grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

Limited space does not allow me to share even the half of the love I received last week.  However, I can share some of it.

I received a letter from the bank that manages my retirement savings plan.  After working for over 30 years, I was scheduled to receive my retirement savings this year on my birthday.  Since the bank invested the bulk of my retirement funds in Government bonds, I cannot receive all of my money until 2033.  Thanks BERT.

Our dog got an ear infection, so we took him to his vet.  The vet noted that he was short on supplies.  The supplies were stuck in the Bridgetown Port, because the Port decided to switch to a new generation of software called ASYCUDA World without properly testing it.

The vet noted that because it was stuck in the Port for so long, the medicine had gone bad, so he left it there.  The Port wants to charge him duties and charges for the spoiled medicine.

When updating software on your personal computer, you should back-up your working files just in-case there is a problem.  A well-managed business will certainly back-up all working files before updating its computer systems.

If the software will affect the main operations of the business, then there is normally robust trial testing of the software before it is permanently installed.  If this critical pre-testing is not done, the business risks frustrating its clients and employees with unnecessary delays.

For the Bridgetown Port to have rolled out such a major upgrade, without the critical robust testing, is extremely bad management.  Unfortunately, we have devalued public sector management by using it as a reward for political party loyalty.

Despite over 40 years of evidence to prove that this is a failed method of procuring management talent, we persist with this lunacy.  We then tolerate the sorry excuse that this is the best that we as a small county can do.

The Government came for my pension, savings, and dog’s medicine, but they would not come for my garbage.  After one month of no collection, the bags of garbage normally spill onto the ground.  At that time, the monkeys and dogs try to do the SSA’s job, but they are not very successful.

While they collect our garbage more frequently than the SSA, they do not carry it very far.  So, I must repeatedly clean it up, and return it near the bin, until the SSA comes at week six.

I try not to complain about the rare sightings of the SSA trucks, because we were all supposed to be in the same boat.  Then I learnt that some were in a little Moses, where they had to wait for 2 months, and I felt guilty.  I also learnt that some were on a cruise liner, with weekly collections.

This is not like water outages where water distribution is dependent on the levels in the nearest reservoir.  These are trucks with routes that can be scheduled.  Why are some benefiting from a weekly garbage collection, while others are suffering with a two months service?  Why not share the trucks equitably, so that we all get, perhaps, a 3-week collection?

My car insurance expires next week in November.  So, I paid the insurance premium and took the cover note to BRA to get the sticker.  After spending one hour in the line, where only 2 of the 5 cashier positions were active, the cashier politely explained that I paid my insurance too early.  She said that I must return on or after the expiration date.

First my pension, then my retirement savings, then my dog, then my garbage, now I must return to BRA, waste more time in a line, and risk a $5,000 fine if I am late?  I did not realise that a reckless comment had escaped my lips until I heard my own voice.

I told her that I had been standing in line for the past hour, only to be told to return and stand in the same line.  Her response was that she did not tell me to stand in the line for one hour.  She was correct of course, so I thanked her and left.

As I walked to my newly insured car, I finally appreciated how much the Government loves us.  I recognized that the Government’s public sector policies are designed to ensure that no Barbadian is left behind.  They have accepted a new mandate to get us all into heaven – by frustrating the hell out of us while we are on the earth.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

36 responses to “Too Much Love”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wow!

2. …..but we gatherin 2020. U will get nuff love then. So hold on!!!!

3. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

Leave no man or child behind. All must taste and feel the love?

4. We guine love ya to death lol

5. Too far East is West.

6. Fail(ing) state!

7. Same experience re car sticker……. renewed my insurance a week early and tried to get the sticker… nope, she said…go & come back after a week…..….. can someone explain what can happen illegally if I renew early and try to obtain the sticker???

8. It is a system issue, they need to fix it.

9. TELL US HOW YOU WILL FIX AND IMPROVE THESE THINGS TO GET WE VOTE

WHY DIDNT YOU TAKE THIS WOMAN ASIDE AND TEACH HER THE WAY LIKE AQUIILA AND PRISCILLA?

YOU KNOW ALL ABOUT HOW THIS IS DONE

10. Wuhloss. Grenville stay healthy…2033…so the bank and their acutaries probably already calculated year of death…damn….BLP genuises, their yardfowls and taxpayer paid consultants in YOUR house…KICK THEM OUT..

11. Actuaries…for those who don’t know…that is what they do, calculate down to the day ya die, to save some lowlife some money…they are morbid, the reason many people drop the course.

nothing personal Walter…it is what it is…

12. in Canada you renew your sticker on your birthday. But it can be any day before your birthday, or after your birthday but in your birthday month. You are also give a few days grace.

13. granville , mr too much love

In 1941 Franklin Roosevelt gave a famous speech about four freedoms: freedom of speech, freedom of religion, freedom from want, and freedom from fear. 

Micah 4:1-5 describes four freedoms:
    · Freedom from ignorance (He will teach us His ways)
    · Freedom from war (Neither shall they learn war anymore)
    · Freedom from want (everyone shall sit under his vine and under his fig tree)
    · Freedom from fear (no one shall make them afraid)

WILL YOU BE ABLE TO OFFER ANY OF THESE TO THE BAJAN POPULACE SIR ? OR WILL YOU ONLY IMMERSE US IN LARGE GLOBS OF BOVINE EXCREMENT?

JUST ASKING POLITELY SIR

14. granville , mr too much love

if you do not answer my reasonable question, we will get a good narrator to come to your home and office and tell you a few hair raising stories…….that would be very frustrating for you Sir

15. Antonio Pilgrim Avatar

Are there any areas/departments that work well in Barbados, or are we regaled only with those that don’t?

16. Walter Blackman Avatar

WURA-WAR-on-U
    October 29, 2019 2:46 PM

“Actuaries…for those who don’t know…that is what they do, calculate down to the day ya die, to save some lowlife some money…they are morbid, the reason many people drop the course.
    nothing personal Walter…it is what it is…”

WURA-WAR-on-U,
    All I can do is hold down my head and laugh. You have hidden talent (now take it easy, fellas).

I am going to die on September 13th, 2075 on the stroke of midnight.

17. lol…good one, some people die silently in their beds, but you do know that projections are made particularly in insurance companies, the banks are equally liquid and can afford to pay for such services, don’t pretend ya don’t know…..it may sound all general and broad reseaching when being preached, but no matter how subtle and cloaked in bullshit, makes it no less morbid.

18. Nice much love

But don’t forget MIA CARES

19. Please note that I was on various construction sites for most of the day. I try to respond to social media (including BU) comments when I can, but at least daily, unless I am travelling.

So, how would we have addressed these problems.

At the Port, we would have robustly tested the system. This would have included a parallel trial to ensure a seamless transition. What we got was no transition time and the foreseen disruption.

At the Bank, we think that the BERT plan is simply wrong. We would not have implemented it. There is no good way of implementing the BERT plan, because there is no good way of doing wrong things. About four years ago, we publicly published our non-austerity plan for critical review. There were three other plans that the Government could have chosen. In their arrogance, they look at none of them – and boasted about it is if that was an achievement.

At the BRA, we think that a sticker is a good idea. They can be efficiently issued by insurance companies. However, given the recent allegations of bribery, the Government can issue them at BRA offices and at post offices. You present your insurance certificate, it is stamped, and you get your sticker.

At the SSA, the routes should be equitably scheduled so that everyone gets the same collection time. If they do not have the management skills to schedule routes, then they can do it iteratively so that they will converge towards balance.

20. And speaking of customer service
    Yuh think the lady would be glad she got a job but couldnt care less about Granville stinking experience
    Wuh dam she needs to be hauled out of that job and put right next to Granville garbage
    What a sow

21. If you do not have anything constructive to offer the discussion why not hush?

22. Why do u tell me to hush
    What i made reference (to)was in the article
    You the one need to hush if you cant stand the heat get out of the kitchen
    All these problems come because of inefficiency brought about from layin off of people
    How is govt going to work in an efficient manner with two people handling five hundred customers per day
    Only a couple weeks past people were standing in the hot sun trying to receive customer service
    Yes the woman was wrong on her manner of speech to Granville
    However she probably was very frustrated with the daily grind of being overworked and underpaid
    Any body who need to hush is you
    But i guess u cant since Mia is watching and calculating every word that comes out our mouth
    You are indeed a tripple belly creepy crawling side winder
    Btw you cant dam well tell me what to say
    This govt sucks poor suffering from all ends of the spectrum while Mia flys all over like a celebrity at taxpayers cost

23. Only just finished telling my son about possible spoilage in the port because of this crazy system transition but I never imagined that the port would actually try to charge somebody for the storage of the spoiled goods.

I’m sure the vet is going to ignore them. Let them take him to court!

What next????????!!!!!!!!

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Cuhdear Grenville. But God your wife, children, and parents still love you.

Take heart.

And by the way, never expect any government to love you.

Governments NEVER do the love thingy.

25. Grenville. God your wife, children, and parents still love you. BUT NOT THE ELECTORATE
    Q.HOW IS IT THAT YOUR ARTICLES DO NOT SEEM TO GET MUCH TRACTION
    Q. DO YOU KNOW WHAT IS THE MOST FRUSTRATING THING YOU CAN DO TO YOUR FELLOW MAN?

26. GRENVILLE PHILLIPS 11 IS NOT DETACHED HE IS ENGAGED!

Mr Phillips this is the BEST SATIRE OF THE GOVERNMENT that has been put forward for a while, if you have any more like this BRING IT ON. This CRITICISM WITH WITT AND STYLE would make even the Bureaucrats shake their heads UP AND DOWN!

YOU WOULD REASON THAT ANY REASONABLE THINKER WOULD AGREE WITH YOU SIR, NOT SO WITH THE LEARNED ON BU …

RE, GP October 29, 2019 3:42 PM “WILL YOU BE ABLE TO OFFER ANY OF THESE TO THE BAJAN POPULACE SIR ? OR WILL YOU ONLY IMMERSE US IN LARGE GLOBS OF BOVINE EXCREMENT? JUST ASKING POLITELY SIR”.

FOR SOMEONE WITH A SENSE OF HUMOUR GP OBVIOUSLY HAS AN AGENDA HERE THAT IS BLATANT EXCEPT TO HIM… HIS QUESTION IS NEITHER SINCERE NOR POLITE … GP IS STEPPING IN HIS OWN “LARGE GLOBS OF BOVINE EXCREMENT”…

GP October 29, 2019 1:50 PM …@ Grenville “READ THE TEXT DUMMY READ THE TEXT!…

GP October 28, 2019 6:04 AM …“WILL NOW PRAY THAT YOU FAIL … YOU ARE A PHARISEE AND AUTOCRAT… YOU ARE FAR WORSE THAN MIA OR THE DLP”.GP October 28, 2019 6:32 AM …YOU ARE INDEED A DEVIL IN DISGUISE…AND I AM HERE QUIETLY ROCKING AND MOCKING YOU IN PEALS OF LAUGHTER

GP October 28, 2019 6:49 PM … “LOVE FOR MY COUNTRY DEMANDS THAT WE CONVENE A MEETING IN THIS OFFICE OF BAJANS IN CENTRAL FLORIDA WITH THE INTENT TO INFORM AND WARN ALL BAJANS AT HOME AND ELSEWHERE TO KNOW THAT YOU ARE TOTALLY FALSE AND UNFIT TO LEAD BARBADOS.

LOVE FOR MY COUNTRY DEMANDS THIS. I WILL MAKE THIS MY DUTY”

David October 28, 2019 7:04 AM @GP …The personification of your responses to Grenville is bound to distract from your message. A word to the wise should be sufficient.

FREEDOM WILL SIMPLY LEAVE THE REST TO BU OBSERVERS…PLEASE NOTE PRIDE GOES BEFORE THE FALL!!

Mariposa October 29, 2019 1:02 PM @ G Phillip
    Don’t waste your preciuos time with GP
    Jesus had to battle with those. Zealots types in his day
    Jesus always found a way to answer them
    Unless there Righteousness exceeds that of the Scribes and Pharisees there is no place for them in the kingdom
    It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for them to enter the kingdom of heaven

Mariposa October 29, 2019 7:10 PM @ 246
    Yuh wasting yuh time
    Dont throw pearls before swine
    This guy ego is bigger than Mount rushmore
    GP is enjoying every moment of word to word combat with you
    I am convinced that a GP is a narcissist
    Leave him alone and let him drown in his own self-righteousness.

http://shadoka.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Detached-Leaders-Fail.jpg

27. LOL
    MURDER
    AH DEAD
    MY BELLY POP
    SEE HOW EASY YOU CAN GET GRENVILLE’S ONLY APOLOGIST ON BU TO COME ON THE BLOG?

BUT FREEDOM YOU HAVE NOT TOLD US HOW THIS GURU WILL GIVE US
    Freedom from ignorance (He will teach us His ways)
    · Freedom from war (Neither shall they learn war anymore)
    · Freedom from want (everyone shall sit under his vine and under his fig tree)
    · Freedom from fear (no one shall make them afraid)

HOW WILL THE GURU GIVE US

Freedom from ignorance
    · Freedom from war
    · Freedom from want
    · Freedom from fear

HE CAN CRITICIZE THE GUVMENT WELL BUT HE AINT TELLING THE PEOPLE NOTHING THAT THEY DO NOT ALREADY KNOW

CAN HE ADDRESS PEOPLE’S WANTS AND NEEDS
    TICK TOCK
    ROCK ROCK
    MOCK MOCK
    SOCK SOCK

28. FREEDOM

YOU SHOULD BE A NET BOWLER IN CRICKET FOR RANGE HITTING
    LOL MURDAH

29. “All these problems come because of inefficiency brought about from layin off of people. How is govt going to work in an efficient manner with two people handling five hundred customers per day?”

Spot On!!! You are correct. Keep digging.

However, and as usual, you are confining these problems to this current BLP administration, while conveniently forgetting they actually began when your beloved Freundel Stuart retrenched over 6,000 (or even more) public sector employees in 2013.

It’s just a case of this administration continuing along a similar path as the DLP.

But to be fair to both political parties, if we agree politicians are responsible for formulating policies, then silly, simple issues people experience at the BRA should be dealt with by the Revenue Commissioner.

30. GP IS WELL VERSED IN PUTTING DOWN OTHERS IN ORDER TO INFLATE HIMSELF!

GP…October 30, 2019 8:10 AM “HOW IS IT THAT YOUR ARTICLES DO NOT SEEM TO GET MUCH TRACTION”.

GP 11 ARTICLES RANGE FROM THE FIFTIES INTO WELL OVER 200 COMMENTS… CONSIDER THIS GP11 IS A WORKING INDIVIDUAL WHO CAN ONLY COME ON SOCIAL MEDIA AS TIME PERMITS INCLUDING WRITING HIS ARTICLES ON BU. ON THE OTHER HAND GP IS RETIRED WHO SAYS HE COMES ON BU WHEN HE IS BOARD TO MOCK AND REEL!

GP COMMENTED FIFTY FOUR TIMES ON HIS LAST ARTICLE …OUT OF 219 comments… THAT IS OVER 25% OF THE TIME AND HE SAYS THAT NO BODY LISTENS TO GRENVILLE WHILE HE HAS BEEN PROPPING UP HIS ARTICLES!

GP …WHY IS IT YOU HAVE ARE TRYING TO BRING DOWN GRENVILLE IF YOU DID NOT THINK HE HAD A CHANCE…YOU ARE EVEN MARSHALING YOU FELLOW PEOPLE TO PRAY AGAINST GRENVILLE. IF YOU WERE SINCERE ABOUT YOUR LOVE OF COUNTRY AND NOT YOUR EGO YOU WOULD BE PRAYING FOR BARBADOS, THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS, THE LEADERS PRESENTLY TO MAKE BETTER DECISIONS AND THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS TO CHOOSE WISELY. BUT INSTEAD YOU HAVE PUT YOURSELF AND WHAT YOU WANT FIRST RATHER THAN SEEK GOD’S COUNCIL! GP YOU SHOULD KNOW BETTER THAN THIS, WHY ARE YOU REJECTING GOD’S WAYS?

http://aikidoharmony.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/quantum-world-3431600788155_5619888045944733696_n.jpg

31. @Freedom Crier

Grenville can defend himself, he is a well educated man. Make your point to the topic or move on. Stop making every blog a slug fest. It is tiresome.

32. You will not be aware but this article is trending on social media.

33. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

The Port community software system, although more expensive, is a much better upgrade than ASYCUDA.

34. @fortyacresandamule

One must assume it was cheaper for the Port Authority to upgrade than to switch out?

35. Cry baby session.

36. You have to hang in there Mr Phillips.
    You will win some and lose some.
    Time is on your side. “The race is not given to the swift nor the strong but he who endures until the end.”

(Kind of funny that I am not a believer, but there was a time when I could recite all of Luke and Acts from memory (HC).