July 2019 saw at least two murders taking place in Barbados (32 for the year so far). Both of them took place in in St. Michael. The victims were male and died as a result of gun and knife related violence. The data was collected and compiled based on available media reports at the time. See below charts for additional details and analysis.

Follow the analysis @caribbeansignal.com.

205 responses to “Barbados Murder Statistics July 2019”

1. Read a lady body was found at hastings beach
    One would have thought that the body would be sent to the morgue for forensic and cause of death
    But No. The body was handed over to a local funeral home
    Is this the way police handle mysterious deaths
    Or this is a new prodecure initiated to stop public from pursuing the authorties for valued information relating to cause of death
    Everyday it seems like barbadians are being cut out of having to know the hows whens and where about anything to do with govt procedure

2. Here is what was stated in the report. Where does it state the body was handed over to a funeral home?

The body was removed around 10:15 a.m. by personnel from Two Sons Funeral Home. One of the onlookers at the scene was identified as the deceased’s boyfriend. However, he said he was unable to speak at that time.

3. Why would a funeral home removed the body from where it was found before it was sent to the morgue for further investigation

4. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Perhaps the funeral home removed the body to take it to the morgue for the autopsy.

I mean who ele do you expect to remove dead bodies…the icecream vendor?

Stupssseee!!!

5. Again why would police authorities release a body to a funeral home before sending it to the morgue for further investigation
    Never knew that funeral home workers were police authorities stuepsee .

6. Clearly you are unfamiliar with the arrangement in Barbados. Two Sons Funeral Home is the entity the state uses to transport dead bodies, for years now.

7. @ David BU

SirSimpleSimon on a different blog said call a spade a spade.

According to who some contributors refer to as president of her fan club, Mariposa is appallingly ignorant. She is an appallingly ignorant DLP yard fowl.

For years Two Sons Funeral Home had the contract to remove dead bodies and transport them to the morgue.

She knows this, but is only trying to politicize the issue.

8. “Waiting for local authorities after almost three weeks of any official cause of murder for the fiery death of the babies is foolhardy….”

Mariposa

It’s either you watch too much “CSI,” “Quincy M.E,” “NCIS” or “Law & Order” on television, or thine ignorance is boundless. I believe it’s both.

Determining the cause of death through forensic examination (autopsy) cannot be done within an hour as is seen nightly on those “CSI” television series. In “real life,” for example, toxicology tests may take several months.

9. Barbados has the most to worry about in high blood glucose and obesity. Diabetes and heart disease are the lead killers. http://www.healthdata.org/barbados

We should all know that by now, but here it is in print by an international reputable source.

10. This should be a warning to all countries. Look at how drug use disorders as a factor in both death and disability has risen in ten years in the USA, likely it is nearer to the top of the list now, as this data is from 2017.

So while guns are a concern, there are further grave social issues in the USA, which is reflected in this data.

Sadly, it is a society facing serious personal and interpersonal issues, which current politicians have used to their advantage for power.

Without careful attention, this will cause the society to unravel with serious consequences.

Is it already unravelling? We are seeing the race issue and that is serious, but is that a symptom of a society in crisis?

Maybe we look deeper? One indication of this is the issue of drug use being so high as a factor impacting society.

http://www.healthdata.org/united-states

11. “Why would a funeral home removed the body from where it was found before it was sent to the morgue for further investigation.”

Mariposa

I have often advised you to do some research on the topic before spewing your usual rhetorical political diatribe. But, then again, you’re only performing the job your pay-masters in George Street are paying to perform.

I’m sure you’re aware that Tudor’s Funeral Home has a government contract to arrange “paupers’ funerals,” which are paid for by the Welfare Department. Similarly, Two Sons Funeral Home has a government contract to remove bodies from scenes involving the police…… and transporting them to the morgue. This is common knowledge.

Okay, I’ll give you an example.

On May 24, 2016 (PLEASE NOTE THE DATE), a 34 year old female collapsed and died just after 1 p.m. while having lunch with friends in the popular Roebuck Street, Bridgetown boutique, “Ruff N Tuff.”

A photo showing personnel from Two Sons Funeral Home removing the body for transport to the morgue was also included in the article.

So, are you suggesting that in 2016 when your DLP was “in power,” and Two Sons was used to transport bodies to the QEH morgue ………….

………….. “this (was) a new prodecure (procedure) initiated to stop public from pursuing the authorties (authorities) for valued information relating to cause of death. Every day it seems like barbadians (Barbadians) are being cut out of having to know the hows whens and where about anything to do with govt procedure?”

Once again you have demonstrated that “THINE IGNORANCE IS BOUNDLESS!!!”

12. Robert Goern
    How did u come up with the conclusion that Mariposa knew that Two Sons have a contract with govt to transport dead bodies to the morgue?

13. @ Mariposa

Nothing you say would convince me that YOU do not know Two Sons have a government contract to transport dead bodies to the morgue.

You have failed in your attempt to make this a BLP issue.

This has been happening FOR YEARS and you know it.

It has been reported during news broadcast from all stations of CBC and StarCom Network FOR YEARS, and recently social media.

FOR YEARS pictures of men from Two Sons removing bodies are seen on CBC TV, and in Barbados Today, Nation News and the Advocate.

Unless you want to say you don’t listen or watch the news.

Then I’ll know you’re definitely a liar.

14. In fact the big man in overalls from Two Sons has become a popular association at scenes where the police have described as unnatural.

This is another non issue by a person who is being economical with the truth read liar or is ignorant to what happens in Barbados.

15. On a more pertinent note the minister of education was quoted in the news that the MOE has done a study and the data shows that families are being severely impacted by the high incidents of murder in Barbados.

#duh

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, I do love how u does upbraid this @Mariposa persona 😁…

You dun know that she/he/they are the worst type of Bajan – a gypsy political fanatic- who spreads BS data to create BS attention !

When I read the absolutely nonsensical remark about a private funeral home and the deceased in public spaces I was again convinced that David Blogmaster should ban them or disclaim their dissembling nonsense…

As you said the management of bodies by private contractors has been COMMON knowledge for donkey years now … yet this persona simply spreads stupid, unfounded allegations in whatever attempt to score cheap political points … DLP or BLP or Solutions or whomever they MUST be called out for their stupid propaganda as often as they do such BS…

So keeping on loving them as forcefully as you do!

17. @ David BU

You are correct about the big man in the overalls. He has become an icon.

You should call a spade a spade. Don’t other people talking foolishness about being economical with the truth. Mariposa is a LIAR and should be called out as LIAR.

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Oh dear I missed all of that from the Blogmaster and other blogger… while writing above and multitasking other acts.

The point was overly reinforced by me alas, as a result.

Alright den…gone, gone.

19. The difference between BU and the FB cabal she hangs is that BS will be exposed for what it is, shit.

20. You guys are funny here these yardfowls have attacked me as ignorant or i should know that the funeral Home is contracted by govt to pick up dead bodies
    Well for once my not knowning should dispel the arrogance of rumor mongering amongst the blp yardfowls that i knows everything that goes on in George
    In any case my not knowning would not make them happy
    Boo. Boo haaa

21. But Robert Goren u are a real buffoon fuh trute
    I asked u a simple question as to how u know what i know of govt contract with the funeral home to which u replied that Mariposa is Liar
    Any one being economical with the truth is u
    Translation bold face liar

22. Please move on. The matter has been clarified.

23. But after all my character was placed under attack by the blp gang of mongrels
    Being called a liar and as of yet no one can bring the proof of my knowning what agreement govt had between the funeral home
    Not expecting any one here to accept the error of being wrong
    However i do think a principal guided by good leadership /example /should be set by the blogmaster absent of verbal attacks

24. @ David BU

I’m sorry, but I must respond.

@ Mariposa

If there is any person here who is a buffoon and economical with the truth, IT’S YOU.

You asked a simple question and I responded that it has been happening for years; it has been reported in the print and electronic media for years.

CBC TV has been showing men from Two Sons removing bodies for years. Recently it is being reported on social media.

It is common knowledge.

Unless you want to convince us you don’t read, listen to or watch the news.

Now, that’s when I said I would definitely know you’re a liar.

For you to come here wanting us to believe that this Two Sons thing is something new under the BLP, you are a silly yardfowl buffoon liar.

Your silly DLP yardfowl stunt has failed. Time to move on.

25. Still cant convince me nor your self that i knew of the agreement
    The evidence lies with a proof of my knowning and u have none
    Making comments to the effect that i should kniw because of printed media does not wash
    The fact that i never knew irks u
    In fact you should keep moving because the ground on which u now stand is shallow
    Stop being a political buffoon

26. Final warning.

27. Question to govt authorities
    How long is it going to take for a release of findings on what cause the mother and son fiery death in Bank Hall
    One would belive that since PM Mia is minister in charge of that constituency a need of concern on behalf of her constituients would be heard uttered from her mouth

28. @ Mariposa

Which agency is responsible for investigating fires? Is it the fire service or the police?

29. I would guess that both agencies would have to work hand in hand in gathering information before giving conclusive information to the public
    The fire that took the lives of the mother and son happened almost six weeks ago
    Now in occurrence such as these a preliminary report is issued within days after the fire
    Almost six weeks later and not a word
    My suspicion mind begs fir answers
    Why not?

30. “Now in occurrence such as these a preliminary report is issued within days after the fire..”

You should desist from attempting to mislead this forum with your political motivated nonsense.

31. “Police said that passenger attempted to rob Alexander, but shot him in the right hand and the bullet lodged in his abdomen.

Alexander underwent emergency surgery and is recovering at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.”

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@David August 7, 2019 8:30 AM “On a more pertinent note the minister of education was quoted in the news that the MOE has done a study and the data shows that families are being severely impacted by the high incidents of murder in Barbados.

And the sun rises in the morning.

Of course a child will be deeply traumatised if a parent, stepparent, grandparent, godparent or whoever is raising the child dies. This trauma will occur even if the death is natural and expected. When it is violent and unexpected the child is hurt even more.

We adults can “lose it” if we lose a job, lose a spouse etc. yet we seem to feel that a child can lose a parent or parent figure and go on smoothly as though nothing has happened.

Every child and his or her classmates should be offered counselling when a parent dies. And parents include all those people mentioned who are not biological parents, but who have spent significant time parenting the child.

It is the Ministry’s job to be aware every time a parent or parent figure dies, and it is the Ministry’s job to immediately offer counselling to the child, the classmates, and to the bereaved parent.

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa August 7, 2019 8:48 AM “You guys are funny here these yardfowls have attacked me as ignorant or i should know that the funeral Home is contracted by govt to pick up dead bodies.”

Two Sons has been picking up dead bodies and taking them to the morgue, for years, perhaps for decades., during BLP administrations and during DLP administrations. It is not an easy nor pleasant job, so I would guess that there are not many people competing for the contract. I am surprised that know-everything Mariposa claims not to know this, and did not think to ask one of her DLP people before posting nonsense, and trying to politisize a family’s grief.

34. Taking a read of Todays paper where a notable was found dead in the home.
    The police did not hesitate to release a statement stating No Foul Play is suspected
    Yes soon after the police authorites inspected the body
    Two days ago a young womans body was found at the water edge
    No statement of what could be the cause of death has been issued
    Those who wish to belive that suspucious deaths need a long investigation before police can issue a statement to cause are closed minded yardfowls as well as intellectual midgets
    Many times over in other countries when a body is discovered within hours of the death a statement is issued to cause
    Today’s statement by the police in reference to the man found dead in his home bodes well to say that police along with medical personnel can determined cause of death

35. To debunk your nonsense the police in its first statement indicated that it was an unnatural death.

36. How many days did it take for police to issue a statement of No foul play
    The story of which i speak broke on the morning of August 7th and a statement was issued within hours of the body being discovered

37. The blogmaster has highlighted relevant parts of the article in red.

Guyanese woman found dead on beach in Barbados

Friends of Annastacia Natasha Angel standing around in disbelief. The woman being attended to by police was overcome with grief. (Picture by Carlos Atwell)

The body of a Guyanese woman was found along the beach at Hastings, Christ Church, Barbados, according to a report in today’s Barbados Nation.

The woman has been identified as 27-year-old Annastacia Natasha Angel, of nearby St Matthias Road.

According to the Barbados Nation, the woman was seen lying at the edge of the water on Grand Kadooment day and was subsequently pulled ashore. A call was made to police.

Angel’s body was close to the path to the beach, nearly opposite St Matthias Road, behind the guest houses next to Soco Hotel.

A man said to be her boyfriend and some friends were at the scene yesterday, Barbados Nation has reported.

Police in Barbados are treating the incident as unnatural, and anyone with any information pertaining to the discovery is asked to contact Hastings Police Station at 430-7612, CID at 430-7189 or any police station.

38. “Today’s statement by the police in reference to the man found dead in his home bodes well to say that police along with medical personnel can determined cause of death.”

Hmmmmm……….

Leh me see if I kud get dis right.”

A man was found dead in his home. The doctor examined the body. Police asked the doctor if he DETERMINED the cause of death, to which he replied, “Yes, no foul play is suspected.”

So, “the police did not hesitate to release a statement stating No Foul Play is suspected.”

Now, if by issuing a statement that “no foul play is suspected,” means the police along with medical personnel DETERMINED the cause of death” ……….

…….. this means “no foul play is suspected” can be recorded in the medical journals as a CAUSE of DEATH.

Perhaps this buffoon was looking in a mirror when she wrote “closed minded yardfowls as well as intellectual midgets.”

39. David BU

If you or I had posted that shiite, this forum would have been reminded that you’re a buffoon, silly man, dumb, idiot and should get a brain, while I would have been described as an appallingly ignorant bookkeeper that learnt by rote.

Just goes to show, it’s not about WHAT was written…….. it’s about WHO wrote it.

40. Yes! in a preliminary investigation forensic and medical examinations can be and are done at the scene of a crime which gives insight as to manner of death
    Now u can hmmm and haw all u want
    It has been done
    Well then again this is Barbados and every thing runs on molasses time
    Shoo fly dont bother me

41. The police issuing a statement that “NO FOUL PLAY IS SUSPECTED,” DOES NOT MEAN the CAUSE of death has been DETERMINED.

The actual cause of death can ONLY be determined by FORENSIC EXAMINATION (autopsy).

The police would issue such a “preliminary” statement, because the doctor that officially pronounced the individual dead, would have examined the body and having not found any signs of violence or any other evidence that would otherwise suggest the death was unnatural….. would reason the death was natural or no foul play was suspected.

The body would be transported to the morgue and the pathologist would perform an autopsy on one of the days designated for such an examination. I’m sure we are all familiar with Bajans saying “Duh duz cut the bodies pun a Chuesduhs or T’ursduhs.”

Conversely, if the death appeared to be unnatural, police would normally issue a statement stating “Foul play is suspected.”

If an individual was found dead and police issued a statement to that effect, going by Mariposa’s logic, the cause of death would have been DETERMINED to be as a result of “foul play is suspected.”

42. “Yes! in a preliminary investigation forensic and medical examinations can be and are done at the scene of a crime which gives insight as to manner of death…..”

Even though thou hast changed thy name a hundred-fold, thine ignorance hath no boundaries.

You have CHANGED your LINE of ARGUMENT.

Forensic and medical examinations are NOT “done at the scene of a crime.”

The job of forensic scenes of crime technicians is to examine the crime scene for the purpose of gathering and preserving evidence, establishing a chain of custody and delivering for forensic testing, while the purpose of the doctor is to officially pronounce the victim dead…….. and NOT determining the cause of death,

That’s the job for a pathologist, who would determine the actual cause of death, based on the autopsy and information provided by the forensic scenes of crime techs.

Supposed a body of a man was found with gunshot or stab wounds, you would never hear the investigators or doctors make a definitive statement, at the scene, that the victim died as a result of those wounds or give an “insight as to the manner of death.” That’s sensationalism for the news media headlines.

Police would normally say, for example, they found the body of an unidentified male with what APPEARS to be gunshot wounds. At the crime scene and in the absence of a forensic examination, detectives would not know if the victim was already dead before receiving the gun shot. The victim could have been poisoned and shot after he/she died.

It’s similar to police searching a suspect and finding a quantity of weed in his possession. The police would say they found a vegetable matter, which they SUSPECT to be cannabis. Although a policeman may know what weed looks or smells like, he is not qualified to determine if the vegetable matter is indeed weed and that’s why a test must be undertaken and the matter weighed.

You should stick to what you’re good at………. political yard-fowlism.

43. A British mother was murdered in Barbados after being doused in a flammable liquid and set on fire as she lay in her bed, police say.
    Natalie Crichlow, 44, was said to be visiting friends and family on the island when she was viciously attacked on July 28.

She was taken to hospital with severe burns, where she died from her injuries on August 6.
    Ms Crichlow, a mother of three, was well known in the LGBT community.
    She had previously survived two strokes and two bouts of cancer.
    Barbados media outlet Stabroek News reported that police were on the hunt for a man who “barged into a house, choked a woman, doused her with a flammable substance and then set the house on fire”.

They said the 44-year-old was lying in bed on the afternoon of August 6 at her brother’s home in Sargeant’s Village, Christ Church, when an intruder allegedly entered her bedroom and began choking her.

The intruder then allegedly threw a flammable liquid on her, lit the house on fire and fled the scene.
    Police pulled Ms Crichlow from the burning house.
    She was transported to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital with burns to more than 75 per cent of her body.

Public relations officer Acting Inspector Rodney Inniss said police were informed of the incident at around 1:55 pm and the woman was taken to hospital.
    A GoFundMe has now been set up to raise money to bring the body of Ms Crichlow, otherwise known as Karma, back to the UK.

On the page, her niece Ashley Best said: “Many people may be aware that we lost a beautiful soul Natalie Crichlow aka Karma, on 06/08/19. At present, an investigation into her murder is being held in Barbados. ⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀
    “Natalie left behind her eldest daughter and two sons who desperately want to bring her home to say goodbye and lay her to rest peacefully. The outgoing, bubbly and kind Natalie was greatly loved and well thought of throughout many communities, all of which this loss has come as a massive shock to.

“Please help us donate towards costs which will cover repatriation to the UK as her body is still in Barbados with only a few family members and friends around her. Any donation large or small will help in bringing peace to the family and our beloved Natalie who we all miss dearly.”⠀⠀⠀
    A Foreign Office spokesperson said: “Our staff are supporting the family of a British woman following her death in Barbados, and are in contact with the Barbados police force.”
    Scotland Yard has been contacted for comment. (quote)

44. @ Hal,

This story took sometime to reach the BBC. It has been alleged from the niece of the departed that “…..the Royal Barbados Police Force is not treating the death as a murder investigation….”

Barbados has almost double the homicide rate of the USA. We have a serious problem with the under reporting of crime in Barbados.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-49347946

45. @TLSN

Barbados police are the best in the world. Barbados is in meltdown. There will be further social problems. Sad about this young woman. May she ret in peace.

46. @ Hal,
    Have you ever seen that classic British horror film – The Wicker Man – starring the legendary Christopher Lee? Where a special branch officer is dispatched from the UK to investigate the murder of a young girl from a neighbouring fictional island called “Summerisle”.

On his arrival he is met with hostility by the local community who blocks him from performing his duties and is shocked with the depravity of the islanders. Where everything goes.

It is difficult as an outsider to assess what is happening in Barbados. There seems to be a disconnect with our politicians concerning our extremely high homicide rate.

47. @TLSN

No, I have not, but I understand the sentiment. When on the few occasions I criticise Barbadian journalism, the brain dead comes out of the woodwork to criticise me.
    Here is a classic example of what I mean: someone sadly dies IN BARBADOS, yet one of our leading publications is re-writing a story from a UK publication about that incident.
    In other words, UK publications (3000 miles away) are informing he public about something that takes place in Barbados. Where s professional pride?
    In the UK, the editor, news editor and chef reporter would all be disciplined for this. A principle of Anglo-Saxon journalism is that you must cover your own patch. They get away with it because the readers do not demand more.

Read the following from Barbados Today:

Detectives remained tight-lipped tonight on their investigations after a woman who was strangled, doused with a flammable liquid and set alight, is said to have died in hospital.
    British media reported that her family has launched a GoFundMe account for financial help to return her body to the United Kingdom.
    Family members said that Natalie Crichlow died on August 6, after suffering 75 per cent burns to her body when an intruder broke into her home at Bartlett’s Tenantry, Christ Church, on July 28, her family said. The assailant also set the house on fire.
    Crichlow, 40, a mother of three who was born in Luton, Bedfordshire, about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of London, had been here caring for her disabled brother following the deaths of her mother and uncle.
    Shocked family members said Crichlow twice survived cancer twice and two strokes in the past decade, media reports quoted them as saying.
    The victim’s niece, Ashley Best, was quoted by Sky News as saying: “The intruder broke into the house, then strangled her and then set her alight.
    “I do not understand why it happened and we are all in a state of shock. She went into the hospital and died of her injuries.
    “For someone who had battled through so much to just be taken in this way and lose their life is just beyond understanding.”
    On the GoFundMe page, Best said that her aunt left behind a daughter and two sons who desperately want “to bring her home to say goodbye and lay her to rest peacefully”.
    Best described Crichlow as an outgoing, bubbly and kind person who was greatly loved and well thought of throughout many communities, to all of which the loss has come as a massive shock.
    Crichlow’s niece wrote: “Please help us donate towards costs which will cover repatriation to the UK as her body is still in Barbados with only a few family members and friends around her.
    “Any donation large or small will help in bringing peace to the family and our beloved Natalie who we all miss dearly.”
    Deputy Police Commissioner Erwin Boyce stated that investigations are at a sensitive stage and an update will be provided soon. (Quote)

48. A hard working family man is rob and killed for a friggin gold chain
    The social eniviroment of barbados would continue to deteroriate until this govt gets the message of barbados is more than an economy it is also a society
    A message that should resonate into the thick skulls of members of parliament

49. Nothing in Bert gives hope to barbadians
    Bert is a selfish one-sided plan that disrupts disturbs and like cancer eventually destroy the social fabric of a nation
    This govt can pat self on the back all it cares to about Reserves
    How ever the end result of a nation and its people having to face a destroyed social enviroment littered with violence and high poverty would tell a daunting tale of a country going from peaceful to fear and chaos

Leave a Reply to MariposaCancel reply