The issue of access to beaches by locals continues to be an issue with unwanted frequency. It is officially stated that there are no private beaches in Barbados, however, access is being squeezed by property owners across Barbados utilizing all means necessary.

Here is another example exposed in the following video submitted by Tee White.

173 responses to “Barbados Government Asked to Investigate Heywoods Beach Access”

1. Heather…don’t for one seconf be deterred, the CRACKS ARE THERE…the FISSURES ARE WIDE…easy to take them all down….just as they all deserve for raping the island and stealing from the people for decades…people who would not begin to know how to fight back….their VICTIMS..

2. @ Waru agreed!

3. A trend is emerging environmental issues are going viral on social media.

4. Very soon they all would become inacessible as the toxic remains from the sewage takes refuge along the coastline

5. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

AND may i remind the thieves in parliament and the minority criminals…ya see the people in UK that yall ROBBED their properties, their elderly, their inheritance, stole their money and their bank accounts, STOLE their children and grandchildrens FUTURES……well lemme tell ya…it nah end so…ya hear….just saying.

yall really know who to mess around with…really, some people would’ve put yall in ya graves decades ago, but ya really know who to play ass with…

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1077143869161818/?t=0

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re A trend is emerging environmental issues are going viral on social media.

and den wuh ya ah duh?

7. Interesting how some people always want to make everything an issue of black and white.

The point of the article was to point out that access to the beaches around Barbados is getting more and more difficult, regardless of whether the beach goer is black, white or green.

With the now yearly saragassum blooms everyone who wants to enjoy the beach has much less choice of where to go.

Personally, I feel that not enough has been done to ensure access for all.

Drive down the west coast, can’t even find a sign indicating where the access might be. If you’re lucky enough to find one, there’s nowhere to park. If you manage to get onto the beach the hotels have almost every square inch parked off with umbrellas and lounge chairs, half that aren’t being used.

It should be a requirement, also retroactively enforced, that public access points to the beach be clearly marked, paved, well lighted and have a stand pipe for washing off feet. This should be provided and maintained by the property owner at no cost to the public or government.

Sure, there are many other things that need to be done, however this would be a relatively easy solution and sometimes it’s the small things that can help make things better.

8. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. Every issue conceivable under the sun can go viral nowadays on social media. Even the mischievous ones. Citizen journalism in action. We must decipher the signal from the noise.

9. ” The NCC General Manager explained that once the high water mark was established, the NCC Act defined 100 feet from the high water mark as beach.”

Let common sense prevail.

The beach and the land has two different textures .. sand and soil. It is there that a determination can be made of separating beach from land.

The “law” in its determination seek to give advantage to land owners in establishing a high water mark that by nature, FLUCTUATES according action and direction of widal currents.

HIGH WATER MARKS ARE MOSTLY A VERY SMALL PERCENTAGE OF BEACH WIDTH.

It is evident that AT TIMES, the complete removal of beach sand is seen and purports a new high water mark encroaching property owners. Also, eroded beach sand is returned sometimes in greater amounts with a new high water mark.

One thing remains constant is the juncture at which beach sand and land (soil) meets. This is the true and natural designated demarcation.

Of NOTE : All properties have a surveyed PLOT to ownership. It is suspect that butt and bound boundaries to the beach has be exaggerated by many property owners/surveyors, evidenced by collapse of boundary walls by beach erosion.

10. @fortyacresandamule

So right but it is interesting how it has been responding to environmental issues in recent years. It is saying there is hope!

11. Tried to advise Carl Moore the futility in knocking a social media outlet like BU. Instead he could have coopted the blog to push the noise pollution theme he is sweet on.

#priorities

12. @ Blogmaster
    What other topics would you have us discuss?

Surely this is rhetorical as you and you alone (plus maybe Mugabe if Piece is to be believed…lol) dictate what gets posted.

But the gist of my comment was that, after a decade ventilating a core number of issues from every which way…
    the same issues are being ventilated every which way. Not your fault, that’s just how the cookie crumbles.

The beaches in Bdos are public in theory only. Why this faux outrage from the BU community?

We all know that there are many beaches on the west coast that are private in all but name.

What will your govt do about it? I will tell you..not a thing.

13. In the case of Beaches.

Is the public aware that large amounts of beach material has be added to redesigning the aesthetics and ecology of the beach?

That stretch of beach has changed completely, having seen large line of boulders places out to sea (at start) and subsequently sand had been hauled to build up to reach these boulders out to sea from the natural surf creating a lagoon type atmosphere.
    A total change has resulted from that which has been advertised on the billboard photos of the proposed construction.

Who can challenge such private input in a public environment.. Millions has been invested and surely will be secured and protected from the public. It appears to be a great deception in the making.

14. of course its a black vs white issue…..do you want sand or do you want it paved

15. @ David.

From what I have been made to understand the work being done there is a government beach improvement project. It should therefore have nothing to do with the private sector in terms of structure and infringement of public beach access.

Now if we want to query if this work is being done as a result of the proposed Beaches Investment that is a different issue all together.

Of course again only government can confirm this, so I shall add it to my long list of pending questions.

16. Foul Bay beach put to its best use.

17. @John A

Thanks!

The questions to be answered along with the one you posed are:

Is it ok for government to encroach on the high water mark.

Was there enough public information shared about the project.

18. @Dullard

In a democracy how do citizens effect meaningful change?

19. @ David.

In this case yes it will be a matter of the state’s right to encroach on what is known as the high water mark. The question would now be for this argument as follows. Is the state and public the same entity or is the state seen as a third party like a private developer or home owner would be seen in reference to encroachment?

Interest question here for sure.

20. David

Are you sure we have a ‘democracy’?

For a ‘democracy’ is an economic system. It has very little to do with voting once every five years.

We are afraid your question is fatally flawed, wrongly predicated!

You have left a gap wide enough for Dullard to drive a truck through, with TNT!

21. @Pacha

Which definition should guide us, what the politicians and dark shadows define or what we the people refer.

22. Of course the skin colour is not the reason for the whole disaster. But it is the outward sign of how the real power relations lie on the island.

Barbados ist still a big plantation where black teachers tell the clueless and naive black masses in school that they are free whereas every foreigner knows the opposite. I only know three white gentlemen who run the island. In the past, blacks were whipped and chained, but today they voluntarily (!) pay far too high prices and excessive taxes. What an irony of history!

You can elect the members of parliament, but the white tycoons in the background always remain the same. That’s a fact we shouldn’t deny.

23. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

“You can elect the members of parliament, but the white tycoons in the background always remain the same. That’s a fact we shouldn’t deny.”

because your idiots in the parliament allow them to and you ACCEPT IT…how yall could allow a bunch of lice infested, broke ass hungry jokers from St. John make you look so dumb…wasted taxpayers money on education by allowing a bunch of halfassed crooks who CANNOT SURVIVE WIHOUT BLACK PEOPLE…to make you look like fools..

Cow and his gang of thieves should have been in prison decades ago and so should ya 2 corrupt governments…

it is only that way because all of you allow it..

All the shite Maloney talking…yall should ask him and Cow about Apes HIll….goddamn crooked hand to mouth jokers, who only know how to steal from vulnerable helpless taxpayers and pensioners…..and got so uppity, they believe they can carry that wicked, disrespectful behavior to everyone…without significant consequences..

24. Why don’t you ask him in person? 😉

Don’t be so hypocritical and admit that you profit from the plantation system like so many others. Those who are closest to power often criticize it the most.

25. …”who only know how to steal from vulnerable helpless taxpayers and pensioners..” WURA-WAR-on-U July 22, 2019 5:55 PM

The theft is stealth across the spectrum of business
    Banks started to question with alarmity the size of daily deposits by arcades to a point they were not going to be accepted.

Is it truly a fact that these machines are manipulated in favour of the establishment, where motherboard circuits are altered, cards are programmed, default mechanisms are put in place, cameras placed to monitor every machine and player and watched from a secure location?
    Winners are inconvenienced to collect winning from main offices, sometimes under much scrutiny and repeated winners are sometimes banned.

Of notice is the non display of licenses granted by the Comptroller of Customs, which should be displayed on each licensed machine.

The VULNERABLE are duped considerably by stealth theft.

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@July 22, 2019 6:30 PM “Is it truly a fact that these machines are manipulated in favour of the establishment…The VULNERABLE are duped considerably…”

Of course gambling shops/casinos/arcades/lotteries here there and everywhere are programmed in favour of the house. That is why the activity is called gambling. “Games” designed for the rich, fools and addicts. That is why the house ALWAYS wins. The gambling shop ain’t your mummy. Doesn’t love you.

The vulnerable need to keep the hell away from gambling.

Stupssseee!!!

27. Daniel Gibbs
    Proper changing facilities, stand pipe RH.

How you analysing a project that ain’t even start yet far less done? You see the people plans and know what beachfront works are proposed? You know if the current size of the jetty is temporary to facilitate some aspect of the construction? I just asking. But all yuh carry on and I ain’t no fan of Butch neither.

28. @enuff

We (the people) have been bitten too many times. We prefer to get in on the ground floor and climberhe stairs before the elevator is installed.

29. Hi!
    It’s me gain….
    How did you jump over this
    “Drive down the west coast, can’t even find a sign indicating where the access might be. If you’re lucky enough to find one, there’s nowhere to park. If you manage to get onto the beach the hotels have almost every square inch parked off with umbrellas and lounge chairs, half that aren’t being used.”

and focus on this?

“It should be a requirement, also retroactively enforced, that public access points to the beach be clearly marked, paved, well lighted and have a stand pipe for washing off feet”

What are you saying?
    Besides no parking, limited access to the beach, and limited use of the beach during the day….. we should not have a lighted path at night or a standpipe for washing our feet…. Perhaps we should request that Bajan’s keep to the ,landward side of the road…

30. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

“Why don’t you ask him in person?”

why should i…i already know what happened, it’s yall admirers of tiefing Cow et al that don’t know SHIT..all ya money got stolen and spent on Apes Hill and yall are clueless to what is happening, and you got talk for people…steuppss.

“Don’t be so hypocritical and admit that you profit from the plantation system”

always hated yall shite system…always looked and sounded like a slave society to me…all wrapped up in criminality and hypocrisy…and guess what…i was right..

… never had to be in such a toxic system to survive…was always able to recognize shit as shit..and a nonprogressive system that was obvioulsy going nowhere…and guess what..it is not..

maybe that is the only system you know, but too bad, ya are just the product of brainwash and stagnation..maybe ya can actually do something to change that…maybe.

31. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Counsel Rests…….how ya salty so..lol

won’t have anything to do with DESPERATION …would it..

are you going to tell them what is REALLY HAPPENING..of course presuming you know, cause yall imps are hardly ever let into the inner circle.

32. Abigail why are you so masochistic? Woman go drink a rum do. 🖐🏾🖐🏾

33. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@Tron. Not only Barbados, almost every black nation on the face of the earth has relinquished the commanding heights of their economy to people who don’t look like them. No other race of people on the face of the earth would have tolerated this asymmetrical economic relationship on their soil. Only a docile, weak, powerless, and corrupted group of people suffering from an overdose of inferiority complex could this happened to.

34. The Haloutes are Trinidadian by birth and speak the culture of the Trinidadian.They are no saints but Syrian Lebanese origin horse racing and betting gamblers who aided and abetted by Patsy Springer and Dipper hit a gold mine dispensing fried greasy chicken to licirish lazy Bajans who all end up sick at the QEH laden with NCD’s.Chefette should have a special tax forr all the burden they place on the facilities of the QEH and for sending Bajans to an early grave with the 16 fast food greasy spoon specials they operate.That same Rockley was closed by the health authorities for having millions of rodents as in house guests about 20-25 years ago.

35. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Counsel Rests….ya better do some resesrch and get out from around those who are MARKED…while the getting out is STILL good, might be ya one and ONLY chance. Don’t want to see a new face in handcuffs and wonder if it is you..

Yall were so PROUD of total wickedness, crimes AGAINST YOUR PEOPLE..and now the pretensive jokers who thought they would be allowed to carry on their criminality against the vulnerable and helpless forever…have run out of road.

Remember president Mia gushing in UK about Cow giving yall polo…but neglected to mention it was IN REALITY polo horses with cocaine in their bellies…but there she was boasting up a storm and bigging up a thief…..IN UK no less……WHOM SHE KNOWS HAS ROBBED HER PEOPLE FOR DECADES…ya see that level of UGLY right there…it CANNOT BE IGNORED…

as a matter if fact, these days all the BIG names, small island style, who were hiding in the shadows and TRAFFICKING in everything under the hot sun ..all this time…and pretending to be so special and above board..are well known ..no one is keeping SECRETS for minority criminals anymore, it is no longer en vogue.

But dont mind me..ah crazy, unstable AND masochistic..lol

36. @ Tron,

There is a new political biography of Barrow, by Professor Hilbourne Watson, a Bajan. I have not read it yet, but it should be a good read.

37. @ Dullard

Blogmaster
    What other topics would you have us discuss?
    Surely this is rhetorical as you and you alone (plus maybe Mugabe if Piece is to be believed…lol) dictate what gets posted.
    But the gist of my comment was that, after a decade ventilating a core number of issues from every which way…
    the same issues are being ventilated every which way. Not your fault, that’s just how the cookie crumbles.
    The beaches in Bdos are public in theory only. Why this faux outrage from the BU community?
    We all know that there are many beaches on the west coast that are private in all but name.
    What will your govt do about it? I will tell you..not a thing.(Quote)

Brilliant. We suffer from intellectual exhaustion. Recently, we have had the DPP withdrawing a case against Charles Herbert on the grounds of lack of evidence and public interest. Why was this not discussed? There is a management crisis at CBC, why is this not discussed? We have an attorney general that admitted publicly that business people have told him they have paid bribes to local politicians; why has this not been logically discussed? We have a prime minster that has entered in to an agreement to teach Rwandan cricket, Why was this not discussed, in particular the politics of President KAGAME? I can go on.
    President Mottley is undoubtedly charismatic, but so too was the tragedy of Jonestown and Waco. Charisma is not the only requirement of good leadership. Discuss.

38. Hal
    Why you don’t discuss the political debacle engulfing UK politics, a nation you never refer to as “failed”? I understand you were at the townhall meeting in London behaving like you resided in Buckingham Palace or was related to its residents. Yet, with ALL your talents and intellect I don’t recall you asking anything during the Q&A session. Given your superior journalistic acuity and your constant mouthings on BU, I would have expected you to catspraddle the PM, after all she was in your kingdom. Not a squeak from you. 🤣🤣🤣

39. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

You BASTARDS…you lying bastards…Mia put some fool/idiot on Hall of Shame to LIE and say Harrison’s Cave was not SOLD or is not being SOLD…now listen to crooked Weatherhead..

https://www.facebook.com/sheri.veronica/videos/2201369773293749/?t=24

40. Is there a parallel between that and Americans being told to “go back where they come from”?
    Has Hall lost his citizenship or his right to speak on things Barbadian?

41. @Enuff

Anonymity is a good cover for a fabricator. Plse describe to BU the behaviour at the town hall meeting that suggested I lived in Buckingham Palace? Plse tell BU my behaviour during the Q&A session. Hint: why do you think I did not ask any questions during the Q&A?
    The trouble with bogus bloggers who fabricate things is that one has got to respond if not readers will believe them. As to politics in the UK, tell me what you will like me to discuss.
    By the way, I am neither talented nor an intellect.

42. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

You useless stupid, GREEDY, corrupt FOOLS..you lie, you steal, you hide information from the people who ELECTED YOU….and pay our bloated salaries..

yall gotta go..

…some skullduggery is going on with that arrangement with the Jamaican company and the Caves…..but it will all come out in the WASH…

43. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

That FARCE in London was priceless…the preamble to the Morocco COCKUP..

44. Hal
    You pissparade on BU daily, had an opportunity to question the PM in a public forum in your neck of the woods and not a word from you.🤣🤣

45. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Theo…ya see how the crooks in parliament SLIP everything under the RADAR…so bajans are CLUELESS TO THEIR CRIMES….and hardly notice anything..

first…..they trotted out ALL THEIR THIEVES..in the Blue Horizon SCAM against taxpayers…..that backfired, they were not expecting the citizen’s vocal reaction…

but before that…they were in the background making deals for the Caves…and said nary a word to the taxpayers…who will feel the IMPACT THE MOST when they LOSE another taxpayer funded moneymaker…..until someone sent the info to Sheri Veronica…

……then they started to SPIN LIES…oh no, that is propaganda, no such thing happened…but they could not COVER UP THE STENCH OF DECEIT…and SELLING OUT ENUFF…to fool anyone but themselves and the DUMBEST ASSES WHO WOULD BELIEVE ANYTHING THESE LIARS in the the blighted cursed parliament SAYS..

46. @enuff

From memory it is true to say a tender was issued to manage Barbados Caves?

47. @ Enuff

I ask again: Why do you think I did not ask any questions at the Q&A? Anonymity is a good cover for a fabricator. Plse describe to BU the behaviour at the town hall meeting that suggested I lived in Buckingham Palace? Plse tell BU my behaviour during the Q&A session. Hint: why do you think I did not ask any questions during the Q&A?
    The trouble with bogus bloggers who fabricate things is that one has got to respond if not readers will believe them. As to politics in the UK, tell me what you will like me to discuss.
    By the way, I am neither talented nor an intellect.

48. Theogaz
    Boss you need to read to understand, not to respond. Wuh anybody with an objective mind would conclude from my comment that I was more admonishing Hal for not speaking than suggesting he should not speak on Bajan matters, as you are inferring. You folks so despise Enuff that if I say cat all yuh must say dog even though the cat meowing incessantly and scratching wunna.

49. @ Enuff

You still have not answered my question: Why do you think I did not ask any questions?

Leave a Reply to WURA-War-on-UCancel reply