Several interpretations have been applied Bob Marley’s Man to Man song.

Man to man is so unjust, children:
Ya dont know who to trust.
Your worst enemy could be your best friend,
And your best friend your worse enemy.
Some will eat and drink with you,
Then behind them su-su pon you.
Only your friend know your secrets,
So only he could reveal it.
And who the cap fit, let them wear it!

This blogmaster continues to marvel at how humankind despite self labelling as being the most advance of the animal specie behave as primitive in interactions as a wild animal.

As traditional values like honesty, respect, integrity, credibility to list a few give way to a people happy to be anchored in nothingness – so too the way of the world we live. A walk through many school yards bar a few tells a tale of what the morrow portends.

Barbadians have joined others where the ability to reason and apply logical thought is being trumped by political and irrelevant considerations. Even if it means national proprieties must be ignored. The inability to reason is not deliberate, it is derivative of educated ignorance.

Our inability to demonstrate love, forgiveness are character traits in the modern era is a waning behaviour.

The reaction to the ‘HUG’ given to Amber Guyger by the brother of murder victim Botham Jean makes for an interesting case study. The Black judge that approved the action also hugged Guyger as has attracted the ire of an ism crazy public. A simple act of love and forgiveness has been interpreted in so many ways it was not meant to be.

Several times the blogmaster has issued the refrain that all the world needs is more love. It seems the ability to demonstrate love and forgiveness has gotten lost in the translation of surviving in today’s rate race. Could it be the ‘HUG’ becomes a seminal moment in time?

333 responses to “The HUG”

1. Some don’t like to be called black. They say they are deep brown instead of black and light skinned.
    Black has negative connotations like in black magic, black hat, black sheep etc

2. A black woman was shot dead by police through her own bedroom window in the early hours of Saturday morning, after a request to check on her welfare.
    Atatiana Jefferson, 28, had been living at the residence in Fort Worth, Texas with her eight-year-old nephew.
    A neighbour had called a non-emergency police number after growing concerned that her front door was open at night.
    Police have released body cam footage of the incident, which shows an officer shooting within seconds of seeing her.
    The clip shows police searching the perimeter of the residential property, before noticing a figure at the window. After demanding the person put their hands up, an officer then fired a shot through the glass.
    The Fort Worth Police Department said in a statement that the officer, who is a white man, had “perceived a threat” when he drew his weapon.
    He has been placed on administrative leave pending an investigation, officials added.
    The shooting happened at about 02:30 local time (07:30 GMT) on Saturday morning.(Quote)

3. “Jesse Jackson, one of the Justice Brothers coined this term in the 1980’s.”

John

You above comment is NOT true.

As I’ve previously indicated, the term “African American” was used as long ago as 1782, on a pamphlet entitled “A Sermon on the Capture of Lord Cornwallis……By An African-American.”

The link you posted, “Yale Alumni Magazine,” also provided this information as well as copy of the pamphlet.

In the same article, it was also mentioned that:

“The Oxford English Dictionary traced its documented occurrences of “African American” back as far as 1835.”

Therefore, Jesse Jackson DID NOT “coined this term in the 1980s,” he began POPULARIZING it in the 1980s…. as clearly indicated in the article re:

“Most of us became familiar with the ethnonym African American in the 1980s, when Jesse Jackson began popularizing it as an alternative to black.”

4. Looks like someone is about to share more hugs in Texas….. wait they have to be charged and convicted first, and its a 50/50 proposition whether charges will be laid………

Black woman shot in her own home by Police in Texas

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-50032290

5. @Hal,
    Just a comment..

After 3 decades of marriage my wife and I have never traded fisticuffs. But if we were ever to do son(heaven forbid) and if she had the upper hand and was unarmed or heavily armed, I would not call the police.

I would be fearful for her and for myself.

We as a people, can pretend that we are like everyone else, or we can admit that the system does not work for us in the same way that it works for others,.

I have made that admission to myself.

6. @ Theo

You are absolutely right. My concern is what do the black police officers have to say about this? Plse do not go back to slavery and psychology.

7. That admission by TheOGazzerts is chilling! Is it as bad as all that?

8. Speechless having to read a story of another black victim killed at the hands of a white police officer

9. JohnOctober 8, 2019 6:24 PM

Donna
    October 8, 2019 1:09 PM

John,
    One man’s show is another man’s terrible existence or gruesome death. This show has real consequences.
    PS. I have nothing and no-one else to bother about and so I can spare some concern for others. The revulsion I feel for Trump is on their behalf. It does not eat me up.

Name me ten people who have met a gruesome death as a result of the show and who fuel your revulsion.

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/turkey-invades-syria-kurds-civilians-reportedly-killed-as-turkey-assault-escalates-today-live-updates/

https://www.aclu.org/blog/immigrants-rights/immigrants-rights-and-detention/immigrant-kids-keep-dying-cbp-detention

I don’t have their names but…….

10. You Trumpians never cease to astound me! Do you really live in an alternative universe? The thoughts, words, actions and policies of the president of the United States are a matter of life and death for some people.

SMH.

11. I don’t have their names but…….

I always thought it was Obama, Biden and Hilary who took America into Syria.

I always thought it was the three of them that created ISIS!!

Seem to remember the issue of the refugees being a pretty big issue … wasn’t that before Trump!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Refugees_of_the_Syrian_Civil_War

Human rights in Syria under the rule of the Ba’ath Party (continuous since 1963) are considered to be in exceptionally poor conditions by international observers and have been deteriorating further since 2008.[38][39] The 2010–11 Arab Spring uprisings in Tunisia, Egypt, Libya, Bahrain and Yemen inspired major protests in Syria. The Syrian Army intervened in March 2011,[40] and the Syrian government crackdown gradually increased in violence, escalating to major military operations to suppress resistance. In April, hundreds died in clashes between the Syrian Army and opposition forces, which included armed protestors and defected soldiers.[41] As Syria descended into civil war,[42] it quickly became divided into a complex patchwork of shifting alliances and territories between the Assad government, rebel groups, the majority-Kurdish SDF, and Salafi jihadist groups (including ISIL). Over half a million people died in the war, including around two hundred thousand civilians.[43]

By May 2011, thousands of people had fled from the war to neighbouring countries, with even larger numbers displaced within Syria itself.[44][45][46] As armies assaulted various locations and battled, entire villages were trying to escape, with thousands of refugees a day crossing borders.[47][48][49] Other reasons for displacement in the region, often adding to the Syrian Civil War, target the refugees of the Iraqi Civil War, Kurdish refugees, and Palestinian refugees.

“The Syria crisis has become the biggest humanitarian emergency of our era, yet the world is failing to meet the needs of refugees and the countries hosting them”, the UN High Commissioner for Refugees António Guterres said in 2014.[50] The UNHCR reported that the total number of refugees worldwide exceeds 50 million for the first time since World War II, largely due to the Syrian civil war.[51]

Yup, if wiki is to be believed the war has been going on a whiles now … since the Obama/Biden/Clinton era at least..

Trump is getting America out.

Peace may very well soon come as factions realise it is better than war.

12. …. try again!!!

13. Therefore, Jesse Jackson DID NOT “coined this term in the 1980s,” he began POPULARIZING it in the 1980s…. as clearly indicated in the article re:

“Most of us became familiar with the ethnonym African American in the 1980s, when Jesse Jackson began popularizing it as an alternative to black.”

++++++++++++++++++++++

Splitting hairs!!

14. Mariposa
    October 13, 2019 5:13 PM

Speechless having to read a story of another black victim killed at the hands of a white police officer

When I read the story I could not believe that one neighbor would call the police on another and not just walk across to the open door and call out to see if help was needed.

Sending police into a situation where you are afraid to go in the early morning hours seems to beg for unfortunate results.

If it were a non emergency why not do the neighborly thing and go and see for yourself.

Suppose the cop who shot the woman was black and the same result occurred.

15. yes, The line between a lie and the truth can often be very fine
    But even then, some maintain the distinction.
    Have a great day Barbados

16. Donna

Trump if anything is exposing the games that went on under Obama, Biden and Hilary!!

https://www.ktsa.com/trump-says-joe-biden-became-vice-president-because-he-knew-how-to-kiss-barack-obamas-ass/

17. John you are amazing having a weird thought process that allows u to impose your behaviuor and actions towards how people should get themselves into situation

18. @ John October 14, 2019 7:04 AM

We notice that your ‘trumpeting’ mate is nothing but a loudmouth sissy homey boy when it comes to real politics on the international level.

He was slapped down by Kim Jong-un, given 2 fingers up by Maduro and now being teased and taunted in the land of the Ayatollah.

Given your ‘deep’ knowledge of American ‘white’ history you ought to aware that No American president has been considered outstanding and great unless he fights a big war to keep the militaristic economy on even consumerism keel to avoid another ‘Great Depression’.

So what would it be this time around, Johnny boy?
    An attack on the Persian sleeping tiger using the shield of Saudi Oil as justification to start another ME inferno or, like a big bully in the school playground, pick on a small fry like Yemen?

It seems the once Mighty America has been decapitated like Goliath from a slingshot with the identification markings made for those with the size head 9 to 11.

In order to deflect from any action of impeachment why can’t he just start to blow the trumpet of war to see if Nostradamus was indeed a soothsaying fake for a fart?

Dr. GP, what is your eschatological interpretation of America going to war (once again) in the lands of your book of comic-tragedy?

19. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Donna, yes it’s clearly an alternative universe for these absolutely illogical commentaries from these ‘trumpophants’!

Any person who proffers the level of supposed research and interpretative nous as the blogger @John does and can say : “Peace may very well soon come as factions realise it is better than war” is clearly a man hinged to alternative universe or …addicted to the goal of 6 or more untruths (can’t call them lies) per day!!

He also said that Obama, Hillary and Biden took the US into this Syrian quagmire as if starting in 2008 the mid East calculus was as defined as an Ad-Maths equation and voilá those three just ‘frenched’ it up. Steeupse.

Incidentally, re police and Black interaction I’ll remind the blog that police corruption and racism (profiling and more) is insidiously entrenched.

Go back if we will to Hoover’s actions with his FBI high flying goons of that day ; ease forward to the deep set exposeés of west coast (Los Angeles et al) and east coast (NY and Chicago particularly) corruption that came alive following the Serpico revelations … the latter as in NY directly…; then speed forward to a time in a NY jurisdiction where it was reported that for a period juries essentially REFUSED to accept testimony of POs as a sole determinant in a conviction because they had been shown to be so racist, corrupt and biased.

Shooting a person in their home when there is apparently absolutely (I have not seen the body cam vid) no threat should be a murder indictment or involuntary MS or whatever but he should be charged.

He MUST lose his job as clearly he is not a competent risk manager and that profession is ALL about high risks …

At least when 12 year old Tamir was killed in could be argued (despite the fact that the officer was found to have been labelled unstable emotionally and UNFIT for a job as a PO but had not noted that detail nor was it background checked) that Tamir looked to be drawing a ‘gun’ in a public space.

…but how does one justify killing someone in their own home in a state that proudly proclaims it’s gun carry status.

The Black-White issue just makes it doubly full of anger and pain.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John did u really lose ALL the sense that brought u acclaim of a high IQ as a teenager!

What the badword are u suggesting (as others have) that a neighbor at 2 AM makes a call to the PO …non EMERGENCY …REPEAT NON EMERGENCY… to request a welfare check on his fellow citizen and HE is blameworthy!

No wonder u find the POTUS disgusting remark (publicly at his status level) of ass-kissing so note worthy.

Some wise wag or maybe hag once said something about…it takes one to know one!.

Don’t call cops if u are concerned about your neighbor …go check yourself at 2 AM …and carry ur gun…if there is an actual problem then carry out a citizen’s arrest; if there is none …phew, then I just saved my neighbour from getting their backside killed… but oh shaving cream is that blood I feel… did Mary my neighbor mistake me for an intruder … oh dear, I should have let the ‘professionals’ deal wid did…oh yes, they may have killed her! I am fading…

Afreakingmazing.

21. “White Americans are referred as Caucasian, if there were from Europe, UK, Canada,Australia, South Africa or Barbados etc.”

Again speaking subject to correction – i have never heard white Americans referred to as Caucasian Americans

22. “Most of us became familiar with the ethnonym African American in the 1980s, when Jesse Jackson began popularizing it as an alternative to black.”

Are all blk Americans of African origin?

23. I have a thought about Googling information and treating it as the truth. According to Wikipedia, Rihanna is Afro-Barbadian, Afro-Guyanese, Afro-Irish and, we may now say, Afro-American and maybe in future, Afro-American-Arab. Stop the nonsense.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Charles Skeete at 10 :33 AM

Words are supposed to convey ideas. We the readers buy into the ideas when we accept them. Caucasia is not a geographical location. It was a classification of a scientist dabbling in Eugenics. Politicians and other thought leaders bought into his classification system. It fitted their politicalnarratives.
    There is only one human race. There is nothing objectively wrong about “black” or ”negro” to describe those of us with African ancestors; nor “white” for those of European ancestry.

25. John October 8, 2019 12:00 PM

Hate, despise whatever.

Not good feelings to keep inside you, they will eat you out!!

Trump is here for a time.

He too will pass as we all will!!!

Relax and enjoy the greatest show on earth while it lasts!!

John October 8, 2019 9:07 PM

Donna
    October 8, 2019 1:09 PM

John,

One man’s show is another man’s terrible existence or gruesome death. This show has real consequences.
    PS. I have nothing and no-one else to bother about and so I can spare some concern for others. The revulsion I feel for Trump is on their behalf. It does not eat me up.

Name me ten people who have met a gruesome death as a result of the show and who fuel your revulsion.

Donna October 13, 2019 6:34 PM

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/turkey-invades-syria-kurds-civilians-reportedly-killed-as-turkey-assault-escalates-today-live-updates/

https://www.aclu.org/blog/immigrants-rights/immigrants-rights-and-detention/immigrant-kids-keep-dying-cbp-detention

I don’t have their names but…….

John October 14, 2019 6:46 AM

I always thought it was Obama, Biden and Hilary who took America into Syria.

I always thought it was the three of them that created ISIS!!

Seem to remember the issue of the refugees being a pretty big issue … wasn’t that before Trump!!

Johnnie Ma Boy,

So predictable! Just throw in the names of the usual suspects and I’ll come running to their defence,

WRONG!

As far as I know there were two separate “wars” going on in Syria and we must not conflate the two. The situation is way more complex than that. However in the “Russian backed Assad civil war’ did not Trump lambaste Obama for drawing a red line and being too weak of a leader to follow through? Justified criticism. Parenting 101.

But……

I am not going to get into the details of who did what. Or rather, let me concede AGAIN that Obama’s premature withdrawal from the Iraq war which George Bush deceitfully started, helped to create the conditions under which ISIS was formed. Trump rightly criticized him for it. Now he is doing precisely what he lambasted Obama for doing. That particular area had stabilized. Now it is complete chaos. It is a mad scramble. The allies who helped America are sandwiched between the devil and the deep blue sea and what they died for is being undone.

And to what end????

As for relaxing and enjoying the show – I did not bring out the popcorn when Obama made his mistakes and I shall not bring out the popcorn for this DELIBERATE creation of chaos.

And as for the factions realizing that peace is better than war, that is as realistic as Jared Kushner’s laughable peace plan. You know that.

One can only seek to minimize the casualties OR ONE CAN SEEK TO MAXIMIZE THEM AS YOUR AGENT ORANGE IS DOING.

PS. I noticed you ignored the list of the dead children at the border.

DPD,

Just saw your comment of October 8th.

The nuances of the synonyms are indeed different. One connotes the rejection of the actions of the person and the other a purely emotional, toxic and often irrational response to the person regardless of his actions..

But John knows this. He does not care for the truth. He prefers to sip and spit out orange Kool Aid. And I cannot figure out why. I know Mary Mary Quite Contrary’s brain is a casualty of the so-called white evangelical movement. He has bought the whole orange hog and one can only pity the fool. But John seems to be playing mind games.

26. Trump has always been on record that he opposed the Iraq intervention.

Now what year was that?

Trump is quite willing to assist Saudi Arabia … but they have to pay!!

27. Trump’s objective seems to be to get America out of the Middle East!!

No one in their right mind can fault that.

28. … no matter how many words they write.

29. As far as I know there were two separate “wars” going on in Syria and we must not conflate the two.

There seems to be third one which is being conflated!!!!

The Gun Range in America!!

You are watching too much fake news!!

https://www.newsbusters.org/blogs/nb/kristine-marsh/2019/10/14/wow-abc-admits-using-fake-footage-slaughter-syria-segments

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

OK so things have settled in re the death of Atatiana Jefferson shot in her home by an incompetent PO… he has resigned (was to be fired) and has been charged with murder… that’s the easy and easily predictable part…now comes the hard slog!

Likely he will slide on a manslaughter or some lesser charge down from murder… I anticipate he WILL be convicted of something however because he simply did NOT follow basic process (an average juror would expect) nor I suspect did he follow his dept protocols.

Just the other day the other Texan featured in this blog tried to use the local version of ‘stand your ground’ or ‘I can protect my castle and defend myself against a perceived threat’… which was a novel way out of her predicament.

However, Ms. Jefferson was validly protecting herself in HER castle with her licenced weapon… so it will be interesting to see how this PO’s lawyer validates his mere seconds shoot to kill into this lady’s castle when he NEVER said “police” to remove her belief that she was in possible danger!

31. @Dee Word

This is White America you are referring?