grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

Like many who were teenagers in the 1970s, the Rastafarian idea, promoted through reggae music, was popular. Their claim to follow the teachings of the Bible convinced me that they were not only brothers in humanity, but brothers in faith.

I researched their claims, and was shocked to see “Jah” written in my Bible. During that period of my life, I talked about changing my name from Grenville to I-ville. However, I could not reconcile the idea of Haile Selassie (Ras Tafari) being Christ. So, we diverged on that one, but critical point of faith.

During that time, I used to walk from Combermere School to the QEH after school. My mother worked as a nurse in the paediatrics department, caring for babies. I would sit among the patients waiting for her to finish her work. She would often tell me about the babies of the Rastafarians, who would needlessly suffer because they were fed nuts.

What distressed her was the Rastas’ insistence on feeding their babies nuts, despite the obvious and apparent harm. I think that they have now wised-up, but their current state of enlightenment was no comfort to the babies who suffered unnecessarily, through their stubborn ignorance.

The Rastafarians have made smoking marijuana part of their religious tradition. My primary concern is the safety of their children.

Our lungs are not designed for smoke. That is why we tend to cough it out when exposed. Our bodies are designed to adapt to different environments, even smoke-filled ones. However, we normally pay a health price that may increase with increased exposure to a harmful environment.

Some like to justify unpopular decisions by claiming that we are going where the science takes us. Well, science has proven, beyond doubt, that smoking is very unhealthy for humans. Further, it is extremely harmful to our children.

To have our children exposed to either first-hand or second-hand smoke, is even more irresponsible than feeding babies nuts. It was previously done through pure ignorance. It is now to be done through the irresponsible encouragement of our politicians, whose main goal is a lucrative lifetime pension at the public’s expense.

The decision it legalise marijuana for religious purposes is not a Rastafarian issue, it is one that affects us all. Rastas get to smoke, but the public is burdened with increased taxes to pay for their children’s health costs, and all of the other social costs associated with the abuse of the marijuana plant.

There are two options for addressing this issue. The first is to prostitute for the Rastafarian vote by forcing through poorly thought-out legislation. That seems to be the preferred option for irresponsible politicians.

The second option is to encourage and participate in an honest discussion on achieving a win-win situation, wherever possible. But that will require both sides to be honest.

Some topics that can be put on the table are: Is it mandatory for the marijuana plant to be smoked as part of the ritual – if so, then why? Can it be made into a tea – if not, then why not? Can it be diluted sufficiently so that everyone can drink it without any harmful health effects – if not, then why not?

If our desire is to know the truth, then we should submit claims of truth to honest research. Truth should be able to withstand rigorous scrutiny. I love the Rastafarian community too much to blindly support badly thought out ideas. That they are promoting this as a Rastafarian-only issue means that neither they, not the Attorney General, have properly thought this through.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

100 responses to “Enlightened Rastafari”

1. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@EnuffNovember 8, 2019 7:53 AM “but all yuh say naffin bout the carbon emissions pizuning children daily, because all yuh love all yuh big rides.”

Take note: No big ride here. I walk most places, or do a little business with my good ZR men.
    Don’t smoke neither. Tried tobacco once and said to myself “Self, why you taking good money and burning it?” Never smoked since. Yes I am cheap. Never tried herb, was never curious enough to do so, although I once found a bigable 10 foot marijuana plant growing on my premises.

But I do enjoy my little incense smoke pun Sundays.

2. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@MillerNovember 8, 2019 8:30 AM “If we can accept Islam as a ‘legitimate’ Abrahamic faith why not the Caribbean bastard Rastafarianism.”

So you think that i will let you get away with calling Rastafari a bastard?

Rastafari is no more a bastard than any other Middle Eastern religion, including Judaism, Christianity and Islam.

None are bastard religions.

3. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@DavidNovember 8, 2019 10:35 AM “Always diving to the trivial. Steuspe.”

Ya killin’ me den.

Lol

4. SS WHICH ANGLICAN CHURCH DO YOU ATTEND?
    ARE THE SERVICES “HIGH CHURCH”

5. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@fortyacresandamuleNovember 8, 2019 1:03 PM “Too much unprotected sex brings with it a huge cost and burden to the society.”

Two HEALTHY people having unprotected sex do not cost society anything, nor is it burdensome to society. The “worse” that can happen when two people have unprotected sex is that a pregnancy may occur. Isn’t pregnancy a good thing, especially in Barbados where both the DLP and the BLP believe that our population is growing too slowly?

Didn’t we ALL come here as a result of “unprotected” sex between our parents?

6. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GPNovember 8, 2019 5:29 PM “SS WHICH ANGLICAN CHURCH DO YOU ATTEND?
    ARE THE SERVICES “HIGH CHURCH”

I won’t say.

But “yes” high church.

I like high church, even though I cannot sing.

7. @ Freedom Crier November 8, 2019 11:22 AM

“There are no deaths from cannabis use. Anywhere. You can’t find one,” said Dr. Lester Grinspoon, professor emeritus at Harvard Medical School.”

Where is the proof for the above by the goodly gentleman? In science one never makes dogmatic statements, The goodly doctor is saying that because he is unaware of a fact, then that fact doesn’t exist. I hope you presented the above statement in a tongue-in-cheek manner, because basically, the statement is pure bs.

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Simple Simon

GP asked about High Church NOT high notes? What does singing have to do with it?

9. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@SS. Every action has negative consequences. There is no free lunch. Engaging in unprotected sex can lead to:

contracting STDs
    Question of paternity-who is your daddy?
    Birthing unwanted children
    Increase in the single parent household population

All of the above has a cost to the society .

10. I am totally against the feeble excuse about legalizing weed for “religious purposes.”

Who will dictate what is deemed as religious purposes?

Secondly who will dictate who is or is not a religious rasta?

Will there be an island wide register kept for who is a church going Rasta?

How long will it take for non Rasta weed smokers to challenge this new law in the high court as being prejudicial to their rights?

Honest to God it wouldn’t hurt for some to think little bit before they open the blasted mouth and put both feet in it!

11. William Skinner Avatar

The desire to increase the population is for the country to have a larger workforce. It will eventually lead to cheaper Labour. Once more we are jumping into comparing our country with other countries, in this case Singapore. We are constantly throwing ill-conceived policies at the wall and hoping for something to stick.
    Simple question: What is the real end game in pushing for a larger population?
    There is a perennial policy madness running amok in the Duopoly.

12. Q re Simple Simon GP asked about High Church NOT high notes? What does singing have to do with it?

A everything!

13. Hemp is better than cannabis .
    Reasons:
    1)very low levels of THC(0.2-0.3%) compared to cannabis.
    2) Hemp can have up to about 20% level of cannabidiol (CBD), CBD can be extracted for medicinal purposes.
    3) Food :Hemp seeds are very nutritious. One seed contains 25% more protein and more omega-3 oils than walnuts.
    4) Clothings can be made from hemp.
    5) Animal Feeds.
    6) biofuel for cars.
    7) Building Materials- hemp is toxin free, virtually fireproof, and pest resistant.
    8) hemp plastics.
    9) hemp can be used to make paper.

14. Marijuana is the female species of the cannabis plant and has a concentration of THC that provides
    the “high” that recreational drug users are seeking. Hemp however, is the male species of the cannabis plant and has a minute level of THC that cannot make a person feel high after consumption. In fact, if male hemp plants are grown too close to female marijuana
    plants fertilization will occur resulting in a sharp decline of THC content in the marijuana plants. Thus, making it impossible to successfully hide marijuana in hemp crops

15. Educate, educate, educate..

forget the useless fame and wealth seeking politicians and the even more useless sheeple and money collecting church leaders…they are imps and frauds created/sent to distract you and SPECIFICALLY TO keep the Black populi from RISING TO AND REALIZING THEIR FULL POTENTIAL..

The volumes of information out there on the plant is truly impressive….don’t allow misinformed KNOW-IT-ALLS…..with their cast in concrete enslaved minds to mislead you with their hypocrisy and DECEIT…chase them away from you and your future generations…seek the truth and knowledge, it is available.

https://www.facebook.com/AfricasDiaspora/videos/343346676257786/?t=305

16. As i said, anything the UK and other leading countries do regarding Marijuana will be DONE from a WELL INFORMED POWER BASE…and not just on any adhoc nuisance displays of know it all ism and stupidity based SOLELY on some kinda BACKWARD INGRAINED brainwash philosophy….oozing out of the useless churches and ignorant uninformed people

Just look at these beautiful plants…let’s see if the public nuisances in governemnt copy this POSITIVE from UK and Europe or try to twist it into some kinda punishment and discrimination against their own Black people.

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2019/nov/03/medical-cannabis-uk-clinical-trial-patients-nhs?fbclid=IwAR1XfqSdPw7Wa6CY75crjkLAHAWJiRYkbFN4uEqKBWc1qeUDO72lT2NUkFo

“Up to 20,000 patients in the UK are to be given medical cannabis over a two-year period in an initiative that aims to create the largest body of evidence on the drug in Europe.”

17. There is going to be a referendum on the matter. I expect the result will be no.

18. That is how you start…YOU CLOWNS…you make sure you are ARMED WITH EVIDENCE of what marijuana can do to help people …you do not try to guess…even if it takes 2 years of clinical trials..but you will have your PROOF..

it is ya only STARTING POINT…wuh if UK did not publish that info, ah would never have said anything just like yall love to do YOUR people.

19. “There is going to be a referendum on the matter. I expect the result will be no.”

If it is a no, this stupid goevrnment will rue the day…because ya cannot hold a true referendum..UNLESS YA EDUCATE THE PEOPLE FIRST…about what they have ALREADY BEEN MISEDUCATED ABOUT…..we already know that they know that the people will vote no a referendum…based SOLELY on all the decades of lies and misinformation government is responsible, both of them, for releasing into the public about the plant…but let them bring it on..

it will just give me another go at them..

20. @Dr Lucas

A good guess. The younger segment will vote yes. The concern of this blogmaster is how do we manage the social element that comes from decriminalization given the fact we are an undisciplined society.

21. @ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife November 8, 2019 5:17 PM
    “So you think that i will let you get away with calling Rastafari a bastard?
    Rastafari is no more a bastard than any other Middle Eastern religion, including Judaism, Christianity and Islam.
    None are bastard religions.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So you agree, then, that Rastafarianism is a ‘legitimate’ member of the Abrahamic family of faiths?

Good! Now go and preach that to the ‘idiot’ living in London pretending to be the No.1 ‘know-it-all of BU’.

Btw way, when are you going to include Hinduism, Sikhism, Buddhism, Shinto and other religions from the East, North, South and West of God’s ‘blue’ planet called Earth in your pantheon of religions to sit at the table as those of Abraham?

“Enuff” of that religious mumbo jumbo and look to science for your salvation from global warming!

Why not start with Genesis according to Darwin?

22. @ robert lucas November 9, 2019 6:08 AM
    “There is going to be a referendum on the matter. I expect the result will be no.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Was there a referendum when the plant was deemed an untouchable criminal?

How about a referendum also on the abolition of the death penalty?
    What do you think would be the “result”?

As it stands the government is in constant breach of the Constitutionally-approved requirement of carrying out the death penalty on those deemed by the Court to be so desirous.

Why this ‘urgent’ move to place such importance on a god-made plant which can be abused (like many other things) by silly people unless Judeo-Christian Bajans consider the plant cannabis to be that forbidden tree of good and evil which their god placed in the middle of the mythical garden of Eden?

Why not hold first the referendum on the abolition of the ‘dead’ death penalty along with the right of same sex couples to marry legally even if not in the sight of some preacher person?

23. For those still confused..Barbados is not the first to be decriminalizing or legalizing, numerous countries and states with hundreds of millions of people amd even more diverse societies have already walked that route..

… as with everything there will be teething problems, but these countries never had the issue of governments maliciously and with deliberate intent brainwashing its citizens to HATE FOR DECADES, look down on, discriminate against and destroy the very people with the knowledge to take the marijuana industry to ITS ZENITH…the Rasta Community…

Those other countries don’t have that problem….but the useless Caribbean governments do.

Barbados government has a lot of damage that they themselves CREATED IN THE MINDS OF THE POPULATION…to undo….but that’s on them..,bunch of fools.

Ah hope they know that not fella has any sympathy for them and their wicked actions that has returned to bite them in their asses…bien

surtout moi.

24. Oh shiiirt Abigail mekkin SOME sense. Seems she is about to depart Salem or Tituba is delivering her. 🤣🤣🤣

25. I could afford to make sense…because my friend, am not the one who now has to reverse all the shite that yall pollutted each other’s minds with FOR DECADES..re Rasta and Marijuana…

in case yall have not yet noticed so let me point it out, it will be a GINORMOUS task…

cause ah DONE KNOW that not one of you even THOUGHT OF IT…lol

see…ah even trying to help…but do not pout when i START TO CRITIQUE..

26. @ David November 9, 2019 6:39 AM

“The concern of this blogmaster is how do we manage the social element that comes from decriminalization given the fact we are an undisciplined society”.

It won’t be managed. Too much freedom is as equally as bad as not enough freedom. In the western world ,there is a lot of S,,T going on. There gender fluidity( pure bs) among other things. I will predict,(I will be dead and gone by then), there is going to be a vicious backlash against this excessive freedom, which is epitomized by the killing that took place yesterday ( remember I used to be a teacher and should know of what I am speaking). In the animal kingdom,( humans are animals, who do not like to admit the fact).there are strict guidelines of behavior handed down from generation to generation for cohesion of the animal unit.. Those animals who deviate are driven out.

27. Now GPII has gone and made an insensitive post on Facebook about the young man’s tragic death and is rightfully getting catspraddled by the comments. The man is a real idjut.

28. @ WURA
    Amazingly theses visionless people have not even cashed in on the amazing tamarind both varieties- the one we grow up eating and the wild variety. We have chatter boxes not leaders.
    This entire marijuana debate is nothing more than political hypocrisy. We don’t need any referendum. All we need to do is legalize it. Now!

29. @Dr. Lucas

Legalizing the drug will put drug dealers out of work.

30. @ robert lucas November 9, 2019 11:00 AM

So Bricky, what would you prefer?

The regimented religiously initiative-stifling environment of ‘modern-day’ communistic-leaning Islam or the more libertine ‘West’ with all its flaws, warts and all but offering endless opportunities to the world of scientific breakthroughs and unimaginable Artistic creativity?

The future of mankind lies not in a controlled petri dish of moral religiosity but in the wild open fields of scientific experimentation.

The God of mankind has already shown the way by providing a spotlight of acceptance of variation in the world.

Why not accept it as our guide to a ‘better’ future the same way we accept the Rainbow as a sign of better we(a)ther to come?

“Que sera, sera!”

31. @ Miller November 9, 2019 8:54 AM

I am not particularly interested in whether or not it is legalized. In my younger days I smoked some of the stuff and also drank tea made from it.( the tea has a similar taste to ginger tea). In those days I preferred consuming liquor and smoking tobacco ( I did both in what one may say to excess). You want to juxtapose the death penalty with the use of cannabis. My position on the death penalty is quite clear. I prefer life in jail ( no parole) which is a worse punishment than the death penalty, since there is the possibility of innocent people being executed . It is twenty-five years ago that I decided to stop smoking ( the choice was food or smoking): it was an abrupt stop. My lungs must be looking pink again GP should be in position to say how pink. I still sample the drinks.

32. @ David November 9, 2019 11:14 AM
    What can I say, apart from the fact that you seem to be a die hard capitalist..

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Good Point Mr Blogmaster

How is the government going to regularized the two nomenclatures: medical marijuana and religious marijuana. In a society like Barbados, the larger group of marijuana smokers are neither medical or religious. They represent a segment of the population that one can say are the abusers, not the control users. Also, we have been enlightened by those in the know that substance abuse is now hitting age brackets under 10. Your point is well taken because it constitutes a concern that should not be overlooked.

34. ENUFF
    re Now GPII has gone and made an insensitive post on Facebook about the young man’s tragic death and is rightfully getting catspraddled by the comments. The man is a real idjut.

COULD YOU PLEASE KINDLY REPOST THIS INSENSITIVE POST FROM FACEBOOK HERE ON BU FOR OUR ENLIGHTENMENT?

35. Grenville Phillips
    15 hrs ·

All he should be worrying about is his homework. Now his life has changed forever, and the other one’s time on this Earth has ended.

It is time to start asking the hard questions.

1. How many persons incarcerated at HMP Dodds smoked marijuana?

2. What proportion of them blame the drug for their bad decisions that got them incarcerated?

3. How many wished they had never started smoking?

4. Did the fellow who stabbed his fellow student smoke marijuana regularly?

5. How many of our youth that were sentenced to Summervale (for girls) and Dodds (for boys) smoked marijuana?

If the answers to these questions are favourable, then go ahead and legalise it. Otherwise, we owe it to the next generation to be more responsible.

36. Let them go on
    They will reap what they sow
    A country that have shown their abilty to be unmanageable would learn the hard way

37. @ WURA-WAR-on-U November 9, 2019 10:52 AM

From being the Salemite Abigail look alike you are now likened to the obeah woman Titubu taken from Barbados by the go(o)dly Reverend Parris the Puritan.

It’s truly amazing how the likes of your former enemy “Enuff’ now converted to your fair-weather friend have suddenly jumped on this Marijuana bandwagon of decriminalization and social acceptance especially in the business of medicine.

What has happened to Big Pharma?
    Has it followed the same path as the former money-making tobacco and alcohol once promoted as the cure-for-all of mankind’s physical ills?

Everybody is now an expert on the pros and cons of the ex-convict Mary Jane;
    from University-trained professors to preachers.

Mary Jane is a real whore isn’t she? Everybody now wants piece of the action either for profit or for fun.

38. @ robert lucas November 9, 2019 11:25 AM

D’accord in toto!

Our individual paths and positions are conjoint.

However, still cannot understand, in any moral or political way, why anyone should have a criminal record for using cannabis.

So let us ‘fight’ for its decriminalization and help take some of the mystique out of it by removing the profit incentive.

39. Miller…reality is seeping in.

but wait…they think that is all.

baby steps..

40. Grenville just don’t know when to stop, my good heart warned him, do ya research first before spewing shite…ah got told how bad i am, never mind he was soundly cussed for his marijuana tirade by many people, now there he is making a proper ass of himself …again..

“This entire marijuana debate is nothing more than political hypocrisy. We don’t need any referendum. All we need to do is legalize it. Now!”

William…let them run with it, ah happy to beat them with their mistakes.

you are right, Barbados has never had any leaders who are REAL THINKERS…only talkers lacking vision..

41. My one thought is that at the time governments started issuing licenses and collecting fees, they should have started emptying jails and expunging/sealing the records of those whose crime was possession.

42. PEOPLE ALL

HEAR THE “HARD QUESTIONS” FROM THE SAGE GRENVILLE PHILLIPS WHO SEEKS TO LEAD OUR COUNTRY.

It is time to start asking the hard questions.
    Q WHICH OF THESE QUESTIONS ARE HARD QUESTIONS?
    NONE OF THE QUESTIONS BELOW ARE LIKE SAY THE HENDERSON HASSELBACH EQUATION OR THE Schrodinger equation.

How many persons incarcerated at HMP Dodds smoked marijuana?
    THIS IS A CLEAR NON SEQUITUR
    SO MANY PERSONS HAVE BEEN INCAREATED IN BARBADOS WHO HAVE NOT EVER SMOKED MARIJUANA.

PEOPLE HAVE BEEN STABBING PEOPLE IN BARBADOS LONG BEFORE THE ADVENT OF MARIJUANA.SMOKING IN BARBADOS

ONE REMEMBERS WELL THE LITTLE GIRL WHO STABBED ANOTHER GIRL TO DEATH AT THE FOUNDATION SCHOOL A LITTLE OVER 30 YEARS AGO.

What proportion of them blame the drug for their bad decisions that got them incarcerated?
    THIS IS ANOTHER CLEAR NON SEQUITUR
    BAD DECISIONS THAT GET FOLK INCARCERATED ARE DIRECTLY DUE TO THE
    INCARCERATED HAVING WITHIN THEMSELVES THE “SIN” NATURE, NOT NECESSARILY BECAUSE THEY SMOKED MARIJUANA.

SINNERS SIN. SOME SINNERS GET INCARCERATED

3 How many wished they had never started smoking?

ANOTHER CLEAR NON SEQUITUR

WHAT IS THE POINT OF THIS QUESTION? WHAT IS THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN SMOKING AND STABBING (KILLING) YOUR SCHOOLMATES?
    4. Did the fellow who stabbed his fellow student smoke marijuana regularly?
    IF HE ONLY SMOKED MARIJUANA OCASIONALY OR IF HE DID NOT SMOKE MARIJUANA AT ALL, WOULD HE NOT BE JUST AS LIKELY TO HAVE STABBED ANOTHER, SINCE LIKE ALL OF US, HE HAS THE SIN NATURE, AND IS PRONE TO SIN?
    5. How many of our youth that were sentenced to Summervale (for girls) and Dodds (for boys) smoked marijuana?
    How many of our youth that were sentenced to Summervale (for girls) and Dodds (for boys) HAVE NEVER ONCE smoked marijuana, OR SMOKED AT ALL?
    IS THERE ANY EVIDENCE AT ALL THAT THIS LAD EVER SMOKED MARIJUANA OR EVEN ONCE PASSED BY A MARIJUANA SCHRUB?

If the answers to these questions are favourable, then go ahead and legalise it.
    MORE RUBBISH! WHAT IS FAVOURABLE?
    WHAT ARE MORE SENSIBLE ON WHICH TO DETERMINE OR NOT DETERMINE LEGALISATION?

Otherwise, we owe it to the next generation to be more responsible.

DON’T , we owe it to the next generation to be more responsible IN ALL CIRCUMSTANCES.
    NOW MR SOLUTIONS BARBADOS WITH NO REAL SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS, CANT YOU DO BETTER THAN THIS?
    DO YOU THINK THAT A PERSON WHO POSE PETTY PUERILE PITHY POINTS LIKE THIS IS PUTRID?

NOTE I ONLY ASKING EASY QUESTIONS

now watch for apologist I & 2 to enter stage right

43. @ GP November 9, 2019 12:38 PM
    “4. Did the fellow who stabbed his fellow student smoke marijuana regularly?
    IF HE ONLY SMOKED MARIJUANA OCASIONALY OR IF HE DID NOT SMOKE MARIJUANA AT ALL, WOULD HE NOT BE JUST AS LIKELY TO HAVE STABBED ANOTHER, SINCE LIKE ALL OF US, HE HAS THE SIN NATURE, AND IS PRONE TO SIN?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Never thought that the day would come when a ‘born-again sinner’ like the miller would support a Dr. GP in exposing another GP as a downright intellectual fraud.

Marijuana has been on this Earth and in the garden of Eden long before the sinful primate called Man.

Is GP therefore blaming Marijuana for Cain a tiller of the land (cultivator of herb) for killing his brother Cain a sheep farmer?

Did Hitler or Pol Pot smoke marijuana and which created their distorted personalities?

Only if that jack riding the ass of a knave called GP No.2 knew the many politicians, lawyers and judges in Barbados who have smoked or are still smoking mary jane behind closed recreational doors he would immediately turn into an alcoholic mule of downright disappointment.

Why doesn’t he attribute the failure of the judiciary to function competently in compliance with his ISO 9001 standard to the excessive smoking of marijuana; not by those in the dock but on the bench?

Has the GP No.2 the Bedroom Policeman now turned into a law enforcement drug lord to put the Temperance Movement and McCarthyism to shame?

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

MillerNovember 9, 2019 7:42 AM “So you agree, then, that Rastafarianism is a ‘legitimate’ member of the Abrahamic family of faiths? Btw way, when are you going to include Hinduism, Sikhism, Buddhism, Shinto and other religions from the East, North, South and West of God’s ‘blue’ planet called Earth in your pantheon of religions to sit at the table as those of Abraham?”

I don’t concern myself overmuch with male centric Abrahamic religions.

I wonder about God’s people who long, long before Abraham was born lived right here on this very spot of land where i now live.

45. Miller
    Stop telling lies on muh! I always supported the legalisation of weed. Check the BU archives. Recently I questioned how one would police sacramental use and I remain curious. Get yuh facts straight.

46. I got news for unna! Whether marijuana is legalized or not makes no difference. The Rastas are using it all like now and I doubt the police bother with them.

Whether recreational use is legalized or not will make very little difference to its use. Those who are inclined to smoke it already do so. Some do it more boldly than others.

The only difference for me would be the public smoking issue and that may be controlled as is tobacco smoking, and also smoking in apartment buildings or in homes that are in close proximity to each other where the second hand smoke would affect non-smoking neighbours.

I over-nighted at a friend’s house one Old Year’s Night after a party. We both woke up feeling quite weird. We realized that the neighbourhood boys had had their own party under a tree a short distance from her house. It took all day to overcome the effects of inhaling that second hand marijuana smoke.

The devil is as usual in the details.

PS. A cousin of mine (a sorta Rasta) went to prison for a short while many years ago for growing and using marijuana. He also had to pay a fine at some point in time. He told me he grew more weed and sold it in order to pay that fine.

The ship has sailed on marijuana use as it has on tobacco smoking and alcohol use. A different approach is needed.

Decriminalization, legalization, medicinal use, religious use, recreational use, something else must be tried.

But always education and protection for children and non-users and punishment for driving etc under the influence if this is deemed a hazard.

47. At least the jokers in the parliament are consistent, they still believe they are dealing with fools..

http://ow.ly/JAcz50x702y?fbclid=IwAR3IYEb3ktROLgE6RRtXgwB9NDzrJWPEN7dUtElqF7npePQJ3fxHz3KPPsg

“Earlier this week in the House of Parliament, the AG said legislation is being drafted to allow sacramental use of cannabis, however Ras Simba said the proposal “does not change anything” and the plans to bring a court case against government still stand.

He noted “Rastafari has always been the champion of the people” and the AHF will continue to fight for those who have been “disadvantaged by cannabis laws” in Barbados.

He said the court case will be asking government to pass legislation to allow for the adult use of cannabis and will also be seeking compensation for those persons who were incarcerated for possession and use of marijuana.”

Leave a Reply to GPCancel reply