The very first requirement in a hospital is that it should do patients no harm.
– By Sharika S Nair
The following message popped up in the Facebook newsfeed of a BU family member. We need to strive for better at our primary care facility.

Jina Scheper

The A&E at QEH is beyond ridiculous and I hope that my words, at the very least, embarrass somebody. I arrived here at 12pm.with my chronically ill mother she was severely dehydrated and crying from pain in her chest. We were ushered straight in and she was placed in a hard chair to wait. After an hour I made a fuss and some nurses saw her. They did the ECG and took some blood work. Later a chest xray was done. They brought her back.and left her to.sit in a chair for 5 hours. The Edema in her legs is so bad now that you cannot tell the difference between her ankles or her calves. She is weeping in pain and her lips are now swollen and cracking due to.her dehydration. I have been begging for help to no avail. And it’s not just me. The guy next to us literally passed out and fell out of his chair and not a single.doctor or nurse assisted….. not one. The doctors have spent more time in their little room joking and laughing then looking at patients. Just had a doctor come over and when I begged her for something she snapped at me and walked on refusing to even look at her.

This is my tax dollar at work. This is my NIS At work. Yes I know money is tight but this is beyond a small budget. This is gross mismanagement. This is corruption, this is lack of regard for human life, this is a violation of basic human needs. This is disgusting.

94 responses to “Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland – Reminder QEH Means People Care Comes First!”

1. Sir Simple Simon

Large parts of the US health care system are run by the government. The US system is already nearly as weighed down by socialism as the Canadian system.

But there are many other factors at work. For example, most doctors are white or Asian, and provide a lower level of care to black and Hispanic patients than they provide to patients of their own race. There are numerous studies showing the perverse effects of racial discrimination on patient outcomes. That is just one of many (other) factors in the equation.

2. Life expectancy depends on many factors. Not just the quality and coverage of the health care systems.

3. FMH, Sandy Crest 2X, Coverly Medical Centre … anymore?

They cost but not excessive.

My first experience with QEH was in 2001.

My mother collapsed a Saturday morning and we took her to FMH.

Dr. Watson attended and diagnosed the problem, did the X-Rays and other tests.

Sent us to QEH with instructions to have her admitted to a Public Ward because there would always be nurses present and she needed close attention.

He called ahead and sent his results.

It took a while before she was in a bed in the Public Ward but it was not excessive.

She lingered for a week before major surgery was done by Dr. Walcott and then she bounced right back.

Nearly went mad in the week waiting for the doctors to decide what to do!!

She lived for another 16 years in good health.

I have heard horror stories about QEH and Accident and Emergency but my experience in that instance was good but harrowing.

Never understood why Dr. Walcott would waste his time and talents becoming a politician.

I believe it was her Dr. told us to take her to FMH first.

Eleven years later I went to FMH first after an armed assault with a CSF leak.

I was then sent to QEH.

Had to wait a while for a CAT scan before I was sent back home.

Learnt a lot through those two experiences.

If you can get emergency medical attention before getting to QEH, get it first.

It relieves pressure on overworked staff at QEH and assists in the decision making process.

Old time saying, “The hardest thing is knowing what to do”!!

4. @Tony TrotmanDecember 11, 2019 3:50 PM

@Bajan in NY

Please note that I said “The NHS in England is not perfect.”

I think we are on the same page since I am a supporter of the NHS unlike Ewart Archer, who seems to think if you don’t have employer provided insurance or don’t have the money to buy medical insurance you should be left to die when you become ill.

@Ewart Archer, I am black and registered as an independent. Additionally, I have good insurance coverage, but that does not mean a thing if I become seriously illness as medically bills are the major cause of personal bankruptcy in the USA.

5. …medical bills*…

6. Most people don’t know what to do in a medical emergency.

Very few people do.

I saw the difference between those who know and those who don’t know twice, once on Dover Beach (1987) and the other on a beach in Barcelona (1979).

In each case a person was rescued from the sea and brought to the beach.

A crowd of onlookers not knowing what to do assembled.

One person acts immediately and tries CPR.

… and doesn’t stop until ambulance personnel arrive and take over.

I saw the girl on Dover Beach fight like a dog to save the guy.

In both cases the person died, just too late, but I remember thinking I had been taught CPR at University (1975) but it took someone who actually could recognize a medical emergency and act.

… and they are not always successful.

7. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar
    SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife

John might like the article in the Nation of December 12, 2019, page 12 “Quakers ‘pushed against slavery’”

8. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ewart Archer December 11, 2019 6:47 PM “The reasons for this are complex.”

The reasons are not complex at all.

The reasons are the hundreds of years of enslavement of black people in the United States, and subsequently the more than 100 years (and continuing in the present and into the future) of poisonous racism in the United States.

Complex what!!!

9. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

https://www.syracuse.com/health/2016/10/longest_shortest_emergency_room_waits_in_central_new_york.html
    How long patients wait at New York emergency rooms.

Patients wait anywhere from nine minutes to 69 minutes before they are seen by a health care professional at hospital emergency rooms in the Central New York area. Wait times tend to be longer at ERs that attract large number of patients.

10. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

https://www.statista.com/statistics/488211/average-minutes-waiting-in-accident-and-emergency-nhs-united-kingdom/
    Number of minutes waiting for treatment in the emergency room in the United Kingdom (UK) from May 2011 to March 2018
    In March 2018, a patient in Accident and Emergency in the United Kingdom would spend an average of 64 minutes waiting before treatment would begin.

11. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

https://www.hqontario.ca/System-Performance/Time-spent-in-emergency-departments
    On average Ontario patients waited 1.6 Hours before their first assessment by a doctor.
    The low emergency patients, not admitted spent an average of 2.6 hours in the emergency room.
    On average high urgency patients, not admitted spent an average of 4 hours in the emergency room.
    93% of patients were seen, admitted or discharged within the target time of 8 hours. Which means that 7% were still waiting for admission, discharge or transfer more than 8 hours later.

Again i say hospital emergency rooms are not bread shops where customers can be dispatched in minutes.

12. Some people will heap scorn on this comparison, but s hospital is a service organization that faces many of the same problems a hotel faces in delivering consistently high-quality services to its customers.

Why do Barbados hotels operate with so much greater success than its main hospital? Because many of the private sector performance controls used in hotels (even if they are government-owned) are not in place at the QEH.

Socialism rules! Hospital managers are clueless.

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

SirSimple SimonPresidentForLifeDecember 12, 2019 12:27 PM

Those numbers are bogus. Severely skewed, by a lack of options in some areas, where people use the Emergency procedure, in place of a standard GP visit. On those occasions when I have attended a true “emergency” situation, the response has been pronto. And if we could get these numerous random acts of violence down, the hospitals may work better. Only a small portion of the daily gun/knife incidents make it to the media. Thank goodness, or our newscasts would be an hour long show of violent acts, and vehicular collisions; but the medical system gets the full truth.

14. @ Ewart

Hospital do not have customers; they are called patients and the customer service is called patient care.
    @Tee White,

@ Tee White
    NHS is the great British treasure.

15. question

have any of you certified bu bullshitters ever been in the place of an ER doctor?
    have any of you certified bu bullshitters ever walked for one moment in the shoes of an ER doctor?

have any of you certified bu bullshitters ever faced the challenge of the differential diagnosis of “headache”

simple simon

keep on talking sense amidst the concentrated emotional bull shit here pervaded
    these jokers are all afflicted with proctalgia fugax

16. Sadly, Hal Austin does not have much of what is called an analytic mind.

It pays to go to a good university as a teenager.

17. @ Ewart

What is a university? Do you play dominoes there? What is an analytic mind.

18. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ewart Archer December 12, 2019 12:36 PM “Some people will heap scorn on this comparison, but s hospital is a service organization that faces many of the same problems a hotel faces in delivering consistently high-quality services to its customers. Why do Barbados hotels operate with so much greater success than its main hospital?”

Because the people who show up at a hotel want to be there. They have money and leisure time.

How can you compare a hotel guest on their honeymoon, with a 3 and 4 year old who have just pulled a full pot of hot soup down on themselves?

19. The point is that the performance controls and dashboard metrics for a hospital should be not unlike those for other service organizations like a hotel.

But many hospital managers don’t seem to recognize this.

20. i have to teach this to my medical students

MED STUDENTS LISTEN UP HERE NOW. AFTER 40 YEARS AS A DOCTOR I AM LEARNING THAT WE MUST
    ALWAYS REMEMBER A HOSPITAL IS LIKE A HOTEL OK the performance controls and dashboard metrics for a hospital should be not unlike those for other service organizations like a hotel.

I WANT YOU TO RECOGNIZE THIS

STUDENTS WILL ANSWER

DOC THAT IS A LOAD OF BULLSHIT DO YOU HAVE EARLY ALZS?

21. This is the problem with doctors.

They are narrowly trained and dont know a thing about client-service relationships.

BOJO WINS SMASHING VICTORY IN UK ELECTIONS!

22. RE This is the problem with doctors.

They are narrowly trained and dont know a thing about client-service relationships.

the PROBLEM WITH MEDICAL ILLITERATES IS THAT THEY KNOW NO MEDICINE, NOTHING ABOUT WHAT MEDICS KNOW OR THINK OR FEEL………….. THEY DONT KNOW VERT MANY DOCTORS

the PROBLEM WITH MEDICAL ILLITERATES IS THAT THEY THINK THEY KNOW

AND I LOVE TO MOCK WUNNAH WHEN WUNNAH STRAY OUTA WUNNAH LAYNE

YOU HAVE NOT TOLD ME ABOUT THE ERRONEOUS MEDICAL ERRORS THAT YOU WERE SPOUTING ABOUT
    PHARMACOGENETICS PHARMACODYNAMICS PHARMACOKINETICS PHARMACOIDIOT WHO DONT KNOW WUH HE TALKING BOUT

23. @ Ewart

Are you black? Do you know anything about Boris? Boris is to the right of Atilla the Hun. His PR people had to keep him away from the press for fear he would say the wrong things.
    He thinks black people are worse that Ms Ram’s rats. He is a liar, a cheat and a con man. Boris does not even believe anything Boris says. But it takes a special kind of Bajan buffoon to sings the praises of Boris.
    But black history is full of this nauseating betrayal. Don’t forget that Marcus Garvey cozied up to the KKK and W.E.B. DuBois sang the praises of Stalin. It is not funny.

24. In the United States, once the physicists and engineers deliver completed nuclear weapons to the military, they are instructed to fade into the background, so the political and military leadership can take over management, control and utilization of the weapons that have been produced. Expertise is compartmentalized.

In a hospital, the role of the doctors is to make their specialized expertise available to patients, but it is up to hospital management to organize the deployment of this expertise in an efficient and effective way. In other words, like physicists and engineers, doctors have to “know their place” in the overall healing process. They are not in charge of everything.

25. Hal,

Why don’t you give your little speech to all the African immigrants in the UK who support the Conservatives?

26. @ Ewart

What you have said is interesting. A lot of Africans, many of them just arrived in the country, supported the Brexit party. The president has been to Morocco, Ghana and now Kenya. Wait until Africans turn up in large numbers in Barbados. Remember Rwanda and the last elections in Kenya and Boko Harem.

27. December 12, 2019 11:53 AM

John might like the article in the Nation of December 12, 2019, page 12 “Quakers ‘pushed against slavery’”

Thanks, but rarely read any papers.

Will try to take a look.

28. re doctors have to “know their place” in the overall healing process. They are not in charge of everything.
    THAT IS WHY HOSPITAL MEDICINE IS SCREWED UP TODAY DUMMY

RE it is up to hospital management to organize the deployment of this expertise in an efficient and effective way.

THAT IS WHY LOTS OF HOSPITALS IN THE USA ARE CLOSING DOWN
    HOSPITAL MANAGEMENT CANT SEE PATIENTS
    HOSPITALS DONT WORK BECAUSE OF HOSPITAL MANAGEMENT THEY WORK BECAUSE DOCTORS COME AND SEE THE PATIENTS

QEH USED TO WORK MUCH BETTER WHEN THERE WAS LESS HOSPITAL MANAGEMENT uh lie

29. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife
    December 12, 2019 11:59 AM

@Ewart Archer December 11, 2019 6:47 PM “The reasons for this are complex.”
    The reasons are not complex at all.
    The reasons are the hundreds of years of enslavement of black people in the United States, and subsequently the more than 100 years (and continuing in the present and into the future) of poisonous racism in the United States.
    Complex what!!!

“More whites were brought as slaves to North Africa than blacks brought as slaves to the United States or to the 13 colonies from which it was formed. White slaves were still being bought and sold in the Ottoman Empire, decades after blacks were freed in the United States.”

Check it out!!

Google and see.

30. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ewart Archer “it is up to hospital management to organize the deployment of this expertise in an efficient and effective way. In other words, like physicists and engineers, doctors have to “know their place” in the overall healing process. They are not in charge of everything.”

If I ever need to go to a hospital again, I want my doctors and nurses to be in charge of my overall healing process. The accountants can take care of our Ewart.

31. Another major health policy announcement, not by the responsible minister, but by a president addicted to chap publicity. Why do these ministers hang around to be constantly humiliated by an obsessed president? Is it because they do not realise they are being treated like children, or because they want the jobs?
    Trumpism rules, OK?

Barbados’ health care system has to be brought fully into the 21st century and it must be “allowed to cater to the needs of ordinary Barbadians “who may not have the money to go to private clinics, but have been paying taxes and fees “for a long time”.

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley made that assertion yesterday during the Estimates Debate.
    “We are aware that for the most part that a lot of the equipment at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) had been aged [and] has not been replaced for a long time,” she said.
    The QEH’s executive chairman Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland reported that two new autoclaves and a water treatment plant, vital to performing surgeries, had been purchased.
    Mottley said in spite of being in an economic adjustment programme, Government had determined it would make “a sum of money” available to the Ministry of Health to purchase equipment. (Quote)

32. @Hal Austin March 7, 2020 6:00 AM “Why do these ministers hang around to be constantly humiliated.”

Maybe the Ministers are not egomaniacs. Maybe they are confident men and women, who do not see or experience humiliation in every little thing.

it is my tax money, a a citizen voter and elder, truly i don’t care who makes the announcement, as long as people who go to the QEH and the polyclinics receive excellent care when they go there. My parents, me and my children have always received excellent care when we have gone to the polyclinics and to the QEH. Not that we have been heavy users of any health care system anywhere because we have excellent genes and we take excellent care of ourselves, do not engage in heavy rum drinking, smoking (anything) and we choose to spend a lot of time in healthy outdoor activities.

Ahh!!! the sun has risen 2 minutes ago, let me head outside.

33. Hal to answer your question these are not adults they are children whose minds are not fully developed to adult way of think
    Having a big head and being put in a place of authority does not mean that your self esteem has reached a level of intelligence to decipher when one is being mistreated or deemed irrelevant.
    Also the millions of dollars Mia is using to build a park in run down rat infested bridgetown could have been used wisely to upgrade the QEH

34. @ Mariposa

Right again. That is money that could have been used to build modern homes for the poorest people.

35. @ Silly Woman March 7, 2020 6:15 AM
    “Ahh!!! the sun has risen 2 minutes ago, let me head outside.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ahh!! Then look up and see if you can ‘see’ that “Lucky Old Sun [having] nothing to do but roll around heaven all day”.

The best doctor lives in the sky. Yes, the same One which has given your ‘beautifully-coloured’ skin which you (black people) despise with your bleaching creams and all; while the pale skin people spend millions just to be a little ‘brown’ in the same Sun.

You ought to visit [Him] a bit more often rather than that pit of evil called the white man church.

BTW, before you take a turn into the demented miller and deny your vast and varied experience in caring for every member of your family and community under the Sun, what do you think about a lottery to help fund the QEH and other public-run health care institutions?

How about national health lottery?

36. A few years ago they imposed a levy on home owners where they collected $30 million supposedly for sanitation, Where did that go? Why do you think a national lottery for health care will go toward the hospital or similar health care institutions?

37. Hello Silly Woman, Im always amazed at you singing the praises of the hospital and clinic staff. I have seen your type around Barbados. I guess I can conclude also that since I wasn’t jerked around by white cops in NY, ” Black life matter” is a joke. I know I went to the hospital once and it cost me an airline ticket to NY, May I use your family’s name when next I have to go the hospital?

38. What national lottery i can see that money divy up between big business who would start crying about how hard things are when having plans to fire employees
    Then minister of tourism would be asking govt to act fast
    In a matter of minutes that money would be gone like hot pancakes
    After all QEH is for the poor and most vulnerable having nothing to where help is of importance to the tourism industry in their time of financial need

39. Spot on!

40. @ whiteHill March 7, 2020 9:15 AM

But my man “whiteHill”- the key player in the struggle to save the male species form being turned into just a few bulls on a dairy farm- the health lottery will not be just another statutory imposition by slow-thinking politicians.

It will be just another game of chance designed to pull at the heart strings of those who are addicted to a flutter or altruistic enough to see the need for the QEH et al to have access to another source of funding; just like those agencies involved in sporting and other cultural activities.

As it stands the ‘net proceeds’ of the lottery go towards the so-called development of the young nation.

Isn’t the health of the same young and old nation a magnanimously equivalent goal to work towards?

If not the ‘Health Lottery’ or its Christianized equivalent to gambling in Bim, what then there is to help save the QEH and its associates from serious financial emaciation and put it on the road to emancipation from the game of being a political football?

How about a Fat Tax on all fast food establishments which within a religious context is nothing else but another Sin Tax imposed on the gluttony of people just like drinking alcohol and smoking tobacco?

Aren’t the very principals involved in the country’s health care services blaming the same ‘Fat’ crisis for the burden currently placed on the same QEH and the future wealth of the nation aka the health of its diminishing working-age population?

Mister, the ‘traveled’ man from “whiteHill”, both you and the mil(l)er know full well that an ounce of ‘unnecessary ‘fat’ prevention (especially when living in the tropics) is worth more than an ‘unaffordable’ pound of cure.

41. Interesting to hear that the LOO brought up the issue of scheduling of Operations and noted that Doctors and Consultants are creating fiefdoms and causing scheduling chaos “by their attitudes “. When I raised this issue earlier I was accused of being a “medical illiterate” as if one has to be a Doctor to know when treatment options depends on ones ability to pay.

As usual the Minister gave a “fly in the soup” form response to the issue.

42. the LOO CANT DO HIS JOB AS LOO
    HE IS A VERY POOR PREACHER MAN
    AND HE CERTAINLY IS A MEDICAL ILLITERATE
    JUST LIKE THE LAST POSTER IS A MEDICAL ILLITERATE WHO CONTINUES TO BULLSHIT ABOUT WHAT HE DOES NOT KNOW

THERE IS NOTHING THAT THE LOO OR ANY ONE OF YOU CAN DO ABOUT “Doctors and Consultants creating fiefdoms and causing scheduling chaos “by their attitudes “.

THE MORON SHOULD STICK TO HIS CALLING SINCE HE DOES NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT HE IS TALKING ABOUT

WHEREAS one DOES NOT HAVE to be a Doctor to know when treatment options depends on ones ability to pay, MEDICAL ILLITERATES SHOULD KNOW THEIR PLACE AND STAY IN THEIR LANE CAUSE THERE IS NO WAY IN THIS WORLD OR THE NEXT THAT WUNNAH CAN CHANGE ANYTHING OR DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT

treatment options depends on ones ability to pay HERE, THERE AND EVERYWHERE IN THE WORLD

MEDICAL ILLITERATES CAN WHINE AND WHINE AND WHINE BUT THEY CANT CHANGE THE HEARTS OF MEN,

WUNNAH CAN CUSS ME NOW

THAT WILL BE FUN

BUT IT WOULD BE BETTER IF THE MEDICAL ILLITERATES HERE COULD WORK OUT A BETTER SYSTEM THAT EXISTS HERE, THERE AND EVERYWHERE, AND TELL US SINCE WUNNAH KNOW IT ALL

THE BU RUM SHOP TOO SWEET THOUGH

43. THE SYSTEM THAT EXISTS IS MUCH BETTER THAN HAVING NO SYSTEM AT ALL

THE SYSTEM THAT EXISTS IS MUCH BETTER THAN ANY THAT BU MEDICAL ILLITERATES CAN CONCEIVE OR ACHIEVE

“treatment options” OF PLUMBERS CARPENTERS MASONS ALSO depends on ones ability to pay …….IS THAT NOT SO?

44. @Miller, look here, until we black bajans get off her ass and do for ourselves, demonstrate to the powers that be we are not dumb stupid children no windfall of cash is gonna do the hospital nor any other institution any good. Did i not mentioned previously the $30 million collected a few years ago for sanitation, where did that money go? You and the others can’t see it or want to believe, but we have to stop playing the Victim’s role; we are not a nations of can cutters anymore. Even back then those 7th standard people seem to have bigger balls than these knuckle heads with their free college education. So you recognized I’ve been trying to save the male species from their existential doom, leh muh tell yuh , a whole lot of bajan men don;t want to be save, Even as a kid in WhiteHill I didn’t see so many Ram sheep in one place.