As part of the Year of Return and the visit of H.E, the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo to Barbados in June this year, the Prime Minister of Barbados, H.E. Mia Mottley, arrives in Ghana today for a 3-day visit.

The visit also forms part of the bilateral discussions started during the President’s visit to Barbados.

She will be in Assin Manso where a Durbar of Chiefs will be held in her honour at the forecourt of the Assin Manso Ancestral River Site.

Remains of an unknown enslaved African from Barbados brought along with the Prime Minister will be buried at the site.

This will bring to three, the number of African ancestral remains buried at the Assin Manso slave river site.

Prime Minister Mottley will also visit the Kwame Nkrumah Mausoleum and participate in the Damba Festival in Yendi over the weekend. Her delegation includes Foreign Affairs, protocol, and business leaders.

According to the Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Hon. Barbara Oteng Gyasi, Ghana’s tourism sector seeks to deepen its interest in the Carribean with Barbados as a key gateway.

The Coordinator of the Year of Return and CEO of the Ghana Tourism Authority, Akwasi Agyeman, says the visit highlights the importance of the Year of Return in the Global African discussion.

https://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/NewsArchive/Remains-of-unknown-enslaved-African-to-be-buried-in-Assin-Manso-slave-river-site-799150#

Related Link:

https://ghananewsagency.org/social/barbados-prime-minister-arrives-on-three-day-visit-to-ghana-159753

298 responses to “Mia Goes To Ghana”

1. TALK TALK TALK.

I see a blessing in disguise for the development of solar power.

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Hal Austin

Hal, earlier you had said and I quote

“…What we need s a cultural policy, not a manufactured one such as Crop Over, but a recognition of our cultural past, especially in a fast-changing world in which all cultures are now American…”

Few of our negotiations brothers and sisters understand what “recognition of our cultural past means”

Soon Mugabe Mottley is going to launch another manufactured part of this Slave History past but IT TOO WILL BE SHOWN TO BE STOLEN FROM ***

The key thing that scum like Mugabe CANNOT, AND WILL NEVER, UNDERSTAND IS THAT, YOU CANNOT STEAL A CONCEPT AND THEN SEEK TO CREATE A VIABLE SACRED IMAGE THAT WOULK BE CONSISTENT WITH THE ETHICS AND MORALS FOR AN OUTREACH TO HONOUR AND PROMOTE OUR BLACK IDENTITY!

Let me brek it down for you Hal

What if Mary and Joseph HAD STOLEN JESUS THE CHRIST?

Upon what principle would the Church be built IF THIS CENTRAL PILLAR HAD 2 BABY KIDNAPPERS?

The simplicity of that issue is lost on Mugabe who has founded her African Outreach to Ghana ON LIES and the irreverent manufacture of the bones of a Black Belly Sheep!

De ole man says black belly sheep CAN YOU GAINSAY THIS ASSERTION?

Not a fellow can Hal, and why not? Because Mugabe done it all in the dead of night and not a bajan knew bout it till we see de video!

Are you starting to understand my point here?

The memories of slaves who suffered at the hands of wicked slave owners with HAVE BEEN BASTARDIZED BY THE DESECRATION OF THEIR GRAVES BY Mugabe

And for what reason Hal?

Mugabe has no badword records to link these bones to Ghana IT COULD AS WELL BE THE BONES OF A BLACK BELLY SHEEP!

She has started this matter by embarrassing our nation and disturbing the rest of interred slaves to convey a lie.

IT WAS NOT BEGUN RIGHT AND IT WILL END WRONG!!!

3. “There is only one company permitted to import oil into the country”

decades of governemnt collusion/enabling greedy companies to be a monopoly and suck up everything on the island, giving no one else a chance to do business has finally returned to bite BLP/DLP government in the ass…good..

neither government liked fairplay, neither government ever wanted to see their own people with oil companies, banks, stores, nothing, trapping the people into financial dependency so they can collect their bribes while sitting in parliament or in their law offices…

..ya stagnaed your own people for decades…now take that…it’s called KARMA…you running blights.

4. “She has started this matter by embarrassing our nation and disturbing the rest of interred slaves to convey a lie.”

don’t know how she thinks it will end, but i will say this NOW….it CANNOT end will.

5. 🙂 I don’t miss him, but with 254 comments that old fool Lorenzo should have appeared by now….
    I hope he did not let others convince him to give up his bones for the party…
    Worse than a black belly sheep, yardfowl bones to Ghana 🙂

Have a great day Barbados. Hope I gave you a smile.

6. BNOCL is government owned
    what foolishness you talking?

7. Speaking about hijacked topics a major job has been allowed on this blog WITHOUT ANY WARNINGS BEING ISSUES!

One will not ask why that is but, in and effort to refocus all eyes to Ghana, here is a little item for continuing the discussion

http://imgur.com/gallery/sw1lfnv

8. Simple Simon managed to convince Lorenzo that he was doing a better job for the DLP and so he is exercising his bird brain to the max to restrain his yard fowl instincts.

We shall see how long the cock can conquer his political animal instincts to tear at the throat of all opposition. Not that he ever drew one drop of blood. All he could manage was cockadoodledoos.

9. Donna the pea brain and the jackass theophilus unlike both of you my life is not locked into BU. I do not have to comment on EVERY TOPIC on BU as the recent so call experts have to but who were quiet like church mouses before may 2018.I work for a living and i comment on what i wish to, have a great day jackass gazzerts and likewise Donna i gone.

10. 🙂 Good to see you 🙂
    Bye

11. Piece the Legend Avatar

I could have told wunna dat as soon as Commander Theophillus Gazerts turned up, the 2nd of the Rented Jackasses Hee Haw was going to surface

Mugabe give dem orders cause dem sort of Stoopid as you suggested Donna.

Stoopid but blindly faithful or in other words A Poochlicker Extraordinaire

12. Well, that was easy! 😜

13. We Gatherin 2020 ( copy cats ? )

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

You Brother Hants is a next man who going get Banned from Barbados Underground

Between SEXCITING de people with Blue Box Cart and Fleur East and Glennis you now exciting the people with sedition video showing where the theft of this idea originated!!!

De ole man would tell wunna to traverse further afield that dis shy$e island Dictator to the north where the concept was born in part but den wunna would truly comprehend how reprehensible this Mia Mottley is.

WHEN YOU READ THE PATTERNS OF (1) ROSS UNIVERSITY that ManyPussy as Stoopid as she is, has said, and (2) this total adoption of the DLP idea of the Hyatt idea and (3) dis door of return ting WITH THESE FALSIFIED BONES and wunna do wunna research AND SEE WHO IDEA UM IS, all unna going see how Mugabe is REALLY NUFFIN BUT A TWO BIT TEIF!!

Slowly but surely wunna starting to see where THE FALSIFICATION OF THE BONES IDEA CAME FROM and how de Ambassador get fired

You can hid and buy land but you cant hide and wuk um

15. Piece the Legend Avatar

For 99% of the mostly black population of Barbados the Bach to Africa ting does not even register.

And of those de ole man would say this Ghana activity is an effing joke.

Now here is why I know it’s a rass**le joke.

Tell me whose words dese is

“…the Slavery Abolition Act (1833) – which required the payment of £20 million to the slave owners in compensation for loss of ‘property’, but which required that the slaves themselves serve out an unpaid, six-year apprenticeship (as further defrayment of their owners’ losses) – was ‘one of the most racist pieces of legislation ever formulated in the British parliament’.

Not only were the slaves left homeless and uncompensated for their suffering, but they were forced – in effect – to purchase their own freedom from a group (and within a wider society) that they had helped make rich….”

Now answer up now, no slaggers

Sir Hilary Beckles!!!

One would think that, WITH AN OUTREACH OF THIS DEPTH AND IMPORT, that the foremost authority on Black Reparations WOULD HAVE BEEN DEAH, IN RH GHANA, and would have commented of these falsified black belly sheep bones

Wunna feel people Stoopid

16. Citizenship for sale ?

” A two-stage route to merit-based citizenship through permanent residence will be available to people who “who have highly desirable employment skills, who are willing to open a business, or who have substantial capital, money, willing to invest significantly in our economy and hence providing much needed employment to Barbadians”.

17. Piece the Legend Avatar

A with the swirl of a pen here come 20,000 IMAGINARY names being appended to the voter list of BARBADOS

And Reverend Atherley purported plant of Mia Mugabe Mottley HAS SAID NOR IS SAYING ANYTHING!!!

You see how this shy$e playing out Brother Hants?

Mugabe setting up the matrix to be President for Life or DICTATOR AD INFINITUM, were there not a Divine Creator

18. Piece instead of worrying about Ms Mottley, s plan perhaps you can enlighten us of eenie,s plan going forward to win thes 18 toilet bowl seats in 2023 if he has one to even win his.As Bush tea would say oh ma shirt looka this jackasd for ma.No conspiracy theory ain,t cutting it.

19. Interested ?

20. Opportunity ?

21. After Ghana 2019 , We gatherin 2020 Barbados

22. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Brother Hants

…After Ghana 2019 , We gatherin 2020 Barbados AND THEN WE VOTING BARBADOS 2021!

FOR THE VERY LAST TIME before the gavel falls on Mugabe Republic AND PRESIDENT FOR LIFE!!

Unless Reverend Atherley stands up and the PdP gets moving

23. The 100 or so Ghana nurses recruited to come to Barbados next Jan. will be in for a rude awakening when they see the overburdening working conditions at the QEH
    Time and time again this govt has proven that they policies are akin to throwing new wine in old bottles
    The socio-economic conditions of barbados is in dire need of repair
    Like the BL&p and the BWA and the Sewer system which have all failed
    Govt still insist on blowing smoke in the people faces under a foolish disguise of “good governance”
    Another four years of this repetitive nonsense driven by untimely measures and gadawful policies barbadians can expect more poverty more crime and more suffering

##########watchmenow

24. Twice you have posted this comment. Why not take some time to research the issue with nurses in Ghana. A hint is that they are not well paid along with other issues.

25. Just like Mia brought contaminated fuel into barbados to ran the energy system and it back fired
    The same shi..t gonna happen when the nurses get to work in a worsening Health enviroment at the QEH
    Be prepared for a clash of Titanics when both cultures refused to work with each other and walk outs become inevitable

26. Mia is playing a dangerous game of cat and mouse with bajans emotions whose nerves are already stressed to the limit

27. @ Mariposa

It will end in tears.

28. Where is in stated officially contaminated fuel was brought to Barbados?

29. David u might want to ignore what the official of BL& P said but he is an engineer which u Mia or the and all the govt ministers are not
    Now go rest yuhself and try not to convince me that the bad oil did not have a negative effect in the energy meltdown
    Any how i would be first to remind u when more shit hit the QEH fan because of Mia hot and sweaty policies

30. The discussion is that the fuel was not delivered based on BL&P specs. Have you heard differently?

31. Wunnah worried about Ghana?

https://www.cbc.ca/player/play/1648955971926

32. @Sargeant

Just last week the blogmaster invited comment on the China blog below on the issuebyiu have raised.

33. David Google specs then wheel and come again

34. Every time your partisan positions are challenged you rebut with a silly remark. Like Professor Michael Howard resounded, you are swimming in deep waters without a life vest.

Spot on!

35. Salary of nurses in Ghana: Nurse rankings, salaries, and allowances by Zindzy Gracia In the past, nursing was a lucrative career but currently, being a nurse in Ghana has become a challenge. Over the past years, nursing have been striking because of poor pay and the government has a banned nurses from seeking job opportunities abroad. With this kind of attention, we cannot help but wonder, what is the salary of nurses in Ghana? Read more: https://yen.com.gh/108585-salary-nurses-ghana-nurse-rankings-salaries-allowances-2019.html

36. David your rebuttal speaks more to your incessant behaviour for govt
    Maybe before u open your mouth and schooled me about partisan u should look at yourself first
    The fact remains whether or not govt tried to dismiss the fuel as contaminated BNOCL s stated that they bought cheaper fuel did not match the required grade for BL&P generators and went further in their utterances to say that the generators were intolerant
    and not compatible for the fuel
    Now i asked u who gave permission for BNOCL to purchase the low grade fuel not graded specifically for the use in the generators
    Who signed the agreement for the purchase of fuel from Jamaica

37. @ the 2nd of the Rented Jackasses

You have twice been summoned from the bowels of the hell you live in, sucking on the bowels of Mugabe

And you come as per your instructions, loyal poocklickers that you are.

Interestingly, I have twice submitted an answer to you here to your colleague the Honourable Blogmaster who has REFUSED TO PUBLISH IT.

Mostly because “it” my answer WILL RESULT IN THE 18 SEATS and he has his instructions NOT TO ENABLE THAT?

Notice how the Barbados Underground blog has been dumbed down to inconsequential issues like 3 items about water, 5 items bout light and electricity 7 items bout buses, 14 new religious articles OF WHICH ONLY THE DR. GP ARTICLE HAS ANY VALUE and 13 are for Iso TALIBAN

You get my drift?

38. Back to the substantive topic though

Again “let me go north, to come south”

I am an avowed black consciousness denizen who will live and die with certain beliefs foremost among which lies in the Castle of my Skin.

“…The developments in New York City (Harrington 1993), however, have demonstrated that contract archaeologists are required to deal with such remains, and that a solid understanding of the historical and anthropological aspects of African-
    American mortuary practices is necessary before interpreting them.

Funerals in plantation slavery contexts in particular appear to have afforded African Americans an opportunity to develop African-American cultural practices in the New World based at least partially
    on African practices (Genovese 1972: 194-202; Thornton 1992:228).

Several archaeological excavations of African-American burials have now been carried out (Thomas et al. 1977; Parrington and Wideman 1986; Owsley et al. 1987), although large New World cemeteries from before emancipation are restricted to Handler and Lange’s (1978) BARBADOS sample and the recent New York City excavations (Harrington 1993)…”

Archaeological excavations IN BARBADOS have always been carried out in secrecy.

Few bajans, other dan de high society people, are informed about this element of research PRIMARILY BECAUSE archaeological digs will more than likely find a slave THAN AN ARAWAK!

It would therefore seem obvious that (a) given the percentage of the population that is black (b) given the fact that, barring the white men Rawdon Adams and Jerome Walcott, that it would be prudent that all excavations be accorded a ceremonial process ELSE ONE RISKS THEM BEING CALLED DESECRATIONS!

As happens in the first world @ today

This RH IS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE.

The act of digging up the remains and, QUIETLY, UNDER THE COVER OF NIGHT, TRANSPORTING THEM TO GHANA, under the guise of “closing the circle” is DESECRATION!

AND DE OLE MAN PUTS IT TO YOU DAT GHANA IS COMPLICIT IN THIS FRAUD BY BARBADOS, if it does not demand that ANY BONES BEING SENT BACK TO AFRICA MUST

(1)Be accorded rites of Reinternment
    (2)MUST BE PUBLICIZED IN THE PLACE OF DOMICILE OF THE SLAVE’S GRAVE
    (3)MUST BE ACCORDED forensic verification so that there are no repeats of this black belly sheep fiasco

This way ALL SUCH ACTS OF RETURN GIVE RESPECT TO OUR BLACK ENSLAVEMENT.

And if Mugabe Mottley and her poochlickers CANT UNDERSTAND WHAT IS WRITTEN HERE well wunna clearly understand what de ole man is saying about her non existent morals

39. Piece the Legend Avatar

Correction to the last submission

“..given the fact that Rawdone and Jerome are the only 2 white men in Parliament…. it would behoove said parliament to give some respect to the 95% black people who the govern …?

40. Is Rawdon, the man with an MSc in political sociology from the LSE, a white man? How can Tom Adams, mixed race, have a white son, even if he has an MSc in political sociology from LSE and is a crypto-currency genius?

41. I often have to marvel at the way white people in civilised countries move with respect to (1) customs (2) first people lands and (3) original peoples

De ole man has said that Mugabe Mottley desecrated the graves of the slaves that she played she was carrying back to Ghana!

Yes, the bones of what people in the know call the Bones of the Black Belly Sheep!

De ole Man has did had to fight the Mugabe poochlicker regime here as they continued to support her desecration.

But, Here an article which shows how white people treat bodies of their people on native lands AND WHY DE OLE MAN SAYS DAT MUGABE IS A DESECRATOR.

“…Maori place ceremonial ban on volcano

Local Maori groups have placed a rahui over the waters around the volcano and the coastal stretch on the Bay of Plenty.

It is a traditional prohibition restricting access to an area. White Island, called Whakaari by the Maori, holds spiritual significance for the local Ngati Awa tribe.

The rahui was placed on Tuesday morning and will be lifted only once the missing bodies are recovered.

An expert from the Ngati Awa will accompany authorities in the recovery mission.

“Ngati Awa are front and centre of this operation so for the uplifting of the deceased, once that decision is made, Ngati Awa will be going across to Whakaari/White Island,” deputy commissioner Wally Haumaha told RNZ.

Rahui are often placed on areas after deaths or accidents occur or to protect natural resources in a specific area.

They are not legally binding but are commonly respected by New Zealanders…

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-50753453

It is interesting that, to the Maori, there is a respect AND SPIRITUAL SIGNIFICANCE accorded this place of death that White people respect but, we black bajans DO NOT GIVE ONE FVUCK ABOUT!!!

Mugabe Amin Mottley IS A DESECRATOR OF GRAVES AND GRAVESITES OF FALLEN SLAVES and such an act WILL CONTINUE TO BRING MAJOR HARDSHIPS ON BARBADOS

While our churches, of whom Joseph Atherley is a Reverend, REMAIN DUMB, LIKE SHEEP!

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!!

42. Piece when are u going to realize that Atherley is a wolf in sheep’s clothing
    U ought to stop promoting and supporting that scunl

43. Whatever happened to the Ghanaian nurses? They came with a huge fanfare and were quickly placed into quarantine. We have heard nothing since.

44. @ TLSN

Whatever happened to the Cubans?

45. Why should something happen to them? You guys cannot believe the system is what it is without controversy in a failed state?

46. @David,

Have they been integrated into the QEH? There was suppose to have been a second wave of recruitment.

I trust you recall that both leaders made a commitment to establish a closer rapport between the two countries. This relationship was consummated with Ghana’s president offer and Mia’s acceptance of Ghanaians registered nurses.

David, I’m struggling to understand why my statement has upset you.

47. Covid 19 must have delayed original plans. A few weeks ago the blogmaster observed the nurses disembarking from a TB bus on Martindales Road. Hopefully more informed commenters will be minded to chime in.

Not upset at all.