Press Release issued by Solutions Barbados

Appointing John Wick

The Data Protection Bill (DPB) is perhaps the most dangerous bill ever produced in Barbados’ Parliament since our Independence. It allows the most sensitive client data in all private sector companies to be made available to the Government, and leaked at will.

The excuse for passing such a dangerous bill is that it had to be compliant with the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). Well, it does not appear to be.

SAFEGUARD 1

The European Union (EU) insisted on at least four critical safeguards to protect their citizens from political abuse. The first was to try to ensure that their national supervisory authorities (our Data Protection Commissioner) were completely independent of political influence.

GDPR Article 52.1. “Each supervisory authority shall act with complete independence in performing its tasks and exercising its powers in accordance with this Regulation.”

GDPR Article 52.2: “The member or members of each supervisory authority shall … remain free from external influence, whether direct or indirect, and shall neither seek nor take instructions from anybody.”

Our Data Protection Commissioner must regularly report to the Minister. One of the functions of our Commissioner follows.

DPB Section 71 (g) “monitor the processing of personal data and, in particular, sensitive personal data, and any other matter affecting the privacy of persons in respect of their personal data, and report to the Minister on the results of that monitoring”.

SAFEGUARD 2

The second critical safeguard is confidentiality. Every member of the EU supervisory authorities must hold confidential information, to the highest professional duty, for the remainder of their lives.

GDPR Article 54.2. “The member or members and the staff of each supervisory authority shall … be subject to a duty of professional secrecy both during AND AFTER their term of office, with regard to any confidential information which has come to their knowledge in the course of the performance of their tasks or exercise of their powers.”

Our Commissioner holds it like water in a sieve. They can simply authorise their staff to release confidential information at their discretion. When it inevitably leaks out, no one is to be held accountable.

DPB Section 73.1. “The Commissioner and a public officer appointed pursuant to section 72(1) shall keep secret all confidential information coming to his knowledge during the course of the administration of this Act or any other Act that the Commissioner has jurisdiction to administer or enforce, EXCEPT insofar as disclosure is necessary for the administration of this Act OR insofar as the Commissioner authorises that person to release the information.”

DPB Section 74. “The Commissioner and his staff shall not be subject to any action, claim or demand by, or liability to, any person in respect of anything done or omitted to be done in good faith in the discharge or in connection with the discharge of the functions conferred on the Commissioner and his staff pursuant to this Act.”

SAFEGUARD 3

The third critical safeguard is that the EU supervisory authorities must be experienced in Data Protection.

GDPR Article 53.2. “Each member shall have the qualifications, experience and skills, in particular in the area of the protection of personal data, required to perform its duties and exercise its powers.”

Regulators should be better qualified, or at least be as competent, as those whom they are regulating. Since these are political appointments, the bar for such an important role is a lawyer with 7 years of irrelevant experience.

DPB Section 70.2. “A person is qualified to hold or to act in the post of Data Protection Commissioner, where that person is qualified to practise as an attorney-at- law and has so practised for a period of not less than 7 years, or for periods amounting in the aggregate to not less than 7 years”.

SAFEGUARD 4

The fourth critical safeguard is the integrity of the appeal process. There is an independent European Data Protection Board (our Tribunal), comprised of the heads of each national supervisory authority. Each member of the supervisory authority is appointed by a transparent procedure.

GDPR Article 53.1. “Member States shall provide for each member of their supervisory authorities to be appointed by means of a transparent procedure by: their parliament; their government; their head of State; or an independent body entrusted with the appointment under Member State law.”

Our Tribunal is appointed by the Minister. Since the politically favoured expect these appointments, they do not need to invest in their professional development and competence. So, the bar must be set low enough for them to qualify.

DPB Schedule 1.1. “The members of the Tribunal shall be appointed by the Minister by instrument in writing from among persons WHO APPEAR TO HIM to be qualified as having had experience of, and shown capacity in, matters relating to data protection and privacy OR such other related discipline.”

“Such other related discipline”??? Well, why not simply appoint assassins, since they normally keep their client’s data private? Alternatively, why not just write a better Bill for all of us?

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

96 responses to “A Bill to Collect and Leak Sensitive Information”

1. Members I could understand, but how can those that faced the POLLS now be scared to talk against the government? Were they ghosts posing as humans during the election, or all the other candidates have left the party? If the latter, maybe Solutions should be renamed the MEP–Mass Exodus Party🤣🤣. Look this blog is a real circus, yes.

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Grenville Phillips

Even Hee Hee mekking fun at you and your ingrunt reasoning

Why you dont quit while you’re ahead???

@ Mr. Hal Austin

Hal

you asked and I quote

“…Maybe you can tell the blog of the many Solutions candidates in the 2018 general election how many lost their jobs, or had their jobs threatened, or were denied jobs because of their membership of your party?…”

I going answer for the liar Grenville Phillips.

Not a feller loss he pick!

Grenville telling lies to her sympathy votes.

Fear of the unknown is his modus Hal.

Look at his narrative above!

He argues thusly

1.Cars are only to stay with the posted speed limit
    2.above that limit they may crash
    3.airplanes go faster than cars
    4.Tourists use airplanes so
    5.Tourists will crash

I know that syllogism is truly left field but, if you look at Grenville’s narrative above you see that he uses the same disjointed reasoning.

He is a slow man

3. president Enuff…so when yall locking up those who stole from the treasury and pension fund….FOR DECADES…

intelligent people have SUCCESSFULLY PRIED…the tiefing racist Williams family off the Apes Hill scam…so when will president Mia actually do something about the minority criminals instead of leaving them with their scams and frauds slimily trying to make ANOTHER RUN AT THE NIS PENSION FUND…through scam Fortress.

…oh yall thought we did not know..

…keep it up and see what we will do with those THIEVES..

…especially the ones now believing they can scam Africa..

just you watch…

4. Just in case all and sundry forget
    There is a class of people defined as poor catching financial hell because of govt
    A check of social media sources tells of pitiful and alarming stories of how govt actions are leaving many destitute as govt instutions by which to aid them all but close ears to there circumstances
    How is it that a permanately disabled person who relies on govt assistance to pay electric bills suddenly finds himself in the dark and was informed by the worker who cut the lights that govt agency did not pay his bill for three months
    These and more pathetic stories being told by barbadians
    In the meanwhile Mia puts on another grandstand performance of inviting Prime minister all guided by smoke and mirrors

5. @ nextparty246:
    “The Data Protection Bill (DPB) is perhaps the most dangerous bill ever produced in Barbados’ Parliament since our Independence. It allows the most sensitive client data in all private sector companies to be made available to the Government, and leaked at will.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Your deep concerns would have more weight if you were to frame them within the ultimate litmus test as to whether those draconian reporting requirements run against the grain and indeed ethos of the Constitution of Barbados.

On the face of it, you do have sufficient justification to be concerned about the constitutional validity of such an imposingly widespread piece of legislation.

So why not pursue the perceived weakness in this dictatorial move towards a rather ‘authoritarian’ form of governance called Big Brother of 2020?

But you might just find yourself out of your own bailiwick when you pursue such esoteric matters not involving ISO 9001 practicalities.

Why can’t you set aside your ‘powful-foolish’ attitude and take on board the constructively useful criticisms which the prophet “Piece the Legend” the old Masterpiece is often offering free of financial cost?

6. Say hi to a NYC rat yo, bigger than any cat, frightening to dogs and nearly as big as the two legged rats in yall parliament, bar association and judiciary, ain’t that a thing.

https://www.facebook.com/100014021229668/posts/654387035038665/

7. Sorry yall. Check the help centre to see it..lol

8. Piece:

Once again, you have produced nothing.

Also, once again, on your party’s shameless support of this most dangerous Data Privacy Act, you have failed miserably to address that. But once again, you are behaving like the typical yardfowl – unable to see the wickedness in your own party and ignoring the topic at hand.

Anyone reading this would think that you were the paid BLP operative. We shined the light on what the BLP were doing while people were partying, and you want to deflect away from this topic. Why, because your party embraced this dangerous bill.

Like members of your party, you talk all of the divisive bluster to cause division, but when it counts, they consistently vote for every single public-harm bill with the BLP. They have a history that you can now examine.
    Rather than ask them why they are behaving so badly, you accuse me of being a BLP paid operative. You have completely lost it Piece.

9. We are all witnesses of a world historical event: Piece, the Legend, and the ISO Taliban fight for the leadership. However, the question is whether it’s about running a sandbox or a rum shop.

I’m glad we have adults in the government. It’s a good thing there’s Mia Mottley.

10. I have a possible answer for the question: “but how can those that faced the POLLS now be scared to talk against the government?“

Perhaps they felt the last group was corrupt and was just about making money.

This new group may have the above characteristics plus being wicked, spiteful and taking names. Tread even more carefully.

11. GPII is making significant contributions to the discussion. I am puzzled at how it becomes a battlefield for opposing forces.

We are trying to move from a two-horses race and there is no reason why it should become just three horses.

Open all the gates and let each horse run its race. Time and distance will ‘kill’ off a few, but let them get out of the gates

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ TheoGazerts

Do you really think that a multiplicity of political parties would lead to better governance of our country? It is a mantra of BU often repeated that we have a Duopoly. That there is one political philosophy. That suggests to me that it is the quality of persons that is at fault. Should we not be working at improving the quality of candidates, rather number of parties?. Secondly, is it not time to reexamine the role of governments in the 21st century.I think they have exhausted their post WW 2 roles and need to reengineer.Politicians seem tired and bewildered . They do not know how to deal with the 21st century. Just thinking aloud.

13. @ Vincent

Spot on. It is the quality of our political leaders, not the numbers. Our leaders in 2019 are poor compared to those in 1960.

14. @Vincent
    “Do you really think that a multiplicity of political parties would lead to better governance of our country? It is a mantra of BU often repeated that we have a Duopoly.”

I still cherish the hope that we have good men who do not have the ‘mark of the beast’ (read duopoly) and their character or circumstances will drive them from the shadows. These are the superior candidates that we hope for.

GPII may be such a man. It will take him some time to figure out the function of the different levers. The Duopoly had over 50 years of practice, but some want GPII to get it right from Day 0.

(On a cellphone and a one-finger typist… trying)

15. I am beginning to question if our leaders of the 60’s were as ‘good’ as we think they are.

Their legacies …. A number of decaying states and not one Singapore among them.

When did the rot begin…?

But if fairytales soothes you… enjoy

16. “But if fairytales soothes you… enjoy”

that is why we target whom we know will wake up, the others can stay in their little mental enslavement world and die right there, nearly 3 generations ofAfrican descended people have left the earth in that state since these worthless politicians entered the social society 70 years ago..

manyMORE will have to leave the earth just as they arrived, clueless..it was all by design.

17. Oh RH TheoGaz go cut yuh lawn do. There’s no greater demonstration of being against a government/party than standing as an opposition candidate in an election. So pass me with the BS. Derek Alleyne in 2017 made clear that the DLP was gine in de gutter for the then upcoming election. The first DLP meeting of the campaign was held by the Netball Stadium and the speakers went in the sewerage on Mottley. The Dems lost and Derek Alleyne left the UDC in May 2019, a year after the election, when his contract ended. Ah waiting to hear how many of the remaining Solutions’ candidates work in or with government. But didn’t GPII also turned up as a consultant on the road repairs programme?🤣🤣🎪🎪

18. It was clear to all of us that GP is only an Atherley on ISO doping.

If I look at the many dilapidated streets after 10 years of DLP terror, GP2 will soon be a multimillionaire through consulting contracts … If that were true, GP2 would be a profiteer of the cursed DLP.

19. I love to see a good spinner at work and Tron is doing an excellent job.

He should also point out that if GPII becomes a multimillionaire through Gov contracts, then these contracts were handed to him by a BLP administration in the same way that the BLP continues to feed MM (Mark Maloney or Mia Mottley)

20. Theo,

In other countries you have to torture and imprison the opposition to get them out of the way. Not so in Barbados. Here the opposition is dismantling itself, so there is no reason at all as feared by GP2 to restrict any freedom rights. On the contrary, freedom of expression ensures that the opposition is talking its brains out.

In any case, it is a fact that GP2 with his loquaciousness has deprived himself of every electoral opportunity and will continue to do so in the future. I wish we had more Mariposas here from the DLP. Unfortunately T. Inniss is busy at the moment. LOL. Another Mariposa and we can destroy the DLP as effectively as GP2 in the social media slaughterhouse.

21. Ms Mottley would make a great Governor General.
    She can meet & greet foreign dignitaries & give fabulous speeches about nothing.
    The de facto finance minister can play poker & espouse ad nauseum.
    Amazing how some Bajans are impressed by Cheap British accents.

22. Dear All:

If you see me offering professional advice on Government projects, then it is likely either pro-bono advice, or I competitively tendered and won an internationally funded project (against Engineers from developing countries).

For your information, I could not work in Barbados for 7 years under the last DLP administration, because they seemed to have abolished tendering. Giving projects to the politically favoured, especially during a recession, is very damaging to a country’s most competitive companies. It can set them back a decade.

Regrettably, the BLP has distributed over $100M of corrupting no-bid contracts in such a short space of time – a significantly worse record than the DLP. So I expect political attacks from both BLP and DLP yardfowls. Since Atherley’s party consistently votes with the BLP when it counts against the public interest, then political attacks are to be expected from their yardfowls as well.

23. Now the real truth of why SB was formed!

24. I wonder how GP2 expect to win the votes of the other parties supporters when he is referring to them as yardfowls.

25. @John2
    There is a difference between yardfowls and party supporters.

A yardfowl is a yardfowl is a yardfowl.

A yardfowl is an ardent party supporter. But not all party supporters are yardfowls.

I strongly resent your implying that all party supporters are yardfowls.

Grenville would welcome the conversion of some yardfowls, but this may be impossible. However, his goal is to reach all Barbadians including party supporters and yardfowls.

26. John 2:

What is this “real truth of why SB was formed”?

Further, yardfowls are not passive or active supporters that can be reasoned with. Rather, they are die-hard supporters who cannot be reasoned with or won over. Every despot in history relied on them to do atrocities. These people think that they are important to their party, but their leaders view them as useful idiots who are deceived into harming their fellow citizens.

Yardfowls are the worse of us.

27. Ms Mottley would make a great Governor General.
    She can meet & greet foreign dignitaries & give fabulous speeches about nothing.
    The de facto finance minister can play poker & espouse ad nauseum.
    Amazing how some Bajans are impressed by Cheap British accents.(Quote)

Well said. The president is not a details person. She gets bored easily. Long speeches without notes is not genius; it means rambling, repetition, contradictions, dubious factual claims, etc. and she is not as clever as her fan club believes. It is the one-eyed man syndrome. Notice how at what passes as press briefings she dominates, even when questions are asked of individual persons.
    As to cheap British accents, more one-eyed men and women. Don’t fall for the accents, challenge people, get them to support their claims with facts and not hype, stop shouting party politics and stick to critiquing their claims. We are victims of our own gullibility.

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I am not impressed by British accents, not cheap ones, and not expensive ones. Just saying. I am always skeptical when adults spend a few years in the United Kingdom or the United States, and even after decades back home where their language formation occurred are “unable” to shake the foreign accent. I always assume that there is some dishonesty involved, so ‘yes” I am skeptical about such people.

29. GP2

Most of the electorate are diehard BLP or DLP supporters who cannot be (easily) won over.
    The majority of DLP supporters stayed away from the polls because the last government “stunk up the place”.

As a (want to be) political leader, if I were you I would desist from calling anyone a yardfowl/ a yardfowl of any other political party.

Why is it that you are so “aggressive” with those that you think does not conform to your way of thinking /reasoning?

With the lack of support SB has gotten so far, you should be viewing every person as a potential vote. If you see that you are not getting any headway then walk away – CHOOSE YOU BATTLES WISELY!

Everyone is this blog knows the POS is a fraud and attention seeker.

TRON Aug 5:55pm

“I wish we had more Mariposas here from the DLP. Unfortunately T. Inniss is busy at the moment. LOL. Another Mariposa and we can destroy the DLP as effectively as GP2 in the social media slaughterhouse.”

100% CORRECT.

30. @John A

Adversarial politics is killing us and we are quickly following the political footsteps of the Jamaicans.

31. SB was formed because for 7 yrs under the DLP GP2 was not getting any share of the “fatted calf”

Mama you to say “the truth comes out with a slip of the tongue”.

32. David

Adversarial politics in most of the islands/countries. Jamaica has come a long way politically IMO ( also Haiti).
    That’s not saying that there is still not a long way to go.

33. @John

We practice a poor form of the Westminster politics.

An immature form of it absent all the conventions and other checks and balances.

34. Political reform? I am all for it, model for 21st century (and beyond).

35. @ john2 August 10, 2019 9:11 AM

I completely agree with your remarks about the loyalty of the electorate.

Voters who show such a perverted Stockholm syndrome should not be surprised if politicians kick them in the face with their jumpers boots and rob them. We don’t need to show any respect to such a naive electorate.

36. John 2:

You are 100% incorrect. I have never relied on political rewards because I have never been a member of the BLP/DLP. I get work by tendering on internationally funded projects.

I do not rely on work in Barbados. I have also worked in: Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Belize, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Panama, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago, and Turks & Caicos Islands. Over 90% of my earnings are in foreign currency. Wise up.

37. Then why cry about the less than 10 % you lost under the DLP?

You opened up yourself to the “fatted calf” comment – if I believed it or not, other will.

Take your own advice and wise up!! To many political blunders.

38. Piece the Legend Avatar

Finally wunna people and sheeple are seeing what de ole man has been saying for years

GRENVILLE IS JUST A SPOILT LITTLE BOY!

“…Why is it that you are so “aggressive” with those that you think does not conform to your way of thinking /reasoning?…”

Even John2 the Johnny come Lately has been able to understand what de ole man sounded out King ago.

Grenville is a vindictive man who, once he feels aggrieved by the people in No Solutions Barbados that left, is now going to call them all sorts of things.

He feels cheated of a play toy that was in his playpen and as soon as that has happened, he now is on ghd warpath cause what he thought was his toy, IS NOT.

So he now hitting out at everyone, everybody is a yardfowl.

But de ole man realise dat wunna real slow doah and dat after a few RHs and getting on like I mek meself wunna does start to comprehend the truth.

Now watch dis now.

A nex truth for wunna slowpokes (I know I cussing wunna but um does work)

Dis article ent going de way Grenville like so what going happen is dat he going wrote a next one AND DE BLOGMASTER GINE ENCOURAGE HE IN DE SHY$E

Cause dis one ent going de way he like….heheheheh

It is so fvucking easy to goad this man and het him vexed to show himself

86 effing blogs AND NOT RH ONCE HAS HE MADE ONE COMMENT THAT DEEPENS the article at caption.

NOT RH ONCE!

Do wunna understand what de ole man is saying?

He is an empty shell EMPTY!!!

39. John 2: I lost nothing under the DLP and lost nothing under the BLP. Why? Because the Caribbean is my market. The loss was for those who do not compete in the Caribbean. That was not a political blunder on our part.

Piece: You keep evading the topic. You refuse to address your party’s shameless support of this most dangerous Data Privacy Act.

40. “For your information, I could not work in Barbados for 7 years under the last DLP administration, because they seemed to have abolished tendering.” Giving projects to the politically favoured, especially during a recession, is very damaging to a country’s most competitive companies. It can set them back a decade.

GP2

If you lost nothing and do not depend on any of the fatted or bony calf then what is the significant of the highlighted part of your statement.

The political blunder is not referring to where you complete or what you lost or not. The blunder is in making these unnecessary statements – because the can and will give others the wrong impressions

Again – Why was it relevant for you to state that you could not work in Barbados for 7 yrs when you do not depend on work in Barbados/your market is outside of Barbados?

41. John 2:

It was relevant to the accusation that I was benefiting from corrupting no-bid contracts. It was important that readers understand how consulting professionals obtain work. It is also important that they understand the consequences for many when competitive tendering is replaced by the corrupting no-bid contracts.

My choice is to let accusations from you and others stand, or correct them. As previously noted, those are not blunders on our part.

42. Who accused of such a thing ?

43. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Grenville Phillips

If you are so anti corruption and the DLP and the BLP why take contracts from either of them?

Every month people see you face cuntsulting to the same Mugabe government that you here unsuccessfully trying to convince us you are not their poochlicker!

But people got pictures of you out in St Stephen’s Hill examining cracks at 12 PM pun s night!

My man why you examine cracks pun a hill so late?

Why did you not on a point of principle REFUSE THE WUK

OR

OR

In a statement of true solidarity YEK DE CHEQUES FROM DE MUGABE WHORES AND PROSTITUTES and carry that cheque to Budh Hill AND GIVE IT TO A NEXT SET OF WHORES?

I mean Grenville IF YOU SO OPPOSED TO MUGABE and you mekking all this money all over de Caribbean, who not refuse de money OR GIVE UM AWAY?

This is because you are the agent of Mugabe Mottley Grenville

You is Mottley beaatchhh!! And all uh we know dat

Iso TALIBAN is a beatchhhh! Shame pun you

44. I think we are getting silly.

GPII should be able to work in his homeland and support his family. BLP or DLP, the family still has needs

All I would ask of the man is that he hold on to his principles.

45. Piece the Legend Avatar

Every citizen should be able to work in Barbados Commander Theophillus

What is being discussed here carries 3 threads really.

Victimization under the party in power WHICH IS A REAL THING FOR ALL BAJANS if a party that is in power, DOAN LIKE YOU!

The disconcerting reality of all Mugabe constitutional changes and draconian laws that are designed to keep into the private affairs of bajans, deny people travel from Barbados if her BRA pimps do not want you to travel AND LOCK YOU UP, FOR 2 YEARS, WITHOUT BAIL, is you voice an anti Mugabe Amor Amin Mottley sentiment.

And thirdly, this anti fatherly party war WHICH IS DIRECTED AGAINST SENATOR CASWELL FRANKLYN and the fact that, not only it makes Grenville’s boss Mugabe Mottley a one term government, but REMOVES GRENVILLE ISO TALIBAN PHILLIPS’ chances to make it to the House of Parliament FOREVER!!!

Look at the wastage this political nothing man has afforded a topical of this nature!

Observe how every comment about his management style has attracted his response AND IRE!!!

Yet the Iso TALIBAN has not gone back to his original topic ONCE!

AND GHAT SHOULD MAKE ALL READERS FEARFUL, he is like a little boy once angered by people leaving his party.

No matter what he says

46. Kia723.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply