grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, Leader of Solutions Barbados

The Government is encouraging Barbadians overseas to remember their roots, and gather in Barbados next year.  This is a good initiative.  However, we should correct a fatal flaw in our culture before they arrive.  If we do not, then we risk reminding them of why they left.

We have a conscience to guide us in deciding what is just and unjust.  When we see injustice, we can either participate in, oppose, or ignore it.  To prevent us from acting on our conscience, oppressors tend to define places of self-preservation in our minds, where they hope we will remain – for their benefit.

During slavery, our fore-parents were ‘kept in their place’ with the threat of being sold.  After emancipation, they were ‘kept in their place’ with the threat of being deprived of work.  After independence, it was not the planters or merchants who wanted to keep us in our place, it was our politicians.

Our place was to be at the feet of one of their approved political parties.  To keep us in this place, they increased taxes at will to keep us living pay-cheque to pay-cheque, and dependent on their good graces.  People in that state are normally too afraid to do or say anything that will risk them losing their jobs.

Any Barbadian should be able to publicly comment on their ideas to improve Barbados.  However, if those comments are interpreted as a criticism of the Minister or the governing Party, then that person will not likely get appointed, promoted, or contracted during that political administration.

If the fellow offers the same advice during the other political administration, and it is similarly interpreted as a criticism of the Party, then his ‘goose is cooked’.  Therefore, Barbadians have learnt to resist their conscience to avoid becoming a political target.  The sustainable options for people who felt compelled to follow their conscience, was to either start their own business, or leave Barbados.

To keep us in our place, we are constantly reminded of how vulnerable our position is in Barbados.  This is the normally the role of dangerous political operatives.  However, sometimes politicians reveal more than they intend.  Consider a BLP Minister of Labour’s comments in Parliament, during a parliamentary debate in 1978.

“Now let me tell you this.  Anything with D L P, if you breathe, you cannot eat as far as I am concerned.  It is as simple as that.  This is war.  If your name is Douglas Leopold Phillips, by accident DLP, and you miss and approach me and I see it just in your face; no dice.”

He continued.  “Hitler would never feed the Americans to fight him.  Hitler would feed the Germans to fight the Americans, and this will be the ball game or the Prime Minister can take his instrument.  It is as simple as that.”

This intention seems to be demonstrated with every change of Government, where we expect public workers and contractors who supported the losing party to be dismissed (cannot eat), and those who supported the winning party to be rewarded (fed).

The Minister of Education recently noted that the cost of the schools summer maintenance program had increased from the initial estimate of $1.8M to $6.6M.  On 30 August 2019 in Parliament, she described the lucky 39 contractors who were given these contracts.

“We’ve been fortunate that we had a mix of contractors this year … we had some who were new, some who had been in existence for some time, and some who had, you know, who had not been given a fair share of the pie in previous years, for one reason or the other.  We have therefore attempted to try to share the work across the landscape, to ensure that there is greater application of the resources available to the Ministry.”

While it sounds good, sharing the ministry’s resources across the landscape does not correct past wrongs, but sustains them.  When contractors are given no-bid public contracts, they seem to produce poor-quality, high-maintenance, and over-priced work, that attracts complaints from the users.

The best way to right past wrongs is by doing right things.  The best way of growing Barbados’ economy is to allow all Barbadians to fairly participate, and allow all ideas to contend.  Barbadians need to be freed to present their ideas, without fear of being excluded from participating in Barbados’ economy.

Forcing Barbadians to consistently oppose their conscience can only damage them emotionally, spiritually and physically.  Before Barbadians gather in 2020, our politicians need to break those chains that they have placed on all Barbadians.  If those who have escaped this political intimidation, are forced to relive that pain, they will likely be too ashamed to introduce their children to an enslaved people.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

160 responses to “Gathering to Remember or Forget”

1. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GrenvillePhillips “Before Barbadians gather in 2020, our politicians need to break those chains that they have placed on all Barbadians.”

If we wait on the politicians to break our chains we will be forever chained. People who benefit from chaining up others will never voluntarily relinquish that power.

I go with brother Bob “liberate yourself from mental [or political] slavery.

2. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TLSN “Barbados is perceived as been a country that is unstable. Too high risk and not a safe place to move to.”

Perceived as being unstable by whom?

Too high risk? Explain please.

Not a safe place. Who says so besides you?

3. @ robert lucas October 16, 2019 12:06 PM
    “Given the fact that the Barbados Family Planning Unit has high-lighted the problem of declining birth rates, it might be wise to ponder on the topic.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Such a project to remake the Bajan population in an ‘Indian’ indigenous image is already under way; just like what happened in Trinidad and Guyana.

Maybe Columbus had more foresight than we give him credit for by prematurely, if not preemptively, labeling the Caribbean the “West Indies”.

Just check out the current fast growing dominant colour of ethnic diversity of the Kensington/Fontabelle area the former bedrock of ‘white on top of black’ miscegenation.

Soon you will have to put up with the change of name of places like Husbands & Wanstead to Kashmir and Karachi.

In the race of the survival of the ‘populous’ fittest, fecundity in the numbers game is the highest card in the pack of sex.

4. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TLSN “We had the vision to build our port in the early seventies.”

The Bridgetown Port was officially opened in 1961. The build started in the late to mid fifties.

5. .but yet want to continue controlling the parliament, the economy, all the land, all economic activity, all the criminal activities and now the water supply, something is not right with that picture…and the ugliness in all of that, they are allowed to by the sell outs in the parliament, who look just like the majority population.

We should be hearing wannabe leaders talking about DISMANTLING this destructive status quo…not dancing around it with flimsy excuses to keep it in place…because they got parasites to impress…..that is why i am so not impressed with any of thrpem and will call them out if they think they can hoodwink the people to get into the parliament…if ya can’t stand the heat, get lost.

I am yet to hear even one politician or minister speak about getting rid of this blight and curse in the lives of the majority population, bloodsucking, parasitic minorities..that continues to drag the economy further and further down into the abyss…..and the people deeper and deeper into poverty and modern day enslavement..

..the only thing ya hear on that topic is about libel and defamation lawsuits…if ya dare to broach the subject…that is why it must be aired, just like i asked years ago about the low birth rates in the minority group, not a fella answered….same thing with getting rid of those damned minority parasites, no one wants to address it.

6. re in Today’s NATION WE READ
    The Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) appears to be teetering on a razor’s edge.

Staff told THE NATION that a myriad of complaints resulted in a brief walkout last week. The complaints ranged from the physical condition of the plant, safety of staff and patients, to overcrowding on wards.

They received support from the floor of the House of Assembly yesterday when Government MP Dr Sonia Browne, as well as Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley, rapped conditions at the state-run facility.

Browne, a physician who once worked at the QEH, said her phone “has been lit up for weeks and months” with reports about overworked and unmotivated employees, patient overloads, supply shortages, insufficient nurses and malfunctioning equipment. (CA)

IS THIS WHAT WE MUST REGATHER NEXT YEAR TO OBSERVE AND EXPERIENCE AND POSSIBLY ENDURE?

7. @ WURA-War-on-U October 16, 2019 12:34 PM
    “I asked that question years ago on the blog, why does the birth rate for minoritie bajan “whites” remain so low….hundreds of years later after the indentured experience …and even with migration in other much larger countries, the birth rate is still very, very low, compared to real caucausoid groups and others.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How can there be high fecundity rates among an ethnically-isolated small group of hominids which has been characterized by widespread in-breeding over the past 300 years?

Within the next 100 years the classification of residents called “Bajan whites” would be as rare as an Arawak, a Bajan raccoon, pelican or even a rod of sugarcane.

8. “Just check out the current fast growing dominant colour of ethnic diversity of the Kensington/Fontabelle area the former bedrock of ‘white on top of black’ miscegenation.”

Those are the ones you have to watch out for, both governments continue to give them way too much leeway …while the majority population can no longer afford children due to being REDUCED into poverty by both governments, so that these other minorities TOO can enrich themselves off the black populi..

.these southeast asian descended are taking full advantage to breed and increase…because they are given access to everything and no controls or enforcement of the law.. over how they make money, whether it’s legal or illegal.

This too needs to be aired, but don’t be surprised if ya hear defamation for exposing another series of crimes stagnating the economy and majority population….another topic nit one politician wants to address.

9. “Within the next 100 years the classification of residents called “Bajan whites” would be as rare as an Arawak, a Bajan raccoon, pelican or even a rod of sugarcane.”

which will be a good thing for the majority population, a group of them are despicable parasites, the smarter ones not inclined to live off the backs of black people will migrate and dilute that inbred bloodline.

10. GP…a direct result of the corruption we have been exposing for years when we were called, liars, frauds, etc….same hospital the ones who cussed us will now have to endure should they get ill..if they cannot afford private heathcare or overseas medical trips.

11. @TLSN

We had the vision to build our port in the early seventies, I believe; but we have seen little of merit since then…(Quote)

You have made a small mistake, in that the Deep Water Harbour was built in the 1950s by Costain under Sir Grantley Adams, and opened under the first DLP government. Adams built the port and Barrow got the praise, as he did for the QEH.
    Bu that is not all, at the time, the Deep Water Harbour was one of the first container ports in the world and we were genuinely punching above our weight.
    At the same time the Adams government built the Pine, Grazettes and Deacons to re-house the slums of the City; they also built the Parkinson, Princess Margaret, and St Joseph’s secondary schools.
    It was a period of remarkable post-war infrastructural development the like of which we have not seen in Barbados since, apart from the tinkering at the airport. Barrow’s answer to all this was so-called free education. Now we have squatters.

12. @ WURA-War-on-U October 16, 2019 12:34 PM

Expand your observations to include other ethnic groups. If you had paid careful attention to my October 16, 2019 12:06 PM posting, you would have gotten the drift of the message. There is a new scourge on the market that is worse than the accustom punching bag.

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@SargeantOctober 16, 2019 7:58 AM ” In my case I was there twice this year and will visit for part of the winter next year as usual.”

Thanks Sarge.

I trust that we treat you well whenever you are here.

14. @ Simple Simon,
    I stand to be corrected with regard to the opening of the port. The important point will not be lost by those who follow BU. It took audacity and vision back then to conceive and to build the port.

Apart from one or two projects since 1961, such as the development of Harrison Cave, the Kensington Oval, et al.; what have been the legacy projects that we can look back on with any sense of pride? Those projects that will endure and bring prosperity to all. And please do not mention the poorly constructed Highway routes.

Take a look at the visionary infrastructure projects that are been carried out by Ethiopia and in other developing countries.

With our limited finances we should have been maintaining and refurbishing our built environment rather then building shit constructions that have been poorly designed and built.

You are going to quibble over a date but you are too short sighted to see the bigger picture.

15. @TLSN

Kensington Oval was a total disaster as a project. Remember the World Cup final?.

16. Robert…there are only so many minority groups on the island, the ones who are foremost in stealing everything and stagnating the majority population, pushing the island into poverty and enslavement… are the usual suspects in the bajan “white” group, who are the most dangerous because they were given rope for years to enrich themselves at the expense of the population, and are by far the largest group….. compared to the muslim/indian/syrian groups, they too are very dangerous and out of control….but number much less than 4,000 each.

the asian group…not south east asian like indian/muslim….are very tiny but can grow real fast because they are very ambitious and handson.

in all of that, if they are not controlled with the EXISTING laws and are enabled as they have been for the last 50 plus years post independence… enslavement and poverty will be an every day staple in the lives of the majority, very shortly…

we must account for which of them have the most control over the sell out leaders and lawyers, that is where the REAL problems lie…

17. The We Gathering Crowd from the Diaspora have to watch themselves no matter what. I am sure they are well aware of that, they are NOT the PREFERRED CROWD by this government…they are the LAST RESORT CROWD…and am sure they know it only too well..

cause as is the norm, the parasites have closed ranks and locked off what they stole and will only crawl out of their cockroach holes when they see the majority population once again generating billions in taxes, billions in pension fund money, billions in VAT, billions in loans…then and only then will they once again jump out to TIEF…to DEMAND …and to COMMAND..

18. David

Our associates just heard from UPS. Apparently, they now have access and hope to clear backlog by next week.

Thanks

19. @ Hal,
    Thanks for filling in the blanks in my lack of knowledge.

The period of which you referenced were the halcyon days. And should have been the building blocks for a new Barbados.

When I travel through Barbados there is little that inspires me. The only thing that has merit are the constructions left behind by our slave ancestors who were skilled and inventive.

I have been reading snippets of Gaddafi’s Green book. I had no idea that the man was such a visionary. A man of his mindset is what we require in the Caribbean to shake us out of our lethargy. Not some woman who remains loud, animated and of little substance.

20. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/10/15/lashley-knocks-welfare-department/

the degradation is real, the slide into reenslavement for the most vulnerable in the population is real..no one wants to hear empty words from poiticians, do something and soon…or many ministers will find themselves on the international front accused of modern day slavery, but that is their business…we have been warning for years..

Pacha..these jokers are not serious, they never were, they still believe this is some joke because they tell themselves their salaries are secure.. so they can make fun of the people like nuisance Lowe.

21. @TLSN

Gaddafi was murdered as he was progressing with African unity. Look at his Green Revolution. It was the attack on Tripoli that led to my getting a staff job on the Daly Mail.

22. Theme song for We Gatherin ?

23. This one is better. Definitely worth paying Rupee to make this the We Gatherin theme song.

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@GreeneOctober 16, 2019 10:22 AM “it is well known by us living overseas that all Bajans want from us is a couple of barrels a year, a lil all inclusive visit by them and their family whenever, some money monthly or whenever we can, some money to buy land and build a house that they will put in their name because you already got, a visit by us once a year at most and more money and clothes, and then guh bac wuh yuh come frum.”

Not true.

I am always happy to see my family when they visit here. And I am happy to visit them there. I always pay my own way. I always treat visiting family to a traditional Bajan dinner. Nuff, nuff food and drink (cooked with my own loving hands of course) nuff ole talk. I have NEVER asked anybody, nor even hinted to anybody that they should send me a barrell or money. Bought my own house with my own hard earned money. Spent many years helping to raise neices and nephews when the parents over in away ran into matrimonial or social difficulties. Was happy to do so. Never asked for and never received any money, or goods in return. Looked after OUR aging parents, while holding down a full time job and raising children so that the siblings over in away could go to work and go on vacations without worrying if mum or dad was bathed or fed that day. Yes they were bathed twice a day and fed three or more times a day. I don’t know what sort of family you have in Barbados, but please, please I beg you do not malign all of us.

I hope that you come to and that you enjoy the gathering.

25. As the self appointed Czar and consultant to the minister in the ministry of We Gatherin I suggest a We Gatherin play list that includes

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

r@obert lucasOctober 16, 2019 12:06 PM “Given the fact that the Barbados Family Planning Unit has high-lighted the problem of declining birth rates, it might be wise to ponder on the topic.”

So how many children have you begotten and contributed to the Barbados genetic pool?

If only one or two why not more?

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal AustinOctober 16, 2019 12:19 PM “and four or more should be taken in to care and put up for adoption.”

Adopted by whom? By you? By Lucas?

Talk is cheap. Child rearing is both time consuming and expensive.

And “yes” I am a biological and an adoptive parent.

Don’t just talk the talk. Walk the walk.

28. You Bajan people who love to criticize. If Jamaica or Bahamas had planned a similar We Gatherin it would have been spoken favorably by you lot.

29. Hopefully neither Jamaica nor Bahamas rob their elderly people’s estates, rob their beneficiaries or wipe out their bank accounts, then no one will have anything to say..

30. Simple:

Please review the historical record and do not be so quick to oppose. The threat of being sold and separated from one’s family, was a real threat that was used to ‘keep slaves in their place’.

You wrote: “I’ve tried and succeeded at staying far, far from the plantation class, and the political class.”

Perhaps, but despite your bluster, you still chose the self-preservation option of staying ‘in your place’.

Answer me three questions.

Why do some who have: retired, do not live in Barbados, are outside of the reach of the dangerous BLP/DLP political operatives, and have nothing to lose, remain so terrified of the consequences that they feel compelled to use fake names?

Why do some who: live in Barbados, are not retired, are targeted weekly by these dangerous political operatives, and have everything to lose, choose to comment using their real names and without fear?

Why is it that those who cower behind fake names tend to criticise those who use their real names, for not being as rude, defamatory, and reckless in their comments as themselves?

31. @SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife October 16, 2019 3:34 PM

Two. My dad must be turning in his grave at my small contribution, bearing in mind how prolific he was .Any how being one of eighteen should make up for my short-fall.

32. @ David October 16, 2019 3:48 PM

That’s not a very ‘fair’ comment, Blogmaster!

Of course ‘decent’ Bajans want to welcome the brothers and sisters from overseas especially for the little ‘trah-la’ in foreign currency or a barrel of big-country goodies.

But why invite people to your place- whether family friends or guests- with your house in one hell of a mess?

Would you invite people accustomed to all kinds of mod-cons to your house when the two WC’s are broken because of the unreliability of water supply and with only a pit toilet and dry towel in the yard to ease the discomfort?

Let Bajans, starting with the government, clean up the nasty stinking foul smelling island and show people from overseas that they still possess a modicum of old fashioned pride and industry and a healthy respect for their private and public hygiene practices.

And don’t talk about lack of resources! Cleaning up the place does not require and significant use of foreign exchange; just the effective deployment of the existing materiel and underutilized manpower resources.

Why take unnecessary risks with the health and safety of the nation with its one-cylinder economy call tourism?

An ounce of prevention of communicable diseases is worth a billion dollars in forex savings.

33. “Why is it that those who cower behind fake names tend to criticise those who use their real names, for not being as rude, defamatory, and reckless in their comments as themselves?”

Is this the same Grenville last election when i used my real name on Facebook to critique his utter shite…BLOCKED ME…lol..then we heard he was actually violating his own member’s CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS..and they had to run from him to Atherley’s party…

and got the NERVE…to actually POST THIS SHITE…

“are outside of the reach of the dangerous BLP/DLP political operatives, and have nothing to lose, remain so terrified of the consequences that they feel compelled to use fake names?”

so see, you are not any damn different to the two loser political parties….how could you be…yall went to the same schools and drank the same backward, arrogant poison.

34. Grenville…stay in ya lane, ya don’t know who is who..lol

35. Miller

It is the barbados family planning ass which singlehandedly and forever altered the reproductive rates in barbados.

That this same organization could now be talking about the effectiveness of their hedonic activities by gollop et al should be seen as a criminal pleading guilty.

Gollop and his pals did not want to know about the devil, the eugenecist movement, whose agenda they were implementing.

How come nobody in barbados makes these arguments. Mugabe is a family friend. Gollop dead and gone but these familial cleaverges can’t die.

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Grenville Phillips “Answer me three questions.”

I have no idea.

That said I have truly never met a BLP/DLP operative, or if I have I did not recognize them as such.

Why do I not use my real name? ONE: It is more fun to use a fake name. TWO: If I use my real name, people generally will look at who said what, instead of looking at what was said.

Please note as well that while I have criticised your ideas i have never criticised you, because I don’t know you. I only know the bit of you that you have chosen to reveal on this blog and on the Solutions Barbados webpage.

37. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@robert lucasOctober 16, 2019 5:08 PM

Since you dad was so ahhh!!! dutiful, I will give you a pass.

You are hereby relieved of any obligation to add to the humas species.

38. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@PachamamaOctober 16, 2019 6:18 PM “It is the barbados family planning ass which singlehandedly and forever altered the reproductive rates in barbados.”

So haw many children have you contributed to Barbados? And did you raise them in a loving home.

if you have contributed 0 or 1 or 2, then shut up.

If you haven’t walked the walk, you have lost your right to talk the talk.

39. ” WATER

The water service in Barbados is reliable and the water supply is safe and refreshing to drink straight from the tap.”

40. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Pachamama it was you, not the BFPA that drove of walked to the store, bought the extra large pack of condoms, the one containing 144 rubbers, and it was you, not the BFPA who each time put one on your pen is, because sex is fun, but raising children is brutal hard labour, and YOU decided that you liked fun more than you liked hard labour.

You were and are free to be like Lucas’ father, beget and raise 18 children well.

41. Sir, whoever you are

We suspect you will have a problem with women doing anything but wicking and being butch

42. WARU: I rarely block persons on Facebook. Only those who repeatedly post recklessly proven false and highly defamatory comments are even considered. Once that person is confirmed as a yardfowl, whose only interest is in trying to trap me in a defamation claim, they are blocked.

I am very tolerant of any view, regardless of how rudely it is given, as anyone who reads my Facebook sites can verify. I also do not mind engaging in extremely vigorous discussion, regardless of how rude or reckless the commenter is. You have to be a truly despicable individual to be blocked my me.

Yardfowls (extreme politically partisan supporters), who have sacrificed their integrity, and sold their soul to their political party, are the worst of us.

43. @Miller

There is constructive criticism and then there is the partisan BS the usual suspects post.

Do you think the government will be motivated to slap a coat of paint on the walls of Barbados? before We Gatherin?

44. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Grenville
    This is one of your better contributions. Thank you.

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Grenville October 16, 2019 8:32 AM
    “Prior to our independence, the planters and merchants wanted to control the masses if they got ‘out of hand’. During slavery, they used the military. After slavery they used the police.”
    All very true… but you forgot the most important means of control, the Church. Why did the Bishop of London in 1808 urge that enslaved people in Barbados be converted to Christianity??
    In order to develop “… a race of young Christian negroes…” who would be exemplary for their “… humility, submission, and obedience to their masters;”*
    It certainly seems to have worked like a charm.

*Beilby Porteous, Bishop of London, “A Letter to the Governors, Legislatures, and Proprietors of Plantations in the British West India Islands.” (London, 1808).

46. Hi Peter:

Jesus explained to those who wanted to follow Him, that God alone should be feared, not other people.

“And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. But rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.” (Matthew 10:28)

It is mostly for this reason that the Church is normally feared by despots, because it can facilitate people being connected to their Creator. People connected to their Creator find their place as sons and daughters of God, and are unlikely to be intimidated by other people, including leaders.

At that time, the planters were discouraging slaves from attending Church (where they were also taught to read). The Bishop was writing to planters and leaders to convince them to allow slaves to be taught by the Church – and he was laying it on thick.

Connecting to your Creator is like taking the red pill – and following the narrow path that relatively few are on because it is difficult. Here is Jesus again.

“Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. BECAUSE narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.” (Matthew 7:13-14)

Unfortunately, most choose the blue pill, and encourage others to do the same.

47. @ David,

Can we have a blog for those of us who want to make suggestions ?

Suggested title.

We Gatherin..Wuh we gine do.

I would like to see some of the musicians currently living in the Diaspora returning and performing.

A few old time themed ” Dance at de Drill Hall or YMPC” fetes….rice an stew and pork chops.lol

48. @PLT

Have a look at flatironschool.com. Right up your street.

Leave a Reply to Freedom CrierCancel reply