The blogmaster read the following article over night while perusing the financial newsfeed.

Patriotic Barbadians that understand these matters are obviously concerned negotiations have stalled with external creditors. We have to go with communications being dropped in the public space.

Commonsense support that it is not unusual creditors will push back against having to take a haircut. Barbadians wish the White Oak negotiating team well, as a country we have a lot riding on the best outcome.

Both sides agree the country of 300,000 people needs to cut debt levels. Yet talks have soured in recent weeks over how much of the burden should be borne by creditors in the form of deep haircuts or other terms. For its part, the government said it isn’t willing to negotiate targets established when it took a bailout from the International Monetary Fund last year – extracted from the Bloomberg report

Both sides seem to agree a restructure of the debt is necessary given the high debt burden and current state of the economy. What is at dispute is the amount creditors are being asked to leave on the table. Creditors have to protect their interest and the government having opted to SD will have to make it count given the damage to country’s credit rating and how it will be perceived by lenders.

However the foreign creditors will know that they have an overlapping interest with the government of Barbados. If the economy that is precariously perched on the economic cliff continues were to tank all that will be left is Hobson’s choice.

Time to close the deal!

Barbados Clashes With Creditors in Talks to Cut Greece-Like Debt

Barbados’ prime minister is butting heads with creditors over how to cut one of the world’s largest sovereign debt loads, creating a sticking point in the year-long negotiations to restructure the Caribbean nation’s defaulted dollar bonds.

Talks with foreign creditors have dragged on since last June, when Prime Minister Mia Mottley said she would restructure the island’s “unsustainably high” debt burden. While both sides said they are open to continued negotiation, they appear far from consensus.

A committee of creditors, who hold 55% of outstanding dollar debt, said Wednesday that they plan to unanimously reject a government proposal to exchange defaulted bonds for new debt unless the two sides negotiate together.

“The committee strongly believes that the launch of a unilateral exchange offer by the government of Barbados without the support of the committee will be highly detrimental to the country’s economic stability,” they said in a statement.

Both sides agree the country of 300,000 people needs to cut debt levels. Yet talks have soured in recent weeks over how much of the burden should be borne by creditors in the form of deep haircuts or other terms. For its part, the government said it isn’t willing to negotiate targets established when it took a bailout from the International Monetary Fund last year.

No Compromise

At that time, the government estimated debt had ballooned to about 175% of gross domestic product, meaning it owed around $9 billion. That would have made it one of the world’s most-indebted countries, trailing only a handful of others, including Greece, according to IMF figures. Mottley said she “will not compromise” on the goal of bringing that ratio down to 60% by 2033.

“We leave it to creditors to decide whether this is achieved through a par deal with long tenors and low interest rates, or face value haircuts with shorter tenors and higher interest rates. But the targets must be met in full,” she said in a written response to questions.

Mottley inherited a troubled $5 billion economy when she took office last May. The island known for its white sand beaches had been struggling for years amid competition from less-pricey Caribbean tourism destinations, crumbling infrastructure, and a currency that’s pegged to the U.S. dollar. She quickly struck a $290 million deal with the IMF and restructured about $6 billion in local currency debt.

The government owes around $700 million in dollar bonds, plus bank loans and other foreign debts, according to a spreadsheet posted to a website for creditors in January. Bonds maturing in 2035 have rarely traded in recent months, according to data compiled by Bloomberg.

The creditors committee said it put forth an offer two weeks ago “based on terms that aim to support the government’s debt and reform objectives while creating restructured instruments with broad market acceptance.” The committee said it is made up of long-term investors, regional central banks, individual bondholders and financial institutions and represented by advisers Newstate Partners and Washington-based law firm Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP.

The creditors contend that their offer would have allowed the government to reach its debt target a year later than it wants, according to people familiar with the committee’s negotiations. The committee’s position is that the government’s estimates fail to take into account certain revenue variables and that it is trying force severe restructuring terms on creditors to meet its debt targets, said the people, who were not authorized to discuss the negotiations.

White Oak Advisory, which is representing the government in negotiations, said the creditors’ offer “fails to meet IMF test for debt sustainability, and by quite some margin,” according to an email statement. “It is disappointing that Barbados continues to be faced with this kind of position after almost a year of negotiations.”

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2019-05-30/barbados-clashes-with-creditors-in-talks-to-cut-greece-like-debt

374 responses to “White Oak and External Creditors: Flirting with Hobson’s Choice”

1. Pachaman any one who should habe shame would be a supporter who drank the blp koolaid and so far have received empty promises
    FJS did not in ten years create a 17billion debt
    Only a fool would come to such a conclusion

2. Ok, then

If that is all you have

3. Everybody should read this:

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/04/barbados-rescued-by-white-oak/

So White Oak already had business contact with the old government. The accusations against the honorable Dale Marshall all came from the corner of the blue Deep State and they are not true.

So the scandal is not that our present government hired White Oak, but that the old government did not want to hire White Oak.

Rather, DLP supporters must ask themselves why the old finance minister rejected White Oak’s offer to help. Did someone want a kick-back that wasn’t granted? Why aren’t they investigating here? Is it perhaps because the police and prosecution have been infiltrated by blue termites?

4. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

“We need a maximum wage, say 5 USD per hour to boost the economy and to make Barbados competitive again.”

it takes a very tiny, tiny mind to think that $5.00 is a maximum wage, no surprise when slave salaries in Barbados starts at $1.50 US and does not go past $2.50 US…an hour…a goddamn slave society…

If you want a competitive maximum wage, you start at $15.00 US per hour

5. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

All yall are thieves looking for kickbacks, every last repulsive one of you…

but it is all coming apart..

the fall will be hard..

..and will be heard across the globe..

#selloutscannotsurvive

6. @ Tron,

Are you so sure that is what the scandal is?

Or are you continuing your dissembling role? While riling up Bajans against the Mottley Regime?

The Barbados Today anti BLP article reads and I quote

“…A company with an impeccable record and we made the decision at our first cabinet meeting.White Oak is saving us a billion dollars a year and their fees are millions of dollars…”

This is the same impeccable company that has filed incorrect tax returns for the British Government and has been changing its name every chance that it gets?

This is the same impeccable company that Mugabe promised to have meet with her pretend Leader of the Opposition the Reverend Pastor Bishop Joe Atherley last year and who ent get to speak to dem yet?

Den Smiley Teets continues

“But we recognize that our situation was so grave that we had to find the finest skills that money could buy, to resurrect this country,”

When Teets was talking bout grave is he referring to the graves of all de people dat been dug while he is de attorney general and he and Mugabe solution to de crime in Barbados is to leggo de Barbados Defence Force pun de school childrun cause “children does grow up to be criminals, AND EFFING YOU KILL DEM WHILE DEM AT SECONDARY SCHOOL dere will not be no adult murders?

A feller in de AG Office tell me dat dis is de AG plan for keeping down de crime.

You do know that it is a crime to comment adversely about any of the existing crimes agains tourisses dem in Barbados?

Yes sir!!

Mia apparently recently pass a law, among all de new laws she passing, dat say dat locals or people living overseas, who continue to mention dat tourisesses is being stabbed in Barbados IS BREKKING DE 2019 Barbados HIGH TREASON ACT under section 27 (named after the $27 million dat she give to White Hoax) which states

“any citizen or resident who knowingly, or unknowingly, makes or discloses private business concerning the affairs of Barbados afte May 24th, IS THE ENEMY OF BARBADOS because they are seeking to destabilize Barbados”

Matters that are considered destabilization are like talking bout the number of killings in Barbados to date

talking about the amount of money dat WHITE HOAX GET PAID.

talking bout de 5% raises dat Mugabe give herself and other imps of the reime

Talking bout Cunstitutional changes

Talking bout how she knight she fadder

Talking bout how she forgive him $1 million in taxes he owed

Talking bout how she got a cabinet of 30 badword Ministers

Bout how she send home 5,000 bajans

Yes Tron could you respond to these issues for de ole man?

WordPress.com / Gravatar.com credentials can be used.

7. @ Tron,

Not too sure what happened above. but i am reposting this response to your

Are you so sure that is what the scandal is?

Or are you continuing your dissembling role? While riling up Bajans against the Mottley Regime?

The Barbados Today anti BLP article reads and I quote

“…A company with an impeccable record and we made the decision at our first cabinet meeting.White Oak is saving us a billion dollars a year and their fees are millions of dollars…”

This is the same impeccable company that has filed incorrect tax returns for the British Government and has been changing its name every chance that it gets?

This is the same impeccable company that Mugabe promised to have meet with her pretend Leader of the Opposition the Reverend Pastor Bishop Joe Atherley last year and who ent get to speak to dem yet?

Den Smiley Teets continues

“But we recognize that our situation was so grave that we had to find the finest skills that money could buy, to resurrect this country,”

When Teets was talking bout grave is he referring to the “graves” of all de people dat have been dug while he is de attorney general?

and is referring to the fact that he and Mugabe’s solution to de crime in Barbados is to leggo de Barbados Defence Force pun de school childrun?

Is is that he has done so because “children does grow up to be criminals, AND EFFING YOU KILL DEM WHILE DEM AT SECONDARY SCHOOL dere will not be no adult murders?”

A feller in de AG Office tell me dat dis is de AG plan for keeping down de crime.

You do know that it is a crime to comment adversely about any of the existing crimes agains tourisses dem in Barbados?

Yes sir!!

Mia apparently recently pass a law, among all de new laws she passing, dat say dat locals or people living overseas, who continue to mention dat tourisesses is being stabbed in Barbados IS BREKKING DE 2019 Barbados HIGH TREASON ACT under section 27 (named after the $27 million dat she give to White Hoax) which states

“any citizen or resident who knowingly, or unknowingly, makes or discloses private business concerning the affairs of Barbados afte May 24th, IS THE ENEMY OF BARBADOS because they are seeking to destabilize Barbados”

Matters that are considered destabilization are like talking bout the number of killings in Barbados to date

talking about the amount of money dat WHITE HOAX GET PAID.

talking bout de 5% raises dat Mugabe give herself and other imps of the reime

Talking bout Cunstitutional changes

Talking bout how she knight she fadder

Talking bout how she forgive him $1 million in taxes he owed

Talking bout how she got a cabinet of 30 badword Ministers

Bout how she send home 5,000 bajans

Yes Tron could you respond to these issues for de ole man?

8. @ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Tron

9. Legend,

It’s so simple. We need even more reforms. What you call austerity, I call blessing.

Goddess Bim is seriously ill, she suffers from obesity. So she has to purify her body with a radical cure. Let us help her with a liberal program that transforms society from a welfare state into a state that rewards performance and punishes laziness.

You defend outdated structures and a time when the state hired so many civil servants because the university produced too many naive graduates. That’s over now.

It’s a great fortune that our prime minister is so honest and frank to say that we have to walk through a dark valley until 2025. She will be the light that illuminates this dark path towards enlightenment and a self-determined society. In this new society, the Barbadians will shackle off the chains of the welfare state and mature into free people.

As for the many ministers, I refer to Jesus Christ. He also had 12 disciples and many followers. So a large crowd stands for great popularity 😉

10. Hard to see this country recovering from the mistakes of the last fifty years
    All i see is more greed coming from the rich and unbearable punishment for the poor
    Hard to imagine a small population living on a small income bearing more punishment
    Govt having no sustainable growth plan
    Hard to envision how more austerity measures would help outside that of destroying the social enviroment of the country
    Mottley loud promises in Carlisle Park are reminiscent of empty vessels making loud noise

11. Today’s Nation editorial questions DeLisle Worrell.

12. Well David, it seems that the ‘presstitutes’ have established clearly defined duopoly lines.

Nation or Advocate – same difference!

13. @David: June 5, 2019 2:08 PM

That’s typical again: Tron sets the agenda and the press copies.

14. @Mariposa June 5, 2019 8:38 AM

You are confusing progress through liberalisation and regression through encrusted social structures.

We do not need a new Sinckler who has grown out of the petri dish of free education. One Sinckler is enough for a hundred years.

Most of your former ministers don’t even know how to eat properly with a knife and fork.

15. William Skinner Avatar

Just heard that Arthur Mottley Thompson all paid for their education !!!!!!

16. William Skinner Avatar

@ for those who are not drunken by the spiked BLPDLP cool aid
    Imagine a government reinstates free tuition for our university students to grow from this Petri dish of free education. Imagine a government making taxpayers pay to produce more failures such as Sinckler from this Petri dish of free education. Imagine a government being told to sink the “ welfare state” but pay for free university education.

Duopoly Rules

17. @ David BU:

It seems (y)our brother man in the Senate Caswell Franklyn has smelled a dirty rat climbing up this white oak tree of easy money.

He should continue to follow the trail that leads to the avinashi cheese.

Brother Bus Tea would have been most impressed with your cat-like attitude to exposing wickedness in high places; even in some young oak tree.

Up and On, Caswell, forward to the Light.

“Foes in plenty we shall meet
    Hearts courageous scorn defeat
    So we press with eager feet
    Up and on, Up and on
    Ever upward to the fight
    Ever upward to the light
    Ever true to God and right
    Up and on, Up and on.”

18. @Miller

It is a bit of a stretch from Minister Straughn he would not have heard the questions about White Oak not filing timely financials in the domicile it is setup. Although his explanation is plausible a more forthright explanation is required.

19. Piece the Legend Avatar

Suppose you are seeking to Hire a IT professional to set up your Variation of the Online Ombudsman for the (legal) Professions in Barbados and the Caribbean

Would you just tek anybody?

Then what is so hard to comprehend about this poor rakey affair?

The very people thd Government of Barbados is seeking to hire to save if money, in one you claim has worked with 7 other governments YDT DOES NOT FILE TAXES!!

And that is plausible for you?

Steupsee!!!

20. Piece the Legend Avatar

Correction

The very people the Government of Barbados is seeking to hire to save it money, is one you claim has worked with 7 other governments successfully YET DOES NOT FILE ITS OWN TAXES!!

21. Anyone cares ?

Barbados’ newest political organisation was launched yesterday, with leader and president, Bishop Joseph Atherley, saying the People’s Party for Democracy and Development is now the country’s best bet as an alternative solution to what exists today.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/240175/pdp-running

Barbados now have four political parties. BLP PDP SB DLP

22. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Brother Hants

You notice ghd absolute hust that has descended over the island and Barbados Underground?

Imagine that only weeks ago the Honourable Blogmaster was talking about this new part AND SUDDENLY SO HE GONE QUIET.

And no article ent get launch bout e same Senator Caswell Franklyn who he used to big up round here pun BU!!

You notice the news blackout too?

But then again you Doan say much but you does find de links very well!

Dat it why you pun de team in Logistics and Information.

Keep up the Good Work (How is Fleur? Oops I forget you left her for Glennis )

23. @ Piece,

Fleur is now in the fitness business. A woman of many talents.

“Elite Island Resorts Group, a collection of beachfront resorts in the Caribbean, is to team up with W8 GYM, an innovative ‘GYM-in-a-Box’ created by singer Fleur East and her cousins Nick Meaney and Clive Payne, for an exclusive partnership.”

24. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Brother Hants

She is quite a fitness trainer

With her kit and everything.

And she is fit.

More power to her.