Submitted by Ironside

The PdP should not let the recent rumblings of the honourable PM of Barbados at her party’s recent conference get under its skin. Anytime a third party in Barbados makes any ground, no matter how little, you can expect retaliation from the old guard as sure as night follows day.

I recall Donville Inniss belittling the new parties that emerged for the 2018 election, specifically Solutions Barbados, early on in the campaign. His arrogance has been duly rewarded. I absolutely love Madame Karma!

The first thing that any new party that hopes to make a significant impact in the next election must do is to recognize that there is mental space, however small, for a third party in the minds of the electorate. For some, it is a default position resulting from the systematic abuse and betrayal of the two entrenched parties, viz. the BLP and DLP, the Bonnie and Clyde of Barbadian politics. But that space is there, nonetheless.

This is the right time to advance the agenda of a serious “third” party. Now is the time to exploit the growing disaffection with the incumbent BLP and the betrayal of the wasted DLP. Divide and rule, we call it.

Expect retaliation from Bonnie and Clyde because, make no mistake about it, when the chips are down, like any good husband and wife team, Bonnie and Clyde will close ranks to keep out the upstarts!

The second thing that a successful new party must do is define itself in that available mental space. That means it must study carefully the contours of that space and be very strategic about how it intends to capture it. In Marketing we call that positioning.

However, the third party must take careful note that many of the masses are unable to think outside the B&D box. They are suffering from what I have called elsewhere on this blog “mental rigor mortis” (“MRM” as dubbed by one blogger). It is the case, that despite the evidence of their eyes, these sufferers just can’t see anything else but a two party state. We boast of being so highly educated but it seems that that has NOT produced any open-mindedness! Looks like a case of “clouds without water” to me!

Moreover, the third party must grasp the fact that, in a perverse way, many Barbadians are also suffering from political “trauma bonding”. Trauma bonding is that difficult-to-understand behaviour of victims who return to their abusers in the face of [pun intended] sometimes brutal physical abuse. It is something that MAM should understand very well!

I do not wish to get side-tracked here so I suggest you read the following articles on this topic for a start:

I am yet to see a third party with a discernible, coherent and viable strategic positioning plan. The strategy itself is not something you shout out in so many words but one which you “drip irrigate” onto the public. Over time, your positioning becomes evident to those who are studying your [party’s] communications and behaviour.

It follows logically from the above analysis, that the third thing the successful party must do is devise a deliberate, ongoing, consistent, focused communications campaign to support its positioning in the electorate’s mind. It must start this long before any formal campaigning for the 2023 begins! Coincidentally, that campaign must also build trust. Trust is hard to build, but so easy to destroy, as many a one-night-stander can testify!

Now, to extent that Solutions Barbados followed the approach I am suggesting, in the last election period, is the extent to which they were able capture 14% of the vote. However, a lot of their under-performance was due, in no measure, to the naivety and egotism of the party leader Grenville Phillips. As you can see from the posts below, Mr. Phillips still neither understands nor accepts this criticism.

Perhaps Mr. Phillips should stick to his Tuesday Sermon. Perhaps, he may find more support there. May I suggest that his next sermon be on the message to the Church in Laodicea? [Rev. 3: 14 -16]

I am firmly committed to seeing the acceptance and success of a third party in Barbados. However, that does NOT include the absence of other parties; by no means. We need a rich and strong democracy here! So expect me to push the third party concept with all the warp power that Mr. LaForge can call up from the engine room!

175 responses to “The Phartford Files: Agenda for a Third Party Part I”

1. The instance of Dennis Kellman and David Thompson in the two seat “play play opposition” was not an issue of ego although both had enormous egos.

CLICO and the $$ were probably the roots, not ego.

2. The quick turn around and change in narrative re marijuana…….but they ALL in that parliament and bar association are to be trusted EVEN LESS NOW…they are SELL OUT NEGROS…that is all they have ever known…that is all they will EVER BE..

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosLabourParty/videos/2451048665164828/?t=1055

3. The elderly on the island REMAIN at risk, vulnetable and always potential victims of criminals.

“WARNING: IF YOU HAVE OR KNOW OF ANYONE WHO HAS A HEALTH POLICY WITH BARP PLEASE TELL THEM TO CHECK ON ITS STATUS. SOMETHING IS NOT RIGHT. SOME POLICY HOLDERS ARE HAVING THEIR CLAIMS REFUSED BECAUSE THE MONEY IS NOT REACHING SAGICOR. I THINK THAT BARP HAS A RESPONSIBILITY TO MAKE SURE THAT THE BROKER IS PAYING SAGICOR ON TIME. THIS SITUATION IS PLACING UNDUE STRESS ON THE SENIOR CITIZENS. I THINK THAT BARP SHOULD TAKE A MORE ACTIVE ROLE, AFTER ALL THEIR ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE POLICIES.”

4. Enuff…see what happens when i take a break, i will make a note to do so more often..

5. Here is what a key man in ICAR has to say. There is no need to sensationalize every Rh thing in Barbados. Steuspe.

Adonijah Alleyne There will be those who, when the details are known, will be critical. It is a significant development, however. We need to remember this: For ten years the former administration ran away from this issue. They refused for a whole year to even acknowledge receipt of a letter from ICAR requesting a meeting to discuss cannabis.
    Now, in 17 months, we are at the point of sacramental use.
    Yes, there will be mis-steps which will have to be corrected and further issues to be dealt with but yes, no doubt the Iniverse is unfolding as it should!
    Antigua has taken more radical steps but consider how many years it took. We talking about 17 months! This development will take us there.
    Raspect to the PM and AG for their efforts.
    ICAR is proud to be playing a part in seeing to it that people’s constitutional and human rights are observed.
    Selah.

6. @ Greenville

WHAT SOLUTIONS DO YOU AND YOUR one man band HAVE FOR EDUCATION, AGRICULTURE , HEALTH OR TRANSPORTATION?

DO YOU NEED INDEPENDENTS WITH FUNCTIONING BETZ CELLS TO BRING SOLUTIONS TO SOLUTIONS IN EDUCATION, AGRICULTURE , HEALTH OR TRANSPORTATION?

DO YOU ONLY HAVE PALAVER FOR CALLING GP A FALSE TEACHER AND APOSTATE AND PIECE AND IRONSIDE
    HATERS?,
    ONCE A PERSON CHALLENGES YOU MUST YOU ATTACK THEM

DID THE FOLK WHO DEFECTED FROM SOLUTIONS DO SO BECAUSE YOU REALLY HAVE NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS?

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

You told Bedroom Policeman and I quote

“…@Grenville

There is the view that of all the so called 3rd parties you seem to be the most sincere with the workrate to make a difference….”

Where is “this view”?

Can you point one to 1 instance of where it is written or videod?

You then continue

“…The others have flattered to deceive. You attend all the town halls, call the talk shows etc etc etc…”

Which town hall meetings? Barring Iso Taliban who knows of No Solutions Barbados?

And then you go on to give the endorsement which all know you continue to promote which is

“… From where the blogmaster sits this is why you are being targeted with criticism which for the most part is well meaning. keep it going…”

This one man party has been going for 3 years AND HAS DONE NOTHING.

The PdP has been around for 4 months yet, INCREDULOUSLY, your endorsement of a one man party is based on it’s one member being out there for 3 years WITH A STRATEGY OF “NOT NAMING HIS MEMBERS”

The No Solutions Barbados membership list is as secretive as the details of the list of bond repayments that the government claims to have “restructured”

Don’t you Honourable Blogmaster see a pattern with Bedroom Policeman?

Anyone who says his party is non existent instantly becomes a “hater” and a member of the People’s Party for Democracy and Development!

First it was Peter Lawrence Thompson, then it was me AND NOW IT IS IRONSIDE.

Oh dear de ole man forget my fellow myope and fellow apostate Dr. GP!

Watch the patterns Blogmaster and slowly the picture becomes visible.

Like John A AND HIS COALITION CHANT!

8. PIECE
    AS THE JAMAICANS SAY “IT IS TRUTH YOU DO TELL” ABOUT MR NON SOLUTIONS
    RAN HIM RAGGED

9. Steuspe

10. MR SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLLUTIONS needs to know that recognizing your own personal flaws goes a long way toward understanding the troubles of those around you.

We’re not perfect, and that’s by our very nature. Our capacity for forgiveness comes at the cost of being a species who will need to be forgiven at some point in our lives. Understanding that we are all imperfect, that we’re all sinners in the least biblical sense possible, is the key to being a harmonious piece of whatever tapestry we’re creating.

What I’m saying is that, if we are unwilling to face in ourselves what we wish to remedy in others, we are no better than the last evolutionary hurdle we leapt.

Those who cannot face their own weakness still have much growth to experience, and therefore are not ready to lead…and that’s what has people concerned about MR SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLUTIONS

Attacking GP PIECE & IRONSIDE WILL NOT HELP .

MR SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLLUTIONS NEEDS TO PRESENT REAL SOLUTIONS OR SHUT UP AND SIT DOWN

11. @ David November 6, 2019 6:25 AM

It is a play to a populist agendum. It never ceases to amaze that a country which is not noted for its immersion in the sciences, always seeks to jump on a band wagon touted by the more advanced countries. It will be interesting to see how the country deals with any adverse reaction caused by the proposed action.

12. AND they are DESPERATE to REPLACE WHAT THEY ALL STOLE……so trust them NOT AT ALL….if they do not handle this right, their ass is grass…lol

plus they are STILL GREEDY…

The quick turn around and change in narrative re marijuana…….but they ALL in that parliament and bar association are to be trusted EVEN LESS NOW…they are SELL OUT NEGROS…that is all they have ever known…that is all they will EVER BE.

Adonijah needs to stop acting like the government is doing him some damn favor..IT IS THEIR JOB which they collect a salary to do each and every damn month…they make sure to collect a salary = they are SUPPOSED TO make sure they do their damn JOB.

13. @ Greenville

Well recent events have made me question Atherleys true purpose, let me explain.

His group has some bright minds in it who would of been capable of breaking down the true cost of the debt restructuring in the last debate. Why were they not allowed to do so? Why did he as leader focus solely on a 3 million dollar agricultural loan and avoid letting those more capable persons shine?

Is Atherly therefore an opposition party, or was he put there to block the door for any true opposition?

Those blinkered in yardfowlism may not rant, however those capable of independent thought need to stop and ponder the above questions.

14. If a coalition was attempted and he refused to be part if it then my above question would be clearly answered.

Interesting times ahead wouldn t you say?

15. Piece the Legend Avatar

Dr. GP my fellow myope and apostate

One of the things that I have done FROM THE TIME I ARRIVEDON THIS BLOG, is to propose solutions.

All of which this BLP government has and is still implementing.

The problem with that is, when you are NOT the author of an idea AND THE AUTHOR STILL LIVES, and he is constantly broadcasting an INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY MESSAGE & OWNERSHIP POLICY, he invariably abd immediately becomes the enemy for these thieves AND THEIR OBSEQUIOUS FRIENDS.

And one gets the reputation for being a rabble rouser

But you Dr. GP already know that dont you?

16. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John A,

You can run but you can’t hide

Your style is unique AND YOUR ANTI PDP rant (a word only used by one other here) becomes your signature

The hanging questions!

Never committing to anything BUT SUGGESTING EVERYTHING, people know you!

And of course repeating the same tired remark about the PdP not having responded to the single Restructuring Debt Exercise that took the government 18 months BUT DEMANDS, À LA JOHN A, GOLDEN BOY, THAT THEY RESPOND IN 5 DAYS!

Yes sir, some of us here ARE WATCHING YOU CLOSELY with your buttery syrup and daily focus on the PdP

17. John A
    November 6, 2019 7:37 AM

If a coalition was attempted and he refused to be part if it then my above question would be clearly answered.
    Interesting times ahead wouldn t you say?

How long will the charade of a non existent Parliament be permitted to continue?

Whether Parliament is real or not the result is the same so no one will know the difference!!!

18. Isn’t the PDP formation not unlike the DLP formation …. ie out of the belly of the beast?

19. @ David November 6, 2019 6:25 AM
    “ICAR is proud to be playing a part in seeing to it that people’s constitutional and human rights are observed.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If the “ICAR” is really serious about the “people’s Constitutional and human rights” being observed rather than breached then it ought to be calling for the full decriminalization of marijuana.

What about the people who want to use it not for any smoking or recreational purposes but as a culinary ingredient or as a natural supplement to their diet to promote better health?

Why is the plant being treated in such a hypocritically two-faced way?
    Isn’t Mary Jane the same in the culinary day as she is in the medicinal night?

Why is there a need to hold a referendum?
    Was there one when marijuana was made a social and criminal outcast or did 24 or so ‘honourable’ individuals decide the fate of that plant now being touted as the economic Cinderella of the medical crystal ball?

How come the sugarcane plant can be used in many ways to make greater use of its god-given properties even though one of its byproducts has become not only a ‘kill-devilish’ bane to the Bajan society but also one the country’s significant tax revenues generators and a major forex earner.

What about using the same plant called ‘Cannabis’-which is about to receive a partial pardon and piecemeal redemption- in the local production of animal feed and medicine?

If the former forlorn and politically outcast Mary Jane is now good for making medicine for humans shouldn’t be just as good for animals too?

Instead of importing the large amounts of antibiotics used in the commercial poultry and other animal rearing business why not use locally-produced cannabis plant materials and oils as inputs into the feed and natural additives to the water consumed by these animals?

At least it might help reduce the possibility of the deleterious effects of synthetic antibiotics and other growth-inducing supplements entering the food chain and eventually taking a toll on the human bodies as can be seen right across Barbados especially among the young men with their drooping boobs and all.

It would be more than intellectually therapeutic if the above suggestion is taken onboard by, at least, the MoA in the current Cabinet; even if the only reward he is prepared to offer is the recognition that the source of his ‘idea’ was David King’s BU blog.

A simple addendum to the existing Bill, soon to become an Act of foresight, would suffice to cover the veterinary benefits of the former whore for a social outcast now to become First Lady.

20. @ pieces.

I really don’t care about the PDP, what I do care about though is the absence of a real opposition in what is quickly becoming a one party state.

I judge an opposition on their performance not their bestowed title. With the exception of Caswell who is vocal, the rest seem more like tame lapdogs rather than the guardians of our democracy.

If I am wrong then please point out to me in a detailed manner what I missed.

21. @ John

We may have an appointed opposition which exist for the purpose of a parliament, that is in fact inactive. Have you stopped to ponder that?

Do you not agree that as far as debate in the house goes their effort has to put it mildly, been lacking?

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ JohnA at 7:37 A M & 7:34 AM

The times ahead will be interesting. We are told the restructuring exercise will be saving billions of dollars in the future. What was the amount restructured? Did the lack of a subvention reduce the capability of the LoO to calculate the savings and the amount actually “restructured”? How come we saving more than we restructured?

I have in the past supported the need for a 11+ exam which forced all children to strive for a level of competence in literacy and numeracy. I shudder to think what will happen if students are not required to strive for a level of competence in the 3 Rs .

The problem ,John A, is not the need for another political party. We need to raise the level of consciousness of our people. New party ,the same old khaki pants!

Enough said.

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A

The amount of issues which an effective Opposition has to competently handled cannot be done by one man. The LoO needs a competent supporting cast. There are over 17 ministries.
    There are more than a dozen BU bloggers. Have you noticed any consistent conclusions on any of the moots raised? And we are doing it for fun. Politics is a serious business not a blood sport. It is the peoples business.

Thanks for your valiant efforts at keeping democracy alive.

24. I really don’t care about the PDP, what I do care about though is the absence of a real opposition in what is quickly becoming a one party state.

You don’t seem to buy Reverend Joe’s reasoning that he is “filling the absence of a physical presence” either.

25. We may have an appointed opposition which exist for the purpose of a parliament, that is in fact inactive. Have you stopped to ponder that?

We did not appoint an opposition!!!

In fact no one who voted against the “Government” has a voice in “Parliament”.

No one including NO can dispute that fact!!

The result however will be the same whether “Parliament” is valid or invalid.

Another dud!!

But what would you expect if the same Dudleys continually are voted in?

26. Miller
    November 6, 2019 8:42 AM

“If the “ICAR” is really serious about the “people’s Constitutional and human rights” being observed rather than breached then it ought to be calling for the full decriminalization of marijuana.
    What about the people who want to use it not for any smoking or recreational purposes but as a culinary ingredient or as a natural supplement to their diet to promote better health?
    Why is the plant being treated in such a hypocritically two-faced way?”

Miller,
    You were always “smart” from schooldays, and will remain “smart” until the day you die.

Marijuana retails in Barbados at about $5,000 per pound. The drug is universally available and easily accessible. Can you name another agricultural product that is so lucrative?

Barbadians (men, women, the young, the old, and the underage) seem to be smoking “herb” at the rate of at least a pound per second. The drug is so expensive that it takes $10 to produce a proper spliff or joint (i.e. a marijuana cigarette)

As a means of working around this problem, Barbadians use “Fanta” (finely cut dried tobacco leaves) as a base. A user smoking marijuana and tobacco doubles the risk of developing lung cancer. Therefore, a massive, monumental health problem is being created for the nation of Barbados as we speak.

A few privileged individuals, sitting at the top of the pyramid, are able to easily cream off millions of dollars in a risk-free manner from the marijuana trade. If you were one of these individuals, would you want to see the status quo changed?

Success in the fight against this “dangerous” drug is measured by the amount of young people arrested in the Ivy, Deacons Housing Area, the Farm, Gall Hill, Silver Hill, and other stigmatized areas. This so-called “success” ensures that the poor Barbadian parents of those arrested and charged have to fork out great sums of money to pay legal fees to obtain representation in court for their children.

It is an insidious and iniquitous system.

I would advise ICAR to start printing thousands of application forms, and to make allowance for its members to take “sacrament” every second. I would also recommend ICAR to expand its perceived role and to start advocating that all Barbadians convicted, and or incarcerated for marijuana-related offences be freed, and their offences expunged from all criminal records.

27. @ Vincent.

Yes the fact that a $500 million dollar restructuring was claimed to of yielded $4 billion in savings alone should of fueled a heated debate.

After all for that to happen the entire debt would of had to been forgiven and then some. Yet not a question of substance was raised. Why?

28. @ John.

So either way we doomed then. Lol

29. WITH ALL THESE PUNDITS WHO ARE POUNDING ON THE KEY BOARD OF A FEW KEYS HAVE NOT REALISED THAT THEY ARE BEING PLAYED ALONG THE WHOLE KEYBOARD.

What the Last Election taught us was that Barbadians were so Fed-up of the DO NOTHING SOCIALIST GOVERNMENT THAT THEY CHOOSE THE ONLY OTHER PARTY THAT THEY WERE FAMILIAR WITH TO PULL THEM OUT OF THE HOLE. They Voted to such a degree that the BLP received Every Seat and they were faced with a Dilemma as they knew that the DLP were in the Trash Heap of History and would Never Recover. However for a third party Solutions Barbados to make such a Credible First time Showing, the BLP TRIED TO OBLITERATE SOLUTIONS BARBADOS as best as they could. So they set about and PUT THEIR PLAN INTO PRACTICE BY CREATING THEIR OWN OPPOSITION PARTY AND HAVING THE OPPOSITION LEADER SET ABOUT THE MOST IMPORTANT TASK TO DECIMATE THE SOLUTIONS BARBADOS PARTY. By Luring Solutions Barbados Candidates to the side of the Opposition to make them feel that they now part of the Opposition party with a Shot for Power not Realising that they were Played.

WE HAVE AN OPPOSITION CREATED BY THE GOVERNMENT who VOTES IN LOCK STEP WITH THE GOVERNMENT while FOOLING BARBADIANS THAT WE HAVE AN OPPOSITION.

BARBADOS HAS NOT HAD A LEADER WITH GENUINE CHARACTER, SOUND IDEAS, PERSONAL PRINCIPLED BEHAVIOUR AND THE INSISTENCE THAT THOSE WHO ARE WITH HIM COMMIT THEMSELVES TO LIKEWISE PRINCIPLED BEHAVIOUR.

IT IS TIME FOR BARBADIANS TO RECOGNISE THAT IN ORDER TO PROSPER #1 WE NEED TO CHOOSE MORALITY ABOVE IMMORALITY…#2 WE NEED TO CHOOSE PEOPLE THAT SERVE RATHER THAN TAKE…# 3 WE NEED TO CHOOSE PARTIALITY OVER IDEOLOGY, ONLY THEN WOULD WE BEGIN TO MAKE PROGRESS…

THE ARM OF GOD IS LONG, IF WE MAKE THE CORRECT CHOICES WE WILL BE BLESSED. PROSPERITY, FREEDOM FROM UNJUST LAWS, CIVILITY FROM SOCIETY, UPRIGHTNESS IN OUR CHILDREN CAN ALL BE HAD IF WE CHOOSE CORRECTLY AND NOT LISTEN TO THE PUNDITS THAT PRETEND TO KNOW THAT DO NOT KNOW THEY ARE BEING PLAYED.

https://www.churchofjesuschrist.org/bc/content/ldsorg/media-library/Choose%20The%20Right/Choose_1080x1920.jpg?download=true&lang=eng

30. Adonijah is playing the ass, this ring around the roses, slave man complacent Rasta mentality will no longer cut it..and if ya CAN’T SEE what YA HAVE IN YA HANDS….that’s on you ……but don’t be dragging the enlightened down with ya..

31. @Walter

In case you missed it the Prime Minister has publicly committed to let the people decide in a referendum the decriminalization of the use of marijuana..

32. @Miller

You have taken norted Minister Toppin and a few others may vote NO (conscience) on the matter? Mia has removed the whip on this vote.

33. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Re: referendum on Marijuana

I think the BU Household should sponsor a Public Lecture by Georgie Porgie, along with his Power Point slides, on the chemical and biochemical properties of THC and CBD. Of course if he would consent there to.

34. SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLUTIONS for Barbados New party ,the same old khaki pants!

SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLUTIONS for Barbados NEEDS TO PRESENT REAL SOLUTIONS OR SHUT UP AND SIT DOWN

CAN THE ONE MAN SOLUTIONS PARTY GIVE US ANY REASONABLE PRACTICAL SOLUTION TO ANY CURRENT PROBLEM IN BARBADOS?

I CANT SEEM TO GET ANY ANSWERS FROM THIS MAN ABOUT
    OUR HEALTH SYSTEM
    OUR TRANSPORTATION
    OUR EDUCATION SYSTEM
    OUR WATER WOES
    MR SOLUTIONS CAN FLAMETHROW LIKE A BAPTIST MINISTER , BUT IS HE A PRATICAL MAN?.

WHY DOES HE NOT GET MEMBERS OF HIS PARTY OR CHURCH INVOLVED IN CLEANING UP THE GARBAGE IN ANY AREA OF BARBADOS AS THAT GUY DID IN BALTIMORE RECENTLY

If Bajans continue to make bad decisions , such as electing SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLUTIONS for Barbados you don’t even need a devil to ruin your life further than the DLP has.

35. re I think the BU Household should sponsor a Public Lecture by Georgie Porgie, along with his Power Point slides, on the chemical and biochemical properties of THC and CBD. Of course if he would consent there to.

NOT INTERESTED AT ALL IN THAT SIR

LET SOLUTIONS WITH NO SOLUTIONS for Barbados GET SOME ONE TO DO THAT SIR, OR HIS ATTACK DOG

36. The toxicity and pollution being well articulated.

“Just read this in a post and have to say it made sense as a form of rebellion against colonial rule. Now we are robbing ourselves and our children with no mother country for backup.

Read… I’ve been seeing this from the very opening of QEH as a boy . I used to hear the maids and other staff boasting that their supermarket bill used to be minimal. In those days other people would envy a hospital worker because of this. After all these years they will want to deny this but God Almighty know it’s the truth .
    I also remember when I left school and people realised I had left with O levels . The consensus was that I should try and get a government job because in their words “ yuh don’t have to work , just draw free money .
    The way I was instructed and constructed this never sounded right to me . When I joined the Public Health staff in 1976 I was mocked by my colleagues for working eight hours a day as stipulated .
    Look what all those years of raping the Treasury has brought Barbados. To a point where they had to print money to pay Civil Servants.”

37. @ David November 6, 2019 10:42 AM

Why not hold a referendum on the removal of capital punishment (aka ‘Hanging’ in Bajan parlance)?

Why doesn’t the State carry out its ‘lawful’ duties and responsibilities by carrying out the decisions of the Court.

It would be interesting to see if the same “Toppin” would support its abolition.

38. @ Walter.

You still got the old tractor and 5 acres ready? Lol

39. John A
    November 6, 2019 10:24 AM

@ John.
    So either way we doomed then. Lol

Only if you believe Parliament determines our doomnation!!

The lesson to be learnt is whether we have a valid or an invalid Parliament, we get always get one that is a dud and still, we have not gone to our doom!!

40. Vincent….since GP is not interested, all the information is already online, the plant has already been researched to death…there is now a HOW TO on everything associated with marijuana…ya own guide.

What the government needs to do is UNDO ALL THE DAMAGE THEY THEMSELVES INFLICTED ON THE PEOPLE…when they have LIED for years about the true nature of the plant while criminalizing and locking up their own people..,that’s the crime right there..their job is now rolling back all the brainwash they caused in the population and the cost of that exercise should come out of every lying minister’s own pocket.

They better start advertising the benefits of marijuana using social media, the newspapers, CBC and radio…so that Bajans will finally know the truth.

chop, chop.

41. David
    November 6, 2019 10:40 AM

“@Walter
    In case you missed it the Prime Minister has publicly committed to let the people decide in a referendum the decriminalization of the use of marijuana..”

Yes, I missed it. Thanks for informing me.

Given the fact that the drug is readily available throughout the length and breadth of Barbados, it would be interesting to see what would happen if the referendum produces a result of “No” to decriminalization of marijuana.

That said, Barbadians are a conservative people, so no one should seek to crucify the government for leaving it to the people to decide the outcome of this issue. There are strong feelings on both sides of the divide. In fact, the government should be complimented for at least doing something.

I think it would also be a good idea to educate Barbadians and hold a referendum on the following:
    Proportional Representation
    An Elected Senate

In my humble opinion, our current system of governance is anachronistic. That’s another matter, to be discussed another time, I guess.

42. The lesson to be learnt is whether we have a valid or an invalid Parliament, we get always get one that is a dud and still, we have not gone to our doom!!

Any Dudley will do is a second lesson to be learnt!!

There is always the hope that a new Dudley might bring something good with him or her but we already know how existing Dudleys operate.

They are known and defined by their fruits!!

43. Both PR and an elected Senate have deceptive appeals. We have already talked about PR, just look at the mess Israel in in, not being able to form a government; and as to an elected Senate, let us suppose that we elected a BLP House of Assembly and a DLP Senate, just imagine the chaos that would cause in getting legislation passed. Both groups will claim they have the will of the people. Add to that an elected President, and chaos rules.
    First past the post may have its faults, but it leads to stable government. I remember saying all this to the Forde Commission on republicanism when it visited London.

44. John A:

Mr Atherley swore, on his sacred honour, his agreement to the BLP’s policies. When he took the oath of office, he confirmed that he supported the Government’s policies, and was there to see that they were passed.

Despite all of the theatrical bluster, including by Caswell, Atherley and his senators consistently vote for the most dangerous parts of the BLP’s legislative agenda – as Atherley promised he would do.

Mr Atherley also explained that the only reason why he decided to be opposition leader was to fulfill a constitutional requirement. However, he appears to have been appointed in violation of the constitution – regardless of how it is read.

Therefore, Atherley’s ppfdd is not part of any third party movement. He explained that he is not seeking the post to oppose the Government. Therefore, the ppfdd is, by Atherley’s own admission, the BLP’s B-team, nothing else.

The established media gives the parties that have agreed not to investigate corruption as much space as they want. You will note that the BLP, DLP and Atherley’s ppfdd are provided wide coverage. You may also note that Solutions Barbados, despite issuing them with weekly press releases, is rarely given space.

45. Vincent Codrington Avatar

A meaningful referendum is one in which the electorate has all the facts and interpretation of what the facts imply.Whose responsibility is it to lay out the facts? Is this to be another political charade?
    What % of the adult population has access to the internet? How manyare faniliar with the medical issues pertaining to the use of marijuana?

Your suggestion that Marijuana has been researched to death and the information is on the internet reminds me of Marie Antoinette’s response when told the masses are hungry ,they have no bread. Her response was, “Then they should eat cake”. As you know some weeks later she lost her head.

46. @Vincent

Cannabis is widely and easily available for those who want to pull. The blogmaster recalls during the last general election campaign observing a group of teenagers openly puffing. It is not a big deal for many.

47. Vincent Codrington Avatar

David Bu

The referendum is on the DECRIMINALIZATION of Marijuana. NOT the AVAILABILITY of Marijuana.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    seems to me, it has more to do with how many entities get political traction, than FPTP or PR. It is about ‘commanding a majority’. A many party HoA makes this more challenging. And in larger countries, the rise of “regionalist” (sometimes called nationalist) parties have turned many of the traditional 2-3 party HoA’s, into many party HoA’s.

49. RE The established media gives the parties that have agreed not to investigate corruption as much space as they want. You will note that the BLP, DLP and Atherley’s ppfdd are provided wide coverage. You may also note that Solutions Barbados, despite issuing them with weekly press releases, is rarely given space.

WHY IS THIS?
    COULD IT BE THAT THEY DONT DEEM YOU AND NON SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS RELEVANT?

I WILL CONFESS AND ACKNOWLEDGE THAT YOU CAN FLAME THROW WITH THE WORD LIKE A BAPTIST MINISTER

50. @ Grenville.

Let me ask you a question. Based on where every one is today party wise, do you see any of the other parties on their own winning any seats at the next election?

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply