grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II,

As a small independent country, there are a few maxims that should guide our behaviour.  Never blast a hole in our boat, because it can sink, and we will all suffer.  Never contaminate the food on our boat, because we will all get sick.  Never sabotage any part of our boat, because it will hinder our progress.

The only justifiable reason for damaging the boat, is for enslaved people to protest their condition.  However, we are no longer slaves.  Our slave fore-parents purchased this land for us with their blood.

We elect persons to navigate our boat for up to 5 years.  We may severely criticise their performance.  However, there is no good reason for any Barbadian today to damage our boat.  This should be common sense.  However, there are a few Barbadians who think that they have a licence to harm our boat.

Participating in corruption, bribery, and drug-gang alliances, is to blast a hole in our boat.  Infiltrating and then politicising professional, industry, news media, and union organisations is to contaminate our water supply.  Discouraging responsible foreign investment, is to sabotage our boat.

Opposition politics in Barbados is about convincing people how bad things are, so that they will vote against the party in government.  To do this, each party relies on their political operatives.  These operatives know of only one method of maintaining discontent, that is to harm our boat.

Political operatives have adopted this slave legacy of sabotage, as part of their opposition to the party in Government.  They have a real incentive.  They are normally well-rewarded by their political party.  Therefore, they focus on getting their party elected by any means, regardless of the cost to us.

Since either the BLP or DLP is opposing the party in Government, opposition political operatives are always trying to harm Barbados.  However, this continuous harming of Barbados must stop – for all our sakes.  Since the DLP is currently out of Government, it is up to them to stop this cycle.

The DLP’s political operatives will naturally feel that they are being unfaired.  They saw that the BLP’s worst political operatives, who did major damage to the boat when they were in opposition, were richly rewarded.  They think that now is the time for them to earn their reward.

Despite how badly the BLP’s political operatives behaved when the BLP was in opposition, someone needs to decide to be the adult.  Otherwise, this toxic tit-for-tat political environment that both parties have cultivated, will never end.

If we want to preserve this country for our children, we must find a way of competing politically that does not include damaging our boat.  Perhaps all political parties can consider the following initiatives.

1. Each party should explain how they plan to stop their candidates from accepting bribes.  The public can then decide whether their methods are effective.
  2. Professional organisations can analyse and compare each party’s social development and economic growth plans.
  3. Industry organisations can assess and compare each party’s barriers to investment.
  4. The media can provide fair, honest, and non-partisan political coverage.
  5. The unions can stop promoting and protecting one party, and frustrating and not-cooperating with the other.

After 50 years of independence, we should be mature enough to try a better path.  However, it is unlikely that political operatives will behave properly, because the rewards are just too enticing.  Since they harm our boat on behalf of their party, only their party can order them to stop.

It is foreseen that if both parties do not restrain their political operatives, then Barbados will become ungovernable.  However, simply ordering their political operatives to cease and desist will not be enough.  The DLP’s political operatives will justifiably claim that they alone are asked to bear the burden.

To ensure full participation by all political operatives, they must all be convinced that they will never again be rewarded for harming Barbados.  For this to happen, then BLP must terminate the reward-appointments of their worst political operatives – otherwise, we are all sunk.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

218 responses to “We Are All Sunk”

1. @David: “…no need to get entangled in an unproductive exercise here.

Copy. Thanks.

2. Was listening to the radio and one comment stated was that with Modi’s new immigration policy, Indians in some regions fear that with the influx of mainly new Hindu immigrants the character of their community may change.

I can see how Muslim in India would have this fear and even some Hindus might resent the influx of Hindus from other countries.
    There are over 200 million Muslims in India.

But we with 275,000 want to go to 1 million people and we do not have any fears.

In the words of one of my heroes “Wheel and come again”.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-12-13/why-india-s-modi-has-his-country-s-muslims-worried-quicktake

3. @David December 18, 2019 11:37 PM “No go and eat your greasy fish cakes.”

Don’t be too hard on us fishcake lovers. i was just about to eat some of my own organic, home grown, yellow sweet potatoes stewed in their own skin for breakfast.

And now you got me thinking fishcakes.

Lolll!!!

4. re You are bombastic. NO ALWAYS QUIETLY AUTHORITATIVE AND ALWAYS FACTUAL AND TRUTHFUL WITH NO CURSE WORDS

You are the worst example of a Christian. GOD IS MY JUDGE NOT YOU
    YOU KNOW NOTHING ABOUT ME OR CHRISTIANITY

The blogmaster decides the rules of engagement here. BUT HE WONT JUDGE ME AT THE BEMA AND HE CANT SHUT ME UP IN THE ASSEMBLY THAT COUNTS MOST TO ME

No go and eat your greasy fish cakes HAS IT EVER OCCURED TO YOU THAT THE BATTER CAN BE PUT IN CUPCAKE PANS WITH OUT OIL?

IT IS WRITTEN Let no man therefore judge you in meat, or in drink, or in respect of an holyday, or of the new moon, or of the sabbath days: Collossians 2:16

5. So, the parliament RATS of Barbados have offered their OFFSHORE MONEY LAUNDERING SERVICES to the world since 1996…great, easier to follow that money laundering paper trail….welcome to Money Launderers Inc.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1198917396984464&id=100005986451739

6. RE no need to get entangled in an unproductive exercise here.

IF THAT WAS REALLY TRULY SO BU WOULD BE NO MORE LONG AGO

BU RUNS ON unproductive exerciseS FURNISHED BY FOLK WITH LITTLE OR NO INTELLECT UH LIE

7. Can’t stop that page from being seen though, offering offshore services aka money laundering, well, well, well. ICIJ does not stop anyone from accessing the info, it is there for prosperity for generations to see how corrupt the TOXIC DBLP are…toxic Duopoly…

now everyone knows, the people HAVE TO get that scum out of the parliament, they are an embarrassment for the island.

8. @ LIKKLE HALSAL
    RE Small men complain. TRUE Stronger men do. ALSO TRUE

YES STRONGER MEN LIKE ME HAVE DONE AND WHAT THEY HAVE DONE CONTINUES TO BE DONE AND PREVAILS 35 YEARS AFTER

WHAT I HAVE DONE DID NOT FAIL IT BENEFITS AND HAS BENEFITED A WHOLE NEW GENERATION BORN SINCE THEN UH LIE?

9. AND BY THE WAY LIKKLE HALSAL, FAMILIES HAVE SAVED MORE THAN A FEW DOLLARS PER YEAR VIA MY WIN UH LIE AND THEY WILL CONTINUE SO TO DO

MY PROBLEM WAS , LIKE TRUMP, I DIDNT REALIZE THAT FOLK DONT REALLY LIKE WINNERS WITH GREAT PRACTICAL IDEAS THAT HAVE LASTING BENEFITS AND I KEPT PRESENTING THE POWERS THAT BE WITH WINNING IDEAS THAT THEY WERE INCAPABLE OF

NOW THERE IS NO ONE IN THE MOH & GOB TO PICK UP DE GARBAGE UNLESS THERE ARE GUVMENT GARBAGE TRUCKS AND GUVMENT GARBAGE WORKERS

AS A LIKKLE STRONG MAN, DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEAS? OR IS THIS GETTING ” entangled in an unproductive exercise here.”

I KNOW THAT IT CAN BE DONE…BUT THAT IS NOT MY ROLE, OR PURPOSE HERE LOL

10. GP:

You keep asking about the solution to the garbage collection and I have responded to you before. Let me do so again.

The garbage collection problem is one of poor management. Even if the SSA had a donation of 100 new trucks, and badly managed their operation, the complaints would return.

The critical management issues are scheduling and maintenance. Scheduling mismanagement is evidenced by some communities getting 2 collections each week and some getting one every 2 months. An equitable national schedule of the truck resources is the immediate solution. Additional Cost = $0.00.

The maintenance evidence is that too many of the trucks are breaking down too frequently. We proposed to allow fair competitive tendering of the truck maintenance. Every garage, regardless of its size, can qualify to repair one truck, with a labour-only contract and a 6 months maintenance period. Parts will be provided duty-free.

This means that if a repaired truck breaks down during the 6-month period, the garage must repair it at its own labour cost. If not, then it will not be allowed to tender for another truck. Those garages that successfully complete their contracts can then tender to repair additional trucks.

11. @Grenville

There is also the important task of managing the industrial relations environment.

12. RE nextparty246December 19, 2019 1:08 PM

IF ONLY YOU COULD READ CLEARLY PRESENTED ENGLISH

I HAVE LONG REJECTED YOUR VERY POOR RESPONSE, AND REJECT IT AGAIN

SINCE THEN I HAVE ASKED YOU AND ANY BU PERSONEL WHO ARE ABLE TO “THINK OUT SIDE THE BOX” TO POSIT HOW YOU WOULD PICK UP THE GARBAGE WITHOUT GUVMENT GARBAGE TRUCKS AND WITH OUT GUVMENT GARBAGE WORKERS

CLEARLY I HAVE NOT ONLY REJECTED YOUR PITHY PUERILE PLOY BUT I HAVE ASKED YOU TO THINK A LITTLE MORE

SEEK THE KEY WORDS IN MY QUESTION AND GIVE ME THE CREDIT FOR NOT BEING AN IDIOT, AND THAT I ACTUALLY KNOW ABOUT WHAT I AM SPEAKING, AND EXACTLY HOW I WOULD HAVE SET ABOUT THIS TASK AS CMO OR AS PM HOLDING ALL 30 SEATS IN THE HOA

NOT BECAUSE I BELIEVE THAT SOLUTIONS BARBADOS HAS NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS, DOES IT MEAN THAT I AM AN IDIOT,

13. Chris HalsallDecember 18, 2019 8:40 PM

@Piece the Legend: “We ARE NOT STOOPID CHRIS

I am well aware of that.

I am also well aware that, as a “whitey”, I must always be very careful in what I do and say.

That being said, I’m very comfortable where I find myself. And what I say.

I’m more than happy to discuss anything. Anytime; anywhere.

If I ever cause offense, it is unintentional.

I was raised Canadian.

I’ll apologize, and then we’ll move on… 🙂

Did I miss when you apologized to me, an intelligent, law abiding citizen, for assuming that my attitude towards policing in Barbados was baseless?

As a whitey you do need to be VERY CAREFUL. You did not stop to think that the attitude of the average policeman to your whiteness would be different to the attitude of a policeman to my blackness. They look at you, they see a virtual untouchable. They look at me and see somebody that probably has no clout. Fools don’t realize that assumptions are dangerous things. But I seldom call for backup. I usually have no need.

I did force a kind of apology from them eventually. Grudgingly given but understood.

Because you don’t ask somebody how you can make it right unless you know you have done something wrong.

I was so angry that I could think of nothing that would make it right for me. But the boy who they threatened to “beat to a pulp” asked for them to carry out training on how to deal with young people. The boy who they treated so horribly was not angry but was looking to prevent others from experiencing what he had experienced.

That is the child I took pains to raise. God does deliver. I asked Him to help me raise such a child. I am well pleased.

So you, the man who had to study all kinds of big word stuff before he realized that he could not disprove the existence of God, please try not to tell us what we should be thinking or doing. We shall not take kindly to it.

PS. Even if God does not exist it was always obvious to me that you could NEVER disprove His existence. Duh!

14. Don’t see you controlling insults thrown at me, David. GP has not told lies on the man. He is simply baiting him. Why would you feel the need to defend him? Is he supposed to make his contributions hassle free???????

Well, well, well. It seems that Pieces was again correct.

Genuflection time!

15. @ nextparty246 December 19, 2019 1:08 PM

How about going the rather politically dirty route and privatize the entire garbage collection and management service?

Or better yet, since it is the flavour for the times, a PPP arrangement where the government would finance the Capex but the private player(s) would conduct all the managerial and operational functions?

If garbage can fly about the place, willy-nilly, why not treat the SSA as another guinea pig like the one at the airport?

The problem is that the IMF is not prepared to buy a pig in a poke and want the whole hog with the inspection stamp marked ‘Ready for Privatization’.

16. @Donna: “…please try not to tell us what we should be thinking or doing. We shall not take kindly to it.

I try to not tell anyone what they should be thinking or doing. I /will/, however, always say what I am thinking and doing (or, at least, trying to do). Particularly if there’s disagreement. And, I truly am always more than happy to be corrected if I’m wrong.

I’m sincerely sorry if I cause offense to you. And I am well aware that because of (in my mind, stupid) biases I do get treated differently. And not just because of my skin color, but also my gender and height (I’m relatively short).

I do everything I can to not have such biases myself. Although I will say when I first came to Barbados to work, I insisted that my team-mates were Black. I didn’t want the first competitor to C&W for WAN services to be a bunch of “whities”. Technically that was also racist, but I’m OK with that. (Oh, and BTW, my team was the strongest bunch of technical guys I have ever had the pleasure to work with.)

Please understand — I was born, raised and trained in Canada. We (generally) care about as much about someone’s skin color as we do about their eye color, hair color, gender, sexual orientation or religious beliefs. As in, not at all. What we care about is what they think and do.

Namaste.

17. @Chris

It is easy to be misunderstood on an impersonal channel like BU.