… Abrahams said that the outfall extends 815 metres (2,700 feet) offshore with two distinct high density polyethylene lines (HDPE), which was installed by Ward Drilling Inc., with sub–contractor Marenco Marine Ltd. One 8-inch and one 12-inch lines have been installed, with both of them capable of taking the entire flow from the plant individually…. Minister of Energy and Water Resources, Wilfred Abrahams

A recent discussion on another blog explained the threat to the environment of piping sewerage into the sea. Successive governments in their wisdom never allocated the resources to implement a tertiary treatment process as part of a relevant waste management system.  An irony for the blogmaster is that the Cabinet now includes a Minister of the Blue Economy, another for the Environment and let us not forget Water Resources.

The following comments (in two parts) were shared by Dr. Robert Lucas, PH.D., CFS,  Biotechnologist with the BU family in response to the question – what is the significance of a build up of phosphates and nitrates at the point of discharge in causing an algae bloom?

– David, Blogmaster

Comment

It is called eutrophication and is currently occurring off the south coast of Barbados where the escaping sewerage is being pumped into the sea. At the point of discharge there is a build up of phosphates and nitrates which cause an algae bloom that results in depletion of the oxygen content of the seawater. This creates a de facto desert in the sea. Halophilic anaerobic microorganisms predominate.

Comment #2

Nitrogen and phosphates occur in the foods humans ingest, Unused nitrates and phosphates are excreted into faecal matter. Nitrates and phosphates are soluble and are therefore easily dissolved in water. Nitrates and phosphates are essential elements required for microbial growth (note phosphates and nitrates are present as salts of potassium and sodium, i.e. all the major elements required for plant growth are present).

Also present in sea water are trace elements such as magnesium, manganese, molybdenum, sulphur, iron, zinc and copper. In other words you have an ideal medium for plant growth. There is therefore an algal bloom which depletes the oxygen content of the area where the sewerage discharge occurs. That is at the end of the pipeline from which the discharge occurs and as far as the diffused elements reach by a process of osmosis. This area is a virtual desert, deficient in all plant and animal life (biota). Remember bacteria are actually members of the plant family,

Also present will be unicellular parasites (protozoa) which can cause amoebic dysentery (the lack of oxygen kills the non-cyst stage). The cysts stage constitute what are called survival bodies and ingesting such contaminated water results in illness.note anaerobic halophilic  (salt tolerant) microbes are predominant in the affected area.

182 responses to “Piping Sewage to the Sea a Clear and Present Danger”

1. David

Thanks for your sober assessment. We not al all surprised!

2. Pach

Where was the ‘the organic matter’ going from the commencement of the south coast sewage plant?

3. @John2

The answer to your question is no longer relevant given recent events on the south coast. We also have been alerted that the Bridgetown plant is under stress as well. The minister has already advised the outfall is a temporary solution which means he appreciates a tertiary treatment is required.

4. @ David

Tertiary treatment? Not in the next five years!

5. robert lucas
    July 18, 2019 5:27 PM

@ Hants July 18, 2019 11:51 AM
    It depends on the direction of the ocean currents. Barbados lies to the east of the other islands and with north east trades and the earth rotation it is possible for contamination to occur elsewhere. Indeed, one of other islands did complain about the matter

+++++++++++++++++++

We could look at what happens to Sargassum weed on the south coast to understand where it might go!!

6. john2
    July 18, 2019 5:11 PM

On a serious note
    I think most of the water from the west coast comes from the desal plant.

I guess when the west coast wells are shut down for salt water intrusion during most dry seasons this is probably true!!

“The brackish water reverse osmosis (BWRO) desalination plant in Barbados was installed and commissioned in February 2000, it has a production capacity of 30,000 m3/day (7.9 MGD). The plant was built by Ionics Freshwater Ltd under a 15 year Design Build Own Operate (DBOO) contract with The Barbados Water Authority.”

A figure of 7.9 mgd capacity is quoted but I am not sure if it means that it processes up to 7.9 mgd of brackish water from which is derived potable water for consumption or if the actual output of potable water is 7.9 mgd.

http://www.ionicsfreshwater.com/index.php/projects

My understanding has been the actual output of potable water was 1 mgd at the beginning.

I will need to ask around.

I recall when it started it was specified to handle brackish water with Total Dissolved Solids below 5,000 … sea water is 35,000 ppm if memory serves me right.

To get down to 5,000 ppm most of the water it processes has to be fresh and it will be taken from the aquifer that also supplies Belle, Codrington and Newmarket pumping stations.

Long time since I crunched the numbers and have been out of touch!!

… so you see the attractiveness of resupplying the West Coast aquifer with water from the Scotland District … if sufficient is available …. and I am right.

7. A related news item.

Barbados considering building dams to deal with water problem

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/sites/default/files/styles/jg_article_image/public/media/article_images/2019/07/16/colorado_river_drought.jpg

Published:Wednesday | July 17, 2019 | 8:45 AM

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, CMC – Barbados is considering building dams in some agricultural areas to deal with the drought situation, Agriculture and Food Security Minister, Indar Weir, has said.

Several Caribbean countries are reeling under drought conditions and Weir said he has already met with farmers involved in the Spring Hall Land Lease Project in St. Lucy and those at Riverland, St Philip to discuss the situation.

He said as it relates to the Spring Hall Land Lease Project the authorities were keen on finding a temporary solution to the water challenges being experienced in that area, and they have “looked at the option of damming.”

Weir said the affected farmers were “willing to participate and give of their labour to make sure we could do it.

“So the ministry would then have to work with them in identifying locations and putting whatever financial resources we can find to help them do it in the short term,” he added.

Weir said consideration was also being given to undertaking a similar initiative at the Riverland and that there were also plans to expand the pond as well as clear the vegetation obstructing the natural water course and maintain the existing pumping system.

“There’s a tunnel as well that they drew to my attention that has to be cleared, so once we can do those things in the short term, they would go back to having a year-round supply of water,” he said.

We want to hear from you! Send us a message on WhatsApp at 1-876-499-0169, email us at editors@gleanerjm.com or onlinefeedback@gleanerjm.com.

8. @John 2

“Tertiary treatment? Not in the next five years!”

5 years not a chance, 35 years MAYBE.

“Barbados considering building dams to deal with water problem”

Cheez , Wily knows the cane of recent years was POOR, however did not realize how bad it was, someone drinking the local booze getting hallucinations coming up with ideas like above. DAMS are known to require large flowing rivers to be practical, none of these exit in Barbados. TURD WORLD PIPE DREAMS

9. William Skinner Avatar

A few weeks ago I stated that Hal’s position that Barbados is a failed state will gather support.
    I am amazed that we are pretending that we are disappointed in the current regime.
    Anybody who believes that dumping tons of sewage into the ocean is a major achievement should be avoided.
    The current regime is nothing more than the former regime under a slightly different name.
    Quite frankly reading some of the comments above if taken seriously would lead to a bout of mental depression!
    We change parties not governments.

The Duopoly Rules

10. Sir William Skinner

We don’t know that ‘we change parties not governments’

Seems to us that the same party is still in powah, on this issue at least.

11. THE SHIT FROM THE SOUTH COAST SEWAGE PLANT WAS BEING DUMPED INTO THE SEA OFF OF NEEDHAM POINT FOR ABOUT 20 YRS

AND NOT A FREAKING WORD OF OBJECTION WAS MADE IN THOSE YEARS.

NOW THAT IT IS BEING DUMPED IN THE SEA OFF OF WORTHING, TO STOP IT FROM FLOWING IN THE STREETS OF THE SOUTH COAST, IT HAS SUDDENELLY BECOME A (POLITICAL) PROBLEM!

CANT PLEASE WINNUH BAJANS AT ALL

12. @ WILLY

Don’t hit so hard!

Dam in Barbados terms means the diverting of and trapping of the runoff from rainfall

13. @John2

We did not have a Minister of the Blue Economy 20 years ago, what is your point?

14. John2
    So continue the same shi..t because it pleases u
    Further more twenty years ago not many were knowledgeable about the negative effects of shi..te being dumped in the ocean
    Many belived that the ocean cleanse itself until loud noises from global enviromentalist group sound the alarm that “all was not right in using the ocean as a dumping ground”

15. @ David

So because we now have a minister of the blue economy we must now shut down the sewage plant/s??
    Whats is your point?

Mari

Where do you want us to put it in your back yard?

Pumping it into the seas will have some negatives effect for the localized area around the outfall.
    The on land benefits are a lot greater then the negative effects of dumping it in the sea.

Don’t take my word. ask anyone who lived, owned a business or tourist that overnight in that area.

I guess some of you would rathe return the problems/negatives effects on shore

16. @John2

The point is that there is an expectation in 2019 we should be treating waste at the tertiary stage and not dumping it in the Rh sea.

17. @David

An Expectation of very few and only since the government constructed the outfall at Worthings to get it off the streets.
    Before the south coast saga you all didn’t care one shite about the different levels of treatments.

The general population is happy to get it out of the RH road and don’t care about it being dumped in the RH sea unless it start to affect them directly

IN 2019 the government cannot afford any upgrade

18. The Bridgetown plant is about 40yrs, it is secondary treatment plant, which is one step away from tertiary, and the effluent is being pumped into the sea down pelican village area. 40 freaking years…..

40YRS and the only problem was the stink up of Lakes Folly. Now all of a sudden bajans wake up and find out that there is something named tertiary treatment.

19. To build tertiary waste water treatment plants and proper solid waste treatment sites, the government will have to levy even more taxes which we cannot afford to pay. Better to pollute the sea.

20. Ping Pong

Exactly

They don’t want the government to continue borrowing externally.
    They crying about the taxes now.

The government put on a sewerage tax – could a part of this be a way to make them pay forward for tertiary treatment?

21. Piping Sewage to the Sea a Clear and Present Danger

Even greater danger keep it on land – especially so close to our water table.

Greater economic benefit – especially with tourism now being our lifeline

22. I don’t care about the sea nor turtles or reefs or nutting so! I just want to be able to make a trip now and then to Miami so I could shop at Walmart, watch some Amurcan movies and eat bare sh@#te and get deputy beers at 4 fuh 10. De sea is a big place it could hold nuff garbage.

23. @Ping Ping

Sounds like a plan, continue to dump shit in the sea because we have been doing it for 40 years. Whey should we not feel like enough is enough.

24. David

it was being dumped into the sea for more than 40 yrs
    Where you think it was going before the sewage plant? And on top of that Bridgetown use to stink.

Tertiary is to costly at this time and has hazards that come with it with also
    Most feasible option for Barbados is to pump the shit into the sea.

The volume from Barbados and the vastness of the sea around us cannot compare to what used to go on/around the bigger industrialized countries.

25. @John2

Your view will not prevail.

Why would Minister Abraham assure the nation that the solution is temporary?

26. As far as I remember the minister said the outfall at Worthings is temporary until the problems in the original outfall is fixed.
    My understanding of that is that the sewage will then returned to being pumped into the sea at Needham Point and all you people that crying now will forget about it like you never once gave it one shit of a thought until it started coming up on the roads.

Typical bajan style.

Unless of course it start to come up in the roads again.

27. Here is a promise John2, the blogmaster will not forget. We operate in enlightened times. What did engineer Sealy recommend for the original design of the south coast sewage project?

28. I have no idea.

29. @John2

Have a read of this link. Note the plant was built scalable read to bolt on a tertiary component.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/122032/master-plan-plant

30. Forgive me, but where in that article did it state was Mr Sealy’s recommendation for the orginal design of the south coast plant?

31. The outfall was designed to be 1.1 km (0.7 mile) long, ending outside the bank reef at a depth of 38 metres (125 feet). This outfall site was chosen after extensive studies had shown that there are strong, predominantly offshore currents in that area. The choice of the outfall site dictated the level of treatment required.

THIS IS THE MOST IMPORTANT PART THAT YOU DETRACTORS SHOULD NOTE

the choice of the outfall site DICTATED THE LEVEL OF TREATMENT REQUIRED>

32. “Primary or advanced preliminary treatment is an acceptable international method, if linked to a long marine outfall that discharges the treated wastewater outside of sensitive areas. and that is what the IDB was prepared to fund at the time.”

PRIMARY TREATMENT IS AN ACCEPTABLE INTERNATIONAL METHOD…………

THAT IS WHAT THE IDB WAS PREPARED TO FUND AT THAT TIME!!!!!!

33. Seem to me that Mr Sealy would also recommend to pump the shit in the RH sea.

34. I want you environmentalist in here to understand that part about the near shore waters were becoming contaminated without the sewerage system.

So far the is no report that this is/was so for any of the out fall areas.

35. Why is it the plant was built to accommodate upgrade to tertiary?

The plant was built with the capacity to upgrade to tertiary treatment. At tertiary level, the treated water is approaching potable standards. Indeed, the technology now exists to turn sewage into safe drinking water. The barriers to implementing this approach are more cultural than technical.

36. “Why is it the plant was built to accommodate upgrade to tertiary?”
    Excellent planning! Financially we are not ready yet – what about this you cannot understand.

Capacity is not capability!

We struggle to maintain a Primary and a Secondary plant and you want to go to tertiary?
    Do you think we have the financial capability to maintain one or two tertiary treatment plants? I don’t!

The Bridgetown plant was also built with the capacity to upgrade to tertiary treatment and it would be easier to upgrade – it was built as a secondary treatment plant which is on level below tertiary treatment.
    The south coast would have to go up two more levels to get to tertiary treatment ( secondary and tertiary).

37. @John 2

You may have the last word.

“Yesterday the Cabinet unanimously decided that no matter what challenges we are facing as a country, the money needs to be found to upgrade the plant at the South Coast to a tertiary level plant or if the plant cannot be upgraded then we must construct a new plant and this is to be done in the next 18 months.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/23/south-coast-to-get-new-sewage-plant/

38. You have 10 more months. Good luck!

39. The financial year also ends in 8 months. Good luck!

40. David

Here is my final word.

Unless there is a degradation of the near shore waters or a reoccurrence of the “sewage leak” in the streets then it is a WASTE of tax payers money to upgrade to tertiary treatment .

Fixing the outfall and maintaining the equipment is all that is required.

The plant was working fine for nearly 20yrs without any “talk” form us bajans until hurricane DLP devoid it of funds for maintenance/preventative maintenance.

41. @ john2 July 19, 2019 9:24 PM
    “Unless there is a degradation of the near shore waters or a reoccurrence of the “sewage leak” in the streets then it is a WASTE of tax payers money to upgrade to tertiary treatment ..”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Your case for keeping things as they are- i.e., keeping the existing outfall- might seem rather attractive from a financial point of view if the only things being dumped into the sea were human bodily waste.

In the ‘cycle ‘of the food chain human faeces (in its organic form) might be seen as a delicacy for marine creatures but when it is mixed into deadly cocktails of man-made chemicals what do you think would happen to the vital coral reefs and the flora and fauna which depend on them to survive?

Why do you think the flying fish and other forms of marine life are no longer plentiful in Bajan territorial waters?

Why would marine creatures find themselves in any abundance in the waters off Barbados especially off the south and west coasts where there is little food and limited opportunities to propagate and carry on their species?

Further processing of the sewage to the tertiary level to make it suitable as land-filled material (with the water used for non-potable purpose) is the preferred and highly recommended treatment in a country where its only money spinner is based on the sea, sand, sun and its highly-educated people.

The health of the people is the wealth of the nation.

42. Miller
    I am having problems replying

43. The only man made chemicals in the sewage system should be household (domestic) chemicals/soaps.
    From your shower, toilet, face basin and washing machine. Any other or any heavy chemicals should not be going into the sewerage system – it is illegal and a abuse to the sewerage system!

44. I would rather see the tax payers money go towards something like a better public transportation system at this point than to spend on a tertiary system which we do not need urgently.

45. As far as I am aware, periodically diver examine and report on the outfall and the immediate environment around them.

Maybe you should investigate what happened to the reefs etc just off of Trevor’s Way since the Bridgetown plant was built.

Maybe you should really consider what happen to the near shore water off the south coast after the introduction of the south coast plant.

I find it ironic that you are against pumping the sewage into the sea but would use the solids from tertiary as landfill with out potable water underneath.

Yes tertiary is more advanced than what we have now but there are more factor to be consider than that.

46. Miller.

“In the ‘cycle ‘of the food chain human faeces (in its organic form) might be seen as a delicacy for marine creatures but when it is mixed into deadly cocktails of man-made chemicals what do you think would happen to the vital coral reefs and the flora and fauna which depend on them to survive?”

If you really knew what happened, the areas abound Bridgetown and the South Coast waters, you would be making that statement.

47. “Why do you think the flying fish and other forms of marine life are no longer plentiful in Bajan territorial waters?”

Overfishing and maybe global warming.

the flying fish migrated to Tobago waters which were more contaminated the ours so why do you think is that? That the flying fish prefer pollution closer to shores?

48. “Further processing of the sewage to the tertiary level to make it suitable as land-filled material (with the water used for non-potable purpose) is the preferred and highly recommended ”

Highly recommended by who?

In a country that is scratching its ass economically and who population is complaining that they are over taxed (as long as thing are working properly) tertiary treatment can/should wait.

Tertiary treatment, although the most advanced, will increase process and maintenance cost for ever after it is implemented.

BWA can use that money to replace to old mains which will allow it to save more money and provide a better service to the eastern part of the island.

Tertiary isn’t something new. It was around before the building of the Bridgetown plant. It seem like the concept of tertiary treatment only now hit some bajan because of the south coast leak.

49. “Further processing of the sewage to the tertiary level to make it suitable as land-filled material (with the water used for non-potable purpose) is the preferred and highly recommended treatment in a country where its only money spinner is based on the sea, sand, sun and its highly-educated people.”

The highly educated people are the ones who did the studies before and made the final decision to dump the shit into the sea. They would have taken in to consideration all the options and variables.

I just agree that if all is good with both sewerage systems, and with the plight of our economy that money should be spent else where and would be a waste to upgraded when it is not necessary and will cost greater hardship.

50. @ David

Maybe you should try to get/read or get report from engineer or BWA….
    Some how try to get a report on the benefits of the marine ecosystem in the Bridgetown and South Coast areas from the inception of the treatment plants in their respective areas.

I am sure it/they will show a positive revitalization of the areas instead of a degradation as some of the bloggers on BU seems to think.

OVER AND OUT

Leave a Reply to john2Cancel reply