August 2019 saw at least two murders taking place in Barbados (34 for the year so far). One took place in the parish of St. Michael, while the other took place in St. Philip. The victims were both male and died as a result of knife and gun related violence respectively. The data was collected and compiled based on available media reports at the time. See below charts for additional details and analysis.

Heat Map of Murders in Barbados – January to August 2019

175 responses to “Barbados Murder Statistics August 2019”

1. I’m cool, …. enjoying the gift of life!!

2. This should be herer
    Thanks Amit.
    Yo do a great service. I hope you manage to just provide the numbers and ignore the comments.

My fellow Bajans can be very witty and full of suggestions…

@TheOGazerts

Appreciate the feedback. I’d like to use this opportunity to clarify a few things:

I too am a Bajan by birth (41 odd years ago) and up until a year or so ago, by residence.
    I recall a BU commenter, on this post, indirectly querying the independence of caribbeansignal.com. Let me be clear, the domain and the blog belong to me. When I present data, I do my best to present it from a non-partisan point of view. Of-course, commentators on BU will always try to spin it in a way that furthers their own agendas. But hey, humans will be human.
    In addition to the murder stats, I also track fuel prices in Bim and have 4+ years of freely and easily accesible data for those interested.
    I have also done research on gender equality in select board rooms of Caribbean companies.
    Finally, as a long time reader of BU, I may not agree with everyone’s opinion, but I respect the right for everyone to have an opinion. My only hope is that we try to refrain from the ad hominen attacks. If you disagree, great, but attack the argument, not the person making the argument. Then again, if we all did that, then it’s quite likely that a part of the entertainment and belly laff value of BU may decline. And we don’t want that, do we? Lol.

In conclusion, I hope all of the BU family has a safe and good weekend!

3. @Amit

Well stated.

4. Amit

In between all the attacks and criticism is one simple message
    A message being asked of govt for full transparency and accountability
    People need to know the truth and from the truth given people would respond accordingly in manners and ways which would be meaningful in the protection of their lives
    Remember when their was an alert given by the USA to alert USA citizens of places to avoid in Barbados because of criminal activity
    The response coming from govt was one of scoffing and attacks on the message
    This govt IMHO has been less than truthful slowly by slowly people eyes have become opened to govt apparatus of untruths and will seek truthfulness and answers

5. I’m trying hard to understand something here.

All murders are reported in the print and electronic media. These reports are quoted in the regional media, making the news available around the Caribbean. Online papers can be read by people all over the world.

This means that information on murders in Barbados is known both regionally and internationally.

With this in mind, could someone please explain why would any government in Barbados would want to hide the murder rate or suppress news about murders.

All people are saying is that the government is being untruthful, but they can’t tell us how.

The argument about hiding the murder rate to protect the tourism industry is nonsense. Check islands such as Jamaica, Trinidad and Puerto Rico where the murder rates are high, yet their yearly tourist count surpasses that of any other regional territory.

6. What is there not to understand? People with narrow interest will feed it from any source.

7. Remember when their was an alert given by the USA to alert USA citizens of places to avoid in Barbados because of criminal activity. The response coming from govt was one of scoffing and attacks on the message (Quote)

@ Mariposa

I remember when the UK and US issued travel advisories about Barbados prior to May 24, 2018, you were at the forefront on BU and Maxine McClean and other members of the DLP used to scoff and attack those messages too.

It is amazing that the SAME things you SUPPORTED under the previous administration, you OPPOSE now.

You’re a real, real political yard fowl.

8. One year it is “two legs good, four legs bad” and Black Cherry Kool-Aid.
    Next year it is “four legs good, two legs bad” and . Pink Lemonade Kool-Aid.
    Simple slogans and menus

9. Robert Goren

You are a liar if u are going to use accusation tactics against me bring the proof
    I have explained myself in a manner which is truthful about govt using obfuscation tactis to hide and confuse the citizens about the truthfulness of the murder rate
    People are not dumb not to understand the many strategies put in place to undermine people realities on the ongoing criminal activities and its effect on the number of murders commited so far
    Even David has put his two cents in about a decline
    I guess in his unrealistic moment of “saying it is not so bad after all” Wuh loss

10. @ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife September 13, 2019 5:55 PM

Apparently, two Donville Inniss live in Oxnard’s Heights. One is a successful businessman with a black Mercedes E-Class, real estate in Barbados, Florida and elsewhere, the other a poor fellow who needs an education loan.

Or let’s take your assertion that you can go into government buildings with short pants. Hardly ever laughed like that.

Clever Simon, stop fooling us here. Greetings also to your former classmate Frundel in Canada 😉

11. Mariposa, you said I’m a liar and using accusation tactics against you without bringing proof. Where is the proof?

Despite your denials, the reality is that you and ac are the same person or group of persons. It is highly unlikely that two people have identical writing styles. I’m sure if anyone read your comments prior to the last election, they would see how you opposed travel advisories about Barbados the same way you are now accusing this administration of doing.

With that out of the way, how can you say you’re being truthful and accuse government of using obfuscation tactics when did not bring evidence to prove they are doing so?

Tell us WHAT methods government is using to hide and confuse the citizens about the truthfulness of the murder rate. Tell us what is the source of your information. Where can we find it? In which newspaper was it reported? Or is this something that originated in George Street?

Then you go on to say that people “understand the many strategies put in place to undermine people realities on the ongoing criminal activities and its effect on the number of murders commited so far,” which is basically a generalisation. It’s expected that operatives like you would say people know about the strategies. But, where is the PROOF? Tell us WHAT are these strategies? Describe them or give us details.

Without giving us facts or PROOF, you are merely accusing government based on hear-say or on what you believe.

It looks like you’re taking gossip and what you make in your mind and bringing it here expecting all of us to believe it’s the truth.

12. Robert Goren
    I had no opinion when USA and Uk made /sent warnings
    Absolutely none
    It is obviuos what your intentions are in trying to define me
    As for govt obfuscation.The proof lies in their detailing of murder with descriptive and separation measures which in itself would remove some of the sting and over flow of negative press
    Therein lies the proof of a govt with a hidden agenda

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TronSeptember 14, 2019 10:16 AM”Clever Simon, stop fooling us here. Greetings also to your former classmate Frundel in Canada.”

I’ve never met anyone called Freundel.

I don’t know why you would think that a clever person like me went to Foundation or UWI. Lolll!!!

My apologies to the Foundation/UWI alumni.

14. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TronSeptember 14, 2019 10:16 AM “Or let’s take your assertion that you can go into @government buildings with short pants.”

There are no government buildings.

There are only buildings paid for by the taxpayers.

That is buildings that we money paid for.

You like you forget that “the government” B nor D don’t wuk no where.

The government has never paid a cent of taxes in its (non) life.

We buildings.

And if we feel like wearing short pants, we will wear short pants.

Ad if we feel like wearing arm holes and no underpants, so be it.

15. As for govt obfuscation.The proof lies in their detailing of murder with descriptive and separation measures which in itself would remove some of the sting and over flow of negative press. (Quote)

Is the above mumbo jumbo the best you can offer as proof? All you did is post another incoherent generalisation.

Please explain in English what do you mean by saying “detailing of murder with descriptive and separation measures?”

What are “descriptive and separation measures?” Give us examples.

It does not make sense. You are making things up as you go.

When has giving murder statistics become the job of any government?

As far as I can remember no government in the history of Barbados has ever taken on the responsibility of giving details on murders or murder statistics. This was always done by the police.

16. Spot on!

17. Spot on.
    You are a learned person i suppose !go get Websters
    Who manages the justice dept
    Am i now to belive that this govt has a hand off approach on what comes out of the justice dept police force
    Doesn’t govt oversee certain dept of the police force in hiring and firing
    Wasnt Mottley not sitting up front and centre in the media briefing on the Chriclow case
    Yuh think i foolish like the old people say it is more in the mortar than than the pestle
    Try convincing yuhself not me

18. Doesn’t govt oversee certain dept of the police force in hiring and firing (Quote)

You are WRONG!!!!

It’s clear that you’re making up things as you go.

The RBPF’S personal department, which is usually headed by a senior superintendent, is responsible for the recruitment of police officers.

After the initial interviews, a written examination, medical and psychiatric evaluations, as well as back ground checks, the prospective recruit has to meet with a recruitment panel of senior police officers for a final interview before he/she is chosen to attend the police training school.

This is an internal process and is not overseen by government.

Police Officers are referred to the Police Services Commission for dismissal.

What does Mottley sitting at a media briefing on the Crichlow case have to do with anything?

As I said, you are criticizing for the sake of criticising. You made certain accusations that you’re unable to prove, explain or defend.

Stop making up things as you go.

19. Is the DLP General Secretary Guyson Mayers still the Chairman of the PSC?

http://www.padbds.com/the-police-service-commission

20. There were 29 gun-related crimes during the first 6 months of 2019 or an average of just under 5 per month. Since July the total is 2. Has the access to guns and especially ammunition been impacted due to RBPF or government iniatives. Are knife-related murders linked to drugs-gang warfare? More drugs available so need to war? Discuss for 20 points and depth recognition. #nospin

21. @Amit

Feel free to comment on enuff’s post.

22. David BU

Guyson Mayers was replaced with Margot Greene as chairman of the Police Services Commission. Keith Whittaker was retained on the “new” Commission, but, unfortunately, he died in June 2019.

However, I understand PSC was abolished and a new body was established with responsibility for the police, prison and fire officers.

23. Margo Greene, the family lawyer? Lord!

24. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

De ole man going comment on The First of the Rented Jackasses Hee Hee ‘s comment

He prayed AND DE OLE MAN QUOTES

“…There were 29 gun-related crimes during the first 6 months of 2019 or an average of just under 5 per month. Since July the total is 2.

Has the access to guns and especially ammunition been impacted due to RBPF or government iniatives…”

Hee Hee it has nothing to do with any government initiatives.

What it does have to do with is THE EDICT as advised by de ole man.

“…Mother, son murdered at home in Rices shooting …”

Mar 17, 2019 · Barbados murder toll for 2019 climbs to 18 with a double homicide in a rural community.

On Sunday March 17th 2019 about 8:10 pm police responded to a report made via telephione that two masked men were in the area of a residence located at Rices, St. Philip….”

THE EDICT IS A VERY SIMPLE ONE REALLY.

Any unsanctioned murder WHICH MAKES THE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS under Mugabe look like if it is not in control of crime will be met with this type of retribution

Wunna got to talk to de fellers pun de street though.

Wunna heah pun Barbados Underground real out of it!

Go down in *** and talk wid *** and wunna going know what going on!

UNSANCTIONED MURDERS WILL RESULT IN DEATHS not death.

And the anonymous tips dat de police getting are part of the real crime interventionists strategy.

The Royal Baygon Police Force IS NOT THE CRIME SOLUTION, the drug lords are.

But doan mind de ole man, nor me sources, heheheheh

Listen to the braying mule…Hee Hee

25. I am wondering if the comments persuaded Amit to discontinue his fine work,.