Submitted by Caleb Pilgrim (the title of the blogmaster inserted by the blogmaster)

Two recent cases compel attention. The first, Judge Vivienne Blake, a Jamaican jurist, among other things, imposed a sentence of 45 years hard labour in a case where a criminal defendant was convicted for slaughtering and beheading a woman in Jamaica. (Hard labour does not appear to be a stranger in the Jamaican judicial system).

The second case involved one Todd, a Barbadian defendant convicted for stealing a salt bread worth BDS 85 cents and facing up to one year in jail.

The Barbadian defendant, Todd, was apparently “well known to the court”. He, Todd, was however correct in his representation – we assume he was pro se – that it makes no sense for the Magistrate to sentence him for up to a year in jail for stealing a salt bread worth a mere BDS 85 cents. The Government, Todd argues, then has to pay BDS $100 per day to accommodate him and any other prisoner.

In addition to his “free” board and lodging, the prisoner has the advantage of spending his Christmas, presumably quality time of sorts, enjoying a sumptuous meal and other benefits. He even quarrels, righteously, from time to time, if he cannot get to eat fine food prepared and brought to him by a relative, and, inclusive of pictures, makes the local press.

Sadly, it therefore appears that the Barbadian tax payer is being held hostage to the criminal commando class. (Let us leave aside white collar crime and what the Chinese label “economic crimes”” for the moment). Clearly, the prisoner has you – the tax payer – by the balls, with your balls caught in a serious, ever tightening, unyielding, financial vise. He is like a giant boa constrictor squeezing the life out of you, while we bleat faintly like a dying sheep, with not a Samaritan in sight to rescue the hapless and beleaguered Bajan tax payer.

Kindly understand that I do not mean to be too retro. Nor do I support the extra-judicial actions of a Buterse or a Bolsonaro. But, as I have long argued hard labour (“enhanced occupational therapy”, if you will), should be readily available in any magistrate’s repertoire of solutions to the problem of increasing crime and lawlessness in Barbados.

I argue, further, that the Barbados Constitution, “the supreme law of the land”, and Art . 14 et seq, possibly contemplated such an eventuality and permits this solution.

But, instead, we grope about as if in a thick, dark London fog. Like some latter day Francis Micawber, we hope that “something will turn up”. But, nothing turns up. Rather, we continue along a slippery path, as if on our way to becoming just another banana republic, this time without any bananas.

Imagine a couple of miscreant, Bajan bandits. They successfully rob a Campus Trendz store. They then fire bomb the store, as they escape, killing six “whole” young women. At the rate of $100 per day, room and board, the figures soon run into several hundreds of thousands of dollars. After a while, the figures add up. Multiply this also by the number of guests at the Her Majesty’s Dodds.

For the citizen tax payer then, it appears all costs, no benefits.

As to the prisoners volunteered for hard labour, there are ample opportunities. They can clean up the beaches filled with Sargassum weed, as well as the litter on the highways and byways of Barbados; re-paint and/or power wash public buildings in need of repair, including hospital(s), polyclinics, schools, etc; beyond the Dodds’ farm, they can be encouraged to engage in more productive farming – growing (and eventually harvesting) yams, potatoes, beets, lettuce, carrots, cassava, vegetables, peas, produce of all varieties; they may also be encouraged to engage in dairy farming and animal husbandry. Always, under the eye of some BDF member(s) cognizant of the “fleeing felon” rule.

The convict commando, the thief, the bandit, the murderer, the burglar, the wannabe American influenced gangster, the misadvised and ill-informed do not forfeit their duty to be productive members of society and to make restitution.

Finally, I do. not mean to suggest that hard labour is the solution to all crimes committed. However, “a democracy does not have to commit suicide”. (A. Batak, former Israeli Attorney General and later President of the Israeli Supreme Court). It follows a fortiori that any government has a duty to maintain law and order. For those of us who still believe in the Rule of Law … No section of society should be immune from rigorous application, enforcement and implementation of the law. With almost 50 murders so far this year, time might well have passed for a craven, knavish response to the problems of crime and violence.

124 responses to “Who Needs a Salt Bread Democracy”

1. Wuh loss muh belly some big guts minister ordered ten garbage trucks and the steering wheel on the wrong side
    Wuh loss muh belly
    Jesus take the wheel
    Not one uh them fit for driving on barbados streets
    A whole bunch of Moe’s as govt ministers in charge of running country and incapable of making simple decisions
    The latest in a round of disasters as when
    Mia agreeed to buying contaminated oil out of Jamaica to service or engery source which resulted in an electrical meltdown across the country
    And now 400hundred thousand garbage truck disaster
    This is inexcusable
    Mek me laugh so.loud that i 😢
    Ha ha ha

2. A man thief a salt bread and the man is brought before the court and judge and publicly humiliated
    A bunch of big guts govt Moe’s in charge of rebuilding the country renders service that is humilating and embarassing to the people and country
    Who would have thought that a change of govt would have meant a change for worst
    Give me a f.kking break
    Ten garbage trucks
    Greenland
    Four years of comedy
    Gimme the.vote and watch me Mia said

3. BEWARE…when criminals backs are against the wall, they will do anything to ESCAPE JUSTICE..

WATCH YOUR BACKS…and…WATCH ALL OF THEM.

Bajans need to be VERY AWARE of how easily they can be SET UP, ROBBED and IMPRISONED and even murdered if they get unlucky and all by an evil, greedy, uncaring government….this is part of the John Scantlebury snd Sean Gaskin case to FALSELY EXTRADITE them to US….on BOGUS DRUG CHARGES….to steal 67 acres of land in St. Lucy where Arawak plant is now located and his million dollar bank account…STEALING his and his children’s future….every Black Bajan is at RISK…you cannot trust government.

Here are the receipts..

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1207813139428223&id=100005986451739

4. @Piece at 7:01 p.m. yesterday “Invariably, both systems have murderers BUT I WOULD BET YOU MY LAST DOLLAR, hang 3 in quick succession, AND LET VIDEO OF ONE SLIP OUT THE HANGING VENUE, and this shy$e going stop.”

Please don’t. Invariably that slipped out video will be seen by children and they will be traumatized for life. When I was about 6 I witnessed a man who had committed suicide by hanging, I can still see a human being hung up in his house like a bunch of bananas, with a urine stain on his khaki pants, his head leaning to one side, and his bare dusty feet. NO CHILD SHOULD WITNESS SUCH, either personally or virtually. Within a few weeks there was another suicide in the village. Depression is a reality. Public executions, or published photos of executions will very likely trigger suicides, as violence begets violence. More that 60 years have passed and I still can’t get the image out of my mind. i am getting cold sweats now just remembering it.

5. In less than a year people in barbados scampering to save their lives as hooded gun men appear out of nowwhere firing shots randomly
    Where is the AG to help calm the fears of the nation
    Why is Mia still peddling duppy dust to African nations
    Cant she see what the backlash from the sale of duppy dust is having on the nation
    A nation now in crisis as gunmen take control of barbados social environment

6. Remember Greenland .Not a toffee paper
    Now 400hundred thousand worth of idle metal and drivers say Hell No

7. @Mariposa December 28, 2019 7:03 AM “gun men appear out of nowwhere firing shots randomly.”

Stop telling lies do.

If the shots were being fired randomly, then would be as likely to be fired at women who are 90 and older as they are at young MEN.

The shootings are NOT AT ALL random. Virtually all of the shootings are done by and at YOUNG MEN between the ages of 18 and 40.

Therefore not random.

When last did you hear of a 90+ plus person shooting, or being shot at while liming on the block?

I mostly don’t agree with Ewart Archer, but on the predatory nature of YOUNG MEN I agree. YOUNG MEN are the most dangerous creatures on the planet, and typically they are foolish enough to prey on their own kind, that is on other YOUNG MEN. Only IDIOTS prey on their own.

YOUNG MEN ARE IDIOTIC.

8. Young woman, not know to the courts given a reprimand and 200 hours of community service after admitting to stealing two hams on Christmas Eve. But by her own admission “the devil made me do it, as I am not that kind of person”

No indication of what punishment, if any, the magistrate meted out to the devil.

So there is hope for salt bread man, although the magistrate may not be so lenient as he is know to the courts.

9. ….”and typically they are foolish enough to prey on their own kind, that is on other YOUNG MEN. Only IDIOTS prey on their own.”

Just like the nasty leaders in parliament…that is where they learned it….learned behavior…..Black preying on Black in the trickle down effect…it has impacted the whole society.

10. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/12/28/young-woman-blames-satan-for-causing-her-to-steal-hams/
    Here is the last paragraph- see the last sentence:

This is embarrassing. If you go by somebody’s house, they would give you ham. You can’t eat a whole ham. You need to learn to do without things. Christmas goes so quickly. Jesus was born in a manger with no luxuries. Christmas is about sacrifice. I hope that the embarrassment stops you from doing these things. Even the old-time shoplifters stop because people have cameras everywhere. Don’t start this,” Frederick warned. “There is a fella in prison right now for a salt bread.”

11. The self-hating, treacherous, tiefing negros in the parliament, bar association and supreme court who see themselves as the new owners and overseers of black people …are a perfect case study for why this experiment is still so successful in Barbados today.

…they are nasty and envious and hate seeing the same black people who pay their salaries with anything, they must tief it and give it away to white, indian, syrian, PAKISTANI, AFGHANI and anyone else, but their OWN PEOPLE MUST NEVER HAVE IT although it all belongs to the Black population…..low crawling no good house negros, that is all they will ever be, that is all they are good for…GET THEM GONE…just like the last house negros who ROBBED YOU billions of dollars..

“I thought this was the most appropriate time for all of us to re-read, remember and NEVER FORGET, the speech given by Willie Lynch a slave owner who over 300 years ago devised a plan to help keep Black people divided..

Gentlemen:

I greet you here on the bank of the James River in the year of our lord, one thousand seven hundred and twelve. First , I shall thank you, the gentlemen of the of the colony of Virginia, for bringing me here. I am here to help you solve some of your problems with slaves. Your invitation reached me in my modest plantation in the West Indies where I have experimented with some of the newest and still the oldest method for control of slaves. Ancient Rome would envy us if my program is implemented. As our boat sailed south on the James River, named for our illustrious KING JAMES, whose BIBLE we CHERISH, I saw enough to know that our problem is not unique. While Rome used cords or wood as crosses for standing human bodies along the old highways in great numbers, you are here using the tree and the rope on occasion.

I caught the whiff of a dead slave hanging from a tree a couple of miles back. You are losing valuable stock by hangings, you are having uprisings, slaves are running away, your crops are sometimes left in the fields too long for maximum profit, you suffer occasional fires, your animals are killed, Gentleman,…You know what your problems are; I do not need to elaborate. I am not here to enumerate your problems, I am here to introduce you to a method of solving them.

In my bag, I have a fool proof method for controlling your slaves. I guarantee everyone of you that if installed it will control the slaves for at least three hundred years. My method is simple, any member of your family or any OVERSEER can use it.

I have outlined a number of differences among the slaves, and I take these differences and make them bigger. I use FEAR, DISTRUST, and ENVY for control purposes. These methods have worked on my modest plantation in the West Indies, and it will work throughout the SOUTH. Take this simple little list of differences and think about them. On the top of my list is “AGE” but it is only there because it starts with an “A”; The second is”COLOR” or shade; there is INTELLIGENCE, SIZE, SEX, SIZE OF PLANTATION, ATTITUDE of owner, whether the slaves live in the valley, on a hill, east or west, north, south, have fine or coarse hair, or is tall or short. Now that you have a list of differences, I shall give you an outline of action- but before that, I shall assure you that DISTRUST IS STRONGER THAN TRUST, AND ENVY IS STRONGER THAN ADULATION, RESPECT OR ADMIRATION.

The black slave, after receiving this indoctrination, shall carry on and will become self-refueling and self-generating for hundreds of years, maybe thousands.

Don’t forget you must pitch the old black VS. the young black males, and the young black male against the old black male. You must use the dark skinned slaves VS. the light skin slaves. You must use the female VS the male, and the male VS, the female. You must always have your servants and OVERSEERS distrust all blacks, but it is necessary that your slaves trust and depend on us.

Gentlemen, these kits are your keys to control, use them. Never miss an opportunity. My plan is guaranteed, and the good thing about this plan is that if used intensely for one year the slave will remain perpetually distrustful.

-WILLIAM LYNCH-1772

The letter above is one of the major problems of the African-American / Caribbean race today. And with this knowledge we as a race can and will over come. So with this letter still in your mind I ask that you enlighten someone else and send this letter to as many brothers and sisters. We as a race must start somewhere in learning our problems what better place than the document that started the destruction of our MOST POWERFUL RACE!!.”

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ WARU

you have started 2020 with a thing that is dear to my heart.

The Psyche of The Negro has been and is “Conceptually and Intellectually Enslaved” for hundreds of years.

De ole man fears that, like the ineffectual cries we make here for a Third Party Movement, the arrival of that letter by digital means AND ITS READING, will be as ineffectual as PISSING IN THE SEA!

Nonetheless we cannot give up!

An excellent submission WARU!

Now if the Honourable Blogmaster had sense that letter would form an article here on Barbados Underground INSTEAD OF THAT TIME IN A BOTTLE SHY$E THAT HE POSTED BY HIS FRIEND!

But he as Minister of Disinformation IS NOT REALLY INTERESTED IN GROWTH OF OUR NATION, his focus is on SUBJUGATION OF THE NATION BY MUGABE MOTTLEY!

13. The man who was shot in Redmans Village, St Thomas, last night has succumbed to his injuries.

Twenty-six-year-old Kirt Bowen, of the same address, was pronounced dead around 11:15 p.m. at the Queen Elizabeth Hospita

14. Barbados population 287 thousand. Murders 49

City of Toronto population 2.8 million. Murders to date 74 Would be much higher were it not for the trauma centres at some Toronto hospitals where gun shot victims are saved.

15. @Hants

We have seen a shift in the type of society some of us have been use to. Some serious an honest talk needs to take place in the country. Unfortunately this will probably not happen because of a tendency to track all problems and solutions to 30 who sit in parliament. It is an asinine and narrow minded view.

16. @ David,

As long as no maguffees or their children are shot the average Bajan youngster is just a statistic.

17. Piece……ah don’t know what alyuh did but if ya see Facebook, ya hearing who and who has been racketeering, of course it’s been both of them but they gotta make it look real good…people are dumbstruck, it’s dog eat dog and any and everyone else in between…STAY IN YA LANE…like me..

just keep listening out for more..

18. Unless Mia put the duppy back in its rightful.place more carnage will occur on the streets
    From the stories given this poor kid lost his life senselessly
    2019 would be considered barbados darkest year for violent crime
    Where is the AG ?

19. Dear Mariposa: You ought to be ashamed for politisiging this young man’s death. But you have no shame? Do you?

20. The grand daughter of the “Minister of Silence” still carrying on?

21. Everything is coming out on whatsapp, facebook everywhere, they cannot HIDE A THING..not one of their racketeering crimes can they hide……not the BLP and not the DLP…they have to sell out each other as they have been seeling out the people for decades.

22. You have serious problems in Barbados…YOU ARE NOT SAFE..

“While Mia is busy doing what she does best . Faking that she cares about her people. WhatsApp is saying this . Jackie Stewart .

“Midnight Deals

Mia does it again, ask any worker at the Soil Conservation In St Andrew And they will tell you how hurt they are at the fact that the East Coast is being sold.

Ask the workers at the Central Purchasing Department where they are moving to as their building and property was also given away in another Mia midnight deal .

You all think Mia work till midnight but Barbados is being sold at midnight

Do a recap
    Mia gave Harrison’s Cave to her brother’s buddy from Jamaica
    Mia gave Ram property to an American
    Mia gave away Central Purchase Building to another foreigner
    We seeing Veco and 3S all over again . Welcome to the world of Schemes and Scandals ”
    Anonymous .

“49 = Mia has failed

In a recent comment by the Failed AG Dale Marshall he said “speak out if he see something”. Today we woke to a record 49 murders and we are blazing ahead in this country as if all is well

Mia travels every week on a private Jet co owned by her and Mark Maloney

The AG unlike the former AG and all Barbadians has asked for and granted police security at his private residence while we can’t even slam a dom in a rum shop . Even rum shops are robbed under Mia.

The country is aware of those previously denied applicants for gun permits are now issued guns under Mia

This new administration makes Trump appear as a trainee.

This can’t be right every week someone dies yet every day we are promoting cooler fetes.

No one is safe now”
    Anonymous

23. Thieves hitting thieves…no one cares.

ah…KARMA

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/containers-holding-liquidation-centre-stock-robbed?fbclid=IwAR0arK_bdxWHltK9o61-ESHBkT4ofx63eWxOx5zw1t0xCbo5lVv7uvAI4nw#.Xgs5NDRohk0.facebook

“THE hits appear to keep coming for businesswoman Asha “Mrs. Ram” Mirchandani.

This as several containers holding goods from the now condemned Liquidation Centre were robbed last week after being moved from the Bay Street premises to a storage facility at the site of the old Cave Shepherd bond in Fontabelle.

Speaking to The Barbados Advocate yesterday, Mirchandani said she was shocked when the Royal Barbados Police Force notified her that several of the containers had been opened and “lots of goods” taken.

“The police told us they had seven persons in custody and asked us to identify if the goods they recovered were indeed ours, but we could not because we were not the ones who packed the containers and could not show ownership, and so those individuals were released because of lack of evidence,” she said.”