There is another important exercise unfolding in the Barbados Parliament. One of the most important working committees of parliament – PUBLIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE (PAC) – chaired by leader of the Opposition Reverend Joseph Atherley has been meeting to call to account the workings of the Transport Board. The revelations from the PAC so far corroborate the Auditor General’s several reports over the years – see recent Auditor General Special Audit of the Transport Board 2019. The Transport Board joins the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Barbados Water Authority and other SOEs to be deliberately mismanaged by BOTH political parties over the years to facilitate the siphoning of taxpayers dollars to feed corrupt behaviour.

It is good to see the PAC doing its work and carried live for the public to follow. From the number of views logged on the videos it tells a story of perennial disinterest by the general public. Truth be told the matter of a lack of civic awareness and lack of engagement in our system of democracy by Barbadians is a subject the BU family has flogged unmercifully over the years.

Some of us are quick to call for impact assessment studies; environmental, traffic, social  to be undertaken to inform important decision making by the authorities.   The blogmaster takes the opportunity to ask for another study to determine the impact of a poorly run Transport Board on the nation of Barbados about to celebrate our 53rd year of independence.

After watching the first PAC meeting on the 4th November 2019 the blogmaster decided to visit the Bridgetown river bus terminal early a morning to observe and experience first hand. The terminal has the look and feel of any public terminal, the PA system was used efficiently to inform the public when to queue at the gates.  A few private buses co-opted by the Transport Board to supplement public transport were seen doing the job. The one negative was the length of time one had to wait for a bus. The blogmaster boarded a bus at 9AM and scores of children were still in the terminal and standing at bus stops along the route waiting to be transported. The look of resignation on the young faces suggest the wait was a normal occurrence.

The mismanagement of the Transport Board and other State Owned Entities (SOEs) by successive governments have had a debilitating financial and SOCIAL impact on our people. A mismanaged Transport Board continues to contribute to the degradation of our society and the powers that be prefer to serve self interest rather than deliver on the mandate to serve the people. Something has got to give!

162 responses to “Call to Account – Corruption and Mismanagement Rife @Transport Board”

1. Sometimes, you see a bit of a story that makes you wonder…

Codrington added: “Probably if someone had called me and asked me about BM506 I would have told them where it was.

“It was at Mangrove and the Board Secretary knew of the information,”

When asked about the other six missing buses, the former quality assurance manager told the committee he would first have to know their registration numbers before he could say where they were.

He said: “I would have to see that report and they have to give bus numbers. ”

I have worked at a number of places over the years and I do not expect them to call me to ask about their equipment. Before we bring in new buses, we need to ensure that systems are in place to track “inventory”.

Here is a simple suggestion from an old man. I think a smart youngster can make an app for the job; but we need to start fixing from the ground-up.

In this day and age, it should easy to post a guard at a gate and he has a file which he can edit (not delete) and must complete and save every time a bus enter or exit the yard. With a drop down list of driver names and bus numbers the time and date for departure and arrivals must also be entered. The shete can be checked out at the same time by multiple users (S’Town does not have to wait on B’Town)

Bus—————- Driver[———————Departure——————————Arrival———————Arrival
    Number———–Name/Number Station/Time—————————Station———————Time—————Driver
    209 Lorenzo B;Town 11:09 S’Town 20:09 Lorenzo

Two independent Inventories of buses in the yard 5;00 a.m. and 8.p.m

Before wunna start criticizing, tell me whey seven buses are missing.

2. @Ogazerts

Good suggestion for sure. Maybe we should just fit the new buses with GPS and done with that. Every hired car in the USA and Bus has been fitted for years with them. No need to reinvent the wheel here, as an abundance of data will be gained from the GPS. Plus you will know live where every bus is any hour of the day.

3. Also if we fitted the new buses with GPS the TB could then just create a TB phone app that could be downloaded by commuters from the TB website. That way the public would be able to know where the next bus is and plan to catch it by just looking st their phone.

Of course what I have said above assumes the TB is run as a business.

4. Mr. Skinner

I agree with you that “TB was used and abused by the Duopoly and people got jobs via party cards.”

You have a situation where some drivers refuse to drive to certain routes and some who believe they are entitled to drive specific buses only. They are not afraid to tell supervisors “De minister send me hay, so you khan do me nutten.”

Using GPS and phone apps, (which are all very good ideas) would only work if there is a change in the organizational culture within the public sector, especially the quasi government organizations.

I recall when TB was in the process of installing security cameras on buses. After the 2008 general elections, newly appointed TB chairman, Pedro Standford, said the Board had some concerns about the contract with the security company and decided to stop the installations. They recommenced the installations, but using a different company. Clearly, this was an excuse to “bring in” their people to feed off the “fatted calf.”

What is the use of a phone app to inform commuters there is a service scheduled to leave the Fairchild Street terminal at 11:00 AM to Sugar Hill, when a driver refuses to to go to that destination? Or a commuter living in Pinelands checks his app to verify there is a 10:15 PM service to Edey Village, only to find out after boarding the bus, the driver says he’s not going through the Pine?

Before TB was established and there were 18 or 19 private concessionaires, people used to walk from from north, south, east and west of the island to Bridgetown, for example, because of limited service to and from various destinations of any given route or due to an unavailability of buses. This practice continued during the 1950s after TB was established and into the 1960s. Where is the evidence to support the claim TB was highly efficient at the time of its formation, other than someone saying it was?

The organizational culture at the TB needs to change.

5. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Agreed . The “organizational culture” needs to include the entire country. I think we need to seriously ask ourselves if that culture is now possible.
    We are refusing to admit that the country is politically polarized. All of the leaders are being produced from within the same political womb. We are not dealing with the damage done in the last forty or so years. Those who feel all of these problems came about in the “lost decade” were probably living outside the country the three decades before that.
    But that’s what polarization does ; it allows us to see problems from a very narrow political perspective.
    New leaders and ideas need to spring up and unfortunately , we just don’t have them anywhere in the Caribbean at this time.
    Political cultism is not leadership . Ask those who followed Jim Jones to Guyana.

6. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Hal Austin

Hal,

Earlier you said and I quote

“…“Government is disposed towards working with Barbadians to create opportunities wherever we can, but I give the warning always that it has to be within reasonableness….”

Let de ole man explain what Mugabe Mottley means by “reasonableness”

Rawdone Adams was made a Senator USING MUGABE’S DEFINITION OF REASONABLENESS!

So much reasonableness was employed that The Constitution of Barbados was changed to mek he a Senator

Let de ole man continue with my story about REASONABLENESS!

The My Money scheme was forced on the Central Prank of Barbados AND NOT A MAN JACK HAS COMMENTED ABOUT THIS PRANK NOR HOW IT WAS FOISTED UPON THE NATION.

But this is REASONABLENESS!

If you or this Endless Electricity were to give Mugabe a reasonable kickback on the revenues to be generated by this prototype IN A WAY UNLIKE HOW THAT BLP IDIOT AT THE TRANSPORT BOARD, rented the property opposite the Transport Board IN HE RH NAME, and start fixing TB buses, I guarantee, that you and them would see how much REASONABLENESS, wunna would receive IN GOVERNMENT REVENUES.

You just got to structure how MUGABE GETTING HER REASONABLENESS KICKBACK!!

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

To the blogger wh said

“…After viewing the bus, Ms. Mottley was taken on a short ride…” de ole man would add “obviously the ride WAS NOT long enough because she still pun de island!

8. I wish they had taken her for the bus ride on horse Hill

9. CHECKS AND BALANCES- This is done to verify and to ensure that work is accurate but that it is also complete.
    Double checking and going over insures that there is minimal errors in work done. People who are thin skinned and insecure about what they are doing with regard to work get highly offended when you question them regarding decisions or actions taken regarding work carried out. This should not be. put POLITICS aside and all hand should work together to get the job done. A BETTER BARBADOS FOR ALL.

10. David BU

Certain people at the Transport Board know the HINO Road Runner BM506 isn’t really missing……. and they know where to find it.

A guy became curious when he saw a TB HINO parked among some cars on a field in St. John earlier this year….. and decided to take a photo. Upon closer inspection he discovered it was BM506, but the issue of this bus being missing, only became known recently, after the special audit. At that time its front was painted in mini bus colours, but the rear remained painted in TB’s colours.

I’ll pass it on the photo to you as soon as he sends me a copy

Perhaps this may be one of the reasons why Felicia Sue was sent on special leave pending an internal investigation.

11. @Artax

Will “publish it” as soon as received.

Source: RPB