As part of the Year of Return and the visit of H.E, the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo to Barbados in June this year, the Prime Minister of Barbados, H.E. Mia Mottley, arrives in Ghana today for a 3-day visit.

The visit also forms part of the bilateral discussions started during the President’s visit to Barbados.

She will be in Assin Manso where a Durbar of Chiefs will be held in her honour at the forecourt of the Assin Manso Ancestral River Site.

Remains of an unknown enslaved African from Barbados brought along with the Prime Minister will be buried at the site.

This will bring to three, the number of African ancestral remains buried at the Assin Manso slave river site.

Prime Minister Mottley will also visit the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum and participate in the Damba Festival in Yendi over the weekend. Her delegation includes Foreign Affairs, protocol, and business leaders.

According to the Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Hon. Barbara Oteng Gyasi, Ghana’s tourism sector seeks to deepen its interest in the Carribean with Barbados as a key gateway.

The Coordinator of the Year of Return and CEO of the Ghana Tourism Authority, Akwasi Agyeman, says the visit highlights the importance of the Year of Return in the Global African discussion.

https://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/Remains-of-unknown-enslaved-African-to-be-buried-in-Assin-Manso-slave-river-site-799150#

Related Link:

https://ghananewsagency.org/social/barbados-prime-minister-arrives-on-three-day-visit-to-ghana-159753

298 responses to “Mia Goes To Ghana”

1. @ Piece

I have said before, whereas Stuart was grossly incompetent, the president has a wider idea of her place in history; she believes she is entitled, that she is smarter than the others, that she deserves a world stage.
    She has no interest in policy making since it involves details, which she no doubt finds boring; I would go as far as saying she is no good at it, which is why the presidential style of governing, rather than being prime ministerial is her preferred style.
    A prime minister is first among equals, note the word EQUALS, while a president just employs flunkies to do the dirty work while s/he grabs the headlines.
    How many of these decisions are made in Cabinet? Despite all this, I am surprised that intelligent, self-respecting young men and woman could willingly agree to stay in such a Cabinet being humiliated almost every day. It will end in tear.

2. There are many who find this story implausible. And with good reason. As has been mentioned by several commentators Mia did not communicate her intentions of the significance of her trip to Ghana.
    The majority of us are of
    slave ancestry. The bones of a slave been repatriated back to mother Africa is highly symbolic. Such an act required an appropriate service in Barbados commerating the memory of this displaced soul. I am afraid that Mia has desecrated our people’s history by her actions. She is offering up bones of a slave in order to facilitate economic trade with Ghana.

Mia where are your morals? Is there no limit to your ambitions? Why are you mocking your own people and their history.

3. If any one doubts that Mia is a megalomaniac
    This past two days events spells out clearly that she is a megalomaniac
    The ripping up of slave bones from a dedicated historical site reserved to be placed on barbados grounds for future generations
    Then an open agreement which will give Ghana a not so close ties to help barbados economy but a free all to help itself across Caricom nations
    What does barbados has to sell to Ghana

4. Bush Tea would often say that evil is omnipresent on the island and that it was a common trait shared by our leaders.
    It was Bush Tea, who told us to take a careful look at the Barbados flag. He stated that it was immersed in satanic symbolism.
    We are in the hands of the devil. Let us pray for the light.

5. Barbados can export it’s people to Ghana
    Dual residency is best

6. If you go to St. James’ Parish Church and walk around you will be struck by the absence of tombstones.

Go inside the Church and you will find above the pulpit this memorial to members of the Holder Family, Quakers.

https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/140908663/susannah-holder#view-photo=115254787

Not too long ago the graves at Holders Plantation (Holder’s Hill if you like) stood in the way of development and were going to be pelted one side or rather moved with the earth to please.

Someone stepped in and the contents were moved to Castle Grant.

It is my belief they were the marker of the plantation burying ground at Holders where other Quakers and slaves were buried.

With the earth, their remains were moved to please,

Only God knows where please is.

Quite apart from the fact that Quakers were often not buried in Anglican Churches by choice here is another reason why there are few gravestones in the Parish Churches in Barbados or for that matter anywhere which date back to the 17th century.

https://quakerspeak.com/how-are-quaker-cemeteries-different/

7. WURA

…so damn disrespectful is she that she never mentioned one word to the people in BARBADOS about returning African bones to Ghana, but putting on a big show in Ghana…

TLSN

The bones of a slave been repatriated back to mother Africa is highly symbolic. Such an act required an appropriate service in Barbados commerating the memory of this displaced soul.

Donna

How come I was not invited to the ceremonial exhuming? I would have bought ancestral outfits for myself and my son and we would have attended with pride.

This is November when we supposedly cut ties from colonial rule. It would have been a great event to retie us to our ancestors. Republic anyone?

If she were serious about forging links she would not have botched this one.

8. Piece the Legend Avatar

And this is why de ole man described this act with such distasteful language.

It is Desecration of A Gravesite!

“…Desecration of graves Desecration of graves is the: (1) Unauthorized opening of any place of interment, or building wherein the dead body of a human being is located, with the intent to remove or to mutilate the body or any part thereof, or any article interred or intended to be interred with the said body…”

Mugabe Amin Mottley has mutilated the body of a person whose identity is unknown for a tokenism of such a despicable nature THAT IT COMPARES TO NECROPHILIA!

she has fvucked the nations of Barbados AND KENYA while using a dead body, albeit bones!

Where is our local equivalent to this statute?

“…Defacing or desecrating grave sites.

(a) It is unlawful to willfully:
    (1) Throw, place or put any refuse, garbage or trash in or on any cemetery.
    (2) Take away, disturb, vandalize, destroy or change the location of any stone, brick, iron or other material or fence enclosing a cemetery without
    authorization of law or consent of the surviving spouse or next of kin of the deceased.
    (3) Take away, disturb, vandalize, destroy, or tamper with any shrubbery, flowers, plants or other articles planted or placed within any cemetery to designate where human remains are interred or to preserve…”

This is disturbing at so many levels but it shows for ALL WUNNA BAJANS TO SEE FINALLY what de ole man has been shouting out to wunna for years now!

Mottley IS A DESPOT AND SHE HAS NO FVUCKING LIMITATION IN WHAT SHE IS PREPARED TO DO to stay as prime minister!

Perhaps now, wunna starting to see that THE PROPHECY THAT THE OLD MAN HAS MADE that she is a one term government WILL COME TO PASS!

No matter what she does with the ballots

This is why de ole man been begging de Third Party Movement to get serious a out its Act AND PURSUE DELIVERABLES by which the electorate WILL MEASURE YOU!

9. Disgraceful ..disgusting ..disrespectful..and repulsive all words to described Mia actions in the past two days
    The voices of those lying in the grave who knew her best now rings true in the chants of “I told u so”

10. I have followed the comments of the bloggers with a great deal of interest .

Whilst I will not go as far as some, the removal and transportation of bones across the Atlantic without informing the nation and without a ceremony smacks of a any means necessary desperation to do business.

History and the symbolism play second fiddle to the machinations of the mind of Mugabe.

11. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man expects that this blog will soon be closed because, INSTEAD OF HIGHLIGHTING THE SALVATION OF BARBADOS, it spotlighted the deviousness of Mugabe Mottley

So intent is she on making an ENTRY that she would desecrate the memories of the ASSIN MANSO SLAVE RIVER SITE!

Mia, this is one that your global reputation WILL NEVER GET OVER!

DE OLE MAN & ME GRANDSON GINE SEE TO DAT!

You steal what is mine yes? watch muh now!!!

12. 555dubstreetNovember 17, 2019 8:03 AM

Barbados can export it’s people to Ghana

xxxxxxxcccccccccvcvvvcvv

Really this govt in 18mths has shown it has no confidence in its people
    First with bringing White Oaks and boldly stating that there is no economic guru within small island nations who hl can handle the job of restructing barbados economy
    Now Mia goes to Ghana a place outside the region and having cultural differences looking for professionals
    After Mia has singlehandedly served up such a disservice to the people of these small island nations with a no confidence vote handed to the people of barbados which with all intents and purpose has sent a negative message to other countries
    Why would Ghana accept barbadians as a trade off to doing business with barbados
    Yuh gotta be nuts

13. @ John November 17, 2019 8:07 AM
    “It is my belief they were the marker of the plantation burying ground at Holders where other Quakers and slaves were buried.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So what are you implying here, Dear Dir John?

By stating that Quakers (the majority of slave owners in early Barbados) were buried along with their slaves in the same plots of land like the pharaohs of old are you insinuating that there is 50% chance the bones taken to Ghana were those of a slave owner from England instead of those a slave captured and shipped from the Gold Coast in the 17th or 18th Century?

Should those bones turn out to be those of a long-dead Quaker what an embarrassment that would be on the Karmic wheel of disgrace!

Along with its reputation as the model slave society according to Willie Lynch’s specifications, Barbados would also become infamous as the country which has created the fourth nastily embarrassing angle in that profitably famous Trans-Atlantic Triangular Trade.

Now here is an ole nig**er spiritual ditty which both you and Dr.GP can connect to:

“Ezekiel connected dem dry bones,
    • Ezekiel connected dem dry bones,
    • Ezekiel in the Valley of Dry Bones,
    • Now hear the word of the Lord.

• Toe bone connected to the foot bone
    • Foot bone connected to the heel bone
    • Heel bone connected to the ankle bone
    • Ankle bone connected to the shin bone
    • Shin bone connected to the knee bone
    • Knee bone connected to the thigh bone
    • Thigh bone connected to the hip bone
    • Hip bone connected to the back bone
    • Back bone connected to the shoulder bone
    • Shoulder bone connected to the neck bone
    • Neck bone connected to the head bone
    • Now hear the word of the Lord.”

14. Click image to learn a little more about the trip to Ghana

Note the MD of Republic Bank is based in Ghana. Directed at the former journalist who abhors google but instead loves to run his mouth without cause.

15. @ the Sage Annunaki

You date yourself by your knowledge of AND ABILITY TO REPEAT that limmerick.

But let me continue, if I may on a salient point you made about these bones.

I will use an internet quote for this comment which deals with falsifying items of antiquity

“…The reasons for perpetrating hoaxes and forgeries range as widely as the kinds of fakes. Common motives for making bogus artifacts include publicity and self-promotion, monetary gain, practical jokes, and revenge, but some fakers have had the goal of supporting their own theories about the human past. Fakes have often been inspired by nationalism, with patriotic perpetrators boosting their country through spurious links to past civilizations.

People are taken in by hoaxes and fakes for many reasons.

Successful bogus artifacts often match expectations or preconceived ideas of antiquities.

Spectacular fakes have worked because those who buy them are blinded by their own pride of ownership–and the higher the price tag, the harder it is to make an embarrassing admission that it’s a fake…”

Given the stealth with which this operation was conducted DO YOU THINK THAT MUGABE WILL BE ABLE TO COVER THIS FALSITY under a similar veil?

Dis article deserves AND WILL GET its own Stoopid Cartoon series!

Mugabe Amin Mottley rewriting history in trufe!!

“We wrote our names on history’s page with FALSIFICATIONS GREAT,
    Crafting lies about our heritage.
    While destroying the Ghana state…”

🎼🎵🎶 sung to the Barbados National Anthem.

16. Cant believe that David and the rest of the Koolaid drinkers would think that all of barbados would accept this mind blowing news of Mia digging up the remains of slaves and transporting their remains in the dead of night across the waters to Ghana
    But then again Mia made a secret trip to the QEH all unannounced until her PR spokesperson gave reason

17. On emancipation day the gathering at the Bussa statue hardly numbers 30, yet the fake outrage. Many of you criticized the establishment of the Pan African Commission, yet fake outrage.

18. How do you know I am not one of the thirty? ( I was not though.) And I never criticized the establishment of the Pan African Commission.

But here is a thing though. If we don’t attend the lame and ineffective gathering at the Bussa Statue commemorating the incomplete emancipation we have no right to complain about not being invited to the forward looking reuniting with our ancestors?

It is time we stop looking back and celebrating the emancipation of the body and look forward to the liberation of the mind and spirit.

This would have been a great symbolic start.

But Miller’s DNA testing idea would serve to forge the bond much more quickly.

19. To be clear – one ceremony is looking backwards and does nothing to move us forward. The other would point us in the right direction.

20. Question
    Why did Mottley have to resort and removed a preserved part of barbados History to appease or bridge a gap between Ghana and barbados
    If Mia only interest was for trade between barbados and Ghana ..her interest to take a huge part of barbados history to Ghana smacks of a political gimmicks

21. David
    November 17, 2019 10:39 AM

On emancipation day the gathering at the Bussa statue hardly numbers 30, yet the fake outrage. Many of you criticized the establishment of the Pan African Commission, yet fake outrage.

Barbadian slaves were being given their freedom from the 1650’s.

Quakers at it again!!

By the time 1833/4 rolled around emancipation while important, was not a big deal.

You can actually see the effect in the different bahaviours of “black” Barbadians today.

I have an ancestor who was freed c. 1802 but by 1817 was owning slaves.

If you go and check the genealogy of “upper” class “black” Bajan families you will likely find an ancestor freed well before emancipation and the need for a family and family strategies of survival.

They were no longer provided with food. lodging, clothing and medical attention.

Those families got the advantage of having to adapt to freedom long before most Bajans did.

They had a head start if you like.

King Dyal for example came, I believe, from a family that was freed early.

I can find Dyal’s described as free from the 1700’s.

He was an extreme.

Trevor Marshall calls him racist because he refers to the young “black” boys who chose to torment him as “black cattle”.

I think what he was telling them was way above their paygrade.

What you will find within that “black” “upper” class are also those who lost the plot … just like you will find within the “clearer” classes those who should really know better!!

Both sets lost the ability to lead and became part of the herd.

22. @John

Do not recall spotting you at any of the gatherings either.

23. Is anyone keeping a record of the prime minister’s travel, and the reasons for her travels? Is there a record of the number of people in her parties, who they are, and who pays for their travel and accommodation? Is anyone collating her speeches on these overseas visits and costing any promises made?
    Why does Barbados want to have its own high commission in Ghana and a joint CARICOM one would be better and more productive?(Quote)

Did anybody find it interesting to see the head of Republic Bank invited to make a presentation at one of the functions in Ghana? Also interesting to see the CEO of Invest Barbados in the party, she is the sister of the Bajan IMF official Kevin Greenidge..(Quote)

24. Note the MD of Republic Bank is based in Ghana. Directed at the former journalist who abhors google but instead loves to run his mouth without cause.(Quote)

25. @ Donna November 17, 2019 11:03 AM
    “It is time we stop looking back and celebrating the emancipation of the body and look forward to the liberation of the mind and spirit.
    This would have been a great symbolic start.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

An excellent call there, Donna!

Emancipation of the mind of the black Bajan is the sine qua non before any real cultural and economic enfranchisement can take place.

If black Bajans cannot even look the white man in the eyes while interacting with him on a daily basis, how on the Mother Africa’s earth can they be expected to feel a sense of confidence and pride in any interactions with their ancestral brothers and sisters whom are currently viewed by black Bajans as ‘beneath them’ in the sight of the white man’s image of God?

Scientific proof (not through the Adam& Eve fable) of their anthropological origins through a national programme of DNA testing would act as the real cultural catharsis needed among the vast majority of black Bajans who for all ‘slave-minded’ intents and religiously-brainwashed purposes hate themselves for being of African ancestry.

Just look at the vast quantity of mock hair regaled on their heads when God has provided them with the perfect crown of ‘nappy’ curls (along with their extra share of melanin) to insulate their skulls and skins from His ‘burning’ rays while they walk the fields and mountains of black Mother Earth (Pachamama) from whose womb all mankind has evolved.

26. “how on the Mother Africa’s earth can they be expected to feel a sense of confidence and pride in any interactions with their ancestral brothers and sisters whom are currently viewed by black Bajans as ‘beneath them’ in the sight of the white man’s image of God?”

First step…get rid of the fraudulent, pretensive, colonilally brainwashed leaders aka negro governments…. that even UK is ashamed of now given all the exposures of the criminal monsters they have all become since independence 1966..

……it’s tough when ya OWN vile creations are even more evil than you..can TIEF MORE, KILL MORE and get away with those crimes right in front ya face……

Nothing can move forward until this scum is removed from the people funded spaces..eg parliament etc……..ya got rid of DLP…now get rid of BLP…free the people from these evil demons..

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, thanks for your blunt honesty. I believe that reasonable people can fully appreciate the Mottley GRANDSTANDING …it was described by you above quite well per: “…Common motives for making bogus artifacts include publicity and self-promotion […and] the goal of supporting their own theories about the human past.” …… This episode appears to focus on those aspects.

I am AMAZED to understand that there was NO skeletal date verification/some form of DNA validation or NO suitable event with local historians …. and when one considers this reciprocal visit was more than 1 year in its planning it certainly gives you EVERY reason to condemn this seemingly hasty act as “… akin to whoredom…”

So….surely the narrative you expose re …“[s]he insults the bones of our ancestors” is valid.

However, the other narrative @Pieces is that the meglomaniac that is this PM appreciated the profound scope of such an ancestral “reinterment” in reestablishing a bridge of relations with Ghana and beyond in Africa.

You are absolutely right that MAM (like Trump or Erdoğan or Putin or Johnson as examples) have deeply rooted personality flaws which likely will never be ameliorated … however it does NOT mean that individual acts (despite being badly handled) cannot accrue significant benefit to the nation she (they) govern!

Prosecute her boldly sir as she can be villainous but don’t lets spite our face by slicing our nose!

****@The Blogmaster, interesting perspectives re “On emancipation day the gathering at the Bussa statue hardly numbers 30, yet the fake outrage….”

Why do you see the valid condemnation of a hastily done unearthing of ancestral remains, their preparation and transportation over thousands of miles as “yet fake outrage” compared to those who annually support the Bursa tribute! Respectfully bro but that’s flawed reasoning

…. If you take that 30 something (or a similarly very interested number) and place their voice on BU you could easily generate 3X comments of what we have so far….. so I don’t see how the well formed critiques of HOW the PM went about this adventure is “fake outrage”.

I disagree with the synocophantic BS political comments from some sources and the ‘I hate everything this crook does’ from colleague @Pieces but alas I DO agree with him that she is crooked …. I simply also believe that she can still do very practical things that benefit us all DESPITE whatever is her personal motivations … nothing fake about his criticisms, however!

28. Bajans/Caribbean African descended will have to indiviually reconnect with Africa…they do not need any colonial negro governments in the Caribbean to do so…spiritually, it has to be done one on one…

29. “TLSN

The bones of a slave been repatriated back to mother Africa is highly symbolic. Such an act required an appropriate service in Barbados commerating the memory of this displaced soul.”

These call themselves intelligent, but still can’t prove it.

I remmeber there was a slave burial ground in the heart of Manhattan, the federal government removed the bones claiming they were testing. Years later a ceremony was held because those bones should not have been removed wily nilly like Mia is doing to put on her show…

The bones had to eventually be returned to the spot…Mia don’t even know who bones she took out of the island with her secrecy and disrespect.

“NEW YORK – A memorial of granite, stone and water was dedicated Friday at a burial ground where hundreds of slaves and other blacks were interred two centuries ago then forgotten as lower Manhattan expanded above their remains.

The ceremony featuring the singing of spirituals and a spoken word piece by actor Avery Brooks came more than 16 years after the African Burial Ground was rediscovered.

“The tragedy was that for so many years, for centuries, people passing by this site did not know about the sacrifices they had made,” said Rodney Leon, designer of the memorial. “Now we have an opportunity to right some of the wrongs of the past.”

The entryway to the memorial is called “The Door of Return” — in contrast with the door of no return, the name once given to the departure points where slaves were shipped from Africa to North America.

Alongside the 20-foot-high chamber of gray stone sits a circular court, with a map inscribed into the center. The space has seven grassy mounds marking where some of the disinterred bones were reburied four years ago”

30. You do know that black colonial governments do not care one rat’s ass about our enslaved ancestors, what they experienced or their bones…, these are:

the same negros who REFUSE to have adequate African history taught in the schools..

who refuse to educate the majority Black population about Africa or their past..

Who kept the colonial brainwash ALIVE for the last 60 plus years…

who allow any riffraff to steal from their people..

…who allowed 3 generations of black youth to not know who they are, where they came from, or the powers and wealth that are their birthright….AS AFRICAN DESCENDED…

who joined with the stinking minorities, tiefing Cow, Bizzy et al to tell the majority black population that they are still slaves and minorities on the island…yes…their bribers are allowed to mislead the taxpaying majority….that is what both colonial negro governments enable…so they can get their bribes without any hassle…..

So what does anyone need these useless colonial minded negro leaders for, ah won’t even want any of them cleaning my toilet.

31. @ John November 17, 2019 11:14 AM
    “Barbadian slaves were being given their freedom from the 1650’s.
    Quakers at it again!!”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If that were the case, the then Head Quaker George Fox would not have been so caustically critical of the keeping of slaves in Barbados since the vast majority of slave owners were at that time of the pretend Quaker persuasion.

The man was almost tarred and feathered and treated like a later Clement Payne for speaking the truth about the wickedly evil state of chattel slavery in Barbados.

Now John, which came first on the Quakers’ priority list of sins?
    The keeping of ‘inferior’ beings from the belly of dark pagan Africa as ‘slaves’ or the making of profit from sugarcane cultivated and processed by the same slave labour?

If Quakers in ‘Barbadoes’ were that anti-slavery why did they not manumit the blacks and employ them on a wage equivalent to what prevailed in Leicestershire of the 17th & 18th centuries?

32. If Quakers in ‘Barbadoes’ were that anti-+slavery why did they not manumit the blacks and employ them on a wage equivalent to what prevailed in Leicestershire of the 17th & 18th centuries?

The few slaves who were freed in wills and deeds going back to the 1600’s I believe became Christians.

They heard the Word and responded.

No one can force anyone to become a Christian and no one can play at being a Christian.

If anything what you are saying demonstrates the reluctance of many of the early slaves to become Christian.

By the time the Anglicans, Methodists and Moravians came along with a set program to follow to become a member of their Church, enough generations had passed to make becoming a Christian more palatable to slaves.

Quakers did not believe in any sort of baptism, Anglicans. Methodists and Moravians did.

Adults became “convinced” when presented by the “Truth”.

So for example, Mary Fisher went to Constantinople to “convince” the sultan of the “Truth”.

After she returned to England she wrote “Now returned into England… have I borne my testimony for the Lord before the king unto whom I was sent, and he was very noble unto me and so were all that were about him… they do dread the name of God, many of them… There is a royal seed amongst them which in time God will raise. They are more near Truth than many nations; there is a love begot in me towards them which is endless, but this is my hope concerning them, that he who hath raised me to love them more than many others will also raise his seed in them unto which my love is. Nevertheless, though they be called Turks, the seed of them is near unto God, and their kindness hath in some measure been shown towards his servants.”

John Perot went to Rome to “convince” the Pope.

Needless to say the sultan and the Pope demurred as did I believe most slaves.

But you can see the process in the case of the first two examples.

33. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

For clarity sake and if I may use the phrasing of the doc GP the @Waru post of 12:20 PM is a non sequitur … in other terms its just a completely illogical comparison.

1.The remark by TLSN that “[t]he bones of a slave been repatriated back to mother Africa is highly symbolic. Such an act required an appropriate service in Barbados commerating the memory of this displaced soul” is validly made.

2.However that has NOTHING to do with the NY scenario.

3.What we know (or don’t) about this disinterment is very little but we are NOT dealing with the wholescale desecration (removal of remains to erect new buildings) of a large burial site which WAS the NY case.

4.This is the removal of two deceased ‘slaves’ (de facto under official seal of a national governing authority) and the remains are being REBURIED at a HALLOWED specifically designed burial ceremonial site back in their ancesteal home.

5.That is hardly the context of desecration. It may be poorly handled; crass, selfish political maneuvering even but it’s illogical to compare two remains removed to a HALLOWED burial site to the unearthing of a long forgotten burial site during an excavation and the subsequent creation of a suitable memorial at the site to honour those buried there.

6.The NY situation is COMPLETELY different. In short, that location in Manhattan was in fact an EXTENSIVE graveyard of THOUSANDS on African descendants…the building contractors apparently expected to find some remains but had planned to disinter and reinter respectfully to another grave site…BUT the graveyard was significantly more extensive than they expected. This led to protracted negotiations over many years and resulted in the burial memorial being incorporated into a redesigned buildings/site.

7.How does any of that equate to our local situation beyond the simple common fact that remains were disinterred???

8.As i understand it the Ghanian burial site was created to honour the deceaed slaves who left from that point to their dreadful future; it’s not an original gravesite but is yet comparable as a special memorium to honour the memory of African decendants to the NYC site.

8.Lets get our facts clear, please!

34. David
    November 17, 2019 11:26 AM

Do not recall spotting you at any of the gatherings either

++++++++++++++++++++++

Haven’t been down Cattlewash for a while!!!

I did pass by on my way to St. Lucy last Sunday but it was dead as a door nail so just kept driving.

Did not even see you.

Hate to see the mess that is being made of the land so busying myself up my side.

Refreshing however to see it so green.

35. Pedant…trust you to miss the point and make mince meat out..of shite…

It is clear the INTENT….was to show that there should have been A CERAMONY BEFORE THE REMIANS…AFTER BEING DNA TESTED, WERE REMOVED….am sure veryone else understood, except you…steuppppss…Tonto.

The same Ghana has a DNA DATABASE..to match the remains…let’s hope they do…

36. Forgive the spelling, had one too many. Water is cold.lol

37. @ John November 17, 2019 1:19 PM
    “The few slaves who were freed in wills and deeds going back to the 1600’s I believe became Christians.
    They heard the Word and responded.
    No one can force anyone to become a Christian and no one can play at being a Christian.
    If anything what you are saying demonstrates the reluctance of many of the early slaves to become Christian.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Bakra Johnny ma boy, what are you trying to argue here?

Are you saying that the black slaves could have secured their freedom like their white indentured labour counterparts by merely accepting the Word of the Quaker god and become a ‘Christian plantation’ labourer?

Even the Bajan equivalent of Uncle Tom our own Dr. GP would find that hard to swallow.

Come on, John, and be a real supremacist man! Why notj ust admit that slavery ended in Barbados and in the West Indies because of economics and not religion. The industrial revolution did in slavery in the West Indies; not preaching hypocrites hiding behind the cloak of Quakerism in their secret meeting rooms.

38. lawd me god.

Piece…they really TIEF ONE TOO MANY IDEAS…Natalie Crtichlow is still talking from the grave, a big able letter is being read out…wuhloss.

ah want them to know that lightning can indeed STRIKE THE SAME PLACE TWICE.

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1169177483291789/?t=0

39. STOLEN STOLEN STOLEN

THIEVES THIEVES THIEVES

The PROOF is in the letter being read out above…and proof in London, and proof in New York..

These colonial created CROOKS dont have an original idea in their EMPTY HEADS…they gotta TIEF EVERYTHING.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1169063823303155&id=100005986451739

“Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has revealed that next August, Barbados would be hosting an African Awareness Festival.

“The Cabinet has been very reflective of the importance of what we have been doing in building out and claiming our Atlantic destiny…and our government is firmly committed to having a physical presence in Africa, and in addition our government feels that we need to be able to define the month of August as that month in which we celebrate our Africanness, our heritage as children of Africa,” Mottley said.”

40. Ah want to hear how they are going to EXPLAIN…the government’s FAILED ATTEMPT at a COVERUP in the Natalie Crtichlow’s death…when ASKED….

….yo that’s right…

……running out all hot and sweaty with Dale Whistleblower, big sweaty press conference…, dragging out the COP to make the man look like a fool….well, well, well…did yall tell him what yall did…ah hope he knows he will have to watch his ass….cause there is always a CHARGE CALLED CONSPIRACY…

41. BTW…this is called a progressive, visionary, FORWARD THINKING GOVERNMENT…which does not apply to small islands shitehound governments looking for the next ponzi scheme while criminalizing and robbing their own people….ALL AT THE SAME TIME…

FAILURES…

https://www.forbes.com/sites/sarabrittanysomerset/2019/11/17/thailand-will-allow-its-citizens-to-grow-cannabis-at-home-to-sell-to-the-government/?fbclid=IwAR0l33kLXPD-m1spsEAWG5E4BRlHSFXzhve3cRuKoR4gwGGD77oV9HgOhwc

“Thailand is ramping up medical marijuana legalization efforts that will soon allow all Thais to cultivate six cannabis plants in their homes and sell their home-grown harvest to the government, to turn into medical marijuana.

“We are in the process of changing laws to allow the medical use of marijuana freely,” said recently-appointed Health Minister Anutin Charnvirakul, in Bangkok on Wednesday. “We have high confidence that marijuana will be among the major agricultural products for Thai households. We are speeding up the law changes. But there is a process to it.”

42. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man pass me feelings by a feller “IN THE SANCTUM SANCTORUM”

It is always good to have an ear in the camp of the enemy.

He shared 3 things

1.Planning dis Door of No Return thing had its genesis from a specific source dat Mugabe is using. He shared some more things but suggested dat de ole man not expose dem cause it going implicate people AND HE DON’T WANT TO LOSE HE PICK!

2.when they came down to planning the scam (and it is a scam) the issue of performing the exhumation here was discussed but it was decided (euphemism for Mugabe decided) that “to announce the exhumation locally would have attracted too much negative publicity, so de Dictator pulled rank

3.an interesting thing occurred regarding the matter of the ashes.

De ole man nearly dead when he said it.

He said, “looka if Akufo Addo get suspicious and examine dem ashes, he may find out that this “unknown slave” is one of Barbados’ black belly sheep!”

Man de ole man laugh so bad, if I was wearing Depends, I would piss my Depends!!!

But I ent giving Adufo Addo no message

43. @ WURA

This is the exact point that progressive thinkers are making. Allow ordinary citizens to cultivate marijuana and decriminalize the plant. This medical marijuana bill is just another way to make money for the big boys and to ensure that the status quo benefits.

44. While watching the video of the ceremony a thought came to mind to wonder if the slave was male or female and if the slave might have had siblings or family members buried in the same grave from which the bones was taken
    There are so many earth shattering questions that needs to be asked that makes this transfer look like mockery

45. Are you saying that the black slaves could have secured their freedom like their white indentured labour counterparts by merely accepting the Word of the Quaker god and become a ‘Christian plantation’ labourer?

The problem is in the reading … not many slaves could read.

Then there is the issue of language.

46. Indentured servants spoke English and were probably already Christian.

47. Education, education education.

That’s the huge contribution the Anglican, Methodist and Moravian churches made to Barbados.

It isn’t measurable.

Leave a Reply to Piece the LegendCancel reply