The blogmaster inquired from Chris Halsall how would a distributed power generation model affect BL&P’s profit and loss in the aftermath of last week’s catastrophe –Barbados Gone Dark.

He responded as follows:

ROK (RIP) and I relied on Douglas Skeete during the rate hearings for the financial dimensions, but my understanding is moving to a distributed generation model would have no impact on the BL&P revenue model. No changes to the equations, simply the variables.

BL&P is allowed to earn up to 10.48% based on the Rate Base. The Rate Base is the amount of capital invested in “plant” that is directly responsible for power Generation, Transmission and Distribution. As this is amortized over time, what this actually means BL&P is allowed to make less profit unless they reinvest in the plant.

BL&P will always be needed by Barbados to invest in, maintain and manage the T&D. It’s a “natural monopoly” (and unbelievably complex) — you don’t want multiple different providers each erecting their own poles and then stringing cables. BL&P will also always be responsible for a large percentage of the generation.

It is important to note that this is not going to happen overnight. And there are legitimate concerns by BL&P — it might have to carefully manage an environment where they don’t control all of the generation capacity that the country might need at any given time, but would still be responsible for getting the electrons from where they’re being generated to where they’re needed.

And, the transmission network might require upgrading, if, for example, large generation capability is planned to come online somewhere where appropriate capacity doesn’t already exist. Who would pay for that, the BL&P (and, thus, the power consumer), or the private generation provider?

This is a non-trivial problem space, with many, many dimensions.

The blogmaster will add to Halsall’s view on the obligation of BL&P given the permission by the regulator to earn  a 10.48% Rate of Return on Rate Base.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley indicated in one of her take charge interviews last week that the time  will come to hold actors in last week’s fiasco responsible – the priority now is to stabilize the power supply to the country. Sorry Prime Minister, the blogmaster does not agree, we can do both at the same time especially if we are confronted by negligence, greed and incompetence.

There is one observation those who followed the press briefings must be concerned about –  Managing Director of BL&P Roger Blackman boldly stated one of the reasons for not replacing old problematic diesel equipment was heavily influenced by government’s decision at the time to allow Cahill Barbados to operate a plasma gasification plan in Barbados.

The other issue that triggered concern was the feedback from BL&P that unwanted contaminants were discovered in the fuel supplied by Barbados National Oil Company Ltd (BNOCL). The obvious question is what responsibility does BL&P have to ensure the fuel supplied by BNOCL meets the specifications to ensure the old diesel engines do not have a bad reaction.

The local media should join Barbados Underground to question the quality of BL&P’s decision which has led to the current perilous state of affairs. Should citizens take comfort in the fact the regulator – Fair Trading Commission – has launched a probe? For years the BU family has raised concerns about energy generation in Barbados. It reached a peek during the Cahill saga. How does being reactive get us anywhere?

199 responses to “Power PROBE @BL&P a Must!”

1. David
    November 24, 2019 1:27 PM

@None
    It was interesting moving around Barbados to observe the companies that were able to continue business during the power failure and others that had to close.

So, if you had about 50% of capacity that was not affected how would you allocate it?

Look at the BL&P report from 2012 and I think you will see that 2/3 of its customers are commercial and 1/3 Domestic.

My guess is that with a reduced capacity to sell the BL&P supplied areas where most of its Commercial customers were during the day and night.

There will be commercial customers that operate at night … hotels restaurants etc.

The commercial rate is higher than the Domestic rate so no prizes for guessing its priorities.

So I would guess the South and West Coast perhaps would have had priority and areas where commercial activity consumed more than areas where commercial activities consumed less.

If your residence happened to be in one of the commercial areas supplied, you probably had better service than folks who lived in purely residential areas.

If you lived close to the Hospital you probably got good service.

2. @John

See page 69 of recent AG report. The BWA is another SOE delinquent in completing its audited financials.

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/document/7b537e9b1deebf85297cb96b93f5ebf7.pdf

3. “The System Planning and Performance Department was critical in establishing and maintaining our voice and presence at these discussions in which BLPC sought to identify solutions to the high cost of fuel and to prepare our systems to facilitate interconnection with the grid of increased private renewable energy systems. At year-end BLPC was well advanced on the development of an Integrated Resource Plan (IRP) to determine the best possible energy solutions for Barbados.

The Department also worked closely with the Government’s natural gas pipeline negotiating team evaluating the feasibility of a gas pipeline between Tobago and Barbados. “

4. “@ David.

David I heard the excuses, what I want to see is the same emphasis being placed on an enquiry into Emera also placed on the BWA.”

So now ya know, an enquiry into EMERA is really an enquiry into THEMSELVES…but they have no choice, EMERA has SHAREHOLDERS in Canada…that the corrupt should be VERY, VERY AFRAID OF…lol…so afraid that Ms. Transatlantic Bone Tired immediately called in IADB…so afraid was she….

but BWA is government managed AND DESTROYED….who will call any of them to account for that when they should all be held accountable and ARE responsible for that destruction…

5. @Chris H

Personally, I don’t understand the need to appoint blame. In my world view, there’s a problem which needs to be fixed. Let’s fix it
    Get outta here with that heretical thinking, you looking to be excommunicated from BU? We have been apportioning blame to something or someone all the way back since “Adam was a lad”.

6. Sargeant,

It will all be fixed by December 31st because Barbados must be READY FOR WE GATHERIN 2020.

7. Walter M Blackman Avatar
    Walter M Blackman

I am going to take a minute to put some of these problems into historical perspective.

Back in 1979 (40 years ago), I found myself working in a temporary post of Budget Analyst in the Ministry of Finance. Two of us were working in temporary posts, but there was only budgetary provision for one person, so one of us had to go.
    To determine who would stay, the Chief Budget Analyst (Mr. Michael Parris) asked the two of us to take a look at the Transport Board (TB), identify any emerging and existing issues, and make recommendations.

My financial analysis of the TB in 1979 revealed an annual operating deficit of around $3 million which was a sizeable sum of money at that time (as a guide, my monthly salary was around $1,050 in 1979). You will note that the size of that deficit existed despite the fact that the TB had competition from only a few minibuses running some selective routes, and school children were paying a weekly subsidized cost of 75 cents for a “main ticket” and 25 cents for a “transfer”

Other issues I remember highlighting revolved around the different brand of buses (Albion, Leyland, and Mercedes easily spring to mind) and the different levels of performance and maintenance costs associated with each brand. I recommended that the Government seek to ascertain which brand provided the best level of performance and standardize the TB’s fleet around that brand. I also suggested that the long lines and long waiting times in the Fairchild Street, Lower Green, and Princess Alice Highway bus-stands suggested that we needed more buses and some money should be set aside in Capital Expenditure to solve the bus shortage problem.

I carried out my analysis of the TB under the constraint that there should be no increase in bus fares. I got the job and was permanently appointed to the position a year later.

Some of the ministries and departments falling under my Budget Analyst’s responsibility included the General Post Office (which was paying for itself), the Fire Service Department (whose request for a turntable ladder (they eventually got it) was deferred year after year because of government’s limited funds and priorities –renovating Ilaro Court to become the PM’s official residence was a major priority at the time) and the Barbados Water Authority (BWA).

With respect to the BWA, its General Manager, Mr. “Nicky” Sealy pleaded in vain, year after year, for money to replace its deteriorating major water mains. Up to this day, I am unsure if those water mains have been replaced. I have read though, that a high percentage of our water is failing to reach homes and businesses because of leakage from our water mains.

Uneven distribution of water throughout Barbados represents a very unsatisfactory state of affairs. We have friends and relatives in every parish and we need to stand up and insist that they get access to the vital commodity of potable water like the rest of us. I have no technical expertise in this area, but getting backup generators appears to be “low hanging fruit” for the BWA, and these generators should be procured as soon as possible to reduce the dependency of the BWA on Emera. As long as the political will is there, these appear to be solvable problems

The main objective of my comment here is to stress that most of the national problems we are grappling with today did not emerge overnight. They surfaced decades ago but were left unaddressed to fester and degenerate into today’s crises. Therefore, it is neither fair nor productive for the ever-thirsty political “junkies” to point fingers of blame at an 18-month administration. Let us give the government our support and encouragement at this critical juncture and pray that its members are successful in their attempts to solve our national problems. When 2023 comes around, all of us will get an opportunity to express, by placing or not placing an “X”, how we feel about their efforts.
    That is how our system works. I did not construct it.

8. @ David.

The loss to government would in fact been well over the $ 3 million John pointed out for the first 8 days, as he was speaking to loss just from the water not supplied. Now add to that lost the below.

Cost of tankers on road with crews

Loss of VAT from closed businesses

Loss of FX from manufacturing and export

And on and on goes the losses.

But even if we just take the $3M on the water sales alone, that could pay for the generators at the pumping stations and have nuff left over!

But the talk and excuses go on with no solutions being implemented. I will now quote 2 bloggers.

We are a failed state.

The Duopoly continues

9. Is there a case for hypothecation of revenue right across government?

10. These are national problems affecting all of us, and it is commendable that the Prime Minister is getting involved because she is representing all of us. All whoever is responsible for these problems remaining unsolved should be identified and shamed, but, at the same time, workable solutions should be effectively put in place, and risk management models should be developed to ensure that these catastrophes do not recur.

A policy aimed at creating a greener economy with Emera and private citizens playing a meaningful part needs to be devised and clearly articulated. If the fuel oil being imported by the Barbados National Oil Company is contaminated and problematic, then a source of “clean” fuel oil needs to be identified and tapped. Unsubstantiated claims of kickbacks and corruption serve no useful purpose.

11. @ Hal

I don’t know all the losses across all entities, but I would venture to say that if we could correct issues across the board like the one we are discussing, taxation to all of us could easily be reduced.

What annoys me is that we try to fix poorly run entities by throwing more money at them. we have millions of gallons in water leaking into the earth so we increase water rates. We have a Transport Board making massive losses, so we throw higher bus fares at it as a solution.

We never actually address any problem, we just touch the surface and leave it there. Its like a body work man painting over the rust and then telling us “problem fix.”

12. We now have a country of apologists on one hand and political junkies on the other. We have sat idly by and watch two political parties breed polarization and political skulduggery and suddenly we expect the country to be washed in the blood of the lamb.
    Like the elders say: yuh just can’t plant okra and reap pepper. It’s going to take a lot more than fancy nationalistic pronouncements to move the country forward.
    All we get is the same cold soup warmed over.
    After fifty three years of independence we cannot even properly manage one general hospital.
    After fifty three years of independence we can’t properly manage water resources or garbage.
    These two parties have no progressive vision for the country. They effectively silence people by giving them jobs and skillfully neutralize them.
    Yesterday Mark Maloney was a villain today he’s getting a bigger hotel. Same thing with the others – they said they were for the poor black man but Maloney ended up with a billion dollars in projects.
    I maybe a nationalist and I may wish the government well but I’m not blind . I may be ignorant but I’m not foolish.
    Right now I want the project in St Peter to start so that poor people can get wuk. Same reason I want Hyatt start.
    That’s all that those who are really concerned about the poor can hope for. At least with a job they can have some dignity.
    The decadent Duopoly will do what they always do – go in the back room and work out their deals.
    Time to take of the blinkers people.

The Duopoly Rules

13. I not sure I would support backup generators at pumping stations.

Here is my logic.

There will always be backup water in the reservoir!!!!

Now if we had a totally unreliable electricity distribution system, I would agree it might make sense to keep some sort of backup generating plant at the pumping stations.

But I don’t believe we have reached that stage.

It is probably more likely that a pump will break down than electricity will be off.

14. @ John A

Why has the Transport Board been losing so much money over the years? Does the UWI business school offer any training to public sector managers? Can we ask politely that politicians keep out of the management of statement enterprises?
    Apart from the auditor general, does anyone read the TB’s bottom line? Will increased fares make any difference, and if so, does that mean penalising the poor, who use public transport? Should the TB be turned in to a workers’ cooperative?

15. @William Skinner…

As a bit of a stranger in a strange land, may I please say…

One of the things which first struck me when I first came to Barbados to work (legally) in 2001 was how well educated everyone was. And polite. As a Canadian, it was a very comfortable and welcoming environment.

Over time, though, one thing I found a bit strange was there seemed to be a bit of hesitancy by many to make decisions, move on them, and then take responsibility for either the success or failure.

I have heard our current PM say on more than one occasion somethings along the lines of “Bajans can analyze better than anyone. What we need to do is do.

I hope this is taken sincerely and constructively.

16. @ Hal

To do all you say makes sense but for it to happen someone from somewhere would first have to say let’s run these entities like a business.

Don’t think we there yet.

17. state….

18. When the electricity started acting up, I still got water because like most water consumers, I am fed by gravity and gravity never goes off!!

If it was 8 days the electricity was off I would say most of the time I had water.

Remember, BL&P has three types of generating plant fed by two (that I know of) types of fuel.

It operates 24/7.

So if it is supplying mostly commercial loads in daylight hours, much of that load will disappear at night and is available for allocation elsewhere.

A pumping station may have been getting power for enough water to keep filling the reservoir even if not for 24 hours in a day then for some shorter period.

I think I had no more than a single one day period of water outage but perhaps a few shorter periods.

19. So the losses in revenue to BWA may not have been as bad as $3 million because it probably got all the electricity it needed at night.

Similarly, BL&P still had product to sell, although not as much as usual.

20. John A
    November 24, 2019 5:09 PM

@ Hal
    To do all you say makes sense but for it to happen someone from somewhere would first have to say let’s run these entities like a business.
    Don’t think we there yet.

These entities have always been pork barrels!!

21. @ John.

I think we can conclude the need for generators based on 2 basic facts.

First the light and Power have admitted they have serious issues of delayed replacement on much of their equipment.

Secondly let’s forget what the 1 day outage did, let’s instead focus on these points. What would happen if due to severe weather the light and Power was offline for a prolonged period, like has occurred in Puerto Rico? Also let’s say we had massive swells or a small tsunami affecting the west coast only as far as the Spring Garden Highway, what would that do to supply from the Spring Garden Plant?

Trust me dependence on one source for power when it comes to essential services is a dangerous move.

22. @John A

Why are you wasting time debating if pumping stations should have redundancy included in the design? Do not forget the Lift Stations.

23. Next year is supposed to be a La Nina year so it is possible we get a bad hurricane AND it hits us but I think the balance of probability must be that it is unlikely.

So given that and the obvious fact that the GOB is broke, I don’t think we are going to see much backup generating capacity at the major pumping stations.

Tsunami …. well …. I would not say the odds are that high … lower than a major hurricane.

More likely storm surge.

In my reading I came across an event from 1755 … Portugal earthquake … which made the sea rise a bit in the Careenage.

That is it

Kick ’em Jenny has been there forever and nothing so far.

The concept of probability doesn’t enter the consideration that the GOB is broke!!

24. David
    November 24, 2019 5:35 PM

@John A
    Why are you wasting time debating if pumping stations should have redundancy included in the design? Do not forget the Lift Stations.

Probably makes sense at the higher elevation pumping stations like Bowmanston, Sweet Bottom and Applewhaites to have backup generating capacity because the water can always be fed down to reservoirs below in the even that electricity was knocked out.

If for example you wanted to get some water from Bowmanston pumping station at 600 feet to Fort George at 398 feet or below only need to get it out of the ground and into the insitu reservoir and let it flow down hill.

But to put backup generating plant at Belle to move the approximate 12 million gallons every day in anticipation of BL&P breaking down due to old equipment or bad fuel is not sensible.

Perhaps a much reduced backup with rationing might make sense in the event of a catastrophe like a hurricane or Tsunami.

25. @ David.

Because up to now nobody hasn’t been able to train water to flow uphill without pressure.

26. @John (without the A).

By my assessment, you score highly as a “troll”. A noise generator.

No problem. Deal with them every single hour of every single day.

Usually by automation.

27. Chris Halsall
    November 24, 2019 6:24 PM

@John (without the A).
    By my assessment, you score highly as a “troll”. A noise generator.
    No problem. Deal with them every single hour of every single day.
    Usually by automation.

Tough

28. … but thanks all the same.

29. I think many people don’t realise the diversity BL&P contains and the options it has to work around many situations.

They assume the whole sky is falling when an acorn hits them on the nut.

BL&P and BWA too, have redundancy and diversity built into their plant.

While commercial and residential consumers in some parts of the island had more problems than others, we got through just fine!!

30. mrmentionbhl@yahoo.com Avatar
    mrmentionbhl@yahoo.com

@Ironside. It work both ways. I have met a number of professional bajans in various high-level positions throughout the region. Owen Arthur was a top economist at the planning institute of jamaica ( PIOJ) in the 1970s. Goddard’s, COW, Sagicor, BH paint, etc have all invested in Jamaica. Plus, Barbados for years had a trade surplus with Jamaica. Moaning about community college appointment or chukka cove investment is trivial and petty.

The fuel contract with Petrojam, Jamaica is only temporary, because Petrojam will eventually have to close its refinery business pretty soon.

31. “I have heard our current PM say on more than one occasion somethings along the lines of “Bajans can analyze better than anyone. What we need to do is do.”

that big foolish boasting for decades got them in this position, the better than, slicker than, smarter than everyone DELUSION..

“William SkinnerNovember 24, 2019 4:43 PM

We now have a country of apologists on one hand and political junkies on the other. We have sat idly by and watch two political parties breed polarization and political skulduggery.”

look on the bright side , the people rid the island of one gang of destructive thieves and crooks callling themselves ministers and leaders just last year, they now have to rid the island of the other..

….problem in the future, you have a bunch of bible thumping god and jesus freaks, highly brainwashed and uneducated salivating to get into parliament, just like those the island now needs to be rid of….they all went to the same schools mostly and think the very same way..

..we already see from experience how they can transition from vote beggars to wannebe slavemasters and sellout negros all at the same time, those are the only real skills any of them got, you can blame the DECADES of slave society miseducation and other social factors, however, the upside is, there are enuff of the educated and AWARE in the populi…to control these freaks and their runaway bullshit.

Bajans will have to learn fast and on the go…that they are the ones in control, their money fund the island and stop allowing these shite leaders to steal everything and destroy everything that belongs to them and their future generations…time to GET INVOLVED and be VERY VOCAL.

32. Wuhloss…they too LOVE TO SHINE…

They can’t say a fella is lying or made any of this up…ICIJ in ya tail.

These are the culprits, ministers of government, law firm partners, yardfowls and their CONFLICTS OF INTEREST…helped bring the island to it’s knees…

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1176128149263389&id=100005986451739

33. BWA and TB are run as companies that provide social services to run them as a normal private company mean to run them to make a profit. We are crying about the increase in busfare and water and sewage taxes yet to run thes two companies like a private company will mean a greater increase for both services.

In the, USA where I am now, a trip on a train or a bus is US $2.50 (BDOS $5.00)
    The pool of riders is greater and the roads conditions are better than in Barbados. There is no over loading or very steep hill to climb so there is less stress on the busses.
    Money is also made from advertising on both trains and buses yet the fare is U$ 2.50.

To run TB and BWA similar to private companies would mean a greater increase in their rates that may be out of the reach of the lowest paid/poorest in society.

34. There are standby generators at the major BWA pumping stations and sewage plants. PV was also installed at the Bowmanstan PS. To put standby generators at all the PSs is nothing more than wishful thinking/folly. Then next thing I will be hearing is that each PS should have at least 2 generators incase the first one break down or is down for maintenance when the BL&P takes an adverse hit.

35. If in a natural disaster BL&P is “taken out” there is emergency plans in place to provide water to first, essential entities like the hospital etc and then the communities via tankers/ community tanks.
    Just like in Puerto Rico the residents would have to find/limit their water use until BWA get some to them.

Economically – any natural disaster that “takes out” BL&P would be expected to have a severe negative effect on our economy. Now maybe the one who laughed and tried to vilify the “natural disaster clause” in the external creditors agreement will finally understand and appreciate the importance and forward think of that clause ( especially when I comes to our vulnerabilities and limited resources)

36. @John2

Can we start by more efficiently managing the two entities and cutting out the corruption? The cost savings will be in the millions. Check the AG reports to get a clue where to begin.

37. @ John2 November 25, 2019 9:08 AM
    “There are standby generators at the major BWA pumping stations and sewage plants.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

But are they in good working condition? If yes, then why didn’t they ‘kick-in’ when the country was without water last Monday and Tuesday?

38. @Miller

The minister indicated last week 11 pumping stations have generators however the way the BWA network is configured water is distributed to all customers connected to the network therefore some customers will be negatively impacted as a result of location.

39. Forget all the promises and long talk the facts are many parishes were without water for 8 days. I can tell you that for a fact as mine only came on today since Saturday.

Next the ministers excuse makes no sense, because if with power from Emera water reaches people like me in the country, how come with generators that he claims they have running it took 8 days to reach?

Face it our back up plans are a joke as the last 8 days have clearly showed.

40. @ David November 25, 2019 9:59 AM

Come on Blogmaster!

Were they generators on standby but no diesel in stock?

Are you playing the role of the devil’s advocate?

Did those residential and commercial customers served directly by those 11pumping stations have access to water during Monday and Tuesday while the electricity was off?

41. Miller

I am not in the island, only read about the experience. I didn’t not hear of much disruption on the south and south coasts/ hotels / major economic dependence areas.
    maybe David answered your question.

Iso ?

I prefer not to speak on management or corruption at this time – improvement in both will improve any entity,
    I don’t have time to read AG reports. I can barely keep up with BU and other news outlets.

42. @ miller

You forgot to ask if water responds to power from Emera better than the power from the “phantom” generators. LOL

What a load of croc for an excuse.

43. If the bl&p power was down for two day and there are areas without water for 8 days, this tell me that the initial problem may have caused by blp ( I would say a max of 3 days). After that any water still being off has nothing to do with BL&P or any standby generator or not but by problems in the distribution system.

44. To Abrahams and all the other apologist let me tell you why the generator story at each pumping station is a farce.

Had each pumping station had a WORKING standby generator they would of automatically cut in when Emera went down Saturday. The mains would already of been pressurised when Emera went offline and had we actually had working generators they would have immediately cut in as other places with WORKING generators did.

In other words we would have suffered no loss of service if the claims Abraham and others are making was factual. For the mains to run dry and the reservoir levels to fall it means these pumping stations were without power from any source for a prolonged time.

So that proves the statement being made that all pumping stations have WORKING generators to be a load of croc.

If I am wrong tell the minister to come and contradict me with the facts and explain why with working generators we saw a disruption of service at all, farless one that lasted 8 days!

45. Who said ALL pumping stations have generators?

46. Stupes

47. The point that is being missed is that the Reservoirs all will have some water in them when power goes off.

BWA automatically has a backup.

The mains in most areas are pressurized by gravity which never goes off, not by pumps unless the main happens to be a force main feeding a reservoir.

How whatever volume of water is stored is managed and shared is the only issue.

Backup generation only becomes an issue if the electricity is off for any significant time and the reservoirs all run out.

You will probably find that there are several pumps in a Public Water Supply well.

That means each of their ratings will probably be within the capability of a generator rentable from COW!!

BWA may not need to allocate capital to install generating equipment.

They don’t need to run every pump in every pumping station just to supply the reservoirs.

Managing the water resources that are limited for a short period of time is the issue.

48. Does anyone know if there is a network diagram of the BWA infrastructure in the Public Domain?

For an analysis, knowing the Lat/Long and nominal power draw of each pumping/lifting station would be useful. Existing on-site generation capacity (carbon-based and/or PV) — and the status of same — would also be useful; including how many hours of fuel storage each site has. I’m assuming these pumps take 208V three-phase?

Is this kind of information available to the public?

49. BWA moving to self-power pumps

Article by
    Randy Bennett
    Published on
    November 22, 2019
    The Barbados Water Authority (BWA) is moving towards generating its own power to pump water in the wake of blackouts, Minister of Water Resources Wilfred Abrahams has said.

But the Minister warned that while the BWA intends to install generators at all of its pumping stations, the money would first have to be sourced as it was a costly project.
    On Monday and Tuesday, around 130,000 customers of the electric utility were left without power, as the BL&P blamed the blackout on dirty fuel and aging turbines.
    The BWA is the BL&P’s single biggest customer.
    The BWA currently has generators at 11 installations, which means it was still able to pump water during the power outage, according to the Minister.
    “It is a priority for us to have some generation at all of our installations.

“We don’t wish to be subject to external sources in the provision of our electricity.
    “That fact that we are now serviced majority by the BL&P is a significant cost to us as a company and it also makes our efficiency and reliability dependent on somebody else, so we are outfitting as many of our pumping stations and installations with renewable energy in one instance and we are also ensuring that we have full generation capacity at all the stations.
    “But that comes at a serious cost. I am not going to sit here and pretend to you that we have all the money in the world because we don’t.
    “We are struggling with a financially-strapped company to make the best of a bad situation.
    “But the Prime Minister has indicated that it is a priority and we are working assiduously to get generation capacity at all of them but we have to do it as resources allow.”
    Abrahams declared that had the power outage occurred when the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was in power, the situation would have been much worse.

He said it was only after the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) took over the reins of Government that generators were installed at those pumping stations.
    Abrahams said: “What I will tell you is had this exact thing when the electricity was down for two days happened 18 months ago, or even a year ago, then nowhere in Barbados would have had water.
    “The fact that some areas in Barbados still had water and we were still able to service our customers during prolonged outages is due to the fact the we as a Government installed generation capacity at strategic locations to prevent against this entire situation.
    “It was done as a disaster mitigation measure.”

50. Can we treat the issues surrounding Emera and BWA as a trial run in the event that the island is hit with a cat 3 hurricane or some other act of nature?

We ain’t ready

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply