Submitted by Ironside

In part 1 of this submission, I tried to make the case that the problems of Barbados are not primarily economic [or even social for that matter] but are anchored in our spiritual relationship [or lack of one] with the Sovereign Lord. Despite the filibusters and tantrums that were thrown, it seems that there is some level of agreement with this.

In this instalment I will detail some of the specifics of at least one of the things of which we need to repent. However, before I proceed I wish to make my stance on religion clear. So here is what I said to one commenter in Part 1:
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
P.S. I hate religion! I mean it. Perhaps Karl Marx was right, “Religion is the opium of the people”. Repentance is NOT about religion but about a RIGHT RELATIONSHIP with the King of Kings AS DEFINED BY HIM, not us e.g. the NEW AGERS! That’s the part we can’t swallow! We can like it or lump it but God IS SOVEREIGN !!
N.B. There was no religion in the Garden of Eden until Lucifer came along!
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
I also want to make it clear that I am not really dealing with individual sins and therefore, individual repentance per se. However, if your conscience get pricked in the process, so be it. Do something about it.

On the contrary, I am dealing with national repentance. Check the scriptures and note, that almost without exception, calls for repentance were made to whole nations! To Israel! To Nineveh (the city called Mosul in modern day Iraq). To Egypt!

Of course, there are cases where individuals are singled out, for example, an individually delivered call for David to repent after his malfeasance with Bathsheba. But by and large, it was national repentance.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
“If you will return, O Israel, return to Me,” declares the LORD. “If you will remove your detestable idols from My sight and no longer waver… Jeremiah 4:1NLT

That is why the LORD says, “Turn to me now, while there is time. Give me your hearts. Come with fasting, weeping, and mourning. Joel 2:12 NLT

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So what are these “national sins” from which we need to repent? Glad you asked!

IDOLATRY: HERO WORSHIP OR PERSONALITY CULT

In Barbados idolatry finds expression in the growing personality cult and hero worship which we practice AT A NATIONAL LEVEL. Back in 2010 the Nationnews had this to say about the personality cult re. the DEMS.
It’s time for Barbadians to open their eyes and see past the propaganda and the “personality cult” that abounds and select a Government based on its competence level. But then again, we must be a simple-minded people since we keep repeating the same mistakes. Nationnews 20 December 2010
According to my spiritual analysis, that is why Barbados has been handed Mystery Babylon. Every Bajan who was awake then (or now) knows the BLP was swept into power on the skirts of Mystery Babylon. Women clamoured for her as the Saviour of Barbados. They identified with her as a woman! So much so that even though she said she would go to the IMF, they still voted her in. And the first casualties of the IMF were the [female] secretaries in government! What a betrayal! No surprise here; this is just the Mystery Babylon persona in action.

Moreover, within months Mystery Babylon was projecting itself as the new Caribbean leader as well as emasculating the male ministers right before our very eyes. What arrogance and hyperbolic conceit! Shame on you BLP men!

A female friend of mine said to me just hours ago before I started writing this: “We taking this female thing too far!” She was speaking about another female appointment to a position I will not identify. I reminded her of my favourite saying, “Too far east is west!”

Some of us are so far away from the Sovereign One that we do not understand his ways; especially His “tough love” modus de operandi. Look, if you crave something bad enough he will give it to you to knock yourself out.

Lucifer wanted a kingdom so he got a kingdom of darkness!

Here is Israel asking for a king:
Look,” they said, “you are old, and your sons do not walk in your ways. Now appoint a king to judge us like all the other nations.” 6 But when they said, “Give us a king to judge us,” their demand was displeasing in the sight of Samuel; so he prayed to the LORD. 7And the LORD said to Samuel, “Listen to the voice of the people in all that they say to you. For it is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected Me as their king.
1 Samuel 8: 5 – 7 BSB
Israel again:
The whole Israelite community set out from Elim, and on the fifteenth day of the second month after they had left Egypt, they came to the desert of Sin, which is between Elim and Sinai. There in the desert they all complained to Moses and Aaron and said to them, “We wish that the LORD had killed us in Egypt. There we could at least sit down and eat meat and as much other food as we wanted. But you have brought us out into this desert to starve us all to death.”

The LORD said to Moses, “Now I am going to cause food to rain down from the sky for all of you. The people must go out every day and gather enough for that day. In this way I can test them to find out if they will follow my instructions. On the sixth day they are to bring in twice as much as usual and prepare it.” Exodus 16: 1- 5
So let’s get to the point:

Hero Worship is Sin!
The Sovereign One says we need to stop the hero worship and personality cult, so I am passing on the message. This is not North Korea.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery. You shall have no other gods before Me. Exodus 20:2- 3 Berean Study Bible

You must worship no other gods, for the LORD, whose very name is Jealous, is a God who is jealous about his relationship with you. Exodus 34:14 NLT
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

WHEN MOSES DIED, JEHOVAH BURIED HIM HIMSELF; WHERE THE PEOPLE COULDN’T FIND HIM. HE WAS NOT TO BE WORSHIPPED!

I like Luther Vandross’ music but he is dead. I do not worship him! Folks, Errol Barrow did a lot of good but he is dead! Stop worshipping him. Clennell Wickham is dead. Stop adoring him. It makes me puke. It is enough to make God angry! Stop putting all that historical crap on TV about these people. Let the historians find some other avenue for their skills. I suggest they write about the “history of the lawyertocracy in Barbados!” That should occupy them or a while.

Most young people in this country neither “know”, nor care a cat’s whisker about Errol Barrow or Clennell Wickham. They are living now! Not one of them [dead heroes or heroines] is going to save our butts when the next hurricane comes along or get us out of this economic disaster we are in.

Neither will Mystery Babylon!

Worshipping Mystery Babylon is a sin. Hero worship is a sin! A national sin! Period! We need to repent of it, now! So CBC, get it together! Reporters and editors, help get out of this descending orbit! Churches! put this on warp drive!

The constitutional crisis we have is a blessing in disguise. It is our cue to repent. Then we would have started the process of freeing ourselves from Mystery Babylon!

16 responses to “Phartford Files: Hard Truths – Part 2”

1. https://www.azquotes.com/author/19809-Henry_Allen_Ironside

Never heard of Henry Allen Ironside before.

Thanks GP.

2. When was the first statue of a hero erected?

1813 .. Nelson!!

Until then I have found nothing in the previous 186 years which could count.

I was in “the old churchyard” (St. Mary’s Church) recently and I expected to see grave stones from the 1600’s because it was supposed to have predated St. Michaels Parish Church.

It is after all on early maps.

I found one single gravestone from the 17th century.

Maybe I did not look hard enough.

I can find some in St. Michael’s Parish Church (the Cathedral) but not many.

Most people in the first 2 centuries of the existence of Barbados were buried in unmarked graves.

Digging up remains to transport them to Africa is just plain dumb.

That whole episode of erecting statues is not consistent with early Barbados thinking.

Nelson was the excuse!!

Same folks enamored with absolute foolishness erected the statues and now have gone digging up remains.

3. IRONSIDE ——good post

JOHN—-

Just look on the sidebar of the article you have cited ….at this list of names of believers who were stalwarts in different denominations who have preached the Word and written amazing commentaries thereon

Lewis Sperry Chafer
    Arno C. Gaebelein
    Dwight L. Moody
    C. I. Scofield
    John R. Rice
    John Nelson Darby
    John F Walvoord
    G. Campbell Morgan
    Billy Sunday
    R. A. Torrey
    E. W. Bullinger
    Charles Caldwell Ryrie
    J. Vernon McGee
    F.B. Meyer
    Lester Roloff
    Bob Jones, Sr.
    M. R. DeHaan
    Lee Roberson
    Warren W. Wiersbe
    Donald Barnhouse

When you read these guys sermons and commentaries you dont spout the rubbish you read on BU
    I have read works by or listened too all all of these guys over the last 50 years

4. The Bible mentions the two ways of walking or conducting one’s life, which in a sense is really a summary of all mankind.

All men are either in Adam or in Christ (cf 1Cor 15:22).

All men either have God as their Father or the Devil as their father (cf Jn 8:44).

All men are either godly (or believers in Christ, safe forever with God) or ungodly (unbelievers, lost forever away from God – cf 2Th 1:5-8, 9).

Psalm 1:6 summarizes these two diametrically opposed ways of walking ending with these fateful words thus …
    For the LORD knows the way of the righteous, but the way of the wicked (ungodly) will perish.

5. @ Ironside

Your message is clear.

There are some things that I would like to comment on if I may and i want you to take this in the sense that it is given.

1.blog counts for a blogger here can go infinitely.

Dont ever believe that you have to leave a topic to start a second one because the blog count pauses.

2.sometimes adding 2 concepts together bolsters your blog and separating them is counterproductive.

Let me give you an example of this

@ 5.24 pm, John the Historian made an excellent point.

He said and I quote

“…Maybe I did not look hard enough.

I can find some in St. Michael’s Parish Church (the Cathedral) but not many.

Most people in the first 2 centuries of the existence of Barbados were buried in unmarked graves.

Digging up remains to transport them to Africa is just plain dumb…”

I dont know if you know much about John or about his competencies and inaccuracies with his posts.

Between the two of us, barring some of his beliefs about Quakers being saviours of the negroes, de man got a really good mind!

I really don’t like reading his post cause, sometimes he does hold up such a mirror of self review pun the 95% of we the black majority, dat I’m does mek de ole man go speechless!

He does be “too right” about our plight as governors of this independent island state OF MISERY PERSONIFIED and um does not sit good wid de ole man to sit and experience dese soul searching insights.

De udder day he gave a perspective about the flip side of hurricanes dat up to now, I does got to give he a wide berth AND REFER TO HIM BY JOHN OR JOHN Q, not disrespectfully, but to differentiate between him and the other 2 Johns who dont use initials.

That topic that he presents here at 5.24 pm shows de man’s logic and historical investigation skills.

He first cites the cartographological approach/verification to/of his data.

Using older map legends where, in times past, markings on said older maps, gave some historical datings of map features.

Then he, using the better known AND MORE ORDERLY (BY WAY OF PROPER RECORD KEEPING) CHURCHES WITH ATTACHED BURIAL GROUNDS.

John gives us an insight into the marked graves in these graveyards the ones with visible gravestones that have weathered the years

Then he politely suggests that IF, OF THE GRAVES WHOSE GRAVE STONES REMAIN, he can only find those dated in the 1700’s how de RH Mugabe find one from de 16 somethings?

She has to have been a real special slave to have had a headstone or other marker, marking her grave.

But my point is this is a Mugabe Mottley is in Ghana prostitution someone’s bones story as opposed to your topic.

You seem to have left the political topic alone altogether

Please dont let it pause for, notwithstanding de ole man going try to see where you are going with this, you should be aware dat ALL DE PARTIES COMING TO BARBADOS UNDERGROUND TO SEE WHAT YOU WERE SAYING

Keep on persevering Ironside!

6. Accuracies NOT INACCURACIES John is rarely inaccurate

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

Just started reading Henry Allen Ironside ‘s website myself.

And the quotes that abound there are superlative.

@ Ironside

As is customary for de ole man, I will move north, to end up south.

How many times, whileyou were growing up were you told “you ent no badword good” or “you stupid, just like your father” or some derogatory words?

You sir, fail to understand the reason behind cults and hero worship and the why we have this “LARGER THAN LIFE” TRANSPOSITION OF DEITY to other men and women!

This is a practical manifestation of YOU ARE NO GOOD so anyone else, particularly someone who is being bigged up by society, IS BETTER THAN YOU!

And this becomes our “hero” worship, this is what bred, AND CONTINUES TO BREED, this transposed adulation and transference of praise and Valuation on these things temporal.

For you Ironside to even get to

“…I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery. You shall have no other gods before Me. Exodus 20:2- 3…”

you first HAVE TO DEAL WITH that “veil of temporal tainting” that has warped, and continues to warp THE TRANSIENT VESSELS THAT WE ARE IN.

I often ruminate on this verse

“… Matthew 18:6 – But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and [that] he were drowned in the depth of the sea…”

I look at this verse both with “the veil” on my eyes and without it, for I consider this to speak to paedophiles (WHICH MY PRONOUNCEMENTS HERE AGAINST CERTAIN PEOPLE LET ALL KNOW I HATE) and its application to us all as “children of God”

So for me, it speaks to paedophiles and apostates and spiritual pretenders and prostitutes who offend The Word.

Wherever we are, we have a responsibility to speak Truth to Power, God’s Power!

The fact is that, in this mixture of transposed adulation and object worship we need to deal with its roots in our minds AS CHILDREN and understand that, if we dont address the root of these problems WE GOING HAVE THIS PROBLEM OF MUGABE MOTTLEY GLORIFICATION even after the fated cow dead and gone!

8. @Piece the Legend November 16, 2019 11:31 PM

Thanks for all the advice and the support. Please feel free to be critical; I thrive on it!

I don’t focus so much on blog counts but when commentators go off topic persistently . That signals some level of diminishing returns on the current topic. There is also time to write. Work can be very demanding at times.

BY NO MEANS HAVE I FORGOTTEN THE THIRD PARTY ISSUE.

I am much more intentional/ strategic on this matter than you might think.

Hopefully you spotted the time bomb planted in the article??? [If you do, please don’t mention it here!!!]

The battle for the third party requires a three-pronged attack. [1] defense / support of a third party) [2] offence (attacking the incumbents) [3] clearing/ fortifying the mental space in the electorate for a third party [e.g. this article].

Are you with me?

P.S. I submitted this article either Wed or Thurs; can’t remember which.

9. @ GP November 16, 2019 5:26 PM

Much appreciated. Wanted to shorten it but I thought depth was important.

Cheers

10. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Ironside “emasculating the male ministers ”

When last I checked ALL of the Ministers still had their balls, so i don’t know what you qre talking about.

Any by the way, your female friend is simply telling you what you want to hear.

11. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    November 17, 2019 9:21 PM

When last I checked ALL of the Ministers still had their balls, so i don’t know what you qre talking about.

… and here I was thinking you hated men!!!

Does Ms. Mockley know you are corrupting the morals of her male ministers?

12. @Sir Simple November 17, 2019 9:21 PM

Perhaps you should check again; only this time, use a “miascope”.

13. @John November 17, 2019 9:57 PM

… and here I was thinking you hated men!!!

Does Ms. Mockley know you are corrupting the morals of her male ministers?

LOL!!

14. @ Piece the Legend November 17, 2019 7:14 AM

You sir, fail to understand the reason behind cults and hero worship and the why we have this “LARGER THAN LIFE” TRANSPOSITION OF DEITY to other men and women!

This is a practical manifestation of YOU ARE NO GOOD so anyone else, particularly someone who is being bigged up by society, IS BETTER THAN YOU!

And this becomes our “hero” worship, this is what bred, AND CONTINUES TO BREED, this transposed adulation and transference of praise and Valuation on these things temporal.
    That may very well be a contributor but as I said elsewhere, “nature abhors a
    vacuum”. If you don’t worship God you will worship something else, even if it is yourself! It looks like that is the way we are made!

See the following exchanges with the blogmaster:

https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/11/14/phartford-files-hard-truths-part-society-barbados-1/comment-page-1/#comment-1264950

https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/11/14/phartford-files-hard-truths-part-society-barbados-1/comment-page-1/#comment-1264958

https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/11/14/phartford-files-hard-truths-part-society-barbados-1/comment-page-1/#comment-1264981

15. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside

De ole man just saw your remarks part of which said and I quote

“…The battle for the third party requires a three-pronged attack. [1] defense / support of a third party) [2] offence (attacking the incumbents) [3] clearing/ fortifying the mental space in the electorate for a third party [e.g. this article].

Are you with me?…”

We are in agreement up to the coalition strategy heheheheh

One more reason I’m not too keen on the Coalition Concept, at this time, is because the electorate is very scared of revisiting the DLP, in any format, even via proxy.

I expect to see breakaway DLP factions as well and I see them as a diluting the electorate mindspace.

Our styles have a slight variant though AND I SHALL EXPLAIN.

De ole man, as it relates to out political landscape, believes in proactive, selective exposure of strategies to build the third Party Movement.

Your style, while you too recognise this need, and while you clearly define what their solutions are categorized as, don’t understandably expose what they need to be doing.

Now here is what I will say about your strategy.

Ideally Ironside, they should hire you or de ole man OR BOTH OF US heheheheh BUT THEY CAN’T OR WONT!

You will ask why not and I will explain.

They wont hire us because they are men and women who are led by an older politician of an age past.

He only has an experience defined by podiums and campaigns around election time.

Couple that mindset with the purported direction that Mugabe is giving him, and you arrive at the OBVIOUS INACTION OF THE PDP at the national level.

This is a non sequitur Third Party Movement grafting into the PdP and Reverend Atherley isn’t it?

But the truth is, NOT THE FACT THAT JOSEPH ATHERLEY IS A FORMER BLP MEMBER but that barring him in that party, every single other member IS COMPETENT & NEW BLOOD!

So Ironside, de ole man is going to say that Joe will be there UNTIL ***

But we will talk about that later.

From what I see though is that THEY HAVE TO BRING DELIVERABLES.

Now, given dat Mugabe toss Miss Ram out of she property, it means dat she going start building in Bridgetown soon.

Now you and dun know, no poor bajans gone benefit from dat but de same poor ingrunt bajans gine vote fuh she UNLESS DE PdP do someting dat gine mek de poor people get $$

I gine listen out fuh you causing …..

16. @Piece the Legend November 18, 2019 4:54 PM

++++++++
    We are in agreement up to the coalition strategy heheheheh

One more reason I’m not too keen on the Coalition Concept, at this time, is because the electorate is very scared of revisiting the DLP, in any format, even via proxy.
    ++++++++

The coalition issue needs unpacking. First level analysis requires a distinction between (1) coalition-before-the-election and (2) coalition-after-the-election-results. People seem to be talking mostly about (1). Both need discussion

P.S. Got some deadlines to meet . Will respond as time permits.

Leave a Reply to IronsideCancel reply