In the last 24 hours the public of Barbados was apprised of the decision that several suspension letters issued to Public Service Vehicles (PSVs) by the Transport Authority had to be embarrassingly withdrawn. Although Chairman of the Transport Authority Ian Estwick is reported to be tight-lipped why the claw back was made, Chairman of the Association of Public Transport Operators (APTO) Kenneth Best – a former member of parliament – had no problem pointing to a violation of process by the Transport Authority supported in the Road Traffic and Transport Authority Act.

In a simple summarization of the matter –  we have a private transportation system the authority has been unable to efficiently regulate for more than 40 years. The recent attempt to impose itself on the sector the Transport Authority mashed the crease by also breaking the law and had to squash the suspension letters issued. How did the Transport Authority led by a seasoned retired banker with access to the best legal opinion commit such an egregious error?

You cannot make this stuff up.

For years a copious amount of commentary has been dumped in the Barbados space about the sub culture that has resulted from an inefficiently regulated PSV sector.   This blogmaster will not add EXCEPT to reassert the problem of the sector has its root in who are the beneficial owners of PSV permits. Does it makes sense asking former Ministers of Transport to elucidate on this matter? To be clear let us add the most recent incumbents – Johnny Tudor, George Payne, Gline Clarke , Michael Lashley et al.

It is widely known by the authorities that the practice of illegally leasing permits to others is an entrenched behaviour. With the stroke of a pen this could be dealt with by the remaining three insurance companies issuing insurance cover to PSVs by adding a clause to the policy agreement as follows:

All claims on the subject policy will be made null and void by the underwriter if evidence is found the vehicle is not operated or managed by the policyholder.

The time has come for good men and women to win back this island from the vice grip of a few greedy persons. We can be bertlike prioritizing the fixing of economic indicators, however, until we also improve the efficiency of transportation, water distribution, waste disposal, maintenance of roads, manning ports of entry to list a few, we are spinning top in mud.

Barbadians must become more active by intelligently speaking to issues every opportunity available.

55 responses to “Transport Authority Attempts to Break the Law”

1. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I hope it is a power punching view. Would look out for it if time permits.

Dr Georgie Porgie

Thanks, sweetie. We all want the same thing with outcomes that are fair and just. Mottley is in the best position of her life to be a leader with a difference, instead of leaning towards indifference. Unfortunately, when your head giddy and swollen with overconfidence. haughty takes over and ya does start to believe that you are a master of all that you survey. That right there is going to be Mottley’s downfall. She does not have to say a thing to her detractors as long as her work speaks for itself. Instead, she is busy telling gullible leaders to big her up in the bajan newspaper so that the locals would be impressed and sing from the hilltops, Blessed a Mottley Mia is mine. Oh, what a foretaste of Leadership that is fine. Mottley forever.

2. All yuh accepted mediocrity for 10+ years and now seeking perfection, which does not exist in any government anywhere in the world. Funny thing is, mediocrity thrives here on the same blog and is embraced, elevated and celebrated. Who laughs last, laughs best. I shall say it again, this government is not perfect; but once they stay focused they gine get the last laugh. Notice that the government continues to come out on top, even if they make some unpopular or wrong decisions. It is clear decisiveness trumps indecision with this lot. PSVs gine get good wuh coming for them. Carry on with the hearsay and a birdie whisper campaigns.🤣🤣

3. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Problems in the PSV sector?

The Americans have a wise saying

Follow the money

4. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Who mek’ing money, lots of it, from transporting the public worse than when ya carrying pigs to market?

Hint: It is NOT the poor, rakey drivers and conductors

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

By the way

The name of this article is wrong.

It IS NOT “attempt to break the law..”

The Barbados Transport Authority BROKE THE LAW!

But we will expect the writer to apologise for or write softly against the BLP Regime