The recent announcement that Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland was appointed Executive Chairman of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Board triggered the interest of the blogmaster. Many in the know immediately wondered about the correctness of the decision appointing Minister Dwight Sutherland’s wife to the onerous task of leading the Board. Time will tell if she is able to improve QEH operations.

What the blogmaster found interesting was the accompanying statement from Minister of Health and Wellness Lt Col Jeffrey Bostic explained in the following BT newspaper extract.

At the end of August, Government announced that a mutual agreement had been reached for the separation of former CEO Dr Dexter James from his role at the 600-bed institution. Dr James had been on extended sick leave since February. Director of Support Services Louise Bobb has been acting in that senior position since that announcement.

Readers will recall that days before the last general election former CEO Dexter James’ $257, 129.64 contract was renewed  for 4 years although the contract had 18 months to run. Former Minister Boyce ensured his golf buddy a sweet deal.

Minister Bostic is a minister in a government that promotes transparency, however, he neglected to apprise the public of the several thousand dollars taxpayers paid to James to permit a non litigious exit. The majority of Barbadians are numb to what has transpired in this one example and it makes the blogmaster very angry. How is this happening and at the same time Barbadians are being asked to hold tight?

Successive governments have mismanaged the QEH. Despite the band-aiding by DLP and BLP talking heads, what cannot be refuted is the perennial unavailability of supplies at the QEH resulting in the inability to deliver efficient health care. Individuals who can afford it will access private  health care. The upside is that some doctors in private practice are laughing all the way to the bank.

The  partisans in this forum will blame the Bees or Dees. What these partisans are blind to is both political parties continue to engage in practices that protect the political class. Unfortunately the bidding of political parties has forced the QEH and other institutions in the country to the ‘knees’. How can a people boast of being highly literate yet succumb to partisan beliefs on every issue? What is the criteria for selecting Board members and senior management? On what basis are contracts for services to the hospital issued? Is it based on a transparent tender or RFP policy?

Barbadians were promised better with the transition to Board management at the QEH. Instead there appears to have been a deterioration. The physical plant is embarrassing to look at, constant shortage of supplies compromising health delivery, low employee moral,  corrupt selection process of suppliers, inefficient decision making by administration.

Sensible Barbadians must ask the question- if we cannot efficiently manage our primary health care facility what does it say about our skill set as an educated people?

Were recommendations contained in the Richie Haynes report implemented?

216 responses to “QEH on Death’s Bed”

1. If this is true, how is any of it helping the suffering pensioners.

“The Mia Mottley led administration restored government pensions last month but willfully held on to the arrears that Ryan Straughn said would’ve been retroactively paid. Will the PM step in and order this money to be paid. Pensions that go through the banks are being held by those institutions for monies owed while interest is being added daily. Pensioners are still suffering. Mia, you said that you care. How can you care while we are suffering. Pay us for the months owed. Stop rewarding those who squat and pay those that served.”

2. @ Sargeant October 18, 2019 9:34 AM

” I keep hearing about people needing medical procedures having to wait interminably only to jump to the head of the queue if they can produce the fees that those Doctors demand, the Doctors then use a public hospital and associated personnel to perform what is essentially a private medical transaction while some others die on the vine.”

I have been hearing the same news also. Seems that Barbados is plagues with two sets of parasites : Lawyers and Physicians( medical doctors); between these two sets of leeches a body is easily drained of blood

3. @ David October 18, 2019 12:14 PM

I am speaking under correction: I was under the impression that he was called upon to resign because of his age and the executive bit was introduced as a way to reduce criticism of him.

4. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@DavidOctober 18, 2019 7:15 AM “She took over from Griffith at Family Planning?”

But the Barbados Family Planning Association is a small NGO, not anywhere the size and complexity of the QEH.

5. I did not want to laugh, but that is the gist of it Robert…the situation is untenable, something has to give….. Human Rights are being violated in the name of greed.

….it’s a horrible situation and all being perpetrated by these low crawling negros who were EDUCATED at the EXPENSE OF TAXPAYERS.

AGAIN…human rights organizations are needed on the ground in Barbados.

6. @Dr. Lucas

Arnie Walters was appointed Executive Chairman by David Thompson.

7. I know the observation will not move any of them, but pensioners have not been able to buy medication, it will lead to their deaths and cause much more suffering to those who will live longer than others…..QEH is no longer an option..so what then..

and no one wants to hear shite about the economy is now stable…yall are the ones destabilized it with ya corruption and greed to begin with…save the bullshit excuses.

human rights violations…it is very clear..

8. Bajan in NY October 18, 2019 11:23 AM

“Doing a good job by setting up a company to sell items to the QEH at double the price he purchased them for?”

As I said I was not in the know/loop about the internal working of the Q.E.H. Why isn’t your assertion common knowledge to the populace at large? I go by what is in the news.

9. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Bajan in NYOctober 18, 2019 11:23 AM “Why you believe he went on sick leave the day after he was forced to attend parliament?”

I wonder which doctor wrote the sick leave certificate?

I worked for 43 years and 3 months, took 16 days sick leave in total. iI am early 70 now. Still not sick. Spent a couple of hours working the land this morning. Surely health professions exercise as regularly as i do and eat as well as I do. So why would they need extended sick leave? If they can no longer do the job why can’t they just quit, and save the WE THE TAXPAYERS A WHOLE HEAP OF MONEY?

Are we being deceived by the political class and their associates.

10. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WURA-WAR-on-UOctober 18, 2019 11:30 AM “and of course they should have been able to prove that since they know it has been happening for decades, they said it started under Taitt a then minister of health.”

And where is he now?

Did he even make it to three score and ten?

11. And in the interim, some doctors, nurses and other public servants are not being paid for months. But are expected to show up for work daily with a smile on their face.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

In its current state, the QEH has been the result of systematic neglect for many years. This we know. At the helm of any improvements that could have kept our loan and largest health care facility in prime condition were several ministers from both political parties and their subsequent leaders pacifying their converts with good sounding speeches and empty largesse. These persons in key roles had the power to make or break the QEH and decided that break would be a better justification to build a new facility instead of renovating the current one. In the land of the not so blind and actionless, all hospitals undergo necessary improvements and refurbishment in accordance with planning initiatives and set Time Frames. Since the QEH needs money to run it efficiently, and it also needs money to keep it maintained without having to deal with any deleterious changes neglect tends to bring in the proceeding years, it is safe to say that no CEO or his management of the QEH can be faulted for whatever condition the QEH finds itself in. These persons would have pointed out or even provided a plan for corrective means to target specifics in a hostile environment of budget constraints and restraints. The environment at this moment is even more stringent unless the plan of the Mottley crew is to make the QEH the main focus for financial support so that the new CEO is made to look good and no one can question the obvious nepotistic displays this administration is so heavily engaged in. Your thoughts?

13. “And where is he now?

Did he even make it to three score and ten?”

they don’t care, while they are alive, they are uppity, arrogant and tief…then croak….and the low crawling surviving crooks just REPEAT…a never ending CYCLE of disenfranchising the majority population.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

@RobertL
    “I go by what is in the news.”
    Dear Sir, you appear like an intelligent person. Likely the best news source you can get is Loop. Local media is a joke, they rely solely on being fed news items. And then regurgitate them to suit. Social media has an abundance of news sources, but they include a lot of fake/inaccurate news items, which get recirculated by sometimes usually credible sources whose attention span is 5 sec and then “resend” “retweet” “forward” and however they disseminate information. They do not spend the time to get to the source.

As an example I posted earlier about Rihanna being on the Jamaica $500 bill
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EGhf71XXkAYfnfC?format=jpg&name=medium

This is a fake. The originating account closed. BUT, that didn’t prevent thousands from retweeting it.

15. @ David October 18, 2019 12:33 PM

Noted.

16. Truthfully the QEH is an outdated hospital with overworked and underpaid staff
    Would not be surprised if much of its inventory goes out door by mischievous hands which would be easy to carry out because of a lack of techological inventory contol

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Robert Lucas

Waru answered your question. Apparently, this information has sour a large number of people according to my brother. The adverse effect from it is that Mottley is doing what Mottley is accustom to doing i.e., looking out for her people at the expense of the larger body of people. The whole ”many hands make light work” shite talk is to ensure mutiny is kept at bay. We do not need two ministers in one ministry. We certainly did not need the splitting of ministries either, which I see as a futile exercise in folly but a key component in her many hands intended to facilitate her main interest and people. One would think that besides the focus of stabilizing the economy, stability by now would start to show in key ministries dealing with domestic and infrastructural matters. It has been 500 days, a knighthood, constitutional changes, tax breaks and exemptions, and having key persons in money earning positions. When will the people get theirs?

18. @ NorthernObserver October 18, 2019 1:01 PM

“@RobertL
    “I go by what is in the news.”

Let me expand on the above. I was referring to local politics. I am not privy to the inner workings of either party. Indeed, I consider both to be a bane on the body politic of this country and I try to steer clear of them and the respective supporters

19. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine October 18, 2019 1:13 PM

Thanks. The knighthood you are referring to, is her dad’s. A man who should have been disbarred after being given twenty -four hours to leave Bermuda or face the full weight of the law.

20. “Since the QEH needs money to run it efficiently, and it also needs money to keep it maintained without having to deal with any deleterious changes neglect tends to bring in the proceeding years, it is safe to say that no CEO or his management of the QEH can be faulted for whatever condition the QEH finds itself in”

You are being naive
    Money does not make something run efficiently (think about a gas guzzling american car, money is needed to buy fuel to drive it, but that does not make it efficient). Efficiency is concerned with the removal of waste and the optimisation of resources. An efficient QEH will need less money. Efficiency is the responsibility of the CEO and senior management.

21. Oh dear, vapidity maintains its grip on the blog. Fake WhatsApp messages are now considered reference material for advancing and argument.🤔

22. RE robert lucasOctober 18, 2019 12:20 PM

@ Sargeant October 18, 2019 9:34 AM

” I keep hearing about people needing medical procedures having to wait interminably only to jump to the head of the queue if they can produce the fees that those Doctors demand, the Doctors then use a public hospital and associated personnel to perform what is essentially a private medical transaction while some others die on the vine.”

I have been hearing the same news also. Seems that Barbados is plagues with two sets of parasites : Lawyers and Physicians( medical doctors); between these two sets of leeches a body is easily drained of blood

FOR THE SECOND TIME…….

ASK YOURSELF WHEN DID THIS SYSTEM START?
    WHY DID THIS SYSTEM START?
    DOES IT HELP THE POPULACE GENERALLY? HOW SO?
    HOW WILL YOU CHANGE THIS SYSTEM?
    PLEASE AMUSE ME WITH YOUR ANSWER?

HOW WILL EITHER OF THE TWO OF YOU FIX THIS SITUATION?
    ONE OF THE JOYS OF BU IS READING STUFF WRITTEN BY FOLK THAT CLEARLY DONT KNOW ALL THE FACTS. OR WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT

23. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Robert Lucas

Barbados has great respect for status quo thieves and vagabonds. Did a former cunt for Prime Minister not call two schemers and money embezzlers favourite sons of the soil in spite of their illegal activities? Did that insufferable prick for a former PM not embrace another unethical rat with advice, who continued as Speaker of the house after withholding client’s funds? And do we not have now two Lawyers in Rogue Works lineup, three even, on the receiving end of videos accusing them all of performing underhanding practices? What are they doing? Continuing with their ministerial portfolios as usual. We like it so.

24. @GP
    I don’t care when it started
    I don’t know why it started
    I don’t think it helps the general populace, but it certainly helps the doctors
    I leave it to you to propose how you would change the system since you were in the belly of the beast
    I hope you have been amused

25. SARGEANT

YES I HAVE BEEN AMUSED —VERY AMUSED

I STUDIED AND DID MY INTERNSHIP AT QEH AND I UNDERSTAND HOW THE LISTS WERE MADE
    I CAN TELL YOU THAT IT HELPED PATIENTS, IT HELPED IN TRAINING OF STUDENTS, INTERNS AND JUNIOR DOCTORS AND THUS THE POPULACE BECAUSE WITHOUT THE SYSTEM THERE WOULD BE NO SURGERY AT ALL

SIMILAR SYSTEMS OPERATE ELSEWHERE IN THE WORLD

I DONT PLAN TO CHANGE ANYTHING
    I AM HERE IN FL RELAXING, AND ROCKING AND MOCKING THOSE LIKE YOU WHO DO NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT WHAT YOU ARE TALKING
    YOU DO NOT KNOW ANYTHING , EXCEPT WHAT “YOU HEARD” FROM SOME ONE OF YOUR ILK

RE YOU don’t think it helps the general populace? WHAT WAS IT YOU THOUGHT WITH?

26. @ GP October 18, 2019 2:06 PM

“I have been hearing the same news also. Seems that Barbados is plagues with two sets of parasites : Lawyers and Physicians( medical doctors); between these two sets of leeches a body is easily drained of blood.”

You being a medical man had no alternative but to reply. i deliberately used the word leech literally and figuratively( in the former case the use of leeches connotes with bleeding of the sick in former times, whereas it can also be used to described money being drained from a person). The juxtaposition with lawyers was sure to result in a response. You have not disappointed me.

“ONE OF THE JOYS OF BU IS READING STUFF WRITTEN BY FOLK THAT CLEARLY DONT KNOW ALL THE FACTS. OR WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT.”

I have admitted not knowing all the facts. Indeed, I have requested knowledge of the circumstances from quite a few of the bloggers. Some of the bloggers have pointed me in the right direction.

27. WHEN I SPEAK IN PUBLIC AND WHEN I SAY SOMETHING ON BU ………I KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT
    I DONT JUST EFFLUX FROM MY SHELVES OF HOUSTON,

I HAVE READ ALL THE CRITICISMS HERE TODAY, AND HAVE SEEN ONLY ONE POST OF MERIT OR POSITIVE SUGGESTION

28. RE You being a medical man had no alternative but to reply. THAT IS A NON SEQUITUR

YOUR USE OF LEACH IS MISPLACED

AS A GP, I WAS ABLE TO USE MY KNOWLEDGE OF THE SYSTEM TO GET HELP FOR MY PATIENTS BY PERHAPS THE BEST GENERAL SURGEON IN BARBADOS WHO WAS DEFINITELY NOT A LEECH, BECAUSE IT DID NOT COST THE PATIENTS AND THEY GOT ON THE LIST MUCH QUICKER THAN I EVEN THOUGHT THEY WOULD

I KNOW THAT YOU admitted not knowing all the facts, BUT THE BLOGGERS .HERE DONT KNOW ABOUT THE ISSUES WHICH SARGEANT RAISED AND HAS SINCE CONFESSED HIS IGNORANCE THEREOF

BUT YOU MUST AGREE THAT “ONE OF THE JOYS OF BU IS READING STUFF WRITTEN BY FOLK THAT CLEARLY DONT KNOW ALL THE FACTS. OR WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT.”

THERE ARE SEVERAL REASONS WHY FOLK ARE ON WAITING LISTS AND IT IS MAINLY LACK OF ANAESTHESIOLOGISTS OR MATERIALS, NOT GREED BY SURGEONS .

JUNIOR DOCTORS AND HOSPITAL STAFF CANT CHARGE PATIENTS FOR PROCEEDURES

AND THE COUNTRY DOES NOT PAY SENIOR CONSULTING STAFF FOR OVER TIME OR FOR TEACHING/TRAINING STUDENTS OR JUNIOR DOCTORS.

BE CAREFUL WHEN YOU LISTEN TO THE DEPRAVED TALKING ABOUT STUFF THEY DO NOT KNOW

IT IS BETTER TO ASK QUESTIONS FROM THOSE WHO KNOW

29. ALSO PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT THERE WAS A GOOD REASON WHY I ASKED THESE QUESTIONS

WHEN DID THIS SYSTEM START?
    WHY DID THIS SYSTEM START?
    DOES IT HELP THE POPULACE GENERALLY? HOW SO?
    HOW WILL YOU CHANGE THIS SYSTEM?

THESE ARE VERY IMPORTANT CONSIDERATIONS

30. @ GP

I respect your knowledge . I haven’t clue about how or when the problems started. To be honest ,like john public I haven’t given any thought to the operations of the QEH. As a matter of fact having lived in Trinidad, I can say when I was there, the Q.E.H was way better. I can’t really say that I have had any major problem with Q.E.H/ I always take a cross-word puzzle to fill out and while away the time.

31. @ Mariposa October 18, 2019 1:02 PM
    “Truthfully the QEH is an outdated hospital with overworked and underpaid staff..”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

QEH outdated my donkey! So too then is the monarchy!

How can a building completed in the 1960’s during the reign of an existing monarch be deemed to be “outdated”?

There are buildings ‘housing’ hospitals in the UK which are 4 to 5 times the age of your QEH.

What is required is a commitment to a well-managed programme of cleaning and preventative maintenance with the necessary upgrades to reflect improvements in technology and with a well-planned extension to make better use of the site of its former location on Jemmott’s Lane.

This would require a political will geared to improve the health of the nation and not driven by thirst for kickbacks from building and supply contracts with a demand for payment written in the following code of corrupt officials: “Where is my cut?”

32. The issue of the waiting list for surgeries at QEH is compromised by the lack of supplies. Patients that can afford it are encouraged to attend the doctors with access to private clinics. We have the rediculous situation where doctors at the QEH have to buy supplies if they want to satisfy a patient.

33. @ GP October 18, 2019 3:40 PM

“AND THE COUNTRY DOES NOT PAY SENIOR CONSULTING STAFF FOR OVER TIME OR FOR TEACHING/TRAINING STUDENTS OR JUNIOR DOCTORS.
    BE CAREFUL WHEN YOU LISTEN TO THE DEPRAVED TALKING ABOUT STUFF THEY DO NOT KNOW
    IT IS BETTER TO ASK QUESTIONS FROM THOSE WHO KNOW”.

Points noted. Medical people should make public these facts . What more can I say. It looks like I will have to with draw the juxtaposition of medical folks with those scumbag lawyers.

34. David

This is a continuation of what was happening before, now by a ‘new’ government which you supported.

And this discourse will follow a well-established route.

Its logical result will coincide with the resurrection of the dead DLP and its elevation into office again.

Marginal figures around the DLP are already waiting at first slip to catch the fickle Bajans. They well know that this is the best time to join that party as they have a better chance within depleted ranks – the rise of even worse kakistocrats.

Then the cyclic process will continue all over again.

Crapo smoke yuh pipe!

35. Barbados reaches debt restructuring deal with creditors

October 18, 2019 | Daniel Bases
    Deal sealed during a meeting on the sidelines of the IMF/WB meetings in Washington
    Asset ManagementDebtBondsCapital MarketsCorporate & Sovereign StrategyDebentureEconomy & PolicyFixed IncomeFundsLoansBarbados

Barbados agreed to settle with international creditors nearly a year-and-a-half after defaulting on its debt under an arrangement that includes plans to issue new bonds, the two sides said in a joint statement on Friday.

Creditors, led by Eaton Vance Management, Greylock Capital Management, Teachers Advisors, and Guyana Bank for Trade and Industry, will take a 26.3 percent cut on the aggregate sum of the original principle and 14 months worth of past due and accrued interest as of October 1, 2019.

Barbados had previously settled with domestic debt holders on a restructuring.

“We met with them and shook hands here in DC. This took time but it was generally a good faith negotiation,” AJ Mediratta, president of Greylock Capital Management told LatinFinance.

“This was the last of piece of the puzzle for them and so what’s good for the government is going to be good for us,” he said.

Barbados Central Bank Governor Cleviston Haynes, who was at the meeting, could not be immediately reached for comment.

Barbados will issue new bonds of at least $500 million that mature in 2029 and carry a 6.5% coupon. “The bonds have been structured with eligibility for J.P. Morgan Emerging Market Bond Index (EMBI) inclusion in mind,” the statement said. The new bond will have a five-year grace period.

Creditors will receive an upfront cash payment of $7.5 million at the closing to those participating in the exchange offer. In addition, bondholders will get $32.5 million paid out in the form of Past Due Interest (PDI) bonds with a fixed annual coupon of 6.5%. These PDI bonds will amortize $30 million in October 2020 and have a final maturity in February 2021.

The balance of the restructuring will be capitalized by the new bonds maturing in 10 years.

The new bond will be exchanged for the defaulted dollar denominated debt, which includes the 7.80% 2019’s, the 7.25% 2021’s, the 7% 2022’s, the 6.625% 2035’s as well as a floating-rate loan that was due for payout in 2019.

The new bonds will have a five-year grace period on repayments of original principal, with semi-annual principal amortizations starting in April 2025 through the remaining term of the bonds.

The debt restructuring agreement includes a natural disaster clause, that “will enable the government to capitalize interest and defer principle maturities due on the new bonds for two years” in the event it is affected by natural disasters that would be covered by its catastrophe risk insurance policy.

Haynes, who took part on Thursday in a LatinFinance roundtable of central bankers on the sidelines of the IMF/World Bank annual meetings, said the island was in an economic transition, affected by external elements such as the UK exit from Europe as well as climate change, which has disrupted its main industry, tourism.

Barbados is working to reinvigorate the economy and bring down its debt-to-GDP ratio to 60 percent by 2033. It is currently working under an International Monetary Fund-led agreement that will provide $290 million in loans over four years.

© 2019 Latin American Financial Publications, Inc.

36. Well, the naysayers who have long argued that a strategic default (SD) would make the sky fall in will now have 20/20 vision.

Notwithstanding, we’re not out of the woods by a long shot. For long will we be in a darker and darker place, guaranteed.

37. There gine be naff 20/20 vision gine forward. You ain’t see naffin yet. Watch muh!🖐🏾🤣🤔

38. @Pacha

We have to find a way to break free.

https://youtu.be/WUOtCLOXgm8

39. “Notwithstanding, we’re not out of the woods by a long shot. For long will we be in a darker and darker place, guaranteed.”

That is what most are not understanding and the island got to that place because of two CORRUPT GOVERNMENTS…that should NEVER BE FORGOTTEN…and the last remaining one should be kicked the hell out of parliament.

40. David

That will be nearly impossible. Systems of government don’t follow that trajectory. Once they have reached this stage they tend to continue to slide.

In any event, there are no underlying factors supporting your ‘hopefulness’.

41. I guess something better than nothing
    But going forward i dont see much light at the end of the tunnel outside more revolving debt fueled by borrowing
    The long and short of what has occured now rest on govt to atrract enough investment on our shores to help shoulder the debt
    Presently barbadians are taxed to the max and unless govt has a for sure plan to live up to expectations with external creditors
    The deal in itself would be just as good as nothing
    Waiting to see how govt would achieve the max goal of this deal without having strong and reliable investment to pull the debt laden wagon
    A year has already gone by and the lingering thought of growth has yet to be accomplished

42. ROBERT

I HAVE THE UTMOST RESPECT FOR YOU BECAUSE OF YOUR ORIGINS (VERY CLOSE TO MINE), YOUR SCHOLARSHIP, YOUR ACHIEVEMENTS AND ATTEMPTS TO IMPROVE AGRICULTURE AND FOOD SCIENCE IN BARBADOS, AND THE FACT THAT YOU HAVE SURVIVED AFTER SUFFERING FOR EXCELLING IN DOING SO, AND FOR NOT BEING PART OF THE SO CALLED ELITE, AND FOR STANDING UP . I HAVE BEEN THROUGH MUCH OF WHAT YOU HAVE.

I THOROUGHLY ENJOY YOUR SCIENTIFIC CONTRIBUTIONS HERE. BECAUSE OF HER ACCURACY.IF I QUESTION YOU ITS BECAUSE I AM ASKING YOU TO GIVE SOMETHING I BELIEVED YOU FORGOT TO INCLUDE

DONT GET INTO THE MUD WITH SOME OF THE MORONS ON THE ISLAND AND SOME WHO COME HERE TO SPEW THEIR FAECOLITHS.

QEH WAS OPENED IN 1964.

IN 1967 IT STARTED ON THE ROAD TO BE A TEACHING HOSPITAL WITH THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE EASTERN CARRIBBEAN SCHEME, WHEREBY FINAL YEAR UWI MEDICAL STUDENTS COULD DO THERE FINAL YEAR IN BARBADOS (AND TRINIDAD)
    IN 1978 THIS WAS EXPANDED TO ACCOMMODATE STUDENTS FOR THE FINAL TWO YEARS OF THEIR CLINICAL TRAINING

MANY CONCESSIONS WERE MADE TO CONSULTANTS TO FACILITATE THIS.
    THIS BENEFITTED THE POPULACE BECAUSE IT ALLOWED ADDITIONAL SPECIALTIES TO BE ADDED TO THE SERVICES ALREADY OFFERED ON THE ISLAND

THIS BENEFITTED THE POPULACE BECAUSE IT ALLOWED US TO HAVE EXPERTISE NOT PREVIOUSLY AVAILABLE ON THE ISLAND SUCH THAT BY THE 80’S WE STARTED THE RENAL UNIT AND OPEN HEART SURGERY

THE GOVERNMENT SPECIALISTS COMPLIMENTED THOSE SENT DOWN FROM MONA TO TEACH AND TRAIN OUR STUDENTS, TRAIN OUR JUNIOR DRS IN DIPLOMA OR SUBSPECIALTIES AND 4 YEAR RESIDENCIES IN OBS & GYNAE, OPTHALMOLOGY, PEADIATRICS ETC.

THIS ALLOWED A REDUCTION OF THE BRAIN DRAIN THAT WOULD HAVE OCCURED SUCH THAT NOW WE HAVE A LARGE NUMBER OF DRS ON THE ISLAND.

THE HOSPITAL PLANT UNDERWENT MANY CHANGES AS A RESULT. FOR EXAMPLE THE ORIGINAL VERY WIDE CORRIDORS, WERE CONVERTED TO OFFICES FOR TEACHING STAFF ETC

CONSULTANT SURGEONS ARE REASONABLY ALLOWED TO HAVE A FEW PRIVATE PATIENTS ON THE LIST.
    THIS ALLOWED STUDENTS AND JUNIOR DRS TO SEE CASES WE MIGHT NOT OTHERWISE HAD SEEN

ONLY MORONS WHOSE BRAINS HAVE BEEN FROZEN BY THE COLD FOR YEARS, AND SOME LOCAL SCUM CANT SEE HOW THIS HAS BENEFITED THE POPULACE

WHAT IS BETTER TO REVERT TO THE RELATIVELY LITTLE THAT WAS OFFERED AT THE OLD GENERAL HOSPITAL OR THE 1964 QEH OR HAVE WHAT CAME AFTERWARDS?

AS A STUDENT I DROVE IN A CAR TO GALL HILL HEALTH CENTER WITH PROF WALROND TO SEE SURGICAL PATIENTS
    AND STOOD OPPOSITE HIM FOR HOURS IN EMERGENCY SURGERIES AT NIGHT.

ALL DOCTORS ARE NOT SAINTS OR PERFECT, AND THE OPERATION OF THE QEH WAS CERTAINLY IN THE LATE 70’S AND 80’S MUCH BETTER THAN IT WAS WHEN IT WAS RAPIDLY EXPANDING AND LED BY JAMES WILLIAMS AND NEVILLE MILLINGTON.

I HAVE TAUGHT BASIC SCIENCES AT A FEW MED SCHOOLS, BUT I HAVE NOT MET THERE ANY DRS OF THE CALIBRE OF THOSE WHO TAUGHT ME AT UWI AT MONA OR QEH

THOSE WHO DO NOT KNOW THE HISTORY OF WHAT WE HAVE, AND HOW THE POLITICIANS HAVE MESSED IT UP AND CONTINUE TO DO SHOULD SIT DOWN AND SHUT UP

WHAT ABOUT DOCTORS WHO DO LIST CASES WHEN THEY ARE ON CALL DUTY, TO PUSH FORWARD THE WORK?
    DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA WHEN YOU HAVE BEEN HOLDING RETRACTORS OR OPERATING ALL DAY, AND THEN WHEN ON CALL DUTY YOU PUT IN TIME DOING CASES TO PUSH FORWARD THE WORK

MillerOctober 18, 2019 3:58 PM………..WELL SAID. AS TRUE AS JOHN 3:16

RE The issue of the waiting list for surgeries at QEH is compromised by the lack of supplies AND LACK OF ANAESTHESIOLOGISTS. Patients that can afford it are encouraged to attend the doctors with access to private clinics.

IT IS A WAY TO GET ON THE OPERATING LIST. IT DOES NOT MEAN THAT ALL PATIENTS WHO GET ON THE LIST THIS WAY, PAY FOR THEIR SURGERY. THEY MAY ONLY PAY A CONSULTING FEE. I KNOW FOR SURE THAT PROF WALROND DID NOT CHARGE THE PATIENTS I SENT HIM IN THIS WAY

43. Don’t mind them pretending like they are doing the people a favor..it is the PEOPLE WHO WILL SUFFER UNDER AUSTERITY…it is the people who will suffer under the new agreement to pay creditors….another recession has always been expected.

https://www.cnbc.com/2019/10/16/global-economy-awfully-high-chance-of-economic-recession-moodys-says.html?fbclid=IwAR3MDcZqkjeheXYWc9HEXBvarIY6NgpKXvdlASRTa1BZgc0T8lQJ7gp_6ZA

44. David

Indeed, we may have to face other rounds of strategic defaults over the coming 3 or 4 years. These tend to happen in pairs. Of course, the models anticipate this. Even the terms of the settlement seem to speak to such a possibility or at least more rough seas ahead, it appears.

We are still expecting a 2007/2008 type, but deeper, recession in source markets by the end of the first quarter 2020.

Should that happen, the possibility of revisited terms will be more likely if government continues present policy.

45. Pacha…now ya see how stupid yardfowls are, they are stupid Enuff…and that is DESPITE all the information available right at their FINGERTIPS…

46. Glad to hear some headway has been made on the foreign debt all be it only $500 million so far. After 18 months what we have is new bonds coming out at 6.5% that replace the old ones at roughly 7.25% on average. This along with some debt forgiveness thrown in. Let’s hope at the end we are told the total annual debt load post restructuring, as compared to that prior to it. Also await the total annual repayment total after the 5 year honeymoon period compared with the old annual payment amount. After all we need to see what was the bottom line saving by the great White Oak et all. Will not however hold my breath for this data.

Basically we still are going to be faced with the need for austerity going forward and we all have to accept that.

We shall now await the opinion of the rating agencies as to whether they see this as being sufficient to obtain an upgrade. Hopefully they will and the long haul of recovery will start.

47. I do not anticipate govt wanting to straddle the default debt fence again
    I do envision clauses with heavy penalties written into this agreement which would make it an almost impossibility for govt to default but in the event such should happen govt would find itself totally shut of any financial market seeking help
    Barbadians cannot be assured that this deal would accomplished much in its effort of paying debt when all takes into consideration a global performance and its impact on small island nations plus a nation whose produces nothing

48. Maripokey

You are one of the people who were wrong about this SD. You thought that the sky would fall in.

Regardless to the severity of penalties, should a deep recession hit the possibility of another round of renegotiations will increase.

Of course, this is conjecture on our part. But you should not seek comfort for a range of mainstream economist types are now also expecting a recession and the leading indicators point in that direction. We have been forecasting such 18 months ago.

49. The sky did not fall but govt got little of nothing to cheer about
    and once again the bond holders takes a fall

50. Also take note that the gov. of the Central Bank took a “muted”postion after the agreement
    I guess he must first take his marching orders before putting his ducks in a row
    The question remains did it take a million dollar contract by WhiteOaks for govt to received a 26.3percent cut in principle and 14months of accrued interest along with govt having to coughed up 7.5 million as good faith towards the agreement
    Would not have it been better to used the millions White Oaks gets to pay upfront the external creditors
    I have yet to see a bargain coming out of this agreement that is sufficient and satisfactory to say that White Oaks earned their pay fair and square

Leave a Reply to LorenzoCancel reply