Submitted by Ironside

The PdP should not let the recent rumblings of the honourable PM of Barbados at her party’s recent conference get under its skin. Anytime a third party in Barbados makes any ground, no matter how little, you can expect retaliation from the old guard as sure as night follows day.

I recall Donville Inniss belittling the new parties that emerged for the 2018 election, specifically Solutions Barbados, early on in the campaign. His arrogance has been duly rewarded. I absolutely love Madame Karma!

The first thing that any new party that hopes to make a significant impact in the next election must do is to recognize that there is mental space, however small, for a third party in the minds of the electorate. For some, it is a default position resulting from the systematic abuse and betrayal of the two entrenched parties, viz. the BLP and DLP, the Bonnie and Clyde of Barbadian politics. But that space is there, nonetheless.

This is the right time to advance the agenda of a serious “third” party. Now is the time to exploit the growing disaffection with the incumbent BLP and the betrayal of the wasted DLP. Divide and rule, we call it.

Expect retaliation from Bonnie and Clyde because, make no mistake about it, when the chips are down, like any good husband and wife team, Bonnie and Clyde will close ranks to keep out the upstarts!

The second thing that a successful new party must do is define itself in that available mental space. That means it must study carefully the contours of that space and be very strategic about how it intends to capture it. In Marketing we call that positioning.

However, the third party must take careful note that many of the masses are unable to think outside the B&D box. They are suffering from what I have called elsewhere on this blog “mental rigor mortis” (“MRM” as dubbed by one blogger). It is the case, that despite the evidence of their eyes, these sufferers just can’t see anything else but a two party state. We boast of being so highly educated but it seems that that has NOT produced any open-mindedness! Looks like a case of “clouds without water” to me!

Moreover, the third party must grasp the fact that, in a perverse way, many Barbadians are also suffering from political “trauma bonding”. Trauma bonding is that difficult-to-understand behaviour of victims who return to their abusers in the face of [pun intended] sometimes brutal physical abuse. It is something that MAM should understand very well!

I do not wish to get side-tracked here so I suggest you read the following articles on this topic for a start:

I am yet to see a third party with a discernible, coherent and viable strategic positioning plan. The strategy itself is not something you shout out in so many words but one which you “drip irrigate” onto the public. Over time, your positioning becomes evident to those who are studying your [party’s] communications and behaviour.

It follows logically from the above analysis, that the third thing the successful party must do is devise a deliberate, ongoing, consistent, focused communications campaign to support its positioning in the electorate’s mind. It must start this long before any formal campaigning for the 2023 begins! Coincidentally, that campaign must also build trust. Trust is hard to build, but so easy to destroy, as many a one-night-stander can testify!

Now, to extent that Solutions Barbados followed the approach I am suggesting, in the last election period, is the extent to which they were able capture 14% of the vote. However, a lot of their under-performance was due, in no measure, to the naivety and egotism of the party leader Grenville Phillips. As you can see from the posts below, Mr. Phillips still neither understands nor accepts this criticism.

Perhaps Mr. Phillips should stick to his Tuesday Sermon. Perhaps, he may find more support there. May I suggest that his next sermon be on the message to the Church in Laodicea? [Rev. 3: 14 -16]

I am firmly committed to seeing the acceptance and success of a third party in Barbados. However, that does NOT include the absence of other parties; by no means. We need a rich and strong democracy here! So expect me to push the third party concept with all the warp power that Mr. LaForge can call up from the engine room!

175 responses to “The Phartford Files: Agenda for a Third Party Part I”

1. Once one is able to differentiate between recreational and sacramental use, one would understand that the outcome of a referendum to decriminalise/legalise recreational use is irrelevant to legislating the lawful use of mj for sacramental religious use
    ++++++++++++++++++
    That’s the crux of the matter isn’t it? How does one “differentiate” between the two? One man’s stew is another man’s goulash but since you know some ultra- smart high forehead folks in the Gov’t, they should be able to handle this file without discomfiting the public.

And here I was anticipating a ruling from the Court about someone who is arrested for practicing his religious freedom while relaxing on the block.

2. Sargeant
    Again, what does the referendum outcome gotta do with, according to you, the promise to Adonijah? Not one RH! That’s my point. “Adonijah’s promise” is not tied to the referendum, in fact the “Adonijah Promise” Bill will predate the referendum it appears. All yuh just love to elide issues with wild abandon.

3. @ Sargeant November 7, 2019 9:13 AM
    “That’s the crux of the matter isn’t it? How does one “differentiate” between the two? One man’s stew is another man’s goulash but since you know some ultra- smart high forehead folks in the Gov’t, they should be able to handle this file without discomfiting the public.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This administration is really playing the downright fool with this sacramental malarkey.

By selecting a specific group for ‘special dispensation’- aka special privileges- in the consumption of a natural plant is downright unconstitutional thereby in violation of Section 23 of the Bajan Constitution.

What about those who subscribe to the belief that the plant has both spiritual values and natural healing properties not only for the body but also for the ‘Soul’ and who are not ‘tied’ organizationally to any man-made religion?

How would the sacrament be taken? Would it be in the form of “Bush Tea” or in eaten as ‘high’ cookies?

Or would it be in the form of ‘Smoking’ which would be against the State’s stated and enacted policy regarding “Smoking” in public places and seen as most injurious to the health of the individual similar to the warnings against the use of tobacco?

Would the ‘sacrament’ have to be taken in a designated ‘holy’ place or can it be done under a tamarind tree or in the comfort of a Rasta abode or adobe?

Who would ‘regulate the frequency and quantity of the amount of the herb consumed in the sacrament?

Would this special group to be exempt from criminal prosecution under the veil of sacrament have to purchase their sacramental quantities from a licensed marijuana distributor or would they be allowed to cultivate their own ‘gear’ according to Jah’s directions?

Look how hypocritical politicians can be so two-faced by selling their soul to Money devil! Is this the same ‘wicked and dangerous’ plant which only 10 years ago was considered be Satan himself now to be allowed to be a servant to Jah?

The State via its executive arm (government) has a responsibility to regulate the cultivation and distribution of certain products which, if widely abused, can have a costly impact on public health and safety as pertains in the cases of animal meat processing, alcohol, tobacco and synthetic pharmaceutical.

Why not put cannabis on similar footing? Or is it because of the downright difficulty in extracting tax revenue from the consumption of the plant because of limited ‘monetary’ added value found only in the underworld of protection and enforcement?

As far as the consumption of marijuana is concerned the government has a duty of care only to those who cannot make personal decisions. That is, minors or adults who are in the care of the State or who are deemed non compos mentis.

4. Miller…this is what happens when ya deceitful and everyone knows ya cannot be trusted..

https://www.facebook.com/paul.s.rock/videos/10157872959687340/?t=425

5. “and went as far as suggesting Rastafarians be restricted to using it only in teas.”

Grenville…if ya don’t know what ya talking about shut the hell up.

6. WARU:

Giving oral interviews is a double edged sword. We cannot complain about being shut out of the media and also refuse to grant interviews.

I participate in interviews, being fully aware that by the time it is published, it will be part truth and part fiction. That is why my interviews are normally followed by a press release.

Before making reckless statements based on a media story, it is responsible to seek confirmation first. We will issue our normal press release later today.

7. I don’t mind you giving the interview, but research the subject matter FIRST…before you give one out today. at least know what ya are talking about and stop trying to RESTRICT PEOPLE..the people on the island have had enuff of those idiots…

8. I can’t wait to hear the debate when other matters come up like constituitional rights based on sexual orientation. As far as I can tell, religion is a real choice. #iwait

9. @GP re: November 5, 2019 4:12 PM

MY LORD IRONSIDE!
    THAT IS A SERIOUS BOUNCER……
    IRONSIDE THE LAST TIME I WITNESSED AN OVER LIKE THAT ….
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    LOL!

Appreciated…Trying hard to resist temptation to “cuss” but still be punchy. Still a lot of room for improvement!

I am heartened by the discussion so looking forward to writing Part 2, hopefully this weekend.

Cheers

10. “Maria Kublalsingh Someone pass the kutchie to Grenville please.”

meant to post this here.

really Grenville, ya delusions are getting even worse, ya getting real famous.

11. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside (who they say is on my side AND I AMD Joseph Atherley’s Right hand man)

Before you leave this topic I would like to have a word or two with you about something you said.

“…This is the right time to advance the agenda of a serious “third” party.

Now is the time to exploit the growing disaffection with the incumbent BLP and the betrayal of the wasted DLP.

Divide and rule, we call it…”

De ole man wonders about the “divide and rule matter”

And I will explain meself to you on that.

What percentage of the disaffected or affected vote normally?

And to what degree is that Divide and Rule going to carry the swing?

De ole man thinks that, while it may get some mileage, it wont be enough to carry the day.

True, wherever possible the PdP must use ground agents to gather evidence of malfeasance by the BLP.

Like the dual contracts they are funding for their friends AND HAVING THE INTERNATUONAL FUNDING AGENCIES PAY DUPLICATE FEES FOR!

So what does de ole man suggest IN ADDITION TO THOSE REPORTS?

I suggest, among several other things, A portfolio Deliverables.

And how can the PdP do things like this?

By using social media Ironside.

Let me give you an example.

Senator Caswell Franklyn is a Union Leader.

How many types of unions ate there and how many are there worldwide?

What Caswell and his team have to do is practice a policy of exposure.

What the PdP has to do is reach out to these entities with invitations and then ask the government for assistance for example with leasing the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford venue for the function

The BLP will refuse it, IN WRITING, and the PdP will just announce this.

It’s important for the PdP to deliver things WHILE THEY ARE IN THE OPPOSITION, and for those things the need financial assistance with reach out to the BLP and if you get the resources ITS YOYR DELIVERABLES but if you dont, broadcast that too.

It costs the PdP nothing to orchestrate these outreaches WHICH, IF THE BLP REFUSE TO PAY FOR, OVERTIME, SHOWN THEM TO BE PETTY AND FEARFUL.

AS THE SUBVENTION shows Mugabe to be petty and fearful!

Leh de ole man give you a next practical Ironside

How many posts offices is deah in Barbados and where dem is?

Suppose i was to tell you dat de PDP already applied to the Government of Barbados for these empty outlying offices as youth centres?

AND DAT DE WICKED MUGABE MOTTLEY GOVERNMENT REFUSED THIS OFFER?

What would you feel bout Mugabe?

What would de people feel bout Mugabe?

What would de young voters fell bout Mugabe ‘s BLP?

What does that “growing disaffection” cost the PdP?

Who gets the credit for the idea when it is revealed that it is a PDP idea, EVEN IF DE BLP TEIF IT!

As they will!!!

Whose Manifesto of Deliverables is being built Ironside?

Note dat de ole man can publish that here and it has not harmed the PdP UT IT HAS GIVEN THEM A COST EFFECTIVE STRATEGY TO DELIVER TO THE BAJAN PUBLIC, even while they are in opposition.

Yah feeling me?

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Ironside thnks

13. https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/17/ganja-ease/?fbclid=IwAR1jvPS2XPqEVW3-RG55YDgn4KXPldRsj6EsMaug4sR0C9-wl-oWLmpc5sA

now ya see how hypocritical and USELESS these shite governments are..this same party held the government for 10 years, it is well known Verla claimed she could do this and do that re marijuana and when everyone looked around for Verla, there was no Verla in sight…and people in the know and who did the research had to expose the issue to get them this far…now they are coming with fair weather promises after their asses were kicked to the curb…well stay where yall are…no one needs fair weather shite politicians. No one needs you fools just for that, we got this..all of you knew about the legal regime for decades and ya said nothing for decades..

“The incumbent Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is promising to decriminalize small quantities of marijuana for personal use, as well as for medical purposes, should it retain power in next week’s general election.”

14. telling them now, both wicked governments to beware that the dirty:

tief NOW

sell out NOW

rob EVERYBODY NOW…will NOT WORK ANYMORE…

15. @Piece the Legend: November 7, 2019 6:28 PM

I read you and an’ I feel you! You are on point…very much on point. I’ll be citing you in part 2 this weekend!

Cheers

16. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside

I look forward to your next installments

While you would be well advanced in that “Piece” heheheheh, de ole man invites you to read my comment below which I created yesterday but did not get a chance to post as I had wanted to do earlier.

17. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside

You speak of the term “growing disaffection” but the ole man, expert as I am on these things (that phrase gets my enemies riled to high levels) I will not speak of that phrase but suggest to you another term

“BUILDING PDP’s EMPATHY IMAGE”

That task has 4 target audiences

(1).the citizenry and voters – both local and overseas
    (2).the domestic business community – regarding their investor confidence AND FINANCIAL SUPPORT
    (3).the international community – development agencies, regional government confidences, bilateral aid providers and 1st world governments
    AND
    (4).Building Empathy among the BLP itself

because each of the previous topics is in itself a treatise de ole man is not going bore you with its details nor implementation

I will however provide some summaries for each of these which will follow the Exact Instruction I gave earlier about
    “How the PdP will build its Manifesto of Deliverables” while it is in the Opposition!

And you are going to note that Piece the Legend, expert as I am in dese tings, WILL CONTINUE TO PUBLISH THIS STRATEGY OF HOW THE PDP MUST BUILD THIS IMAGE, in the clear light of day, AND THAT ONLY THE PDP will be able to benefit from it.

And in the coming year of the failed WE GATHERING 20/20 exercise which Mugabe is using to set her stage for her 2021 elections, THE PDP would have cemented itself as the Party of Choice for all Barbadians WHEN THE BELL SOUNDS

18. https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/242605/cibc-selling-shares-gnb-financial

don’t know when Nationnews will learn, if a parent company in Luxembourg bought over 60% of CIBC shares….not everyone has internet and can google…at least tell the public WHERE the company is from who bought the shares…they are the ones now in charge of the PEOPLE’S MONEY, savings, futures etc and they have a right to know where these people originated, given all the bad experiences bank customers in Barbados are subjected to because of poorly regulated companies due to political interference…but no, of course not, these small minded petty pretending media people like pimping for advertising dollars only, informing the people is never high on their to do lists.

19. One would assume that the Nation newspaper has a more detailed story somewhere. Or they need to adopt the slogan..
    “We give you a start, google the rest”

Hoping that Barbados has a happy and beautiful Saturday
    Though we have different opinions, let’s hope we have the same goal — moving the island forward

Have a Great Day! Barbados

20. And in the coming year of the failed WE GATHERING 20/20 exercise which Mugabe is using to set her stage for her 2021 elections, THE PDP would have cemented itself as the Party of Choice for all Barbadians WHEN THE BELL SOUNDS

Billy Preston sings about the PDP not only in his song “Nothing from Nothing” but also “Will it go round in circles”!!

The PDP is “a song that ain’t got no melody”!!

Don’t know which of the two I would recommend as the party anthem as both fit well!!

21. … ” a dance that ain’t got no steps”!!

22. […] https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/11/05/the-phartford-files-agenda-for-a-third-party-part-i/comme… ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Looking Forward A break up of the two-party system looks more and more feasible but we have to stay on point. Whether it is one third party or a coalition of third parties fighting the 2023 election is irrelevant. The important thing is to break the two-party system domination. Therefore, there are three things we have to do from here on: 1. Focus! 2. Focus! 3.Focus! […]