For members of the BU family who are not confined to navel gazing and would cast eyes across the pond.

Projection of Seats: Conservatives 368 Labour 191 SNP 55 LD 13 – Majority of 86

396 responses to “Boris and Conservatives Win BIG”

1. @ Tee White

I am not putting a case for or against the so-called Westminster system. What I am saying is that if the system that exists in the UK is the Westminster system (based on the geography of parliament) then the system we have in Barbados is not a true reflection of this. An adversarial political system, a bicameral parliament and a Cabinet form of government does not make it the Westminster model.
    You talk about the ruling class, but do you mean the capitalist class, the political elite or the wealthy aristocracy? The biggest investors in the UK capital market are pension funds, owned by ordinary workers. Are you suggesting that workers are the ruling elite?
    You claim the current political problem were not caused by David Cameron. I bow to your greater wisdom and understanding of UK politics. The only thing I will ask is that you do not teach such things to young people.
    For the record, whatever the ideology, the current problems have been caused by the Fixed Term Act and the referendum. Still waiting for a description of your representative e form of government. I think you are getting confused about the pegging of the pound with the mark and the dollar. If this was not a serious discussion I would laugh out loud.
    I suspect that your views are what was (is) being taught at UWI. I have a theory of circulating mediocrity. If the above is what you have been taught, it is ALL wrong.

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Reverend Atherley

Again de ole man will go back to the main topic here

“…In my constituency of Barnsley Central, the Brexit Party came a worryingly close second

They threw the kitchen sink at us – visits from Nigel Farage with national media entourage in tow, a full wraparound our local paper, a plane flying a party banner, a dozen mailings to households, publicity across the borough and countless targeted Facebook ads.

All of which carried the same message: Labour doesn’t care about you. And it worked. The result was a humbling night for Labour in Barnsley. I received 10,000 fewer votes and saw my majority reduced to 3,571…”

This is an excerpt of Labour Candidate Dan Jarvis from Barnsley ONCE A LABOUR STRONGHOLD.

He lost!!!

You have been tarnished as a betrayer of the Barbados Labout Party DO YOU HONESTLY FEEL THAT, GIVEN THE ONSLAUGHT THAT MUGABE MOTTLEY IS GOING TO THROW AT YOU, you going win your seat?

Bow out gracefully UNDER YOUR TERMS, with a symbolic fight against Mugabe!

Listen to de ole man and win, disobey AND LOSE!

3. like you, if we had killed a man and plead guilty to manslaughter we would be better off — CAUSE we would have got out by now.
    “AS A PHYSICIAN, I MET MEN IN THEIR THIRTIES ALL WORN DOWN AND BROKEN WITH HYPERTENSION”

Funny.as hell
    🙂
    I have hypertension. Going to put her out this evening….. On second thoughts… I’ll just keep quiet and just do my time:-)

4. THEO
    YOU WELL PASS 30, MAN

TAKE YOUR HYPERTENSION TABS AND BEHAVE
    just keep quiet and just do my time
    YOU SOUND LIKE YOU GOT A GOOD WIFE LOL

BUT SERIOUSLY ALL THE VERY YOUNG MEN I SAW WITH HYPERTENSION ALL HAD EVIL WIVES MAN

AND I AM INDEED IN REAL LIFE Funny.as hell
    ALL THE BEST FOR THE SEASON

5. RE As soon as dis BU BORG member come pun duty dem does block everyting

DONT WORRY PIECE

NIGHT DOES RUN TIL DAY CATCH UM AND VICE VERSA

ONE WONDERS WHY DIOTROPHES POSTS TWO SILLY ARTICLES WEEKLY THAT CONTAIN
    NO SUBSTANCE
    NO SEQUENCE
    ARE NOT SOLID
    ARGUEMENTS NOT SOLID, SUCESSIVE SEQUENTIAL OR SYSTEMATIC

AND HE WANTS TO LEAD THE COUNTRY? WHERE? IN DE CAREENAGE? OR WESTBURY?

6. Silly Woman
    December 18, 2019 9:05 AM

We all have a deputy John. You know that. Just in case the “main man” fails

Silly women do exist!!

7. Ewart ArcherDecember 13, 2019 5:02 PM

Tee White

went through his entire childhood and somehow grew up to be a functioning adult without realizing that “democracy”, “equality”, “social justice”, etc. are utopian fantasies.

The human animal is a predator. Think carefully about what that means. Then read a book on biological psychology.

++++++++++++++++++++++

Some of us have evolved. I am not a predator. I do not understand the predatory instinct. I dream dreams and have fantasies of a better world for all. Tee White has also evolved. Do you still consider yourself a predator?

It is true what you say, though. The world is still for the most part, a jungle and many people are predators. In reaching for Utopia we will fall short. But that does not mean we should not strive for a more democratic society, less inequality, improved social justice etc.

Time was when slavery was accepted. Domination of women was accepted. Monarchies and dictatorships were accepted. Most of us have come to believe these things to be unacceptable even if we have not managed to eradicate them totally. It always starts with a thought. And then there is slooooooww progress. Evolution is a slow process. And those who have not evolved will fight progress even when the majority has evolved.

The other animals do not think on these things. But we have that capacity and do think deeply.

Let us keep evolving!

8. Time was when slavery was accepted.

Domination of women was accepted.

Imagine if the Quakers had not been motivated by God and did not become tools in His hands to effect the change and spread His message to all mankind.

9. Do unto others as you would have them do to you.

This isn’t something that evolved over time out of man’s fertile mind.

It is kind of old.

10. We have evolved when we come to understand and accept it. And when we can fathom no other way of being.

11. @ John December 18, 2019 8:48 PM
    “Imagine if the Quakers had not been motivated by God and did not become tools in His hands to effect the change and spread His message to all mankind.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It’s pity that the Quakers weren’t around to melt the hardened hearts of the
    Pharaohs to free the ‘white’ Jews who were in slavery for over 400 years.

Wouldn’t be surprised if you describe your ‘white’ Moses as the founder of Quakerism.

12. Hal Austin

What will Hal Austin say now that, in the Queen’s Speech, Boris (“One Nation”) Johnson has formally pledged to (a) increase government spending on the NHS by £34 billion over four years; and (b) build a million new units of affordable housing.

Not even Jeremy (aka Leon Trotsky) would have done better.

13. If men are being warned not to marry some women, certainly the reverse is true, looking for the women who were warned not to marry some men.

Life is a two- way street.

14. Tee White

Sounds like a clone of the young boys from the GBSS and Presentation College who schemed their way to power in the Grenada Revolution (1979-83).

They said all of the things Tee White is saying, almost word for word, and once in power, they established People’s Assemblies throughout the island. These were examples of direct democracy — community gatherings that allowed individuals to make direct proposals to government ministers and discuss the details of the government budget.

So how did that turn out? Some Grenadians who disagreed with the People’s Revolutionary Government plotted to kill the PRG leadership, which in response began rounding up suspected opponents and jailing and torturing them without any attempt at due process. Eventually, the PRG leaders turned their guns on each other as well as on their opponents, and the Americans stepped in to impose a regional solution.

So stop re-inventing the wheel, Tee White. Anything you can think of has already been tried. Human nature is what it is.

15. Miller
    December 19, 2019 5:45 PM

@ John December 18, 2019 8:48 PM
    “Imagine if the Quakers had not been motivated by God and did not become tools in His hands to effect the change and spread His message to all mankind.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    It’s pity that the Quakers weren’t around to melt the hardened hearts of the
    Pharaohs to free the ‘white’ Jews who were in slavery for over 400 years.
    Wouldn’t be surprised if you describe your ‘white’ Moses as the founder of Quakerism.

God is the common denominator, Moses and the Quakers were both His tools.

16. Your human nature seems quite different from my human nature. I must be some sort of alien.

17. But I have an unrelated matter on my mind. I am hoping that David did not shut down a whole blog to shield Chris Halsall. I was going to accept his apology and move on but if David has done this unwarranted action then I have lost any respect I had for him and now wonder if Piece was right about EVERYTHING he has said about him.

And if kissing certain people’s ass is a requirement for being on this blog then it is obvious that I am not welcome. Cause Donna don’t play dat!

18. so you notice too DONNA?

19. @ John December 19, 2019 8:17 PM
    “God is the common denominator, Moses and the Quakers were both His tools.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So what’s the use of Jesus if the Quakers are the tool’ of God?

Why do we have to spend so much money building and maintaining churches in the worship of some concocted saviour when we can go straight to God in prayer (like the Jews of old) by just being ‘silent’ like the Quakers?

BTW, Quaker John, since Jesus was a real-life person, why do you ‘celebrate’, in true pagan style, (and like any other human being) his birth on a ‘fixed’ date?

But, how come, when it comes to his death it is turned into a moving mooning target in true Xtian style from one denomination to another depending on the phases of the Arabic moon?

In other simple words, why is Jesus Christ birthday on the 25th of December (winter) while his crucifixion and resuscitation can be any time after the vernal equinox but only with the Sun’s blessings (fertilization) of Spring’s snow melt of March and the showers of April to provide for Mother Earth’s new lease on life in the Northern hemisphere?

20. GP,

I saw the signs before but I am one to give the benefit of the doubt for a while. You did not tell any lie on the man. You did what you always do. You bait people. The specious excuse about not accepting this behaviour towards people who are posting under their own name is soooooo obviously bogus. He accepts it for others who post under their own names. But here he goes full obsequious to the man, intervenes at every turn, threatens all challengers with his “blogmaster powers” (LOL) and now it seems he has put up a shield.

I have heard about bending over backwards but I wouldn’t be caught dead in that position. I treat all people equally. Frankly, I am embarrassed for him.

PS. Halsall denies telling people what to do but he did tell you what to do. Whether he knows it or not his manner is condescending and gets one’s hackles up. David can ban me if he likes because “my mouth never had no cover” and that is not likely to change. You could ask my mother, my father and my teachers. I will tell it as I see it if you have a big stick hanging over my head. Being banned from BU is hardly a big stick.

21. And by the way, I never hide my identity. The police at the station would have had guns when I faced them and I ripped into them for the most part alone with my sixteen year old son on their turf. Not using your full name does not mean one is hiding. Everybody who reads BU and knows just a little about me has already recognized me I am sure. And if they somehow weren’t sure before, after my police station story dem dun know because they know that that is exactly what i would do in such circumstances.

22. @Donna: “PS. Halsall denies telling people what to do but he did tell you what to do. Whether he knows it or not his manner is condescending and gets one’s hackles up.

Sincerely, not intentional.

As a bit of an intense dyslectic OCD, I don’t ever mean to cause offense.

Heuristically though, I do sometimes get shit done…

23. I do believe that it is unintentional. That is why I said “whether he knows it or not”. Just making you aware and calling out David’s shit.

That is MY OCD showing.

24. DONNA

HALSAL WAS HERE BEFORE YOU KNOW
    YEARS AGO AND HE WAS WORSE THEN
    DICTIONARY USED TO TEAR INTO HIM

25. @ Donna,

Seasons Greetings to you and your son and your extended family.

I will in due course give similar cheer to all my bajan people, friends and enemies here on BU.

I just saw your comment which in part, said, and I quote

“… I am hoping that David did not shut down a whole blog to shield Chris Halsall.

I was going to accept his apology and move on but if David has done this unwarranted action then I have lost any respect I had for him and now wonder if Piece was right about EVERYTHING he has said about him…”

Donna, there is a thing that you and many others here have to be careful about.

Every time you and others here mention Piece the Legend THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER, AND THE BU BORG, TAKE NOTE!

There is a quote by Arundhati Roy that goes

“…Every people, every society, needs a culture of resistance, a culture of being difficult and disobedient, that is the only way they will ever be able to stand up to the inevitable abuse of power by whoever runs the state apparatus, the capitalists, the communists, the socialists, the Gandhians, (the Mugabe-ites) whoever.

THOSE OF YOU who were raised in healthy homes, AND WENT TO SCHOOL AND FURTHER, are starting to wake up to the subtle changes in how this Regime is dealing with dissent.

And I make no excuses about my behaviour here but the way I figure it is that, when people in a delirium A QUICH SLAP IN DEM FACE WILL SOBER DEM UP RAPIDLIKE!

There is more than one David King here but the sentiment that you are noticing is that WE ALL NOW MUST CHANT THE MUGAGE ANTHEM, TOGETHER or …

People are waking up slowly but surely while other “small fry bajans” get disrespected OR YOUR ADDRESS IS NOTED.

DISSENT, HOWEVER SMALL, IS NOT WELCOME

26. @GP: “DICTIONARY USED TO TEAR INTO HIM

Yup. Good times.

I learned some good moves during those exchanges… 😎

27. PIECE
    I HAVE FOUND THAT TO POSSESS SUPERIOR INTELLECT AND DEBATING AND ORATORIAL SKILLS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE

YOU ARE TO TOE THE LINE AND BE A HYPOCRITE
    YOU ARE NOT TO TELL THE TRUTH EXCEPT WHEN IT SERVES THE PURPOSE OF THOSE IN “POWER”
    THATS WHY YOU HAVE GONE FROM BEING A HERO TO A ZERO
    WHEN I TEACH MEDICINE, I AM A HERO HERE——-OTHER WISE, I AM A ZERO

28. Well Piece, I was born a rebel with rebel blood from a long line of rebels but never without a just cause. I will have to die a rebel sooner or later. I console myself with the fact that EVERYONE MUST DIE! Even those who “tink dat dem mek demselves”. Their power is so temporary it is laughable. Fools don’t remember that they could drop dead in mid -sentence and those over whom they thought they had power could step over their helpless bodies.

Steupse!

I pity the fools!

29. Case in point, years ago Tom Adams ordered my father’s name off a promotions list calling him “that black bitch” simply because my father’s credibility in the constituency had cost his golden boy an election. Well, Tom Adams soon DIED, my father got another better paying job which Mia & Co tried their best to relieve him of but he rose to the top and by the time he was ready to retire the BLP minister begged him to stay.

But to get back to the main point – Tom Adams DIED. The black bitch is still alive. I never heard him rejoice at the death though. He just isn’t that type. But stinking Donna is her mother’s child.

30. @Donna: “But stinking Donna is her mother’s child.

To resonate…

When I hired my teams, I presumed they would look out for each other. Help each other. Teach each other.

Instead what I found I had to deal with was protecting all my team members from back-stabbing from team-mates.

Weird. I had never encountered this before.

31. Chris,

I managed to go through school, university and three jobs before I felt the first knife in my back. Never quite understood what possessed these people.

The “Stinking Donna” reference is a Bajanism just as “I ent no sweet bread” that generally means I am nobody’s fool/ pushover or that I am not above a little spite or payback. In this case I only had a good laugh at the thought that Tom Adams was now powerless to deprive my father of any promotion he earned. I do speak ill of the dead if they did ill when they were alive.

In short, don’t ask me to deliver a eulogy!

32. Entertainer Kenny Lynch, a London-born Bajan, has died.

33. Donna

I dont really think that you are a rebel, simply because you go against the grain

I dont think that folk who stand firm for righteousness are rebels

YOU CANT BE RIGHT AND WRONG SIMULTANEOUSLY……….although that is how you are judged and that is how it works out

When you know that you are right—-you should stand firm———-but it will cost you………and dearly

PEOPLE DO NOT LIKE YOU WHEN YOU ARE RIGHT OR HAVE A GOD GIVEN SUPERIOR INTELLECT

34. GP,

A rebel with a just cause is something I celebrate. I bear the label proudly. Just as I bear my madwoman label proudly.

35. Far-right Britain First is urging its supporters to join the Conservative Party in order to “make Boris Johnson’s leadership more secure”.
    The extremist group, whose leaders were jailed last year, sent an email to subscribers claiming “thousands” of its activists were becoming members of the Tories (Quote)

36. Perusing the British press online this morning, I came upon this headline:

WOMAN WITH BROKEN FOOT DIES AFTER WAITING SIX HOURS FOR AMBULANCE ON FREEZING PAVEMENT.

The UK National Health Service is so bad you can read stories about their incompetence every day in UK media, usually in the Daily Mail. But the dreadful state of affairs will never be acknowledged by committed socialists like Hal Austin.

37. David
    December 20, 2019 11:41 AM

Boris is on BREXIT track:

38. Miller
    December 19, 2019 9:33 PM

@ John December 19, 2019 8:17 PM
    “God is the common denominator, Moses and the Quakers were both His tools.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    So what’s the use of Jesus if the Quakers are the tool’ of God?
    Why do we have to spend so much money building and maintaining churches in the worship of some concocted saviour when we can go straight to God in prayer (like the Jews of old) by just being ‘silent’ like the Quakers?
    BTW, Quaker John, since Jesus was a real-life person, why do you ‘celebrate’, in true pagan style, (and like any other human being) his birth on a ‘fixed’ date?
    But, how come, when it comes to his death it is turned into a moving mooning target in true Xtian style from one denomination to another depending on the phases of the Arabic moon?
    In other simple words, why is Jesus Christ birthday on the 25th of December (winter) while his crucifixion and resuscitation can be any time after the vernal equinox but only with the Sun’s blessings (fertilization) of Spring’s snow melt of March and the showers of April to provide for Mother Earth’s new lease on life in the Northern hemisphere?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Incidentally, I have a Quaker ancestor who was put in stocks on Christmas Day 1676 for building a wall in a Quaker Burying Ground, I suspect the one by St. Philip’s Church.

He was a stone mason.

He dared to work on a “Holy Day”.

Quakers did not observe Christmas.

Merry Christmas to you and yours!

39. .. and Praise the Lord.

40. So what’s the use of Jesus if the Quakers are the tool’ of God?

Jesus frees us from a different form of slavery, slavery to sin.

We then become slaves to righteousness.

41. @ Ewart

Committed Socialist? I cannot even spell the word. What does it really mean? Does it mean I party a lot? I think the UK needs a modern health service like those in Barbados and the US.

42. Why do we have to spend so much money building and maintaining churches in the worship of some concocted saviour when we can go straight to God in prayer (like the Jews of old) by just being ‘silent’ like the Quakers?

You are sounding more and more like a Quaker in wolf’s clothing!!

43. @ Hants

Kenny was a UK-born Bajan.

44. @ Hal,

I saw your earlier post and did some “googling “. Will listen to some of his recordings.