Solutions Barbados recently held their Annual General Meeting.  All Executive positions are for one-year terms, and Grenville Phillips II was re-elected to serve another term as President.

Politicians in all of the political parties, who participated in the last general election, know that politics is not only a very dirty game, but a cesspool of some of the worst types of behaviour.  The public gets a glimpse of how vile politics truly is, by the constant accusations of gross corruption that our Members of Parliament regularly accuse each other in our House of Assembly.

All politicians constantly face two main temptations, and the public always pays a very high price if politicians surrender to them.  Solutions Barbados Candidates are also aware of the significant harm to their professional reputations and their families if they fail in this manner.  Therefore, we have taken drastic steps to protect the public and our families, by willingly restraining ourselves.

The first temptation is accepting bribes, and politicians facing severe financial challenges are most vulnerable.  Politicians who cannot afford their mortgage payments are extremely vulnerable to accepting bribes.

To address the bribery temptation, all Solutions Barbados Candidates willingly sign a binding contract, to go bankrupt if they accept bribes.  Each Candidate’s contract is terminated at the end of each election cycle if the Candidate is not elected.  Once terminated, the contract may be renewed.

Of the 28 Solutions Barbados Candidates in the 2018 General Election, 17 chose to protect the public by renewing their contracts.  Of those who chose not to, approximately half found the cesspool of politics to dirty to continue, while the remainder chose to continue their quest with other parties, but unrestrained by our contract.

The second temptation is far more sinister – and permanent.  It is the corrupting influence of power.  British politician, Lord Acton, observably wrote over a century ago, “Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. Great men are almost always bad men.”

From our last general election experience, it appears to be the craving for power that can corrupt previously decent people very quickly and very easily.  It also corrupts them stealthily, so that persons are unaware of how far they have fallen.  It is this craving for power that led Judas to deceptively betray Jesus.  Deception and betrayal are the two obvious symptoms of persons corrupted by craving power.

To address the corrupting influence of craving power, Solutions Barbados Candidates have deliberately chosen not to become career politicians.  We offer ourselves to the public for two simple reasons.  The first is to bring relief to Barbadians who have had enough of the gross mismanagement and political corruption that both established parties regularly accuse the other.  The second is to actively help all Barbadians to prosper.

If voters have had enough of what they have been forced to tolerate from both established parties, and want prosperity for their households, then they are welcome to support Solutions Barbados candidates – for their own benefit.  Our economic growth plan, which was independently favourably assessed, and which the Prime Minister promised would be allowed to contend (a broken promise), can still be used to bring prosperity to Barbadian households without austerity.

We are committed to offering ourselves to properly manage the public affairs of Barbados, whenever the next general election is called.  Unlike the last election when voters felt that they needed to vote against the DLP, this time, they can choose to actually vote for something good.

If voters have not yet had enough of the dirty political game by then, then we will accept their decision as final for us.  To continue to offer ourselves to an unwilling public after the next general election, is for us, to crave power.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

178 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Power Can Corrupt Very Good People”

1. Heard Atherley saying that behind all the policies implemented by govt is an undertow of political stench that lends itself to selfserving actions by this govt pertaining to harsh and fast punishment on the people with an intent to push these austerity methods forward as fast as possible getting them out of the way before the next election
    Hopefully on that scorecard bajans would not have short memories as the feeling of pain and suffering would be a lasting memory which gives enough reason to say to govt No more you must Go

2. As usual, you are being silly by attempting to politicize a serious situation.

The police has indicated that, acting on intelligence received, they were able to prevent a number of “hits” (assassinations) on specific individuals from occurring.

On March 17, 2019 a 52 one year old female and her 30 year old son were murdered at their Rices, St. Philip residence.

Please “tell” BU what “methods taken by government” could have prevented the armed assailants from committing this “double homicide?”

In April 2019, a woman was stabbed to death by her former lover, in the verandah of her #19 Frere Pilgrim Main Road, Christ Church home.

On Monday, June 20, 2019 a private security guard on board the MV Dreamchaser, was killed after he intervened in a fight which occurred moments before docking. It was reported that “the assailant exited the boat and returned with two other males. Security was alerted and a struggle ensued, resulting in the security guard being shot.”

According to you, “the PM is in charge of the justice system.” What methods could she have employed to prevent these “spur of the moment” murders from occurring?

As I have mentioned in a previous contribution to this forum, several of the murder victims and assailants were on the “radar” as far back as 2010…… evidenced by their recorded involvement in violent crimes and the police issuing “wanted bulletins” on them. Some of them had a history of “having a beef with someone,” which ultimately led to their deaths.

Also, prior to 2019, a number of known “drug lords” and “hit men” were being selectively assassinated…… for example, such as the September 2016 assassination of “Rick” Bryan by a group of men at Warrens;
    June 10, 2017 – Stephen Leonard Agard, formerly of the “Farm,” was shot and killed on the old compound of KFC, Black Rock;
    June 28, 2017 – Jerome “Wild Geese” Bovell, who was killed in St. Stephen’s Hill, Black Rock (it is alleged that Bovell was the person that shot Agard);…… and the list goes on.

This trend of “revenge killings” has continued and escalated in 2019.

Since you are “laying the blame of these murders at the feet” of the present BLP administration………..

…………. perhaps you may want to share with BU what policies your DLP administration IMPLEMENTED during its 10 year tenure to curb this trend in “hits” and violet crimes that has continued into 2019?

Surely if any unbiased individual looks at this crime situation reasonably and rationally……. he/she would conclude both BLP and DLP administrations must SHARE the BLAME.

3. the BLP bruited about the long and breath of this island that the DLP was doing nothing about crime and indicated they had a plan that they would implement when they come into power. they are in power now, where is the plan?

4. The police cam say anything they dam
    Acting on intelligence means nothing to the concerns of barbadians
    The evidence which now shows daily rampage of murders
    So much for jumbled words by police to appease a few
    28 murders and counting
    What people need to see is action

5. This country is on the tipping point of a social meltdown and Mia runs all over the world like a chicken with head cut off
    Meanwhile her bloated cabinet reacts clueless

6. Here the old people at the polyclinic can’t get their medicine
    Yet this govt hoots and hollers about reserves in good standing
    Good grief where is their sensitivity
    Peoples backs are literally push against a brick wall and this govt sends signals of good faith to the IMF

7. All lies
    Was it not Minister Jordan who stated in a public forum that the benefits taken away from the people would be restored immediately
    Well lo and behold almost three weeks later and none such has happen
    Bold face liars and scalliwags feeders of the govt trough for friends and consultants while the poor and vulnerable eat salt

8. “the BLP bruited about the long and breath of this island that the DLP was doing nothing about crime and indicated they had a plan that they would implement when they come into power. they are in power now, where is the plan?”

The above comment is essentially an admission that the crime situation predates this present BLP administration.

However, rather than discussing the crime situation rationally and reasonably, we prefer to politicize the issue into a BLP versus DLP scenario.

And since the contributor is going in that direction, I’m forced to remind him of the promises the DLP made in their 2008 and 2013 election manifestos relative to the crime situation in Barbados (which I’m sure he would have already read).

On page 49 of the DLP’s 2008 manifesto, under the heading “(23) Law and Order:

The DLP believes that law enforcement needs to be stepped up in order to restore law and order in Barbados. It also believes that greater protection should be offered to the source of our income, captive tourists.

As a matter of urgency, the new DLP Government will:

…..Provide better remuneration for Police Officers
    …..Improve and/or build new police stations in designated areas
    …..Increase the ranks in the police force creating more promotion opportunities
    …..Upgrade the Government Forensic Sciences Centre to help solve outstanding crimes and restore confidence in law enforcement agencies
    …..Permit the police force to function free of political interference
    ….Convert Glendairy Prison into a publicly funded modern drug treatment and rehabilitation centre.

I found “Permit the police force to function free of political interference” to be very interesting after the “political havoc” Guyson Mayers wreaked on the RBPF and the low morale caused as a result.

On page 54 of their 2013 election manifesto, under the caption of “The Royal Barbados Police Force,” this was the DEMS plans to address crime:

“The police are the main civil authority with responsibility for the maintenance of law and order during times of normalcy. They are the first line of defence of our democratic way of life. A well trained, professional police establishment is essential to the creation of an environment that is conducive to the attraction of new investments from local and foreign sources, and the sustained improvement in the quality of life of our people.”

THE NEW DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY ADMINISTRATION WILL:

…..Continue to upgrade the technical capacity of the Force through training;
    …..Upgrade and expand the range of management training;
    …..Replace outdated equipment;
    …..Continue the refurbishment of police stations;
    …..Refurbish the Central Police headquarters building;
    …..Expand the range of community policing;
    …..Upgrade the status of the Regional Police Training Centre to a College with consequential upgrading of curricula.

Please indicate if any or how many of the objectives outlined in the 2008 and 2013 manifestos, as it relates to crime….. were achieved.

TO BE FAIR….if there aren’t any achievements that could be identified, the, was the BLP “telling lies” re: “….the DLP was doing nothing about crime?”

9. “The police cam say anything they dam…….Acting on intelligence means nothing to the concerns of barbadians…”

As I have mentioned in previous contributions, sometimes you make some very interesting and valid contributions.

However, there are times when you let the “spot on,” “you are correct” and “keep digging” accolades “swell your head.”

This is one of those times.

The political yard-fowl you are, it’s obvious you would dismiss the comment about intelligence, while refusing to acknowledge the salient points in my contribution……. because it fits the purpose of your political agenda.

Additionally, you have REFUSED to “tell” this forum what policies ANY government could implement to prevent people from committing “spur of the moment” violent crimes.

I recall when contributors to this forum and the general public were critical of the former DLP administration, you joined Donville Inniss, Stephen Lashley and other DEMS to admonish those critics……

…………….while asking them to “bring solutions”…… or telling them to “stop criticizing and bring solutions.”

Since May 25, 2018, (and so far) all you have been “bringing to the table were criticisms” only…….. and “not a single solution.”

I guess, under those circumstances, the critics of the former administration were “thinking of self and not country,” not loyal to Barbados…..and were WRONG to criticize “government”………..

………. but the criticisms of the current BLP administration are justified.

In MY opinion, what is more IMPORTANT is the FACT that REASONABLY and RATIONALLY thinking Barbadians have long CONCLUDED successive BLP and DLP administrations have FAILED Barbados.

10. Hey lest u forget Mia said that she could do better
    Go read the Covenant of Hope and the blp manifesto
    All dated 2018

11. Why should i bring solutions Mia hired an army of consultants and advisors
    That is their job
    Not mine

12. Oh and dont forget the hilarious Monkey Survey to check the pulse of the people
    What more solutions
    As if all of the above was not enough she brought back the tainted Commissioner of police
    Dont mek me laugh
    This smoke and mirror charade about to blow little barbados into smithereens

13. @Artax

You have spare time on your hands?

14. Artax

it seems to me that you are admitting that the BLP is just as useless as the DLP if not as lied. that admission is fine with me. Now that they are the Govt then they should get their fingers out and do something about the murders

15. “Hey lest u forget Mia said that she could do better…..”

That’s a fair comment.

.But lest you forget, your comment is similarly applicable to the situation when in 2008 David Thompson said he could do better than Owen Arthur, which was subsequently reiterated by Freundel Stuart.

The 24 credit rating downgrades and the 30-0 drubbing during the May 2018 general elections, among other things, clearly indicated they failed to do better.

By your logic, it was the job of the DLP’s parliamentarians, consultants and advisors to provide solutions. Therefore, your suggesting people “should not criticize, but bring solutions” is “NULL and VOID”……. and the critics were justified in criticizing the former DLP administration and not offering solutions in the process as well.

Anything you mention would NOT negate what I previously mentioned …………. what is IMPORTANT is the fact that rationally and reasonably thinking Barbadians have long concluded successive BLP and DLP administrations have failed Barbados.

Additionally, I’m happy the younger generation is moving away from your political yard-fowl way of reasoning, evidenced by the 30-0 drubbing you received on May 24, 2018. If the youngsters remain consistent, the BLP can expect to be treated similarly to the DEMS in the 2023 general elections.

I do not believe the DEMS can “bounce back” by now and the next general elections. And that’s why I’m hoping for the emergence of a viable political party, (the membership of which should NOT include former members of the BLP or DLP)…… and that they would be successful in 2023……

The BLP was established in 1938 and the DLP in 1955. After 81 years of the BEES and 64 years of the DEMS, both political parties have demonstrated they do not have the capacity to lead this island any longer.

NOW is the time for “new blood.”

16. David

Yes, after a few weeks of being busy, “I have spare time on my hands”……… today.

Greene

Please “tell” this forum what could ANY political administration in ANY country, with a society similar to that of Barbados, do about the types of murders occurring in Barbados?

Should government react to the murders similarly to the Jamaican authorities by enforcing curfews and deploying soldiers and police in “hot spot” areas?

Why not let us discuss the issue…. without politicizing it and engaging in the “blame game?”

17. @Artax

Can we agree managing the crime situation must be by committee? Enforcement is an important component though.

18. Blah blah 30- 0 and what does the country receive in one year A truckload of negativity people belly crying out in pain because of the ungodly sacrfices they have to make
    Mia always on the run nowhere to be found
    A bunch of clueless wannbe ministers cant find time to face the constituients
    Not to mention a bag full of empty promises
    Did u hear Atherley take on the politics of the blp in one word
    Self-serving

19. Maybe you David cam send Mia a list of reputable names to head the committee
    Just heard they was another shooting
    Hurry quick David time is running out for quick resolution

20. Artax,

short term measures

come right out and tell bajans that the young men in some areas are murderers and are terrorising Bim by killing one another and if they continue so the Govt will have to invite people in Bim to take their place in Bim.

tell them that illegal drug trade and reprisals are responsible for murders. that the gun are coming thru the port and that any govt officials including but not limited to politicians, police and customs involved and caught will be punished severely. change official corruption laws to suit

tell mothers and women by accepting drug money and turning a blind eye to the activities of their sons and boyfriends that they part of the problem

enforce or implement M/L and asset forfeiture laws

second half the defence force to the police as patrol units in hot spot with a view to engage and challenge suspected drug and gun men / dealers based on intelligence in the first place and observation when they are in the area.

actually engage and if fired upon shoot to kill taking into consideration threats to their own lives and dangers posed to others in the area

speedy trials

look to pop some necks even if it means changing the laws

talk openly about what is causing the problems and solicit solutions

seek a truce between warring factions with a forum where where they can confront each other in a neutral setting (do not know if this is possible)

look at witnesses protection with a view of sending those who qualify to other participatory islands/ countries

provide and lease farm land to young men and women who say they have nothing to do

teach civics from primary school with an established set of ideals that we expect from bajans

and i would say all this to the public

long term

look to change the school system to make it more hands on for boys with more technical subjects

go back to single sex schools

provide counselling or more counselling for troubled youths and parents with early intervention programmes

improve the lot of the police by paying them more and making the service more attractive. if the Govt say they have no money they can exempt police, fire and prisons (emergency services) from income taxes and provide free health care at any private facility

disband the defence force and filter those who want to and are qualified into the police, fire service and prisons

change corruption and other associated laws

make marijuana legal for anyone over 18

decriminalize other hard drugs treating them as a health issue and not a legal issue

alter all the above from time to time to suit the changing circumstances

look to improve the long term economic and employment situation

21. those are what i can think of now

you may not agree

and are free to amend or post your own

22. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Greene.

A commendable list with some serious thoughts

That Submission is befitting of it’s own blog and would solicit several hundred comments.

Placing the comments here means it will die in obscurity

Well thought out.

You can expect that this Mugabe administration will implement none of it

23. Dead bodies showning up all ova de place
    Gangster taking over de place
    And Mia hoodwinking with the President of Ghana
    Not a word in the last year about tackling gun and murder violence
    The only words spoken out of Mia mouth was Not up in here
    But look wunna happening the gangsters reply
    Yes up in here doah
    All happening in less than one year
    Cant help but remember when dale Marshall was asking for the head of past govt attorney General Adriel Braithwaite
    Now it is Marshall turn to do better he draws a blank
    Wuhloss

24. TheOgazerts... Avatar
    TheOgazerts…

“John 22 what have you Achieved that Compares to the Young Entrupeurnal Brains of Gabriel Abed and his Company that Morph and Grew and of which he holds the Majority Shares?”

=====How one man sees it ======
    I remember the excitement of competing in the 200 yards race for my House. That was years ago. I would describe my start as explosive, others may disagree, and I may have won the race if someone had not ventured into my lane. I seem to recall his name was J Husbands*. Perhaps his memory is different from my own. I was fast, I was there at the start, but not at the end….

And that my friend is the story of Bitt-coin. Gabriel Abed like others had a brilliant idea, but Bitt-coin faltered and was trailing the rest of the field when they pulled up lame.

Was Bitt-coin doomed from the start? How would a purchaser in Barbados get US dollars to purchase Bitt-coins? I saw the acquisition of foreign exchange as limiting the volume of Bitt-coin transactions. This more than anything made me suspicious of this venture. Of course, I wondered if they had the technological capabilities to be a strong contender if the field. I suspect their programming strength, though promising was unable to love up to expectations.

What about mMoney.
    I fear that this too shall fail? Why my pessimism?
    From the description, what is being provided is not new technology.
    It seem to be a collection of existing technology stitched together and being marketed to us. All that is being promised is already done elsewhere. Instead of sitting in Barbados reinventing the wheel, they should full embrace and exploit the already existing technology. ( I should have been able to make a few bucks for that bit of advice)

I may be misquoting GP, but this is a case of where a “second” is being hailed as a:’first”.

These ventures and initiatives are just attempts to make money. Nothing is wrong with that. But when government get involved, it is just an attempt to put money in the pockets of a few and to get a cut.

You wanna look in my sandbox..

25. Greene:

That is a useful list for discussion. Some of them are already part of our published policies. Others may work, but the collateral damage may be high. Therefore, it is better to try policies that are effective but with less collateral damage.

Our philosophy is to allow households to prosper so that they will not feel that accepting ‘drug money’ is their only option. When all of the adults in a household are laid off, and taxes are unaffordable, and the consequences of not paying are to disconnect the services, then some may feel that they have no choice.

Our land tax, utility, and other social policies remove the excuse that households have no choice but to accept drug money to survive. We think that if they then choose the drug trade, then they will have to live with the consequences of harsher policies.

26. Why do we allow Junior to set the agenda on the blog?

27. TheO:

The bitcoin part of their business was the most risky part for investors.

The mMoney can be a convenient way of conducting business. However, we are concerned that partnering with the Government may negatively affect the Government’s regulatory role, and be an irresistible temptation to a desperate Government.

The Government has already shown that it will amend the laws of Barbados to make confiscation of part of our retirement savings and pensions legal, when it is desperate. By partnering with Bitt, they may have more direct access to our money, which they do not have with commercial banks. That is the only reason why I do not use mMoney – despite its convenience.

28. When is Junior going to publish the list of recently elected officials?