The IDB Caribbean Region Quarterly Bulletin: Volume 8, Issue 3: September 2019 was recently released and the review of Barbados is found at page 7 of the report.

The conclusion of the report:

Underpinning growth constraints in Barbados is the need to invest in infrastructure. The worsening quality of infrastructure indicators reflects an aging capital stock and declining infrastructure investments. Given the country’s fiscal stance and economic reform program, new investments will likely remain constrained in the next few years. The calls for the support of other investment modalities, such as PPPs. Further promoting resilience in infrastructure investments will also be of the utmost importance given the country’s vulnerabilities to climate change and natural disasters.

177 responses to “IDB Highlights Barbados’ Crumbling Infrastructure”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A

I think you need to investigate why the PSV made a profit at lower prices per trip. Please pay attention to john 2 ‘s point about shorter crowded routes.

2. Tomorrow A will be in here telling us how lawless an unregulated the same PSVs are in making the profit he just touted.
    imagine the TB with the same hussle to become a profitable entity/run like a business

3. PTL

Go read Psalm 91!!

4. @ Vincent.

I accept your point for sure but let’s see both sides of the coin. The PSVs pay duty on all parts, do not get diesel cheap nor do they get $5 million a month in subsidy.

You want to bet that although the TB fleet is now 25% of their old fleet, that their expenses are probably close to where they were when they had 200 buses?

Take my bet Vincent I need money for Xmas gifts! Lol

5. Both sides!

How often/many PSVs get burnt out trying to pull those hills in St Andrew, Joseph and John?
    Or how often the have to change brakes from going down?

Horsehill and Martins bay for examples.

6. Why is it that the one or two PSVs on those routes just go to Horeshill and Clifton Hall instead of Batsheba and Martins Bay.

7. COMING NEXT!

User fees at QEH – the biggest draw on the public purse.

why not?

8. @John 2

Since you are all about raising revenue, how about fees for students attending UWI ?

9. SARG

John2 is more of a socialist and support for the poor. Agree with the free (government funded) education and healthcare, subsidized bus service and low water rates.

My QEH comment not an indication of my view. It was an indication of the next thing to expect from john A (the capitalist)

10. Barbadians will soon be receiving a 20 20 bill from Emera
    Emera signs an agreement to build a 33mega watt diesel power plant
    Oh i must thank Emera for thanking govt in helping to bring this project to life

11. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar
    SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife

@ohn2 December 10, 2019 8:37 PM “COMING NEXT! User fees at QEH – the biggest draw on the public purse.
    why not?”

Why not?

Because we already pay user fees at the QEH. Those “user fees” are called TAXES, and where does the money in the “public purse” come from? The very same members of the public who PAY for the QEH’s services via their taxes. We know that the QEH int free. We know that WE PAY FOR IT.

When people talk about “the government” do this and “the government” gives this and that, I remind ALL who will listen that “the government” don’t wuk nah-where.

We the taxpayers pay for everything, including the salaries, pensions, cars and housing allowances of “the government” officials.

Wunna really tink we stupid? Wunna really believe that we is sheeple?

12. Sir Simple

See my comment at 9: 54pm

13. I Think the BU family is educated enough to know what is meant by public purse and where the money comes from.

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Simple Simon

Welcome back.
    In many cases we are paying three times for services that were previously financed out of our VAT and income taxes. How many user fees have been imposed in the last twelve years with no improvement in services?

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The incidence of tax in Barbados must be one of the highest in the world – on paper.

16. @Vincent

Artax and others have opined thatbwe need a transformation in the culture how we do business. We can continue to throw money at this problem with negligible to zero result.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A

I suspect you are an accountant;therefore you should be aware that fixed costs take sometime to decline even with declines in current costs. Overheads my man.! Overheads.!

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

I have adviced you about accepting these flavour of the month mantras/shiboleths. One does not ,nor cannot transform a culture. Culture is what it is. It usually evolves to what it is over time.

Nothing is wrong with our culture. We need to do what is right. And we know what is right.

19. @Vincent

We have a business culture where missing deadlines for submissions, not enforcing penalties etc. this defines the prevailing culture.

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU
    How can you juxtapose “business”, ” missing deadlines” and “not enforcing penalties” in the same sentence? It is not a business. Simple. Nor is it operating in a business like fashion. It is a racket or any other pejorative term,but not a business.

Moreover, these outliers cannot define the culture. What percentage of the population of businesses do they represent?

21. @ Vincent

So I take it you not taking my bet then? LOL

Seriously though the overhead adjustment period is my point. At no time was a decision taken by any board to set a target for bringing the expenses to Y by such a date. Now we can blame the boards, the Minister or the dog in the yard, but my point is no deadline was given hence no penalty for failure could be imposed.

Then again why should it have been done, you could always suck on the nipples of the tax payer little harder!

22. “Artax and others have opined that we need a transformation in the culture how we do business.”

David BU

Although I understand the gist of your above comment, in the interest of clarity, a review of my contributions on this topic would reveal I specifically mentioned changing the “organizational culture” that currently exists within the public and private sectors.

I don’t know what “flavour of the month mantras/shiboleths” have to do with organisational culture, but if you read about the concept, you would understand where I’m coming from.

The organisational culture that existed in the civil service has changed considerably over the years. Where’s the passion, where are the behaviours that support and promote innovation, being proactive, extra-ordinary service, competence, loyalty and productivity?

People report for work after and leave before the designated times; they take more than an hour for lunch and even more on pay days; they are tardy in preparing annual financial statements; some people just come to work and “march time” until 4:30PM. Rather than educating new employees about the company’s mission and values as a key part of any onboarding process, these collective behaviours are taught instead, which eventually becomes the norm…….. the new organisational culture.

And what you get? SOEs like the Transport Board. This is TB’s mission statement: “To be the principal provider of safe, reliable and efficient mass transit services and to consistently deliver the highest level

Successive general managers have been unable to be creative, innovative or articulate the organisation’s vision to employees. How can TB “consistently deliver the highest level of customer satisfaction to users of public transport in Barbados,” when the availability of units fluctuates on a daily basis…….. or drivers REFUSE to drive to certain routes or drive a bus other than what they determine is “his/her bus,” or adhere to the supervisor’s requests……. some drivers are discourteous…….

…….. simply because the minister sent them there and “nuhbody khan do dum nuttun?” The new drivers come in and adopt similar attitudes.

Why hasn’t annual reports been prepared for the financial years ended March 31, 2011 to 2019?

Several ministers, chairmen, general managers and other employees…… yet the status quo remains the same, while service continues to deteriorate.

23. David BU

Since I mentioned the Transport Board, I don’t know if it’s true, but, I understand Financial Controller Felicia Sue has been sent on special leave pending an internal investigation.

I also understand TB rehired a number of former bus drivers on contractual arrangements, renewable every three (3) months and according to bus availability. These drivers are supposed to be paid for an hour if they report for work and there aren’t any buses available.

Also, David BU, the people of Ridgeway once again want to thank you for highlighting their plight on BU’s facebook page. They are happy to report that it caught the attention of RBPF and they responded promptly. On December 4, police officers visited the residence where the driver lives on several occasions looking for him and he has since cease to park either van in the road.

They say police officers have been also patrolling the area periodically during the early mornings and nights over the weekend and as recent as Tuesday 10.

24. @Artax

Excellent to both!

25. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver

“…Where’s the passion, where are the behaviours that support and promote innovation, being proactive, extra-ordinary service, competence, loyalty and productivity?…”

You are among the few here on Barbados Underground who I know, having asked a question, has the ability to answer said question.

To answer the whole thing would take a treatise but de ole man would ask you just to touch lightly on things that you believe would ” support and promote innovation”

26. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Commander Theophillus Gazerts

It is very much an interesting story.

The thing about stories that cause people to believe you’re telling the truth is pictured.

Pictures that confirm the timeline and the seemingly inconsequential narrative.

Like the point the man makes about only having packed shorts and non dress shirts THEN THE PICTURE, little things like that

But most of all it is the pictures with Skerritt that he nor others cant gainsay