grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

This wonderful little island has been well-positioned to succeed as an independent nation. We were provided with well-managed public services, a professional civil service, and an active economy. Then we were allowed to develop as an Independent nation.

We have done well, despite our elected representatives’ habit of overspending. No matter how much they put us in debt, we were always able to bear the high taxes and pay our creditors.

There must come a time in our development when we realise that this cycle of overspending and severe austerity is not normal. It is simply bad economic management. We should not be paying some of the highest taxes of all nations on this planet.

If we are to prosper as an independent nation, we must all learn to work together outside of the Election period. The Government seems to understand this and should be encouraged in its responsible efforts. However, those positive efforts can be overwhelmed by the constant negative political rhetoric.

During this time of austerity, the public needs some objective assurance that their sacrifices are not in vain. Solutions Barbados’ hope is that all opposition parties would publicly support Government’s good policies, provide practical improvements to its weak policies, and vigorously oppose its bad policies. All citizen should provide the Government with their best advice – even if it is rejected.

To facilitate this hope, the Government needs to start leading and stop blaming the last administration for every little thing. It was not a lost decade, only a badly managed one, as was the decade before that. If we do not pull together, regardless of who is in Government, then we will pull this nation apart.

Happy Independence everyone from Solutions Barbados

47 responses to “Solutions Barbados’ Independence Message”

1. You have bigger problems.. suspected .three deaths/murders on Independence Day…deal with that..government is already a BIG FAIL.

“Unconfirmed reports reaching Nation News indicate three people were killed by a man with a cutlass in Walkers, St Andrew, this morning.”

2. Happy Independence Barbados, we have achieved a lot in 53 years and despite the challenges confronting us – this will always be the case – we must continue to work together to build the little island we love so much.

3. Stop deluding yall selves with nonsense, the island/society is in crisis….at first when i saw St. Andrew i said, oh well there goes Jamaica again, but it’s not, it says Barbados..

“Karen Francis “Reports coming in from St . Andrew…three males are dead including the alleged murderer…two more in hospital …one man badly injured and the other suffered a laceration allegedly to his hand but is being treated and will be discharged. It was reported by residents in the area that the alleged perpetrator ( now deceased) weilded a cutlass at his next door neighbor and then at other individuals across the street from the first victim . Alleged circumstances behind the attack according to residents are leading more towards mental health issues of the alleged perpetrator who residents say might not have been coping with a recent family matter that could have triggered his melt down. Whatever the circumstances it’s a tragic situation.”

4. Birthday anniversaries not only present themselves as a time of celebration but an opportunity to be reflective of our accomplishments, perform a self-evaluation and refine objectives into the next year.

This introspection applies to us as individuals and collectively as an independent developing nation. Additionally, at the mature age of fifty-three years specific emphasis is placed on elements of the mind body and soul in order to preserve and sustain the best livelihood.

Health care professionals would further admonish anyone over fifty to maintain a healthy lifestyle through a balanced diet, regular exercise and a solid spirituality. The nation of Barbados must also consider these pathways toward building up our beloved island. While the outward view of a country is measured though Debt to GDP ratios, fiscal and monetary policy and foreign reserve levels, keeping up these appearances while our body and soul suffer is indeed tragic.

Therefore it is time to reflect on what has transpired over the past year to understand how we have reached such unprecedented levels of homicide. What has influenced this upsurge?

Our utility services are all below par where it is the norm for districts to be without running water for several weeks, as if we are regressing as a nation. Is it 2019 or 1920?

The cost of living and ever increasing taxation have combined to outpace most family incomes. How will we attain relief?

We can delve into additional questions regarding solid waste management, educational reform or even economic transformation. However, it can be surmised that we are becoming a reactive society rather than implementing proactive contingencies in the management of our business.

Maturity sets the expectation that the management of our affairs is handled professionally and superior standards of operation is regularized. Just as the human body will breakdown without proper care and maintenance the infrastructure of this country is suffering from insufficient reinvestment of profits into our major supporting arteries, muscles and nervous systems.

Most importantly, the mind must be willing and motivated to accept responsibility for the current state of affairs and actively pursue continuous improvement. This suggests that all societal leaders must act with haste to redress the decay manifesting itself in every area including moral and structural.

It is said that they are two types of leaders in the world today: those who are interested in the fleece and those who are interested in the flock. As we celebrate independence, lets us hope that our vision will be 2020 and the guidance in all things be executed in the best interest of a progressive Barbados.

Happy Independence Day!

No photo description available.
  5. poorpeacefulandpolite Avatar
    poorpeacefulandpolite

Many Barbadians still think that independence means freedom. If you challenge them for any wrongdoing they will fast tell you “this is a free country”. It may be so in a narrow political sense -certainly not in an economic sense. Independence for a country as for a child should rather be taken to imply “responsibility” and an appreciation of the benefits of “interdependence”.

6. @poorpeacefulandpolite

Do not get overly technical with the definition of independence. It refers to a country self governing relative to being annexed or a colony of a ‘mothercountry’. Obviously we are interdependent in how we operate especially within the construct of globalization.

7. For the first time, two of Barbados’ musical icons have been conferred with Barbados’ highest national honours, which have also been awarded to two others.
    Veteran entertainers Anthony “Mighty Gabby” Carter and Charles Emil Straker were yesterday named in the Independence Honours list, with Carter being one of the three recipients of the first Order Of Freedom Of Barbados, now the highest national honour along with the long-established knighthood to which it is an alternative.
    The award is given for extraordinary service to Barbados, the Caribbean diaspora or to humanity at large. nana-akufo-addo
    Straker received the Knight Of St Andrew for being the creative force in the establishment and the development of the internationally renowned band the Merrymen and its unique genre of music.

Pro Vice Chancellor and Principal of the University of the West Indies, Professor Eudine Barriteau was the third person conferred with the first Order Of Freedom of Barbados, while President of Ghana, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (right), who paid an official visit to Barbados in June, received an honorary Order Of Freedom Of Barbados. (MB)
    Other honorees:
    Companion of Honour (For distinguished national achievement and merit.)
    Lolita Janet Applewhaite: For her outstanding contribution to public service in Barbados and to diplomacy and development through high-level representation in the region and the Commonwealth.
    Rawle Cyprian Eastmond, JP: For his service in politics, contribution to parliamentary debate and literature.
    Theodore David Gittens, QC, JP: For his outstanding work in the legal profession and public service.

Gold Crown of Merit (For highly meritorious service or achievement in science, the arts, literature, sports, civic duties or any other endeavour worthy of national recognition.
    Dr Beverley Rose Miller: For her contribution to Public Health in Barbados and the region.
    Anthony Theophilus Nicholls: For his contribution to farming and agriculture.
    Pierce Antonio Rudder: For his contribution to music and the development of culture.
    Steven Roger Stoute, SCM: For his service in the development of sports and sports administration.

Silver Crown of Merit (For meritorious service or achievement in science, the arts, literature, sports, civic duties or any other endeavour worthy of national recognition.)
    McClaren Holder, BCH, JP: For his contribution to the construction industry and service to the community as a member of the Lions Club International.
    John Henderson Hallam King: For his contribution to education and the criminal justice system.
    Grace Paulina Pilgrim, BSS: For her contribution to the teaching profession.
    Dr Nigel Leon Taylor: For his outstanding service to the Barbados Boys Scouts Association and the Barbados Evangelical Association.

Barbados Service Star (For meritorious work in the civil, fire, military, police, prison or other protective services or any other similar field of endeavour.)
    Edmund Dacosta Blades: For his service to Public Health as a microbiologist and in particular his contribution to research into the Sahara dust.
    John Eustace Derrick Goddard: For his contribution to the trade union movement and the teaching service.
    Major Denzil Sylvester Walcott, JP: For his contribution to education, training and the Salvation Army.
    Patricia Pauline Wickham: For her contribution to Public Health, Nursing and the Barbados Nurses Association.
    Shirlene Hazita Yearwood: For her committed service and dedication in the Registration Department and assignments in the Supreme Court of Barbados.

Barbados Service Medal (For meritorious work in the civil, fire, military, police, prison or other protective.)
    Gloria Elaine Alleyne: For her steadfast contribution as a community worker.
    Nigel Patterson Bayley: For his work in the tourism sector in particular tours of the island.
    Simeon Francis Belgrave, JP: For his dedicated and active service in the community and pastoral work with parishioners for over half a century.
    Leroy Lorenzo Morgan: For his dedicated service in the households of four Prime Ministers.
    Peggy Jeanette Niles: For her community service and in particular her special work with children.

Barbados Bravery Medal (For acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances.)
    Jeron Oneal Goddard: For his heroic efforts in rescuing a teenager from 100ft well.

nationnews.com
    For the first time, two of Barbados’ musical icons have been conferred with…

8. When are we going to recognise Richard Stoute, who along with his brother Michael, and sister Norma, have been our leading showbiz family for generations?

9. We have already established over years that Barbados’ “independence” is a FARCE, they cannot even legalize what was criminalized unless former colonizers TELL THEM TO….so why is everyone still FORCING THE PRETENSE..as though the island is free, the people are ringfienced in an island prison with the dumb leaders as prison guards, because that is the role they love to play..

only thing Caribbean governments are allowed to do is destroy their own people and themselves, in that former colonizers hardly interfere…

yall need to SEVER YASELVES FROM THE PRETENSE.

10. RE There must come a time in our development when we realise that this cycle of overspending and severe austerity is not normal. It is simply bad economic management. We should not be paying some of the highest taxes of all nations on this planet.

KIND SIR. PLEASE CAN YOU TELL US WHAT YOU PROPOSE TO DO THE CHANGE THINGS?
    WHAT SOLUTIONS DOES SOLUTIONS BARBADOS HAVE?

11. Q When are we going to recognise Richard Stoute, who along with his brother Michael, and sister Norma, have been our leading showbiz family for generations?

A SIR, WHEN YOU GWINE REALIZE THAT EVATING IN FUH EVABODY IN BUBADUS

12. I don’t think i will repeat this again because even i get tired, but Africa has opened her doors to her descendants in at least one state so far, it is a work in progress, so for those who are MENTALLY FREE…and CAN SEE…there is no need for Caribbeans or Barbadians to continue PERPETRATING the COLONIAL FRAUD…of a fake independence..

Going forward what you do with the African opportunity is entirely up to you…those who understand and are mentally free, will know without being told that your future descendants will JUDGE YOU on your CURRENT actions, and they will know what they have to do….but the continued perpetration of colonial wickedness ON YA OWN SELVES, will not help

13. If yall CANNOT SEE the DOORS TO FREEDOM…that’s on you.

14. https://youtu.be/jOTEs2UHego

This video proves African & Caribbean countries are not truly independent, they are still under the control of Europe & America .

15. https://youtu.be/jOTEs2UHego

This video proves African & Caribbean countries are not truly independent, they are still under the control of Europe & America .

https://youtu.be/lNeP3hrm__k

16. The colonized mind is dangerous, weak, self destructive and ugly..

https://www.facebook.com/EffMalema/videos/2361675814096231/?t=25

17. https://youtu.be/3Nua5klb4Os

We need revolution to end White Supremacy.

18. Barbados not independent , Britian still control Barbados. Independence is just an illusion used to quiet the masses. European never gave up their colonies, see video below. Please pay close attention to the comments made by the lying melanin recessive mutant ( albino) in the video.

https://youtu.be/VgIsBdAiezw

19. Did the PDP give us a message?

20. https://youtu.be/o2yUJ-dpD1E

Some of the vicious atrocities carried out by albino enslavers.

21. Jan 2016 , the prime minister of Barbados wants Britain’s Queen Elizabeth II to be removed as the nation’s head of state.
    Freundel Stuart says he wants his country to become a parliamentary republic. It is 2019, and things remain the same.

The British monarchs links to the Nazis Germany ,see video(s), below.

https://youtu.be/oOdLMAJHafk

https://youtu.be/eo8fuMW72xw

22. Hal,

Do you know ANYTHING of what Richard Stoute gets into behind the scenes. If I had a daughter I would not give her permission to enter his teen talent competition.

23. The goodly ambassador is in agreement with me. The conversations need to be had.

24. Did any of Barbados’ fake media carry this story, it was announced at the independence ceremony but what about media..

https://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2019/11/30/us/ap-us-obit-irving-burgie.html?smid=nytcore-ios-share&fbclid=IwAR0L3A2J8OwcThnLXzST_BbbykDbwi2zR1Qceeq5koGtHsotAAxzRYapLIQ

“NEW YORK — Composer Irving Burgie, who helped popularize Caribbean music and co-wrote the enduring Harry Belafonte hit “Day-O (The Banana Boat Song),” has died at the age of 95.

According to the Songwriters Hall of Fame, Burgie’s songs have sold over 100 million records throughout the world. Many were recorded by Belafonte, including eight of the 11 songs on Belafonte’s 1956 album, “Calypso,” the first album to sell over 1 million copies in the U.S. Burgess also penned songs for the Kingston Trio (“The Seine,” “El Matador,” and “The Wanderer”) and for other groups.

After announcing his death, Mottley asked for a moment of silence for the Brooklyn-born Burgie, who wrote the lyrics to the national anthem of Barbados — his mother’s homeland.

“We write our names on history’s page/With expectations great/Strict guardians of our heritage/Firm craftsmen of our fate,” go some of the lines of the anthem.”

25. The Envelope Please

Top Honours goes to the Barbadian Conkie a staple in many barbadians household a small but simple delicacy that fed many hungry bellies
    The Conkie has been the pride and joy for many households for more than fifty years its ingredients were a combination of love and a reservoir of community Spirit dedicated to peace and harmony passed on from generation to generation
    What more can be said for the Barbadian Conkie except it was a gift that keeps on giving and an excellent example of friends of all and satellites of none
    Three Cheers for the Barbadian cookie on this 53rd year of Barbados Independence
    Barbadian Conkie We all love you continue to be who you are and never changing

26. Their black genuises are never recognized in apartheiid racist Barbados.

And they wonder why despite all it’s problems, Black people prefer the US to these little shite colonies..

27. The Windsors are Germans and known Nazis…nothing good has ever come from them.

Black people would WANT TO remain colonized if they cannot or more likely REFUSE to see what is really going on..but that’s on them..they have no more excuses, all the information they require to make those changes are right at their fingertips, instead of posting shite, they can educate themselves.

28. Already in this current session of Parliament, the deliberations and decisions of both the Lower and Upper Houses have been both guided and forced by pressures from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, the European Union, the Financial Action Task Force, the Inter-American Court of Human Rights, and the International Monetary Fund. They have largely dictated our parliamentary agenda and determined its vote. Ways must be found to mitigate the negatives of such institutional influences.
    Of critical significance as well is that the integrity and maturity of our own institutional and constitutional architecture remain subject to question as long as we fail to complete the independence journey. Again I call on the Government to lead in both the conversation about and conversion to republic status for Barbados. This is a commitment we must unreservedly make.

Make believe.

He is a member of an unconstitutional assembly and worries about sovereignty!!

29. “Again I call on the Government to lead in both the conversation about and conversion to republic status for Barbados. ”

Ya don’t want any black dictators either, Mia already has a reputation and with a DECADES OLD criminal syndicate from Bar Association already well embedded, established and STILL committing numerous CRIMES AGAINST THE POPULI……..all lawyers will have to be banned fronm the parliament by the majority electorate going forward and for many, many decades…just to break up that criminal organization.

30. Yes the country is under enormous pressure from the International renegades some of whom i belive had a part in the outcome of the last election therefore making with certainty that their interest would supersede the interest of the people
    Last govt signs of refusal to endorse or fully engage with these renegades by way of slight of hand was the last straw that broke last govts back
    However here we are and will be for a long haul as extreme measures built on a formula of paying debt makes way for more poverty and crime and violence in our streets

31. @ Donna

I am not interested in gossip. Has he ever been interviewed under caution, charged or convicted of any illegality? There has been gossip about a lot of top Barbadians, including a former chief justice. Innocent until proven guilty. People have committed murder in Barbados and walked free.

32. @Akenatenl

In what way does Britain control Barbados?

33. Barbados has become a septic tank of blood and gore
    For a moment while reading yesterday news i thought i was reading about barbados
    Barbados uh come from but this barbados uh dont know

34. Mia committed a sin so gross one filled with lies and deception
    What should be noteworthy is that along with the skeletal remains of the slave was the most egregious act committed of burying the barbados flag
    A most unworthy action which is not permitted and considered a desecration of the flag
    IMHO Mia has planted a seed of deceitfulness in Ghana soil on behalf of barbados people a seed planted under infertile conditions and a seed which will deliver unbearable social and economic conditions on this country
    The Gods of the underworld would make well and deliver a payback to barbados all because one person thought their self interest was more of importance
    Open eyes will understand the symbolism of all the negative circumstances happening in the past two weeks since Mia dug up the bones of a slave and took them to Ghana
    Floods
    Melt down of energy system
    No water
    53rd independence day massacre
    Yes barbados had these circumstances in the past
    However multiples all happening at the same time and within a stone throw of each other is unheard of
    Using the bones of a slave to build a political bridge unheard of and can be considered political blasphemy
    What shameless actions what a disgrace
    Stay tune more will happen with devastating results
    The dead deserves as much respect as the living giving a true meaning to RIP

35. @ WURA-War-on-U December 1, 2019 7:22 AM
    “Again I call on the Government to lead in both the conversation about and conversion to republic status for Barbados. ”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The “TIME” is fast approaching when this call for “conversation and conversion” on Barbados becoming a republic ripe for dictatorship is going to be put to the test.

The Queen might be a long reigning monarch like her great-great-granny Victoria; but She is certainly not a Methuselah.

The effluxion of Time will certainly ensure her removal from the throne even if she has to be helped and escorted away by that queen consort in waiting, Camilla.

Would there be a ‘Referendum’ for the people to decide whether they want to be continued tied by the political class to the sovereign apron string of King Charlie which would require just a simple amendment to the ‘ruling’ Constitution by changing (by God’s grace) “Queen” to ‘King”, “She” to ‘He’ and “Her” to ‘His’?

What would happen if the People (commoners) say “No” to the ‘happy queen’ Mary Jane but “Yes” to Queen Camilla?
    What kind of message would that be sending to the international community about the ‘philosophical’ maturity of the modern well-educated Bajans who still see themselves as political serfs to a governance system suited to the Middle Ages?

36. Miller…then black people in Barbados will go down in history as the most STUPID people who ever blighted the earth, well worth staying the hell away from if they decide to be perpetual mentally enslaved idiots only fit for being robbed by tiefing leaders and their bribers and friends…..and are comfortable and happy having their futures decided for them and their future generations by those who hate their dumb asses..

it’s bad and ugly enuff that very few black bajans can tell you anything about any of the tribes in West Africa from which they and their ANCESTORS originated, can tell you even less about Africa and her glorious history pre middle passage, but are all well adept at regurgitating all the brainwash shite out of the fraudulent bible created just for them by Europe …and can tell you very little else about anything outside of that mindless slave to the destructive system mentality.

37. Hal AustinDecember 1, 2019 9:04 AM

I am not interested in gossip. Has he ever been interviewed under caution, charged or convicted of any illegality? There has been gossip about a lot of top Barbadians, including a former chief justice. Innocent until proven guilty. People have committed murder in Barbados and walked free.

Not gossip, Hal. I do not gossip.

I speak only of what I know. My father threw him out of his house party. He had been brought by a friend. From the horses mouth came the words by which I convict him. A truly disgusting man.

38. There was a tape many have seen back in the day.

#bluemovie

39. @ Donna

Has he ever been arrested? Questioned under caution? Prosecuted? Convicted? If the answer to all is ‘no’, then he is innocent. Anything else is hearsay. The Stoute/Wilkinson family have done more than their fair share of raising our entertainment culture.
    He is fully qualified for a national honour. We have had prime ministers, senior lawyers and politicians who there have been rumours about. That did not disqualify any of them from holding high office.

40. There is the moral view that must be a weighty consideration for assigning the highest national award. For the record Richard Stoute has received two national awards.

In simple terms, National awards must have a moral consideration.

41. Living proof that these colonized Caribbean governments have been LYING and making FALSE PROMISES to their indivudual populations for well OVER 60 YEARS….proof that cannit be refuted by any of those liars.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1832542123658358/permalink/2593333620912534/

42. “Please pay close attention to the comments made by the lying melanin recessive mutant ( albino) in the video.”

yep, Jacques is certainly a dirty, lying POS…he cannnot even hide his deceit and it shows in his body language.

Slavery 2.0 on the go.

they are all stealing STILL from Africa…the result of WEAK BLACK LEADERS….give their uppity dumb asses a title and you ARE SOLD..

Leave a Reply to WURA-War-on-UCancel reply