During the 30 plus years my wife and I have lived on Barbados we have tried to take at least a couple of short breaks within the region or locally each year.

Having chaired, and or sat, on various tourism committees over those three decades and being a frequent commentator on the sector, I have always felt obliged to know as much about our tourism offerings as possible.  And frankly, despite our combined work experience, neither of us has ever had any illusions that we cannot learn from others in the business and during that process, improve our own product.

Sadly, taxation imposed by consecutive Governments has now made flying within the Caribbean almost inhibitive, except for those with deep pockets, or having their travel paid for by companies or the state via the taxpayer.

As someone who has championed intra-regional travel for nearly 40 years, even before our re-DISCOVER initiative was launched, shortly after the tragic events of 911, it is soul destroying, knowing that as a direct result on ‘sky high’ airfares it has dramatically and negatively impacted average hotel room occupancy, especially in the softer summer months.

The current policy thinking appears to build more and more hotels up to 15 floors high, when we cannot even finish the ones that have been started, but now lay idle. The quoted $84 million said to have been ploughed into Sam Lords Castle and the promised five diamond 450 room Wyndham Grand Resort are glaring examples.

Imagine, just for a moment if that figure of $84 million is vaguely creditable, what could have been achieved, if spent creatively and cost-effectively marketing Barbados and filling the thousands of empty rooms we have across the island currently.

Of course, if our politicians were spending their own monies, very few of these gross errors of ‘judgment’ would occur, but while a relentless pouring tap of taxpayers monies are easily available, the status quo seems unavoidable.

We do not have to travel far to see proof of this theory.

After that infamous statement ‘If we had to be perfectly honest, St. Lucia is at least 30 years behind Barbados, in terms of tourism – that’s the reality’, publicly uttered by someone who should have known the truth.

Yet in 2017, according to Statista (the recognized expert statistics portal), revenue generated by that country’s hospitality sector reached US$801 million.  Putting that in perspective, St. Lucia, with less rooms and airlift, generated within one fifth of the total recorded by Barbados (US$1.08 billion) for the same year.

My hope is that either the tourism trade association (BHTA) or an independent and authoritative body will commission a study to evaluate what a 10 percent increase annually in average room occupancy would produce in terms of profitably and overall revenue collection for both the private and public (taxation) sector.

155 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Politicians Killing the Tourism Goose”

1. Adrian: Could you clarify your statistics . The numbers re: St Lucia are meaningless without actual numbers, How many rooms less percentage wise as Barbados . I do not think you need a study to determine the profitably of what a 10% increase in room occupancy would produce but rather a study on how to accomplish.

2. Robert, do not miss the point. The fact is that we do not know how many lettable rooms we have on either Barbados or St. Lucia due to the large number of non-licensed accommodation options (Airbnb, Where to Stay etc). For a country where our previous Minister of Tourism stated that was 30 years behind Barbados in terms of Tourism, then with less rooms (the ones we know about) and less airlift they are within US$207 million in total revenue for a given recent year.

3. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge

De ole man is surprised and I will tell you why

You said AND HAVE BEEN SAYING THIS TYPE OF THING FOR A WHILD, and I quote

“…As someone who has championed intra-regional travel for nearly 40 years, even before our re-DISCOVER initiative was launched, shortly after the tragic events of 911, it is soul destroying, knowing that as a direct result on ‘sky high’ airfares it has dramatically and negatively impacted average hotel room occupancy, especially in the softer summer months…”

If any of the current team of dissenters like WARU, MILLLER THE ANNUNAKI, OR MY DEAREST SSS OR BROTHER HANTS, OR COMMANDER THEOPHILLUS GAZERTS OR BAJE, OR NORTHERN OBSERVER OR MR HAL AUSTIN OR T INNISS OR all the others whose names de ole man can remember now, were to say what you said, all of Mugabe’s poochlickers would be here cussing them!

So why is that Loveridge?

Is it the fashioning of your remark about their patented incompetence?

Is it the fact that you said that they have effed away $84 million dollars AND UNLIKE BAJAN FREE PARTY OR WARU, you did not repeat this teiffing statistic with every single blog you submit?

Is is the fact that LIKE WARU SAYS, you are a white man AND THAT WHITE IS RIGHT LOVERIDGE?

There are two experts here whom the ole man watches in awe.

Mr Vincent Codrington THE ECONOMIST’S ECONOMIST and Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver WHO HAVE VARIOUSLY PROSECUTED FINSNCIAL AND ECONOMIC SUBJECTS all over this blog, on this, AND HUNDREDS MORE EQUALLY, OR MORE IMPORTANT TOPICS, and they get cussed by the Rented donkeys Hee Hee and Hee Haw

Why is it YOU HAVE KDVELLED A SIMILAR STATEMENT ABOUT DE TEIFING INCOMPETENT BLP GOVERNMENT of 15 months and NOT A FELLER DOES DOAN PICK DEM TEETS AT YOU LOVERIDGE?

And the answer is….you is a white man and we black people can bring down we own all the time, EVEN THOUGH WE ARE SAYING THE SAME THINGS but we afraid uh wunna Loveridge but we hate our own with a passion.

This is why the country is suffering through this item below Loveridge

http://imgur.com/qYNltuP

4. As important is the fact successive governments have not addressed the quantum of foreign exchange leakage by the sector. Several scholarly papers have been written.

5. Nonsense!

There is nobody who has had more abuse directed at them as Adrian Loveridge. It was that time VOB forced Adrian to sit in a separate studio because Barney Lynch appeared to prefer it. In fact one of the reasons BU was born. There was the time Butch Stewart made fun of a question Adrian asked at a BCCI luncheon that provoked laughter by many businessmen in attendance. Let them laugh now. He was fired from the BTA board with Richard Sealy supporting the decision with a lie because of his no nonsense approach. The blogmaster can go on and on.

Some of you need to make your points and stop the nuisance commentary.

6. THE ADRIAN LOVERIDGE COLUMN – POLITICIANS KILLING THE TOURISM GOOSE

100percent correct

the dunderheads in office are clueless as to how to market the tourism product , First thing PM did in office is to raise taxes on the tourism product
    how many tourist when comparing the cost of visiting barbados to other countries would choose barbados
    there is nothing in barbados that would be of great importance or added incentive to propel tourist to visit our shores in large numbers but then we have a PM whose new found initiative can be found in a marketing strategy called WE GATHERING

7. GEORGIE PORGIE with paper trophies Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE with paper trophies

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE has been faithful and stadfast, and fair and logical in his comments on these matters always.
    He has given sound advice–doctrine that can not be refuted, which ought not to be condemned.

8. What would be more enlightening is to compare the average spend of a St Lucian visitor to that of a Barbadian one.

Based on Adrian’s gross revenue figure being within 20% of ours one can assume the average spend is higher in St Lucia. If so why is that?

9. 100% correct in the statement re high travel costs in region!! Me & wife only two people but we now do not fly within the region due to high costs…… previously, at least once or twice a year we would ‘go to another island’ for a short holiday…. not now!!! Can even reach Toronto for less than Vincy or St. Lucia!!!

10. @ Piece
    You are correct. Don’t touch race in Bimshire; they will kill you. Speaking metaphorically of course.
    While Loveridge attacks the governments, he deliberately refuses to acknowledge that the hoteliers themselves have been uncreative and downright selfish.
    His piece today is another serious indictment of the Duopoly. However , as Piece correctly says , we can expect little response from the apologists and kool aid drinkers. They never look at the message but like to discredit the messenger, especially messengers who look like them.
    Piece yuh right right right. Get a bullet proof vest.

11. Even if the average spend is the same we must then look at the total value of their tourism investment and compare it to ours to get a true picture.

For Instance suppose their total investment in hotels etc is $6b and ours is $10b, then if their average spend is the same they are doing way better than us. The reason being they are extracting from each visitor the same as us but doing so on a smaller investment base. This means their ROI is going to be better there for investors in that sector.

This information is what is missing when ministers stand up and make statements like ” we had a good year arrivals were up 3%”.

Really and what does that mean in terms of the larger picture pray tell?

12. @ John A
    That’s how we get muddled . Here Loveridge is castigating successive governments for destroying the industry he has been involved with for forty years. Are we assuming that he made no profit in those forty years? Are we assuming that he has not lived comfortably off the shortcomings of the same governments? Are we assuming that these hoteliers never benefited from successive governments? Have these same hoteliers not indulged in trying to systematically wipe out beach vendors and other small business people in the industry?
    Leave St Lucia out of this . Let us deal with why after sixty plus years these cry babies hate Butch Stewart but yet have not come up with one product that can match Sandals.

13. I am told that all the old paintings silver and valuables out of Sam Lord’s Castle were once stored at Todds, another CLICO adventure.

We watch what happened at Fort George and wonder where the land and the stone has gone.

At Andrews Factory all the machinery was “recycled”!!

Have we gone entirely mad?

14. @ William

Take a look at 2 hotels there. Ladera Resort and Jade Mountain.

These are like nothing we have here. Jade for example has rooms with only 3 walls and the entire front open to The Pitons. What I noticed there is that they don’t depend solely on beach front to make a statement, but have more dialled into the natural environment. Also both the hotels I mentioned are not cheap but enjoy good year round occupancy.

That is why I am totally against building more bird box room hotels here when we can’t even get a decent annual occupancy with the ones we have.

15. @John A

Had a ‘view’ of the abandoned Sam Lord hotel buildings over the weekend…… ya right, a stack of bird boxes…. what a lack of creativity by the architects & planners…… can someone tell me … whose $84M was spent???? Us … the taxpayers???

16. Are any steps being taken to ensure that Sam Lords Castle, the proposed hotel in Bay Street and the other monstrosity of an imposition that is threatening Accra Beach will not be abandoned mid-construction, leaving another blot on the landscape? Don’t forget thar Paradise is no longer available to anyone and is another massive festering eyesore to all and sundry.

17. This government should insist that Paradise be completed before Hyatt is granted. All we are doing is selling the same people more of a limited asset when they are doing nothing with what they already have.

18. @ KS

And you can bet Hyatt will be no different because the developers are the same people who manufacture the bird box slabs in a precast form.

19. My bad. Look how quickly we stray away from the main topic of the article. Nary a word on the prohibitive cost of flying within the Caribbean and the negative impact it is having on inter-regional tourism.

Instead, we are flying the color flag (again), and attacking Adrian. As David said in an earlier post, probably no one else has ever been attacked by both parties while they were in power, like Adrian has. Like Dr Lucas, he persists in calling a spade a spade when he sees one, and that’s not popular in this here country.

20. @John A, re bird boxes – good point. Is there a single hotel in Barbados that would pass the litmus test of being an architectural wonder? Further, besides Sandy Lane Hotel, which of them will be remembered with pride and fondness twenty years from now. One does not think of bird boxes in the way.

21. @ John A
    I have made it a point to show up the non creativity of those who manage the industry. We have embarked on a senseless model of development in both the government and private sectors, trying to copy models of so-called developed countries.
    Butch Stewart took a 99 room hotel , with all the noise coming from planes because it was near the airport and turned it into an international brand.
    You would note that these people will build an exclusive reserve for the rich and then the government will lend them money to build the clubhouse. It’s all about fleecing governments in exchange for jobs.
    These people allow properties to become run down; they like the governments are poor at maintenance. The industry lucks creativity and innovation.
    But what can we seriously expect. I repeat : We are perhaps the only country that diversified the economy and ended up with one industry.
    Please note that the local manufacturers are now feeling the pressure because the school uniforms are cheaper to import ready made. Here we go again. Give them all the tax breaks they want but they remain unpatriotic.

22. @ John A September 2, 2019 8:46 AM
    “Even if the average spend is the same we must then look at the total value of their tourism investment and compare it to ours to get a true picture.
    For Instance suppose their total investment in hotels etc is $6b and ours is $10b, then if their average spend is the same they are doing way better than us. The reason being they are extracting from each visitor the same as us but doing so on a smaller investment base. This means their ROI is going to be better there for investors in that sector.
    This information is what is missing when ministers stand up and make statements like ” we had a good year arrivals were up 3%”.
    Really and what does that mean in terms of the larger picture pray tell?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Excellent analysis there, “John A”!

You have proven yourself to be more informed and analytically convincing than any one of the surfeit of book-learnt so-called economists overpopulating Barbados; including the most recent governors of the Central Banks.

It is precisely because of your insightful analysis that you ought to reject out of hand the thought of the Hyatt hotel ever coming on stream.

Which ‘rational-thinking investors (foreign or local with Apes Hill or Four Seasons in mind) would sink their money in such a large hotel project in Barbados situated in a dying ghetto-type fast growing into a classic shanty town?

Why should any ‘would-be’ tourist book a hotel for 7 days in a garbage-overrun, rat-infested Bridgetown when they can get far much value for money in other more environmentally welcoming regional destinations or even more aesthetically-appealing local hotels?

The mere fact that duty-free concessions on a luxury vehicle have already been granted to a non-existent Sales Director working at an imaginary hotel says a lot about what the Hyatt hotel project is all about.

Just a pig in a poke or a nig*e**r in a woodpile being sold to the naïve Bajan people.

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

“O what a tangled web we do weave when others we try to deceive.”

24. @ Miller

First thank you. My concern with this talk about hotels from hither to thither is what is the ROI going to be like here as compared with other islands. Remember money can go wherever it wants.

Adrian’s figures show what St Lucia is extracting from their industry on a much lower investment base. If that is the case and our hotels struggle to get a decent occupancy year around, what will more rooms mean? Is it going to be a case of older hotels losing to the newer ones? Yes we know why certain people want to build them and then past the headache of running them onto other foreign operators who may be interested. The question is when those operators run their numbers will the ROI based on our cost be attractive to bring them?

I have serious reservations on hanging our hopes on this one legged approach to economic recovery.

25. @ William

Sounds like an illness we suffer from on the island. But you are right that we look to blame anything for our own shortsightedness. I saw the uniform manufacturers now complaining about competition from caricom. What are they proposing as a result of their not being able to compete, that we do a Brexitcom?

It goes back to the same issue though in that one can operator a hotel or garment factory cheaper in other islands than here.

26. Piece the Legend

If we’re being fair and honest, Adrian Loveridge found himself pilloried by members of both mainstream political parties and their supporters. I also recall the incidents David BU mentioned.

So far, during the Mottley led administration’s tenure, Loveridge has not written many provocative topics on tourism, similarly to this one. Hence, “the Mugabe poochlickers,” or “koolaid drinkers.” (as you like to call BLP supporters), have not had any reason to vilify him………. as yet.

Therefore, taking the above into consideration and the fact that, as I write, there are only 22 responses to this post so far, I believe you are being a bit premature (or presumptuous) in your comments. The day is yet young…… give it time.

However, on the other hand, and lest you forgot, during the DLP’s ten year, three month tenure, on occasion Loveridge has written on what some may consider “soft topics,” while on other occasions he was fearless in his criticisms of the former administration’s tourism policies.

During that time, Astor B. Watts was probably serving his famous extra strong rum punch at George Street, because there were none in this forum critical of Loveridge’s columns more so than ac/Angela Cox/Angela Skeete/Coxable/Mariposa, with help on occasion from Fractured BLP.

I’ll bet you, now that Loveridge is being critical of this BLP administration, Mariposa will suddenly find him as an able ally and agree with everything he writes, while forgetting those times when, in her drunken rum punch stupor, how much she pilloried him on behalf of George Street………. similarly to how she now conveniently forgets what occurred between January 15, 2008 and May 24, 2018.

As Mr. Skinner opines…. “the duopoly rules.”

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A

The ROI is not the concern of the operators. They get a fixed percentage of gross revenues. They decide up front whether the flow of traffic is large enough and if the quality of accommodation deserve their brand names. It is the investor in the real estate that has to worry about his rate of return on the investment.

28. @ Vincent

From the real estate standpoint yes the investor gets his return but the operator still has to seek his return based on operating cost and occupancy.

It is also easier for an operator to walk away than an investor.

29. Well i’ll be damned
    Why is Mariposa being linked to others who might have been in disagreement with loveridges columns on past govt tourism policy
    The above being said this govt have not done anything by way of a clear and precise marketing strategy to ensure that our tourism industry performs at its optimum
    The last i heard from govt as a presentation towards a marketing strategy was a smoke and mirror policy called WE GATHERING
    Also i also recalled Mia rubbing recently shoulders at a gathering of well known notables to receive some kind of honour
    Dont know in what way these interventions by Mia can be considered marketing strategy

30. @Vincent

Based on what was said in the press by the developers their plan is to build the hotel then lease the property over to Hyatt. Hyatt then would be responsible for the staffing, management and fitting out of property etc.

If what was stated is true the capital cost of outfitting the rooms etc and other related costs involved in opening the doors to the tourist would be at the Hyatt. While they would not have the construction cost to finance, along with the annual lease they will still have a sizeable investment to make.

I don’t think this is a case of a lease of a trading name with the developers then running and being responsible for the day to day operations of the property as is sometimes done.

Then again this is Bim and things change daily so who knows.

31. @John A

You are aware the cost base for St. Lucia is at a different level to Barbados?

32. Mr. Skinner

I have to agree with you that after years of bellyaching to successive BLP and DLP administrations for concessions, local hoteliers have been unable to establish a Barbadian brand similar to that of Sandals.

On the other hand, I’m not in favour of the generous 40-year tax free concessions granted to Butch Stewart’s Sandals for a number of reasons. Firstly, Sandals is an all-inclusive brand, from which Barbados only gains in terms of tourist arrivals and a few short-term jobs. What about local manufacturing and agricultural sectors? Because of duty free concessions, Sandals can import whatever they like without buying local. They can push the argument they sell food and beverages that is synonymous to the Sandals’ brand, which appeals to a specific target market segmentation……. and such products cannot be either grown, produced or sourced locally.

Another concern is locally produced rum. I have read comments on TripAdvisor, in which several tourists expressed concerns about not being offered locally produced rum as a first-choice alcoholic beverage. In September 2012, Sandals International and Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum signed a deal which brought the rum exclusively to all Sandals and Beaches properties throughout the Caribbean. This means Sandals would obviously push Appleton at the expense of locally produced exotic rums and ordinary brands, such as Old Brigand, ESAF, Mount Gay or Foursquare.

Mr. Skinner, Successive BLP and DLP administrations have so far resisted attempts to privatize beaches in Barbados. However, management of locally and foreign owned hotels and beach-front residences have been making it extremely difficult for Barbadians to access beaches.

I’ve seen you often make references to local hoteliers that “indulged in trying to systematically wipe out beach vendors and other small business people in the industry.” We have seen the systematic disappearance of the aloe, black coral and jewelry craft, T-shirt vendors, hair braiders and beach chair vendors. Also, there seems to be a renewed concerted effort to rid the beaches of water-sport operators.

I’m sure you recall during March last year, we heard of the disturbing news that Crane Beach Hotel owner, Paul Doyle, ordered his security officers to confiscate beach chairs from vendors and lock them in a storage container, thereby depriving them of earning a living for several days. Doyle’s defense was the section of beach upon which they were plying their trade, belong to him.

Customers of the Boat Yard on Bay Street, are given wrist bands upon paying and entering the premises. As recent as last month, some visitors to that establishment went swimming after buying food and beverages from the bar. Some decided they want to ride on a “glass bottom” boat. Upon they arrival on shore, the Boat Yard’s security confiscated the wrists bands and ordered them to leave the establishment.

33. What do Hyatt, Four Seasons, Merricks and Sam Lords have in common?

They all have (or had) substantial buildings that need to be built on swiss cheese.

In today’s world, engineers are not going to sign off on foundations that do not meet or exceed the standards of their profession!!

It is now mandatory to do geotechnical studies.

No engineer is going to take a risk as the technology shows up the imperfections in the coral rock well and there is no excuse of ignorance.

An engineer in the 60’s designing Hilton and Grand Barbados did not have the information to inform his/her design and followed best practice.

Blowing up Hilton and rebuilding it was financed by the GOB as far as I know, a milch cow that has now dried up!!

… and Sandals, … all sorts of GOB concessions had to be made before it was built.

At Apes Hill, a civil engineer tells me that any person building a house has to build two, one above ground and the other underground.

Arch Cot brought forcibly to the fore what can happen and forced the need for geotechnical studies.

Maybe we need to think small where new buildings are concerned as it is easy to break the bank meeting specifications.

Face reality!!

Caves are constantly being formed and expand as their roofs collapse.

The promoters of these projects can talk and waste our time but ultimately, they may never be built because they are just too expensive.

Barbados is not unique, Florida has the same issues but there is a huge difference!!

The cost of the scale of the undertaking can be met by the traffic flow and it makes practical sense.

We just need to scale back the delusions of grandeur we have to a point where they are practical.

34. @William

If the hoteliers are not working hard enough as you opine to product differentiate and create a competitive edge for the sector, should you continue to blame the hoteliers or the authorities that continue to prop up the industry?

Asking for a friend.

35. …. ie, we have to cut our costs!!

$84 million on Sam Lords … sheer lunacy!!

36. @ David

Yes that’s my point that whether it be a hotel or garment factory, the cost of operating there is cheaper than here. Having said that this is the same issue the USA faces say with Chinese imports vs home made products, so it’s now a problem unique to us.

37. Where does all this leave Tom Grant, the last owner of Sam Lord’s?

38. @Artax

Note William in his critique avoided the issues raised in defense of Adrian as a persistent social commentator on the many issues. It serves his agenda to pick up on colour. We have to be fair and balanced in our critiques.

39. There is another issue.

Much of the “development” that has taken place in Barbados is not much more than money laundering!!

Barbados is on watch so a lot of the funds will have dried up.

GOB’s credit rating has fallen through the floor so its credit has evaporated.

Plus, we have defaulted on loans.

We actually have to face reality in the projects we choose to allow!!

40. “The above being said this govt have not done anything by way of a clear and precise marketing strategy to ensure that our tourism industry performs at its optimum. The last i heard from govt as a presentation towards a marketing strategy was a smoke and mirror policy called WE GATHERING. Also i also recalled Mia rubbing recently shoulders at a gathering of well known notables to receive some kind of honour. Dont know in what way these interventions by Mia can be considered marketing strategy.”

Hmmmmm…..

How did you arrive at the “We Gathering” folly is a “tourism marketing strategy?”

Shiite…… You drunk already?………Astor B. Watts’ extra strong rum punch seems to have been over-flowing in George Street early this morning…… and one or two characters may have imbibed far too many glasses of it.

This “We Gathering” thing isn’t anything other than a new version of your DLP’s year long 50th anniversary Independence celebrations. The CONCEPTS are SIMILAR.

The only difference here is, whereas Mottley’s “we gathering” is inviting Barbadians living the diaspora to Barbados to INVEST, your celebrations were for the purpose of inviting Barbadians living the diaspora here to “PARTY.”

You were at the forefront in this forum supporting your celebrations and the $700M cost attached to it and DID NOT view it as a “tourism marketing strategy.”

41. Hal Austin
    September 2, 2019 1:16 PM

Where does all this leave Tom Grant, the last owner of Sam Lord’s?

I thought it was CLICO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

42. The problem with small and practical is that it wont suit the money launderers who want bigger ticket items … or the Government Ministers whose source of funds will be reduced!!

43. Donville was the tip of the iceberg!!

The politicians are killing not only Tourism, but everything else!!

44. Did Clico buy it from Grant?

45. Artax you got yoyr Version or interpretation of WE GATHERING and i got mine
    Needless to say the 50th anniversary celebration was not a gimmick or a figment of govt imagination
    Go figure and tell me what purpose or significance does WE GATHERING have in the barbados landscape

46. @ Artax
    Well put. It’s extremely unfortunate that our rum products are not on Sandals shelves. I don’t think that the jobs are short term. You would recall that the standards at the Barbados Hilton were so high that almost any Barbadian who worked there found employment in that franchise overseas. I think that the standards at Sandals would benefit their workers. Working with top brands has benefits.
    In terms of the Boat yard , access to beaches and so on it is grounded in racism. I know many Black American tourists feel they are discriminated against. I know personally how great efforts were made to destroy the beach vendors and other small players.
    In any discussion of business in our country race and color can pop up. Sorry if it makes you uncomfortable.
    In terms of propping up the tourist industry , it’s no different from how we propped up the agricultural / sugar industry.
    Don’t you see we put 24 million in a Club house for COW. ? Your friend should be able to figure out these things. They follow a particular pattern.

47. Another interesting development in our tourism industry is that politicians and officials seem to believe Barbados must have a Hilton, Wyndham, Harlequin, Hyatt, Four Seasons or other international brands to increase tourist arrivals.

We’re proposing to build all these fancy hotels for visitors to lie on the beach all day, but without any attractions at night or for those who opt to do other things during the day. Harrison’s Cave is shrouded in controversy, Welchman Hall gully seems to a thing of the past, the “much touted” David Estwick’s Sugar Museum seems to be a monumental waste of taxpayers’ money.

It is interesting to note that these brand name hotels were either abandoned or ended in controversy. Harlequin Hotels & Resorts halted operations owing employees two months’ salary, the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) about $80 000 and several local businesses and contractors in excess of $3M. The Chinese “secretly abandoned Wyndham after $84M was spent. Hyatt remains in controversy.

But Four Seasons “takes the cake.” In January 2010, the government of Barbados agreed to guarantee 18 month bridging finance loan of US$60 from ANSA Merchant Bank for Four Seasons, in return for a 20% in the project. And there was a US$30M investment by the NIS.

After millions of investments and several promises of restarting that project, the environs remain dilapidated.

This should provide an excessive amount of incentive for local hoteliers to establish a Barbadian brand hotel that identifies with Barbados……. similar to how Sandals is synonymous with Jamaica.

On another note, as a youngster, I heard the older guys talked about their time working at Paradise Hotel and other hotels or guest houses. I worked in the Human Resources Department of a hotel, which made me realize there has not been any significant improvements in the mind-set of hotel employees. They operate similarly as they predecessors did from as far back as the 1960s.

My experience was, to many hotel employees (and people in general), tourists generally means “white people.” Black people are not usually regarded as tourists. Males are often seen as “beach bums” and females as “hookers.” That’s why blacks experience problems with hotel employees, especially security guards. A black man/woman could not walk through the hotel, go to their room, sit in the restaurant or by the pool without his/her status being questioned.

This attitude extends to black employees. Certain employees, both black and white, had the privilege to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner in the restaurants, at the expense of the hotel. The restaurant staff seemed to believed that right should be reserved for the whites. I went to work one Sunday and ordered lunch from the restaurant. A lady told me there wasn’t anyone there to bring it to my office. I told her it wasn’t a problem. When I went into the restaurant, I saw both waiters and waitresses “busy” talking with each other, as guests were not there. But they suddenly found someone to deliver food to a white manager. On another occasion, I had to work late two nights straight. On the second night I went to dinner, the white chef approached me and said, “This is becoming a habit.” When I asked him what he meant, his response was, “You ate here last night and now tonight.” Anyone who knows me will testify I’m not fond of using abusive language, some would say they have never heard me use it. I almost cussed him out, but opted to tell “you better move your joh****s from ’round me.”

Black mangers have to wait for service much longer than white managers. Security searched the cars of all black employees, while the whites were allowed to go through the gates unsearched. I could go on.

And I thought that was a thing of the past.

48. @ Artax
    You’re right again. Add this one: White Bajan gigolos were allowed in the rooms with the tourists women.
    Black gigolos were not.
    You see- Artax talked about color too. We can’t sweep everything under the carpet.
    “One day coming soon the people will rise up…..”. ( That’s Gabby)

49. @
    Artax
    Professor Persuad was hired by the Duopoly to rescue the Four Seasons Project. He went in the press and boldly stated that the project had attracted financing and would become a reality. Never happened. I wonder what his cheque looked like.
    The same Persuad is now employed again by the Duopoly as a highly paid consultant / adviser to the PM.

The Duopoly Rules

50. “Needless to say the 50th anniversary celebration was not a gimmick or a figment of govt imagination.”

Mariposa

I’m aware you would obviously have your POLITICAL interpretation of “We Gathering, 2020.” But. Please be reminded, others would seek to be fair and reasonable.

Put down the rum punch and let’s examine and analyse both celebrations as reasonably and rationally as we can.

This is the theme of Freundel’s 50th Anniversary celebrations throughout 2016:

The year 2016 signals a significant landmark in the history of Barbados, with November 30, 2016 representing 50 years of Independence for this small aspiring nation. The year of celebration officially started on January 6, 2016 with the Launch “Barbados We Come From” at Independence Square and will culminate on November 30th, 2016, with activities being held in Barbados and across the global diaspora.

On Wednesday, January 6, 2016, while delivering an address at the launch of the “50th Anniversary of Independence” in Independence Square; under then theme: “Barbados We Come From,” then PM Freundel Stuart urged Barbadians at home and abroad to RECOMMIT themselves to the development of this nation.

Throughout 2016, there’s a variety of Independence-themed activities every month to reflect and celebrate Barbados’ past, present and future.

The major Anniversary celebrations are organised by the 50th Anniversary of Independence Secretariat however various other local community groups have also put together extra events, not to mention all the usual Crop Over action from June to August; especially themed ‘Barbados at 50: Celebrating our Culture, Showcasing our Pride!’

During this year (2016), you can enjoy Independence activities like public walks/runs, historical lectures, open days, art exhibitions, theatre productions, fundraising dances, song writing contests, music concerts, cricket matches, and motor sport events, just to name a few!

Barbados’ 50th Anniversary of Independence is bound to be celebrated with style, sophistication, and of course lots of Bajan fun! Organised by individuals, schools, church groups, service clubs and businesses.

Now, let’s examine Mottley’s “We Gathering, 2020.”

Vision 2020: We Gatherin’ is a 12-month global celebration of Barbadian excellence and a recommitment to this country’s successful future and core values that have defined us as a people. 2020 has been designated as the year for Barbadians and those who love this country to come home, reconnect with family and friends, and invest in the rebuilding and development of Barbados.

Purposeful Pursuit of Barbadian Excellence is the theme of the year-long celebrations, which is an initiative of Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley. It is designed to reinforce Government’s mantra of building the best Barbados together.

Vision 2020: We Gatherin’ will comprise structured events at the national level, which will be coordinated by Government with input from its social partners. However, community groups, churches, educational institutions, entrepreneurs, and regional and international persons with Barbadian connections, among others, will be encouraged to produce other events.

The initiative will begin in the north of the island in January 2020, and move southward every month, allowing each designated parish to showcase its icons, social life and the food for which it is renowned. The parish celebrations will culminate in St. Michael in November, and Vision 2020: We Gatherin’ will climax in December with a Christmas extravaganza for all Barbadians – at home and abroad.

Could you please HIGHLIGHT the SIGNIFICANT DIFFERENCE between Freundel’s “50th Anniversary Celebrations and Mia’s “We Gathering, 2020?”

In summary, both events called for Barbadians home and abroad to recommit themselves to the rebuilding and redevelopment of Barbados.

If, in your opinion, “We Gathering” is “a gimmick and figment of government imagination,” then surely you must agree that, under circumstances where there aren’t any significant differences between both year-long events, the “50th Anniversary Celebrations” was a “gimmick and figment of government imagination” and did not had any “purpose or significance in the Barbados landscape” as well.

The only DIFFERENCE in my opinion, is that Mia criticized your celebrations along with its $700M price tag, yet she is prepared to embark upon organizing a similar venture.

Mariposa, all the rum punch and nonsense about “spot on” and “you’re correct” seem to be overwhelming you, thereby preventing you from THINKING before you comment.

Leave a Reply to Robert GorenCancel reply