Submitted by Dr. GP

Every summer at the Plymouth Brethren Assembly that I attend here in Central Florida, the 16 Sundays in June through September are devoted to one of the men in the church giving a talk on a chosen theme.

Last week on Sweet Sunday Sermon – Enoch,  I submitted  my contribution from the year when the assignment was for contributors to harp on one of the heroes of faith from Hebrews chapter 11. 

Last week on Sweet Sunday Sermon – Enoch, after sharing a few outlines on the book of Hebrews, we demonstrated how to go about presenting the salient features about a Bible character by employing the Biographical Method of Bible Study.

This week on Sweet Sunday Sermon – Caleb’s Inheritance, I have submitted  my contribution from the year when the assignment was to choose an Old Testament event or Bible character, comment briefly thereon, and then relate the lessons gleaned about the Old Testament event or Bible character  to a related New Testament passage.

I therefore  chose my favorite Old Testament Bible character CALEB, and after giving a brief Biography of this Old Testament Bible character surrounding his inheritance, in the second half, I  gave an exegesis (or verse by verse study) of 1 Peter 1:3-5 which discusses THE BELIEVER’S INHERITANCE. Our study this week is therefore entitled CALEB’S INHERITANCE (Joshua 14) & THE BELIEVER’S INHERITANCE (1 Peter 1:3-5).

The punch lines of this week’s  teaching are as follows.

• The salient features about the life of Caleb were that
  • GOD MADE HIM A PROMISE OF AN INHERITANCE
  • GOD KEPT THE PROMISED INHERITANCE FOR HIM
  • GOD KEPT HIM FOR THE PROMISED INHERITANCE
  • GOD ENSURED THAT HE RECEIVED THE PROMISED INHERITANCE
  • The salient features about 1 Peter:3-5, and thus the comparison with  the life of Caleb are that ……………………..
  • GOD HAS MADE A PROMISE OF AN INHERITANCE TO US BELIEVERS
  • GOD HAS KEPT/IS KEEPING OUR INHERITANCE FOR US BELIEVERS
  • GOD HAS KEPT/IS KEEPING US BELIEVERS FOR OUR INHERITANCE
  • GOD WILL/HAS ENSURED THAT WE RECEIVE OUR INHERITANCE
  • The Christian’s inheritance is not like anything in this world.
  • Peter describes our inheritance by four adjectives 
  • In substance:  it is incorruptible; It will not spoil or go bad. Sin cannot affect it. It will never wear out or get old. Nothing can destroy it.
  • In purity: it is undefiled;
  • In beauty: it is unfading”  It will not lose its beauty. It is not like metal that stops shining. Nor is it like a light that goes out.
  • In security: it is reserved God keeps this inheritance safe in heaven for each person who believes his promises

Those who are interested in Bible Biography and the concept of spiritual inheritance should fine the exegesis of the 1 Peter passage enlightening.

Before you post on these Sunday Sermon blogs, maybe you should like the Bereans in Acts 17:11, first consult the Word of God, to see if the things here said are so, by  studying the Scriptures diligently and inductively as enjoined in 2 Timothy 2:15 & Nehemiah 8:8 especially emphasizing reading the text literally and reading the text in its context so that you can be sure to keep context “king”, so that you will be able to competently comment on the commentaries (including the one you are reading here on BU)

Do so in dependence on The Teacher, the Holy Spirit (not me), Who Jesus promised would guide believers  into all truth (John 16:13). This way you are more likely to benefit from the discourse.

In the last 50 years I have heard teens and even some very uneducated elderly men give good and accurate thoughts on passages of the Word of God.

You might also even consult reputable Bible commentaries, or sermons or other resources, so that we may have a reasonably useful discussion. If you do not like the Bible, just stay away. That is much better than professing yourself to be wise and only proving yourself to be a fool as taught in Romans 1:22.

Screenshot 2019-10-26 at 14.42.09.png
Click image to follow full presentation – CALEB’S INHERITANCE

322 responses to “Sweet Sunday Sermon – CALEB’S INHERITANCE”

1. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Dr. GP my fellow myope,

None of Grenville’s comments are to be interpreted from the perspective of the Bible or discussions ensuing therefrom or thereof.

1.De ole man, while endorsing the Third Party Movement concept, DID NOT ENDORSE Grenville Phillips as part of a viable Third Party Movement contender

2.in fact i was most “vocal” in my lack of support for Grenville after seeing his outreaches AND READING HIS PRONOUNCEMENTS

3.I thought Grenville Phillips was weak and his message was poor

4.i also felt that he was A LIAR and was profoundly duplicitous in the way he was suppressing his organisation’s candidates

I was right about the last 2 issues

5.i saw how his issues player out with Peter Lawrence Thompson and, coupled with his absolute lack of knowledge of The Bible, while purporting to know it, that brought more shame to Grenville P than I was willing to accommodate in any compatible Third Party Candidate.

I know campaigning is hard BUT HE, UNLIKE OTHERS, HAS NO NEED TO LIE!

Fast forward till today and EVERYTHING THAT I HAVE SAID ABOUT HIS VIRULENCE IS VISIBLE.

And my support of the PDP, the viable Third Party Movement that is now delivering HAS MADE ME INTO A SERPENT AND WOLF, not for my religious beliefs DR. GP, but because I have absolutely discarded him from any competent alternative administration!

And this is my “sin” Dr. GP I have aligned with the PDP at al, AND MANY IN THE PDP ARE SOME OF THE VERY PEOPLE WHO HE SOUGHT TO MUZZLE in his one man PDP party.

And therefore, like the BLp’s Minister of Disinformation here loves to say, ” grenville is opposing everything you and I say, FOR OPPOSING SAKE”

But enough of him here, let us revert to Caleb, the substantive topic!

2. Yep! Google was my friend last week and Google is still my friend this week. Some interesting stuff on Google. One can even find a doctor to tell you how to treat a cyst.

Don’t care to nitpick about the meaning of any word.

It’s all the same to me.

Any instruction that includes the words “Women must or must not” as opposed to men is gender discrimination.

3. The King James Version text (John 20:24–29) is:

24 But Thomas, one of the twelve, called Didymus, was not with them when Jesus came.

25 The other disciples therefore said unto him, We have seen the Lord. But he said unto them, Except I shall see in his hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and thrust my hand into his side, I will not believe.

26 ¶ And after eight days again his disciples were within, and Thomas with them: [then] came Jesus, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst, and said, Peace [be] unto you.

27 Then saith he to Thomas, Reach hither thy finger, and behold my hands; and reach hither thy hand, and thrust [it] into my side: and be not faithless, but believing.

28 And Thomas answered and said unto him, My Lord and my God.

29 Jesus saith unto him, Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: blessed [are] they that have not seen, and [yet] have believed.

There is no need to criticize people for using circular arguments.

Just accept it is their faith at work and marvel.

4. Don’t care if my experience matched the objectives of the bequest. The person who left it was limited by the understanding of his times.

PS. All those who taught me at CC had faith in God. They did not cause me to lose faith just to re-calibrate that faith. My faith in GOD is now stronger and more personal.. I do not need God to tell me what He/She is going to do. I don’t need reassurance. I don’t need promises. I just trust and get on with the business over which I have some control.

5. As long as you accept that the argument is indeed circular.

But … does that person not mock those who do not accept their circular argument? And what about my faith at work?

6. @ Donna October 28, 2019 10:27 AM
    “It is not as simple as we like to make out. Some of us need to be certain of every little detail. We need to KNOW EVERYTHING about God in order to feel comfortable that He/She exists. Without that certainty everything seems out of control. So God becomes our exclusive God and everybody else who disagrees with our understanding and experience of Him/Her is a lost soul.

God-in-a-box! Our box!”

We like your idea of a gender-neutral man-made main God (“He/She”, ‘Him/Her”).

It’s always puzzling why angels are depicted usually in gender-neutral forms.
    No beards, no loincloths

Don’t you think it’s time that women rewrite the gospels according to a feminist interpretation?

It has been done with other works of art, so why not that untouchable diamond of male chauvinism?

While you ladies are at it- trying to correct the written wrongs of Judeo-Christian mythology- how about commissioning a modern-day version of the homo (sapiens) Leonardo da Vinci to do a make-over of the “Last Supper” but this time to remove the esotericism of the fleur de lis and show 6 disciples in full feminine form and garbs to satisfy the modern age of equality between the sexes.

He could even transform two of the 6 men into transgender models with the existing two remaining there for people like GP the teaching doctor and the other GP the Second (coming Messiah of Bajan salvation) to ruminate on.

7. Why would a person with faith have any need to argue over what he/she believes?

Get on with life!!

8. Don’t need to rewrite any stories. They served their purpose.

9. I don’t need to argue. I am getting on with life without the chains. But this denial of full human rights to women is an issue for some who need a man’s permission to be. These conventional souls need help breaking free.

10. The genders are different, one bears children, the other doesn’t!!

They are unequal!!

Get over it!!

11. @ John October 28, 2019 2:50 PM

Go tell that to the Virgin Mary!

12. Not a Roman Catholic but even if I were, what purpose would it serve.

13. @ John October 28, 2019 4:03 PM

You should become a Roman Catholic. They are looking for ‘men’ of your kind to perform the role of priest especially for the conversion and ministering those of indigenous tribes called heathens and savages.

Since the Quakers have failed in the mission you can become a good Christian soldier for a general under the RC banner like the “innocent” Pope Alexander V1.

14. When reading the Bible, you must do so with a fair degree of common sense. The opinion of GP is that women are not to teach, and he bases his opinion on Paul’s letter to his student, Timothy.

“And I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man, but to be in silence.” (1 Tim 2:12)

My position is that this is Paul’s personal opinion formed from his cultural tradition. GP deems this a strict non-negotiable instruction. The consequences of his stubborn refusal at honest discussion is that he, and those who believe like him, try to keep women in what they think should be their place.

GP uses Paul’s advice in his second letter to Timothy to justify his unwavering position.

“All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.” (2 Tim 3:16-17)

As previously noted, we must read the Bible with a fair degree of common sense, and not a blind zeal for any religious cultural tradition. When Paul was writing to Timothy, he did not consider that his writings were Scripture. The scripture context is revealed in the previous verse.

“But you must continue in the things which you have learned and been assured of, knowing from whom you have learned them, and that from childhood you have known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.” (2 Tim 3:14-15)

The “Holy Scriptures” to which Paul was referring was the Old Testament.

Is the New Testament important? Yes, and critically so. However, even Paul noted that there were thinks that were simply his opinion, and not from God. Further, Paul has the humility to note that we cannot understand all spiritual things (regardless of the number of degrees in theology we may possess).

“For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.” (1 Cor 13:12)

So what really is important?

“Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal.”

“And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.”

“And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.” (1 Cor 13:1-3)

Love does not stop us from identifying the bad fruit of those who would want to be our teachers.

15. (Quote):
    As previously noted, we must read the Bible with a fair degree of common sense, and not a blind zeal for any religious cultural tradition. When Paul was writing to Timothy, he did not consider that his writings were Scripture. The scripture context is revealed in the previous verse. (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Should such a similar “common sense” approach be also followed when reading that Mary was a virgin while giving birth to Jesus?

When are we going to get ‘un negro Sagrada Familia’ (a black Holy Family)?

16. Next party 246
    Can argue with your commentary
    Bible thumpers like GP would sidetracked the unsuspecting reader with quotes from the old Testament as a justification that when the Apostles spoke on personnel matters relating to the church they got these special orders from God
    However if one belive in the teachings of Jesus when jesus was questioned on certain traditions and the church law
    He told those asking who were the writers of the law
    That two basic laws must be observed
    Love the Lord thy God with all thine heart
    Love thy neighbour as thyself
    It is obviuos that Paul was not trying to undermined the teachings of Jesus
    However as a leader of the new Church he took steps which were customary in the preservation of the past traditons of the older churches found in the OT
    To be quick frank i find no problem with Paul using his authority over the church as to rules and guidlines subjective to the followers and leader formulated in orderly fashion of those times
    Today world is different and laws being written are comprehensively done to be fair and equal
    By all accounts as to how people thought process has evolved to a higher level of being inclusive Paul would find himself needing a life raft to survive the arrows and spears if he dared speak openly on bringing those OT traditions back from the grave and reviving them into this modern world

17. re So what really is important?

“Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal.”

“And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.”

“And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.” (1 Cor 13:1-3)

Love does not stop us from identifying the bad fruit of those who would want to be our teachers.

BY YOUR WAY OF THINKING THIS IS NOT IMPORTANT BECAUSE IT IS AN OPINION OF PAUL

RE When reading the Bible, you must do so with a fair degree of common sense.

ACTUALLY YOU DEPEND ON THE INDWELLING HOLY SPIRIT TO GUIDE YOU NOT COMMON SENSE
    THIS IS WHAT THE BIBLE SAYS ABOUT THIS

In John 14:26, Jesus encourages his eleven disciples, saying to them, “But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you.” The Holy Spirit will teach them all things. Jesus adds in John 16:13 that the Spirit of truth will guide them into “all the truth,” including disclosing to them “what is to come.”
    The opinion of GP is that women are not to teach, and he bases his opinion on Paul’s letter to his student, Timothy.

I JOHN 2: But the anointing which ye have received of him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you: but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in him.

9 But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.

10 But God hath revealed them unto us by his Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God.

11 For what man knoweth the things of a man, save the spirit of man which is in him? even so the things of God knoweth no man, but the Spirit of God.

12 Now we have received, not the spirit of the world, but the spirit which is of God; that we might know the things that are freely given to us of God.

13 Which things also we speak, not in the words which man’s wisdom teacheth, but which the Holy Ghost teacheth; comparing spiritual things with spiritual.

14 But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.

THE ABOVE IS NOT MY OPINION——- IT IS WHAT THE BIBLE SAYS AND IT CAN NOT BE REFUTED!

RE The opinion of GP is that women are not to teach, and he bases his opinion on Paul’s letter to his student, Timothy.

“And I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man, but to be in silence.” (1 Tim 2:12)

My position is that this is Paul’s personal opinion formed from his cultural tradition.

WHERE DOES THE BIBLE SAY THIS?

GP deems this a strict non-negotiable instruction. The consequences of his stubborn refusal at honest discussion is that he, and those who believe like him, try to keep women in what they think should be their place.

I HAVE NOT SEEN THIS VIEW EXPRESSED IN THE WORD OR IN ANY SERIOUS BIBLE BELIEVING CHURCH I HAVE ATTENDED OR BEEN APART OF. HAVE I SEEN SUCH A VIEW PRACTICED

YOU HAVE NO FACTS TO SUPPORT YOUR POSITION
    YOU CAN LIE LIKE A HORSE CAN TROT

RE Love does not stop us from identifying the bad fruit of those who would want to be our teachers.

LOVE FOR MY COUNTRY DEMANDS THAT WE CONVENE A MEETING IN THIS OFFICE OF BAJANS IN CENTRAL FLORIDA
    WITH THE INTENT TO INFORM AND WARN ALL BAJANS AT HOME AND ELSEWHERE TO KNOW THAT YOU ARE TOTALLY FALSE AND UNFIT TO LEAD BARBADOS.

YOU ARE WORSE THAN MIA

LOVE FOR MY COUNTRY DEMANDS THIS. I WILL MAKE THIS MY DUTY

ANY MAN THAT SPEAKS LIKE YOU DO IS FALSE VERY FALSE

AT LEAST WE KNOW WHAT MIA IS BUT YOU ARE REVEALING YOURSELF AS FALSE

YOUR OPINIONS DO NOT LINE UP WITH THE WORD OF GOD

I LOVE YOU BUT I LOVE BARBADOS MORE

YOU MAY HAVE THE LAST WORD FILL ME WITH MIRTH

LET THE RABBLE RANT AND RAVE NOW

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Miller at 5:49 PM

The original word was young woman. At what point it was interpreted to mean virgin requires some research. But in those days young girls of 14 years were most likely virgins.

19. @ Vincent Codrington October 28, 2019 6:53 PM

So the Judge of Commonsense would also dictate that in today’s cultural norms both the old man Joseph and his ‘helper’ Gabriel the jacket giver’ would be considered pedophiles and up on charges for statutory rape.

20. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Quarrellsome bunch.

Who de cap fit, let ‘IM wear it. (Bob Marley)

21. GP:

Paul instructs Timothy thus:

Do you believe that it is a woman’s place to teach men? Does your church allow women to teach men?

22. NO

I HAVE ANSWERED THIS BEFORE

NEVER SEEN IT DONE IN ANY BAPTIST OR BRETHREN ASSEMBLY THAT I HAVE BEEN APART OF IN THE LAST 50 YEARS IN SEVERAL COUNTRIES WHERE I HAVE STUDIED OR TAUGHT OR LIVED

ANSWERED THIS ALREADY

GPOctober 27, 2019 2:44 PM

Re SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    October 27, 2019 9:24 AM

@GP “Plymouth Brethren Assembly that I attend here in Central Florida, the 16 Sundays in June through September are devoted to one of the MEN in the church giving a talk…”
    The women in your church don’t talk?

YES THEY DO IN THE LADIES BIBLE STUDIES AND LADIES MEETINGS
    Like most Bible believing evangelical type churches “Plymouth Brethren interpret First Timothy 2:9–14 simply as is written

This passage says
    Let the woman learn in silence with all subjection. But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence. For Adam was first formed, then Eve. And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression.

Now many folk don’t see things this way; but we try to follow the Word steadfastly.

The first serious female Christian I ever met 50 years was a missionary. I have never heard her preach or speak in a church meeting yet. But I have not met any female Christian who has accomplished as much as she has.

She came to Barbados at age 30, and started teaching Bible stories to children on three beaches in Barbados in her Bible or Good News Clubs. With in a year these Bible clubs had become three Baptist churches, and one of the young men was ofF to Bible school to become a missionary.

At least two young people from each of these churches are missionaries today……….and I can go on. She is still teaching boys and girls the Word, AT THE TEXAS BORDER and still encouraging many of her first converts in Barbados.

Many of the ladies and men in my church have retired from years on the mission field.

Do you speak in your church? What have you accomplished thereby? What have you done for the Lord as compared to all these women, pray tell.

You can laugh and respond with your pithy pits, but I have met too many women who dont talk in our assemblies all through the islands and up here, they dont scoff at the Word or talk rubbish like you do about it.

23. I looked at Thomas Clarkson’s book from 1807 entitled “A Portraiture of Quakerism”.

He was not a Quaker but had worked with Quakers to effect the abolition of the slave trade for many years.

He put into writing what he had learnt of the Quakers with whom he had worked.

The book is in three volumes and can be downloaded from the net.

Here is what he says about Quaker beliefs on women as ministers.

Against this doctrine of the Quakers, that a female ministry is allowable under the Gospel dispensation, an objection has been started from the following words of the Apostle Paul: [116] “Let your women keep silence in the churches, for it is not permitted unto them to speak”—”and if they will learn any thing, let them ask their Husbands at home.” but the Quakers conceive, that this charge of the Apostle has no allusion to preaching.

In these early times, when the Gospel doctrines were new, and people were eager to understand them, some of the women, in the warmth of their feelings, interrupted the service of the church, by asking such questions as occurred to them on the subject of this new religion.

These are they whom the Apostle desires to be silent, and to reserve their questions till they should return home. And that this was the case is evident, they conceive, from the meaning of the words, which the Apostle uses upon this occasion. For the word in the Greek tongue, which is translated “speak,” does not mean to preach or to pray, but to speak as in common discourse. And the words, which immediately follow this, do not relate to any evangelical instruction, which these women were desirous of communicating publicly, but which they were desirous of receiving themselves from others.
    [Footnote 116: 1 Cor. 14.34.35.]

That the words quoted do not relate to praying or preaching is also equally obvious, in the opinion of the Quakers; for if they had related to these offices of the church, the word “prophesy” had been used instead of the word “speak.” Add to which that the Apostle, in the same epistle in which the preaching of women is considered to be forbidden, gives them a rule to which he expects them to conform, when they should either prophesy or pray: but to give women a rule to be observed during their preaching, and to forbid them to preach at the some time, is an absurdity too great to be fixed upon the most ordinary person, and much more upon an inspired Apostle.

That the objection has no foundation, the Quakers believe again, from the consideration that the ministry of women, in the days of the Apostles, is recognized in the New Testament, and is recognized also, in some instances, as an acceptable service.

Of the hundred and twenty persons who were assembled on the day of pentecost, it is said by St. Luke that [117] some were women. That these received the Holy Spirit as well as the men, and that they received it also for the purpose of prophesying or preaching, is obvious from the same Evangelist. For first, he says, that “all were filled with the Holy Ghost.” And secondly, he says, that Peter stood up, and observed concerning the circumstance of inspiration having been given to the women upon this occasion, that Joel’s prophecy was then fulfilled, in which were to be found these words: “And it shall come to pass in the hist days, that your sons and your daughters shall prophesy—and on my servants and handmaidens I will pour out in those days of my spirit; and they shall prophesy.”
    [Footnote 117: Acts, Chap. 1.]

24. The first two Quaker itinerants to Barbados and America were women, Mary Fisher and Ann Austin in 1655.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Fisher_(missionary)

25. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man is understandably one tracked BECAUSE I ENT WENT SCHOOL BEYOND 11TH GRADE.

So before I even write this I gine axe wunna forgiveness

A lot of you have the impression that Jesus Christ, HE WHO HAS SUBSUMED ALL PREVIOUS DOCTRINES, and the Comforter, The Holy Spirit can be selectively deselected by a verse or concept in the Old Testament AS LONG AS IT SUPPORTS A POINT THAT WUNNA MEKKING!

A second thing dat de ole man notes WITH MY UNEDUCATED SELF is that wunna feel dat Jesus WHO IS, WAS AND EVER WILL BE LOVE, is because of such a classification, A WUSS!

And in that limitation of Him as a meek stupid man, who wunna want people to look at as a handicap BECAUSE YOU REASON IS THAT “we who purport to follow Christ must also be many lambs men”

But leh me disavow winna of dat ingrunt thought now

“…And Jesus went into the temple of God, and cast out all them that sold and bought in the temple, and overthrew the tables of the moneychangers, and the seats of them that sold doves…”

Yes, and de money changers left peacefully then cause wunna version of the Word of God says so.

Yes, cause it serves wunna perverted purpose to impute that, BECAUSE Dr GP IS NOT A WUSS WHEN HE SPEAKS THE WORD OF OUR GOD, he is an apostate!

Dr. GP you have said what you intend to do in Florida regarding this spiteful wicked posture

De ole man too promises that, wherever He, or those who follow him, show their megalomaniac heads, ME AND ME GRANDSON, will conduct a campaign to wipe their aspirations from this earth.

He say dat he only going try Parliament one more time so as long as God spares life, and health, dat is going be a welcome task.

26. Nothing new here I.e. using the Bible to attack a fellow man.

27. Piece the Legend Avatar

It is not that at all.

It’s not that The Bible is being used to attack a fellow man.

It’s that the teachings being discussed by a man WHO HAS SAID THAT A SPECIFIC MAN DOES NOT HAVE THE QUALITIES TO LEAD, are now being attacked because the man (and he myopic partner) said he, Grenville Phillips, was not capable of leading.

We also pointed out his autocratic style.

We also said that his style of muzzling candidates in his one man party WOULD MAKE IT A ONE MAN PARTY.

And everything we said happened

Further to that statement DE OLE MAN HAS SAID dat my and de granson going help de People’s Party for Democracy and Development

And Grenville Phillips is vex with that.

And whereas, IF HE REARS HIS HEAD ON ANY OTHER POLITICAL BLOG DE OLE MAN AUTHORS, it will become evident that his hatred of de ole man has caused his commentary.

So what he has done is, under cover of The Holy Bible, “slathered in like the snake he is, and made these comments about apostasy!

And incredulously David [BU] you (claim you) are not seeing it!

That is all this is my man, vindictiveness by a man who feels scorned (if that oxymoron is possible in a gender biased phrase)

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, may I enquire of you dear comrade whether YOUR dislike of Phillips’s leadership skills or potential autocracy has caused your commentary!

I too disagree strongly with some of Phillips’s puerile proposals and voidable party membership contracts but that does not mean that I view him as a person with mal intent towards his homeland …and it CERTAINLY does not mean that he is subverting his interpretations of the Bible to deliberately misguide.

These competing biblical quotes to support opinions is par for the course of life… If one reads the above objectively …then both gents support their interpretations with the various passages cited … has that type disagreement not been the source of intractable arguments (wars even) forever and a day…as the Blogmaster alluded to!

Why excoriate Phillips so in his appreciation of the Bible …why THIS war here!

29. David October 28, 2019 7:04 AM @GP
    The personification of your responses to Grenville is bound to distract from your message. A word to the wise should be sufficient.

SOUND COUNCIL BLOG MASTER BUT WOULD GP LISTEN? NOT SO FAR, HE HAS RAMPED UP THE ANTI TO FIRST ACCUSE AND TRY TO OBLITERATE THOSE WHO HE DEEMS UNFIT! NOT MUCH LOVE OR FORGIVENESS DISPLAYED HERE, QUITE THE OPPOSITE! WE ARE ALL LEARNING AS WE GO, HOPEFULLY HE WILL REALIZE THAT THOSE WHO HE CALLS WORSE THAN HEATHENS AND THE DEVIL ARE NOT HIS ENEMIES BUT THAT HE IS THE GREATEST ENEMY TO HIMSELF! WE ARE ALL IN NEED OF REPENTANCE AND THIS LIFE IS THE DAY OF OUR PROBATION AND UNDERSTANDING!

• David October 29, 2019 4:41 AM ….Nothing new here I.e. using the Bible to attack a fellow man.

INSIGHTFUL WORDS BLOG MASTER…IT IS CLEAR AS NIGHT HERE WHO IS BADGERING WHOM! OF THE TWO AGGRESSORS, ONE IS UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF THE OTHER WHO REALLY SHOULD KNOW BETTER IF HE HAD THE SPIRIT OF DISCERNMENT INSTEAD OF THE SPIRIT OF CONTENTION! IF YOU LISTEN CAREFULLY, ONE CAN ACTUALLY HEAR ONE IN PARTICULAR, HISSING, SLITHERING, MINCING, CONFABULATING AND ACCUSING AS HE GOES ABOUT SEEKING TO DESTROY HIS OPPONENTS! BE AWARE BE VERY AWARE OF WHO IS THE ATTACKERS ARE HERE, NOTHING NEW UNDER THE SUN!

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/a7/c6/c7/a7c6c7a904ab62fb870f0c84f8cae325.png

30. de pedantic Dribbler October 29, 2019 6:24 AM “Why excoriate Phillips so in his appreciation of the Bible …why THIS war here!”

AN INFORMED OPINION IS JUST THAT, AN INFORMED OPINION!

Every man as Best as he is Informed has an Opinion. They are Two Topics that Bajans Always have an Opinion on i.e. Politics and Religion!

Religion tries to get a person to Modify their Behaviour to be more Godlike and about his Interaction towards other men.

Politics is using the Force of Law to Compel Behaviour in man and how they should Behave towards other men. Religion then is about the Voluntary Modification about our Behaviour for the Better while Politics is about the Forceful modification of our Behaviour! In the world in which we live the Voluntary Approach is better than the Approach of Force, however the Forceful approach is there to Protect the Adheres of the Voluntary Approach.

The Marrying of the Two Methods is what Constitutes a Society. If everyone Lived the Voluntary Approach we would have a Just and Moral people. If Everyone Lived the Forceful Approach we would have Tyranny! The more Just a Society is when we live the Voluntary Approach. The more Chaotic a Society, is when we live the Forced Approach.

The Voluntary Approach is achieved by the Adherence to Gospel Principles and Educating people about Issues for them to be able to make a Choice. The Forceful Approach is achieved by Listening to the Adversary and Cramming down upon people by Force the Ideologies of the Adversary.

On BU the Discussion here should be about Education and having people Modify their Behaviour by being Informed in the Light of the Gospel for them to make their own Choices. It is Unseemly that under the Guise of Religion that Force should be used and if it is, we have Only The Appearance of Godliness but Not the Substance of Godliness and we are Indeed as Sounding Brass!

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10219921435736863&set=gm.2413050165475036&type=3&theater

31. Walter Blackman Avatar

October 28, 2019 8:54 AM
    “and dis ole man.. telling wunna dat I fear the megalomaniac Grenville Phillips because IN ALL HIS COMMENTS TO ME…..”

October 28, 2019 11:16 AM
    “De ole man, while endorsing the Third Party Movement concept, DID NOT ENDORSE Grenville Phillips…..”

October 29, 2019 4:16 AM
    “De ole man too promises that, wherever He, or those who follow him, show their megalomaniac heads, ME AND ME GRANDSON, will conduct a campaign to wipe their aspirations from this earth.”

October 29, 2019 5:05 AM
    “the man… Grenville Phillips, was not capable of leading……
    IF HE REARS HIS HEAD ON ANY OTHER POLITICAL BLOG DE OLE MAN AUTHORS, it will become evident that his hatred of de ole man has caused his commentary.”

To all BU readers,
    Be warned.
    Envy and malice will eat out your insides like a cancer.

32. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Miller at 6 :53 PM of 28 Oct.

I think we should always use our judgement and common sense. We must interpret morality within its cultural context. I think your charge would be thrown out of court in BCE 3 as well as in CE 2019 in Moslem and Hindu courts. Context . Context . Context.

33. @ GP October 28, 2019 11:12 PM
    “The women in your church don’t talk?

YES THEY DO IN THE LADIES BIBLE STUDIES AND LADIES MEETINGS
    Like most Bible believing evangelical type churches “Plymouth Brethren interpret First Timothy 2:9–14 simply as is written…

This passage says
    Let the woman learn in silence with all subjection. But I suffer not a woman to teach, nor to usurp authority over the man, but to be in silence. For Adam was first formed, then Eve. And Adam was not deceived, but the woman being deceived was in the transgression…”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We see that you love to interpret literally and, hopefully, apply the instructions given in the New Testament to the ‘T’.

Now that makes for good rote learning like a veritable robot. But we wonder if you also strictly interpret and zealously apply similar clear instructions found in the Old Testament.

After all you cannot be a true-blooded Judeo-Christian of the Plymouth Brethren salad variety unless you adhere strictly to both the Mosaic and Pauline laws of indoctrination.

So here goes, Dr. GP:
    Dr. GP, do you follow to the letter of the law the instructions given at Leviticus (15: 19-22-The Uncleanness of Women):

When a woman has a discharge consisting of blood from her body, for seven days she will be unclean due to menstruation, and anyone who touches her will be unclean until evening.
    Anything on which she lies or sits during her menstruation will be unclean,…
    And anyone who touches her bed must wash his clothes and bathe with water, and he will be unclean until evening.
    Whoever touches any furniture on which she was sitting must wash his clothes and bathe with water, and he will be unclean until evening.

Of course you will avoid making – like having unprotected sex with a full-blown AIDS carrier- a direct response to the above.

Yes, go ahead and cuss the Bible illiterati and brimblers as you usually do after you have painted yourself in a literal corner of biblical confusion and contradiction.

34. @ Vincent Codrington October 29, 2019 9:13 AM

So what are you saying here, VC?
    That the Judeo-Christian bible should be interpreted within the cultural context of its time?

Just like the Egyptian Book of the Dead or the Bhagavad Gita?

And that the instructions of Yahweh according to Moses should not hold sway today?

Neither should the teachings of your man Jesus of turning the other cheek and forgiving 70 times 7?

After all, Christian Barbados still has capital punishment on its statute books and stealing a tin of corned beef and pack of eclipse biscuits is still a crime which can land a poor man in jail even if he is hiding a $7.99 nail clipper in his ‘holy’ pants pocket.

35. RE We see that you love to interpret literally and, hopefully, apply the instructions given in the New Testament to the ‘T’. Now that makes for good rote learning like a veritable robot.

WHEN YOU READ THE NEWSPAPER AND OTHER SOURCES OF INFORMATION DO YOU NOT INTERPRET LITERALLY. DOES THAT make for good rote learning like a veritable robot?

IF I SAID THAT MILLER IS DUNCY, DISOBEDIENT, DECIEVED, DIVERSE, & DIABOLICAL WOULD YOU NOT SAY, AND CORRECTLY SO, GP SAID THAT I WAS DUNCY, DISOBEDIENT, DECIEVED, DIVERSE, & DIABOLICAL? WOULD YOU NOT HAVE CORRECTLY AND LITERALLY QUOTED ME? DOES THAT make YOU A good rote learnER like a veritable robot?

Dr. GP, do you follow to the letter of the law the instructions given at Leviticus (15: 19-22-The Uncleanness of Women):

NO, I DONT. DO YOU?

I AM BOTH A FUNDAMENTALIST AND A DISPENSATIONALIST

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Miller

Many interventions back I advised you to leave this Sunday School Class. It is Tuesday and you are still disrupting the class with your religious books from a different place and time that have no meaning in Bajan cultural context.

37. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ My friend DpD aka de Ingrunt Word

Let me show you what “hatred” is.

All men are fallible and therefore, WHEN A MAN LEANS ON HIS OWN UNDERSTANDING OF A TOPIC IN THE BIBLE, unless it is informed by the Spirit, it can be wrong.

I decided to leave that whole paragraph AND NOT DELETE IT to write a corrected version to prove a point about our fallibility and how, over the course of time, we correct that which we would have written THAT WAS WRONG!

“Jesus Wept” barring us having a record of how long he wept, does not need much interpretation.

The Sage Annunaki has introduced an old Testament perspective of cleanliness of women from Leviticus and a practice which for a quasi nomadic people who, might not have had the equivalent of Maxi Pads in that day (by which I mean they might not have had cloths to use in the early cycle or as the cycle finished, were being prescribed what, for that time, was seen as hygienic.

The point I am making is that event at the epistemological antipodean of belief The Sage Annunaki conversed with Dr. GP as per the empirical evidence and study of the literature.

Now mind you, The Sage’s belief in the Holy Word is known BUT IT DOES NOT COMPLEXION HIS COMMENTARY.

Enter Grenville and Freedom.

Their IS NOT LIKE DESMOND TUTU, a disposition of christians to discourse The Word from the perspective of reasoned insights.

I mean look at the Sage, you could at least understand if he resorted to such a tactic.

So something goes off in your head DPD which says “this IS NOT based on any ecclesiastical discourse on their part”

Grenville Phillips is angry wit Dr GP AND SEEKS TO GET BACK AT HIM.

Grenville is not a bright man DPD and when he used the apostasy word he really does not know what it means and he really is trying to say that Dr. GP is to feel his anger, because he sided with me.

And because Grenville Phillips ‘ people abandoned him Grenville they who left him are apostates!

And Dr GP and practicers of apostasy!

Leh de ole man BREK dis down fuh you DPD

In simpler terms here is Grenville’s viewpoint

“apostasy – the state of having rejected your religious beliefs or your political party or a cause

(often in favor of opposing beliefs or causes) defection, renunciation
    rejection – the state of being rejected

Dr GP and most certainly Piece the Legend ARE SEEN AS THE TWO “HERETICS” (insofar as Grenville Phillip’s is a megalomaniac and sees himself as the Roman Catholic Church)

additionally AS ONE CONTINUES TO GOAD THE LITTLE MAN, it becomes clearer each minute that we two are seen as the source of this “apostasy” by the followers who have joined the PDP!

Now de ole man asks you to watch that Freedom is too simple a sidekick so in her arguments she is not really pushing the apostact angle live Granville is, entrapped as he in mentally by his members “abandoning his party WITHOUT cause” but this tergiversation, and abandonment, this desertion, and forsaking – ALL THIS IS DR. GP AND PIECE THE LEGEND’S FAULT.

Sidekick is vexed with the Blogmaster for not giving her Blog space heheheheheh

HATRED! I said that already didn’t I?

Tell me DPD what is Walter Blackman the Actuary doing here in this blog?

You, you, you understanding me now?

You can’t play chess can you?

38. John October 28, 2019 2:04 PM

Why would a person with faith have any need to argue over what he/she believes?

Get on with life!!

John October 28, 2019 2:50 PM

The genders are different, one bears children, the other doesn’t!!

They are unequal!!

Get over it!!

Here we have yet another BU man clearly trying to direct my thoughts, emotions, words and actions. Has he offered these exclamation pointed INSTRUCTIONS to any man who has here expressed his disagreement?

Let me assure you, sir, that I am indeed getting on with life – the life I have chosen for myself in my own way.

And as for getting over gender discrimination I say –

We are different but still human and therefore equal. What we should and should not be allowed to do should be based on our capabilities and not our gender.

The only capabilities I lost when I was carrying my son were physical. For example, I could not touch my toes. My brain capacity remained intact. So unless I was an aerobics instructor I don’t see how my being pregnant could have affected my ability to teach.

These old farts will try any argument, no matter how absurd, to keep awoman under foot.

What are you guys afraid of?

39. Whatever you guys are afraid of, I suggest YOU get over it!

40. Piece re “Jesus Wept” barring us having a record of how long he wept, does not need much interpretation.

NOT REALLY TRUE YOU KNOW

THOUGH THE SHORTEST VERSE IN THE WORD IT IS RIPE FOR EXEGESIS .
    I HAVE A REASONABLE PPT THEREON BUT I HAVE TO DO SOME MORE RESEARCH

THE BLOG WAS GOING ON QUIETLY AND AS WELL AS MIGHT HAVE BEEN EXPECTED
    I WAS IGNORING THE PRIME BIBLICAL ILLITERATE AC WHO HAS HOUNDED ME FROM SINCE SHE CAME ON BU.

I WAS CONVERSING WITH YOU JOHN AND VINCENT ONLY AND ONCE WITH SIMPLE WHEN OUT OF THE BLUE WE WERE ACCUSED OF Slithered into the Church and craftily justify their adulterous practises by consistently pointing to David’s adultery. They are careful not to identify the consequences of that action, only reassuring the gullible that David was a man after God’s own heart.

i HAD ALREADY CLEARLY SAID THAT DAVID WAS CONSIDERED TO BE A MAN AFTER GOD’S HEART BECAUSE HE CONFESSED HIS SINS WITH BATSHEBA AND HER HUSBAND ACCORDING TO THE TENET OF 1 JOHN 1:9. MY THEOLOGY WAS THEREFORE SOUND

THIS WAS THEN SAID The second is that until we have matured in our relationship with God, we may stumble – even often. But we do not embrace sin. Otherwise, we can become like Judas – someone who deceived himself.

I DID NOT ATTACK BACK BUT CITED THE SCRIPTURES FROM I JOHN 1 ABOUT DECEIT ABOUT HAVING THE SIN NATURE V8 AND COMMITTING ACTS OF SIN V 10
    I FURTHER CITED JOHN’S REMEDY FOR SIN AND INSTRUCTION ABOUT NOT SINNING
    MY THEOLOGY WAS THEREFORE AGAIN VERY SOUND

I AND YOU WERE AT THIS TIME MORE OR LESS CALLED APOSTATES AND FALSE TEACHERS

YOU WERE PROCLAIMED ” still redeemable” TO BE WITH very bad fruit AND encouraged to repent.

MAN I NEARLY BREAK MY BACK LAFFING CAUSE I WAS INNOCENT OF THE CHARGES

HE THEN CAME BACK IN THE DARK WHEN ALL WERE FAST ASLEEP AT October 28, 2019 12:26 AM TO CONTINUE HIS EQUALLY HILARIOUS RIDICULOUS TIRADE.

THE MAN AND HIS ARDENT AND FERVENT DISRUPTED THE BLOG AND WE ARE BLAMED
    YOU WILL NOTE I RESPOND TO THE TROUBLESOME MILLER & THE CURIOUS VINCENT WHEN THEY RAISE WORTHY POINTS AND QUESTIONS. I HAVE RESISTED THOSE WITH CLEAR UNBIBLICAL OPINION BY RESISTING THESE DEVILS BY IGNORING THEM

BUT THE WOULD BE LEADER OF BARBADOS MUST BE STAMPED OUT
    IF HE HAS TO REPLACE MIA, LET MIA STAY. WE KNOW MIA. HE , WE DO NOT KNOW.
    I CAN NOT AND WILL NOT TRUST A MAN THAT DOES NOT BELIEVE THAT ALL SCRIPTURE IS GOD BREATHED.

I CAN NOT AND WILL NOT TRUST A MAN THAT DOES NOT BELIEVE THIS MOST FUNDAMENTAL TRUTH OF THE SCRIPTURE

I BELIEVE IN SOLO BIBLIO I.E THAT THE BIBLE IS THE ONLY LEGITIMATE SOURCE FOR FAITH AND PRACTICE.

41. @ Vincent Codrington October 29, 2019 11:04 AM

What do you mean by “Bajan cultural context”?

Don’t you have in your Bajan cultural midst Hindus who control a significant slice of Bajan commercial business and Muslims who are following suit along with a growing Chinese influence of Confucianism?

The Bible was written within and for a Jewish culture. Not for copycat culturally-miscegenated Bajans.

The Constitution is primarily a compendium of secular-based values which ought to guide the mores of the country’s residents; not religious dogma determined by some concept of a god made in the image of a few men (and sometimes women).

There is only one type of glue which binds the many belief systems in Barbados together into one god under the Sun: The love and control over Money which translates into power over people.

“The World is my country, all mankind are my brethren, and to do good is my religion.” ~Thomas Paine

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, you prick boldly as is your strong persona re “You can’t play chess can you?”.🤣

Note dear comrade that you didn’t hypothesize: you don’t PLAY chess do you or even you haven’t played chess in years have you… but boldly when to the max!

All that to say, many of us can discern or read the ‘Sanskrit’ and translate to English (so to phrase the thoufht)… you are a brazen, A type persona who does NOT back down when attacked however you appear to want others to be ever passive in the face of your smack downs… why friend, WHY!

As I recall Phillips’s reference to apostasy was contained in a post (about 3 over time I believe) ever he CLEARLY in my interpretation defined the apostate as a man who has a displeadurable disposition to us BU ‘parishioners’ which is totally at odds with the Christian ethos he offers so vigorously.

Did he offer that opinion because of the criticisms sent his way by the person he called at apostate… maybe … but it’s his opinion to give as is yours about him.

Should I deeply question YOUR motives for attacking him about his religious beliefs..or should I simply determine if your broadsides is validly based on some inaccuracy….

Beat up the man politically all you want because he does deserves that but on this matter you are deep in quicksand …no solid ground, my bro.

Anyhow, I gome.

Oh BTW, YES I do play chess.

43. RE The Bible was written within and for a Jewish culture. Not for copycat culturally-miscegenated Bajans.

WHY THEN DID THE JEW PAUL CITE THE OT SCRIPTURES IN PREACHING THE GOSPEL TO THE GENTILES?

IS THIS WHY IT IS SAID THAT THE OT IS IN THE NEW REVEALED
    AND THAT THE NT IS IN THE OLD CONCEALED

WHY DOST THOU TAKE SO LONG TO LEARN SIR?

44. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Excuse the hurried missed spellings….

45. So GP:

I noted that your opinion is that women are not to teach men, and you based your opinion on Paul’s letter to his student, Timothy.

I further stated: “My position is that this is Paul’s personal opinion formed from his cultural tradition. GP deems this a strict non-negotiable instruction. The consequences of his stubborn refusal at honest discussion is that he, and those who believe like him, try to keep women in what they think should be their place.”

You then responded:

“I HAVE NOT SEEN THIS VIEW EXPRESSED IN THE WORD OR IN ANY SERIOUS BIBLE BELIEVING CHURCH I HAVE ATTENDED OR BEEN APART OF. HAVE I SEEN SUCH A VIEW PRACTICED.
    YOU HAVE NO FACTS TO SUPPORT YOUR POSITION. YOU CAN LIE LIKE A HORSE CAN TROT”

I asked you: “Do you believe that it is a woman’s place to teach men?”

You replied : NO.

So how do you reason that lies have been told?

Further, when Priscilla taught the mighty Apollos, was she disobedient to Paul, God, both, or none? Scripture provided bellow for your convenience.

“Now a certain Jew named Apollos, born at Alexandria, an eloquent man and mighty in the Scriptures, came to Ephesus. This man had been instructed in the way of the Lord; and being fervent in spirit, he spoke and taught accurately the things of the Lord, though he knew only the baptism of John. So he began to speak boldly in the synagogue. When Aquila and Priscilla heard him, they took him aside and explained to him the way of God more accurately.” (Acts 18:24-26)

46. Piece re “Jesus Wept” barring us having a record of how long he wept, does not need much interpretation.
    THE NT STATES THAT JESUS “CRIED” THREE TIMES
    THE GREEK WORD USED IN JOHN 11:35 IS A DIFFERENT WORD THAN IN THE OTHER CASES AND AS USED I THINK IT IS IN V33

47. @ GP October 29, 2019 12:16 PM
    “WHY THEN DID THE JEW PAUL CITE THE OT SCRIPTURES IN PREACHING THE GOSPEL TO THE GENTILES?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Instead of travelling from Damascus to Corinth on donkey back and in a ‘moses-like’ canoe he should have borrowed Noah’s ark and sailed all the way to the Tundra to convert the Eskimos or should have taken another ark to the Himalayas and preached to those polyandrous societies to stop them from practicing a female version of old King Solomon.

Where were the Pauline teachings to the gentiles when the many cargoes of blacks were taken from the West African coast and dumped on many a Caribbean plantation of exploitation in all forms?

48. G Phillip
    Don’t waste your preciuos time with GP
    Jesus had to battle with those. Zealots types in his day
    Jesus always found a way to answer them
    Unless there Righteousness exceeds that of the Scribes and Pharisees there is no place for them in the kingdom
    It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for them to enter the kingdom of heaven

49. @ Mariposa October 29, 2019 1:02 PM

Wish to support you in that analogy of equating that Dr. GP to the Scribes and Pharisees described in those tales about Jesus.

And just to prove your point, the eponymous Jesus had the perfect word to describe people like the GPs: “Hypocrites”.

50. GRENVILLE

RE Further, when Priscilla taught the mighty Apollos, was she disobedient to Paul, God, both, or none? Scripture provided bellow for your convenience.

DID SHE DO THIS IN OPEN FORUM?

READ THE TEXT DUMMY READ THE TEXT! YOU SOUND LIKE A LIKKLE CHILD IN SUNDAY SCHOOL.

When Aquila and Priscilla heard him, they took him aside and explained to him the way of God more accurately.”

BOTH Aquila and Priscilla took him aside IN THEIR HOME. THIS IS DONE IN MANY BAPTIST AND BRETHREN CHURCHES TODAY STILL.

YOU ARE PICKING NITS. SOME ONE NEEDS TO TAKE YOU ASIDE AND TEACH YOU TOO

I AM WELL AWARE OF THE TEXT OF ACTS 18 HAVE A GREAT PPT ON THE CHAPTER

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply