“…[P]unishment for mere mental states is intrinsically unjust because such punishment would be a form of mind control – Gabriel Mendlow, “Why is it wrong to punish thoughts?” [2018] 127 Yale L. J. 2342

It is by now beyond dispute that the freedom of expression constitutionally guaranteed to everyone is not absolute. Not only are there the express limitations or qualifications provided in the Constitution itself, but there also exist limitations imposed by common law and statute and by considerations of decency, situational appropriateness and what may be generally regarded as good societal conduct.

Given the significance of free expression in a democratic society, these limitations are closely policed and in the inevitable tension between the freedom and its proscription, it may be observed that the modern trend bends towards the increase of the freedom rather than towards its diminution.

As President Saunders of the CCJ had cause to observe in a recent decision-

Because it underpins and reinforces many of the other fundamental rights, freedom of expression is rightly regarded as the cornerstone of any democracy. A regime that unduly constrains free speech produces harm, not just to the individual whose expression is denied, but [also] to society as a whole. On the one hand, the human spirit is stultified. On the other, social progress is retarded. The fates of brilliant persons like Galileo, and Darwin, and countless others, sung and unsung, betray a familiar pattern in the history of humankind. Today’s heresy may easily become tomorrow’s gratefully embraced orthodoxy…

Indeed, in light of the proliferation of modern communication through social media, with its inherent anonymity permitting the expression of even more ideas that we might disagree with either in form or in substance, it has become necessary for us to reconsider the nature of our freedom of expression and to examine whether our society is more likely to benefit from an extrapolation or from a further attenuation of this freedom.

According to the introduction to The Free Speech Century, a text edited by two of the leading First Amendment scholars in the US, While vastly expanding the opportunities to participate in public discourse, contemporary means of communication have also arguably contributed to political polarization, foreign influence in our democracy, and the proliferation of ‘fake’ news.”

It is further suggested there that we shall need to interrogate “To what extent do these concerns pose new threats to our understanding of ‘the freedom of speech, and of the press’? To what extent do they call for serious reconsideration of some central doctrines and principles on which our current First Amendment [sc. freedom of expression] jurisprudence is based?”

I, likewise, pose this query here in the wake of the news item earlier this week where a young man was convicted of sending an electronic communication that was “menacing in character, intending to cause or reckless as to whether it caused annoyance inconvenience, distress or anxiety to the recipient or to any other person to whom he intends it or its contents to be communicated”. This conduct is criminalized by section 14 of the local Computer Misuse Act 2005. According to one newspaper report, the annoyance, inconvenience, distress and anxiety would be caused to the members of the Royal Barbados Police Force.

The matter was tried summarily in the Magistrate’s Court and the accused confessed to the offence anyway so of course the issue as to whether this provision disproportionately compromises the constitutional guarantee of freedom of expression was never broached.

However, I have long held the view that this specific criminalization of expression would not pass a test of strict scrutiny so as to be held constitutionally compatible. First, it appears to particularize electronic communications as being somehow more offensive than other modes. To my best knowledge, there is no equivalent offence for causing mere annoyance or inconvenience especially to others by ordinary oral communication. Should every opinion that might annoy us be made criminal? Or is this a necessarily incidental hazard of societal existence?

Moreover, the section does not stipulate that the annoyance, inconvenience, distress or anxiety produced must have been a reasonable response to the communication by the individual affected. A comment from the American Civil Liberties Union seems apposite-

Our Constitution protects hateful speech, yes — but on the theory that truly free speech means the best ideas will win out. We need [people] trained to really listen to ideas they hate — and respond with better ones.

I, too, agree that the message used by the young man in this case was obscene and distasteful, but strictly construed, he did no more than express an outrageous perverted desire without threatening to accomplish it personally. Ought a police officer of reasonable fortitude to have been annoyed, inconvenienced, distressed or made anxious by the communication? Ought the accused to be punished for his anti-social, perverted thoughts?

I dedicate this week’s column to the memory of my father who was called to higher service on Tuesday of last week at the age of 93. It was he who taught me to read and he was an avid fan of my weekly musings. Until he became too ill to do so, he patiently and lovingly collected every one of them. May his spirit travel home in safety and peace.

100 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Anti-social and Distasteful…but Criminal?”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie July 14, 2019 1:46 PM
    I certainly agree that you “HAVE THE RIGHT TO RESPOND.” I was simply adjusting the aim of your own ad hominem about persons who may or may not “LICK ASS” to formulate a hypothesis that might explain why someone of your intellect refuses to properly address the topic that Jeff has raised.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PLT
    QUID DIXI SCRIPSIQUE, DIXI SCRIPSI QUE
    WHY MUST I ADDRESS the topic that Jeff has raised. I COMMENTED ON A MATTER ARISING MADE BY MARIPOSA
    AND I HAVE NO APOLOGY TO MAKE

RE You are on record that you visit BU to ‘mock the rumshop’. So mock elsewhere, your mocking comments are NOT invited here.
    WUNNA SO LIKE TO MOCK PEOPLE BUT WUNNA CANT TEK A MOCKING?

YOU HAD A MAN PUN BU MOCKING ME & ZOE FOR YEARS JUST FOR RIGHTLY DIVIDING THE WORD OF TRUTH AND YOU UPHELD HIM AND CALLED HIM A PROVOCATEUR

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

So Jeff, let me take this from the realm of the hypothetical to the front page of today’s newspaper.
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240728/judge-raps-filing-foul
    If I were to publish the opinion that the Commissioner of Police and the organization that he leads has demonstrated stunning incompetence in being unable to meet the necessary procedural rules under the Mutual Assistance In Criminal Matters Act to produce Donville’s financial records to hand over to the United States Department of Justice. Further, what if I were to assert that such incompetence merits the Commissioner’s summary dismissal from his post without compensation. Would such an effort to deprive him of his employment and livelihood be sufficiently “menacing in character” to cause him “annoyance, inconvenience, distress or anxiety” and open me to the risk of prosecution under section 14 of the local Computer Misuse Act 2005. What If I asserted an opinion that such a travesty in a high profile case of political corruption can only be the result of further corruption? Is that “menacing in character?”

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PEOPLE MOCK ME ON BU DAILY

THEY MOCK WHAT I SAY DAILY, SOME TIMES EVEN WHEN I HAVE SAID NOTHING FOR THE DAY SOMETIMES FOR THE WEEK

MOCKING ME IS STUPID CAUSE I HAVE THE INTELLECT TO RESPOND WITH A SMILE

I JUST LAUGH AND ENSURE THAT WHAT I SAY IS CORRECT

ITS LIKE JOUSTING

5. Concerned Bajan Avatar
    Concerned Bajan

Jeff,

Firstly sorry for your loss.

Just like Caswell has commented, I too, am troubled my the conviction of that young man, and or with the journalistic reporting by the media.

When I read the article, I noticed several things. Firstly that the accused posted his wishes on HIS Facebook page.
    That is important because we cannot overlook the following words of the section of the Computer Misuse Act “to the recipient or to any other person to whom he intends it or its contents to be communicated”.

Did the accused send it to the RBPF or posted it on their site? Thereby making the members of the RBPF the recipients or persons he intended the contents to be communicated ?

Also simply stating members of the RBPF is not enough in my opinion. The prosecution ought to have brought those specific members of the RBPF out so as to allow them to prove (and be examined) in terms of whether they truly were caused annoyance inconvenience distress and anxiety on then.
    The RBPF is a body of persons and cannot feel these things arbitrarily.
    Those actions are really only applicable to human beings and if an action is done in respect of a company or a body that is said to cause mental anquish etc then assuming there is a legal cause of action in the first place, the particular human officers or representatives first have to show and prove how the same caused them those mental maladies.

I wonder whether the decision would have been the same if it went to trial as I do notice he pleaded guilty.

I am not condoning his actions. I believe that the majority of the RBPF are right thinking individuals and need to be respected. I have no doubt that the accused words were disrespectful evnlen though he may have made them emotionally and in response to being able to see his brother in police custody.

But not every antisocial or disrespectful thing is a crime punishable by law.
    And every criminal law should be clear and properly fairly and equally interpreted and applied.

Based on what I read in the nation, justice was not properly served, or not everything was properly reported.

6. Winston Anthony Jackman Avatar
    Winston Anthony Jackman

RE: DESPITE WHAT YOU SAY I HAVE THE RIGHT TO RESPOND TO THE FACT THAT FOLK IN BIM ON BU AND BT LIKE TO TALK ABOUT RISING IN GLORY BUT DONT SEEM TO KNOW OR CARE WHAT IT REALLY MEANS

SIR, WHY should YOU be BOTHERED and see the NEED to RESPOND if people TALK about “rising in glory” and DON’T KNOW or CARE WHAT it MEANS?

You MUST RESPECT the FACT that PEOPLE have a PERSONAL CHOICE WHETHER or not to ACCEPT or REJECT CHRISTIANITY and the Bible.

You are NOT REQUIRED to MAKE that choice FOR THEM and that CHOICE has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with YOU.

7. Jeff limits himself to electronic speech but there are more deeply and worrisome laws and known practices, especially in the United States and given the perceived extra-territoriality of their legislation, these are much more troublesome.

Permit us to give a few examples.

There are a wide range of telecommunications equipment firms, or manufacturers, which are embedding ‘eavesdropping’ devices, remotely activated – hidden microphones, hidden cameras – purportedly aimed for marketing proposes, which transmit everything being said/done within a household to central data bases. This goes beyond mere issues of free speech alone and into concepts of privacy.

Our every action, is being recorded. The Big Brother state is here. So while you watch TV – the TV is watching you as well, whether turned on or not. All of the most modern devices have these capabilities.

Google is maybe the worst violator of global concepts of free speech. For it controls as high as 90% of all searches. Such a virtual monopoly enables Google, Wikipedia and Alphabet – its parent company – to control search results favourable to them, people who pay them and the powers that be, the ideas found unfavourable are relegated deep within the search results – on page 100, for example.

With respect, the issues raised by the goodly judge cited and Jeff, seem elementary to the bigger problems we now face. A problem we are doing nothing about.

8. The blogmaster comes from a school of thought that says it is decent to show sympathy to a person grieving a love one.

If it is business as usual, Jeff should have stuck to business and left his father out of the column.

Let someone else raise the subject.

If he needed time to grieve then leave the blog/business out.

Perfectly natural.

There is always next week, or the week after.

We are all left to offer condolences (or not) as is proper and I offer mine.

Other sentiments of bereavement would naturally follow.

9. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

not every antisocial or disrespectful thing is a crime punishable by law.*
    And every criminal law should be clear and properly fairly and equally interpreted and applied.

CB, my sentiments exactly!

And many thanks to all members of the BU family for your kind expressions of condolence. They are much appreciated at this time of bereavement.

10. John

About an article on freedom of speech you seek to limit the writer’s freedom of speech.

Poetic license gives any author a right to end such a piece in any way thought fitting.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE SIR, WHY should YOU be BOTHERED and see the NEED to RESPOND if people TALK about “rising in glory” and DON’T KNOW or CARE WHAT it MEANS?

BECAUSE I CHOSE SO TO DO. THATS CALLED FREE CHOICE AND IT IS NOT A CRIME TO DO SO

RE You MUST RESPECT the FACT that PEOPLE have a PERSONAL CHOICE WHETHER or not to ACCEPT or REJECT CHRISTIANITY and the Bible.

I HAVE NEVER ONCE ASKED ANYONE AT ANY TIME ON BU TO RESPECT OR ACCEPT CHRISTIANITY and the Bible.
    NEVER!

RE You are NOT REQUIRED to MAKE that choice FOR THEM and that CHOICE has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with YOU.

I WONDER SINCE YOU ARE ABLE TO WORK THAT OUT ON YOUR VERY OWN, WHY YOU THINK THAT I CAN NOT WORK THAT OUT TOO
    PLEASE KINDLY POINT OUT WHERE I HAVE EVER SOUGHT TO MAKE A CHOICE FOR ANYONE ON BU ABOUT ANYTHING

WHY IS IT THAT YOU THINK YOU MUST COMMENT ON MY COMMENTS AND I CANT COMMENT ON MARIPOSA’S COMMENT OR MAKE COMMENTS OF MY OWN?

DONT I HAVE FREEDOM OF SPEECH ON BU NOW

12. Pachamama
    July 14, 2019 3:14 PM

John
    About an article on freedom of speech you seek to limit the writer’s freedom of speech.
    Poetic license gives any author a right to end such a piece in any way thought fitting.

Of course he has freedom to say what he wants, but that wasn’t what David was talking about!!

13. Some of us live by old fashion values that guide how the blog is moderated.
    The blogmaster comes from a school of thought that says it is decent to show sympathy to a person grieving a love one.

++++++++++++++++++++++

Here, let me be even more specific!!!

David raised old fashioned values!!

I responded!!

14. Incidentally, there were no blogs in the old time days!!

People knew you were in mourning by seeing your attire or interacting with you on a personal level!!

15. Even on BU fights can break out over respect for the dead
    Never thought i would become close enough to hear members of the BU family in showing respect for the dead warring over the words ” rise in Glory”
    Thought such occurrences only unravel in grave yards
    i guess BU is on its way to glory .
    GP u ought to be ashamed of yourself with your ignorant interruptions

16. Freedom Crier Avatar

Dean with Respect and Condolences, Freedom Appreciated the Short but telling Tribute of your Father on his passing… “I dedicate this week’s column to the memory of my father who was called to higher service on Tuesday of last week at the age of 93. It was he who taught me to read and he was an avid fan of my weekly musings. Until he became too ill to do so, he patiently and lovingly collected every one of them. May his spirit travel home in safety and peace”. It is Clear that your Father taught many values besides how to read. The Scriptures say to honour your Father and Mother that your days would be long in the land. You have certainly brought much honour to your parents which your Dad perceived by collecting all your work. The Bonds between Parents and Children can last forever even into the eternities. Thank you for a Glimpse into your Soul Sir.

Goin’ Home, with Alex Boyé

17. Again i reiterate the justice systems has lost it wheels and in so doing would be grabbing at straws as a quick fix to patch the large holds in the judicial system
    A bail of 4000thousand dollars for cussing at a policeman is very steep
    I believe that the judge in such cases have the authority to be lenient and could have issued a stern warning if this was the defendant first time before a judge

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Dear Professor: Sorry to hear that you have been separated from your beloved father.

@Georgie Porgie July 14, 2019 10:54 AM “WHO DECIDES THOSE WHO WILL RISE IN GLORY?”
    God

WHEN WILL THIS EVENT OCCUR ? It will occur when God decides as described in 1 Thessalonians 4:16 “For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first.”

19. Winston Anthony Jackman Avatar
    Winston Anthony Jackman

BECAUSE I CHOSE SO TO DO. THATS CALLED FREE CHOICE AND IT IS NOT A CRIME TO DO SO

Are you telling me you have a FREE CHOICE to MEDDLE in people’s BUSINESS as to WHETHER or NOT they CHOOSE not to KNOW or CARE what “rising in glory” means?

THAT, in Bajan terms, is being GYPSY or MALICIOUS. You should CONCERN YOURSELF with YOUR OWN BUSINESS. After all, when those people who do not KNOW or CARE what “rising in glory” means die, YOU WOULD NOT be the ONE to be BURIED.

Mariposa made a simple, general comment in offering her condolences to Mr. Cumberbatch.

You jumped out to ask a few SILLY questions, HOPING someone would TAKE the BAIT and RESPOND, to GIVE you an opportunity to show off your self-perceived knowledge of scriptures and to call them Bible illiterates and dummies.

Well, it DID NOT HAPPEN today.

All the HC student, doctor, Bible and island scholar you are, YOU WERE UNABLE to WORK that OUT on YOUR VERY OWN.

20. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Glad I went to church this morning and spent time visiting with family this afternoon, because the boys of BU were real testy today.

Freedom of speech is good.

Writing about killing people is bad, and scary.

But nobody should be locked up for foolish talk, unless it happens that they are armed and in a position to carry out a foolish ACT. otherwise I think that a reprimand and a fine is enough.

i don’t know anymore, because they would not let me into law school, nor theological school either.

21. Winston Anthony Jackman Avatar
    Winston Anthony Jackman

I offer my sincere condolences to Mr. Cumberbatch.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife July 14, 2019 6:40 PM.

Unfortunately, you FELL for the BAIT.

Mariposa, I offer my apologies to you because it was not my intention to war about your condolences to Mr. Cumberbatch, which I thought were genuine and appropriate at this time.

You saying “rise in Glory,” could have been over-looked, instead of trying to make a big issue of it, just like a spoilt child. That was what annoyed me.

22. Freedom Crier Avatar

KNOW THIS THAT EVERY SOUL IS FREE TO CHOOSE HIS LIFE AND WHAT HE’LL BE; FOR THIS ETERNAL TRUTH IS GIVEN, THAT GOD WILL FORCE NO MAN TO HEAVEN. HE’LL CALL, PERSUADE, DIRECT ARIGHT, AND BLESS WITH WISDOM, LOVE AND LIGHT; IN NAMELESS WAYS BE GOOD AND KIND, BUT NEVER FORCE THE HUMAN MIND. – William C. Gregg

Christianity is Not a Religion of Force but of Free Will…GP Simply Testifies of the Good News but they are those who would like to Force him to Restrain his Freedom to Speak!

The TRUTH sounds like Hate to those who HATE the TRUTH…

https://www.facebook.com/190368281064086/photos/a.190374937730087/1955533204547576/?type=3&theater

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

• Mariposa
    RE GP u ought to be ashamed of yourself with your ignorant interruptions
    WHY? WHAT EVIL HAVE I DONE? WHAT LAW HAVE I BROKEN?

July 14, 2019 6:40 PM
    @Georgie Porgie July 14, 2019 10:54 AM “WHO DECIDES THOSE WHO WILL RISE IN GLORY?”
    God
    WHEN WILL THIS EVENT OCCUR ? It will occur when God decides as described in 1 Thessalonians 4:16 “For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first.”
    CORRECT BUT DON’T FORGET 1 CORINTHIANS 15:51 et secq

Winston Anthony Jackman
    July 14, 2019 6:41 PM
    RE Mariposa made a simple, general comment in offering her condolences to Mr. Cumberbatch.
    You jumped out to ask a few SILLY questions,
    NOTHING SILLY ABOUT MY QUESTIONS AT ALL

RE HOPING someone would TAKE the BAIT and RESPOND, to GIVE you an opportunity to show off your self-perceived knowledge of scriptures

I DON’T HAVE A self-perceived knowledge of scriptures ANY BODY CAN SEE THAT I KNOW THE WORD WELL

RE and to call them Bible illiterates and dummies.
    WHAT AM I TO CALL Bible illiterates and dummies BUT Bible illiterates and dummies

RE Well, it DID NOT HAPPEN today.
    SIMPLE SIMON JUST ANSWERED TWO OF THE QUESTIONS YOU CALLED SILLY AND THAT OFFENDED YOU SO MUCH

RE All the HC student, doctor, Bible and island scholar you are, YOU WERE UNABLE to WORK that OUT on YOUR VERY OWN.

I WORK OUT WHAT I WANT TO WORK OUT
    WUNNAH LIKE TO CUSS ME AND I ENJOY RESPONDING LOL
    I HAVE COMMITTED NO LAW NOR HAVE I BROKEN ANY LAW OF THE REALM

BY THE WAY “RISING IN GLORY” IS KNOWN AS THE RAPTURE! A TOPIC THAT BU STELLAR SCHOLARS LOVE TO MOCK ME ABOUT.

RE Winston Anthony Jackman
    July 14, 2019 7:04 PM

SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife July 14, 2019 6:40 PM.
    Unfortunately, you FELL for the BAIT.
    NO SHE HAS FREEDOM SPEECH AND SHE ANSWERED SOME OF THE QUESTIONS CORRECTLY

RE You saying “rise in Glory,” could have been over-looked, instead of trying to make a big issue of it, just like a spoilt child. That was what annoyed me.

IT WAS YOU THAT GOT ANNOYED AND MADE THE FUSSjust like a spoilt child.

MY “SILLY QUESTIONS” could have been over-looked, BY YOU SINCE YOU CLAIM TO KNOW MY MOTIVES instead of trying to make a big issue of it, just like a spoilt child. WHY IS IT THAT YOU CANT WORK OUT THAT

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Probably spent too much time in church and in Sunday School and going to Church Army meetings with mummy.

25. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Georgie Porgie July 14, 2019 10:54 AM

WHAT DOES RISING IN GLORY MEAN?
    We Anglicans believe in the resurrection of the dead, and the life of the world to come. The God who gave us these earthy bodies in the first place is quite capable of providing new bodies, a new heaven a new earth.
    WHO WILL RISE IN GLORY?
    Those whom God decides.
    WHO DECIDES THOSE WHO WILL RISE IN GLORY?
    God
    WHEN WILL THIS EVENT OCCUR ?
    When God decides
    WHAT IS THIS EVENT PROPERLY CALLED?
    The Rapture.
    WHAT WILL CAUSE THIS EVENT TO OCCUR?
    Maybe God will have become fed-up with his wufless children again, and he will call some home, and some who have not repented, who do not believe will be judged and will go to the other place.

The reading this morning was the Parable of the Good Samaritan

On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit eternal life?” “What is written in the Law?” he replied. “How do you read it?” He answered, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’[a]; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ “You have answered correctly,” Jesus replied. “Do this and you will live.” But he wanted to justify himself, so he asked Jesus, “And who is my neighbor?” In reply Jesus said: “A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, when he was attacked by robbers. They stripped him of his clothes, beat him and went away, leaving him half dead. A priest happened to be going down the same road, and when he saw the man, he passed by on the other side. So too, a Levite, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side. But a Samaritan, as he traveled, came where the man was; and when he saw him, he took pity on him. He went to him and bandaged his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. Then he put the man on his own donkey, brought him to an inn and took care of him. The next day he took out two denarii[c] and gave them to the innkeeper. ‘Look after him,’ he said, ‘and when I return, I will reimburse you for any extra expense you may have.’ “Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers?” The expert in the law replied, “The one who had mercy on him.” Jesus told him, “Go and do likewise.”

Nothing much to add for the boys of BU except it cannot hurt to be kind and neighbourly to others. Maybe one day it will be your house which is on fire and the neighbours will wet it down.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WHAT WILL CAUSE THIS EVENT TO OCCUR?

THE RAPTURE OF THE CHURCH OR THE PAROUSIA

ALSO CALLED THE FIRST PHASE OF THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST
    IN THIS COMING JESUS WILL MEET THE CHURCH IN THAT AIR AS DESCRIBED IN 1 THESE 4 & 1 CORINTHIANS 15

JESUS WILL NOT DESCEND TO THE MOUNT OF OLIVES IN THIS COMING AS TAUGHT IN ZECHARIAH
    THIS IS THE SECOND PHASE OF HIS COMING AT WHICH HE WINS THE BATTLE AT ARMAGEDDON ETC-

27. A most pertinent question on the issue of justice rendered to the defendant would rather or not he has mental issues
    In todays society they are many who suffers from mild to severe forms of mental issue
    A subject which contains to remain hidden among barbadian families and in some instances when those afflicted acts out negatively are hauled before a judge and is sentenced to jail
    Sentencing a person to jail does not necessarily solve societies problems when the subject/ defendant needs alternative medical treatment
    Which makes me wonder if the judge in this case gave thought to the issue of mental illness

28. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the LUMINARY Jeff Cumberbatch

That essence that for 93 years drove the mortal shell of he who who identified as your father has moved on.

With such accustomed movement which attends the sentience of all humans I join with others here to Express my condolences for your sorrow, as per my western beliefs AND MY JOY as to his release as per residual traits yeah even acknowledgements of some of my eastern brothers.

29. Jeff, I joined in condolences to you and your family.

I must say @Barbados Underground Whistleblower has been doing a wonderful effort in trying to remove the cloak of darkness despite the naysayers and the ones who want to maintain the status quo in keeping Bajans ignorant.

30. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Dr. GP thank you

31. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the LUMINARY Jeff Cumberbatch.

This article sedms to be about about the specific inappropriate? Response, AND ABUSE OF POWER OF THE ROYAL BAYGON POLICE FORCE brought to bear on this social media matter and the ensuing actions of a Judge

I, being first among those who similarly offend needs to provide another “perspective”

As an advocate and activist, some say WITHOUT PAR, heheheheh, let me explain the process that breeds us.

We lawbiding citizens are abused by these so called legal systems and IN A MOMENT OF AWAKENING understand that “we either create our new systems OR ELSE WE GET FOOPED BY ANOTHER MAN’S ”

The sanctioned response of this Judge is indicative of a successive trait among both administrations TO LOCK UP PEOPLE FOR DEM MOUTH.

This is a trend that de old MSN prophesies, WILL GET WORSE IN THE COMING MONTHS of this Mugsbe administration.

The act in part says

“…sending an electronic communication that was “menacing in character, intending to cause or reckless as to whether it caused annoyance, inconvenience, distress or anxiety to the recipient or to any other person to whom he intends it or its contents to be communicated…”.

Barring overt revolution and guns and bullets WE HAVE LITTLE LATITUDE IN THIS SYSTEM.

It crushes the voices of the mek, therefore electronic communication, which is more ubiquitous than Eric Sealy’s megaphone, becomes the media that one has go use TO MADE YOUR VOICE HEARD.

Of course dimwits like Dale and Eddie and Mugabe see it as sedition and anarchy BECAUSE PEOPLE LIKE US point them out as fuckups and bunglers

But whereas the old world did not have these tools, the world at today, amplifies our voices beyond the limits of a loudspeaker.

I can text one item ant its is viral in seconds.

And, luminary if you or none of your colleagues gi to challenge this travesty in a court of law, as all good citizens must, THEN MUGABE AND HER ADMINISTRATION WILL HAVE WON the first of her battles to silence dissent.

Much like how Micharl Lashley was able to do thd same shy$e with his matter about 2 years ago.

32. Piece the Legend Avatar

I posted this earlier but ….

@ my fellow myope Dr GP,

You asked the simplest of questions of the people and sheeple reading that cliche statement of condolence

What does “rise in glory mean” ?

Like you, I oft have found that many who offer the well worn statement DO NOT KNOW ITS MEANING and intone it because “it sounds profound like if they have some greater affinity with God or Jesus.

And, for you to even challenge their pretend spirituality WELL YOU HAVE COMMITTED THE CARDINAL SIN worse than blasphemy.

This is the thing about pretence and GOD, it leads quickly to self examination AND SINCE NO MAN CAN “ROB” God, they automatically attack the person who causes them to look at themselves in that revealing way.

And as a result you will be subjected to this constant barrage of commentary about your simple question.

Over one year ago you introduced me to ghat site hymnal.net and whenever fellow parishioners are unsure of a tune I send them there while telling them that “a brother in Christ” gave me that valuable info.

It’s about authorship and being able to give credit to our sources AND IN THE ABSENCE OF KNOWING what a topic is, referring to those more knowledgeable than self for the answer.

You are going to be hated for questioning them about that “tag” to what was in the past just “may he/she rest in peace” now appended with the colourful “rise in Glory” bolt on.

I know it is hard interacting with these oft times lesser mortals but ask Him who is Within to direct you while you interact with these few people AND MANY SHEEPLE

33. Piece the Legend Avatar

Again your assistance please Honourable Blogmaster

34. Piece the Legend Avatar

Here is a matter that should be of greater significance to the same Royal Baygon Police Force

http://imgur.com/Lhzwlp2

Since dem so sanctimonious about criminal acts

Would you care to comment on if Pornville Inniss committed a crime in Barbados?

35. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    You raised very profound observations in relation to the attempts by various state and private apparatus to control and define freedom of speech.
    We talk a lot today about fake news but a deeper analysis would reveal, that we were fed a diet of fake news or was it information or fake history in our classrooms.
    Our freedom of expression was also brutally suppressed because we could not even promote our own culture without being accused as racists.
    Fake news, and attempts to deny the freedom of expression, were the weapons used from day one. The internet has now become the vehicle to ensure that those who control the information continue to rule.
    Like you said we need broader philosophical discourse and to connect the historical dots when looking at certain subjects.
    The only way for vulnerable societies such as ours to limit and prevent what was done to former generations is in the classroom. Freedom of expression must never be suppressed in order to protect the agents of corrupt state agencies.

36. @William

Agents of corrupt state agencies wield the power and influence to perpetrate what you are against therefore it is left to non agents of state agencies to do what?

Who are the non agents?

37. William Skinner Avatar

You are attempting to promote your thesis of citizen involvement. You full well know who are the “ non agents .
    For the record I have never questioned the importance of citizens in the process maintaining democracy.
    You and I part company when you defend the duopoly’s failed policies by blaming the citizens for not being more involved rather than castigate those who make the decisions for misleading the masses and engaging in non transparent activity.
    A case in point : citizens were bombarded by the fact that they were getting back long overdue tax returns. They were not bombarded with the news of the decision to stop them from claiming the child allowance on their returns.So many were caught off guard last week when they learned they could no longer claim the child allowance credit. Hence in real terms they are now paying in some cases more taxes since many depended on those allowances to ease they tax burden and to “ get back “ something.

38. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“You and I part company when you defend the duopoly’s failed policies by blaming the citizens for not being more involved rather than castigate those who make the decisions for misleading the masses and engaging in non transparent activity.”

This post has merit, given the RESULTS of the research some have done RECENTLY….we do need to stop blaming the victims on the island and THE BLACK POPULATION ARE THE VICTIMS….most NEVER even KNEW that they ARE supposed to have a voice, NEVER KNEW THEY WERE VICTIMS…….and even if they did…after DECADES of intimidation, bullying, marginalization AND disenfrsnchisement….by evil leaders….THEY WOULD BE TOO AFRAID….even if they knew how to use that voice….WHICH MOST OF THEM DON’T….

And all of these crimes against the black citizens…are BY DESIGN…engineered by EVIL BLACK LEADERS….and their bribe masters..

I always knew William knew more than he was letting on…he also knows it is time to clean up the island….and the evil leaders AND their bribemasters….GOTTA GO.

39. @William

This is not the point. In theory a civil society is made up of groups that must work in concert to deliver a quality community; the state, people. media etc. What we are observing not only in Barbados is a ceding of those responsibilities to other groups therefore leading dysfunction. It will never be perfect, we must do better.

40. ””””””””’You and I part company when you defend the duopoly’s failed policies by blaming the citizens for not being more involved rather than castigate those who make the decisions for misleading the masses and engaging in non transparent activity.””””””””

Sir William Skinner is at it again!

Skinner we never knew that you had the capacity to continue with this ‘axe to grind’ so long.

Is it not time to move on?

So instead of addressing issues which are worthy of your intellect you opt to spend your time here with minutiae

David is right to blame the citizenry for the failings of the leadership we elect.

Your over exhaled estimation about the role of a class of ‘leaders’ has always been misguided.

David has millennia of histories of failed leadership to prove his point. And because your class of leadership has so failed it must be the people to whom the duty falls to be ultimately responsible for governance. This is why revolutions, which you have previously supported, have legitimacy.

Skinner, stop with the fecking bits and pieces shiiiite! And return to some heavy lifting.

41. There is nothing wrong with having a philosophical bent but it must be infused with a sensible dose of pragmatism.

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PIECE
    YOUR ERUDITE PIECE IS NOTED

I DONT WORRY WITH THE DUMMIES BECAUSE IT IS WRITTEN AND I QUOTE THE LORD JESUS HIMSELF WHO SAID IN Matthew 5:11-13

11 Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake.

12 Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven: for so persecuted they the prophets which were before you.

13 Ye are the salt of the earth: but if the salt have lost his savour, wherewith shall it be salted? it is thenceforth good for nothing, but to be cast out, and to be trodden under foot of men.

IT SEEMS THAT JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.MEANS DO AND SAY WHAT PLEASES THE UNGODLY OR BE INSULTED

43. WARU-War-on-U Avatar

“David is right to blame the citizenry for the failings of the leadership we elect.”

That too has merit…but given the last 70 plus years and not MANY CHOICES….the duopoly has been….THE ONLY FILTHY GAME IN TOWN….and they have worked EXCEEDLY HARD…to keep the vile destructive to black minds….status quo alive and well…had they used that same negative energy….the NIS pension fund and taxpayer’s dollars to UPLIFT their own people….and turned their negative enetgy into positive….none of us would be hrre.

It is only NOW and many years of BU, FB and others…that the EYES OF THE PEOPLE ARE STARTING TO OPEN…

5 years ago ya could not get a black bajan to voice anything on FB….most on BU wanted to talk in CODES AND PARABLES….out of FEAR and FRIGHT…..and tried to get me to do it too…fat chance of that ever happening…. i dont have the patience for that dumb, backward shit..

……..it is only now….people are getting the courage to confront the DEMONS in their lives who REPEATEDLY SELL THEM OUT……and keep them in poverty…in public and on social media…cause the younger generation dont have the patience for that level of evil backwardness coming from wicked black leaders either..

We have come a long way….though still a work in progress

44. This is a blog

Some would like to think that they have a free speech right to preach to people and talk shiiite all day long from a book of biblical lies.

What about our rights not to have to see such shiiite!

We are sure these fecking Christians, or pretend Christians, would have objections if the books of other religions were ad nauseum quoted here, for colour

This writer does not recognize, as a right, anybody’s attempts to subject us to their shiiiite religious beliefs.

Such a ban will be forthrightly supported by us.

Not only Christian stinking dogma but the dogmas of all other religions as well.

There should be a harsh separation between Church and Blog!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As it is so established in the constitutions of most Western countries.

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

GP knows if he harangued people in his work place with that crappy religious terrorism in the US……he would have been fired….. he ismaking up for lost ground….you are warned about that in workplaces….. but i met Caribbean brainwashed people in the US who still insist on terrorizing people from that bible of lies…one even had to be threatened with a hard slap to shut up…..these are the most slave minded of the Caribbean people….the poison they spew is dangerous..

46. There is nothing wrong with having a philosophical bent but it must be infused with a sensible dose of pragmatism.(Quote)

Has this man ever studied philosophy?

47. Would you care to comment on if Pornville Inniss committed a crime in Barbados?

Against whom?

The State perhaps?

.. a private citizen?

The State should be investigating to see if a crime was committed against it, kind of like Mueller investigating to see if there was no collusion or obstruction.

Was a law broken?

Do we need any changes in laws to appoint an equivalent “Special Prosecutor”?

,,,, or ,,, Are the Police our “Special Prosecutors”?

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WARU

re GP knows if he harangued people in his work place with that crappy religious terrorism in the US……

I HAVE NEVER WORKED IN THE “WORK PLACE ” in the US THANK GOD

YOU SPEAK OF
    crappy religious terrorism

Caribbean brainwashed people in the US who still insist on terrorizing people from that bible of lies…

these are the most slave minded of the Caribbean people….

the poison they spew is dangerous..

BUT DAILY YOU TERRORIZE US WITH VIDEOS OF AN ANGRYT BLACK WOMEN BARKING AND BAYING LIKE A DOG

HAVE I EVER COMPLAINED?

DAILY YOU TERRORIZE US WITH VITRIOLOC VENOMOUS VIBES OF A VILE VIXEN

HAVE I EVER COMPLAINED?
    I AM TOLARANT ENOUGH TO SCROOL PAST AND LET YOU HAVE YOUR SAY

Peace, perfect peace, in this dark world of sin?
    The blood of Jesus whispers peace within.

Peace, perfect peace, by thronging duties pressed?
    To do the will of Jesus—this is rest.

Peace, perfect peace, with sorrows surging round?
    On Jesus’ bosom naught but calm is found.

Peace, perfect peace, with loved ones far away?
    In Jesus’ keeping we are safe, and they.

Peace, perfect peace, our future all unknown?
    Jesus we know, and He is on the throne.

Now the God of peace, that brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great shepherd of the sheep, through the blood of the everlasting covenant,

Make you perfect in every good work to do his will, working in you that which is wellpleasing in his sight, through Jesus Christ; to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen. hEBREWS 13:20:

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Pachamama July 15, 2019 7:16 AM

RE This is a blog SO WHAT? WHAT IS A BLOG BUT A MEANS OF COMMUNICATION?

RE Some would like to think that they have a free speech right to preach to people and talk shiiite all day long from a book of biblical lies.What about our rights not to have to see such shiiite!
    YOU ARE BLASPHEMING SIR
    AND YOU HAVE NEVER SEEN ME PREACH ON BU
    NOR DO I ATTAIN TO THE LEVEL OF SHITE YOU SPEW EVEN WHEN I AM JOKING
    NOR IS THE BIBLE A BOOK OF LIES- FULFILLED PROPHESY ATTESTS TO THAT

RE We are sure these fecking Christians, or pretend Christians, would have objections if the books of other religions were ad nauseum quoted here, for colour. This writer does not recognize, as a right, anybody’s attempts to subject us to their shiiiite religious beliefs.Not only Christian stinking dogma but the dogmas of all other religions as well.

FOR YEARS YOU AND MILLER HAVE SPOUTED AD NAUSEAM FROM YOUR ALTERNATIVE MYTHS AND FABLES AND DOGMA……..UH LIE? NO ONE HAS MUTTERED EVEN A MUMBLING WORD
    Such a ban will be forthrightly supported by us.

RE There should be a harsh separation between Church and Blog!!!!!!!!!!!!! As it is so established in the constitutions of most Western countries.

THERE YOU GO AGAIN LYING THROUGH YOUR TEETH
    OF WHICH constitutions of most Western countries DO YOU SPEAK.

50. GP…if it was your office…or some hospital or anywhere in US…you could not terrorize patients or anyone with ya useless bible bullshit….ah guess ya will tell me that you were in neither…

i can CLAIM success for what i do, there is a VALID reason for me being on the blog…

where is your success…

and where is your valid reason for spewing slave minded shite…

ya complain ad nauseaum about the evil nonsense practiced in Barbados, but neither bible verses,n or repeating shite ya know nothing about…has ever made any changes to the human rights abuses on the island or the crimes commmitted against black bajans by black skin cucharachas, but at least the blog….EXPOSES IT and has been doing so for 12 years…

what has your bible verses done to help YOUR PEOPLE..escape the CRIMES being committed against them by bible spewing frauds and hypocrites like yaself..