Barbadians have been drilled from primary school that we are a water scarce country. There is a technical definition, a simple translation is the lack of available water resources to meet demand. In Barbados there are three reasons to explain the predicament we find ourselves- change in climatic conditions adversely affecting water catchment, a growing demand for potable water AND poor management of available water resources.

In 2016 or thereabouts a  water shortage severely affected the North of the island and gave rise to a citizen group calling itself the Water Warriors- there was talk then as there is now- that solutions were/are in the pipeline.  It is 2019 and if we listen to the cries of citizens about the lack running water, the problem appears to have gotten worse.

People pay taxes to ensure critical services like water, waste disposal, transportation and a few others are efficiently supplied by government. The fact that we continue to demonstrate the poorest management that forces citizens to embarrass themselves by making public cries is unacceptable.  Can we honestly label ourselves an educated people if we continue to mismanage our affairs to this degree?

Here is a reminder of short and longer term solutions promised in 2016 by the then Minister of Water Resources David Estwick.

• The Barbados Water Authority has put in an order for eight additional water tankers to provide potable water for residents of St Joseph, St Andrew and St John.
  • The tankers will take the BWA complement to 13, and they should be in Barbados in about two months.
  • The BWA is presently rehabilitating a well at Groves in St George aimed at providing an additional 500 000 gallons of water to the Golden Ridge/Castle Grant system which supplies the northern parishes.
  • The BWA has also completed a new pumping station at the Lazaretto, Black Rock, St Michael which allows it to push desalinated water down the island’s west coast into the St Peter system to get water to St Peter and St Lucy until the completion of the Northern Upgrade project which was started under a previous administration.
  • The St Philip Water Augmentation project to find additional water to alleviate shortages in the south of Barbados will be commissioned next Wednesday, allowing the BWA access to an additional 3.5 million gallons of water per day, some of which will be pushed to St Joseph, via Bowmanston in St John – Nationnews

The Ionics desalination plant was also upgraded and contracted by government to augment the supply of water.

The majority of middleclass Barbadians have invested in water storage facilities, it is always the poor and vulnerable who are exposed by the chronic mismanagement by authorities.

The same lament can be repeated to explain the garbage pileup across the country. We hear the excuses and promises from Minister of the Environment Trevor Prescod that new garbage trucks will be deployed shortly.  However sensible people are asking what is the backup plan. Is there a good case to contract private waste-haulers to assist with short term waste collection? Do not forget there is a systemic problem to be solved of implementing a waste management plan. Dumping garbage in a landfill is a primitive waste disposal solution and exposes successive governments for the inability to implement relevant solutions.  The current flare up by sanitation workers is another symptom of mismanagement of our national affairs.

The quality of debate in this space and elsewhere means we can anticipate political operatives tossing the usual vacuous barbs to defend narrow political interest. This is where we are and where we will will continue to be as a nation- a country in decline if…

236 responses to “Garbage Pile Up Water Shortage Pon De Replay”

1. Not even bothering with Mariposa, but Hal Austin is a real, real cunt yuh. The acting Chief Meteorologist spoke first in technical terms about the storm, Mottley spoke about the government’s preparation and plans while urging Bajans to take the thing seriously. Hal accuses the lady of encroaching on the responsibility of the technocrat. Piss in muh RH pocket! The good thing is that is not the general consensus. All yuh be safe. Some people just don’t know time and place.

2. @ Enuff

Your language says it all. Hope you did not fuse your brain.

3. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin August 26, 2019 5:43 AM “I know an elderly old man, 100 years old, and at the time of writing not a single official has checked on him to see if he is safe. ”

Testy today aren’t you.

I am sure that the neighbours, family and friends have checked on the 100 year old.

If he is your family or friend you had enough time between Friday when Dorian formed to today to get yourself here to do your filial duty.

4. @Simple

Still not a call from any official, or his local MP. What a caring society?

5. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa August 26, 2019 7:55 AM “It as if Mia is afraid that technocrats words would be not in sync with hers. Therfore she sets the ground work for them to follow.”

Why don’t you stop telling lies on the lady.

She said plainly “acting on the advice of…”

You know that the PM is not a meteorologist

I know that she is not a meteorologist

She knows that she is not a meteorologist

If she said plainly “acting on the advice of…” don’t you think that she consulted the technical experts.

You are being dishonest.

And Hal ought to know better than to support your foolishness.

6. @ Simple

Who am I supporting? I wish all Barbadians well, especially those socially isolated and on their own.

7. @ Enuff August 26, 2019 3:05 PM
    “Not even bothering with Mariposa, but Hal Austin is a real, real cunt yuh.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++=

No only a “real real cunt” but also a lying first-rate hypocrite of the ugliest order.

This is the same idiot who swore on his ‘lying’ bed that he will never engage in any discussions with people who post under pseudonyms aka members of the BU anoymice.

Who could be carrying more membership cards to the ‘BU Club Anonymous’ than the many maripokies’?

We can appreciate his mutual masturbation with William Skinner who genuinely means well for Barbados in his more altruistically patriotic way.

But for him to form an entente cordiale with “ac” the original cunt which transmogrified into angel(a) Cox-Skeete and now “Mariposa” the DLP purebred yard-fowl turned butterfly, that’s really carrying his massive egotistically-driven disingenuity ‘a bit’ too far.

8. “I am sure that the neighbours, family and friends have checked on the 100 year old.”

SirSimpleSimon

I have to agree with you.

In my opinion, relatives, friends and neighbours checking on and providing care for the elderly gentleman would be more reflective of a caring society, than a call or visit from a politician or some bureaucrat.

Where are his relatives? If they can’t take care of him, why have they not provided him with a caretaker or registered him with agencies such as the National Assistance Board or Welfare Department that would “dispatch” Welfare Officers to assess his living situation and conditions and make recommendations to provide him with all the necessary assistance he requires?

To confine a “caring society” within the limits of politicians and bureaucrats, while completely ignoring relatives, friends and neighbours is not only ludicrous, but the journalist is being somewhat disingenuous and cynical as well.

9. Miller. Steupse lo.
    Hee Remeber what OSA said about Mottley
    Amm let me put it bluntly
    She is a controlling freak rather than let those in charge of the ministries do their jobs which they are paid to do
    She blots like lightning to suck up all the energy as well as she does at every Press conference
    How about her brilliant idea to collect garbage that have been piling up for weeks a day before the hurricane reaches barbados all because she did not want to pay the workers overtime

10. Either US or Europe will revive this brillant invention and everyone else will follow…the THIEVES, the greedy and hoarders will become extinct..as they should, everyone is sick of these parasites and leeches..

..BTW…another recession is looming while Barbados remains up White Hoax shit street.

Editor’s note: This is an excerpt of Planet Money’s newsletter.

“Silvio Gesell hated money. A German entrepreneur who moved to Argentina for business in the late 19th century, he witnessed a massive financial crash in 1890 that convinced him that money was behind the world’s economic problems: poverty, inequality, unemployment, stagnation.

The problem, Gesell believed, was that money served two roles that often came into conflict: It was a way for people to store wealth, and it was the thing everybody needed to conduct business. The fact that money could store wealth meant its holders had a reason to cling to it, especially in crises like the one he saw in Argentina, when opportunities to safely put that money elsewhere looked grim. It was a typical story. When people got scared, they hoarded cash and brought business to a standstill. It led, Gesell said, to a situation of “poverty amid plenty.”

Gesell wanted to create a new kind of money — a money that would “rot like potatoes” and “rust like iron” so no one would want to hoard it, a money that was “an instrument of exchange and nothing else.” And the crazy part is that he did create it. Through a series of pamphlets, articles and books, Gesell inspired a worldwide movement that introduced a completely new form of money. It’s one of the most fascinating, and largely forgotten, stories in economic history.

But after 70 years of obscurity, Gesell is making a comeback. All of a sudden, this obscure radical from another age has his name and ideas popping up in unlikely places — like speeches of leaders at the U.S. Federal Reserve, research papers of the International Monetary Fund and the pages of the Financial Times. As the industrialized world grapples with stagnation and as markets signal another recession, policymakers are struggling to figure out what to do. Could Gesell provide an answer?”

11. So both USELESS governments HELPED local and foreign thieves rippoff the PEOPLE and country over 1 billion dollars in VAT and TAXES…wrote the THEFT off as though it belonged to them, if not they would have COLLECTED the money, even if it meant JAILING some of the thieves for that THEFT…and now got Bostic SHAMELESSLY BEGGING for help for the healthcare system.

So tell us exactly WHOM are yall begging. When ya should be asking BOTH JEROME and Dumbville…to WHOM did they SELL OUT the healthcare system and for HOW MUCH.

12. TIEF NOT…………WANT NOT..

https://www.facebook.com/groups/sohee/permalink/2390105967748629/

Ya dont HELP CROOKS tief ya people’s money and then GO BACK to them BEGGING them to give back some to help ya refurbish or build healthcare facilities…WHEN ALREADY YA HAD THE MONEY…and REFUSED to collect it from those who stole….what kind of downright..,IDIOCY is that…and that is even without mentioning the bribery/corruption.

But it all seems to make PERFECT SENSE to these joke leaders.

“The Ministry of Health and Wellness intends to reach out to corporate Barbados for assistance in refurbishing district hospitals and polyclinics located in areas where companies do business.

Minister of Health and Wellness, Lt. Col. Jeffrey Bostic, said that following a successful collaboration between the ministry, the Barbados Defence Force and a number of private sector organizations to refurbish a ward at the Geriatric Hospital, government was interested in expanding this initiative.

“Recognizing that we do not have all the financial resources, as Minister of Health and Wellness I made the determination that we are going to attempt to address the issue across the country with the polyclinics and district hospitals.

“What we are going to be doing is to build on what we started at the Geriatric Hospital, but this time we are going to be asking corporate Barbados to contribute towards the facilities that are located within the areas where they are doing business and also ask Barbadians to contribute time and skills to help us get these things resolved,” he stated.

Minister Bostic said health had also been identified as one of the priority areas to which Barbadians in the diaspora, who will be returning home for We Gatherin’ next year, will be asked to contribute.

Meanwhile, Barbados’ aging population continues to present a challenge to government in terms of the availability of institutionalized care.

The minister said the number of people seeking placement in district hospitals was way above the capacity, and even with the Alternative Care of the Elderly programme, where government funded private health care for 220 persons, there were still not enough places.

This was an issue which was high on the ministry’s agenda, he said, and a number of useful ideas were being examined to tackle the problem.

These include the expansion of the community programme which would allow the elderly to remain in their homes and communities being cared for by persons trained in the care of the elderly. The minister maintained: “We believe that it is important to try to keep people within communities where they are familiar with the people and the environment.”

joy.springer@barbados.gov,bb

13. People are tired and fed up of lying politicians, lawyers and government ministers…but yall won’t notice that will ya, too arrogant, cocky and uppity with yaselves..

https://www.facebook.com/carmenrosa.vegaangarita/videos/10217174704214382/?t=16

14. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/08/28/mottleys-brickbats-bouquets-after-dorian/

Nothing so far has been said about this creeping authoritarianism. The criminalisation of anti-social behaviour is straight out of Tony Blair’s ASBO playbook.
    At first, there is a so-called civil charge, but it becomes a criminal offence to fail to cooperate. So not sweeping the street in front of your home can be a pathway to a criminal conviction. Putin could not have done it better.
    No discussion in parliament and, it appears as if Hurricane Dorian is just an excuse for this repressive legislation, since the attorney general has been working on draft legislation for sometime. Mr Jong must be proud of bringing his Chinese ways to Barbados. People now live in fear.
    Barbados is a failed state.

15. Minister Bostic said health had also been identified as one of the priority areas to which Barbadians in the diaspora, who will be returning home for We Gatherin’ next year, will be asked to contribute
    ++++++++++++
    Wuhloss, there is a change of pace. It is no longer the old “Hello! how are you? Send some money.

The new: “Hello! How are you? Bring some money”.

When winter comes, I’ll be coming but it certainly won’t be for any gathering

16. No discussion in parliament and, it appears as if Hurricane Dorian is just an excuse for this repressive legislation, since the attorney general has been working on draft legislation for sometime

++++++++++++++++
    And so it came to pass that under the rule of President Boris, the role of the Monarchy was further diminished, Ministers were not consulted and Parliament was reduced to bystander status as Boris stifled the Brexit debate and the future of the not so Great Britain.

17. I believe the PM means well and is sincere but she is reported to have said ” “All of us know, our parents, our grandparents…we grew up with them doing what? Cleaning in front, not just our property, but they used to clean the road and the gutter in front our house.

” but they used to clean the road and the gutter in front our house. ”

Depending on where you live, cleaning a gutter could be dangerous with all the traffic on the roads.

Most of the residential garbage problems can be solved with weekly pick up by SSA.

18. @ Sargeant

You can take the man out of Barbados, but it appears you cannot take the Bajan Condition out of the man. What has Boris to do with the creeping criminalisation of anti-social behaviour in Barbados or is this just stupidity?

19. @ Sargeant,

Bajans will be ” nice ” to Diasporeans during ” We Gatherin “.

Go and enjoy the ” entertainment “.

20. @ Sargeant,

I hope the government legalise marijuana before ” We Gatherin ”

CanBajans would feel more welcome. lol

21. @ Hal,
    I am not a supporter of MIa. However, I agree strongly with her comments that householders should be responsible for keeping their surroundings clean. I believe that it is either Austria or Switzerland that has passed a law stating that homeowners are obligated to maintain the facade of their homes keeping them clean and tidy. I would go farther and insist that all householders should manage their gardens and be obliged to plant a percentage of trees and vegetation within them.

You know as well as anybody, Hal, that Bajans are generally an undisciplined people. It always surprises how dirty the island is and how little attention the locals give to maintaining the facades of their properties. It is a pity that the locals are unable to visit countries such as Germany, Finland and other European countries where they can witness and enjoy the experience of living in clean and beautiful environments.

22. @Hants

You should not interpret the PM literally. She is reminding Barbadians of a time when we were generous in how we did chores in the hood. It is a condition she is rightly encouraging. Others need to join her to help rebuild BIM.

23. ” but they used to clean the road and the gutter in front our house. ”

so what happened to thr ROAD…in front of llaro COurt…hopefully it has already been FIXED…and not still looking like a CART ROAD IN 2020…only to be looking like a cart road again AFTER 2020 because of INFERIOR QUALIT Y ROAD WORK BY TIEFING COW.

24. @ David,

Why did she say this ” The Prime Minister revealed that the Attorney General has already started working towards introducing measures that would make householders liable for ensuring that not only their properties but also the road reserve in front of them are kept clean.”

Do I take the above ” literally ‘ or she mekkin sport.

25. @TLSN

Plse re-read my post. It was nothing about cleanliness, but about the criminalisation of anti-social behaviour, straight out of the Tony Blair ASBO playbook. Ignore an ASBO and you face criminal charges.
    I also made the point that since there appears to be already draft legislation, Hurricane Dorian was obviously not the trigger for this proposal, just an excuse.

26. @Hants

You people are not taking care of their surroundings by all means legislation it in a way that is reasonable.

27. William Skinner Avatar

What on earth go you mean by “ in the hood” ? You people cuss people who dwell overseas but at every given opportunity you mimic American crap. Guess you wear your pants down your backside as well.
    Pure clowns.

28. You want to tell the blogmaster how to communicate?

You guys need to remove whatever is stuck you know where.

#steuspe

29. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin August 28, 2019 2:11 PM “Mr Jong must be proud of bringing his Chinese ways to Barbados. People now live in fear.”

I am not living in fear.

Is there something peculiarly Chinese about keeping your yard and verge clean and tidy? I have a little place rented out and I write into the lease that the tenant is responsible for keeping the yard AND verge clean and tidy, or pay a bit extra and I will do it myself, or pay someone to do it. I HATE untidy yards.

My parents always cleaned the verge in front of our home. My brothers and sisters and I do it too. If i see a sweetie paper or a cigarette butt in front of my home I pick it up. Should we need to make a law? Perhaps not. Is the law going to be enforced? Very likely not. Perhaps an intense public education campaign might work better? I dunno.

A lot of Bajans are poor great poppets who don’t want to touch their own messes ever with gloves and masks on. Too many of us seem comfortable living in squalor.

I’ve been to London (dirty buses), Paris (smelly Metro), New York (dirty everything), Toronto, and many other cities. Gimme Toronto any day. Those Canadians know clean. Clean front yards, clean streets, clean bus shelters, clean buses and trains.

The Europeans can keep Europe. The Americans can keep America (shhh!!! Don’t tell the donald).

30. William Skinner Avatar

On this score the PM is correct. We must take responsibility for the cleanliness of our immediate surroundings. Having said that the government must take full responsibility for the proper collection and management of garbage.
    I have heard stories where homeowners avoid painting properties to escape paying some kind of taxes. I still cannot understand that. Perhaps I got the stories wrong.
    We have been dumping and littering the country and acting irresponsibly. We have allowed all types of shanty structures to exist because the politicians don’t want to inflame citizens. All over the place people are allowed to ignore Town and Country regulations. Everybody is guilty rich and poor.
    It’s time to have some national pride
    and stop turning a blind eye to these issues. We must protect our environment and infrastructure for ourselves and future generations.
    This whole question of the proper handling of garbage goes back as far as Greenland and before. Pure political ignorance and we then have people on BU talking crap as if these problems started last week.
    Let us keep de place clean and stop the bogus cool aid drinking nonsense.

The Duopoly Rules

31. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@William Skinner August 28, 2019 8:56 PM “I have heard stories where homeowners avoid painting properties to escape paying some kind of taxes. I still cannot understand that. Perhaps I got the stories wrong.”

There is a Bajan myth the if a house is unfinished, unpainted, and with an overgrown dirty yard then the property tax officials who do the valuations will assess the house/building at being of lower value, and the homeowner will therefore pay less taxes.

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@William Skinner August 28, 2019 8:56 PM “We have allowed all types of shanty structures to exist because the politicians don’t want to inflame citizens.”

Shanties=poverty.

It is the rare person who PREFERS to live in a shanty, instead of in a decent house.

We need land reform. Too many young families cannot afford to buy or even arrange a long term lease for a house spot, so a shanty is constructed in the parent’s back yard. No 20 something or 30 something man or woman wants to be pushed into the situation where they have to do their adult bedroom business with mum and or dad and young siblings in the adjoining room.

Young men and women need access to land so that they can start their own family life.

Young adults have sex, have children, need to move out from their parents homes, but so many cannot do that.

Land reform.

Land reform

Land reform.

33. William Skinner Avatar

@ Sir SmpleSimonPresidentForLife

I didn’t mean only houses. Drive around and you will see structures going up all over the place. I understand a person trying with a dwelling in the backyard or on a piece of family land but there are all types of structures made for all kinds of purposes.
    Your comment about the need for reform cannot be seriously disputed.

34. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Introducing legislation to make people keep their properties clean. Fair enough. But we also want to say fair enough, too, about seeing other pieces of legislation coming into play to deal with the shite that politicians are known to do. What about the legislation, effective and strong legislation, to keep the Treasury safe and clean. What about legislation that that require monies to be accounted down to the last cent making it very dificult for stinking politicians to present their schemes in asking for more money for this or that so call fixes.. What about legislation to strengthen the rules governing the Public Accounts Committee by placing it hands that are not political or show an inclination to be bipartisan what researching controversial issues.
    What about the blasted legislation to free the hands of journalism to investigate freely all the money that politicians and their cohorts thief over the years. What about legislation that would allow the Auditor General to take his reports several steps further besides mere reporting. What about legislation or a constitutional change that would allow the people to have major say in projects that can shape their destinies or put a dent in it like the shite decisions that have ended in millions of dollars being wasted on politicians so call pipe dream projects. What about legislation that specifies a criteria for the selection of a knighhood. Strange is shite that the country’s highest honour (Knight or Dame of St. Andrew) have been bestowed mainly on politicians, and affiliates of the two stinking parties. What about legislation that introduces and solidifies the position of a Contractor General to have oversight and decisional review over any name project in Barbados. What about Freedom of Information Legislation and Anticorruption Laws. Funny how easy pieces of legislation can spring up for the mundane, but major issues of credibility and accountability, the legislation in drowned in a sea of shite talk and excuses.

35. Hal Austin August 28, 2019 2:11 PM “Mr Jong must be proud of bringing his Chinese ways to Barbados. People now live in fear.”
    I am not living in fear.
    Is there something peculiarly Chinese about keeping your yard and verge clean and tidy? I have a little place rented out and I write into the lease that the tenant is responsible for keeping the yard AND verge clean and tidy, or pay a bit extra and I will do it myself, or pay someone to do it. I HATE untidy yards.
    My parents always cleaned the verge in front of our home. My brothers and sisters and I do it too. If i see a sweetie paper or a cigarette butt in front of my home I pick it up. Should we need to make a law? Perhaps not. Is the law going to be enforced? Very likely not. Perhaps an intense public education campaign might work better? I dunno.
    A lot of Bajans are poor great poppets who don’t want to touch their own messes ever with gloves and masks on. Too many of us seem comfortable living in squalor.(Quote)

Plse re-read my post. It was nothing about cleanliness, but about the criminalisation of anti-social behaviour, straight out of the Tony Blair ASBO playbook. Ignore an ASBO and you face criminal charges.(Quote)

Another example of the Barbadian Condition.