Barbados hosts a significant number of visitors, from countries that are serious about protecting their citizens’ personal information or data.  In Barbados, their data can be held by Government agencies, and every business that records any information about its customers.

To facilitate international trade, Barbados needs to have a Data Protection law that makes selling or sharing someone’s personal data, without their consent, illegal.  Our Data Protection Bill was developed in our Senate, and was referred to a joint select committee of the House of Assembly and the Senate.

The Committee requested public comment on the Bill, and Solutions Barbados submitted its comments on 20 June 2019.  We received no acknowledgement.  After seeing others being allowed to present their concerns about the bill to the Committee, I called several times requesting the opportunity to be heard.  I also sent e-mail correspondence, but got no response.

This experience was different from the respectful way we were treated, when we presented on the Integrity in Public Life Bill.  We were allowed to discuss the loopholes we found in that Bill, that allowed persons who received bribes to legally avoid punishment, and keep all bribes paid to them.  The Data Protection Bill contains loopholes that are a lot worse – for us.

The Data Protection Bill makes a weak attempt at protecting the privacy of personal data.  Worse is that it can easily be used to terrorise businesses and individuals for political reasons, with the end-game of politicising the private sector.  That makes it a very dangerous bill.

I was shocked to learn that the Senate passed the Data Protection Bill on 24 July 2019.  I read the amended Bill and found that that our senators left all of the vulnerabilities for politically directed harm intact.  Why would they do that?  Further, by not allowing us to express our grave concerns to them in private, they have forced us to make them public.

If the amended Bill becomes law, then you may wonder how your competitors obtained your most sensitive business and personal information.  If that information is used to bankrupt you, then you can thank our senators for failing to protect us when they had the chance.  Thanks senators.

Relevant link: Data Protection Bill, 2019 (as amended) and The Report of the Joint Select Committee 

Since our senators seem not to have acted in our best interests, my only recourse, as one who has reviewed the Bill in the public’s interest, is to appeal to the members of our House of Assembly.  Our main concerns follow.

The Bill requires every business in Barbados, who records any information about their employees or clients, to pay a fee (or tax) and register with a politically appointed Data Protection Commissioner.  If you choose not to register, then you may pay a fine of $10,000 or be imprisoned for 2 months, or both.  If you do not maintain your registration, then the Commissioner can fine you $50,000.

The Commissioner can go through your files at any time, and must report any results to the Minister.  Once you have attracted many clients, or are a school with many students, then you are rewarded for your success.  You must employ or contract a Data Privacy Officer, whose allegiance is to the politically appointed Commissioner.  This Officer must have expert knowledge of data protection law and practices.

The Data Privacy Officer is like a Government spy in your business, who must provide all information about your business, including your clients, to the politically appointed Commissioner, whenever they ask for it.  In return, your Business must provide the Data Privacy Officer with all of the resources needed to both spy on your business, and be educated in the latest spy-craft.  They must also be given unfettered access to your employees.

If you get fed-up with the spying, then you must learn to lump it, because the Data Privacy Officer cannot be dismissed or disciplined for spying.  If you do not employ or maintain a suitable Data Privacy Officer, then the Commissioner can fine you $50,000.

If the Commissioner feels that you are not complying with the Data Protection Act, then they can effectively close your business.  If you resist, then you get to pay a fine of $15,000 or spend six months at Her Majesty’s Prison.  Also, the police can forcibly enter your business and seize your files and computers.  If you do not assist the police in their search for incriminating evidence on you, then congratulations, you get to pay a $100,000 fine, or spend two-years in prison, or both.  Lucky you.

You can always appeal the politically appointed Commissioner’s decisions to a Tribunal of five persons.  However, all five members of the Tribunal are selected and appointed by the Minister – so get with the program.

The 102-page Data Protection Bill provides an unnecessarily complicated bureaucracy, that can easily be corrupted for politically partisan reasons.  If we want to protect the privacy of personal data, then why not simply state that?  Why not simply define personal data, and state that sharing or selling a person’s personal data, without their consent, is an offence which entitles a victim to damages.  Why is that so hard?

The victim can then quantify their loss of business and/or reputation, and a judge can determine what is valid, and award damages accordingly.  What type of Barbados are we designing for our children to live and work in?  How can they possibly prosper in such a quasi-police state?  How dare our senators pass something so ridiculously dangerous to the public of Barbados?

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

141 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Welcome to Our Police State”

1. Sir William

What do you think of the revelations that ‘your own’ former PM Kamla Persad-Bissessar, and present opposition leader, was herself elected in TNT with the use of psychological operations (psyop) military techniques as provided by political consultants Cambridge Analytica.

Of course, such information was sold by Facebook and others. The type of horse that has long bolted the stable and which some would want to return this toothpaste into the tube.

Do you see implications for your One Caribbean Project? How do you see these revelations impacting the future political environment?

2. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    The region is not immune to global political or economic espionage. How we respond is important. All of these issues can best be addressed by a unified Caribbean state.

3. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/29/pensions-promise/
    “But they can be assured that as soon as possible in August, we will have the matter rectified for those persons who would have been receiving the invalidity benefits.”

Elsewhere, I stated that the minister must stop giving dates. This turn the whole affair into a trial and error exercise and at some stage the broken clock will get it right. Minister, no more dates.

I suspect that putting it in “Bajan” may be the best course

Dere Ministuh
    I beggin yah..no mo dates. Wen I tell de shopkeepah I gun hav it in August he xpload.
    “I dun wid dis damn foolishnesh. U r a liar or de ministuh iz an idjit. who gun pay mih bills
    Ministuh, no mo promises, no mo dates. pleez
    TheO

4. @de pedantic Dribbler July 31, 2019 8:32 AM

Mr Blogmaster…1) the issue with @Austin is troubling because the former journalist condemns you (disingenuously) for an act he then commits quite crassly…………

What will it take for you to be convinced Hal Austin is a bullshitter of the highest order? The guy is self proclaimed former big wheel at a newspaper which reported on financial matters in the UK. BoJo took office and the pound sterling slide downward against the US$ and Euro daily since then. The following was posted as a topic for discussion on the BU blog on July 25, 2019: PRIME MINISTER BORIS JOHNSON PROMISES TO BREXIT!. To date 397 comments have been post on the topic and the bullshitter-in-chief could only come up with the following 4 comments:

Hal Austin July 25, 2019 7:15 AM

@ Sargeant

I’ve been waiting for Hal A to comment on the changing of the guard, he must be busy going over his copy of “There ain’t no Black in the Union Jack” .Now’s the time for Hal A to start a column similar to the broadcasts of Alistair Cooke “Letter from America” to update us Colonials. He borrowed from Richard Wright so what’s a little literary sampling, it can be called “Letter from Britain/England”.(Quote)

Plse explain. Why should I comment on the ‘changing of the guard’, as you put it? And, no, I am not reading There Ain’t No Black in the Union Jack; and no, I do not plan to write an letters or essays or articles, or Notes. I am retired, not just formally, but literally. I do not plan to work again until I kick the bucket.

@ Bajan In New York,

Boris was born in New York. Be careful he does not return home.

Again I must say, this is the rum shop level of BU discussions. No wonder Barbados is a failed nation.

Hal Austin July 25, 2019 1:41 PM

@ Robert Lucas

It is not only transgender people, but if anyone ( ie the local coal man) says he wants to be recognised as a woman, by law you have to describe him as ‘she’ in the UK.
    There is a big battle gong on between feminists (in particular lesbians) and transgender people.
    Re Mueller: how old is Trump again?
    Hal Austin July 25, 2019 1:47 PM

This guy Bojo has no command of the Queens English as I struggle to follow…..(Quote)

Is this meant as a joke, or just Bajanism? Maybe he should come to Barbados to learn his grammar.

Hal Austin July 27, 2019 10:27 AM

@ Crusoe

Are you right? Is there an underlying argument to support this position? What is the aetiology of Brexit?

Hal Austin July 27, 2019 1:52 PM

@Lawson

Are you going back to Scotland?

If the above is the best a former financial reporter/editor can contribute on the serious Brexit issue currently ongoing in the country he resides in, should we pay attention to anything he has to say about issues any other part of the world?

5. A government is wicked and neglectful because the Fairchild Street bus terminal toilets don’t have seats or there is no toilet paper?

I thought this would be a job for the terminal manager and not a politician.

Some people just criticise for the sake of criticising.

6. We blame politicians for everything under the sun. How about blaming the citizens who vandalize the toilets, steal the toilet paper, mark up and do whatever to the walls etc? We operate in a blame culture instead of holding those responsible accountable. How about installing g cameras and begin to prosecute people?

7. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

“How about installing g cameras and begin to prosecute people?”

nice, back to the same people who are paid by taxpayers to do such.

wuh 15 years later and still no cameras installed at the port for the island’s security.

8. How easily we lose focus when discussing such a serious matter that will affect us all. There is obviously no place in Barbados for small business any longer. What with accountants for reporting to BRA, financial advisors for the many reports to numerous government agencies, book keepers for NIS PAYMENTS and inspections, accreditation council registration…and the list goes on.

Why would anyone want to go into business in Barbados today?

How soon can we look forward to having a government mandated electronic chip injected beneath the skin under threat of a $100,000.00 fine for non compliance?

9. Piece the Legend Avatar

There is an item here that languisheth and needs your attention

I wonder Honourable Blogmaster IF HEE HEE AND HEE HAW understand how this blog thing works?

I wonder if they understand that anarchy and controversy are critical for the popularity of the blog.

I wonder if they realize that the contention between you and certain bloggers is healthy in terms numbers and hits and keeping BU up there!

10. “How about installing cameras and begin to prosecute people?”

David BU

That’s a suggestion worth considering by TB’s Board of Directors, General Manager and Terminal Managers.

Recall cameras were installed on TB buses and commuters were recorded defacing their interior and slashing seats, while a few security guards were caught trying to “break and enter” fare boxes.

Unfortunately, this program was “scrapped” after former TB Chairman under the previous DLP administration, Pedro Stanford, said the Board was concerned with the security company and process used to install the cameras.

11. The only true opposition senator.

“Let the Cabinet of Barbados lead the way in taking polygraph tests.

After that, customs officers will follow, outspoken Senator Caswell Franklyn said speaking in the Senate yesterday.”

12. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Fearplay

It is interesting that, in the midst of all the commentary here, the informed insight, the accustomed advertising, the paranoia and warnings of dictatorship (me) and the blatant shite licking by Barbados 2019, you quietly inserted a gem that all of the readers missed.

“…How easily we lose focus when discussing such a serious matter that will affect us all. There is obviously no place in Barbados for small business any longer.

What with accountants for reporting to BRA, financial advisors for the many reports to numerous government agencies, book keepers for NIS PAYMENTS and inspections, accreditation council registration…and the list goes on…”

And in that cogent submission to the blog you have summarized the seriousness of this DRACONIAN issue and the danger that is Mugabe Amin Mottley !!!

She has, IN THE CLEAR LIGHT OF DAY, CREATED Barbados version of Lèse Majeste laws AND ALL BUT YOU AND GRENVILLE AND COMMANDER THEOPHILLUS GAZERTS have seen this wickedness AND are prepared to comment about it!

Let de ole man write and explain how perfectly you have seen this chess move.

“… the crime of violating majesty, an offence against the dignity of a reigning sovereign or against a state.

This behaviour was first classified as a criminal offence against the dignity of the Roman Republic of Ancient Rome…”

Mugabe Amin Mottley has inflicted obeisance ON EVERY FVCKING CITIZEN OF BARBADOS BY THIS INNOCUOUS ACT and all that has happened is her suck pooch specialists have been paid to follow Piece the Legend around and mek dem comments.

All this while her Minister of Disinformation trying to obscurate the topic by talking bout missing toilet seat covers!!!

Imagine that!!!

Mugabe has in clear daylight passed a Law that forces every rasshole business in Barbados to have a communist party spy in the digital corridors of every Rasshole bajan.

And EFFING WUNNA RASSHOLES REFUSE TO DO THIS SHE GOING LOCK EVERY ONE OF YOU FVCKERS UP!!!

And how I know that this is ghd Law? cause which u wunna fvckers got $100,000 laying round to pay she fines?

She MUST BE A ONE TERM GOVERNMENT because if she is not, ALL UH WUNNA RASS**LE WILL SUFFER!

Mugabe, be advised that the UNITED States government has you on their list of Dictators.

Grenville Phillips YOU NEED TO STOP FIGHTING THE DpD and start to collaborate to dislodge Mia Amor Mottley

Someone will come to you soon.

They will only come ONCE and they WILL NOT PASS AGAIN! Engage with the party when they come

If you ignore them ALL OF YOU WILL LOSE.

Piece the Legend has spoken AND HE DOES NOT LET MY WORDS FALL BARREN TO THE EARTH!

13. Now this is a suggestion i can totally live with….LEAD BY EXAMPLE…..Mia’s whole cabinet should TAKE POLYGRAPHS….then come down the chain of command with testing….unless they THINK they are too important….don’t forget….YA ARE REPLACEABLE….OR…they got SOMETHING TO HIDE….in which case..ya should NOT be in parliament to further ENDANGER the majority population.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/241011/cabinet-polygraphs

Let the Cabinet of Barbados lead the way in taking polygraph tests.

After that, customs officers will follow, outspoken Senator Caswell Franklyn said speaking in the Senate yesterday.

Franklyn, also general secretary of the Unity Workers Union which represents some Customs staff, said Cabinet should lead by example to show there was no corruption in high office in Barbados by being the first public officers to take lie detector tests.

“When Cabinet takes lie detector tests, I would advise customs officers to follow. Show them there is nothing to worry about. Lead by example.”

14. “We are dealing with an international collection system which routinely spies on world leaders, even as they negotiate with them, kid yourself if you must, but we see not the sobriety you presume.”

It is essential that SOMEONE KNOWS what these TOXIC LEADERS are up to….it could and HAS gotten VERY DANGEROUS for the majority population as we have been highlighting for YEARS…

….people are UNAWARE THAT FOR YEARS…certain business, restaurants etc people enter to do business, have lunch, dinner etc…ARE WIRED FOR SOUND……ya have been SPIED ON and LISTENED TO by these SMALL ISLAND RATS in parliament…in that little bitty island.

….i was SHOCKED that it has been that long, they focused so much on pimping behind everything and using it to enrich themselves, they allowed the island to decay, degrade and deteriorate….unable to thief and chew gum at the same time.

15. Piece the Legend Avatar

You seem to love using the links to elicit hits on the site for your “TOP CLICKS” segment.

It is understandable why a webmaster does that to analyze how a topic is trending but you of all people know the dangers of links to disreputable sites

Like the gis.gov.bb sites and others of the now system wide contaminated Charles Me Love You Jong Time websites, you of all people know thd dangers of putting up links AS OPPOSED TO PUTTING UP THE TEXT.

Anything that is Government oc Barbados DE OLE MAN DOES NOT CLICK ON cause I know the payload Mugabe Mottley is pushing with her reverse shell ssh protocols.

People reading this article will note that YOUR USUAL COMMENTARY ABOUT THE CONTENT OF THE ARTICLE is absent from thus article

You inserting all sorts of vacuous things into the blog but nothing that speaks intimately about the seriousness of this draconian law.

In fact, ANYTHING THAT SPEAKS TO THE PERPETUATION OF DICTATORSHIP BY MUGABE you noticeably avoid like the plague.

But the again, AS MINISTER OF DISINFORMATION your actions are understood

16. A happy good morning to all of Barbados.

A special greeting to the blogmaster. I found a little nugget under the heading recent posts and was able to go there and gather information.

It seems as if your operation of the site is working quite well. Please continue your good work and to resist calls for banning or for a different format. Examine each suggestion carefully.

At times a few of us may be hard to bear, but we have confidence that you can take and dish out as appropriate. Continue the good work.

Have a great day Barbados

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yeterday morning Hal Austin was villified and called a buffoon for inferring that he was aware the blogmaster changed his submissions without permission.

LET ME SAY THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME ALSO. HE WHO PRETENDS TO KNOW EVATING BUT KNOWS LITTLE CHANGED ILLUSTRATIONS I SUBMITTED IN POSTS ON BIOCHEMISTRY AND OTHER .ASPECTS OF MEDICINE IN THE PASS

I AINT GOING TO To provide ANY examples EITHER
    I JUST SMILED AND DECIDED I WONT SUBMIT MATERIAL AGAIN WHICH IS PROBABLY TO HIGH FOR HE WHO PRETENDS TO KNOW EVATING BUT KNOWS LITTLE .
    I JUST WANT FOLK TO KNOW THAT WHAT HAL CLAIMED HAPPEN TO ME TOO

SINCE THIS IS NOT A CHURCH, I DONT HAVE TO ENDEAVOUR TO KEEP THE UNITY OF THE BOND OF PEACE, AND WILL JUST SAY THE TRUTH

HE WHO PRETENDS TO KNOW EVATING BUT KNOWS LITTLE CAN BAN ME FOR TELLING THE TRUTH OR CALL ME NAMES AS HE DID TWODAYS AGAIN WITH LOTS OF OBSENE CURSE WORDS

18. EVERYONE in the parliament AND the judiciary should be next….professionally done by independent outside agencies of course.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/08/01/port-bosses-took-polygraph-to-lead-by-example-says-senator/?fbclid=IwAR1tblYPTzxdqo8sRwKco1VLia69mdJPLKUUNB1YNT6v8KMdbq29PAMr9po

“Managers at the Barbados Port Authority have taken voluntary lie detector tests, the authority’s chairman, Senator Lisa Cummins revealed to fellow lawmakers.

The Government senator’s disclosure that she also plans to submit to polygraph questioning, came in response to charges by Senator Caswell Franklyn that he had heard rumours that customs officers would be forced to take the tests.”

19. Happy to see this toxic government is being worked on by concerned Bajans. More POWER to those who have the courage to stand up to corruption, criminality and lies being perpetrated by wicked the house negros in the parliament who HATE black skinned people like themselves.

20. Speaking of polygraph
    Mia told a bold faced lie when she stated that ministers in her cabinet would have to submit to her a portfolio of their financials and personnel statements
    She also stated that she would release them for public viewing
    A year later and the public is still waiting on that promise

21. From COMMENTS POLICY at top of page

” 6. If a BU family member believes that an important comment may be lost, he or she is encouraged to post it under Submissions which can be found at the top of the page.

Write what you know or have just cause to believe, is the truth; (b) avoid malice; and (c) retract and apologise when and if it is discovered that the information is wrong.

We will allow robust debate but at the end of the day the BU household reserves the right to delete any comment. Please note comments posted do not always reflect the views of BU!

We ask a favour of some, do not judge BU by the comments of a few.”

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@HANTS

ANSWER ME THIS, IF YOU CAN

WHEN DAVID KING CALLS A CONTRIBUTOR TO BU SINCE 2008
    1 AN idiot who post and are of the mistaken belief they can comment as they like without consideration as to a few basic requests from the blogmaster………..WHICH i DONT WHAT THESE ARE.

2 the most illiterate……. pompous Rh jackasses………..

3 A ERSON WHO HAS all the paper trophies to prove they went to school/university

IS THAT “MALICE”?

WHEN DAVID KING CALLS HAL AUSTIN A BUFFOON …….IS THAT “MALICE”?

23. I may not get out much but I’ve never heard of employees being ordered/requested to take polygraph test at the whim of the employer. Have the employees been accused/suspected of criminal activity? What if someone refuses to take a polygraph test? What do polygraph test prove anyway? If Senator Cummins or any Gov’t Minister/ lackey was employed in the private sector and their employer requested that they take a polygraph test the howls would be heard up to the UN, which reminds me apart from Caswell what other Union leaders have been vocal against this proposed violation of individual liberty.

First the Custom Officers, who will be next? Another reminder of what 30-0 means.

24. Thanks Hants, feel free to share this comment on this day 1 August 2019.

Starting today any commenter that accuses the blogmaster of a ‘wrong’ they will be asked to prove it. The blogmaster will clarify or apologize if required. Failing which the commenter will be inserted to the moderation queue.

25. @ Georgie Porgie

ANSWER ME THIS, IF YOU CAN

When you call Hal Austin “Asstin” and other names, is that malice?

When you call other contributors illiterate, fools, BU Brimblers, is that malice?

When Hal Austin calls David King illiterate, idiot, dumb, silly man, semi-litterate, buffoon, is that malice?

Or is it malice ONLY when others call people of your ilk names?

26. Piece:

After the General Election in 2018, I realized when that I visited Government sites, that they would be monitoring me. Actually, I realized that I was being monitored since 1 July 2015 when I started Solutions Barbados. I accepted that this was the price that I had to pay for starting a political outside of the protective umbrella of the BLP/DLP party.

I understand the special concern with anonymous commentators like yourself. When I started blogging over two decades ago, I chose not to do so anonymously. My approach was to stay as far away from making defamatory statements as possible – so far, it has worked.

You keep trying to advance Atherley’s party. That is a grave error, which you may realize when it it too late. They are already part of the BLP/DLP. But they are also the most extreme, and therefore, the most dangerous for Barbados.

They actively supported the dangerous Data Protection Bill. As if that were not enough, they seem to hate accountability, of any sort. Notice what party is pushing for Barbados being a republic – Atherley’s party. As I said, they seem to hate accountability.

The only persons who benefit from Barbados being a republic appear to be those with dictatorial tendencies, and those who seem to hate accountability – those who seem to want to do whatever they want with no oversight. The public does not benefit – do your research.

Based on the BLP statements, it appears that they plan to pursue republicanism in their second term. Atherley’s party wants the BLP to pursue it now. Worse, the PM promised that she would have a referendum on this issue. Atherley’s party wants the PM to use their 30-0 to ram it through. Wise up Piece.

27. “First the Custom Officers, who will be next? Another reminder of what 30-0 means.”

because this government still thinks it can continue to PROJECT its own criminal behvior on those who are most vulnerable in a bid to avoid addressing the corruption and THEFTS OF TAXPAYERS AND PENSIONERS MONEY…

This government is on one mission only, covering up its own crimes…an exercise in FUTILITY in may add….since no one is as DUMB AS THEY THINK…

28. David BU it is long past time you rid your blog of disrespectful pests on here for good in my view.Persons like the madman Piece,Sunny Sunshine,GP, Mariposa ,Hal Austin and a few more who support their behaviour should be banned not moderated as they bring notbing of substance to most topics just the same warm over stale soup.Let them form their own blog and i know they will not be as popular as they beleive.Enough is enough as far as their disrrspect for you is concerned in my view.

29. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/31/cdf-moving-to-raise-bonds/?fbclid=IwAR0KATgrIZKrtNfskdOnRJXgricICqyHPE36eKlRijm-cpYABraEAf67ycw

Really Mia…ya think anyone in the Caribbean want any advice from you about the $49 billion dollar savings in the Caribbean Community that ya goddamn big eyes are now fastened on….

….well ah hope ya target Trinidadians and Jamaicans for that crap…cause ah love how they don’t mind seeing BLOOD RUN……NEWS FLASH….no one wants USELESS BONDS…then to be told they have to wait 15 years for their money when they are already 80 years old…YOU THIEVES..

Caribbean leaders better don’t listen to any of that wicked shite.

30. For Bajans and Brits ? Free condoms ? lol

” Barbadians who want to stay safe while navigating the World Wide Web now have a resource to help them do so.

The Ministry of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology, in collaboration with the United Kingdom’s Commonwealth Cyber Security Programme, has launched Get Safe Online, locally. It is a not-for-profit organisation staffed by security experts.”

31. This proposed item of legislation claims to be a Data Protection Bill.. but it is actually a “Data Collection Bill”.

This is the bulk collection of personal data to be held by the state. Nothing in the bill that relates to protecting data. There is however potential for the state to monitor and target citizens… very ominous indeed.

32. CLICO policy holders…over 300 of them in their graves…NEVER GOT A DIME, the living ones got a PROMISE of BONDS…..two of them despite winning their court case at CCJ level…still got NOTHING.

….if ya hear Barbados government suggesting bonds, take ya money and RUN FOR YA LIVES…..or ya will end up a pauper until ya die from stress, ya children and grandchildren will end up with NOTHING……exactly what these wicked demons want..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1083834318492773/?t=0

33. PM Mottley is fighting to reverse the effects of the 10 years of toxic mal-administration by the DLP. Unfortunately it is too late. Bajans are living in cynical and fading hope. We party hard or pray hard today but we know that the only outcome is misery tomorrow.

34. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Grenville Phillips

I will start this post again because the fellows wukking hard.

You are following the wrong advice Grenville and you are not listening to anyone else

I am going to use your own comments to show how blind you are being in your unrelenting pursuit of the Third Party Movement that YOU ARE A PART OF.

“…You keep trying to advance Atherley’s party. That is a grave error, which you may realize when it it too late…”

You need to be careful that, in your ardent pursuit of the PdP, that you dont continue to shoot yourself in your sensitive parts, with disastrous results

I cannot repeat enough that the fact that you continue to make spurious statements about them will harm you.

We are in a DUOPOLY and both you and they are perceived to be “… already part of the BLP/DLP…”

but you do not stop there!

you go on yo make the unfounded emotive claim that “…they are also the most extreme, and therefore, the most dangerous for Barbados…”

you are using these fear mongering statements WHICH CAN AND WILL BE APPLIED TO YOU GRENVILLE!

Then you assert “…They actively supported the dangerous Data Protection Bill…”

and jump to “…As if that were not enough, they seem to hate accountability, of any sort…”

Stop this shy$e Grenville.

Here is what de ole man will say to you personally Grenville.

you ran for St. George North against
    CLARKE, Gline Arley* of the BLP who won with 4,779 or 80.84% of the vote

INCE, Jester DLP 745 12.60% came second and
    PHILLIPS, Grenville Walter II** SB came third with 264 or 4.47% of the vote
    HOLLIGAN, Everton Ricardo UPP 124 2.10%

That is not good enough.

Irvine Dacosta Belgrave SB got got twice the number of voter you got.

That is very disastrous and says a few things which I won’t share here

you do not have anyone in your party with the profile of Reverend Atherley.

you need a different strategy

note carefully that de ole man jes mek a few comments and you gone clear Grenville.

why is that?

and note carefully how Hee Hee and Hee Haw get summoned back to active duty Grenville to target specific people!!!

look at their list Grenville, you are looking but you are not seeing Grenville

de ole man and the rest of us are NOT FIGHTING FOR ATHERLEY’S PARTY we are advancing an alternative to the DUOPOLY

Here is what I will do for you.

I will tell someone to contact you check your email in 30 minutes.

if what you see interests you, come back here and type I AM INTEREST PIECE.

THAT’S ALL YOU HAVE TO DO

35. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ DeX

De ole man hails you

And I have capitalized the “X” in your pseudonym and likened it to the “x” in an indeterminate equation

my use of a capital “x” is to underscore your adeptness with and “knowledge of that which is Unknown to many, but well known to we, the few…”

You said and de ole man quotes

“…This proposed item of legislation claims to be a Data Protection Bill.. but it is actually a “Data Collection Bill”…”

And whereas “the Madman Piece” wrote long and boring sentences, you, in two paragraphs captured all de shy$e dat tek me so long to write.

http://imgur.com/1tMI2s5

De ole man is a stubborn ole mule.

Whu I says 10 years ago I does doan change UNLESSING it is shown to me differently FROM ABOVE.

I ent change what I was did say bout Mugabe Mottley all dat I did was mek sure de DLP administration did not get one RH seat.

So, as you continue to talk everything that you are saying is showing people dat “de conspiracies” de ole man talk bout all dese years from 2015 was true!

But, becausing people ent got de ole man vision to see, like it tek Grenville Phillips almost 2 years to catchup wid de ole man, de rest of de population slowly catch up AND SEEING MUGABE MOTTLEY FOR WHO SHE REALLY IS

A FVCKING DICTATOR!!

And you continue quietly by saying

“…This is the bulk collection of personal data to be held by the state…”

Now de ole man has been saying dat Mugabe Mottley is a teif for years and people thought it was a personal vendetta BUT NOW DEM GETTING FRIGHTEN AND TING.

And you are absolutely right when you continue by saying

“…Nothing in the bill that relates to protecting data…”

Not one effing ting DeX, she is making herself an effing despot!!!

All this is geared at Burnham like spying in your home and your information.

And no, contrary to what you said about “There is however potential for the state to monitor and target citizens… ” it is no longer “potential” she is now spying on her very own BLP supporters FAR LESS PEOPLE WITH VARYING OPINIONS.

WHEN YOU COME, and you will come, wear head gear, cause I ain’t doing body shots…

36. If my wife gave my son a lie detector test he would pass with flying colors or he is an idiot.
    Is your name Tony?
    Is your dad TheO?
    Am I your mom?
    I don’t want to hear who passed a test without having some idea of the questions asked.

37. I wonder if the companies on the island who deal in hire purchase have studied the implications of this law and how it will affect the cost of providing credit going forward.

Then again any new cost will just be added to the price of the goods or services, so the good old consumer will bear the burden yet again.

38. Piece:

You are dodging the issue. I provided you with clear evidence why Atherley’s party was extreme, and more dangerous to Barbados than the BLP.

You completely ignored all of the evidence that I provided. Let me copy only my last paragraph of evidence, and you can tell me why Barbadians should not be very concerned.

“Based on the BLP statements, it appears that they plan to pursue republicanism in their second term. Atherley’s party wants the BLP to pursue it now. Worse, the PM promised that she would have a referendum on this issue. Atherley’s party wants the PM to use their 30-0 to ram it through. Wise up Piece.”

Please explain this behaviour Piece. Based in this behavour, who seems to have more dictatorial tendencies?

39. Now this i can live with…

…establish the areas of physical and mental health, education etc to be funded, make sure THEY are all well monitored, those now drooling at the thought of reparations money in their hands…. SO THEY CAN TIEF IT from their OWN PEOPLE………AND FUND THOSE AREAS DIRECTLY…..so the PEOPLE…the descendants of African slaves WILL BENEFIT as a COLLECTIVE….and not only the friends, family, those leaches who suck up to them and THOSE who bribe these thieves.

Vicious house negros will have NO PROBLEM using any reparations as a WEAPON AGAINST THEIR OWN..

https://www.facebook.com/groups/sohee/permalink/2343982789027614/

40. Central Bank: Follow Foreign Account Rules (Nation News today Aug 2)
    Add this to the mix. After defaulting on meeting investment obligations to bond holders, Government is now encouraging the opening of foreign currency accounts locally and this article in the Nation News as usual, comes with what is now standard procedure for this government – a threat to confiscate any money’s held overseas and not declared to the CB.

Now tell me, which jack ass would take the risk of opening a foreign currency account, bring home thousands /millions of dollars only to be told at a later date that free movement of these funds will no longer be allowed? And the oppression continues.

41. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ @ Grenville Phillips

One swallow DOES NOT A SUMMER MAKE.

What does becoming a republic entail?

What are its pros and cons?

You are talking like if their agreement to becoming a republic is automatically a bad thing? And that we must condemn them because you say so?

You remind be of the anti independence crew of the BLP founders in Errol Errol Barrows day!

And this is more to be feared because you, without giving reasons, are making broad statements AND EXPECT EVERYONE TO ACCEPT THEM AS GOSPEL

As opposed to the same unfounded fearmongering strategies Grenville, explain what is so bad about a republic?

I liken your automatic tainting of The DpD actions ( an entity that has successfully poached your membership) to a penis enlargement advertisement

Suppose news was floated that penile implants were going to cost $75 and Dr Jerome from the BLP was going to do them in 2020

Then a doc in the DpD says he is charging the same $75 but ” dont wait till 2020, come and get your doggie do today!!”

And you, without saying to all the 2 inch doggie candidates why they should not implant horse or camel or plastic inserts in their organs, are crying that the DpD is evil “because they want to enlarge a feller doggie earlier”

And somehow you feel that bajans are this Stoopid to embrace your puerile reasoning?

Grenville wake up!

Bring thinkers into your fold, check your email!

42. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ FearPlay

Mugabe Amin Mottley and Avinash Persaud feel that they are the brightest wisest sharpest people in Barbados

They feel that telling people to bring dem money to Barbados going trick people into this US currency regime Freedom.

http://imgur.com/dcwFqgW

But all these visible laws and tricks ARE GOING TO MAKE MUGABE MOTTLEY ‘S government a one term government.

WATCH AND SEE

43. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

44. https://www.facebook.com/100005986451739/posts/1084400221769516/

Barbados…your reputation is preceding in places that it shouldnt.

45. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Grenville Phillips

I had written a good long exposee on what you said earlier

“…I understand the special concern with anonymous commentators like yourself. When I started blogging over two decades ago, I chose not to do so anonymously. My approach was to stay as far away from making defamatory statements as possible – so far, it has worked…”

That text disappeared and I ent got de time to write um again.

Sometimes WHILE YOU ARE WILLING TO DO THE HONOURABLE THING, such is lost on the animals you encounter.

Earlier today I had 2 similar encounters

One I CUSSED THE MAN PAST HE MUDDAH AND HE GRANDMUDDAH grave like I do with Barbados 2019 regularly.

And the second one, I took 12 hours across one time zone to pacify.

My point is that the “proclivity for violence” de ole man exhibits here is something that I selectively employ.

AT WILL!!!

For reasonable men and women, I have the time to converse BUT FOR THE ANIMALS THAT ABOUND IN BARBADOS I have recognized that you CANNOT reason with them so the best strategy is visceral engagements.

Anything else and you are wasting time.

That’s probably why I’ve not given up on you, partially misguided as you are, your heart is in the right place just that your life experiences have you at a disadvantage

PLUS YOU FOLLOWING WRONG ADVICE

The harvest is great but the reapers are few!

46. Piece:

Again, you are dodging the issue and ignoring the dangerous trend.

One. The BLP wants Barbados to be a republic. The merits of disadvantages of being a republic are not the issue here.

Two. The PM, to her credit, stated that this is not an issue to be decided by MPs. She noted that the people must decide it through a referendum. So far, so good.

Three. Atherley’s party is urging to the PM to act like a despot and a dictator, and use the BLP’s 30-0 to change the constitution and make us a republic now. In otherwords, to hell with the people of Barbados.

Are you getting it now Piece? Is it beginning to dawn on you which party appears to be the most dangerous for Barbados?

47. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Grenville Phillips

I understand CLEARLY NOW!!!

PELLUCIDLY SO!

I UNDERSTAND WHAT THE PURPOSE FOR SOLUTIONS BARBADOS WAS & IS

I understand why the Honourable Blogmaster and Minister of Disinformation was giving you all this coverage

AND I UNDERSTAND WHY ALL THIS IRE IS DIRECTED AT THE DpD.

You are definitively a plant!

Appointed by Mia Mugabe Mottley to disrupt the Rise of the Third Party Movement in Barbados!

And it is not Atherley that you fear IT IS THE RISE OF SENATOR CASWELL FRANKLYN!!

YOU FEAR WHO CASWELL IS AND WHO HE WILL ATTRACT!

And they sent you a man of limited debating skills to champion the discrediting of the Third Party Movement.

AND THAT IS THE CENTRAL YHING TO YOUR INANE MESSAGE.

I honestly tried to comprehend what you were saying but realized that YOU ARE NOT SAYING ANYTHING.

SO FOR A WHILE, you did your likkle circumventory reasoning ASKING ME TO “GET” something that does not exist, and I entertained you for a short while.

Your Barbados Labour Party is shutting bricks because of Caswell Franklyn

He represents the thing you fear most THE MAGNET OF INTEGRITY which you nor Fumbles nor Stinkliar nor Mugabe DO NOT HAVE.

So de ole MAN understands you well now!

48. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Grenville Phillips

So instead o doing the deflection for your bosses in the Mugabe Administration who paid you to destroy the Third Party Movement AND TO FOCUS ON CASWELL FRANKLYN IN THAT EFFORT why you dont speak about the real enemy

http://imgur.com/MXDBGOv

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply