Submitted by Kim
A few years ago, on the cusp of the six-year limitation limit, I filed four lawsuits in the magistrate’s court against the parties in a Landlord/Tenant matter where the defendants unlawfully entered and removed items belonging to me, my daughter a deceased’s estate and a former UWI student (4). I was advised to take it to the High court because the four claims were being brought by the same person and against the same people and totaled more than $10,000. I pointed out that it was various claims, each marginally under $10,000.  I was told “but they are from the same person and against the same person, although one claim had my daughter’s name and another the estate’s name).    At the mention of the estate, I pointed out that I was interested in pursuing the other three claims there and then but was again told that the amount was beyond the jurisdiction of the Magistrate’s Court.
The irony (or anomaly) was that in that same court, in the same Parish in the same year before the very same Magistrate, and prepared by the very same Representative (Bailiff) a similar case (scenario) but with one, single, only, individual, lone Applicant against one, single, only, lone individual Defendant totaling some $15,000 plus and the Magistrate gave Judgement for damages and cost.
These men on the bench are either mad, bad or drunk or all of those. Don’t I read and hear of Criminals being slapped with many charges and various counts of one act or other?  Could that be only for Criminal proceedings?
For what it was worth,  I followed the Magistrate’s advice and endeavoured to move to the High Courts.  This necessitated gross paperwork, rhetoric and research and statements sought etc.  In the process, I uncovered that an individual {one) can bring various claims, individually or combined against another on behalf of self and as representative of another or others thus my filing for my self and representative of the estate and legal representative of my daughter.   But If I had argued with Mr Magistrate he might have wanted to slap me with contempt for telling him how to do his work. Only the claim on behalf of the estate was outside of his jurisdiction.
The legal databases are proliferated with cases upon cases of individual Applicants laying multiple claims against one, lone Defendant especially in the capacity of representative of others (parties to the claim). What i do not understand is how the legal fraternity and judiciary here don’t know or don’t care to learn of all these nuances and extensions and varying scenarios of the application of the law.
Now up the ladder, it seems that the people at the higher end are talking about time limitation and statute bar. Few seem to know or remember that the Limitation of Actions flaunts extensions and exemptions. There is a lack of breadth and depth in the application and practice of the law around here. Unless, unless, there is some other morbid, sordid, sinister explanation.
The folks up on the hill have to do much better at the quality of their production.  I know the Dean of Law is a regular contributor to this blog.
And while we are at it, who pays for all this barrenness?  If taxpayers are paying the judiciary, as I know, the judiciary has to do better than serve up such crassness.
Wasting paper and time; aka money.
Remember; “Yes Mister Prime Minister”?
Yes Madam Prime Minister, you need to commission an inquiry into how the judiciary works vis a vis the taxpayers’ money.  Justice must be seen as being served or having been served.  It should not be perceived that there is anarchy in the judiciary. But there is something radically wrong up in there.
Updated 25 November 2019

32 responses to “This “Island” State… and the Judiciary and …”

1. “There is a lack of breadth and depth in the application and practice of the law around here. Unless, unless, there is some other morbid, sordid, sinister explanation.”

Yes there is.

The Dean’s hands are tied, he found it that way.

“Yes Madam Prime Minister, you need to commission an inquiry into how the judiciary works vis a vis the taxpayers’ money. Justice must be seen as being served or having been served. It should not be perceived that there is anarchy in the judiciary. But there is something radically wrong up in there.”

They are ALL INVOLVED..it’s an incestous family, friends, fraternity well established decades old CRIMINAL SYNDICATE…created in the 1940s and still very much alive, still dangerous and toxic to this day…it is getting WORSE.

2. Just brought to my attention, let’s see the legal ramifications for an island and vicious leaders who violate the rights of women, men, children, the elder, the young, disabled, unborn and dead. They are known for IGNORING human rights treaties and conventions, they don’t see anyone of their same color persuasion as having any human rights, not even basic …but are now FORCED to JOIN the 53 Nation Commonwealth on VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN, now a big thing in London. Pressure must continue to be applied.

Shades of Natalie Critchlow and all their other victims.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1176228219253382&id=100005986451739&sfnsn=scwspmo

3. Murder rate keeps climbing they say 43 most say 50
    There are at least seven individuals found dead that govt has not given reason or caused of death after several months
    These people were found dead under unusual circumstances by fire or under suspicious curcumstances
    This govt has tried the tactics of smoke and mirrors underlined with deceit to hide the causes of these deaths away from the public mind
    Natalie Chrichlow death is a glaring example of govt deceitful tatics to blow smoke in people face while hiding the truthfulness of the crime
    Those who continue to follow the Natalie Chrichlow story would get a clearer insight of the person she was and understand that she was not a stupid or delusional person but a woman of good character and highly intellegent
    Intelligent enough to know the difference between a boiling pot of liquid and a murderer
    This govt for all intent and purpose to coverup this murder ought to be held accountable by those who knew Chrichlow for the lies thrown into the public arena concerning Natalie’s death to smear her name and damage her character at the time of her death
    Truth unlike milk does not spoil
    As i said before the murder count should include 5 fiery deaths the lady found dead at the water edge and Natalie Chrichlow also the boy found dead in the shallow grave in St. George which surpassed 43 but total 50

4. From observations over time the High Court officers seem to dislike citizens representing themselves. Notwithstanding their preference their mandate is to ensure justice is discharged.

5. Where is all the accountability and transparency that govt promised the people
    It is embarrassing and unacceptable that after more than 4 months govt cannot release any findings of dead bodies found under suspicious or unusual circumstances

6. The laws of barbados were so written for the best interest of the few
    Expecting govt to do that which is right in the people best interest is like looking for a needle in a haystack

7. Mariposa

You continue to make some very interesting (and questionable) comments on the issue of murders in Barbados so far for 2019.

However, permit me to ask you a few questions in an effort to understand what points you’re trying to make. If you’re going to answer, please read the questions carefully to avoid answering something I did not ask (or in other words, respond to something you made up), and without your usual incoherent generalized statements and metaphors.

Over the years, it has been the responsibility of the RBPF’s public relations officer to “release any findings of dead bodies found under suspicious or unusual circumstances,” while the Force’s hierarchy discusses the overall crime situation and “government” proposes legislation and policy initiatives.

Please remind BU of any occasion when any ruling political administration in Barbados, whether it is DLP or BLP, held responsibility for “releasing any findings of dead bodies found under suspicious or unusual circumstances?”

During the tenure of the former DLP administration, did former PM Freundel Stuart or former AG Adriel Brathwaite divulged any information to the public, relative to murders or murder statistics?

Are you suggesting:

….. (a). this policy has changed whereby the political administration (NOT the police) is now responsible for divulging to the public, murder statistics and the circumstances surrounding suspicious deaths, while discussing policy initiatives has shifted from the “government” to the RBPF?

….. (b). it’s the RBPF that’s engaging in “the tactics of smoke and mirrors underlined with deceit to hide the causes of these deaths away from the public mind…….. or is it the current BLP administration?”

Are you implying that this current BLP administration took the decision to purposely with-hold information relative to murders in Barbados…… or instructed the Commission of Police to do so?

8. Govt oversees the country affairs therefore it is the responsibility of govt through an audacious wanting of transparency and accountability to be ever so diligent

9. Soooooo……yuh mean tuh tell me you’re NOW aware “Govt oversees the country affairs therefore it is the responsibility of govt through an audacious wanting of transparency and accountability to be ever so diligent?”

I hope this particular Mariposa realizes his/her comment is APPLICABLE to BOTH BLP and DLP administrations.

I must remind you that you ran your 2008 election campaign on the need for transparency and accountability in government….. and in your election manifesto, you dedicated three (3) pages to the topic of “Good Governance.” You also promised Barbadians that, upon winning the elections, you would immediately introduce integrity legislation. After 10 years and 4 months at the helm of government, you failed to fulfill that promise.

Therefore, you’re essentially admitting that, by NOT implementing policies of “good governance,” similarly to this current BLP…….the former DLP administration refused to acknowledge it was “the responsibility of govt through an audacious wanting of transparency and accountability to be ever so diligent.”

Here you are, spewing your hypocritical criticisms at the BLP for continuing along the same line as the DLP.

According to Mr. Skinner….. the duopoly rules.

There aren’t any fundamental political, ideological and philosophical differences between the BLP and DLP.

10. The previous government wore the label egovernment of silence well.

11. So yuh mean to tell me that yuh comfortable with present govt threading the same needle or is it because yuh axe with intention to highlight past govt failures
    Excue me
    People was promised change reason why govt was given a 30 .0 mandate
    Don’t mek muh laugh bringing yuh stupid defense of this govt to table
    Seven deaths still not categorized by govt through a crystal clear democratic process but left open for speculation
    Is this what citizens must expect as good govern
    No wonder barbados can be easily called a failed nation

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ ManyPussy

You should be barred from commenting on 98% of the topics heah pun BU EXCLUDING 2 TOPICS.

1.TIGHT BRAIDS AND
    2.THE DELETERIOUS EFFECTS OF TIGHT BRAIDS ON INTELLIGENT UTTERANCES.

as to the matter of suppressing correct murder statistics de ole man WHO HAS PROPHESIED 50, has this to say!

There is indeed a “vested interest” of the party in power to suppress the correct murder count GIVEN THE GATHERING 2020 and the need of the Mugabe Regime to try to hide this ridiculous death count

I know that one cannot say Mugabe is pulling the trigger or stabbing anyone but…

It was Mugabe who invites 5 Druglords to Parliament WAS IT NOT?

So if I inviting you to the official opening of Parliament HAVE I NOT EMPOWERED YOU?

Let us be reasonable here.

Even Fumble Stuart the most incompetent prime minister Barbados has ever had, has never invited drug dealers to the House of Assembly

Though Lashes always had them is his house AND STILL DOES!

LOOK Artaxerxes dese people vex and “flamed” (de Honourable Blogmaster does use dat word) with de ole man!

It would appear dat, because I prophecy 50, ot is de ole man killing dese people.

Doan blame Mariposa doah all she doing is riding de ole boar coat ends

13. Piece what are BRAIDS
    From my vantage point i suspect u talking bout them things growing next to yuh goadies
    But i see yuh not better than Mottley that is being selective as to who say what and what said
    Yuh better be careful than when yuh call Mia a Mugabe yuh not talking about yuhself

14. @ ManyPussy

The one on the keyboard recently.

It is good to see dat dem rouse you and tell you to come and defend your BRAIDS heah pun Barbados Underground

Look de ole man going help your ingrunt a.ss here a likkle so dat you understand BLOGGING 101.

UNLESS YOU ARE GOING TO BRING EXTRANEOUS INFORMATION OF WORTH to a blog stay rass**le focused!

So what you do is go through the blog and look at the content supplied and extract the critical material which may emote the strongest interest among those reading.

So dufus here is an example

“…The irony (or anomaly) was that in that same court, in the same Parish in the same year before the very same Magistrate, and prepared by the very same Representative (Bailiff), a similar case (scenario) but with one, single, only, individual, lone Applicant against one, single, lone individual Defendant totaling some $15,000 plus and the Magistrate gave Judgement for damages and cost…”

The theme here being represented IS BIAS by a so called officer of the court!

Do you know of or have similar matters pending THST YOU CAN EXPOSE WITHOUT EXPOSING WHO YOUR BRAIDS WEARING A.SS IS?

OR do you know definitively THE NAME OF THAT JUDGE? so that, if they were to query the matter you could say “the estate is x or the case is “y”?

You understanding me yet? you dufus?

Now you may notice that the Honourable Blogmaster made a post on the matter

He says “… David November 25, 2019 7:13 AM

From observations over time the High Court officers seem to dislike citizens representing themselves.

Notwithstanding their preference their mandate is to ensure justice is discharged…”

Now you can chose one of two things with his post.

To big him up for his on the fence observation or get controversial about his monosylabic non committal statement.

Now, given that the Honourable Blogmaster DOES NOT LIKE YOU, LIKE HE HATE MY “SAVVY GUTS” you can take the latter route and keep the blog alive with your ALTERNATIVE VIEWPOINTS or in your case lies.

And risk him saying his usual chant about your commenting for controversy sake.

But, that is par for the course ManyPussy.

You is a citizen too, hopefully Eddie Hinkson ent tek way you citizenship yet AND YOU IS ENTITLED TO VOICE YOU OPINION but just remember dat, if you hitting he or his regime too hard dem will moderate you.

I give you dis advice BUT I KNOW DAT YOU IS AN A.SS so it is wasted pun your illiterate scvunt

15. @ Kim the Author

You said AND I QUOTE

“…The legal databases are proliferated with cases upon cases of individual Applicants laying multiple claims against one, lone Defendant especially in the capacity of representative of others (parties to the claim)…”

De ole man has a problem with this though and I gine tell you why.

“Legal datadases” plural are “proliferated” …. by which i guess you are saying that there are nuff nuff!

Any serious activist OF WHICH YOU NOW PURPORT TO BE ONE Kim, would have been proactive with at least one of these databases AND EXPOSED THE DIRT FOR EVERYONE TO SEE!

Say what we like about John Q, he has come here before and supplied exhaustive supporting documentation about judges who have not been doing their jobs AND SUPPLIED DATES.

You appear pun BU with 4 matters AND EXPECT A FOLLOWING FROM THAT!

And then you as a legal person? continue

“…What i do not understand is how the legal fraternity and judiciary here don’t know or don’t care to learn of all these nuances and extensions and varying scenarios of the application of the law…”

What does that mean Kim?.

I will tell you what your article means to de ole man

It means AN INEPT THIRD PARTY MOVEMENT AND SLOTHFUL PEOPLE’S PARTY FOR DEMOCRACY AND DEVELOPMENT

This is one golden opportunity to place their names into the mouth of the Barbadian populace and electorate AS THE REAL FVUCKING CHAMPION OF ALL CITIZENS but dem busy frigging spiders

Elections in 2021 and dem busy doing nuffin

16. @ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Kim thank you

17. Piece. Hee hee hee

Pity u have joined them idiots who have been trying for years to identify me by the type of hair hee heee wunna are real jokers fuh trute and then wunna call me stoopid
    Btw i would speak on those issues that are current and involve the socio-economic conditions of this country
    I am not a jac.a.ss come lately that jump on every bandwagon on a principle of self-service
    Barbados continues to fail the last weeks failures does not help and one can be rest assured that these conditions are riped opportunity to breed more crime and violence

18. See wuh I tell yuh?

You’re a LIAR.

Once again you purposely misrepresented my comments and questions, presented a “straw man argument,”…… a logical fallacy……. an argument you made up that doesn’t make any sense…. then you go on to respond to it.

I NEVER mentioned anything to SUGGEST or IMPLY I’m “comfortable with present govt threading the same needle or is it because yuh axe with intention to highlight past govt failures,”……..

……. nor can you IDENTIFY any phrase or sentence in my contribution that could be reasonably interpreted as DEFENDING this current BLP administration.

I “said” there aren’t any fundamental differences between the BLP and DLP. After promising CHANGE……….BOTH political parties FAILED to address the issue of good governance, accountability and transparency.

And this is evidenced by the fact that, prior to the 2008 general elections, the DLP ran the length and breadth of Barbados talking about the corruption of the BLP…….

……….. and that it’s “TIME FOR A CHANGE.”

Ten years and 4 months after, THINGS REMAINED THE SAME and your ministers allowed the corrupt practices to continue from where the BLP “left off,” (read the special audits of NHC, BWA, Transport Board, for example…… how about Denis Lowe, Michael Carrington, David Estwick, Michael Lashley and the man of the moment, Donville Inniss?).

Déjà vu……. similarly to the DLP, the BLP promised CHANGE……. and 1 year, six months after winning the 2018 general elections, there hasn’t been any change…… no transparency, no accountability, no transparency.

And you come here to criticize the BLP??? Hypocrite!!!!

19. Artax Nov 26th

Déjà vu……. similarly to the DLP, the BLP promised CHANGE……. and 1 year, six months after winning the 2018 general elections, there hasn’t been any change…… no transparency, no accountability, no transparency

Xxxccc

Yet although i am in argreement yuh lash out

Uh wunnda why

I suspect that my holding present govt feet to the fire mash yuh corns
    Btw cant remember under past govt having so many murders in any one given year
    Can u explain the reason for so many murders

20. Mariposa

RE: “I suspect that my holding present govt feet to the fire mash yuh corns.”

Clearly you’re an IDIOT………. or you’re pretending to be an idiot.

How could you “holding present govt feet to the fire mash (my) corns,” when I am critical of BOTH the BLP and DLP, while mentioning there isn’t any fundamental political, philosophical or ideological differences between both political parties?

RE: “Btw cant remember under past govt having so many murders in any one given year.”

It is ludicrous for anyone (even you) to suggest ANY political administration is responsible for the number of murders committed in any country…. “in any one given year.”

RE: “Can u explain the reason for so many murders?”

Knowing you, since Mia Mottley has taken up PERMANENT RESIDENCE in your head, your answer to that question is “it’s Mia fault.”

21. Sir i bow to your superior knowledge however the idiot in me brings out a bigger idiot in u
    Apparantly Mariposa seems to be doing a better job of living in your head since you cant help but to respond to every word
    On the other hand my living in Mia head does not seem to give Mia any headache since she never responds to my comment
    Maybe in the mean time u might need to have your check

22. I’m convinced you’re not pretending.

It’s just that I love to highlight the lies you post to BU and remind you that you’re an ignorant, silly, hypocritical, dishonest yard-fowl you are; how you read and don’t understand what you read; and that you always present “straw man” arguments, by misrepresenting other people’s comments and responding to things you made up.

I NEVER wrote you’re living in Mia’s head…… I wrote Mia is living in YOUR head…….. and rent free, too. Hahahahaha!!!!

It seems we’re suffering from the same ailment, because you can’t help but to respond to my every word either.

So, what would be an appropriate name to describe you, when you choose to respond to me, rather than scroll pass and remain silent?

23. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/27/qeh-amendment-act-passes-with-changes/

Spot the flaw in this argument
    Senator Franklyn declared: “Political people should go when the Minister does, otherwise we will have a situation where an incoming administration will have to deal with the ‘hangers-on’ who will try to hamstring their efforts.

“All I want is for the Government to behave honourably, and Clause 4 should be amended to say this person should demit office when the Government does.

If you were a political appointee to a high paying gig and you knew that the job was good for possibly 5 years and then 4 and then 3 and then 1, what would be your priority? Getting stuff to work and hope your party wins the next election or preparing/feathering your bed for the possible 5 lean years that will possibly follow.

I don’t have the answer and I am certain that Caswell is in a similar boat.

Political appointees are a fact of life, but we need them to contribute to the nation’s development and be more than a well paid place holder.

24. Catching up and surprised there was not one comment on this item

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/27/dictatorship-move-over-cbc/

Seems to me as if Mr Arherley is making a great attempt but the BU echo chambers are not working,
    We have to do our it and stop expecting Mr Atherley to be cook, bottle washer and waiter

Instead of attacking the man, propagate his messages.

25. Why would a minister want to have final say in appointments at the state broadcaster? This is dictatorship yet not a whisper from the general public. People just do not understand what it means having a government appointment staff to the nation’s only broadcaster.
    This is dictatorship by stealth. Where are the trade unions? Where are the opposition parties? Where are the voices of the church and community organisations?
    In May 2018 it appears as if the people of Barbados voted for an elective dictatorship. It will end in tears.

26. This govt has been moving fast and swift at undermining peoples democratic rights in so much that the average person has not have the time nor the space to reason or even to understand what is happening
    Atherley coming out to speak is a bit late in the game
    A game so far gone in getting what govt needs to happen and a game of undermining the democracy far out of reach for Atherley voice to have any longlasting effect
    Where were the voices when govt defaulted ..deafening silence
    Where were the voices when govt took upon itself to rob pensioners in order to pay debt none
    Well please tell why would people say any thing in reference to a few at CBC who has not been paid
    After all as many as there in the same boat of jobless i suspect that the many are too tired of fighting back …a ploy which govt knows and a ploy which will give govt an upper hand towards tyranny

27. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man continues to watch, with much mirth, AS THE PEOPLE, AND SHEEPLE, struggle to catch up with de ole man’s pronouncements THAT MIA MOTTLEY IS A DICTATOR!!!

This is the thing about SENSITIZATION, it is exponentially more difficult with people who dont give a FVUCK and the abundant ROCKS but, over the course of many days, and weeks, and months, IT BECOMES EVIDENT, EVEN TO THE ROCKS, THAT MUGABE MOTTLEY IS ON HER MARCH TO SUBJUGATION and all wunna a.ss is grass.

28. Piece the Legend Avatar

And, if only to support de ole man’s statement here is Reverend Atherley supporting de ole man while commenting about the CBC Act & Mugabe officially introducing her Disinformation policy

History will record that the coward Owen Arthur as having the task to dislodge the Dictator Mugabe Mottley BUT REMAINING SILENT WHILE BARBADOS LOST ALL FREEDOMS

“…As Government moved Tuesday to amend the CBC Act, giving greater ministerial power over a restructured top management of the state broadcaster, the Leader of the Opposition Bishop Joseph Atherley accused the administration of taking “baby steps towards tyranny and giant strides towards dictatorship”.

29. Lawyers i nBarbados do this all the time, most of these lolife thieves pick up every cent belonging to claimants and don’t even let them know they received any money on their behalf. this one is lucky he was not finished off…then they still got nerve to want to fight.

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/p480x480/77206842_1485196734968760_2173268518521274368_o.png?_nc_cat=109&_nc_ohc=QBUoGQsU4xsAQn20sM4p1_GEjkiQI33KTTn7Es37T4q6P8nPehrbF4rPg&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&oh=baae049abd95ed70b2a5f2cba9e79237&oe=5E404999

“Well-known attorney Don Foote has been struck from the roll of lawyers authorised to practise in Jamaica over claims that he under-reported by $9 million the amount awarded to a woman he represented in a lawsuit.

He is the seventh lawyer struck from the roll of attorneys this year, representing a record number of disbarments for a calendar year in the last decade. Six attorneys were disbarred in 2017 and five last year.

The woman reportedly testified before a disciplinary panel of the General Legal Council (GLC) that Foote indicated to her that the court awarded her $14 million in the lawsuit she filed against the Government. She said that as agreed, the attorney deducted his legal fees.

However, the woman claimed that at the urging of a friend, she conducted her own checks and later discovered that the court award was in the amount of $23 million.

She asserted that in the end, she was paid the difference minus $2.3 million, which, according to her, was deducted as “legal fees”.

The decision by the GLC’s disciplinary panel to yank Foote’s law licence was imposed on Saturday, weeks after he was found guilty of professional misconduct.”

30. Stinking scum of the earth, they really are..

34 lawyers struck off in 10 years in Jamaica, it takes 8 years to get one dirty lawyer struck off in Barbados
    “FLAWED NOT FAIR
    Foote confirmed yesterday that he had been informed of the GLC’s decision but blasted it as “flawed” and made it clear that he would not go away quietly.

He lashed out at both his accuser and the GLC, calling the claim that he under-reported the court award “contrived” and complained that he did not receive a fair trial.

“She is lying and she is being set up by a third party. The allegations are false, and they are not made out. In my opinion, the trial was not fair, and that is the basis on which it will be challenged,” Foote vowed.

“It will be quickly challenged. I am waiting on the [written] decision [signed by the GLC] to put it in the Court of Appeal,” he continued.

Foote is one of seven attorneys who have been disbarred this year. Two of them, Hopeton Clarke and Kenneth McLeod, were struck from the roll of attorneys on October 26. Others include Debayo Adedipe and Paulette Warren Smith.

A total of 34 attorneys have been disbarred in the last decade, including well-known names such as Harold Brady, Michael Lorne, Antonnette Cardenas, and Jennifer Messado.

A senior attorney explained that the allegations against Foote, if true, amount to a serious breach of the Legal Profession Act.

Foote insisted, however, that the woman was fully aware of the $23 million award and “executed documentation to that effect”.

“That is not true because she signed off on documentation and swore to it before a justice of the peace,” the attorney said, refuting the claim that he misrepresented the amount awarded by the court.”

31. DIVORCE AND BIGAMY

“Authorities are hastening to correct an error in the court system which left hundreds of couples believing they were divorced, when they were not.

In some cases, the individuals had gone on to remarry.”

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/242963/divorce-fix