Several interpretations have been applied Bob Marley’s Man to Man song.

Man to man is so unjust, children:
Ya dont know who to trust.
Your worst enemy could be your best friend,
And your best friend your worse enemy.
Some will eat and drink with you,
Then behind them su-su pon you.
Only your friend know your secrets,
So only he could reveal it.
And who the cap fit, let them wear it!

This blogmaster continues to marvel at how humankind despite self labelling as being the most advance of the animal specie behave as primitive in interactions as a wild animal.

As traditional values like honesty, respect, integrity, credibility to list a few give way to a people happy to be anchored in nothingness – so too the way of the world we live. A walk through many school yards bar a few tells a tale of what the morrow portends.

Barbadians have joined others where the ability to reason and apply logical thought is being trumped by political and irrelevant considerations. Even if it means national proprieties must be ignored. The inability to reason is not deliberate, it is derivative of educated ignorance.

Our inability to demonstrate love, forgiveness are character traits in the modern era is a waning behaviour.

The reaction to the ‘HUG’ given to Amber Guyger by the brother of murder victim Botham Jean makes for an interesting case study. The Black judge that approved the action also hugged Guyger as has attracted the ire of an ism crazy public. A simple act of love and forgiveness has been interpreted in so many ways it was not meant to be.

Several times the blogmaster has issued the refrain that all the world needs is more love. It seems the ability to demonstrate love and forgiveness has gotten lost in the translation of surviving in today’s rate race. Could it be the ‘HUG’ becomes a seminal moment in time?

333 responses to “The HUG”

1. What the media never seem to discuss is that all of Trump past immoral acts were done before he was President and which goes against the grain of the Constitution to be called impeachable offenses
    The latest round of him talking about Biden and seeking information to discredit Biden also would not reach the threshold to be called an impeachable offense
    Also hardened proof along with facts must be found that Trump engaged and willingly and knowingly used “false” information from outside sources to discredit Biden and even that information cannot be used as sufficient to impeach Trump
    The merrygo round circus would continue
    However the next election would have the final word onTrump and not the media or the Democratics
    But the collective voices of the people
    There comes a time in life when best be it that sleeping dogs lie

2. @Ewart Archer

Earlier this year in Minneapolis, an African American cop who shot a middle class white woman dead as she walked toward his patrol car was sentenced to twelve and a half years.
    The woman had called the cops to her home, and the cop’s decision to open fire was hard to explain
    because she was unarmed and he had a partner with him (Quote)

Wrong. He was not Afro-American, but East African (I think Somali), which makes a big difference. He was also Muslim and the woman Australian.

3. @ David

It is not to the advantage of the Dems to have a long drawn out impeachment. This is why they have not brought it to a vote on the floor and it is also why it has been said that failure to comply is a sign of guilt and is impeachable. Now these are people who since 2016 have been talking about impeachment. After there was shown to be no Russian collusion, there was talk about impeachment for obstruction and Nadler has been busy since then having hearings into the Mueller investigations seeking to impeach Trump.. There is a fishing expedition seeking to find some excuse to impeach. Mueller’s investigation was also a fishing one seeking to find wrong doing. Listening to the main stream media, you wouldn’t know that the Dems had released texts showing that “Crystal clear no quid pro quo” statement made by Trump. Schiff has been shown to be a liar concerning the whistle blower . The Washington Post had to admit that Schiff lied and (WP) are no fans of Trump..
    Any one who can reason logically must ask why are all of these things happening to one person?.

4. Maybe the brother can asked the court for the forgiveness of the assailant/s who killed the witness who spoke in his brother defense
    Dont see no need to havea trial if the wheels of justice now runs on Forgiveness and bible thumping

5. David
    October 6, 2019 7:52 AM

We are trying to have a sensible conversation.

Both Pelosi and Biden are showing their age!!

It is obvious.

Trump is getting up there too but seems to be ageless for the moment.

… and it drives some folks crazy!!

Hilary will run again!!

Chelsea may be the VP!!

Here she is giving candidates advice!!

It was obvious from a while ago

6. A key witness in this case has been shot dead. Interesting.

7. How does the left/DEMS counter this?

8. A neighbor of Botham Jean who was a key witness in the murder trial of Amber Guyger has been shot dead in Dallas.
    Joshua Brown, 28, was gunned down outside an apartment complex in the city’s Medical District around 10.30 pm on Friday.
    He was rushed to nearby Parkland Memorial Hospital, where he died from his injuries.
    Witnesses say they heard several gunshots and saw a silver sedan speeding out of the apartment complex’s parking lot shortly after. (Quote|)

9. A second whistleblower has surfaced.

10. @ David
    Seems also second hand information.

11. @Dr. Lucas

It is the ability to validate the information provided.

12. Hal Austin

You are wrong, again.

Mohamed Noor, the black cop in the Minneapolis case, is properly described as African American. He was born on Somalia, but was brought to the United States as a small child, naturalized as a US citizen, and educated in US schools in Chicago and Minneapolis. After graduation from college, he became a police officer.

Many foreign born blacks brought up from childhood in the US are “African-American” in every sense of the word. There is no “big difference” because he was born on Somalia.

13. MR TRUMP IS ADVISED TO READ THE STORY OF HAMAN AND MORDECAI IN THE BOOK OF ESTHER

HE IS ADVISED TO SAVOR THE TRUTH OF THE ADVICE GIVEN TO JEHOSOPHAT IN 2 CHRONICLES 20:17A

ye shall not need to fight in this battle: set yourselves, stand ye still, and see the salvation of the Lord with you

14. Robert Lucas
    Perhaps you will think again of Trumpf’s idea of stamping out corruption!He’s a criminal and so are his children and ‘termite’ son in law.

https://crooksandliars.com/2019/10/corruption-family-value-trumpworld-am-joy

15. Many foreign born blacks brought up from childhood in the US are “African-American” in every sense of the word. There is no “big difference” because he was born on Somalia.

Tell that to Al Sharpton.

That was a big issue for him regarding Obama.

In fact, his position was parodied in song.

16. Kamala Harris has the same issue!!

Is she an African American?

17. GP
    The supine JA who proves the old bajan edict that book sense ent common sense.

18. It isn’t Trump that has the DEMs worried.

It is Barr!!

No holds are Barred!!

19. @ Gabriel October 6, 2019 9:58 AM

Let me repeat again for your benefit: Try being objective and view things dispassionately. You are being overly . emotional.

20. Night runs till day catches it!!

It is amazing to watch it unfold!!

The DEMs will not beat Trump in the 2020 election so impeachment is the course followed.

It will collapse like a house of cards.

Name the single policy the DEMs have articulated that will improve their country?

They have none.

All they cling to is impeach Trump.

It is almost as though they have been struck blind and do not realise what they are doing!!

They are stuck in the fog of night they create.

21. John

There have been political squabbles in New York between the West Indian immigrant community and native-born blacks. Jews have played one group against the other.

Please do not muddy the waters with these details.

22. Keep hugging and coddling stinking racists and watchnyou and yours suffer the consequences.

If you are majority Black country YOU have the power to DESTROY all racists and their evil racism….and if ya nasty bribetaking leaders get in the way, dismantle them too

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1320743231288887/permalink/2962298157133378/

23. @ GP October 6, 2019 9:55 AM
    I was forced to dust off a copy of the king James’ version to check out your comment. Very apt I found it.

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster I believe that no discussion on politics – Bajan or US – is any longer based on a “sensible” standard by rabid partisans or biased fans…it is all about an upside down virtual life of alternative facts…..Your blog discussions are a micro dot of the weirdness that goes on…like these last examples:

—–“Stop being emotional. Never allow emotion to interject itself because you dislike some one..”

The POTUS angrily tweeted that a Senator was a “pompous ass”, he called a leading congreesman a “low life” and “treasonous” and there are THOUSANDS of other instances where he emotively exploded on others simply because he DISLIKED what they said …YET in our ‘perfect’ upside down world ANYONE who criticizes this man is deemed to have a mental hated filled syndrome of instabilty and dislike!

—–“You don’t [know] why he with held funds. […] and he can with hold and give no reason or a thousand different reasons.. Other presidents have done similar things and there have no problems.”

How can we have SENSIBLE discourse when deliberate MISSTATEMENTS are mixed with facts as a NEW fact…a lie added to a truth makes the resulting complete statement a LIE…not a truth!

We ABSOLUTELY know why the funds were withheld…and we know that because all agreements and business details had been concluded leading up to and after the approval at Congress. The ONLY outstanding issue was Guiliani and Trump’s AGENDA. Lets be charitiable and presume we dont know what that agenda was…but then we MUST ask the question: what additional matters to the benefit of the US could a POTUS and his PERSONAL envoy be exploring !

—–“Congress, like in the Mueller affair is seeking to find some cause for impeachment….”

Congress HAS a reason for impeachment…unlike the Mueller investigation… here they are seeking the “evidence” to validate ….. The lawyers say this: “Article II, Section 4, says the president “shall be removed from Office on Impeachment for, and Conviction of, Treason, Bribery, or other high Crimes and Misdemeanors.” […] the term “bribery” is not defined there or elsewhere in the constitutional text. Some of Trump’s defenders have taken advantage of that silence by attempting to apply the standard in the modern federal criminal bribery statute, arguing that impeachment for bribery is off the table unless there is a quid pro quo. They claim that Trump’s conduct falls short of that standard because he did not explicitly link the withheld aid to the requested investigation of a political rival.” ….. “In fact, Trump’s conduct almost certainly satisfies the modern statutory standard for bribery. […], a quid pro quo “need not be stated in express terms; corrupt actors are seldom so clumsy, and the law may not be evaded through winks and nods.” We have little doubt that a prosecutor would be able to establish a quid pro quo based on what was said on the call and the surrounding facts and context”

—–“Remember from day one there have been threats of impeachment being made against him. Why would there be such threats? “

There were such threats because (1) the members of the campaign of the sitting POTUS had been caught interacting with a foreign power and there were concerns there was DIRECT intervention in a US election, (2) the POTUS was accused of obstructing justice in coercing the lawful investigations of (a) his Nat Sec advisor (b) the FBI/Mueller campaign investigation and for petty political reasons that the man was a pussy-grabbing cad!

Just like the petty political reason that getting oral sex in the WH was so morally unacceptable…but they caught Clinton on perjury on that so OK!

—-“There was even talk and an attempt at making the result of the 2016 election invalid […] Just ask yourself why? Why are there constant leaks of supposedly confidential matters? Put your animus towards the man to one side and analyze things.”

The electoral college folly was nonsense. You cannot change the rules AFTER you lose the contest so that was BS then and to repeat it now is further absurdity…

The leak trope is also BS …under ALL previous admins leaking was a problem. The Obama admin went after and prosecuted leaks (TOO) agressively…according to media his admin “prosecut[ed] more people under that law for leaking sensitive information to the public than all previous administrations combined.”

The concerns of right thinking people are not based on animus…they are based on his disturbing disregard for the rule of law and shameless attempts to enrich his empire and empower his political success by misusing the office of the presidency.

There can be no ‘sensible discourse when one side lies, obfuscates, uses personal insults and thumbs their nose at the law (let’s shoot aliens crossing the border in their legs) and commenters simply REFUSE to deal with the reality of this man’s dangerous behaviour.

**Some perspective on presidential lies: *Fact checkers (in Dec 2017) noted that Obama told 18 separate lies in 8 years in office…this POTUS had told 103 after his 10 MONTH in office… STOP there one moment….. Based on that average that’s 2 per year for one president and 124 per year for the other.….. * But the REALITY is much worst: in 2018 he exploded to an average of 200 falsehoods/misstatements/LIES per month…at one point running the media ragged at 500 per month. *

In May 2019 the media published an updated list of misleading POTUS remarks: it was over 5,000 or 6 per DAY since inauguration… OMG *”if you like your doctor you can keep him/her” was ONE of 18 for Obama compared to a man running 6 LIES per DAY!

And yet we have commenters taking this man on his word like ‘of course I didn’t push a quid pro quo’…and worst yet, despite all dat still 32% of US electorate finds this man “honest and trustworthy”.

Welcome to the new Upside-Down Alternative fact world!

25. David October 6, 2019 12:39 AM

A sobbing Guyger, under questioning by her attorney, expressed remorse for the killing, saying, “I feel like at terrible person, I feel like a piece of crap” because of the shooting. “I wish he was the one with the gun and he killed me,” Guyger said. “I never wanted to take an innocent person’s life.”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Stop shitting in public!

Anyone can cry crocodile tears to elicit sympathy from the hearers. The tell here was her defence strategy. A remorseful person who so wished she could give her life instead of the victim would not have mounted such a defence. She could have pleaded “Not guilty” to murder but “Guilty” to manslaughter and thrown herself on the mercy of the Court which had really broad discretion in sentencing.

This strategy suggests that she was sorry she had to suffer the consequences of her actions. Easy to cry under those circumstances.

https://edition.cnn.com/2019/10/01/us/amber-guyger-trial-castle-doctrine/index.html

PS. Why are you folks worried about the murder of the key witness? The Dallas Police Department is on the case.

26. Get the stinking racists out of Barbados and the Caribbean and if the bribetaking black governments and lawyers don’t like that…get them gone too. Racism is a curse and those who practice, enable, condone and profit from this curse are all blighted.

https://www.facebook.com/207756292571889/posts/3000469933300497/

27. This is not going away, send a message to the evil black leaders who love to enable racism to fill their greedy pockets, be aware, racism in Barbados and the Caribbean GOTTA GO….or YOU WILL…

” ASSOCIATED PRESS
    A message has clearly been sent.

Joshua Brown, a key witness who testified for the prosecution on Tuesday in the trial of killer cop Amber Guyger, was fatally shot outside of his apartment building in Dallas on Friday night.
    The neighbor of Botham Jean, who was murdered by Guyger, Brown’s body was found on the ground, his body riddled with bullets, the Dallas Morning News reported.

He was taken to Parkland Memorial Hospital, where he died from his injuries.

According to civil rights attorney S. Lee Merritt, Esq., who is representing the Jean family, Brown’s immediate family said he was shot in his mouth and chest after Merritt was told the young man was shot in his back.

“We will have to await the autopsy to be sure,” he wrote on Twitter Saturday night.”

28. @Dee Word

Good comment, we live in an age where bombast is the new norm of civility. Looking for leadership from the educated among us also is a pipe dream. Appreciate if you can comment on the lead blog, our job is done here.

29. Get RID of racists and racism in black majority countries….even if ya gotta bury the perpetrators and the animals who enable them for monetary gain.

“On Facebook, Merritt wrote that Brown’s execution “underscores the reality of the black experience in America.”

“Brown lived in constant fear that he could be the next victim of gun violence…Brown deserves the same justice he sought to ensure the Jean family.”

Witnesses reportedly told police they heard several gunshots and saw a silver four-door sedan speeding away from the parking lot.

Brown 28, testified last week about the night of Sept. 6, 2018, when Amber Guyger, a white Dallas Police officer, entered Jean’s apartment allegedly thinking it was hers and shot him dead, believing the black certified public account was an intruder.
    The diverse jury, mostly made of women and people of color, found Guyger— who has a history of making racist remarks on social media—guilty and then sentenced her to 10 years in prison for the murder. She will be up for parole in five years.

Ponder that.

Brown was a former athlete turned entrepreneur, according to Merritt, who is working closely with his family in seeking justice.

On Saturday, the lead prosecutor in the Guyger case Jason Hermus, applauded Brown’s decision to come forward.

“He bravely came forward to testify when others wouldn’t, ” he told the Morning News. “If we had more people like him, we would have a better world.”

30. @ David October 6, 2019 9:32 AM

There are no high crimes ,ergo no grounds for impeachment, but if one keeps talking about impeaching after a time one believes what one is saying. Like Goebbels said repeat the accusation enough and most people will believe anything. look, the thrust of Trump’s effort was and is about the investigation into what took place in 2016 and he has all right to pursue them and if you want to believe that there wasn’t some quid pro quo with Hunter Biden and Ukraine as well as in China ,you are free to feel so. Trump wanted to pursue it but Ryan Paul for some reason wouldn’t proceed with the investigations. Like the Mueller affair you will hear all sorts of stories emanating from the media. It seems that Trump can’t fart in the White House with out the media knowing about it. The media is pissed off with Trump because he doesn’t give two-hoots about them. The media seem to think they can direct government policy. no one voted for them.

31. @ de pedantic Dribbler October 6, 2019 10:37 AM

You are being emotional. Your animus oozes out like the venom from a rabid dog.

32. @Dr.Lucas

Could care less if Trump is impeached. His pedigree as a good person is suspect especially as it relates to coloured people. Do not like as a person. As a president he has a leadership style the world can do without. We will see how it plays out.

33. @ Ewart Archer

Many foreign born blacks brought up from childhood in the US are “African-American” in every sense of the word. There is no “big difference” because he was born on Somalia.(Quote)

Your obstinacy is remarkable. Stop contradicting yourself. He is a Somali, or at best a Somali-American. Do you remember Jesse Jackson’s remarks, for which he apologised, when Obama became president? So, if you are of Caribbean heritage and black, what are you? A West Indian-Afro-American, or are you simply an Afro-American and your West Indian heritage goes by the window?
    You must spend your time learning and not being arrogant and wrong.

34. #labels

#isms

#blacks

#caucasions

35. @ dr robert lucas
    robert lucasOctober 6, 2019 10:33 AM

@ GP October 6, 2019 9:55 AM
    I was forced to dust off a copy of the king James’ version to check out your comment. Very apt I found it
    IT IS ALWAYS NICE TO CAUSE/ENCOURAGE SOME ONE TO READ THE WORD OF GOD

WHEN A SCHOLAR LIKE YOU CAN SEE THAT MY REFERENCES WERE PERTINENT IS A GREAT PLEASURE, SIR

OVER THE LAST 50 YEARS I HAVE STRIVED TO OBEY THE INJUNCTION OF 2 TIMOTHY 2:15 TO RIGHTLY DIVIDE THE WORD OF TRUTH AS I SEEK TO GROW IN GRACE AND IN THE KNOWLEDGE OF THE LORD JESUS CHRIST AS TAUGHT IN 2 PETER 3:18

BUT MR TRUMP JUST NEEDS TO BE STILL AND WATCH THE SAME GOD THAT WON A GREAT VICTORY FOR KING JEHOSOPHAT AGAINST VERY GREAT ODDS PROTECT HIM FROM THE MONGRELS IN CONGRESS

36. @ David October 6, 2019 11:04 AM

You are allowing sentiment to be your guide. Trump has done more for blacks than a lot of other presidents. Ask yourself why a lot of blacks support Trump. I try to read as many sources as possible. Do you remember what some whites said about Mia ? Do you feel he should have open borders? Remember how Barbadians got on towards Guyanese not too long ago ? What is the difference ?Since when is the pedigree of a politician a bench mark for judgement? President Johnson was a known racist but he ensured that there were equal rights amendments for blacks although he, personally did believe in equal rights; but it was a political win for him. Kennedy who is so beloved by blacks wasn’t very friendly towards blacks. You might not like the man; his personal life is no worse than Kennedy’s . Both Robert and John Kennedy had affairs with the same actress. So if you want to disparage Trump , you should also disparage women and men in high positions in Barbados whose actions could do with some improvement. As the Bible says judge not, least thee be judged. I try not to pass judgement on others. I feel that a person has the right to live how he/she wants, once others are not affected. I don’t hold any high ground where others are concerned. One thing I will say for Trump he isn’t a hypocrite. ,he tells it as it is. There will soon be a host of whistle blowers coming forth. Just wait and see. He will be impeached and if he wants to he can run as an independent candidate in 2020 and he will win. I predicted that he would have won in 2016. The world has changed and people do not want politicians( only here in Barbados) who do not practice what their preach.

37. Hal Austin

You are projecting.

You seem to know very little about the United States and you understand less.

That is not my problem. My knowledge is first hand. In fact, I lived in Minneapolis while studying at the University of Minnesota.

38. Correction: personally did believe in equal Should read Did not believe in

39. @ Ewart Archer

I do not even know where the US is. As to university, I did not go to school. Answer the questions.

40. There are none so blind as those who cannot think for themselves,those who rely on a concoction of stories written thousands of years ago and seem so happy in their stupidity.As David says I’m done here too.

41. robert lucasOctober 6, 2019 9:25 AM

Seems also second hand information.

The fact that information is second hand does not mean it is not true.

Raw intelligence is usually just a report of what the agent is told by sources both reliable and unreliable. Just as with the “Steele Dossier” that is just the beginning of an investigation by those whose job it actually is to do so.

But Trump and Ghouliani both admitted the substance of what was done. The motives can be disputed but if we strip away our bias we would see more clearly. The text messages, if taken in their entirety, show a pattern. Also the fact that there was an initial attempt to cover it up conveys a consciousness of wrongdoing. And Trump was unable to name a single investigation of corruption outside of the Biden case. It never even crossed their minds. Biden was targeted for the simple fact that he is a political opponent.

Now, I do not find it good that Biden’s son took the position on the board and that his father was involved in the firing of the Ukrainian prosecutor would raise suspicions. It is my understanding that he was carrying out the policy of the IMF, the EU and the US government but still he should never have put himself in that position. If I were him I would say “investigate away” and continue with my campaign. The press has already investigated the Bidens and the evidence is out there. I hope the desperate leader of the Ukraine will not manufacture evidence in order to gain Trump’s support. And that is the danger of it all. Shall the desperate be forced to create an alternative reality?

John,

You have the gall to say that Democrats aren’t used to being investigated??????????? Was Hillary Clinton not investigated?????? Was not her husband investigated? Was not a current senator charged and tried?

I feel for the likes of you.

PS: How many times will the “fake news” force a live admission out of Trump and Ghouliani. How many times will their stories change? That is the hallmark of a liar.”

Even Tucker Carston admits there is no good way to spin this. The only moot point he says, is whether or not it is an impeachable offence. Of course, he thinks it isn’t but as to the deeds of the president and the motives behind them, he has given up the fight.

Who would believe that Tucker Carlston would be smarter than you lot?

42. There will soon be a host of whistle blowers coming forth.

There is only one whistleblower, Donald Trump!!

All the political hysteria is directed at stopping him from blowing the whistle and calling time.

The swamp know its days in its present form are numbered and is just trying to prolong its existence by ending Trump’s.

It does not have a chance!!

Experience has shown that whenever Trump is thought to be cornered and down he just gets stronger.

Better spend time understanding why or looking for another swamp to create!!

43. The fact that information is second hand does not mean it is not true.

It just means it is inadmissible!!

All the investigations in the world won’t change that fact.

44. Was Hillary Clinton not investigated?????? Was not her husband investigated?

No, she wasn’t!!

There wasn’t any need to investigate Slick Willy because the stain was there to see.

He got caught with his pants down!!

https://nypost.com/2018/11/13/how-monica-lewinsky-finally-noticed-that-stain-on-her-dress/

Didn’t need any investigation because there was first hand evidence.

If these two criminals were investigated you should be able to tell us all about White Water and the Clinton Foundation!!

But you can’t

45. If a “whistleblower” had come forward and said they were told by somebody that some intern had something going with Slick Willy, Monica Lewinsky would be an unknown today and Clinton probably would not have been impeached!!!

What was he impeached for, do you even know?

46. Trump’s response is “put up or shut up”.

Call a vote and lets go from there!!

That drives then nuts because they know that he knows they won’t!!

So they probably will!!!

If they do or don’t and keep on the impeachment trail, all he has to do is say in 2020 to the voters, look, the DEMs spent all of 4 years doing nothing for you!!

Even the Tax Cut which stimulated the economy not a single DEM supported it!!

It is like getting to a final exam having done no studying!!!

47. Ewart

You are totally correct. I was borned in Barbados to black bajan perents who became American citizens.
    My parents and I were all officially refer to as African Americans.

there are no document that refer to us as west Indians. In the USA if you are black you are officially refered to as African American

48. Rober L

Alot of blacks like trump? Most people wouldnt call 8% of the black vote a liking for trump!

49. JohnOctober 6, 2019 1:44 PM

The fact that information is second hand does not mean it is not true.

It just means it is inadmissible!!

All the investigations in the world won’t change that fact.

But when it is verified, THAT EVIDENCE becomes totally admissible. Are you trying to say that if I a minor child tells her mother that she was raped that the police should not investigate? And when they verify that second hand account by means of DNA evidence and severe bruising that evidence is inadmissible?????

That is why I cannot bother with you. I know you are smarter than that and you are just making up crap. Very dishonest..

Leave a Reply to DonnaCancel reply