The newly elected Barbados government took the unprecedented decision on 1 June 2018 to suspend domestic and eternal payments on debt.  Credit rating agencies were predictably swift to respond by adjusting Barbados’ credit rating to selective default (SD).

Even the most ardent of Democratic Labour Party (DLP) supporters would have admitted the economy was in a free fall and the 28 May 2018 general election confirmed the prevailing sentiment. Never in the history of Barbados has a political party fail to win a seat in parliament, the BLP won all but 2 ‘boxes’.

The decision by the government to default resulted in the holders of government treasury notes and debentures taking a LOW haircut with maturities on the investments extended by 15 years. The good news story is that the local debt restructuring – if we accept the official report – has resulted in the national debt shrinking from 170% to 125% of GDP__ government has announced that by 2033 the debt should be 60%.

This blogmaster freely admits the BLP was dealt a bad hand on the 28 May 2018 and some hard decisions had to be taken to stabilize the economy. We can debate the how. The previous Freundel Stuart administration has justifiably earned the label as the worst government Barbados has experienced by a wide margin.

While listening to Senator Caswell Franklyn debating the Debt Holder (Approval of debt restructuring) Amendment Bill 2019 in the Senate this week doing a good job to remind that Chamber the misery government’s austerity policy is having on the poor, it reminded this blogmaster of the forgotten middle earning class. The decision by the government to restructure the domestic debt has impacted this group of persons who were encouraged to invest in government’s gilt edge securities by successive governments. You are reminded that for almost 10 Rh years under the Stuart administration the middle class – the majority with a mortgage, car and education loans – were asked to hold strain.  BOOM the first thing the Mottley government did was to yank a belt that was already fitted tightly around the waist of the middleclass Barbadian.

A middleclass Barbadian should be synonymous with being an educated Bajan. Middleclass Barbadians understand decisive decisions had to be taken by the Mottley government to meet head on the economic challenges facing the country. Here is what this blogmaster does not understand. We have the largest Cabinet in the history of the country and given the current state of affairs in the country several will be elected for a second term. We have a BU commenter who is quick to advise he doesn’t have to read and spell for the BU family.

The following blog retrieved from the BU archives should explain the grouse of this blogmaster.

Unfunded Government Pension a Worry

Fiscal Problem In Barbados ! eb2d17288e33d24ec34a90fd04dca0d0 Dr. Justin Robinson recently shared some interesting information on Facebook, he attempted to breakout government expenditure and revenues – see the presentation, ‘facts on the Fiscal Situation in Barbados last 20 years. A focus on Transfers and Subsidies‘.

Successive governments have been challenged by the size of the transfers and subsidies allocation and it has become more so in the last decade given the fiscal challenges being experienced. Although out of the scope the blogmaster used the opportunity to question the chairman of the NIS about government’s non NIS pension liability. Private registered pension plans AND the NIS receive input from actuaries to inform the level of funding required to ensure they are able to meet future obligations.

It is an open secret the pension plan which covers statutory agencies, members of parliament and other public sector agencies continue to be a significant pension expense for government. From arms distance the fund appears to be ‘under-funded’. This is the interesting point of the exchange on Facebook with the Chairman.

Unfunded Government Pension a Worry

If the blogmaster overestimated the ability of some to understand the thrust of the blog, Hants may be able to read and spell fuh wunnah.

114 responses to “Middleclass the Forgotten Group After ‘Staying the Course’”

1. What’s there to explain. Both governments have acted for decades like the NIS Pensioners Fund is their peronal piggy bank to invite their briber friends and other foreign blights to raid it by the hundreds of millions of dollars each and every time. Tiefing Cow and the covetous minded Williams family believe NIS Pension money belongs to them.
    Hence the reason pensioners and those with disabilities are now suffering and unable to survive. That is the long and short of it. Not much else to say.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

For I will play a rhapsody
    Cleverly disguise it, so it’s not been heard before.

3. Lol..same shite government who wrote off a BILLION DOLLARS that their friends and business partners/bribers STOLE from the people, yep same useless nuisances wrote off hundreds of millions in tax dollars their tax evading family/friends/bribers REFUSED to pay in to treasury, same shite government refusingto lock up anyone for those thefts, including those who ripped off the pension fund cause the useless government got to PLEASE AND PROTECT THE THIEVES. Yet here they are complaining. Got some nerve. They think everyone lost their memories.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1166714906871380&id=100005986451739&sfnsn=scwspmo

4. To clarify what Senator Franklyn has been suggesting:

“I am being asked what I would have done. What I would have done is to collect the over $1billion dollars in VAT that was outstanding rather than writing it off. I would get it by selling the properties of people who own them. You writing off debt for them but you aren’t writing off debt for the people who can least afford it.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/14/poor-people-suffering/

5. Yes the senator bravado rings true for thousands poor and some middle class
    However “too late shall be the cry”
    The govt response to the senator shameful and disgusting report on what the poor is undergoing was speechless rather than responding to the Senators thrashing
    A minister of govt swept away Caswell comments as if to ignore them by asking the senator what he would have done
    This govt has perfected the art of smoke and mirrors to a “T” even in parliament
    What a god dam shame

6. What we are seeing is a govt boasting about reserves and a govt which cannot connect to social and economic realities that are crippling the barbadian households
    When Caswell open his mouth and spoke it should have been an eyeopener to govt that their measures which only support a few would be a full fill prophecy which eventually would rip barbados apart

7. What we are seeing is a government that has inherited an economy in shambles.

8. @ Mariposa

It is now about 18 months since the Mottley government took control from Stuart’s administration. It is true that the Stuart/Sinckler DLP was out of its league.
    However, when does the Mottley government take full responsibility for the management of the economy? We now have the two leading economic ministers (Straughn and Caddle) making economic statements that are as bogus as Father Christmas.
    One, that the economy is now in the black; and the other, that government will no longer access the capital markets. The first is just bad economic analysis and the second has left unstated that government has abandoned as large infrastructural projects. If that is the case, then they should say that.
    Here is the Barbados Today report on Straughn’s speech, if reported accurately. Caddle’s statement is so ridiculous it needs no comment:

the first time in several years, the Barbados Government has earned more than it spent, said Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn.

Straughn made the revelation in the House of Assembly today on a bill to reform Land Tax, the final element of the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme needing lawmakers’ approval.
    In quoting the Central Bank’s Economic Report for the first nine months of the year, Straughn said:
    “For 2014/15, the fiscal deficit was 7.6 per cent, and this figure was in parentheses, meaning it was a negative balance. For 2015/16, that figure was nine per cent, in 2016-17, 5.3 per cent and in 2017-18 4.6 per cent.
    “This was when the previous Government kept increasing taxes and there was never any indicator as to how they were spending the money, and the debt build-up was choking the life out of the economy.
    “However, starting from 2018/19, we had a deficit of 0.3 per cent, almost a balanced budget, something that we have not seen for some time but in the last column, which covers April 1 to September 30 this year, the number is 2.8 per cent without parentheses, so for the first time in over a decade, we are running fiscal surpluses.

“This means the Government is paying its bills, with a little bit left over as you have to keep the cashflow going and keep projects going.”
    Declaring that some critics would object to the Government operating at a surplus, Straughn added: “The truth is, we have been doing old work while trying to do new work, and we are running surpluses because we have to pay arrears the last Government left behind with no money to service, so we have sought to reform the way we manage public finances through execution of debt restructuring, as well as modernising our systems across Government looking at all our processes to see how we can better and more efficiently serve the public, and we shall continue on this path.”
    The Minister in the Ministry of Finance sought to explain why Barbadians still have not seen any new buses or more new garbage trucks which the administration had promised despite the reforms to the tax system. He said the economic recession in the latter part of the past decade meant that companies did business differently now.
    Straughn explained: “Since the global economic crisis of 2008/9, people have not really been keeping items in inventory; the only way people will start work is when they get their deposits.
    “We are conscious that we need to improve the services and we shall.
    “Our mission was to fix the problems we found, we have done that and are still in that process, so we will continue to stay the course and despite what people may wish to infer about the performance of the Government, the Cabinet took the responsibility to solve these problems based on what people would want from their Government.

“We appreciate that some people are still disappointed as some systemic issues have not moved fast enough, but the surpluses will allow us to repay all those things so we can continue to improve those services.”

9. @ David.

So What have they done in 18 months to rectify it?

Increased taxation tremendously, removed discounts on land tax after increasing them by 40% in some cases and double for many the price of water. They also increased bus fares by over 50%. Not one of these measures will encourage economic activity.

They forgave $500m some say in tax liability in the form of vat, than imposed $400M in New taxes. Why didn’t they give the vat liabilities to a foreign debt collector to collect instead? Don’t know ask them.

In the meantime statuary boards still have not brought their financials up to date, so our revenue estimates therefore are no more than an educated guess.

On top of all if this the middle class who are the ones that build the economy have been decimated by increased taxation and losses from both government paper and clico.

If only we had an opposition that would come out and tell Bajans the truth, instead of being what appears to be a bunch of political seat warmers.

10. Also how can you claim to be in the black for the first part of the year when in the same period wunna wrote off $500M worth of your receivables in Vat receipts?

Or nobody didn’t remember to make an adjustment on receivables for that either?

Then again this is the same crew that claim they restructure $500M in debt and save $1B in the first year alone and 4B overall! Then the left side of dem month say they save 27% in the fx debt restructuring. So now apparently the below is the new formula.

A 27% saving on $500M = $4 billion

Lord help me here cause I only went school at Brumley and the $15 calculator only does go to 8 digits. Lol

11. @John A

You may not be aware but this blogmaster lives the satirical style of The Onion treating to certain topics. Do not get tie up!

12. Yeap a govt of smoke and mirrors
    Aint that the truth
    Going forward expect govt to bring out measures similar to those of the eighties and nineties in an effort to stimulate the economy
    Tax refunds would be come the norm of putting money in peoples pocket as trickle down economics become the driving force to create growth
    Meanwhile govt austerity measures would continue to create a larger than large poor society

13. It is now about 18 months since the Mottley government took control from Stuart’s administration. It is true that the Stuart/Sinckler DLP was out of its league.

So one was out of its league and one is unconstitutional.

Whatever this set does will need to be confirmed when we get a constitutional Parliament.

None of the Dudleys are worth anything, zero is zero!!

14. If you play by the rules, working to earn a living and saving to provide for the future, taxes take a piece of your earnings. If you win a state lottery, you owe tax. But if you get lucky in the lottery of life and land an inheritance, you owe no federal tax. That isn’t fair, is it? Extending the federal income tax to include inheritances would end that inequity.
    Extreme inequality is troubling for various reasons. It fosters gross and wasteful consumption. More importantly, it undermines the principle of political equality: Nearly unencumbered transfers of wealth permitted under current law perpetuate those imbalances, creating dynasties of the rich and hampering economic and social mobility….(Quote)

Barbados urgently needs an inheritance tax.

15. @Hal

“Barbados urgently needs an inheritance tax.”

Is this your attempt at SATIRE, should read BARBADOS URGENTLY NEEDS A STUPIDITY TAX , which would balance the books overnight, providing RH politicians can figure a way to COLLECT.

16. All I can say is that in over fifty years on earth I have never been acquainted with so many people who speak to me of their empty food cupboards.

Before this year the only people I knew that told me of “burning bellies” were strangers on the street.

Now they are in houses down the street or speaking to me on my telephone. It is very stressful, because I could hand the stranger ten dollars and move on but I cannot do the same for neighbours. I have to see their faces and hear their voices daily. And I cannot afford ten times ten times seven.

17. Hal,

I don’t think we pay taxes on winnings here. At least we didn’t when I took revenue law. Nearly all of my study time was spent separating winnings from earnings with the help of English case law.

18. @ Wily

I do not understand. Plse explain

@Donna

It was a quotation from a think-tank report. The point I was making was about an inheritance tax, which I know a number of senior BLP people oppose.

19. I did not even read the article that claimed we were in the black. Let out a long steupse and moved on. These people obviously think we cannot add, subtract, multiply, divide or even count.

The lies are getting more brazen.

I guess they think we are from Middle America,.

20. @ Donna

You are right. It is disrespect. One wag even said (on another Facebook blog) that he has confidence in Ms Caddle, that she is highly respected, and he believes her. Plse recall Jonestown for how unquestioned following could lead to walking off a cliff. We must apply our critical skills to these claims.
    The game is no longer what the DLP did, it is now firmly what the Mottley BLP is doing and plans to do.

21. @Donna

Nobody told you what BERT means to the Barbadian household yet? Well it means at month end the below applies for most of us.

Barely Enough for Rent +Transport.

If you doubt that ask anyone you speak to ( except a politicain).

22. @John A

How do connect what is happening in the household to the macro position?

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wuh Loss!!

The higher the monkey climbs
    The more he exposes his Rs

24. @Hal

Owing to Government of Barbados is unable to collect present VAT, presumably wrote off $1B because it was un-collectable, what makes you thing MORE TAXATION will offer any additional revenue. If government is unwilling to pass INTERGRITY LEGISLATION why do you think they’ll pass an INHERTITACE TAX as you point out primarily a consequence for BLP ELITE.

You obviously believe in Santa Clause, the TOOTH FAIRY etc.

@DAVID

Bajan middle class is not yet being financially squeezed sufficently, as Wily hears no LOUD WHIMPERING, when the crescendo becomes deafening, maybe then and only then will the Bajan middle class populace stand up and possibly be heard.

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

The macro is the sum of the micros.

26. @Wily

Where is it written that 2 billion has been written off?

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

Ii we keep kicking the can down the road for the next GOB to resolve’ and the next generation to finance ,what do you expect? We are simply playing the expletive. Did you read the advice the former MD of IMF gave in Davos to emerging economies re foreign consultants?

28. @Vincent

This is not the first time international development agencies have shared this advice. A few years ago the IADB has reason to advise the same post Haiti earthquake. Hard ears we don’t want to learn.

29. @ Wily

Oh ye of little faith. Some day our officials and politicians will become competent. I have faith that the people will remove lawyers from their politics and clean up the swamp, but time is short.

30. @David
    While listening to Senator Caswell Franklyn debating the Debt Holder (Approval of debt restructuring) Amendment Bill 2019 in the Senate this week doing a good job to remind that Chamber the misery government’s austerity policy is having on the poor, it reminded this blogmaster of the forgotten middle earning class.
    The Gov’t has an “austerity” policy? Who knew?

31. Hal,

Soon they will be thinking that they could shoot somebody on some avenue and not lose one vote.

An inheritance tax would be good as long as it is set to capture the very wealthy and not the average person passing on a few hundred thousand dollars worth of property.

Some people will always be more wealthy than others. Some people earn their wealth fairly and should be allowed to keep it. But I find that much of the wealth is gained by exploitation. And the wealthier such people become the more power they have to exploit.

This vast inequality has the people up in arms. The number of protests is rising. When will it reach Barbados?

I know a whole lot of people who are complaining for hunger that never did before.

One image that has stayed with me is that of a Nation photograph of Freundel at a sumptuous buffet at the same time that he was telling the people that the measures he was implementing were affecting him too. It was a deliberately placed image, I’m sure, but it was a true image.

That picture was worth a thousand words. And probably many thousand votes.

And so it shall be again.

32. John A,

I was not aware of the acronym but it fits what I am hearing from many.

I must admit here though that some of my people are suffering from the effects of the bottom feeding lawyers and the injustice system. Others from lack of work and others from the cost of living.
    Various problems all with the same result.

Burning eyes and hungry bellies!

33. (Quote):
    “@ Mariposa
    It is now about 18 months since the Mottley government took control from Stuart’s administration. It is true that the Stuart/Sinckler DLP was out of its league.(Unquote)

Ms Many pokies- aka “ac” the anonymous asinine clown hiding behind a blue and yellow mask- do you agree with that “Independent” Hal Asstin’s assessment that the Stuart’s administration “was out of its league” having been saddled with a minister possessed only with the fine art of lying but who could not even tell difference between a decimal bull and a percentage bullfrog?

Is this ‘know-it-all’ Asstin acting as the spoke-person for Stinkliar who has disappeared, conveniently so, into the ether of political oblivion?

34. John A,

Barely Enough for Rent +Transport.

Once upon a time you could put down your car and catch the bus as a cost cutting measure.

But that was once upon a time.

35. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

Hidden in the Business Authority missed by miller, the blog mechanic, yard chickens and yard fowls was “”””two economic researchers conclude ”external economic forces”’ and not a profligate Government”” was the reason for Barbados recent years of foreign reserves declines.””””

Surely Guyanese Tarron Khemraj, Professor of Economics at New College of Florida and Darrin Downes, Chief Economist of CBB are in a trance..

It was rammed down the country’s collective throats that the Stuart Admin printed money when they felt like and pocketed most sending us up shite creek.

The authors said their paper benefited from comments by another Guyanese economist Colin Constantine and does not represent the views of CBB. In other words these are independent thinkers not lackeys and pooch lickers like the ones stinking up the underground.

The economists said they were “””skeptical, however regarding the conventional explanation of the decrease of in CBB reserves international reserves which cited the pivotal reason for the loss of foreign exchange was the direct financing of government by CBB or money printing.””””

They concluded the main reason why Barbados finds itself in a situation of acute foreign exchange shortages every ten to twelve years was the result of””””external factors.”””””.

That cant be so can it. That isn’t what Straughan, Mottley, Caddle, wild koot, nutty professor avinesh and dem tell we making we swamp Fruendel and sinkler 30-nil.

“””The proposed monetary dependence model explains that the build up of liquid assets is a signal that the government and central bank are leaning against global headwinds while trying to maintain social goals at home,””” the researchers found.

The researchers said “”””although we found evidence in favour of CBB money printing contributing to the decline in international reserves the results are much stronger in favour of the monetary dependence thesis.””””

“”””Furthermore the model of monetary dependency proposed herein is applicable beyond Barbados. The latter thesis implies external economic forces are responsible for the foreign exchange pressure in an economy on the periphery.”””

The scratch grain pelt down in the yard now is the time for the yard fowls to gather and pick.

36. @ David.

The best way I woukd explain it is it’s like a fisherman throwing a net to sell fish. If he selling by the pound the individual fish size don’t matter, it is the total weight in the net that counts.

37. Middle class are not the forgotten group, middle class forgot their role.
    The middle class used to be resourceful.
    Now they are a bunch of lazy, entitled, vapid complainers who worship false idols.

Complaint number 1. Food prices too high
    Food prices are high if you want to shop in supermarkets for everything, if you don’t cook and buy lunch everyday and if you expect to eat chicken everyday. I have no issue with the price of food because I do most of my shopping in Cheapside market. I don’t eat corn flakes or any of those empty american breakfast cereals, I eat steel cut oats, they are cheaper, more nutritious and taste better
    Real problem: Laziness and champagne taste in mauby pocket

Complaint Number 2. Gas prices too high
    Yes gas prices are high, so address consumption. How many of these complaints are from households where the husband, wife and adult children all have their own cars. I have returned to car sharing and saw immediate saving. The truth is many of the cars sit parked most of the day. The only adjustment required is better planning and willingness to “share the inconvenience”
    Real problem: Again laziness, a sense of entitlement and plain stupidity

Complaint Number 3. I can’t save any money with all these bills
    My favourite of the lot. Bills refer to necessities (light, water, gas) not credit card bills for things bought on amazon. I have never paid one red cent in credit card interest and the banks keep offering to increase my credit limit. Many who complain about bills are including maxed out credit cards that they only make the minimum payment on. I know of a family where the mother and adult children all have maxed out credit cards. The mother’s card is maxed out because she lets the children us hers after maxing out theirs.
    Real problem: Laziness, needs vs wants, worshiping false gods

when people get away from “God” and start worshiping false idols the devil (in a white dress) appears and brings misery. The misery of the middle class is punishment, deal with it.

38. @ John A
    @ Hal

Food for thought.

“ The highest growth rate in Barbados for the past two decades has been a mere two per cent and, according to an international banking official , this has to change.”

Therese Turner-Jones of the Inter- American Development Bank’s Caribbean-Country Department.
    Nation Newspaper Friday November 15th. 2019

39. Redguard,

That may be so for some. Those are not the people of whom I speak. They shop at Popular Discount and Cherish and the markets. They are not lazy. They never worked for government but are self-employed and at one point successful. Their customers now have no money. They do not have any credit cards. There is either one car or no car. They did do quite a bit of travelling but the tickets were actually paid for by savings from shopping in the country to which they traveled.

40. @ William

Barbados has been under-performing the global and regional economies since the 1960s. We have lost our way. I repeat: after the 2008 global crisis, I was interviewed on the BBC Caribbean Service with the then governor of the central bank, Marion Williams, and some guy from Trinidad, when Ms Williams said that the global crisis would not affect Barbados. I almost collapsed.
    There is a long list of these bogus claims by some of our leading economists, but who cares. Al long as they have PhDs they must be experts. There is no need for them to defend their positions. You also get it here on BU. Make a statement then duck.
    :

41. And when will the punishment start for the lazy, greedy business class?

To them the “devil in white” appears as an early Santa Claus in red.

Giveaways galore!

42. @ Hal
    I’m waiting to see how the apologists will counter that fact. Remember they were calling Arthur a genius. So as you have said repeatedly, we don’t appreciate serous argument. How can we talk about great management and growth when the economy has never grown more than two percent over the last twenty years ?

43. So far no contact made with the fact we have a public pension expense that is unknown. Embedded is pension for MPs.

44. Donna

Those who you describe are the exception

In the last decade the government took away investment deductions, RRSP deductions, home mortgage/improvement deductions, increased land taxes and VAT and barely a murmur from the middle class. The unions who are supposed to made up of the middle class sat by and did nothing. Why, because the members didn’t really value those things

But let them try to do something about the cars and you will see the true nature of the middle class.
    Let them devalue the dollar to its true value $1US to about $5 Barbados, and you will see blood in the streets. And not because the peg is important, but because flying to Miami or New York to shop will be finished.

The gains many in the middle class have made will not be passed on the next generation not because of government policy but because of the fraudulent lifestyle they have lived and encouraged their children to live.

45. All I can say is that in over fifty years on earth I have never been acquainted with so many people who speak to me of their empty food cupboards.
    Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

MIA CARES.

46. @ Redguard

You have no ounce of credibility in your above comments.

You would like to lump all local middle class in one pot to suit your Agenda.

@ Donna explanation seems much more realistic especially when added to recent comments by Caswell Franklyn who amis interacting daily with many people who are suffering based on the similar feedback.

47. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Quot homines?Tot sententiae.

What are the main issues this blog intended to ventilate?I thought it was intended to discuss the plight of the middle class during Barbados period of austerity.

48. @Redguard

Barbadians were never a demonstrative people in the mould of a Jamaican or St. Lucian for example. Added to which the middle class is a tenured people read employeed by the government or private sector. In the other islands the self employed segment is bigger.

49. We can discuss anything constructive. Are you not concern as a taxpayer or Barbadian we have a burgeoning public sector pension expense?

50. “I was interviewed on the BBC Caribbean Service with the then governor of the central bank, Marion Williams, and some guy from Trinidad, when Ms Williams said that the global crisis would not affect Barbados. I almost collapsed.”

when she said that those with knowledge knew she was the dumbest ass Barbados ever produced as a central bank governor and it would be only downhill from there all the way and i remember that was sometime in 2006-07 and beyond when IMF and Standard & Poors and every credit rating agency was practically begging both dumb governments to cut spending etc or suffer the consequences…………and that is exactly what happened, because those who came after her turned out to be even BIGGER, DUMBER ASSES.

Leave a Reply to Piece the LegendCancel reply