It never fails to amuse the blogmaster when following international news- as his his wont[- to wonder how two buffoons were able to attain the heights of political office in their respective lands. Perhaps somethings are not meant to be understood and should be dismissed as the improbable made possible.

306 responses to “Trump Then Boris”

1. Yeah it will!!

Election run with Brexit as its central theme is equivalent to a second referendum.

Whoever wins can claim the first referendum was clear evidence of support, OR it wasn’t!!

2. Isn’t the UK electorate split down the middle on that issue?

https://whatukthinks.org/eu/questions/do-you-think-the-eu-agreeing-to-a-renegotiated-deal-more-along-the-lines-of-what-boris-johnson-wants-and-britain-leaving-on-those-terms-can-still-realistically-happen/

@Money brain

You are all for ignoring g the mandate from the referendum because of the constitutional crisis on display? Would there be g=fallout as a result?

3. Boris Johnson could soon be forced to resign as prime minister and make way for Jeremy Corbyn

Adam Bienkov
    Sep. 6, 2019, 10:36 AM

Boris Johnson. Getty

UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson is quickly running out of options after opposition parties agreed to veto his request for an October election.
    The agreement means that Johnson is likely to soon face a choice between breaking his promise to take Britain out of the European Union by the end of October or stepping down as prime minister.
    Johnson’s resignation would leave opposition parties the opportunity to appoint a caretaker prime minister who would be charged with delaying Brexit before calling a general election.
    Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

Boris Johnson could soon be forced to resign as prime minister. Here’s why.
    Johnson became prime minister in July on a promise of taking the UK out of the European Union on October 31 with or without a deal.
    But this week that plan collapsed after opposition members of Parliament passed a law designed to force Johnson to seek a three-month delay to Brexit.
    https://www.businessinsider.com/boris-johnson-could-resign-as-prime-minister-delay-brexit-2019-9?fbclid=IwAR2_GcUiTsy5A8Soz8E3r5jFR6gc_zHxWfaaZO_17gHfw-VwaEVEPZopAm4&r=US&IR=T

4. Not ignoring, that is why I framed as who will lead the UK out of Europe.

5. Isn’t the UK electorate split down the middle on that issue?

I like to watch what politicians actually do!!!!!

Doesn’t trying to avoid an election at all costs say that the politicians who want to avoid it are afraid of the outcome?

Boris Johnson is saying bring it on!!

Quite possible he is wrong and will lose but he has not gone to inordinate lengths to get elections to happen as have his opponents!!

There were 3 million extra people who no one can say anything about that turned out to vote in Brexit!!

How they voted is a mystery!!!!

.https://www.bbc.com/news/election-2017-39922798

So what was the turnout in the 2017 election?

Less than Brexit, 69 % vs 72%!!

Result was a hung parliament.

If I was an MP who supported remaining in Europe I would be afraid of that extra 3%!!

Parliament might cease to be hung and the Brexit lot could be in control!!

Maybe that is too simple an analysis and I have not really been following things in the UK!!

The electorate may not be actually “split down the middle”!!

6. “Johnson’s resignation would leave opposition parties the opportunity to appoint a caretaker prime minister who would be charged with delaying Brexit before calling a general election.”

I don’t think they want any election!!

7. They are not avoiding and election. They are avoiding being the one to take a Brexit position on the campaign trail.

8. @ Quaker John

Forget Brexit for a minute, do you know what was the ratio of women to men plantation owners during slavery n Barbados?

9. If you look at the 1680 census you will see the women who owned land were mainly if not all widows.

I say mainly because I have not gone through all the parish returns.

But from what I have looked at all of the women who owned land were widows.

In fact, the second largest landowner in St. Thomas was Widow Farmer, the relict of Samuel Farmer.

She owned more than 300 acres.

That would be (surprise surprise) Farmers and other lands.

Quaker women were capable so being a widow was not an impediment as they had plenty ability and were treated atleast as spiritual equals.

In fact two of the first Quakers to arrive in Boston in 1655, via Barbados, were Mary Fisher and Ann Austin, perhaps an ancestor!!

Mary Fisher, after she was whipped and expelled from Boston, travelled alone to Constantinople to convince the Sultan of the Ottoman Empire of the Truth.

Equal treatment of women was a no no in that era and was as heinous as the religious beliefs they held!!

You will also find that widows often did not stay widows long.

When they remarried often they and their new husbands worked out a legal agreement, forerunner to the prenuptial agreements of today where their children were protected.

Sometimes their husbands imposed conditions in their wills to protect their children in the event of remarriage.

10. You can also take a look at a list of what is referred to as the Valiant Sixty and you will find there are enough women in that list to support the proposition that Quaker women were quite formidable!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valiant_Sixty

… and here is a bit about Mary Fisher

http://www.quakersintheworld.org/quakers-in-action/187/Mary-Fisher

11. Men usually died before their wives, but not always.

Sir John Gay Alleyne for example outlived his first wife and married again.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sir_John_Alleyne,_1st_Baronet

While a lot of the reasons today for the fact that men die earlier did not exist then, men usually died earlier.

Here are some of the reasons men die earlier today!!

https://www.facebook.com/menshumor/videos/2845394672352751/

https://www.boredpanda.com/safety-men-fails-funny/?utm_source=google&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=organic

12. Hal

Once a woman married, any property she owned became subsumed in her husband’s.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coverture

The Victorian era saw the passage of the Married Women’s Property Act.

That was of course after slavery.

You will find Quaker women at the forefront of women’s issues!!

Here is a link to the first anti slavery convention.

You can see from the names of women in this link they were formidable and many Quakers!!

Womens rights as well as the abolition of slavery are both linked to Quaker thinking and beliefs!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Anti-Slavery_Convention#Victuallers

13. Hal

One last thing before I go back on thread.

Until the Victorian era, it is unlikely there will be many single women who owned property in their own right for the simple reason they married young.

The land would then have appeared in their husbands’ name unless they were widowed.

A bequest to a female in the next generation, child or niece would have often been to her as a married woman.

Sometimes the bequest was made in such a way that her husband could not touch the land.

If she wasn’t married and under 21 (sometimes younger by a few years) the bequest took effect when she married or when she reached age 21.

Most women married before they were 21.

Until she reached 21 or married the property remained the property of the estate of the testator.

Single women could buy land but in most cases in the rural parishes, they acquired land through a bequest.

14. Hal

Back to Brexit about which I know nothing!!

Here is how I read the turn out figures of 2016, the referendum and 2017 the election of a hung parliament.

Whichever party offers the electorate what it wants regarding Brexit will win in a landslide.

Three percent will tip the scale!!

You could form a party, call it Hal Austin and his Associates (HAHA for short).

If your party offered the electorate what it wanted, you would win in a landslide.

If Boris and his party gets the offer right, they will win in a landslide.

The only way there will be a hung parliament is if all parties offer the same thing …. and then I suspect the HAHA party would fall by the wayside!!

15. Hal

People around the world are fed up with politicians!!

After 3 years of crap I would imagine Brits who were already fed up are more than fed up!!

Any reasonable alternative will fly … even Grenville!!

Give it a go!!

16. Governments breaks laws all the while

17. @ Quaker John

Single women and widows enjoyed the same property rights as men; in Barbados, women collected 28 per cent of the compensation at the abolition and they bought and sold plantations in their own right.
    A good book to read on this is The Economics of Emancipation – Jamaica and Barbados, 1823-1843. If you do not have it I can send you a copy. Just give me a postal address.

@John 12.32

The nation is divided, not just the Johnson family. You are right, some Bajans are more obsessed with Brexit than people who live in Britain.; We just want it over and done with – but not only any terms.
    I will tell you what I find interesting, that a nation that professes to be based on the Westminster model when it talks about Brexit just concentrates on the hysteria and nonsense, not the substance.
    If I do form a political party I will call it the Bajan Academy of Knowledge.

18. The UK is obsessed with Brexit. So what is your point. You have suffered how many OPMs because of the issue? The 31 October date and inability to compromise on the backstop guarantees it remains the item the UK will remain obsessed.

19. Boris wants a mandate from the people, the irony is that parliament will have to agree. He will have to beg like a child would for candy.

20. See what i mean about VOTE BEGGARS aka politicans…just watch and see if the UK voters suffer a moment of madness and give this idiot a mandate how he will immediately MORPH into a PSYCHOTIC leader..demanding this and dictating that and all HOPPED UP and ready to DESTROY THE PEOPLE ON EARTH……and we done know he and Reese Moggs aka RassMugg the Pretender, don’t have far to go to reach their pinnacle of the psychotic crazy..

wait, what did they do with their other equally evil, dangerous partner Gove after exposing his nose candy usage …lol

21. UK is in political war

22. Single women and widows enjoyed the same property rights as men; in Barbados, women collected 28 per cent of the compensation at the abolition and they bought and sold plantations in their own right.

A good book to read on this is The Economics of Emancipation – Jamaica and Barbados, 1823-1843. If you do not have it I can send you a copy. Just give me a postal address.

Got it read it!!

You forgot one right attaching to land ownersip during slavery and beyond!!

That right attaching to property ownership which men had but not women was the RIGHT TO VOTE.

Even free men of colour who owned land had the right to vote perhaps a century before women of any colour who owned property could.

Women who owned land got the right to vote in 1918 if memory serves me right, end of WWI.

If you look at the earliest suffragists you will find many were Quaker.

Universal adult suffrage only came into being in 1951 … again, if memory serves me right …. where the qualification of land ownership was removed.

Today we take it for granted.

You asked me about ownership at the time of slavery not emancipation so I gave you what I had found in 1680.

That 1680 census is important because it gives a snap shot of ownership of land, slaves and servants, both bought and hired around the end of the first generation of plantation slavery.

Within the 28% of women who collected compensation after emancipation would have been free negroes and free mulattoes like Sarah Ann Gill for example who would have been a widow.

I had an ancestor who was freed sometime in 1802 and produced 10 children with the owner of Burke’s Plantation.

Her name was Mary Ann, she took the surname of the owner of Burke’s Plantation, Robert Cooper Ashby.

She made returns between 1817 and 1834 for the slaves she owned and was no doubt compensated.

Here’s the thing with Burke’s Plantation.

It belonged to Mary Ann Burke up to 1793 when she married Robert Cooper Ashby. They had one son who died in 1821 without issue as far as I can determined and single.

Burke’s Plantation became subsumed with the property of RCA which wasn’t much at the time of marriage.

I suspect it was added to during the marriage.

Mary Ann Ashby (nee Burke)… the wife …. died I believe in 1826.

In 1839 when RCA died, he left Burkes, then 310 acres and Brittons Plantation to Mary Ann, the former slave, a single woman who had never married but produced 10 children with RCA.

Her 10 children were also included in the bequest.

She died c.1841.

Burkes ultimately was sold by her surviving children (male and female) in the 1870’s.

She could never vote, nor could her female children even though they owned property and would have been qualified to vote had they been men.

23. The right to own slaves attached to free people, regardless of colour.

Slave ownership was separate and distinct from land ownership.

In fact in the 1680 census many owned land but no slaves!!

24. … and some owned no land at all.

Of the 192 persons in the census of 1680 for St. Thomas, there were 28 widows, 2 of whom owned no land.

In all 6 persons owned no land.

So 26 widows out of 186 landowners!!

Percentage wise that would be about 14%.

That is just St. Thomas.

25. JOHN BERCOW, KEEPER OF THE SECRET SET WHO COLLUDED WITH THE ENEMY WHO HAS BEEN RIPPING OFF THE BRITISH PEOPLE FOR EONS.

“This man has been singularly paramount in the obstruction of the will of the British people. He has colluded with EU sycophants in parliament to betray the British people in favour of EU economic policies… Their main and clear objective is to suppress the voice of the British working class and to entrance the prosperous IT industries to EU directives. Their intention is to subjugate the working class in the UK as collateral damage to the EU manufacturing machine”.

BORIS JOHNSON TELLS JOHN BERCOW, ‘YOU’RE OUT!’: TORIES WILL OUST ‘BIASED’ COMMONS SPEAKER AFTER HE RIPPED UP THE RULEBOOK AND HELPED BLOCK BREXIT

https://img-s-msn-com.akamaized.net/tenant/amp/entityid/AAGXPZw.img?h=533&w=799&m=6&q=60&o=f&l=f&x=1693&y=935

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF COMMONS JOHN BERCOW JOHN BERCOW’S ROLE IN BLOCKING BREXIT HAS SEALED HIS FATE AS COMMONS SPEAKER, ONE OF BORIS JOHNSON’S MOST SENIOR MINISTERS REVEALED YESTERDAY.

Business Secretary Andrea Leadsom today confirms for the first time that the Conservative Party will defy convention and put up a candidate against him in the next Election.

Before becoming Speaker ten years ago, Mr Bercow was the Tory MP for Buckingham with a majority of more than 18,000, so the move is almost certain to lead to him losing his seat and the Election of a new Speaker.

https://img-s-msn-com.akamaized.net/tenant/amp/entityid/AAGXEd5.img?h=1080&w=1920&m=6&q=60&o=f&l=f&x=324&y=125

BERCOW COMES UNDER FIRE AND FACES AN ELECTION CHALLENGE BY THE TORIES

The move is an act of revenge by Downing Street after Mr Bercow spoke out against the Prime Minister’s move to suspend Parliament, and then used Commons procedure to facilitate the successful move by pro-Remain MPs to block No Deal.

Since 11pm, 29 March 2019 the UK has paid the EU £ 4,334,992,744.88. This could have paid for 48 NEW HOSPITALS, 188,477 NURSES, 164, 509 POLICEMEN, or even the repair of 81,792,315 POTHOLES. A SINGLE PILE OF WHAT WE HAVE PAID IN £ 20 NOTES WOULD BE 15.22 MILES TALL… TIME FOR BREXIT…

26. lets build an army and a big bomb

Rough it up Tough it up

27. Have the MPs grabbed control of the order paper? The blogmaster has not been able to catch up with todays events.

28. Mr Boris Johnson has been hoisted on his own petard. In the fullness of time so will Mr Jeremy Corbyn. They both conspired for their own ends to derail Mrs May”s efforts to strike a compromise deal with the European Union Mr Johnson hoping that the derailing efforts will lead to the downfall of Mrs May and in the case of Mr Corbyn that a general election will be called and he profit from the confusion of seemingly dysfunctional government. The bitter partisanship and divide at play between the Brexiteers and remainers have only served to make what once was regarded as the cradle of democracy the laughing stock of the entire world. I find those calling for an extension of negotiate and opposed to a no -deal Brexit to be disingenuous and hypocritical since the European Union is on record indicating that the last deal by Mrs May was the only deal they were willing to accept and this was rejected by the British parliament which has launched an assault on thevery best traditions and conventions of British parliamentary democracy by thwarting the will of the people who voted to leave the European Union.. London bridge is indeed falling down.

29. …..this was rejected by the British parliament which has launched an assault on thevery best traditions and conventions of British parliamentary democracy by thwarting the will of the people who voted to leave the European Union….(Quote)

The BU rum shop is now an expert chamber on the British constitution. Oh how we love CNN.

30. Is it not what BBC and other respected media outlets are also saying?

31. in Barbados, women collected 28 per cent of the compensation at the abolition

Got to be careful with that % because many married women came to marriage with slaves who became considered the husband’s property.

So it is quite possible that in reality women owned far more than 28% of the slaves at emancipation in Barbados.

It is just that at emancipation, pre – Victorian era, the law recognized their property as belonging to their husbands!!

So their husbands collected the loot!!

It is possible to get a more accurate figure by going through the returns on which the compensation was based and looking to see what slaves were owned by husbands by virtue of marriage!!

There were some 600 free negroes and free mulattoes who were compensated and many of them would have been single women!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Married_Women%27s_Property_Act_1882

“English law defined the role of the wife as a ‘feme covert’, emphasizing her subordination to her husband, and putting her under the ‘protection and influence of her husband, her baron, or lord’. Upon marriage, the husband and wife became one person under the law, as the property of the wife was surrendered to her husband, and her legal identity ceased to exist. Any personal property acquired by the wife during the marriage, unless specified that it was for her own separate use, went automatically to her husband. If a woman writer had copyright before marriage, the copyright would pass to the husband afterwards, for instance. Further, a married woman was unable to draft a will or dispose of any property without her husband’s consent.[4]”

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caroline_Norton

32. Dominic Cummings is a brilliant strategist. Almost as brilliant as our Pre-Minister’s advisors.

A red bishop as a man playing opposition.

A trade unionist and former BU author as a senator, corrupted by his new position at the banquet of power.

Another BU author whom the government has just neutralized … LOL.

Slowly I suspect that Mariposa is also just a bot from Charles Jong´s IT workshop. No real person is as simple as Mariposa.

It’s only a matter of time before “The Legend”, Hal and John A. also get consultant jobs or senator posts. There is no one left to question the government in the social media.

Conclusion: Let the opposition struggle for another two years. Then we should close the Senate as a retreat for the opposition. We must also drastically reduce the number of constituencies in order to merge rebel strongholds such as St. John with other parishes closer to the government. According to my calculations, we can tailor the constituencies in a way that the opposition is permanently eliminated.

33. @ Tron

Sorry. I am not in the job market – paid or voluntary.

34. Hal,

I have no doubt about your integrity. But you will agree with me that the list of independent authors and commentators on BU is getting shorter and shorter.

35. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

As far as new stories go this snippet from a CNN report is mind boggling:

‘In a previously undisclosed secret mission in 2017, the United States successfully extracted from Russia one of its highest-level covert sources inside the Russian government […] “

“A person directly involved in the discussions said that the removal of the Russian was driven, in part, by concerns that President Donald Trump and his administration repeatedly mishandled classified intelligence and could contribute to exposing the covert source as a spy.”

REALLY!

‘The decision to carry out the extraction occurred soon after a May 2017 meeting in the Oval Office in which Trump discussed highly classified intelligence with Russian [officials …] The intelligence, concerning ISIS in Syria, had been provided by Israel”

This is astonishing that a news company would so cryptically accuse a sitting President of possible national security crimes (treason ?)…or is it astonishing that the Intel services even acted as reported for the reasons as noted …

This is truly unbelievable news seen daily…I have never seen or read things like this !

Good lordie.

36. Hal,

You will also have to admit that the new government here is much more effective at dismantling the opposition than OSA. OSA has wasted billions creating useless administrative jobs for opposition members. Today, four or five promotions or small government contracts (like GP2) are enough.

Once Donville is convicted or names others, the DLP will disappear anyway in the medium term. It’s a very serious mistake for the self-proclaimed blue opposition leader to have herself photographed with Donville in the background. Or it’s not an accident … Maybe she’s a mole with the mission to destroy the DLP from the inside out.
    Some kind of red termite in the blue wood.

37. @Tron

You maybe on to something,look how Bushy disappeared from the blog and Miller has been quiet of late something is amiss……

38. @Sargeant

Now you also know why I learned to appreciate our Prime Minister so much. She achieves great results with a small financial investment, but personal energy and strategy.

Burnham, Barrow and all the other colonial figures were obviously not clever enough to learn the lessons from their LSE studies. Kind of mentally overloaded.

Our Prime Minister obviously listened carefully and understood. Whether you like Keynes or Hayek, both preached maximizing the use of resources. Small cause, big effect.

39. @ Tron

LSE is now full of Chinese. Is Jong an LSE graduate?

40. Look at his profile at LinkedIn.

41. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Freedom CrierSeptember 8, 2019 8:20 AM “God is with him and over 60 million voted for him last time including many Evangelicals who are Praying for him including my family”

A serious question: Does God answer the prayers of Democrats?

Disclosure: I am not an American, so therefore can’t vote in the American elections.

42. Once Donville is convicted or names others, the DLP will disappear anyway in the medium term.

The DLP should take a minimum 5 year sabbatical.
    During that time they should dismantle themselves and start with a clean slate with 100% new candidates.

@ Tron

Could you point me to one or two of the outstanding achievements of your dear PM over her several decades long tenure as a senior MP?

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John September 8, 2019 9:22 AM “Bottom line… Parliament is thwarting the will of the people!”

How do you know this?

Have you or anybody else asked the people recently?

What if the people have changed their minds in the last 3+ years?

For example didn’t the people of Barbados vote one way in 2013 and another way in 2018?

People change their minds every single day.

44. White populists have ADT Attention Deficit Trait

@ Freedom Crier
    Provide the sources of the the tropes you cut and paste from
    it’s amazing the volume of prejudiced psyops material on the net

45. 7 defeats in parliament for Boris.

Reminiscent of when Stuart overstayed his welcome at government by 3 months.

46. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John at 2:30 p.mm. “Upon marriage, the husband and wife became one person under the law.”

This law was a gross misinterpretation of the Scriture which says in Genesis 2:24 “For this reason a man shall leave his father and his mother, and be joined to his wife; and they shall become one flesh.”

The correct interpretation of this Scripture is literal, that is once a man is joined to his wife, that is literally once he joins her in sexual intercourse, the result of that act is the the conception of one indivisible flesh, that is their children.

Once a child is born nobody has yet found a way to divide the father’s DNA from the mother’s DNA which both exist as one within the child.

The children therefor are the Scriptural “one flesh.”

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@TronSeptember 9, 2019 2:57 PM “Slowly I suspect that Mariposa is also just a bot from Charles Jong´s IT workshop. No real person is as simple as Mariposa.”

You got to be joking right?

If no real person is as simple as Mariposa than how did Donald Trump get elected to be the President of the USA?

How did Boris Johnson become the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom?

i put it to you that the WORLD is full, full, full up with simple people, billions and billions of simple people..

48. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Once an election is called, neither the Conservatives nor Labour will win an overwhelming victory.

I predict a shaky coalition, and another election within 2 years.

Will Brexit happen?

i honestly don’t know.

49. GEORGIE PORGIE with EARNED paper trophies Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE with EARNED paper trophies

YUH DOES READ SOME RUBBISH ON BU THOUGH

Genesis 2:24 SAYS “For this reason a man shall leave his father and his mother, and be joined to his wife; and they shall become one flesh.”

and they shall be one flesh; that is, “they two”, the man and his wife,shall become one flesh.”

THE RUBBISH BELOW IS CONCENTRATED RUBBISH AND IS NOT SUPPORTED BY THE ORIGINAL HEBREW

The correct interpretation of this Scripture is literal, that is once a man is joined to his wife, that is literally once he joins her in sexual intercourse, the result of that act is the the conception of one indivisible flesh, that is their children.

Once a child is born nobody has yet found a way to divide the father’s DNA from the mother’s DNA which both exist as one within the child.

The children therefor are the Scriptural “one flesh.”

IT IS MUCH BETTER IF BU BRIMBLERS WHO ACT AS IF THEY KNOW IT ALL SEEKING TO PONTIFICATE ON SCRIPTURE TO FOLLOW THIS BASIC RULE

WHEN THE PLAIN SENSE OF SCRIPTURE MAKES COMMON SENSE, SEEK NO OTHER SENSE; THEREFORE, TAKE EVERY WORD AT ITS PRIMARY, ORDINARY, USUAL, LITERAL MEANING UNLESS THE FACTS OF THE IMMEDIATE CONTEXT, STUDIED IN THE LIGHT OF RELATED PASSAGES AND AXIOMATIC AND FUNDAMENTAL TRUTHS INDICATE CLEARLY OTHERWISE.

SEEK THE PLAIN, LITERAL MEANING OF THE SCRIPTURES

The sum and substance of this most important rule is that one should take every statement of the Scriptures at its face value, if possible.
    The following is an analysis of the adjectives “primary,” “ordinary,” and “usual.”
    “Primary” emphasizes the original, inherent idea in the term.
    “Ordinary” and “usual” are practically synonyms, especially in this definition, “usual” being employed for the sake of emphasis.
    “Literal” is used to emphasize the thought that every word must first be taken literally as expressing the exact thought of the author at the time when it was used; and one is not to go beyond the literal meaning of the Scriptures unless the facts of the context indicate a deeper, hidden or symbolic meaning.

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply