It is beginning to look a lot like Hyatt Barbados Ziva. A check of the website – http://www.hyattcarlislebay.com/ gives a brief overview of the project and developer Vision Development Inc. Importantly, several documents the BU family has asked for have been posted under the Environmental Impact Assessment link.

Thanks Amit!

69 responses to “Hyatt Barbados Ziva Project”

1. @ Sargeant

That’s the real problem. That’s why one should not be drawn into debate, with those who only see issues only through their party’s lens. This political sychophancy is killing the country. The only hope is that while the Duopoly continues to mash up de country, is that somewhere in between , the poor working class , at least get jobs to save their dignity. That’s why I am supporting all the capital projects both private and public because i know that at least some citizen will carry home a cheque and put food on their tables. AS pathetic as this sounds, its the only poistion I can take with these abusive party miscreants from both sides.
    I would like those who oppose Sandals to visit the area and see people who look like them getting to work. Remember how the women used to head off to the indsutrial parks? As @ WURA says this is the same model and the apologists are the same but in the meantime children need to go to school and the Duopoly driving six cylinder SUV’s. That’s why holding up the project in St. Peter is pure political brinksmanship. This guy Maloney was the worst thing a few months ago and now he is a bigger god around here. Yet the poor people on the west coast waiting on stupidness to get jobs. Construction workers and others begging fuh wuk while backroom deals getting work out.
    When the Hyatt starts and I see people who look like me getting a piece ah wuk , I know this will save them embarassment and social marginalization for a while. Note that Butch Stuart don’t get cuss no more and all the fuss about concessions done fuh now. Same talk about Sam Lords that getting work out as well. Problems with the BWA and Inotech that getting work out.
    Read this morning that the government is going to fight CAHILL over the legal ranglings from the last administration. All the corruption talk fading and the game goes on and on. Even the once Mighty Owen Arthur is” very busy” with the party that lost its soul and happy with some “unfit despot”. At least one former member of the last administration is now a consultant ( and I don’t mean Mascoll) in a high profile ministry.
    And with all of this evidence of: collusion , duplicity and complicity, @ Hal from Englan’ still battling political paling cocks and hens.

The Duopoly Rules

2. What is holding up the Sandals Beaches project William?

3. @ David
    What is holding up the Sandals Beaches project William?

You tell me what your answer is I was very clear what I thought. I said: ” That’s why holding up the project in St. Peter is pure political brinksmanship.”

On this occasion , you may have the last word on this issue.

4. Ha
    Ha.
    Spot on William

5. @William

In other words you do not ‘now. Fair enough.

6. Ha. Ha David yuh funny

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 1:24 Pm

Those of us with a purpose in life have ideals and we work towards achieving those ideals.
    To suggest that politics is about winning the next election devalues the purpose of politics.
    It is now clear to me what some bloggers hope to achieve by their submissions. Their mission is not pursuit of knowledge , truth and good governance. Some are poor ambassadors of their parties and should not be allowed to misinform the public.

8. @Vincent

This is the Everest that confronts some of us.

9. @ Enuff December 15, 2019 8:20 AM

The Miller will cease with his ‘pragmatically-searching’ queries when the source(s) of finance is revealed like how all the other design and planning aspects of this massive project have been exposed to the sunlight of authenticity.

What is so secretive about the lifeblood of this project? After al, US $175 million investment (a 75% increase in its original economic impact) is nothing to scoff at in terms of the Bajan economy.

Every red and blue blooded Bajan wants to see this project get off the ground and is eagerly awaiting its expansionary economic impact on the Capital and the wider commercial Barbados.

So are you going to ‘justify’ another deferral to its long awaited construction start date of February 2020 or will there be another excuse to justify its dreamland stillbirth?

If you can play, in Pauline fashion, the role of Chief of PR for this project of Babel-like controversy and confusion why can’t there be a role for a ‘doubting’ Thomas demanding to see the wounds of financial execution to balance out this zero-sum game of only consultancy fees coming through the imaginary investment pipeline for the past 5 or more years?

Here is an easy project of a simple puzzle for you to complete:

Formula:
    Asset(s) = Liabilities + Owner(s) Equity.

Provide the missing numbers to replace the question marks:

US $ 175 million = $ ??? + $ ???

A well planned, finished & furnished Hyatt Ziva fit for well-heeled foreign guests = ????+ ????.

10. @VC
    Those of us with a purpose in life have ideals and we work towards achieving those ideals.
    To suggest that politics is about winning the next election devalues the purpose of politics.
    Are you a candidate for sainthood? Could you remember a time when a Bajan Parliamentarian resigned as a matter of principle?

11. VC
    Arrogance? Where, how? First thing, I am no fan of townhall meetings. I don’t even like the name and I believe there are better ways to engage with the public. The act of putting the EIA online is a far, far better process and as a matter of fact ALL the application docs should be available on the TPD website and the public allowed to comment. That is engagement and proper consultation. Secondly, until you and others recognise that maximising public benefit is the ultimate goal of development planning, this discussion will go nowhere. For example, read the write up on the proposed Hyatt and note the substantial public benefits to be DELIVERED apart from the standard jobs. Have you ever heard of a project contributing to the DELIVERY public infrastructure? This is what I mean when I talk about development management v development control. Discretionary, facilitative and flexible vs rigidity and contentious.

Miller
    Why are you asking me about financing? I am not the developer or associated with the developer. I am not the government or associated with the government. I am simply commenting on the principle of building a hotel on Bay Street.

12. VC
    I wonder who misinforming the public? I guess mirrors absent from many a BU contributor household.🤣🤣🤣

13. @ Enuff December 16, 2019 8:55 AM
    “Why are you asking me about financing? I am not the developer or associated with the developer. I am not the government or associated with the government. I am simply commenting on the principle of building a hotel on Bay Street.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Who in principle, like you in your right mind, would object, ‘principally’, to the building of a hotel on Bay Street?

After all, that area has been earmarked for the past 25 years for exactly that purpose as part of the programme of the regeneration of Bridgetown and its rundown environs.

The problem, my dreamy friend, is one of transforming the plan into real(i)ty.
    And that can only be achieved through the availability of money; whether through FDI or local financing in Bajan Mickey mouse dollars backed by a huge increase in the country’s foreign reserves to support the inevitable outflows arising from the construction and furnishing of such a (in Bajan tourism size) relatively large hotel.

Where is the forex going to come from?
    The sale of the Hilton or the Sam Lord Wyndham or the Blue Horizon or the Four Seasons fiasco to refund Andrew Lloyd Webber?

How about the sale of the BWA and the CLICO properties to people with foreign money?

14. Q Where is the forex going to come from?

A FROM KENYA & GHANA & THE GATHERERS

15. It is now over six hours that people in parts of Christ Church have not had any water. So far no BWA workers have even spoken to them. What is going on in Barbados? I am sure this is not happening in the upmarket parts of St James. Where is the prime minister?

16. Miller
    Tell VC et al about delivery not me. You continue to mix matters–two different dishes even if the same meal.

Hal
    Hush! When last have you even been to Bim? Talking nonsense about class.

17. @ Enuff December 17, 2019 12:26 AM

Hasn’t the same imaginary Hyatt been an object of creativity for numerous design changes and costings; moving from an original estimate of US$ 100 million to a most recent estimate of US$ 175 million?

You are more political naïve than originally thought.
    Can’t you understand the sine qua non of finance in order to appreciate the economic and social impact such an investment would have on the Bajan comatose landscape?
    Haven’t you heard about the multiplier effect especially in a small economic space as Barbados badly in need of an economic blood transfusion to find work for idle hands especially among the young males?

Enuff of the posturing and get on with the deliverables.

We want to see a hotel with real guests; not a talk shop of a conman’s imagination and a circus for political puppeteering.

Let us see if there will be another Coverley in the City or Dalkeith Woods on the Bay without government’s direct financial support.

18. Hotel workers to take care of visitors, What about having enough train nurses and nurses aids, to take care of our people.

How many buildings are they going start and leave unfinish.

The beach is large and unkept, very dirty , the sand is dead, that is why it is regularly empty.

what about the road construction in St. Andrew, is it all about visitors?

The Empire theater should have been refurbish years ago.

Why not build a hospital that is more accessible to the people in the north..

Do not let the monkeys take over Dover, place the homeless there with supervision and meals.

The city homes need to be refurbish, these are the things that government should look into, some still have pit toilets. {or rebuilt]

When it comes to town hall meetings, the lawyer Thorne was given a cheque for $500.00. to represent an old lady, he cash the cheque and denied he took it, it was given to him at Wesley Hall boy school ,his signature on the back.. he was taken to the Bar Ass but as usual nothing was done.

t

19. some one ask ,”where is the prime minister” playing golf. Independence square need power washing very very bad..