The IDB Caribbean Region Quarterly Bulletin: Volume 8, Issue 3: September 2019 was recently released and the review of Barbados is found at page 7 of the report.

The conclusion of the report:

Underpinning growth constraints in Barbados is the need to invest in infrastructure. The worsening quality of infrastructure indicators reflects an aging capital stock and declining infrastructure investments. Given the country’s fiscal stance and economic reform program, new investments will likely remain constrained in the next few years. The calls for the support of other investment modalities, such as PPPs. Further promoting resilience in infrastructure investments will also be of the utmost importance given the country’s vulnerabilities to climate change and natural disasters.

177 responses to “IDB Highlights Barbados’ Crumbling Infrastructure”

1. There is sufficient evidence out there to support PPPs as an option to deflect risk taking by government, coopt management expertise etc:

2. @ John A

You have answered your own question:

So let’s suppose the TB was put in a PPP where it would be free from political interference…..(Quote)

3. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife
    December 9, 2019 8:41 AM

No rats in my home or my yard. How do I do it?

Old Barbadian saying … “Two smart rats cannot live in the same hole”!!

4. Hal nothing in Barbados is functioning
    Barbados has become a dysfunctional country with a leader flying all over the place delivering duppy bones
    Garbage in garbage out
    My eyes remain on Hyatt a well established world wide brand subject to having its name and reputation tarnished if built in the city of Rats known as bridgetown

5. Of course Mia and company never visited a WTE plant because the one Cahill was proposing does not exist anywhere in the world. BU too sweet.🤣🤣🤣

6. William Skinner Avatar

Once again, I must commend two others for their endurance. I have already commended Hal Austin. I now add @ JohnA and Vincent Codrington. We don’t always agree but your stamina cannot be questioned.
    I remember that Hyatt was a bad word on BU but now it has been welcomed as “ urban gentrification “.
    I also remember when @Piece was a legend putting out posters much to the delight of some who now want him banned from BU. I read on BU a few months back that the construction of Hyatt will cause Bethel Church to collapse. I read it was just to enrich “thieving “ Maloney. I read it will banish poor people from
    the beach. I read we needed more windows to the sea not more hotels.
    Same thing happened with Goodland CARICOT, Flyovers, Cameras at the port, finger printing at the airport. Same thing happened with Arthur and the Cheque from CLICO and we now know working for “ unfit “adversaries and “despots” is a way of “keeping busy.
    Those corrupt thieves still free to roam after we kicked their backsides out of parliament. Not to worry same thing happened when we kicked out the other thieves in 2008. NOTHING
    To read you guys responding to these party hacks on both sides , reaffirms my belief that Bajans are a forgiving , compassionate people.
    Back then Glenn Clarke was the target. Now it is Michael Lashley.
    Your endurance in even entertaining these political scoundrels is a testament to your belief in humanity.
    I personally look forward to enjoying the cabanas that will be built out in the ocean by Hyatt. I look forward to the Hyatt surpassing the height of the Central Bank.
    I only hope that the poor people in the City can hold a job and keep their dignity. Like @ WURA says get the accustomed crumbs from the table.
    Looking forward to enjoying the cabanas and eventually the casinos .
    Happy that Mark Maloney has found the blessings of faith and is no longer a thief.
    There is hope!
    The Duopoly Rules

7. Did Wily really read this statement from our BLOGMASTER “but if the surrounding premises are overtaken what will be the point?”.
    Hmmmm, typical BAJAN logic, maintain STANDARDS to the lowest level, hmmmm. This BAJAN logic is but one example of why the country is in such dismal financial, social and infrastructure failing STATE. This philosophy has been trending since independence, it’s time for the LOGICAL BARBADOS POPULACE to evaluate whether they want to continue down this path or alter direction to a more sustainable life style. Time to end the “same old same old”.

8. BU is becoming a parody of itself and quickly descending into farce.

Bring back the old David!

9. William Skinner
    The main questions around Hyatt were about the type of product, height and the absence of the EIA. People here are still questioning the product, though it is now an all inclusive, the height and requesting the EIA and town hall. I don’t recall any strong opposition, if any, to a hotel. “Urban gentrification”? You seem to be losing it.🤣🤣🤣

10. The problem with some of these people is that they must find a way to fit all the talk into their narrative. The blogmaster argued about completing an environmental impact assessment and one or two others. Some of you need to stop.

11. Many of you take yourselves so seriously that it is impossibly to discern comments laced with sarcasm. Will have to take a few lessons from Sargeant.

12. Enuff what a dumb answer
    U ought to be ashamed to offer a response after reading how the rats have taken over bridgetown because govt cant control the garbage
    What a duffus

13. @ Hal,
    Could you, politely, explain to John A. why PFI/PPP (or whatever damn name you call it) has proven to be a quantified disaster in the UK.

For example, company A receives a 25 year contract to manage a school. A light bulb blows. Under the old system a caretaker or the resident handyman would have changed the bulb. As he was a salaried employee he may have been asked to carry out this task several times per month and would have had to carry out many other duties. This would have presented no problem as he was on a fixed salary.

Under the PFI scheme prices are set for each individual task. Something as mundane as replacing a light bulb becomes a sub-contracted job. From what I have read the tax payer will have to pay several hundred pounds and more for this mundane job. In short PFI is a huge con. Please do not fall for it.

14. @William.

First thanks for your kind words. I believe we must accept when something is not working and seek change regardless of how radical it is.

When Owen Arthur went to the SOE approach he thought running these entities like a company would lead to greater efficiency. I think his effort was worth trying but never expected it to succeed. The reason was simply that the board would still be appointed by the minister and none of the board members had an investment in the entity to lose. So what was the risk for their failure? Absolutely not one RH thing!

Now when you have investors putting THEIR money in a venture that is another ball game. They have a vested financial interest to see it succeed. If one can combine that with restricting government interferance then you already half way there.

15. @TLNS

John A is one of the smarter people on BU and is usually on the ball. But on this one he is not keen to listen. It seems Bajans like re-inventing the wheel. You can list all the muck-ups PPIs have caused (from hospitals to schools, etc) and they will not listen.
    In Barbados everything must be binary: good or bad, Bees or Dees, corrupt or honest. To intervene and say something is not factually CORRECT, is foreign.
    I give up.

16. Hal Austin
    Agree, PPIs have been and can be problematic.

17. Mariposa
    Have you noticed I don’t bother with you? We are where we are in relation to garbage trucks because during 2008-2018 while in office the DLP did not buy a single truck, instead they borrowed money to build a brand new office.

18. John A

Precisely
    Also the workers don’t own one RH in them so why should they care?

How about trying this? Make the workers some kind of share holders
    Enfranchised the common workers instead of making only the rich richer off of the poor man labor

19. Did a former government enfranchise the workers by establishing UCAL? How did that work out?

20. @ Hal

I will ask just two questions and it’s this.

Based on the last 25 years and both governments trying with them is the SOE approach working or has it proved to be a major failure that has cost the taxpayers billions to
    Maintain?

If the answer is yes it has failed miserly then why do you want to hold on to it?

My rough estimate is that when you combine the losses of all the SOES yearly you probably looking at losses in the area of $200 million dollars or more each and every year. That is then recovered in increased taxes dropped on the backs of the tax payers who must then find the money to prop it up, after which nothing is done to address the causes of the losses anyhow.

We can’t continue with this anymore and we all need to accept it..

21. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A
    We are in fact deluding ourselves about Privatization and PPP. On this score Arthur was a dismal failure. No one can seriously question him as a technocrat but like all the others he put himself in the same policy box that has been around for eighty years. That’s why he sold the national bank and fooled us that once rich expatriates were buying the real estate we’ll be okay. Sinkler followed that same model of archaic economic planning. He didn’t have Arthur’s skills and he failed. The ill conceived Sam Lords project etc. A progressive government would have done all in its power to ensure that Grant, a black Barbadian, succeeded at the Castle. Note how the Duopoly is bending over backwards to make Hyatt a reality.
    They care nothing about economic enfranchisement. Just give the airport plan time to reveal itself and we would see where that is heading as well.
    The Duopoly is interested in legal fees for their accomplices not progressive economic policy. Remember Heywoods was to be a model for promoting the indigenous management class and we see how they abandoned that rather quickly and now it gone elsewhere.
    Look out for the continued selling out of all state agencies .
    On this score Hal’s position has some merit. I have not heard anything about real black economic enfranchisement since Don Blackman left the place. The sale of Sam Lords will be a clear indicator of where we are going.
    I have seen no progressive policies since the freehold tenantry act engineered by Tom Adams . Outside of that Barrow eliminating fees for Harsun College etc.
    In short: I’m not impressed.

22. @ John A

Hold on to what? My point is that PPIs are a historical failure. In the UK where they were first created by Tony Blair, and enthusiastically encouraged by David Cameron, they have now been dropped. The have failed, but as a financial and political tool.
    You are on about the managerial performance of the state bodies, which I have not expressed any opinions about apart from the dominance of incompetence and political interference, both of which can be remedied.
    As I have said before, it is wrong, both intellectually and managerially, to say that public sector management bad, private sector management, good. Look at Cave Shepherd for an example of what I think is a company existing on automatic; in a really competitive market Cave Shepherd would have been wiped out. Look at what happened to Shipping and Trading.
    In other words, not only the political class, but the plantocracy and the Roebuck Street boys have also failed Barbados. Barbados is a failed state. This has nothing to do with state enterprises, it is the society. Just look at our old First Grade schools and compare them with their equivalents in other CXC countries. Look at the BU pensioner commentariat who come on regularly telling us they are Barbados Scholars, an exam designed for 18 and 19 yr olds, a claim they make with great pride. Look at Codrington trying to import teachers to train pupils in sports and kep fit? What an insult to our 98 per cent literacy and our sporting pride.
    And it will continue as long as we continue to rotate mediocrity – call them professors, or call them executive chairpersons, we are shuffling a hand of gross incompetents.
    I don’t want to go on, but recently it was revealed that our legislation covering marriages was badly drafted and many people who thought they were divorced might not have been. Not a word: in the papers, among the politicians, not a dicky bird. In any other civilised country there would have been resignations or sackings, not Barbados, things continue as usual.
    Some time ago we had a military officer accused and convicted on the so-called evidence of a lie-detector, something not accepted in any civilised court. Yet in Barbados a man can lose his career on such bogus evidence. Not a word was said.
    A few weeks ago the Mottley government told us, to loud applause from its fans, that White Oaks had reached a provisional agreement with our foreign creditors, however, we are still waiting for the final agreement. WE ARE STILL WAITING.
    I can go on and on about half-baked, incompetent and sometimes dishonest behaviours from our political, business and administrative classes.
    Look at the management of the NIS, the police, the hospital, the courts – name an institution and we can see incompetence. That is really our national shame.
    We have a business school, why can’t we produce good managers, instead of hiding behind a reactionary Bajan nationalism?

23. Wait Enuff u shouldn’t worry with me
    Cause i am.not the govt and for sure i dont make promises i cant keep
    Right now u should be shedding tears for the deplorable conditions of barbados almost 19mths and counting the garbage contiunes to get worse
    Dont forget that instead of govt paying the Sanitation workers overtime for weekends govt said hell no which is a all but conclusion govt doesnt care how long it takes to clean the piles of garbage of the street
    Meanwhile rats and all kind of vermin run wild throughout the country
    And Mia mantra is to tell the people to hold strain
    Guh long do yuh shameless r..at

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Your above submission cannot be ignored. You have clearly highlighted fifty years of mismanagement and political corruption on one hand and the lack of innovation and modem business planning on the other.
    I have said over and over that our public sector is one of the best in the western world. I have traveled throughout the Caribbean and our public sector is way ahead. Like you implied it’s politically skullduggery that has attempted to destroy it.
    As for the private sector , it is still in ancient retail mode. It’s in many ways a colonial relic. A pack of cry babies and sophisticated mendicants . Well protected by the majority on BU. A very notable exception is @WURA.

25. @William

Is it true during the 50 years the island has facilitied the livelihood of a generation of families, unleashed many in the diaspora like yourself to compete? Is it true that annually hundreds of thousands of tourists and others visit this beautiful country?

Is it true that although a country with no natural resources and despite the challenges like all small states, we are a work in progress?

It is against foregoing that we have to harness our collective acumen to confront the challenges.

26. @ Hal

Everything you have said I agree with so where do we go from here? Do we continue to run inefficient entities while the tax payers pick of the slack or do we try something else?

I have no faith in government appointed boards being able to run anything resembling a business. I say this based on their past 25 years of failure to do so. If as William says the duopoly simply changes the colour of the shirts in power then what is the answer?

As they say while the grass growing the cow starving. If B or D can’t get it run then let us try Px3 and see what happen. Lol

27. @ David December 9, 2019 7:05 AM

“Not making excuses but if the surrounding premises are overtaken what will be the point?”

I was busy for most of the day and couldn’t get to respond.

Let me explain some facts about food poisoning and why else where it is taken seriously. It can kill as well result in debilitating conditions which require serious medical attention. Leptospirosis is an illness transmitted by rats and can be fatal if not caught in time.. So for Purity to give the lame excuses is laughable. The company obviously has been not operating in a manner to produce wholesome products. The company has the nerve to talk about still manufacturing bread. I have written the “Nation” to strongly express my views, we will see if publication occurs. The government is being irresponsible in not closing the plant .As for the public health officials inspecting the plant, there seems to be some slackness going on. Rats are mainly nocturnal and unless inspected at night using ultra violet, to detect rodent’s urine trails it would be difficult to spot infestation. Having said that a careful inspection for rodent droppings during the day should have alerted them to the presence of rodents. The public Health Laws are there for a reason: to protect the consumer from being exploited by unscrupulous food manufacturers.

28. @NorthernObserver
    A PPP comment managed to appear in EVERY country report. The IDB’s new #1 recommendation.
    #########################################################################
    Yep. That’s how these crooked organisations operate to push the interests of the global bloodsuckers.

We have to assume the IDB has a sound basis for recommending PPPs?
    ##########################################################################
    Yes they do. To get more wealth flowing out of the oppressed countries, like Barbados, to the global bloodsuckers, while the mass of of the people in the world are left to sink into growing poverty and despair.

29. Ultra violet light (correction).

30. Hal
    But you said the debt restructure was gonna end in tears! Often telling BU that the creditors would fight the Bdos government in the courts as occurred in Argentina. Now you’ve lost that argument, you’re claiming no one has seen the deal etc etc. It all ends Wednesday, be patient. I am not so sure if one who so often brags about the UK should really be talking about incompetence. #messExit

31. Well well the dlp apologists like Mariposa whose Dems bouht not one bus or garbage truck for 10 years talking about garbage problems do you have any shame woman? You should be the last person to be speaking about a garbage problem who caused it jackass?As for Skinner stuck with the duopoly shite talk the Dems mismanagement of the country for 10 long years by Mr Thompson and Mr Stuart neither of whom in my view had a clue what they were doing is mainly responsible for the hole we are in.As for Austin the UK cannot get Brexit right all like now and you calling Barbados a failed state then what is the UK.Go give them your expert advice this country will rebound despite all the naysayers who find all kinds of things to knitpick on everyday. Seems to me they want the country to fail but it will not happen as we are going in the right direction in my view.

32. But Lorenzo wunna criticisms was relentless and wunna say wunna could yuh fix the problem
    Not only did wunna not fix the problem but made the problem bigger
    Say what! But tell me lorenzo how Mia seeing and knowning how garbage can create multiple problems for health and environment rather than pay extra dollars to sanitation workers would let the garbage pile up and uncollected for weeks
    Lorenzo cuh dear please explain
    Also Mia having the nerve to get on world stages showboating and talking big talk about Global warming
    Lorenzo go hide yuh face and never mention the word shame cause towards any one that talks about govt incompetence
    Purity should sue govt for allowing the build up of rat infestation in bridgetown to run havoc on his business
    A class action lawsuit among business owners against govt would do the trick and help to clean up the city pronto

33. Hall yuh right it would all end in tears
    The writing is on the wall and is as clear as daylight
    Even a blind man on a trotting horse knows that a country without growth would hit a brick wall
    This make belief sceanario of govt paying external creditors cannot in long term be sustainable solely upon taxation
    Sooner or later the phony prop up by govt to pay debt would become a tailspin and barbados would spin into an economic free fall
    Yuh just have to look at the infrastructure and the social environment all heading downward at the same time
    Putting off the inevitable is what govt is doing at present

34. David

Did ucal fail?
    If yes then why did it fail?
    I don’t know much about it would have to take ur word

35. Hal

Did BS&T fail?

Did Plantations fail?

I believe their assets were coveted and our political class “facilitated” the transfer and picked up the “crumbs” as part of their cut!!

In Plantations case, CLICO benefitted.

Ms. Ram too I am told.

Plantations owed her money the story goes and the debt was settled when liquidation occurred … but I could be wrong!!

It is the society that has failed, I agree, but it was set up to fail by the political class.

Envy is at the root of the failure and that envy is inculcated into incompetent members who are promoted.

The society is rotten.

The rotting started from the days of Clement Payne !!

An early example of the incompetence was the Penny Bank.

Look at the families involved and you will see they are represented in Parliament to this day, two and three generations on!!

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A
    The IDB recommends PPPs because they are a good way for the bank to reduce its capital commitments. This does not mean that they are good for Barbados. Much of the work that I do is financed by the IDB, so I know something about the ins and outs of the institution. The IDB always recommends what is in the IDB’s best interests.

37. @ David
    The difference between you and I is my belief that our country can do better. I refuse to rest on the laurels left by Grantley Adams and Errol Barrow. I assure you that when I address students and others wherever I maybe I highlight the positives of my country. anybody who really knows me is quite aware that I have been always involved in my community back home and the trade union movement along with several other causes. I am not seeking the validation of you or any of the misfits on BU , who have to even defend rats running about the place to prove that they are Barbadians and who daily on BU find themselves like slaves defending those who have ruined this country.
    I give you credit for gallantry keeping BU as an active voice but unfortunately you like the political class is impervious to sound advice.
    So, you like others can continue to bury your head in the sand and live in hope that the political demons operating less than five miles from each other are going to change.
    The only reason I have not joined Hal, in agreeing that our island state is a failed state is because I have deep faith that the struggling masses without water , proper public transportation and living with mountains of garbage will not burn it down when they are retrenched or have their pensions slashed by the ruthless Duopoly.
    It is my unwavering faith in them that on a daily basis stops me from cussing and being totally disrespectful of the ignorant apologists of the Duopoly.
    So there you have it. I still maintain hope but it’s not in those looking for hands out and getting on BU exposing their high class ignorance for everybody to see.
    Another thing is that I have a few friends and comrades in the Duopoly and I know they will not turn on the people. They are loyal to the country and I was once on platforms with some of them. They know where I stand and I know where they stand .
    So your imbecile remarks are expected. You are now defending companies selling Bajans bread that may have on rodent droppings. You have dismissed Dr. Lucas because he refused to join you in the murder of your fellow citizens.

38. The IDB always recommends what is in the IDB’s best interests.

Like the South Coast Sewage System …. go figure!!

39. Wasn’t Greenland another one too?

40. @ William Skinner

So your imbecile remarks are expected. You are now defending companies selling Bajans bread that may have on rodent droppings. You have dismissed Dr. Lucas because he refused to join you in the murder of your fellow citizens.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THE MAN HAS BEEN BEHAVING LIKE A BUFOON FOR A LONG LONG TIME BECAUSE IT IS HIS BLOG.

THEY SAY THE HIGHER A MONKEY CLIMB THE MORE HE SHOWS HIS TAIL (ASS).

41. The IDB like all Banks attracts money from lenders.

It then on lends at a profit to its clients.

It is as open to money laundering and corruption as is any other bank.

42. John
    December 10, 2019 1:18 AM

Wasn’t Greenland another one too?

What about Dodds?

The point is once a bank accepts funds from a lender for on lending to a country and then on lends to the country, what better way of getting the money laundered.

It is like the diplomatic passports.

Any challenge will be met with issues of sovereignty and the standard mumbo jumbo.

43. @ John 8.39

Spot on. I have said before and say again, don’t forget the names. There are about five or six families (some are inter-married) who believe themselves to be the Barbados aristocracy. Most of them have links to the BLP.
    They mainly go back to the years before the Second World War, and even before that, at the abolition of slavery (the people who owned the shops and buses and small hostels – that small business class who swam in the sewage below the plantocracy and Roebuck Street boys.
    They have not gone away, all they are doing is keeping their heads down. I remember some of the names from when Nelson Street was our man night-time thoroughfare and they owned the shops and properties along the street. Other were judges and magistrates and senior public officials, including politicians.
    Keep your eyes on the surnames. Some have MScs in something called political sociology from LSE and are crypto-currency experts or believe they can run CBC better than professional journalists and broadcasters. It is their entitlement.

44. @William

The problem is that you are literal in your interpretation of everything the blogmaster posts especially if it doesn’t agree with you. In response to Dr. Lucas the point had to be made that Bridgetown is infested with a rodent population which makes it difficult for businesses in the locale to defend against said infestation. It is a commonsense position, it does not absolve the businesses in the area from taking steps to defend against the problem but there is the reality. There is a reason the authorities have not shutdown Purity and that is they would have to do the same to many others. Does this reality mean the blogmaster agrees or supports the situation? Use your common-sense my good man. You have been on the blog long enough to understand positions taken by this blogmaster to make points.

Regarding your other waffle, you have no idea what the blogmaster does as far as the blog is concerned to expose issues. The point made on the other blog is valid every time, there is a danger to be sucked into a vortex of negativity where nothing seems to go right on the island. The blogmaster is conscious of it and the BU household tries to walk that line. Some people on this blog scour all the negatives unfolding in the country and take delight in posting. Things will not improve based on a pull down narrative.

Finally, it was this blogmaster that aggressively encouraged others to submit positions to increase the opinion pool. Unlike some of you this blogmaster has no problem with accepting criticism but guess what, we will not take it every time. In the words of Sandifird, if you don’t like it, lump it!

45. But if the city has a rodent problem
    Isnt it govt responsibity to have the problem taken care of
    I understand the problem can exist because of unhealthy standards by businesses but one cannot overlook that within the city there are dilapidated homes and business that have been closed up for years that can housed rats which can be problematic for businesses within the area
    By the way some one on social media has indicate that the Parliament building housed many on a daily basis and all of them need to be rid of

46. We need those garbage trucks.

Remember?

47. @ Mariposa

Keep cats and the rat problem is solved. I keep cats no rats come around my place. They are not that silly.

48. @ David

The sad truth is that there was nothing positive on this blog about Barbados in a not too distant past. Unlike some of you who serve the Duopoly , I do not swim in a cesspool of hypocrisy. It is now a given that any criticism of the current regime is seen as unpatriotic and you had no problem when the shoe was on the other foot.
    Quite frankly I would not care two cents if tomorrow both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party were to burn to the political ground, never to rise again.
    I have long realized this is not immediate on the horizon , so my position is to highlight their collective shortcomings and corrupt practices whenever I deem it necessary.
    Political cannibalism is rampant on this blog and it has been encouraged. You have not grasped the simple truism that if you plant okra you simply can’t reap corn.
    You have called me a RH more times than anybody else on this planet. You are suffering from an acute disappointment and I wish you a speedy return to common sense. You want to close your eyes to the brilliant contributions of : @ Hal John A and Vincent Codrington but you had no problem with a contributor who used BU to spread the most unsubstantiated crap ever written about Barbados, But at that time you cared not about the “ negativity”.
    If I were a sadist , I would be in glee as I witness the total miscarriage of what passes for good governance in my beloved country.
    @ Hal @ John
    You guys are more than correct. The biggest shame of our post independence era is the emergence of a ruthless, entitled class, that has treated this island like their own plantation. They are to be found more than anywhere else in the Duopoly. They have determined that they are entitled. They have treated and attempted to destroy the psyche of the masses . They have failed because of the resilience of the Barbadian faith in their country.
    That Duopoly Rules and I intend to remind the political perverts on BU of that reality as often as I feel necessary. They can cuss me until their natural sight returns . I wish them clean water , no rats and no garbage.

49. The fact now exist that with the trasforming of barbados sociol environment leadership lack of vision over the years has exasperated these problem
    The delapidated stage where the bay street corridor finds itself should be an eyeopener as to how govts forsake and gave up on bay street
    Now at the eleventh hour trying to find a staging ground for econmic growth to be the backbone for bridgetown is laughable
    Seems like the wagon is pulling the horse

Leave a Reply to john2Cancel reply