Submitted by Ironside

The rhetoric of the Barbados Today 29th October editorial entitled: No time for Party. Not now is as silky and as sanitized as an educated Barbadian can get. I suppose that as an “above-ground” newspaper, the Barbados Today editor has no choice. And to be fair, the editor did as good a job as he /she could…in the circumstances.

But in this country, I doubt that the sanitized rhetoric of the article, replete with biblical parallels, will get the attention of the intoxicated, money hungry faction of this country that calls itself the BLP and the government into whose hands stressed and reactionary Barbadians committed the next five years of its life back in May 2018.

So, dear BT editor, let me help you…let me take a crack at these SOBs here on BU, no holds barred!

Corruption Endemic
One of the critical issues in the last election was the matter of corruption in government. The BLP promised integrity legislation. (See:
https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/blp-promises-new-integrity-legislation).
As I expected, the BLP government went through the motions of passing integrity legislation knowing full well that that would not hinder corruption where it mattered most.

Corruption is endemic to Barbadian society. Translated, this means that all of us practice and tacitly support corruption…every day! You beg to differ? OK!

• In general, how many of us ask for favours knowing well we were not qualified to receive them?
  • How many of us have asked for exceptions to be made to the entry of our children to schools where they are not qualified to enter?
  • How many of us feel no compunction in jumping the queue of people waiting in line for a service?
  • How many of us rely on friends “in high places” to bale us out of trouble rather than throw ourselves on the mercy of those in authority?
  • How many of our “business people” bribe customs officers to get reduced charges or illegal items out of the port?
  • How many of sold our vote to the first bidder during the last election…and the one before?

What do you call those practices? Still beg to differ? Go phart on yourself…in the mirror!

Corruption is so endemic in Barbados that we have a motto that expresses it all; “Boy yuh got to have a grandfarder to get by in Barbados!

We, the so called masses, are as guilty of corruption as the relatively few demagogues that we elect to rule this land from time to time. Therefore, the logical and ethical solution to the problem of corruption in Barbados lies in dealing with our own corruption FIRST.

Time to Repent

My submission is that we ordinary people need to repent of the corruption in ourselves. And I mean REPENT and in the biblical sense. Until we do so, we are in no position to wield any moral power to demand the end of corruption in government.

And make no mistake about it; the politicians know this; they know that we ourselves are as corrupt as they are. That is why the Sutherland Dynasty is laughing all its way to the bank. The Sutherlands know that sooner or later some self-despising, mentally enslaved, “corrupt” Barbadian will knock at their constituency office door and beg for the crumbs that fall from their table while they and their family, close friends and bodyguards continue to dine sumptuously and travel lavishly. On OUR blinking taxes!

BERToldian Betrayal (With Impunity)

Imagine that: we are asked to pay a 2.5% health levy on top of all the other taxes and the first thing that the BERToldian Labour Party – they can’t be Barbadians, right? – spend it on is a $200,000 plus salary a year (over $16,000 per month) for a minister’s wife – IN THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH.

Do you know that this salary is just circa $1,000 shy of a Minister’s salary? An eighteenth minister without a ministry? What a betrayal of trust! What gross disrespect for Barbadians! Did we vote you in with this understanding in mind? Or are you “overstanding” the matter as Rastafari would say?

But I wonder: how many votes is the Sutherland Dynasty worth in the next election? You know, there is a kind of arrogant “pharticidal” idiocy about nepotism and cronyism that really boggles the mind!

But look at it…there are no protestors in the street, far less rioters! Today is indeed a very funny night! And that is because too many of us are full of existential shiite!

So, where are all the new garbage trucks promised? Don’t be surprised if Jose and Jose gets a contract to “do the garbage” in Barbados! If you don’t know who really owns Jose and Jose (We are No1 in the No.2 Business) get off this frigging island!

Proportional Representation Now

Excuse the hell out of me; but this political system that we have needs to be drastically reformed or dismantled! I don’t know that there is a fundamental flaw in the concept of democracy itself but the political system – meaning the number of parties, system of representation, elections rules etc – is a bare joke.

It should never have been possible for one party to win all 30 seats! Under proportional representation this would have been virtually impossible! So there goes your first reform….if we are going that way!

It is time that Barbadians called for a referendum on the matter of the implementation of proportional representation and let’s see what this government will do with it. I think I know how the Bertoldians will react but screw them!

2023 Ah Coming!

In the meantime, let us prepare, come next election, not to forget how the Bertoldians are pharting on us now with the acrid smell of heartless corruption. Let us prepare to help MAM make more history …the first woman PM in Barbados with a one-term government!

P.S. Perhaps, I will speculate on how we can ensure this in the next edition of the Phartford Files.

84 responses to “The Phartford Files: The Sutherland Dynasty & Bertoldian Betrayal”

1. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I’ve read that the issue of PR was raised by Dr. Pedro Welch. In my interactions with him I have found him to be a scholar AND a gentlemen, but he is also the son of Maizie who has served as a DLP Parliamentarian. Has his DLP mother had zero influence on his political views, a little influence, a big influence?

Was he speaking as a scholar and a gentleman? Or was he speaking as a member of a DLP family? Neither? Both?

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 5 :54 AM

There is no good reason for politics to be a blood sport. It never was and never will be. Politics is about managing society in the interests of the POLITAI. That is the citizens (of Barbados). You may try to redefine it; but that notion is ignorance at the highest level.. That attitude to governance is the root cause of why we are where we are today. A foolish short sighted game of one- up- man-ship.

3. @Vincent

Volumes can be found addressing politics and the blood sport reference. In local parlance many on the blog will be able to contextualize the comment.

Hope you enjoyed yourself yesterday evening?

4. David
    Where is the lack of transparency? The government amended the Act (debated in Parliament for ALL to see, hear and read) to say the Minister shall appoint an Executive Chairman with the consent of the Cabinet. That is what the Minister has done, in the process setting out why JBS is suitable for the appointment. Have you ever seen an ad for the post of Governor of the Central Bank?

5. @ Vincent

My apologise on behalf of the sensible people on BU.

6. apologies…

7. @ Vincent Codrington November 1, 2019 12:11 PM

Please don’t make it look as if that observation of politics being a blood sport is uniquely applicable to the Bajan situation and its origin attributable to some two-bit local politician now dead as a ‘King David’ door nail.

Such a statement on political realities can be associated much earlier with Aneurin Bevan; that late great Welsh socialist politician and UK Cabinet minister -who is still held in high esteem for the introduction of the enviable National Health Service.

Maybe we should ask ourselves why politics today is in such a terribly messy state. Is it because people like you prefer to sit (like us) on the political fence and watch the world go by?

“One of the key problems today is that politics is such a disgrace, good people don’t go into government.” ~ Donald Trump.

“One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors.” ~ Plato.

8. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Miller at 1 :02 PM

Some of us like the visible roles ;others perform roles behind the screens making sure things move seamlessly.

9. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Ironside.

My man I like you.

BAD!!!

You is a next person heah pun BU who, does speak truth to power, AND YOU DOAN CUSS!!!

I jes can’t understand how wunna people does do it

Because I is a cuss word man I went to the internet to see if it could inform me about my speech deficiency.

It said “…Why do people curse so much? Some people believe that cursing is a way for people to express how they feel but have no words to adequately or creatively express it.

For some individuals, cursing is a way of life. It is probably something they learned from their parents as they were growing up so that it has become second nature for them…”

So as I was trying to categorize myself I was looking at your language as you addressed Grenville Phillips the Bedroom Policeman which was

“…For starters, Grenville: let not that party do what you did!

You came to fight the 2018 election with two entrenched parties and rather than fire laser canons and howitzers, you fired .22 barettas! Why? so that you would not offend anyone and get a job after the election…after all, a man got to eat, you figure.

So it was no surprise that you were seen in the party at Graeme Hall trying to help fix the sewerage problem…”

Class, my man class!!

My retarded uneducated self would have called him a political poochlicker seeking to ingratiate himself with the party in power

A *H pimp and a few udder words that show I ent got no broughtupcy!

Then looks how you slap Simple Simon round she head with “mental rigor mortis”

My man, you is a bossssss denny!

Mental Rigor Mortis!

You dun know I going to Dr GP my fellow myope and apostate to determine the medical veracity of that phrase!

Simple Simon gor MRM! And Bedroom Policeman is infected with MAM Mugabe Amor Mottley and it mek he “apologetic”

Superb!!

I gine keep watching you my man Ironside

10. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Ironside thank you

11. @ Piece the Legend November 1, 2019 4:01 PM
    “Mental Rigor Mortis!”

Piece, the man “Ironside” is what you would call a ‘literary hard-seed’.

By referring to the brain-dead Simple Simone as being in a mental state of “Rigor Mortis’ he has effectively used the scalpel of a wordsmith to perform ‘FGM’ on her pea-shaped brain.

She has simply received a verbal dose of her own medicine of chemical castration.

Now she should be able to ‘feel’ what it’s like to be in the same sack as a 4 year old eunuch.

12. PIECE
    left out Simple Simon she is only 21

but the man wid the face like if he come from sesame street that could not win one seat when he had de chance he is 42 ………..THAT MEANS HE IS A WHOLE IDIOT!

BUT THE CONDITION OF MRM IS MORE EVIDENT ON BU FOR A WHILE NOW
    I HAVE POLITELY PREVIOUSLY CALLED IT BRIMBLING BUT SOME ARE EVEN BETZPAENIC i.e they lack functioning brain cells……..murduh

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Not brain dead. Not waiting fa nah Parliamentary pick, nor na board pick. Not waiting like a pig to bubble in the trough of the tax payer’s money. Old enough to be Grenville’s parent.

I still say that if the DLP truly believed that proportional representation they could have changed the Constitution in 2008 when they had a 2/3 majority in Parliament.

They are just a bunch of short sighted, self serving b’s (and here I don’t mean B as in BLP) who misgoverned, misspent, insulted the people, insulted the female electorate, even though female voters are in the majority and now crying in their cold soup and begging for seats in our tax funded Parliament.

They will get seats in Parliament again, when they are willing to WORK for them.

And when Ironside and the other dinosaurs disappear from the party.

14. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Was painting the kitchen today, so didn’t really have much time to worry with the boys of BU.

15. Ironside:

I asked what parties would need to do. You did not give an answer, but instead wrote uninformed rubbish.

Solutions Barbados was the only party specifically calling out both the BLP and DLP for their evident gross mismanagement of the national economy and reported gross corruption, and providing an effective solution to address both. So you are writing uninformed rubbish.

We have had several persons offering their services, but they also wanted significant fees. We did not have hundreds of thousands of dollars to spend. So again, you are writing uninformed rubbish.

I knew going into politics that I would likely never work in Barbados again. That was the price I was willing to pay to offer Barbadians, including ignorant haters like yourself, a competent alternative. So your accusation is false and you are writing uninformed rubbish.

If you wanted to know what I was doing at Graeme Hall, then why not ask me rather than writing uninformed rubbish.

There was no ego. I formed Solutions Barbados and gave it away to the members. We wrote no special place in our constitution for me. I have the same power as the newest member of Solutions Barbados, namely one single vote. I can be removed at any AGM. So you are consistently writing uninformed rubbish.

Our constitution, which was unanimously agreed, specified penalties for receiving bribes to vote other than how we promised Barbadian voters. Going bankrupt for betraying the people of Barbados seemed a useful restraining penalty. Your accusation is false, yet you still consistently write uninformed rubbish.

If you want to know something, why not act like an adult and ask for the information. Why write such uninformed rubbish? Does a pat on the head from the haters on BU mean that much to you?

16. Piece the Legend Avatar

You see the attitude and response and disdain this man has for anyone who has anything to say about his megalomania?

A single comment by Ironside about his one man party becomes a virulent narrative directed at the man and his immediate graduation to the rank of being among “the haters on BU”

Now mind you, Mugabe Mottley cuss Bedroom Policeman Grenville Phillips real bad at her annual Conference BUT HE DARES NOT SAY ONE WORD AGAINST HER, the true opponent and Enemy of Barbados

But, see how he comes running from his novel, like some rodent, to pounce on Ironside

Wunna see why de ole man telling wunna HE MUST NEVER ENTER THE HOUSE OF PARLIAMENT, not even to carry water?

17. piece
    dont hit Bedroom Policeman Grenville Phillips so hard man
    de man is the result of an inborn error of metabolism
    i got some beautiful pictures in my Embryology and Genetics data base that look just like he man
    have mercy pun de semi betzpaenic man
    HE DARE NOT SAY ONE WORD AGAINST Mia Mao Mugabe Mottley Primewicker and Biter extraordinaire,, cause he wont get no wuk in Barbados

18. aprender a hablar espanol. Colombia esta aqui.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/02/bank-buyout/

19. Does that mean that our banking regulators have to be careful of moneylaundering?

20. The regulator will probably extend the same due diligence if the acquisition was made by a UK based bank. Your stereotyping knows no bounds.

https://trilateral-it.com/every-top-10-bank-fined-as-150-billion-laundered-annually/

21. Los barbadienses no entienden nada.
    Cuando van a aprender?
    En su proprio pais no poseen nada.

22. Yeah…well it’s on them, i posted a Duolingo link here nearly a year ago, so they can all go to hell.

should spend less time posting shite and more time trying to educate themselves and each other.

23. The same can apply to any small island state infested with corrupt governments.. and lawyers..

“JAMAICANS MISSING THE POINT WITH THOSE VISA REVOCATIONS
    Yesterday, Jamaicans were greeted with the news that the United States visas of JLP Minister of Government Daryl Vaz and Opposition PNP senior politician Phillip Paulwell as well as a number of senior policemen and members of the Jamaican business community had been revoked by the United States State Department. This was not the first time that the USA had taken such action as some years ago they similarly revoked the visa of then Minister of Energy, James Robertson who had been reportedly tied to a number of questionable activities and under investigation by Scotland Yard. Back in 2010 as a precursor to the Dudus Saga, the US also unfolded a similar policy that lasted well into 2012. They removed visas from a raft of notable Jamaican businessmen, political activists, entertainers as well as minimized the number of new visas issued in order to drive home their point as far as pressuring Jamaica to accede to their extradition requests. My point though is that Jamaicans of either political stripes criticize each other on the issue of corruption but take no action. The visa revocation by the US is their way of sending a strong signal that the targeted individuals are complicit (one way or the other) based on material that they have gathered on them. It should be seen as a signal to Jamaicans and cause us to clamour for more decisive action on the part of our own government to act.
    No one can claim that Vaz has not been in the headlines for a while, worse, after certain decisions that he has authored in his current substantive position. That apart, there has been numerous questions and innuendos floating around on the island with respect to certain high value property developments in Kingston and St. Andrew to which a number of names has been associated, certain large commercial developments involving a number of fingered individuals among other issues, and to which there has been tacit acceptance by our population.
    Attempting to conflate the move by the US State Department with the current developments within the US Administration is suggesting that we should just “let it be” is plain and simply
    “bullshit.”
    Corruption is the spawn of every other social ill that impales Jamaica including political and economic graft, murder, gun running, drug smuggling, gang expansion, lottery scamming…just to name a few. This has been with us for decades and is responsible for the loss of more that six percent of the island’s GDP on an annual basis, all of which is revenue intended for public purposes which is siphoned off into the bank accounts of hand-picked individuals- a gilded “one percent” while the majority of Jamaicans are condemned to live in crime racked squalor.
    Our economy is too small to allow this to continue. At the very least, the US economy is one of the biggest in the world and while they have their problems (some of which they are attempting to address) with trying to get rid of this President. The fact is that the corruption does impact the mass of the US population as quickly or as severely as it does to Jamaicans who operate in a much smaller space.
    My point is, we need to take heed-do something!”

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@For Ironside

In the May 2018 election 111,968 PEOPLE voted for the BLP ; 74.6% of the votes cast.

In the May 2018 election, 33, 985 PEOPLE voted for the DLP ; 22.6% of votes cast.

Bajans are funny people, not aggressive as Hal supposes, or as Ironside would like; but profoundly passive-aggressive, so I am sure that the result blindsided the DLP.

A voter told me a story about one of the candidates, who on election morning was in the school yard to cast a vote along with all the other voters. The good Christian elderly gentlemen and ladies in hats, the young mothers with babies, the first time voter schoolboys with barely 3 hairs on their chins were all polite and friendly with the candidate, exchanged friendly good mornings and hellos etc. No sign at all of resentment. Then the PEOPLE walked into the polling booth and SLAUGHTERED the candidate with their X’s, and came out and smiled at the candidate, and said friendly goodbyes as though nothing had happened.

That is who we is.

25. The arrogant frauds and thieves Barbados’ low class governments love to foist on the vulnerable people, with their fake investments…that is the weakness of Caribbean governments, too dumb, fraudulent thieving themsleves and backward to do any better.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/construction/irish-developer-told-to-pay-1-57m-as-caribbean-resort-left-in-a-complete-mess-1.4069565?fbclid=IwAR2ZaXICZHqiZiif9NJubo5gxKh8FoiWFh1xy0Mhr7g13K8R11mS1eA6v5E

“An Irish developer has lost his Supreme Court appeal over an order that he pay some €1.57 million damages over a luxury hotel and resort in the Caribbean left unfinished and in “a complete mess”.

Padraig (Paudie) O’Halloran had appealed over a range of High Court findings, including that he diverted some $1.48 million paid to two companies in his ICE Group for the Buccament Bay resort to his personal bank accounts in Ireland.

Harlequin alleged, between 2008 and June 2010, Mr O’Halloran misappropriated for his own personal benefit more than $13.5 million of some $50 million paid to the Ice Group companies – ICE Group (SVG) Ltd and Cellate Caribbean (SVG) Ltd – for the resort and lived a “very lavish” lifestyle at their expense. It was claimed some $2.25 million was diverted to Ireland.”

26. @Nextparty246

“I asked what parties would need to do. You did not give an answer, but instead wrote uninformed rubbish.” …So again, you are writing uninformed rubbish” ad nauseam

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Grenville, try your ignition switch one more time…or get onto a 45 degree incline…maybe your engine will pick up there…

A pity you are not solar-powered!

27. YOU WANT TO KNOW HOW ONE PARTY STOLE ALL THE SEATS, WATCH THE BIG HATK ON NETFLIX OR THE GREAT HATK

28. Has there been an investigation in to Harlequin business in Barbados or are the regulators pretending they do not know of what is going on in St Vincent and the UK?

29. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Hal Austin

Hal, heheheheh

Why you doan behave doah?

Why you keep asking all these incriminating questions about the inept Financial Services Commission and the Regulators, and by extension the Office of the Attorney General, and the Director of Public Prosecutions and the Roal Baygon Police Force?

How many times the agents of the Mugabe Regime have to be summoned to Barbados Underground to tell you to keep focused on Brexit?

We going have to revoke your citizenship? or ban you from Barbados Underground for showing up our ineptitude this way WITH THESE SHORT SENTENCES TOO!

30. @ Piece
    Google David Ames, Harlequin Properties

31. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr Hal Austin

Hal,

“…The Serious Fraud Office (SFO) today charged David Ames, chairman of the Harlequin Group of companies, with three counts of fraud by abuse of position, contrary to section one of the Fraud Act 2006…”

What is clearly evident from the many, thousands of entries on the internet, is that this man has been proven to be a crook.

“…The Financial Services Compensation Scheme has paid 2,700 investors around £125m compensation after they lost money in Harlequin Hotels and Resorts-related schemes, with further claims still coming through, the lifeboat fund has revealed…”

But Hal, here is the thing about these matters.

The Serious Fraud Office IS NOT A BANANA REPUBLIC ORGANISATION LIKE OUR LOCAL FINANCIAL SERVICES ENTITY.

And which comment like mine are seen by many as SELF DEPRECATING the fact is that none of my many admirers heheheheh can say that what I post is untrue.

And certainly your posts, Which mine only echo, mean that my admirers ARE YOURS TOO!

32. “GPOctober 31, 2019 12:35 PM

re What can a Party actually do (not say) to convince Barbadians that they will do what they promised?”

The only elected leader i can remember with whom i am familiar in my lifetime who fulfilled or tried to fulfill the promises on which he was elected is Donald Trump an he is not a politician.

33. Privacy policy
    T&C’s
    FAQ
    Meet the Team
    About The London Economic
    Advertise

SUPPORT FREE INDEPENDENT JOURNALISM

TLE
    News
    Politics
    Opinion
    Business
    Sport
    Entertainment
    Film
    Food
    Lifestyle
    Property
    Travel
    Tech/Auto

TLE
    News
    Politics
    Opinion
    Business
    Sport
    Entertainment
    Film
    Food
    Lifestyle
    Property
    Travel
    Tech/Auto

Economic growth is an unnecessary evil, Jacinda Ardern is right to deprioritise it
    Ardern has put out a national budget where spending is dictated by what best encourages the “well-being” of citizens, rather than focussing on traditional bottom-line measures like productivity and economic growth.
    In 2012, writing as a lone economics blogger, I put forward a case for why countries should ditch economic growth as a political priority.
    Long revered as a stalwart of a capitalist society the need to grow has come to overshadow everything else. We prioritise it over our personal health, we prioritise it over the health of the planet and we prioritise it over our happiness.
    But given that the function of any economy is to provide an environment of subsistence, that could be little short-sighted.
    Economist Kenneth Boulding once said that we eat in order to achieve the state of being well-fed, and moving our jaws is simply the ‘cost’ of getting there. We would therefore be mistaken to focus our attention on the act of chewing as the desired end-state when it is simply the price we pay to become fed.
    But as long as growth is the target of our economic systems people will continue to focus on chewing, which is neither a sustainable nor desirable trait of an economy.
    Which is why I welcomed news that New Zealand’s Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has put out a national budget where spending is dictated by what best encourages the “well-being” of citizens, rather than focussing on traditional bottom-line measures like productivity and economic growth.
    The government will put an emphasis on goals like community and cultural connection and equity in well-being across generations in what has been described as a “game-changing event” by LSE professor Richard Layard.
    As part of the framework Ardern has set aside more than $200 million to bolster services for victims of domestic and sexual violence and included a promise to provide housing for the homeless population.
    New guidance on policy suggests all new spending must advance one of five government priorities: improving mental health, reducing child poverty, addressing the inequalities faced by indigenous Maori and Pacific islands people, thriving in a digital age, and transitioning to a low-emission, sustainable economy.
    Take a look at the biggest problems faced world-wide and you would be hard pushed to find examples that are more grave than the ones set out in Ardern’s provisional proposals.
    Rising inequality, a mental health crisis and climate change are all significant threats, but as long as other major economies prioritise economic growth over wellbeing New Zealand may become a lone wolf trapped in an increasingly hungry bear pit.(Quote)

Leave a Reply to Piece the LegendCancel reply