Time has changed. What have changed along with time?

Redistribution of income.
Non enforcement of Laws.
High levels of unemployment.
Justice system constipated
Lack of responsibility by key sectors of Society.

A recurring narrative in Barbados fuelled by an unprecedented number of murders recorded at the mid-year is the idea the political directorate has the solution. The political estate is a member of civil society and obviously has a major role to play, however, it cannot be a singular effort if we are to be successful.

For a long time this blogmaster has crystallized a view that the lack of civic awareness by John and Jane Citizen represents a large part of the challenge to sustain a quality society. Does the average John and Jane understand the meaning of civil society? It is a term that is freely included in discussions these days as the national debate shifts gears in reaction to the pace social, economic and environmental degradation in taking place in Barbados.

A World Bank definition of civil society “refers to a wide array of organizations: community groups, non-governmental organizations [NGOs], labour unions, indigenous groups, charitable organizations, faith-based organizations, professional associations, and foundations.” For many years Barbados authorities have boasted about the benefit of the Social Partnership comprised of government, labour unions and private sector. From observation through years of its existence the social partnership is triggered into action to respond to economic challenges. There is no malicious intent by the blogmaster to attack the social partnership. Any opportunity to bring interest groups to the table to pull on the peace pipe must be viewed as positive. What is instructive is that other islands having observed the Barbados model have seen the wisdom to expand membership in the social partnership by including other groups in civil society.

The quote by Vincent Codrington was posted as a contribution to identify factors responsible for a deteriorating social landscape in Barbados. He subsequently affirmed it is not an exhaustive list. What his contribution reinforces is that it will require a collective approach to attack present day challenges of crime to name one of the pressing ones. Leaders from every sphere of society must work to design the best approaches to wrestle back Barbados from the grip of dark forces.

Observing the commentary on social media, talk programs and street light chatter suggest there is a willingness by ordinary citizens to outsource the solution to our problem to government and political directorate. The government is a key member in civil society, however, it will require other members of civil society to deliver on respective mandates.

Besides the need for all groups in Barbados to work together in a meaningful way. The new normal of the times requires solutions to be tailored and implemented quickly by avoiding modalities from another time. It is accepted that extraordinary times require people to do extraordinary things to avoid chaos and dysfunction. All agree that we are experiencing unprecedented challenges and have reached the tipping point that should be a signal for everybody to rally if not for ourselves for the sake of the children.

130 responses to “A Time to Clasp Hands”

1. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Sorry…my bad…

Tron should be telling us why the previous Archcot owner was REFUSED a town planning permission to build, but permission was given to the Mottley’s within 6 months to build and allow Cow to DRILL near that same property that fell into the hole and killed 5 black people. NOT 2 BUT 3 OF THEM MINOR CHILDREN.…

2. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Tron……ya just being a goddamn useless yardfowl…both you and the current administration want locking up …all of you are goddamn blights in the lives of the black population…..you cause deaths, you threaten people, you intimidate them, you steal from them…you are the original sell out negros, you are USELESS ON THE EARTH…

i can tell you in two or three other languages if ya going to misinterpret standard english as you dumb asses are known to do..

ustedes son los negros que se agotaron originalmente, USTEDES SON LOS INOLVIDENTES DE LA TIERRA

vous etes la liquidation originale negros, VOUS ETES L’INUTILE SUR LA TERRE

3. fortyacresandamule July 8, 2019 1:25 PM

@Mariposa. What is wrong with a black woman choosing to wear her hair naturally? Don’t project your low self-esteem and self-worth on Ms Motley.

Hey de hair 💇 must look as if it was properly groomed
    Not like a cloth mop that was used well beyond its expiration date
    Hope she is not using coconut oil on the hair that can leave a repulsive odor if the hair is not often wash
    Good grief one look at her hair and makes wonder as to when last she combed it
    Ugly

4. Mariposa,

You should have consulted your DLP ministers about their outfit. They looked like cavemen in their suits as they had just been pulled out of their hole. An etiquette course for the meal would also have been appropriate. I felt very uncomfortable sitting at the table with someone who couldn’t eat with a knife and fork.

5. CARICOM sources say Prime Minister Andrew Holness stormed out a meeting at the 40th Annual Heads of Government summit in Castries, St. Lucia on Thursday.

Mr. Holness apparently disagreed with his regional colleagues on the position adopted on the contribution to be made by the so-called developed countries of CARICOM.

The Prime Minister supposedly indicated that Jamaica has financial issues to deal with and noted that a decision had been made some years ago that the country would not be part of the second tranche payment to the CARICOM Development Fund (CDF).

The CDF is mandated to provide financial or technical assistance to disadvantaged countries, regions and sectors in CARICOM.

Informed sources say Jamaica is questioning the accuracy of report of previous meetings on the matter.

Jamaica’s position is reportedly to opt out of making a contribution to the CDF at this time.

However, some Caribbean countries such as Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Antigua and Barbuda, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and St. Kitts-Nevis contend that Jamaica cannot opt out and that it is an obligation of each member by way of treaty.

Further, sources say that the other Caribbean countries argue that if Jamaica cannot pay at this time, they should acknowledge that they owe and make it a debt payable.

6. Govt minister lashes out at parents in the most distasteful and insenstive manner accusing parents of creating a breeding ground for criminals
    Just maybe if govt in time of plenty had used some of the financial resources to create an environment that is beneficial to the total well being of the youth enabling them to become productive people of the society barbados would not be reaping the negative implications of a society with youth gone wild
    Was it not this govt that in their haste to pay govt debt do way with some programs geared to develop a positive enviroment for the youth
    What Weir should be staying are those measures which this govt have on hand that are important in creating an enviroment where it is necessary to channel the youth mind in the right direction instead of lambasting parents
    All evidence now points to a govt who after making gloriuos promises when handed with the overflow of job losses and high crime is clueless

7. Tribute to the future President of the Republic of Barbados.

8. The hardest working Prime Minister in the world.

Prime Minister Mia Mottley has called the state of Government’s housing estates “an unacceptable situation”.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240643/mottley-housing-estates-par

9. @ Hants
    Hardest working prime minister or a prime minister that erroneously believes she alone has the answers. Does she have a minster of housing? Can she delegate?
    In the press briefing after her grand European tour, the attorney general was specifically asked a question by a young female reporter; he said a couple words and then the prime minister finished the answer. Watch her at press conferences and you will notice that she answers all questions, no matter who the question is directed at.
    This is an obsession, a belief in her omnipotence, her supremacy. She even said at the press briefing that her colleagues have told her to take a rest; she won’t, because she fears things will go wrong if she is away.
    Such behaviour would not be tolerated in any European or North American business. In fact, it is a sure sign that a boss who refuses to take leave is hiding something. S/he would be ordered to take leave.
    It is going to end in tears.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

She was not afraid something would go wrong when she rushed off to Morocco…but something did anyway….through her own dumb actions and refusal to clean up corruption….she got slapped with a human trafficking label,.

11. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

DBLP sins…just keep following and following and following them…..as deserved…..

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/1068242243385314/?t=16

12. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Never thought i would say this, i know trump can be out there with his bullshit, but…if he really said this, he does have a point, and the same applies to the asses for black leaders in the Caribbean, minus the oil, diamonds, gold etc for most of them…but BLACK LEADERS ARE JACKASSES…and i have myself been wondering if they are human they are so fcking STUPID, SELFISH, GREEDY, BACKWARD and care NOTHING FOR THEIR OWN PEOPLE…..

……and when Trump can see this…ya know ya got a goddamn problem knowing his level of reasoning..

And that is despite wicked, TIEFING FRANCE and all the crimes they committed against Africa and Africans…and let’s not talk of the frigging idiots in Barbados and the Caribbean…..black leaders STILL LEARN NOTHING…

“You’re Not Humans, How Can You Sit On Gold, Diamond And Oil And Still Be Poor-Donald Trump Descends On Africa Again
    By Radio Tamale Last updated May 23, 2019
    President of the United States of America, Donald Trump has hit hard at Africans once again, this time asking whether they are really qualified to be called humans.

Support Us at Radio Tamale by following Us on facebook Radio Tamale 91.7

He says “if you sit on Gold, diamond, oil, manganese, uranium and your people don’t have food, are you humans?”.

See Mr. Trump’s five strong questions he poses to African heads of state.

N/R: Kpawumo residents seek support from NPP regional chairman – Chairman Samba

“I don’t need to harass you like the French Presidents say that France-Africa is over, yet they keep sending you the fake tourists who spy on you and come back and tell them how you should be recolonised.”

“If after 50 years of independence you have not built the necessary infrastructure for your people are you humans?

“If you sit on gold, diamond, oil, manganese, uranium… and your people don’t have food, are you humans?

“If to stay in power, you don’t hesitate to buy weapons from strangers to kill your own citizens, are you humans?

“If your only social project is to stay in power for life, are you humans?

“If you despise and shoot your own citizens like game, who will respect them?”

13. Trump has no moral authority to call out heads of any govt after the despicable way he has treated hungry families at the mexican border seeking asylum in the USA

14. I hate to say this..
    I would ask similar questions, but I would not question their humanity.

And as you pointed out, basically we have the same thing in the Caribbean “minus the oil, diamonds, gold etc”

It is sickening….

15. Yes there are questions to be asked but not by a man who has shown openly that his moral values are formulated by self interest not so far removed from those he condemns
    Had not for thorough oversight and a Constitution Trump would be a dicatator

16. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Theo……..he has no right to question their humanity…but we have EVERY right to question their INHUMANITY TO BLACK PEOPLE LIKE THEMSELVES WHO LOOK JUST LIKE THEM…they are indeed cruel brutal and inhumane to their own black people as soon as they have even a smidgen of power over them, they suddenly turn all beast and only want to see and BE SEEN with people who do not look as black as they are, they NEVER WANT TO ENRICH THEIR OWN PEOPLE….

…something is fundamentally wrong with that idiotology…ya can’t call that racism against their own people by black ass leaders anything else but racism…they are vicious.

17. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

I remember reading Kwame’s books as a young teenager, what he opined about African descended people and their miseducated and damaged minds…rings as true today as it did decades ago…

“How African Minds Have Been Destroyed By Western Education
    Share this article

Tatenda Gwaambuka
    Sun, Jun 23, 2019
    The bodies may be in Africa but the minds are in the streets of Paris and London. Eurocentric education has ensured the African hates himself and loves his erstwhile master. Colonialism is a matter of consciousness and should be fought in the minds.

In Consciencism: Philosophy and Ideology for Decolonisation, Kwame Nkrumah gave what should be a stark warning to the African educated elite. He pointed out that colonial subjects in pre-independence Africa could be so seduced by Western philosophies and theories that they could surrender their whole personality to them. He added that once this happens to a colonial subject, “he loses sight of the fundamental social fact that he is a colonial subject” and he thus fails to gain anything that could free him from the shackles of colonialism.

His message was as true for the learned colonial subject as it is for the modern day African who struggles not with political decolonization but decolonization of the mind. Nkrumah was speaking to colonial subjects who he said were selected for being seemingly fit to become enlightened servants of the colonial administration. It, therefore, exposes the nature of education: to make good African servants of imperialist capital.

That the Africans were miseducated to make them worthy servants is confirmed by Stanislav Andreski in The African Predicament where he said: “the education system laid stress on literary and legal studies and neglected industrial and commercial training, not to speak of the agricultural”. The educated became a new class of African elites who George Ayittey says acted like colonialists, wore their clothes, spoke their languages, drove their cars and talked about Western art and culture in an attempt to be accepted. The same elites were spoken of by Carter Woodson, in his seminal work, The Miseducation of the Negro:

The “educated Negroes” have the attitude of contempt toward their own people because in their own as well as in their mixed schools Negroes are taught to admire the Hebrew, the Greek, the Latin and the Teuton and to despise the African.
    Woodson’s observation was as true for the negro in the United States of America as it was for the negro in the continent of Africa. Also true was his observation that it is a lynching of the worst kind to convince the African that his black face is a curse and his struggle to change his condition is hopeless.

The education of the African has, therefore, historically sought to create a worthy, obedient servant of him. It is not meant to intellectually or economically empower him and the fact that Africa has not seen an education revolution betrays the largely uninterrupted continuation of the colonial system despite attaining independence. African universities went through a period of Africanization which has proved to be nothing but cosmetic tinkering by introducing black educators and leadership, yet the Eurocentric values of the system remain. African bodies may be in Africa but the minds are trapped in the boulevards of Paris and London. Political colonization of Africa has ensured that members of the African race suffer what Sabelo Gatsheni, calls epistemicides (the killing of African knowledge), linguisticides (the killing of African languages) and theft of history. This is all a part of the greater dehumanization project of capitalist imperialism. The African has been convinced that he has no history, he has no language and in the end, he is no human unless the West validates his humanity through education. The educated African becomes a surrogate white man with an absolute revulsion of his true identity and self. In the worst cases, the African is simply ignorant of who he truly is.

To overcome underdevelopment and dependence, Claude Ake suggests that we understand the imperialist character of Western social science and exorcise the attitudes of mind it inculcates. In a similar vein, Ashis Nandy warns that Africa should be aware of the “intimate enemy” that is colonialism. It resides in the colonized’s heart, mind, and body, naturalizing itself in such a manner that the colonized internalizes Eurocentricism. Ashis prescribes the remedy as appreciating that “colonialism is, first of all, a matter of consciousness and needs to be defeated ultimately in the minds of men”. The African needs to reawaken his knowledge systems. He needs to rehumanize himself as a dignified member of society with both a history and a future. Once he establishes his history, his present humanity becomes an incontrovertible given. The African, whether on the continent or elsewhere needs to reclaim his heroes and his whitewashed history as well as appreciate his future potential in global affairs. African universities and schools need to be at the forefront of the movement to decolonize the mind and re-dignify Africans.”

18. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Well worth repeating for those who would miss the irony even if it hit them on the head..just in time to show us WHY BLACK LEADERS…are such dumb asses…

“The “educated Negroes” have the attitude of contempt toward their own people because in their own as well as in their mixed schools Negroes are taught to admire the Hebrew, the Greek, the Latin and the Teuton and to despise the African.
    Woodson’s observation was as true for the negro in the United States of America as it was for the negro in the continent of Africa. Also true was his observation that it is a lynching of the worst kind to convince the African that his black face is a curse and his struggle to change his condition is hopeless.”

19. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Yep…the classical ignorant negro pretending to be elite…and look where it got them

the shite lawyers…most of whom are thieves…

the unimportant that has African descended people on a backward slide and glide..

the shitehounds in Barbados, as soon as they enter the blighted ass old slave parliament…they are suddenly elites, they have no goddamn shame they are so stupid…lol

“That the Africans were miseducated to make them worthy servants is confirmed by Stanislav Andreski in The African Predicament where he said: “the education system laid stress on literary and legal studies and neglected industrial and commercial training, not to speak of the agricultural”. The educated became a new class of African elites who George Ayittey says acted like colonialists, wore their clothes, spoke their languages, drove their cars and talked about Western art and culture in an attempt to be accepted. The same elites were spoken of by Carter Woodson, in his seminal work, The Miseducation of the Negro:”

20. In case ya missed it on FB…the jesus bullshit is INDEED a HOAX…as intelligent people who are not slave minded know cause they were BORN WITH THE KNOWLEDGE….

…. it was designed by the ROMANS….TO ENSLAVE WEAK MINDS…..TO CONTROL WEAK MINDS, using an enslavement system…and IT WORKED…you goddamn idiots..

how could yall not know this and still on BU arguing shite….all the damn time..

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE …. it was designed by the ROMANS….TO ENSLAVE WEAK MINDS…..TO CONTROL WEAK MINDS, using an enslavement system…and IT WORKED…you goddamn idiots..

ACTUALLY THE HEBREW BIBLE EXISTED AND WAS TRANSLATED INTO GREEK BEFORE THE EXISTENCE OF THE ROMANS

IN FACT THE BOOK OF DANIEL PROPHESIED THAT THE ROMAN EMPIRE WOULD FOLLOW THAT OF THE GREEKS

WHEREAS THE CONSTANTINE SOUGHT TO DESTROY THE CHURCH BY WATERING IT DOWN VIA THE ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH, HE FAILED BECAUSE THEY WERE THOSE WHO NEVER SUBSCRIBED TO THESE IDEAS.

READ THE TRAIL OF BLOOD OR THE FAITHFUL BAPTIST WITNESS AND LEARN ABOUT THIS

LEARN ALSO ABOUT THE REFORMATION AND HOW THE PLYMOUTH BRETHREN EVOLVED IN IRELAND AND PLYMOUTH LED BY JOHN NELSON DARBY

PLEASE KINDLY STICK TO YOUR FORTE OF POSTING VIDEOS ON WHICH NO ONE COMMENTS BY THAT UGLY MISERABLE WOMAN

22. GP…..all is shite, they even stole info from books in Africa to create their lies and distractions…to fool the gullible like you…lol

anyway, ya boyfriend on a roll…let’s see where it leads..don’t know why they thought Boris would support anyone in UK, he is a New Yorker and so is trump..lol.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-48937120?fbclid=IwAR3C7dwFe8KAxpCBZwq6IjXnorKgPcuDzguz6bLrytjnUBh5ne26rpCx_OE

“Sir Kim Darroch has resigned as UK ambassador to the US, as a row over leaked emails critical of President Trump’s administration escalates.

Theresa May said Sir Kim’s departure was “a matter of deep regret” after the ambassador said it was “impossible” for him to continue.

Meanwhile, one minister said Boris Johnson had thrown Sir Kim “under a bus” by not fully supporting him.

President Trump said on Monday that the US would not deal with Sir Kim.

The US president had branded him “a very stupid guy” after emails emerged where the ambassador had called his administration “clumsy and inept”.

In a letter to the Foreign Office, Sir Kim said he wanted to end speculation about his position: “The current situation is making it impossible for me to carry out my role as I would like.

“Although my posting is not due to end until the end of this year, I believe in the current circumstances the responsible course is to allow the appointment of a new ambassador.”

The leak was described as “malicious” by head of the diplomatic service Sir Simon McDonald, who told Sir Kim: “You are the best of us.”

He told the Commons’ foreign affairs committee it was the first time in his career that a head of state had refused to work with a British ambassador.”

23. Damn skippy…it just does not get better than this, it just can’t, if it get’s any better…i retire…

and the Don is going to make mucho mileage…wuhloss…dammit, does he even know how this could play out…wow, wow, wow…is anyone intelligent advising him, not that little bald head shitehound racist Steven Miller, dude is an idiot.

“President Trump could well wake up this morning thinking he has the power to veto who the UK has as its ambassador.

The US knows that Britain is fairly isolated right now internationally and needs the US more than ever. Donald Trump has wielded that power mercilessly in this row.”

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

IT HAS BEEN SAID COCKROACH AINT GOT NO RIGHT IN FRONT FOWL COCK

UM IS TRUE!

THE AMBASSADOR GOT HUFF FOR HIS PUFF LIKE TEKING SNUFF

LIKKLE EMPLOYEE GET PUT IN HIS PLACE

25. GP…….this kind of stuff comes with nuff, nuff BLOWBACK…we gotta wait for the fall out..don’t gloat yet, ya can smell the vexation from here..lol

26. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

When yall corrupt government ministers who think ya invincible and untouchable TIEFING BIG…be sure to put down many, many millions to pay in fines…lol..cause they are always claiming to be innocent but can NEVER explain how they came to be in possession of all that money..

“Former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner has been ordered to pay a US$79 million penalty stemming from the FIFA bribery scandal.

The Associated Press reports that a federal judge in New York City imposed the judgment against Warner on Tuesday, in a lawsuit brought by the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF).

The 2017 suit accused Warner of embezzling millions of dollars from the soccer association.

It said he arranged kickbacks in connection with broadcasting rights for regional tournaments.

The civil allegations mirrored ones in a U.S. criminal investigation that has resulted in convictions of several top soccer officials.”

Warner is still fighting extradition in Trinidad and Tobago, where he has denied any wrongdoing.

He has not left Trinidad and Tobago since he was named in the indictment in May 2015 and remains on bail.

The 76-year-old is accused of 12 corruption offences, including racketeering, corruption and money laundering but denies wrongdoing.”

27. Barbados Anyone?

Don’t feed criminals and blame police­—Griffith

Trinidad Com­mis­sion­er of Po­lice Gary Grif­fith in­sists it is “ab­solute mad­ness” for any­one in au­thor­i­ty to con­tend that a gang mem­ber with­out pend­ing crim­i­nal charges can con­tin­ue re­ceiv­ing State con­tracts, os­ten­si­bly chal­leng­ing a state­ment by Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley that it is sole­ly the du­ty of the Po­lice Ser­vice to bring down crim­i­nal gangs.

Grif­fith dou­bled down on his po­si­tion on Fri­day as he re­spond­ed to the ar­gu­ment that po­lice try­ing to crack down on gang vi­o­lence should gath­er ev­i­dence to charge gang mem­bers un­der the An­ti-Gang Act.

Grif­fith has re­peat­ed­ly called out the State for fund­ing crim­i­nal en­ter­pris­es by giv­ing gang lead­ers lu­cra­tive con­tracts for in­fra­struc­ture projects.

Po­lice have blamed gang vi­o­lence for the re­cent surge in homi­cides.

As the mur­der count bar­rels to­ward 300, the T&T Po­lice Ser­vice (TTPS) yes­ter­day con­firmed that 19 peo­ple were killed be­tween Sun­day and yes­ter­day af­ter­noon.

The com­mis­sion­er said the po­lice should not be sin­gled out for what per­sons in lead­er­ship fail to do.

“It is ab­solute mad­ness that any­body that holds a po­si­tion of au­thor­i­ty could feel that by giv­ing crim­i­nal el­e­ments funds and mon­ey that you feel you could ac­tu­al­ly be Pon­tius Pi­late, turn a blind eye, and throw blame on the Po­lice Ser­vice. I will not in any way have any­one throw blame on the Po­lice Ser­vice when they are not do­ing their job,” Grif­fith said dur­ing a tele­phone in­ter­view with Guardian Me­dia yes­ter­day.

“You do not try to feed an en­e­my and then af­ter tell law en­force­ment to deal with the en­e­my,” the com­mis­sion­er said.

At the post-Cab­i­net me­dia brief­ing on Thurs­day, Prime Min­is­ter Dr Kei­th Row­ley was asked to re­spond to the con­tents of a Spe­cial Branch re­port which said sev­en gang lead­ers had ben­e­fit­ed from mul­ti-mil­lion con­tracts from two re­gion­al cor­po­ra­tions con­trolled by the in­cum­bent Peo­ple’s Na­tion­al Move­ment.

Row­ley said the Gov­ern­ment is “not go­ing to get in­volved” in the re­spon­si­bil­i­ty of the TTPS to gath­er ev­i­dence and charge gang mem­bers. He said gov­ern­ment passed the An­ti-Gang law in Par­lia­ment to make mem­ber­ship in a gang a crim­i­nal of­fence, giv­ing the TTPS the leg­isla­tive tool to bring gang lead­ers to book.

He said if there is in­for­ma­tion that some­one is a gang mem­ber, “then they should be charged. And not be­ing charged for get­ting a con­tract but be­ing charged for be­ing in­volved in gang ac­tiv­i­ty.” He stopped short of ad­dress­ing whether some­one sus­pect­ed of be­ing a gang leader should be re­ceiv­ing funds from the State.

Grif­fith said yes­ter­day he did not want to re­spond to the Prime Min­is­ter’s com­ments.

But he in­sist­ed, “There will be civil­ians who will not un­der­stand law en­force­ment. Be­cause some­one is in­volved in crim­i­nal ac­tiv­i­ty it does not mean that you can eas­i­ly ar­rest them.

“A civil­ian will not un­der­stand the dif­fer­ence be­tween in­for­ma­tion, in­tel­li­gence and ev­i­dence, so telling peo­ple, ‘Well, you know who the crim­i­nals are, so ar­rest them.’ it does not make any sense.”

The com­mis­sion­er said gang lead­ers in­vest the rev­enue from State con­tracts in­to oth­er busi­ness­es. He said they al­so use the funds to buy-out of­fi­cials in the Ju­di­cia­ry and law en­force­ment, mak­ing it dif­fi­cult to mount a suc­cess­ful pros­e­cu­tion un­der the An­ti-Gang Act.

Grif­fith sits on the Na­tion­al Se­cu­ri­ty Coun­cil, which is chaired by the Prime Min­is­ter. The Na­tion­al Se­cu­ri­ty Min­is­ter, who is the line min­is­ter for the TTPS, is al­so a mem­ber of the coun­cil.

Asked whether he has spo­ken di­rect­ly with Na­tion­al Se­cu­ri­ty Min­is­ter Stu­art Young about yank­ing State con­tracts from the hands of gang lead­ers, Grif­fith said it would be in­ap­pro­pri­ate to com­ment on con­fi­den­tial com­mu­ni­ca­tions with the min­is­ter.

But Grif­fith did say the TTPS has giv­en the State “all in­for­ma­tion re­quired to show that the State is mak­ing it dif­fi­cult” for po­lice of­fi­cers to crack down on gang vi­o­lence.

“The State, through in­tel­li­gence, you can ver­i­fy that these in­di­vid­u­als have been in­stru­men­tal in crim­i­nal-re­lat­ed ac­tiv­i­ty. Why give them tax­pay­ers mon­ey through State con­tracts?” Grif­fith ques­tioned.

Does the com­mis­sion­er be­lieve mem­bers of gov­ern­ment are lis­ten­ing to his ap­peals?

“The ju­ry will be still out on that,” he replied.

Does he be­lieve he is be­ing set up to fail?

“I will con­tin­ue to do and say what is re­quired to make this a safe coun­try and if it falls in any­one’s gar­den, well, in lo­cal par­lance, it’s a hard luck,” he re­spond­ed.

Guardian Me­dia sent ques­tions to the Prime Min­is­ter via What­sApp on Fri­day ask­ing why the State would wait for an of­fi­cial charge to redi­rect con­tracts away from peo­ple whom in­tel­li­gence sug­gests are in­volved in crim­i­nal en­ter­pris­es.

He did not re­spond.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/dont-feed-criminals-and-blame-policegriffith-6.2.890515.441d085cd4

28. Five Drug Lords invited to Barbados Parliament in 2018 by new Government rings a bell with increasing crime and murders?

29. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240841/jobs-weed

The new and blossoming cannabis or marijuana industry in Canada may turn out to be an employment blessing in disguise for Barbadians seeking jobs abroad.

Barbados’ Consul-General in Toronto, Sonia Marville-Carter, confirmed that consultants and human resource decision makers have expressed interest in securing Barbadians to work in the sector that has emerged as one of Canada’s fastest growing industries.