During the 30 plus years my wife and I have lived on Barbados we have tried to take at least a couple of short breaks within the region or locally each year.

Having chaired, and or sat, on various tourism committees over those three decades and being a frequent commentator on the sector, I have always felt obliged to know as much about our tourism offerings as possible.  And frankly, despite our combined work experience, neither of us has ever had any illusions that we cannot learn from others in the business and during that process, improve our own product.

Sadly, taxation imposed by consecutive Governments has now made flying within the Caribbean almost inhibitive, except for those with deep pockets, or having their travel paid for by companies or the state via the taxpayer.

As someone who has championed intra-regional travel for nearly 40 years, even before our re-DISCOVER initiative was launched, shortly after the tragic events of 911, it is soul destroying, knowing that as a direct result on ‘sky high’ airfares it has dramatically and negatively impacted average hotel room occupancy, especially in the softer summer months.

The current policy thinking appears to build more and more hotels up to 15 floors high, when we cannot even finish the ones that have been started, but now lay idle. The quoted $84 million said to have been ploughed into Sam Lords Castle and the promised five diamond 450 room Wyndham Grand Resort are glaring examples.

Imagine, just for a moment if that figure of $84 million is vaguely creditable, what could have been achieved, if spent creatively and cost-effectively marketing Barbados and filling the thousands of empty rooms we have across the island currently.

Of course, if our politicians were spending their own monies, very few of these gross errors of ‘judgment’ would occur, but while a relentless pouring tap of taxpayers monies are easily available, the status quo seems unavoidable.

We do not have to travel far to see proof of this theory.

After that infamous statement ‘If we had to be perfectly honest, St. Lucia is at least 30 years behind Barbados, in terms of tourism – that’s the reality’, publicly uttered by someone who should have known the truth.

Yet in 2017, according to Statista (the recognized expert statistics portal), revenue generated by that country’s hospitality sector reached US$801 million.  Putting that in perspective, St. Lucia, with less rooms and airlift, generated within one fifth of the total recorded by Barbados (US$1.08 billion) for the same year.

My hope is that either the tourism trade association (BHTA) or an independent and authoritative body will commission a study to evaluate what a 10 percent increase annually in average room occupancy would produce in terms of profitably and overall revenue collection for both the private and public (taxation) sector.

155 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Politicians Killing the Tourism Goose”

1. @ Hal Austin

Did Clico buy it from Grant?

YES after it went into Bankruptcy and was closed for a while.

2. Thanks. Another example of Clico’s reckless spending of annuitants’ money. Where was the regulator?

3. @ Mariposa

I like the fact that you are not overwhelmed by a number of pompous idiots on this BU blog who constantly try to attack you on your perceived political party affiliation.

You are entitled to give your opinion irregardless who likes it.

Whilst I don’t support either party as a Bajan you have a right to speak on any issue same as @WARU.

@ Adrian Loveridge a brilliant article. Keep up the good work. You are an asset to Barbados anyone referring to colour in your case is ignorant as you have been seeking for a very long time to make the island more prosperous in this sector through your local endeavors and overseas experiences. Unlike most I know you firsthand professionally from Peach and Quiet Hotel for several years and know that you are a cut above the rest in your industry in regards to giving back to the island that has given you a lot.

4. @William

Continue to be disingenuous on the matter. You made a direct attack on Adrian by referencing his colour – he has been an advocate for his sector like any other interest group/person will advocate. If we had 5 Black advocates who were as diligent holding governments accountable it would be a lot easier.

Carry on smartly.

5. My experience was, to many hotel employees (and people in general), tourists generally means “white people.” Black people are not usually regarded as tourists. Males are often seen as “beach bums” and females as “hookers.” That’s why blacks experience problems with hotel employees, especially security guards. A black man/woman could not walk through the hotel, go to their room, sit in the restaurant or by the pool without his/her status being questioned.

Not just you. This is how black bajan brass bowls ( credit: Bushie) view the world.

Billions spent on “education”;
    half a century of ” independence” ;
    control of “political power”; etc.
    yet totally soporific in thinking and outlook.

6. Your main aim seems to be coming here with a vendetta to be offensive to certain contributors and not offering anything of substance.

Are Enuff or Lorenzo not entitled to give their opinion irregardless of YOU liking it or not?

Don’t you attack those two and verbally abuse them on their perceived political affiliation also?

As Bajans, Enuff and Lorenzo don’t have the RIGHT to speak on any issue the same as you, WARU or Mariposa?

What makes Enuff and Lorenzo different from Mariposa? Don’t they deserve the same treatment or is Mariposa special?

Now you calling people pompous idiots for DOING to Mariposa the SAME THING you constantly DO to Enuff and Lorenzo.

This makes you a pompous idiot and a hypocrite too.

7. Artax all i conclude from your brilliant and spot on analysis is that Mia took an idea which she crticized and lambasted past govt stole it wrapped it in glitz and glamour and marketed it in the gullible minds of the diaspora as a symbol of patriotism
    Hence the brain child of a warped imagination by Mia gave birth to a gimmick called WE GATHERING
    Stuart plan / idea was one to bring home barbadians at a special time of celebration a once in a lifetime celebration to celebrate their country 50th year of Independence
    A simple and well thought invitation having nothing to do with gimmicks or smoke and mirrors
    Most are awaiting the day when Mia would have a sustainable growth plan void of empty promises and placing hands in citizens pockets
    All and sundry knows that Mia stolen idea is another one of her adventures to hoodwink the diaspora out of their savings
    But then again empty vessels make nuff noise

8. @ Mariposa

I like the fact that you are not overwhelmed by a number of pompous idiots on this BU blog who constantly try to attack you on your perceived political party affiliation.

You are entitled to give your opinion irregardless who likes it.

Whilst I don’t support either party as a Bajan you have a right to speak on any issue same as @WARU. (Quote)

All we have to do is replace @ Mariposa with @ Enuff and Lorenzo, and it will mean the same thing.

You can’t be one-sided. If it applies to Mariposa, it has to apply to everyone who is perceived to be affiliated to some political party.

9. Robert Goren i am not overwhelmed that is a fact
    Could not care one way or another what anyone think of my postings
    Yes i am SPECIAL

10. One can easily guess that if a list of tax waivers and vat taxes (given) to businesses was published the hotel industry would top the list
    Reason being that a trip through the auditor general report for past years has listed the hotel industry as notorious vampires sucking off the nipples of govt /taxpayers
    Loans going unpaid for years

11. @ Robert Goren

When I first came on BU I never attacked anyone just spoke what I knew to be facts.

Your two friends @Enuff and @Lorenzo in a tagteam effort choose to attack myself when I started criticizing what was in the BLP 2018 Manifesto to mislead the Public of Barbados to get votes and win a landslide election.

In both of their initial attack on several topics commented on I was called a DEM to marginalized and some unsavory words after agreeing with several other bloggers.

I was also attacked by @piece initially because he thought I was a BLP poochlicker.

It was after these initial ongoing unwarranted personal attacks I then choose to retaliate by describing them as Beavis and Butthead.

So you can take your shite talk somewhere else Jackass.

Again not to deviate from the topic @Adrian Loveridge continue to do great work to help uplift the island including pointing out the errors of our ways holding back the island from truly punching above its weight.

12. “Artax all i conclude from your brilliant and spot on analysis is that Mia took an idea which she crticized and lambasted past govt stole it wrapped it in glitz and glamour and marketed it in the gullible minds of the diaspora as a symbol of patriotism.”

Hmmmmm…… this is either one of the many Mariposas…… or this one is sober.

If you read my comments in their entirety, you would have noticed I arrived at a SIMILAR conclusion. But, knowing you, you could not resist in putting your political spin on the issue.

13. Wuh everbody knows that the colour problem have exited in the hotel industry for years.
    Nothing new or surprising
    I remember when the Hilton first opened and was hiring blacks were giving the complimentary sound bite
    That vacancy was filled meanwhile the job opening was running in the paper for weeks
    But then who could these applicants complain back then

14. Baje dont pay them no mind
    Artax tells me i am sober
    Well i must conclude he must be stone drunk
    He adress me as “one of many Mariposas
    Boy i tell yuh LMAOFF

15. Can we discuss the topic for crissakes?

16. So you can take your shite talk somewhere else Jackass. (Quote)

First off, Enuff and Lorenzo are not my friends.

Next, what is good for the goose is good for the gander. Your rants are irrelevant. The fact remains Mariposa attack people on their perceived political party affiliation and people do the same to her. You do the same to Enuff and Lorenzo and they respond likewise.

You proved Austin right. If I may borrow a phrase from him, I noticed your retreat into a cavalcade of vulgarities and swearing. That is a sign that you can no longer articulate a point. Learning by rote means an inability to offer a critical analysis of another’s views.

You always go into the gutter.

It’s what he calls the Barbados Condition.

17. We are annoyed about Sandals carrying Jamaican rum and not bajan rums but whose fault is that? Before you cuss me read on!

When we negotiated with Sandals for all their tax exemptions etc, did we not stop and include in the said negotiations what we wanted to ensure for our own people?

I would bet money that no where in that agreement and long list of exemptions does it state that all food and beverages manufactured locally must be carried at sandals resorts as their primary source of supply. This does not mean other Jamaican brands can not be present but understand “we one first Butch!”

So if we send people to negotiate and on our behalf they give away the kitchen sink and fridge and in turn guarantee us nothing who should we blame? That is why the PM did the right thing with Heywoods when she told them enough is enough.

18. Billions spent on “education”; half a century of ” independence”; control of “political power”; etc. Yet totally soporific in thinking and outlook.”

The above comments come in line with the fact that several of these hotels in Barbados find to employ local chefs that are qualified enough to cook Barbadian cuisine. After advertising vacancies for executive and sous chefs, engineers, food and beverage managers or any other managerial position, they conveniently did not receive suitable applications and would seek a work permit to bring a non-national for the job.

And this work permit is granted without protest from Barbadians, and more importantly, the government. The hotel owners seem to have members of successive political administrations “by the balls.”

From my experience, many of these white expatriates do not bring anything of significance to the hotels, other than to verbally abuse staff. Although they receive generous salaries and perks not offered to locals, if you analyse the situation, you would realise, for example, the turnover rate for executive and sous chefs are very high. They do not stay with the hotels very long. Most of them would resign after a few months and go on to a different hotel or leave the island. This is evidenced by the fact that hotels often advertise vacancies for these positions.

I worked at a 5 diamond hotel for about 2 years, during which time there were approximately 6 different chefs. One was from France, while the others were from the UK, US and Europe (can’t remember which country). The sous chefs were Barbadians who had the fil the avoid when a chef was needed. but they were not good enough in management eyes to be appointed executive chef.

What also happens is, if the hotel is foreign owed and part of a group, A chef who was interviewed overseas would be sent here to work. After a few months, management would follow the procedure of advertising the job and apply for the work permit.

I know of a case where a Sandy Lane employed a Puerto Rican engineer. After a few months the job was advertised and one of the qualifying requirements was the prospective candidate must be able to speak Spanish fluently.

19. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

You see how dese people is?

All I do is say dat I notice dat Hee Hee and Hee Haw NEVER EVER COME TO Adrian Loveridge articles and say a pang bout Loveridge DVDN THOUGH HE IS INSULTING BOTH INGRUNT GOVERNMENTS.

And I ask why dat?

And the version of GHE BU BORG Blogmaster who was on duty, BECAUSE DIS ONE IS NOT LIKE DADDY completely misunderstood my tangent of thought and talking all sorts of put.

Den a next illiterate saying dat I attacking Loveridge!

All de old man said is dat he gets a free pass by Mugabe apologists AND DAT DEY NEVER EVER ATTACK HE, LIKE HOW DEM ATTACK YOU AND ME!

Looka how you throw some real lashes in he ass when you said

“…Butch Stewart took a 99 room hotel , with all the noise coming from planes because it was near the airport and turned it into an international brand.

You would note that these people will build an exclusive reserve for the rich and then the government will lend them money to build the clubhouse.

It’s all about fleecing governments in exchange for jobs.
    These people allow properties to become run down; they like the governments are poor at maintenance.

The industry lucks creativity and innovation…”

You got go go easy pun dem Mr Skinner.

Dem love de white people ass real bad.

And when you point out dat de people is parasites who do buffing for tourism and give nothing to the cuntry YOU DUN KNIW DAT DEM GJNE HATE YOU GUT, SLMOST AS BAD AS DEM HATE MINE cause I support the People’s Party for Democracy and Development

20. John A

I believe you’re missing the underlying point being made.

Yes, (I can only speak for myself) I’m annoyed that Appleton is the first choice rum instead of a local brand and of course I know Butch is not to be blamed.

What is more annoying is the fact that a government could offer 40 years of generous tax concessions, at the expense of our local manufacturing and agricultural sectors, while ignoring certain obligations.

I don’t want to speak on behalf of Mr. Skinner, but I believe that was what he meant as well.

21. @ David

Where in my post did I attack anybody’s color ? I merely agreed with Piece. You would not be the first or last to brand me a racist.
    We can attack : Stuart Mottley Gibson Atherley Depeiza the Governor General Governor of the Central Bank the Commissioner of Pollice Barely disagree with a white person and just so it’s fire and brimstone.
    You really don’t know me, Sir.

22. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver

I read your submission and nodded frequently at your customary level headed fairness.

It caused me to go back to mine and read what I had said this morning to Loveridge

In part I said

“…Why is it YOU HAVE LEVELLED A SIMILAR STATEMENT (similar to what he has said about the BLP) ABOUT DE TEIFING INCOMPETENT BLP GOVERNMENT of 15 months and NOT A FELLER DOES DOAN PICK DEM TEETS AT YOU LOVERIDGE?…”

I guess that what I did not say clearly was that I agree with him that both of these governments ARE INCOMPETENT and are incapable of managing the Tourism Sector.

I also agree with Mr. William Skinner when he says that Loveridge and the rest of them are not really innovative.

De ole man is more innovative in my big toe dan any one of them!!!

All I was and am saying is that he has cast a major comment about BLP and DLP administrations BUT, AS FAR AS THIS SITE IS CONCERNED, barring Mr William Skinner liking he up with that comment about Butch stuart and his Innovation.
    Not a BLP nor DLP apologist SAYS A WORD!

23. @ Piece

I have seen this movie directed by David over and over. It’s pathetic.

24. @ Artax

Yes I see your point but that is because we did not stipulate in our agreement for the waivers we stated they were conditions for the waivers.

Had this been done we could of insisted on local suppliers, training of local chefs etc.

Our negotiators were too concerned with getting sandals in here and hence the agreement was too one sided. Yes Butch has a great product but we are a great upmarket location, we are no Dominican Republic mass discount market.

Basically we undervalued ourselves in that going down.

25. The truth is by this stage of our development we should have a clearly defined document that outlines concessions based on investment. What I mean is this.

Fifty million USD to 100 million USD you get this and we in turn expect the following.

From 100 million to 200 million you get this and that and we expect the following etc

In other words regardless of whether you are a local or foreign investor these are your concessions and our expectations.

If we negotiate with no clearly defined schedule we will be treated accordingly.

26. Excellent discussion. What is really confusing is that we can have such enlightening discourse on BU while those entrusted with managing the industry appear unaware.

27. Piece the Legend Avatar

I posted thus already but…

@ 5.12 PM you asked if we could discuss the topic

I am going to say that WE CANNOT!

The first person who CANNOT DISCUSS THE TOPIC IS ADRIAN.

And why do I say so

I will tell you why.

Ask Adrisn to give you the name of 40 products that he has introduced over the 40 years of his service to tourism.

Ok ask him go produce, 30, none? 30 then, none 10 then? Still no deliverables? 5 then.

What can he show as 5 products which have enhanced go local tourism plant?

Are you feeling me yet?

Disney has been innovating every single year.

Adrian Loveridge AND THD OTHER HOTELIERS sell a product in a well painted, sometimes well staffed hotel.

Which does nothing regarding product innovation?

And that’s why Airbnb is going to kick their asses right out the market place.

Innovate OR DIE!

I guess now you and the rest of your chosen ones going run and hide from de ole man BUT DAT IS WUNNA STYLING.

TEIF PEOPLE IDEAS AND, CAUSE DE SHY$E ENT YOURS, FVUCK IT UP and den de two uh wunna scvjnt complaing bout who RH idea it is!

Hilarious!!!

28. @ Robert Goren

You proved Austin right. If I may borrow a phrase from him, I noticed your retreat into a cavalcade of vulgarities and swearing. That is a sign that you can no longer articulate a point. Learning by rote means an inability to offer a critical analysis of another’s views.

You always go into the gutter.

It’s what he calls the Barbados Condition.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Wait you have joined the hee hee and haw haw as @piece describes them?

I have a Masters Degree and Bachelor degree outside of Barbados after leaving on a Scholarship and taught at UWI briefly and you want to talk about a Bajan condition.

You also want to bring in @Hal Austin to justify your nonsensical argument which Hal and I I never been disrespectful to each other.

I have lived and operated successfully professionally in the US, UK and Barbados professionally for over 30 years.

Whatever narrative you have you need to look in the mirror.

I am one of the very few people contributing on this blog who have employed hundreds of people in the US, UK and Barbados combined whilst giving meaningful employment and training in the technology field.

Take the plank out of your eye before trying to do so from mine.

This however will be my last comment to you as I don’t want to take away from the Topic of the Blog which should be important to ALL Bajans.

29. Apology for repeat of some words seems my keyboard has a mind of its own.

30. I keep saying that this blog is permeated with the worse kind of duplicitous hypocrites I have ever encountered. Imagine Tin Foil aka Piece trying to give the impression that some people do not challenge Mr.Loveridge because he’s white? A boldfaced lie and an attempt to play the race card to try to discredit certain bloggers. How cretinous! Go to Loveridge’s piece on concrete and coastlines and I am sure I had a lot to say in opposition to what AL wrote and the position taken by the white residents who flocked to the meeting. Earlier today I was laughing at Scott Weatherhead pop kites. Contrary to belief, I oppose lies and nonsense not reasoned, robust comments; and I certainly don’t challenge comments simply because they oppose the government. This article is about high taxes and their impact on intra-regional travel–about the 100th time AL has written on this topic. Evahbody knows it to be the a fact, and I deal wid facts. Once again you Piece have been exposed and the more you come at me, the more I am going to evaginate yuh because I enjoy runnin wunna bout the blog. Too damn wicked. Rhetoric, innuendo, fake lawn bombings, disinformation and pure lies are no match for me.

31. Then we have a Mr.Skinner with his incessant refrain “the Duopoly rules”. Yet he lives in a country ruled by a duopoly for yeeears and at present is governed by a dummy who dislikes people who looks like him and countries like the one of his birth. But is he leaving? No suh!! Instead he up in Amurka and knows every economic and social policy solution for Barbados; but ask him when last he set foot bout dey. Y’all mad, stay mad.🤣🤣

32. Now Baje bragging bout degrees but straaaggling “bigly” with subject verb agreement. Anyhow, Donald Trump graduated from Wharton tuh! Man this blog too RH sweet🤣🤣

33. @ Enuff aka Beavis

Now Baje bragging bout degrees but straaaggling “bigly” with subject verb agreement. Anyhow, Donald Trump graduated from Wharton tuh! Man this blog too RH sweet🤣🤣
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

What does this say about UWI Cavehill since I have been a part time Lecturer there, and earlier attended one of the top high schools on the island before leaving on a Scholarship?

You way too ignorant, always on the attack as it relates to the BLP.

You and your BLP cronies must be feeling the heat.

When I comment on any topic on BU Blog I speak my mind; I don’t need a grammar Policeman for anyone reading to comprehend.

Mr. Trickster and conman.

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Enuffat 8:37 PM

The subject verb agreement is not Baje’s fault .The algorithm selects the noun preceding the verb as the subject. It happens very often. Robotics!

35. @ Vincent Codrington

@ Enuffat 8:37 PM

The subject verb agreement is not Baje’s fault .The algorithm selects the noun preceding the verb as the subject. It happens very often. Robotics!
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I have both https://www.grammarly.com and Microsoft Office Word 2010 Spell Checker and Grammar.

However when I comment on BU Blog I speak my mind.

I was not aware that I was in a classroom being judged and graded..

This Beavis as normal Bajan political custom would like to attack to discredit.

I am not one of the fools on the island who voted for either BLP or DLP poison and I lead a very comfortable life.

I comment for others on the island who are not fortunate like myself and for many others who are not part of the koolaid drinkers.

I may not always agree with @Piece but ANY other Political Party is way better than these two poisoned criminal animals masquerading as BLP and DLP.

36. @Enuff

You doth protest too much, the blog is still the same as it always was. Here is what has changed, prior to May 24th, 2018 “Piece” was proclaiming “not one RH seat for the Dems” and he was Mariposa’s bête noire while the BLP supporters sung his praises, now the worm has turned and he is cussing the BLP.

“Piece” in the eyes of some has gone from hero to zero, I gwine watch from the cheap seats.

37. Piece the Legend Avatar

Time is against de ole man but.. I again ask Adrian Loveridge to produce 5 product that demonstrate innovation in the Tourism space.

And as usual THERE IS NO ANSWER BECAUSE ALL WUNNA DOES IS BUILD CHICKEN COOPS and consider THIS “A TOURISM EXPERIENCE”!!!

What wunna does call it?

Barbados, beyond your imagination!!!

Such idiocy.

Let me underscore their idiocy with this product below

http://imgur.com/CVnJLtn

Imagine you are bring people home to garbage and pot holes and 34 deaths

35 if you include NC. Just 15 short of de ole man’s prediction

So having shown you the Blp/DLP shy$e de ole man going show wunna Innovation.

38. @John A

Are you not tired of asking for documents? We have a problem with execution and a lack of innovation. The current state flows from the people. The political class and others were selected from among us. Our lethargy as a people feeds the stasis we find ourselves.

39. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

I heard that CARICOM visitors made up anywhere between 18-25% of our stayover visitors. If this is true, then the issue of prohibitive intra-regional traveling cost is relevant. Imagine if we had a better competetive logistic step up in the region, certainly it could help to smooth out our off-peak occupy rate.

However, this problem has been discussed to death at various CARICOM meetings with no policy framework in sight. Not to mention the few private start-up carriers that failed along the way. The problem is an intractable one.

40. Now let me show you Loveridge what is Innovation

http://imgur.com/YP9a6QV

Here is the idea of the Sage Sage Annunaki which is Supreme Marketing.

This would be a precursor to another innovation which I am going to post for you to show you how real BRANDING WORKS and not how selling rooms at Peace and Quiet for the benefit of Peace and Quiet

What Mr. Skinner is saying AND I AGREE WITH IS THAT THE PARASITISM that your lot has practiced for all these years has been for personal benefit AND THAT ALL WUNNA IS LIKE REMORA EELS AND PIRANHAS AND ZOMBIE FLESH EATERS!!

please provide the information about 5 things

41. @ David.

Yes you are correct we deserve what we get simply because we do not demand better. Just read this blog and one can see why our rulers treat us the way they do. As a people we spend too much time caught up in politics, as opposed to focusing on the issues. The politicians know this only too well and hence pull the strings accordingly and in so doing can deflect from having to answer the hard questions.

In pursuing our political pettiness we therefore serve their purpose perfectly while ensuring they can continue doing the same year after year unchallenged.

42. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Is our tourism model conceptualized around the idea of : Build it and they will come strategy? If so, then a big maketing budget along with airline seats guarantee subsidy is crucial for success. Or do we do a demand study?

43. @fortyacresandamule

We have two issues to resolve:

1. the tourism industry is responsible for generating the largest slice to GDP and 2. the industry suffers from heavy foreign exchange haemorrhaging not unlike the BWA water pipes.

44. @John A

It is why cold dispassionate analysis and perspectives from persons like yourself in priceless.

45. There is a thing that is rampant in this Mugabe regime.

People from the rank and file ARE NOT KEEN IN SHARING with this administration

And onw has to ask one self why is that?

Why is there no grassroots endorsements for Mugabe

And the answer is that MUGABE IS NOT TRUSTED.

If there was trust of The Sea Manatee, it would translate into a visible respect, where people would be out there supporting her naturally.

Here is another facilitator and Innovation WHICH IF THERE WAS REAL VENUES IN THE TOURISM PLANT WOULD BE USEFUL

http://imgur.com/1ZSk1Qc

46. The thing is that we can expect a bastardised version of the above idea soon to hit the streets.

A real FVUCK up version too heheheheh

47. But the point that de ole makes is that true innovation and invention is not resident in this stock of hoteliers and governments

And we are unwilling to choose better candidates and representatives

48. Most of the comments on this thread are far too pessimistic. Two examples:

Artax
    “Because of duty free concessions Sandals can import whatever they like without buying local”

In Jamaica, Butch Stewart has pioneered initiatives to improve the links between farmers and the hotel industry. For example, Sandals has provided Irish potato seedlings to peasant farms and purchased their entire output. If the Barbados Ministry of Tourism asked Butch to do the same thing here, he would not likely refuse.

“White Bajan gigolos were allowed in the rooms with tourist women. Black gigolos were not.”

I’m sure nearly every Bajan would agree with WS that this is “racism”. I’m not so sure. Consider the marketing impact on a hotel if there is a sexual complaint from a guest, and race is a factor. The Jamaican tourist industry has taken big hits in North American media when a white female tourist complains of bedroom harassment by a local black men. These stories do not attract international attention when the male harasser is also white.

49. I have a Masters Degree and Bachelor degree outside of Barbados after leaving on a Scholarship and taught at UWI briefly and you want to talk about a Bajan condition. (Quote)

You’re an idiot. I never said Austin and you were ever disrespectful to each other.

All I’m saying is that as the argument prolongs, you are being a good example of what he talks about.

Hal Austin also said when backed in a corner, people will tell you about their qualifications. It’s the Barbados Condition.

You have proved him right again.

If he is honest, he will verify what I’m saying.

Keep going. You’re a good example of what he says.

50. @ Robert Goren

Unfortunately for you despite my Baje moniker, I hold several citizenships and residences in US, UK and Barbados, and my life has pretty much been spread out across all three so feel free to attack my Bajan condition.

I am not @WARU that will tolerate your ignorance.

Hal Austin is a man I have the upmost respect for and is free to provide any input or feedback he chooses to make, you I don’t have any respect for,

Enjoy your night mate.

Leave a Reply to Barbados 2019Cancel reply