Barbadians have been drilled from primary school that we are a water scarce country. There is a technical definition, a simple translation is the lack of available water resources to meet demand. In Barbados there are three reasons to explain the predicament we find ourselves- change in climatic conditions adversely affecting water catchment, a growing demand for potable water AND poor management of available water resources.

In 2016 or thereabouts a  water shortage severely affected the North of the island and gave rise to a citizen group calling itself the Water Warriors- there was talk then as there is now- that solutions were/are in the pipeline.  It is 2019 and if we listen to the cries of citizens about the lack running water, the problem appears to have gotten worse.

People pay taxes to ensure critical services like water, waste disposal, transportation and a few others are efficiently supplied by government. The fact that we continue to demonstrate the poorest management that forces citizens to embarrass themselves by making public cries is unacceptable.  Can we honestly label ourselves an educated people if we continue to mismanage our affairs to this degree?

Here is a reminder of short and longer term solutions promised in 2016 by the then Minister of Water Resources David Estwick.

• The Barbados Water Authority has put in an order for eight additional water tankers to provide potable water for residents of St Joseph, St Andrew and St John.
  • The tankers will take the BWA complement to 13, and they should be in Barbados in about two months.
  • The BWA is presently rehabilitating a well at Groves in St George aimed at providing an additional 500 000 gallons of water to the Golden Ridge/Castle Grant system which supplies the northern parishes.
  • The BWA has also completed a new pumping station at the Lazaretto, Black Rock, St Michael which allows it to push desalinated water down the island’s west coast into the St Peter system to get water to St Peter and St Lucy until the completion of the Northern Upgrade project which was started under a previous administration.
  • The St Philip Water Augmentation project to find additional water to alleviate shortages in the south of Barbados will be commissioned next Wednesday, allowing the BWA access to an additional 3.5 million gallons of water per day, some of which will be pushed to St Joseph, via Bowmanston in St John – Nationnews

The Ionics desalination plant was also upgraded and contracted by government to augment the supply of water.

The majority of middleclass Barbadians have invested in water storage facilities, it is always the poor and vulnerable who are exposed by the chronic mismanagement by authorities.

The same lament can be repeated to explain the garbage pileup across the country. We hear the excuses and promises from Minister of the Environment Trevor Prescod that new garbage trucks will be deployed shortly.  However sensible people are asking what is the backup plan. Is there a good case to contract private waste-haulers to assist with short term waste collection? Do not forget there is a systemic problem to be solved of implementing a waste management plan. Dumping garbage in a landfill is a primitive waste disposal solution and exposes successive governments for the inability to implement relevant solutions.  The current flare up by sanitation workers is another symptom of mismanagement of our national affairs.

The quality of debate in this space and elsewhere means we can anticipate political operatives tossing the usual vacuous barbs to defend narrow political interest. This is where we are and where we will will continue to be as a nation- a country in decline if…

236 responses to “Garbage Pile Up Water Shortage Pon De Replay”

1. BARBADOS WILL LAUNCH SOLAR PROJECTS AND MAKE IT MANDATORY FOR BAJAN’S TO COMPLY…The Enticement will come as they encourage Bajan’s to Invest…The outcome will bring a Great Burden as Energy Cost will Escalate despite what they will say to get you on-board….

Solar is Old Technology we have enough information about PV to know that it is not viable. (1) If it was viable all the European Countries would have done it and they are now discontinuing the PV … (2) Even in the Desert Regions of America PV is proving Problematic (Dust on the PV Reducing the Effectiveness of it and the Cost of Transmission) … (3) it is also a Cult like following so Reason is Suspended and Emotion Rules…(4) No more PV Panels are being sold in any Quantities to the Developed Countries attention has been focused on smaller players. When it is Instituted it can never fulfill its Promise and the Population Pays through Extremely Higher Rates…(5) The Higher the PV Dependence the Higher the Rates…(6) The Local Power Company will be charging Interest on its Capital and Depreciation on its Out Lay all of which does not depend on 1 Wat Electricity being produced…(7) We the Barbadians will be asked to pay for 20 years of Electricity in FOREX whether it works or not…(8) this is OLD TECHNOLOGY a lot of people are working on New Technology… (9) Tesler the Man drew Electricity from the air and drove his car for a hundred miles and when the reporters told him that he did it by the power of the devil he packed up and went home, he was financially ruined by an Ex-Partner and upon his Death the Government raided his home and confiscated all of his research. How long again do you think that someone reinvents that?

No matter what solutions are ultimately settled on this much is certain: Leftists ‘solving the problems Leftist have created will result in more laws, more rules, more regulations, and more restrictions on businesses which in turn results in Government agencies having more power, more duties of enforcement and therefore ever-swelling budgets. Costs to operate will go up for the energy producers. Costs to regulate the producers will go up for the government. And the tab for all of these increased costs will ultimately come to rest on the shoulders of the consumer and Taxpayers.

It is in our National Interest that the Government be Dissuaded from having Barbadians pay Exorbitant Electricity Rates. High Electricity Rates would cause Barbados Development to be at a Standstill. We cannot afford this mistake at this time or ever. No Industry can Survive the Onslaught of a Massive Cost of Electricity disguised as improving the Environment! Look at who is Promoting the Solar Panels. BL&P will now have to Charge Interest on the Capital Development and Charge Depreciation Expenses on the same plant even without producing 1Kilowatt. They will be making Nuff money at the Expense of Barbadians. This is Cahill with a Smile on its face!! Fool me once shame on you, fool me Twice shame on me.

John A surely you would not want to be Instrumental in the Demise of our Nation!!!

Wise Up Barbados WE DO NOT WANT ANOTHER CAHILL!!

https://www.facebook.com/FrederickDouglassAmericanHero/photos/a.309430002529568/1374658272673397/?type=3&theater

2. @ Vincent

I have never seen a plan for the transition or supplementation of our supply by alternate energy, if indeed one exist. I can’t recall any government publishing a plan to reach say 60 percent fossil fuel based electricity by such a date.

In the absence of this as a business if I was Emera, I would continue to run the generator system till the bearings fall off. Also of we wait on Emera to transition we got a long wait. After all they already have an entire infrastructure based mainly on using fossil fuel. So where does that leave us?

It leaves us where government must set hard guidelines for partial transition to alternative energy in the negotiations they are now entering with Emera. In the meantime they need to also negotiate a decent rate of return for those supplying the grid.

If we sit here and say “it can’t be done” or “well we Always did it this way” then nothing will change.

Every business monopoly or not, must supply an economical reliable service to survive. If they don’t consumers will seek alternatives. Why would I look for an alternative energy source if the one I have now is economical and reliable?

3. David
    You cannot correct 10years of woeful management of the social, economic, environmental and infrastructural pillars in 18months. You can start though and make progress and that is what the government is doing. You mentioned water, garbage trucks and buses; but schools, polyclinics, district hospitals, roads, the Supreme Court and more government buildings were or are in need of repair. A port without scanners and using obsolescent ASYCUDA and many more neglected issues. Someone said take the $54M and buy trucks and buses, in other words don’t hire experienced people and buy about 20 garbage trucks and 30 buses. Then what?🤔🤣🤣

4. @enuff

This is no laughing matter, people have been struggling for more than 10 years, they need to feel and see improvement. They are sensible to know it cannot be fixed overnight, however, people want to believe that things will improve by seeing and feeling results. Instead we see new MPs and ministers buying the latest SUVs and making themselves comfortable. The blogmaster does not mean to rubbish anybody’s right to better than themselves but hell man.

5. Would anyone know of Mr Caricom was able to influence the Barbados government to coerce the Trinidad and Tobago prime minister to include a fisheries component in the MoU regarding the new petroleum agreement? If no, what a missed opportunity.

6. ” Barbadians should brace for heavy showers and possible thunderstorms late Monday night and into Tuesday morning as Tropical Storm Dorian passes the area.

Tropical Depression No. 5 was upgraded to Tropical Storm Dorian around 5 p.m. today. It was about 1 165km east-southeast of Barbados, located at 10.7N and 49.1W.

7. AS FAR AS ROOFTOP SOLAR IS CONCERNED HERE IS SOME US DATA ON THE REALITY OF THE COST!

In some parts of the country rooftop solar is fashionable. Homeowners who install rooftop solar often save money because the reduction in cost of electricity from the utility is greater than the cost of the solar electricity. These homeowners brag to their friends about how clever they are, and the purveyors of rooftop solar place advertisements claiming that rooftop solar is cheaper than buying electricity from the electric company. This is part of the scam. Rooftop solar is profitable because it is Heavily Subsidized and because the electric utility is Forced, by the governmental authorities, to provide a connection to back up the solar without compensating remuneration. The real cost of rooftop solar electricity, exclusive of subsidies, is around 30-cents per kilowatt hour and the real benefit is around two cents per kilowatt hour from fuel saved in the utility’s backup plants. The subsidy, financed by taxpayers and electricity consumers, is greater than ninety percent.

Hundreds of thousands of home owners, under the delusion that they have discovered cheaper electricity, are walking and talking advertisements for solar energy.

The biggest victim of the green energy scam is the public in general. Everybody pays more taxes and pays more for energy as a consequence of the scam. But the waste of billions of dollars may not be noticeable when spread over the 320 million Americans. The public has been exposed to relentless propaganda promoting green energy as beneficial and less expensive. The public is the greatest victim, but most people don’t know that they are being victimized.

Green energy is the perfect scam because it is disguised as a do-good movement and the victims are dispersed, unorganized and disarmed by propaganda. Green energy is endorsed by government agencies, environmental non-profits, and scientific groups. These are people that are often seen as sources of reliable information but that, in reality, work to promote their own parochial interests. This is a scam that needs to be exposed.

If we as Bajan’s have to pay for all the Subsidies God Help Us!!

Climate change is an urgent topic of discussion among politicians, journalists, environmental activist and celebrities…but what do scientists say about climate change? Does the data validate those who say humans are causing the earth to catastrophically warm? Richard Lindzen, an MIT atmospheric physicist and one of the world’s leading climatologists, summarizes the science behind climate change.

Please watch the video…

8. John A August 24, 2019 5:03 PM
    “I can’t believe in 2019 people are still finding excuses for poor service and shuddering with fear that if we do anything they will leave. The planes there leave if you want to! I guarantee the company will be bought by local shareholders who will not only take it forward, but encompass green energy.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Who would be these ‘new’ shareholders willing and able to buy out Emera?

The same lot (including you and myself) who were forced to sell their nest egg of a golden investment because the government/NIS had to offload it shares for a mess of foreign exchange pottage?

Are you proposing a plan to nationalize the utility even under the ongoing IMF arrangement which would laugh at such a proposal?

Where would the country find the foreign exchange to pay out or buy off Emera?

If you should read between the lines you would notice that the IMF has plans for the same BWA.

It must be privatized, come hell (drought) or high water; and preferably to foreign interests to bring forex to the country on a short-term basis.

Why do you think the BWA has been placed under the regulatory ambit of the FTC?

Why do you think the politicians have been cannibalizing that precious utility in recent years the same way they have treated the now ‘emaciated and broken’ Transport Board?

The country is broke with its outstretched begging hands in the IMF lion’s mouth.
    It is in NO position to dictate to any lender or buyer with foreign money to spend in Bim.

9. And we noticed…still no one is going to prison or being held accountable for the cannibalization and outright corruption that brought the island to it’s knees, literally under both governments in the last 24 years….nearly 18 months later and STILL NOTHING TO SHOW for 54 million dollars and US85,000 dollars a month to a two man consultant team nor the GAGGLE OF OTHER CONSULTANTS…SUCKING ON THE TAXPAYERS…

10. Problem with BOTH governments…CORRUPTION..

Dumbville went all the way to Canada to seek out a convicted criminal to SELL (THE FREE SUN) via the green energy scam to bajans…when Barbados had already made a name through Professor Headly at UWI for inventing the solar water heating system…it would have been an easy jump to solar panels…ALL HANDLED BY THE MAJORITY POPULATION…..with no dependency WHATEVER on foreign energy companies with AGENDAS….but the dummies in parliament HATE seeing their own people progress in any form (check out Mia’s wicked Marijuana legislation) AND are FOREVER DOOMED to seek out white and other crooks to destroy the island….and ROB the people.

a curse and the spirits of those who are their victims are surely following them all around, this could NEVER be normal….and is apparently set to get much, much worse, given certain events now starting to define itself..

11. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

We have to separate at source. Source being our own kitchens and bathrooms.

As long as we insist in putting everything into one garbage bin, chicken bones, fish guts, dead cell phones, bleach bottles, banana peels, tertrapak containers, coffee grounds, tea bags, banana peels, stale rice, last week’s pudding and souse, dead cats and dogs we will have a problem.

Too many of us Bajans are poor great poppets. Too proud to separate the egg shells and banana peels from the reusable plastic, metal and glass.

And then we complain. If seems as though we want a Cabinet Minister to come into our kitchens and bathrooms and do the separating for us. Perhaps our Cabinet Ministers are not even doing their own separation, although they should be LEADING BY EXAMPLE.

I have been separating at source for years. My garbage bin in NEVER full. In front of my home is NEVER nasty and stink. I keep a plastic bag in the freezer for bits of left over meat which will otherwise decay and stink very quickly in this heat. In the freezer it does not stink, and one day when I am at home and the garbage truck is passing I toss that directly into the truck. I do not own a car, but once a month when I have access to a car to do my grocery shopping I take my clean metal, plastic and glass to B’s. I receive a few dollars for it too. Just yesterday Mr. B. was on Brass Tacks, saying that “yes” there is still a market for clean metal, plastic and glass, and some other items, batteries for one.

Another issue is that too many people are too cheap to buy a decent garbage bin with a cover that locks on. A decent bin cost less that $100 but it is evident that too many Bajans think that spending $100 every 5 years or so for a decent bin is too much. They use an open bin, or one with a loose fitting cover, and then they complain about the flies, the rats, the dogs and cats and the smell.

The government has a duty to the taxpayers.

But the citizens also have a duty to themselves, to their neighbours, to their communities, and to their country.

12. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa August 24, 2019 6:41 AM “more leadway in allowing Caricom citizens easier acess to allowing their extended families to live in barbados.”

Spouses and minor children are not extended family, ya poppit.

Next thing you will pull a Donald trump on us and tell us that grandmothers are not family.

Lord havis mercy.

13. @ Miller.

I agree with you that we are in a bad position now to enter into the purchase of anything. we may be down but not dead yet. I also agree with you the politicians have done little to negotiate a better deal for us in so many ways we can’t even discuss them, but we can do better than we are doing. Let me show you what I mean.

Government must be the single biggest client of the Light and Power agreed? Yet I bet they are paying the same commercial rate as everyone else. Has the minister of finance present or past, ever bothered to negotiate a better rate for the state based on usage?

Yes like you it annoys me that as minority shareholders we were forced to sell, but that is behind us now. The banking sector has billions in it now rusting, why couldn’t a private bond issue be floated for subscription if it came to that? I know we are both frustrated, but I ain t ready to give up yet and I know from your writings you got nuff fight left in you too!

Entities like the BWA are in the business of selling water. If the BL&P are causing them not be able to sell, then don’t you think the BWA being one of their biggest clients should call on them for a solution? If let’s say the BWA was spending over 1 million a year with Emmera , you don’t feel if pressed to install 5 generators at the major pumping stations for a total of say $500,000, that Emera would not agree to do it? We have to press for what we want no one is going to give it to us if they don’t have to.

As I said that is the worst case scenario above, before that happens government need to negotiate with them for a few things. A better return on the power private entities are putting into the grid and a clearly defined policy over the next 20 years say, for partial transition away from fossil fuels would be a good start.

14. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin August 24, 2019 7:26 AM “Here are some facts: in 1970, less than 50 years ago, the population of London was 90 per cent white. Today it is 40 per cent; the capital of this great country has a majority ethnic and foreign population – and London has changed.”

But Hal I am not sure if you mean that London has changed for better or for worse, when it went form 90% white to 40% white, but if by chance you mean that London has changed for the worse, don’t you see that you were and are a part of that change when you moved your not white self to London?

If not white people like you have made London better then come right out and say so.

If not white people like you has made London worse, then come right out and say so.

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

What is ethnic anyhow?

What is foreign?

Are you ethnic?

Are you foreign?

Is ethnic bad?

Is foreign bad?

Are you bad?

16. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John A August 24, 2019 10:00 AM

I find that you are a very generous marker awarding marks of 3 out of 10, and 4 out of 10 for failure to follow through.

in my class if you do not do your work your get zero out of 10 AND a cut-ass.

17. @ Enuff August 24, 2019 6:53 PM

Ten years of mismanagement is still understated. I would rather speak of a blue tsunami or a blue locust infestation.

For the sake of completeness, I would also like to add our latest commodity strategic success. Our great leader Mia Mottley signs a commodity memorandum with Trixidad. Maybe we will soon be as rich as Guyana … who knows? Freundel hasn’t made such a deal in 10 years. You all know the story that after going to church he called back his four disciples who had already packed their suitcases for the trip to America. I would be interested to know what other aberrations the DLP still has. According to the result, the economic policy from 2008 to 2018 is probably a mixture of laying cards and reading chicken bones.

In any case, I was happy today about the newly paved highway from the UWI to Warrens. Five more elections with 30:0 and all the roads will be as good as new.

18. @ Sir Simple

Lord you is a vicious teacher though! Lol

I think as much as we would like to cut their ass that would not be allowed.

19. @ John A August 24, 2019 8:13 PM

A major factor that is being avoided, albeit inadvertently, in this discussion is the large slice of taxes government receives under the present electricity supply arrangement.

How would government collect the large slice of easy tax revenues i.e. VAT, on customers’ electricity bills?

How would government fill the void (loss of tax revenues) should the ‘supply’ role of the BL&P be significantly reduced?

By increasing the property tax on those buildings carrying alternative energy systems?

20. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WURA-War-on-U August 24, 2019 12:09 PM “those river tamarind trees that are over 12 feet in the air from the highway all the way to Bishop Court’s Hill, by the old Alexandra’s club and beyond…could have been uprooted when they were mere seedlings…a tree takes YEARS AND YEARS to grow over 12 feet tall

According to Wikipedia, and my own experience river tamarind “has a very fast growth rate: young trees reach a height of more than 20 ft in two to three years.”

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron August 24, 2019 1:20 PM “You should also bear in mind that a large part of the local elite comes from deplorable social backgrounds. They don’t inherit anything from their impoverished parents.”

Do you have any evidence that poor people are more deplorable that rich people?

Do you have any evidence that those who inherit money are more honest or more generous than those who do not?

Or are you just talking sh!t as usual?

22. @ Miller

Well on the renewable energy put into the grid it will still be sold by the light and Power to the client and be vatable. Remember all we are altering is the energy source for the production to include a portion from a renewable source, along with the traditional oil base source.

So for argument sake we may say in 5 years we want our electricity to be from no more than 80 percent fossil fuel. After 10 years 75 percent etc.

Also let’s say the BL&P had to put generators on the 5 main pumping stations at their cost, we would still buy the KWs those generators produce from the company at the going rate. All we are telling them is based on how much we buy for the BWA we want you to guarantee a supply at your cost, whether it be from your grid or your generators.

We need to start demanding better based on our contribution to their bottom line in other words.

23. There are emergency (standby) generators ant BWA main pumping stations and the two sewage treatment plants.

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron August 24, 2019 8:36 PM “Five more elections with 30:0 and all the roads will be as good as new.”

I can’t continue to pay taxes for another 25 years, 5 more elections, and wait and wait and wait for the road in my village to be fixed.

That is too long to wait.

Because 5 elections from now i will be living in the place where ALL THE STREETS ARE PAVED WITH GOLD and I will have no use for the DLP nor the BLP nor for your favourite girl.

25. “According to Wikipedia, and my own experience river tamarind “has a very fast growth rate: young trees reach a height of more than 20 ft in two to three years.”

well since i cannot measure the tree and neither can you…they can very well be 50-30 foot trees…over 12 feet tall…

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Some may think that the SSS oppose Mottley because she does not like her, but the SSS oppose Mottley because she had the best opportunity, to present herself as a Prime Minister above all that went before her. She had time on her side to learn from all the mistakes of the other Prime Ministers, she had the feel of the people regarding how they felt about politicians come lately. What does this Rogue do. The same shite that all her predecessors found pleasure in doing. She use her position to elevate her close personal friends, and made sure that her family benefitted from her role as Prime Minister. Up until now, she has not shown the same haste she used to expedite interests she found useful to her cause like having A freedom of information act in place or getting whistleblower legislation of the ground or doing something more to strenghten the PAC. She, by her standards alone, is exhibiting the same shite behaviour as Freundel Stuart and her ministers are certainly enjoying the sweets though the charges of theft have not started as yet.

27. Bajans really need too STOP LISTENING…to these jackasses in political parties..B..D..S….or whichever liar approaches you with a contrived acronym……AGAIN…the CONSTITUTION DOES NOT MAKE PROVISIONS FOR OR CATER…to these CLOWNS…no one has to listen to them…they have been LYING TO BLACK BAJANS FOR 70 YEARS……ALL OF THEM//

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/241421/mayers-rallies-dlp-faithful

STAY THE HELL AWAY FROM THEM…they are SELL OUT NEGROS AND EXIST SOLELY TO SELL YOU TO CRIMINAL MINORITIES OR ANY MINORITY WHO CROSSES THEIR PATH AND CAN BRIBE THEM…they are LIARS…..so be WARNED..

DO NOT…give any of them more than 5 YEARS in the parliament..

AND…

STOP ELECTING LAWYERS…to parliament.

28. Let us hope citizens secure their garbage if we encounter bad weather. Is Prescod doing anything to help clear the garbage by commandeering MTW truck, hire private contractors for example? Let us do something!

Suggestions from contributors instead of the usual drivel by some. Let us make good suggestions.

29. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Pray
    Do you have a 2 week supply of water on hand? Soap too?
    A two week supply of food as well?
    Maybe the insurance companies will open today so that those who need to catch up can do so?
    Do you have at least 2 weeks worth of prescription medicine on hand? Sometimes people die in the weeks after the storm because they run out of their blood pressure, heart, diabetes or other medicines.
    Hammer, nails, masking tape, “Collins” to clear debris afterwards?
    Large plastic bags or a sturdy plastic box for documents?
    Batteries, lanterns, fuel?
    Is the car filled up?
    Is the phone charged?
    If the power goes off, stuff the freezer with a couple of old blankets or sheets. This will help to keep the food frozen for a longer period.
    Check to see whether your elders in a safe place? Should they be with you?
    Put some dry clothes in a plastic bag or box. No dry clothes after a storm can lead to great discomfort.
    If you are young enough and strong enough to help afterwards, have you checked to ensure that your tetanus immunisation is up to date? If you are injured and haven’t been immunised in the last ten years you might be putting your health at risk and creating a burden for your family and the health system.

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You have been suggesting for donkey years. You were instrumental in bringing the Cahill nonsense to complete closure. Those were the acts of someone who pushed hard to change the nonsense. Since then, you have operated like a two face snake although the posts above are reading like the true David who operated like a Dan Gordon that I had respect for. You want suggestions? While you are feathering Mottley’s regime with words such as: you do not mind them getting their fancy cars but do something about the domestic messes (good for this goose but not ugly is ass other ducklings), perhaps you can press hard as you did with Cahill on the matter of her bloated waste cabinet, and lack of legislation to allow journalism to delve into investigations without fear of the foolish ass laws that protect politicians. Make sure you do not dribble while you promote the drivel of providing suggestions. Not all snakes mistake their tails for food.

31. ” the center of Dorian is expected to pass over or near Barbados late Monday/early Tuesday.”

“Sustained surface winds between 25 to 35 mph (40 to 55 km/h) with gusts to storm force are expected to spread across Barbados Monday afternoon and persist into Tuesday.”

Seems those of you who need to buy ” supplies ” have today and half a day tomorrow to shop.

google ” stores open in Barbados today ”

Good luck Barbados.

32. @ David August 25, 2019 7:07 AM
    “Let us hope citizens secure their garbage if we encounter bad weather. Is Prescod doing anything to help clear the garbage by commandeering MTW truck, hire private contractors for example? Let us do something!”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why only “Prescod”? What about the entire Cabinet and its chairperson? Isn’t this a crisis bordering on a national disaster in the making?

Why can’t the Defence Force be deployed to help alleviate the dangers being created by this garbage and solid waste crisis?

What are they waiting on? For tropical storm Dorian to create the ideal conditions to ‘force’ them to spring into action to save their own sorry asses from total disaster?

Watch and see how Murphy’s Law will soon spring into action.

‘Everything that can possibly go wrong will go wrong’.

33. @ Miller,

The ” after storm ” profit center is greater than the ” advance preparation ” profit center for some.

Let us hope the storm misses Barbados and if there is flooding our BU friend Alden Blackman in Clarke’s road is spared.

34. Again the typical Barbadian alarmism.

In other CARICOM destinations almost every household has an emergency generator and its own water pump.

We therefore need a national law that obliges Barbadian households to do the same. It only costs a handful of dollars.

35. God is a bajan
    Dorian will pass to the South od Barbados

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron August 25, 2019 10:01 AM “We therefore need a national law that obliges Barbadian households to do the same. It only costs a handful of dollars.”

What alarmism? I see only sensible suggestions.

And what about those who don’t have “a handful of dollars” Is it ok with you if we die? Perhaps it would save you the trouble of having to deport us or using using your handful of dollars to deport us kill us.

37. I here listening to vob929 Brasstacks and have to admire the lady who is begging for service in Whitehill.

I will make no comment on what the moderator is saying so that BU would not get sue.

38. @ Sunshine Sunny Shine

You want suggestions? While you are feathering Mottley’s regime with words such as: you do not mind them getting their fancy cars but do something about the domestic messes (good for this goose but not ugly is ass other ducklings), perhaps you can press hard as you did with Cahill on the matter of her bloated waste cabinet, and lack of legislation to allow journalism to delve into investigations without fear of the foolish ass laws that protect politicians. Make sure you do not dribble while you promote the drivel of providing suggestions. Not all snakes mistake their tails for food.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Both you and Hal Austin are the 2 most astute bloggers on Barbados Underground.

Wolf in sheep’s clothing.

39. @ Baje

Wolf in sheep’s clothing?

40. I was driving some visitors around the country side yesterday and realised something that I would like to suggest to the SSA.

I noticed in several rural areas garbage was gathered at a central place. So for instance in Porey Springs people brought the garbage to one spot where several drums were placed. Noticed the same thing going through areas of St Joseph as well. Why doesn’t the SSA in these areas place skips and hence ease the load on the few compactor trucks we have? I am sure if management spoke to the drivers on the routes they would advise where these community refuse spots are.

If then there is a delay in collecting the skips at least the garbage would be enclosed in the skips and not there in bags for the dogs to tear open.

Just a thought.

41. John A

Agree there is a personal responsibility citizens must own. We will have to rebuild the society to achieve what we want.

42. @ Hal Austin

@ Baje

Wolf in sheep’s clothing?
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

This was meant in reference to the Blogmaster the always informed and know it all living on a 2 x 4 island.

43. David
    And are there no improvements? Is the Supreme Court building not expanded and reopened? Aren’t 40+ schools being repaired over the summer, St.George Sec, Milton Lynch, CP and others done before? Randall Phillips Polyclinic? A new scanner and ASYCUDA world at the Port? Sewage off the streets? Income tax, reverse tax and vat refunds being paid? And garbage trucks about to land. The situation is not one for laughter; however, the belief that redirecting the money from White Oaks would solve these pressing issues certainly is. The collection of garbage and the operations of the TB go beyond vehicle numbers, recycling, garbage separation and the usual solutions advanced here on BU. John A’s observation and suggestion in relation to communal collection/storage points fits into the broader picture to which I refer. But ten years of neglect can’t be corrected in 15months especially given the government’s finances.

44. When will Mia/Dale/DPP/ POLICE/ go AFTER..the DLP THIEVES…to recover THOSE FINANCES…the “governmen”t really MEANS…taxpayers finances are only like that …BECAUSE YALL ALLOWED THE THIEVES TO GET AWAY…with the people’s money….then ya allowed ya CROOKED FRIENDS AND FAMILY to get away with not paying BUT STEALING A BILLION DOLLARS IN VAT AND TAXES…how bout that..

how about bringing back the offshore accounts…all 120 thousand…which do not all contain AIR…

#shortmemories15secondattentionspans

45. @enuff

Yes incremental improvements however things like garbage pick up, efficient transportation, better roads etc. These things impact people in a material way because of visibility. You get the point. Until they are fixed people will complain. You must be aware also some will always complain.

46. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Enuff August 25, 2019 1:21 PM “Income tax, reverse tax and vat refunds being paid?”

What?

A young relative of mine, in the first job from January 2015 to August 2016, earning so little that entitled to a reverse tax credit. Still waiting for the credits for tax years 2015 and 2016. Would have been glad to receive the credits not to “lick up the money”, but to buy the computer needed for school work.

Almost ready to marry and start a family (we want more people right) but still waiting for the reverse tax credit. To quote the Mighty Sparrow “can’t make love on hungry belly.”

Stupssseee!!!!!!!!!

47. @ Baje

Plse salute the Blogmaster, this fine Carnival weekend. Hope you are partying. Remember, 12400 police, body cams, facial recognition cameras, para-police waiting in school yards and a hungry media waiting for the crime figures this evening.
    In the meantime, have you seen the London GCSE exam results? Funny that, you hear of knife crimes, but not first class exam results – the best in the country.
    What about the results for good, old-fashioned Caribbean teaching? Wow! Those calling for changes in the 11+ should come and talk to some of these teachers.

48. Barbadians have been drilled from primary school that we are a water scarce country.

This is patently false!!

It is only around 2000 that efforts were made to meter all connections.

For the previous 50 odd years, most people were on flat rate!!

Those growing vegetebales made good use of the free water!!

49. In Barbados there are three reasons to explain the predicament we find ourselves-

change in climatic conditions adversely affecting water catchment,

a growing demand for potable water

AND poor management of available water resources.

Rubbish to climate change.

Second was true from the time potable water was made available to Bridgetown c.1864

When a Government can throw away 2 million gallons of water per day on golf courses at Westmoreland and Apes Hill the true scope of the poor management is evident for even the blind to see!!

50. John A

I’m NOT “saying” your suggestion is a bad idea…… but, it isn’t the dogs tearing open garbage bags you have to worry about that much, it’s the bottle scavengers. And the skips would not provide enough protection for the garbage from them.

The irregular collection of garbage is compounded by the fact that some Barbadians are very dirty, inconsiderate individuals. I used to lime in an area where, if the SSA placed a skip there at 9am, by 10:30am, it would be over-flowing with garbage. Rather than placing the garbage in the skips, people would stand afar and throw the bags, which often land outside, causing the excess garbage to accumulate around the skip.

Then, you had people coming from different areas of Barbados to throw their trash, old furniture, beds T.V sets and other electrical appliances, in the skips, while the “landscapers” and coconut vendors would use them to dispose of grass, plant or tree trimmings and coconut shells respectively. In addition to the skip truck, the SSA would have to utilize a “Bobcat” and a truck to clean up the area and remove the excess trash.

If you compare garbage collection years ago with current techniques, the only significant changes are modern day trucks and the fact that garbage collectors no longer have to use shovels, because the road side “stuff bins” are memories of a bygone era.

What are we really currently doing differently from the garbage collection processes of, let’s say, the 1970s? What Barbados needs is the implementation of a comprehensive waste management and disposal policy, as well as a fleet maintenance program. This begs the questions (a) are the technocrats unable to formulate garbage collection policies; (b) do they formulate policies and make suggestions, which are ignored by the politicians, or (c) is there a “poverty of ideas” among the technocrats and politicians?

Additionally, Barbadians need be reminded they are responsible for the proper management of their garbage until such time it is collected.

Unfortunately, under these circumstances, the usual political hacks would now want to use this opportunity to sing CAHILL’s praises, while conveniently ignoring that project was exposed by BU as a scam.

Leave a Reply to William SkinnerCancel reply