The traditional calypso composition, with its penchant for the risqué expression and the saucy double entendre, not to mention the frequent boast of the performer’s substantial sexual prowess, always sails close to the edge of what may be considered permissible for airplay in these regional societies.

These factors doubtless place the legal publishers of the material to the public, the radio stations, at a severe disadvantage at times such as the current Crop-over season finely to balance their core mission of entertainment with their ethical obligation not to breach the terms of their broadcasting licences by transmitting material for public consumption that may fairly be considered obscene, improper or liable to corrupt public morals and, most important, with their legal obligation not to defame as one leading Barbadian case on the matter has already demonstrated.

This is all outside of the context of the dark tendency, now happily extinct seemingly, of banning from airplay those compositions whose lyrics did not accord with, or parodied, the political dogma of the then governing administration.

Over the years, it would seem, certain protocols have been developed by way of compromise in this context. Thus, verbal or nounal usage of the old Anglo Saxon four-letter word for sexual intercourse, even if only thinly disguised because of a combination of its susceptibility to easy ellipsis and the local dialectical pronunciation of the word “for”, apparently passes muster, no matter how puerile the construction.

In this regard, readers will have heard previously broadcasts of calypsonians using such expressions as singing “Fuh Cree”, and “fuh crown” or “fuh king”; of those people who are “fuh cup”; who are going “fuh cane”; and we recall one effort that pointedly advised another individual “fuh queue”.

Explicit and not so explicit references to assorted sex acts have also gained local airplay periodically. Sparrow’s “Congo Man”, “May May”; Mac Fingall’s “Eating Bacon”, Krosfyah’s “Zak Passé” and Lil Rick’s “Eating too much Conch”, all follow an identical theme of cunnilingus to varying degrees of explicitness. To our best memory, this reference did not serve to ensure their prohibition from the local airwaves.

In such contexts, therefore it may be reasonably understandable that another local radio personality and calypsonian, Mr Ronald Clarke, who performs in the latter guise under the sobriquet, “ De Announcer” would be highly incensed that one of his contributions for this year, the tamely-titled “Reading for Pleasure” has been deemed unfit for broadcast by both of the main local radio stations including, in what must have been the most unkindest cut, the very one at which he is employed and at which he served until recently as lead host of its Crop-over afternoon music show.

Argue as cogently he might that there are other compositions of similar ilk that have not been treated likewise; that the word in dispute is in fact the real name of the author being referred to; and that he does not graphically describe a sex act as others have done before him, Mr Clarke must understand that the limits of airplay are not determined by fairness or reason or even logic, but rather by the extent to which the appointed determiner, using his or her best judgment subjectively, considers the lyrics to be inappropriate for public broadcast.

Of course, his supporters will point out that this level of discretion is likely to lead to inconsistency. This assertion cannot seriously be denied.

But how else might one explain why the popular local expression for the male penis as repeatedly voiced in De Announcer’s song should be deemed verboten while equivalent expressions for the female genitalia should find favour as where a woman was exhorted in one relatively recent effort to “poke he in ‘e eye”. Did not Lord Kitchener once defiantly promise to park his pee-pee [PP car registration] any place? And does anyone really believe that Lord Blakie was singing about a feline when he referred to the thieving pussy they held one night up in Sangre Grande?

Mr Clarke has reportedly threatened suit against the radio stations, probably, I imagine, on the assumption that they have infringed his constitutional guarantee of freedom of expression. There are some difficulties in this scenario, however.

As a private entity, at least one of the stations is not susceptible to constitutional action on the basis of the state action doctrine that renders such infringements actionable only where these are caused by the state or statal entities, while the other, even if not identically immune from suit, will nevertheless be able to contend that the local freedom of expression is qualified in that “nothing contained in or done under the authority of any law shall be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention of this section to the extent that the law in question makes provision that is reasonably required for regulating the administration or technical operation of telephony, telegraphy, posts, wireless broadcasting, television or other means of communication…”

63 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Limitations of Airplay”

1. @TheOGazerts July 22, 2019 6:40 AM

@WS
    After so much noise, there emerges one man who was willing to bell the cat.

Are you aware of the fact the song was getting air play on CBC and was only pulled after VOB’s ban became public knowledge?

2. William Skinner Avatar

I said what I wanted to say in relation to the topic at hand. It’s my opinion. I stand by it.
    Thank you.

3. @William

The banning of the song is because it is vulgar. Nothing to do Mia. You read the comment about the song played on government owned CBC until recently?

4. Listened to the song, didn’t think much of it but I agree that the hot button issue is the mention of the name, the calypsonians are 2 for 2 in getting songs banned when it comes to a particular name, Mac D Fingall can commiserate with De Announcer.

5. @ David,

I thought the PM was complimented for working so hard that she had no time for recreation. lol

Wait wait wait wait. I just realise to know that the word ” recreation ” could be replaced by……

6. @Hants

If Mia wanted the song banned she could easily have done so on CBC.

7. The banning of the song is because it is vulgar.(Quote)

Should vulgarity be banned?

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re The banning of the song is because it is vulgar.
    THE SONG IS NO MORE VULGAR THAN THOSE WE HAVE HEARD FOR ABOUT SIX DECADES

Nothing to do Mia. THIS IS APPARENTLY NOT THE SAME OPINION OF US HERE WITH BETTER THAN 20/20 VISION AND PROPERLY FUNCTION CEREBRUMS

You read the comment about the song played on government owned CBC until recently? WHO CARES ?

RE Sargeant July 22, 2019 9:52 AM

Listened to the song, didn’t think much of it but I agree that the hot button issue is the mention of the name,
    EXACTLY!
    IN BARBADOS AND ON BU, YOU CAN TAKE THE NAME OF THE LORD IN VAIN………….BUT ONE MUST BE CAREFUL ABOUT YOU SPEAK OF THE “SAINTS AND ALL ANGELS” uh lie?

barbados is not only a failed state IT FULL OF HYPOCRISY

AND WE LIKE UM SO!

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I just realise to know that the word ” recreation ” could be replaced by……

THAT IS CALLED PERSONIFICATION!

JUST LIKE HOW DAVID IN PSALM 23:6 USED “GOODNESS & MERCY” INSTEAD OF SAYING THE SHEPHERD

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE If Mia wanted the song banned she could easily have done so on CBC.

NO THAT WOULD BE TOO OBVIOUS OR OVERT AND WOULD TEND TO ATTRACT BLAME

SHE DID IT SUBTLY AND COVERTLY LIKE HOW SNAKES WORK

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MODERATE IN THE ATTEMPT TO OBFUSCATE

CAUSE YOU DONT WANT THOSE WHOSE INTELLECTS THAT YOU CANT MATCH TO REALLY JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, CAUSE YOU DONT WANT THEM TO EXPRESS THEIR VIEW AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE

YOU WANT TO HAVE A HERD SITUATION

YOU WHO ONCE TALKED ABOUT ROBUST DISCUSSION AND CHALLENGED IS NOT TO BE CHALLENGED

12. William Skinner Avatar

There are many people in prison for acts they executed on behalf of others. The simple truth is that if CBC wanted or did not want the song to be banned that was their call. To come here and try to tell me that CBC only banned the song after VOB did is a bit much. I don’t have the capacity to understand such brilliant thinking. Please excuse my ignorance!
    There are many songs that were more crude and vulgar and they were never banned. This is one of the worst written calypsos I have ever heard. Even the title is nonsense.
    There is one line in there that has caused its downfall. Quite frankly the song does not capture your ears because it really has no good hooks.
    Banning this calypso has elevated it beyond expectations. People are now listening to it and 99 per cent will conclude that the over play and stress on the word “Dickie” makes it tasteless humor. The inclusion of the PMs name in such an inferior piece of art caused its downfall because that connection unnerved the sensitivities of those who would look at a rat and call it a pigeon once it makes them feel comfortable.
    Go and listen to RPB ‘s They publish it. After listen to Gabby’s The List and
    Pompey’s Doctor Doctor and the Merrymen’s Barnabas.
    Hear real art and then you would not listen to Reading Pleasures.

13. This song is crass and tasteless. Ronnie can do miles better than this, and anyway, Eric Jerome Dickey was popular 15 years ago, and MADD did the same joke in a stand up routine in 2004.