Are ten-storey high hotels set to be the new ‘norm’ on Barbados and if so, what are the potential negative implications?

Clearly, any developer wants to maximize their investment, but when the land and buildings have reportedly been purchased at well below recognized market value, where is the imperative and justification?

If planning permission is granted, then how on earth will authorities be in a position to decline such similar sky-scraper projects in other parts of the island?

Imagine for instance, the now empty Silver Sands Hotel and the derelict former Harlequin ‘H’ project at Hastings being re-built consisting of ten floors.

But would it stop there?

It is easy to visualize, that even current operating properties, perhaps in their latter lifetime days, may choose to demolish and re-construct with far greater usable square footage and perceived improved viability and occupancy.

Established hoteliers may be driven into thinking, that this is the only rational way to once again try and compete in a clearly not level playing field.

We have witnessed the damage and implications that a barely functional sewage system has caused on the south coast, with several closed businesses and others brought to the depths of financial and operating despair.

Then the ongoing concern of the sea water quality.

Frequent water shortages are for many, everyday experiences, as still are regular and reliable garbage collections, despite massive increases in the cost of those services.

And that’s before we consider the consequential increase in parking spaces required and an affordable safe public transportation system to ensure additional employed staff are able to get to/from work, day and night.

All this, while our current existing hotels, who have not received the overwhelming benefits of cheap taxpayer owned land or unique one-off long term tax concessions, are struggling to pay vast increased operating expenses which include huge land tax hikes, while in a normal year, barely reaching an average annual occupancy rate of 67 per cent.

Most people understand the precarious financial position the current administration has been left with and the decimating effect on investment the previous Government has left during its ten years. But, the medium to long term remedy cannot be to give one or two chosen individuals or aligned small groups a distinct advantage over everyone else.

Let us for a moment imagine that each of the following existing properties along the south coast, opt to transform their current hotels to ten floors.

Butterfly, Sand Acres, Sea Breeze, Barbados Beach Club (sea and roadside), Bougainvillea, Turtle Beach, Dover Beach, Southern Palms,

Divi Southwinds and Rostrevor, just for a start!

Given that planning permission is granted to the Blue Horizon project, even though the sale was granted after the failed promise that it would become a Hard Rock Hotel, what possible refusal could be applied to any or all of the above named hotels?

And this is before any smaller operating hotels or vacant land plots along the south coast are put into the equation. Ultimately would this lead to private property owners and alternative accommodation offerings being forced to live in the sun denied shadows of new architecturally soulless concrete ‘monsters’ which may obliterate the few remaining windows-to-the –sea, for both locals and visitors?

62 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – The Rise of Concrete Monsters on the Barbados Coastline”

1. @enuff

The feelings of the people should not matter?

2. You don’t understand the feelings of the people well let me help you.

We don’t want no RH hotel there, that simple enough now for all to understand!

The attempt to cloak the sale of that land in secrecy and then pass it off in the Blue Horizon Sale without a word being said, was nothing short of dishonest. I hold both parties liable for this act of deceit as well. This one was in opposition at the time and had a right to speak out and let the public know what was involved, they chose not to. As for the other bunch I still waiting for sinkler to tell me why he refused an $11m dollar offer from a local hotelier to take one for $5m from another individual.

People don’t have to give anyone a reason for their views. If that is their opinion they don’t have to justify it to the ruling party. Just like at elections they don’t have to state why they are voting B or D. Last time I checked i was not in Russia or China.

3. @ TheOgazerts,

July 31, 2019 11:09 AM
    You are correct, there are always two sides to a story. And yes, the story is horrid! On the web page just below the main title on the right-hand side of the screen you will see a link titled “See the whole debate”.

4. William Skinner Avatar

Coolaid the most dangerous drink on the planet.

The Duopoly Rules

5. @ William

Not only dangerous but it appears drank by many without so much as a question as to what’s in the glass.

6. @ Ewart Archer,

I was genuinely taken aback with your suggestion that Barbados should be promoting US branded hotels to lure North Americans. Let’s say that if we were to build a couple of these hotels to satisfy this market then within a short period of time these same tourists would argue the case for the introduction of fast food outlets such as KFC, Burger KIng, et al. (I almost forgot – they are already present in Barbados). The next step would to be push for casinos, strip bars, north American theme pubs and the rest.

Barbados is a Caribbean nation with a distinctive culture. It should not have to water down its uniqueness in order to appeal to the north American market. There are many who find North American tourists, particularly, Americans to be bad travellers, uncouth and lacking respect towards the local population.

Less is more. We should reduce our tourist numbers and target those who are big spenders.

Yes, let us diversify our tourist industry. However we should be challenging our government and private businesses to be more creative and to develop industries outside of the fickle tourism sector.

7. @TLSN
    Thanks for that additional information.
    Bob Stewart seem to be chanelling Waru with his “Was there some kind of cosy arrangement or deal?”

I find this part of the exchange to be very diconcerting:
    “How can we allow this man to continue his work in Barbados? What can the British Government do to stop it? Are we going to report the man to the Barbadian Government? And are we going to complain about how the port agent dealt with this case?”

I am no lawyer. I do not know or care how thing with GG and queen work. This not case specific, but the idea of a foreign government being able to reach out and disrupt the life of a Bajan in Barbados is very troubling… Let local law decide…

Bajans need to remember that there are a thousand ways to kill a goose. You are not being smart when you take advantage of a situation, you are only pissing people off.

8. David
    The feelings of the people? How does less than 1% of the population represent the “feelings” of the people? Do we know the “feelings” of the other 99%? Again, where were the feelings of the people when them “towers” were erected in Valery? I also ask again, what determines the suitability of an AREA for tall buildings and then the suitability of a proposed tall building for a specific site? Feelings? If big strategic decisions are going to be made based on feelings, rather than robust evidence, then good luck to the government. Sometimes we have to do what’s best for the country and not what’s best for votes or the privileged, who shape and massage public opinion to suit their agenda. All yuh really getting mamaguy!!

9. @enuff

Time will tell.

There is a heavy price the country is paying for the wholesale investment in tourism.

Check this BU link.

We need not include heavy subsidization of airlift to Barbados to hammer the point.

10. TLSN

You have a solid argument.

But be careful what you ask for. If Barbados decided to reduce the number of tourists, and encourage only the wealthiest visitors, the industry could very well become MORE exclusionary over time, not less.

Generalizations can be misleading, but there are many examples of elite tourist districts that eventually become high-priced enclaves, walled off from the regular folks on Main Street. Can the tourist industry be inclusive — and responsive to host-country concerns — if it focuses on the richest clients?

11. David
    What wholesale investment in tourism are you talking about? Tourism from what I am seeing is only part of the plan, a large part yes, but not the only part. As I said previously, all countries prioritise their specialisation. It should also be noted that by the time any of these new planned hotels are ready for guests, Brexit would have be well entrenched in the UK. Should government wait until then to look at refreshing and expanding the island’s room stock? Is there a correlation between the type/quality of room stock and occupancy? I notice we are fast to throw external factors, in other words reality, into the mix when is suits our narrative but for some strange reason those factors are glaringly missing when they dispute our illusions of grandeur.

12. @enuff

Do you deny the country has invested wholesale in the tourism sector over the years?

Do you deny that all of the initiatives the government is currently dabbling they will not move the needle to achieve the results we need given current state of the economy?