tot retriever.
    And to Brother Caswell: You are a Senator, paid by the taxpayers. Why don’t you demand an enquiry I hope whether known drug lords were invited to the opening of parliament and who invited them? This is the point@ WURA makes- you can’t change anything if everything remains the same.
    You cannot dodge the bullet forever, Brother Caswell
    The Duopoly Rules.

45. My last submission was in response to @ Artax. Thanks

46. Based on the news article which recalled the area(s) that the garbage trucks served, I would assume they also served Warners Park which reminds me of a stroll I made a few years ago through Tino Terrace. I saw some metal covers on the verge in front of a few houses and I enquired as to the contents of the area under cover and was told it was for the householders to store their garbage (they didn’t want the front of their homes to be marred by some unsightly oil drums). I immediately thought how could this be allowed? It meant that the garbage collectors have to bend over to retrieve the garbage bags/containers which are below the road surface and can lead to all kinds of back and arm related injuries. Clearly ergonomics is not on the radar and if the unions care for their members this is an issue that should be brought to the forefront. I don’t know if it still applies but if they are in Tino Terrace they must be in other developments.

47. @WURA-War-on-U December 31, 2019 8:03 AM “with dumbass inconsiderate people,will not end well.”

Like a neighbor of mine, a Bajan returned from New York. Parks her car in the road at a corner ALL of the time even though she has a big, big driveway, the SSA men get “goadies” trying to get the truck around the corner. But you know I cannot tell her anything, because I have a small island mentality, and learnt by rote, and spent all of my life on this insignificant 21×14 rock, so I int know neffen.

But our SSA men are too gentlemanly, if i was the truck driver I would have “accidentaly” lick up her old rust bucket long time ago, and ga long ’bout my business.

If people have no sense and cannot hear, then option 2 almost always works, mek them feel, preferably in the pocket.

Amen.

48. “Can you imagine a former prime minister saying to the public that his former deputy ,and a former attorney general at that ,was a despot and unfit to lead the country and then he is offered and secures employment, representing the country ?”

that is why he can never be taken seriously, he knows her very well and knows what she did and what she is capable of but kept it from the people who paid his salary and even now pay his pension and his 15 pieces of silver to continue keeping his mouth shut….i can’t stand a traitor.

“Finally why do you think Maloney was cussed for years by the Duopoly and now is the darling of the same Duopoly?”

deceit and pretence to fool the electorate, they both used him to launder stolen this and stolen that and he used them to steal, set up the Rasta woman and her desceased son, used her to be elected then had her arrested….when she knows she and that repulsive thief are best friends and business partners…she looked the voters straight in their faces and LIED TO THEM……..but that one will never go away either…

and she will come with the same stinking deceit again….in 2023.

49. @Artax December 31, 2019 10:10 AM “gave away nuff, nuff money in exchange for votes and after being defeated…seen…asking back for his money.”

LOLLL!!!

Artax ya lie.

Asking back for vote buying money is like asking back for money from a whore. Once the dirty deed is done, whether ya enjoyed it/won or not, ya money dun de’d.

Ya gotta be lying Artax.

Killin’ me den.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply