An own goal is when a sports team scores a goal for the opposing team, by sending the ball into their own goal. The BLP has scored many unnecessary own goals during their first year in Government, and are showing no signs of correcting this habit. Coincidentally, during the same time, we have been forced to pay significantly more taxes.

Outside of a destructive war, the greatest threat to a national economy is political corruption. This type of corruption is normally in the form of bribes paid to politicians when governments contract to buy products. The bribes are normally included in the inflated costs of the products.

To pay the bribe component of the cost, taxes on citizens must be increased. One way of significantly reducing the size of any bribes, and any resulting tax increases, is to allow competitive tendering (or bidding) with an impartial evaluation of the bids.

Before the General Election, the BLP assured the public that they would not be engaging in any of the gross corruption of which they were accusing the DLP. To convince us that they were serious, every single BLP candidate swore to protect us with a Contractor General, who would review government contracts, including those of State-Owned Enterprises.

No-bid contracts are not illegal, since our laws allow for them in specific circumstances. But they are, by their nature, corrupting. The allure of corrupting no-bid contracts has proven too much for many politicians of other countries to resist.

The very least that we could have reasonably hoped for, is that the promised Contractor General would be appointed before any corrupting no-bid contracts were signed. Having a Contractor General is not effective if a politically compromised person is appointed to that post. However, it is better than the nothing that we currently have.

During their first year in Government, the BLP has reportedly signed an astonishing amount of no-bid contracts, for well over $100M. Tragically, there was no oversight by the Contractor General, who each BLP politician promised, on their sacred honour, that they would provide to stop political corruption. This is definitely not in our best interests.

By refusing to allow the promised oversight of their no-bid contracts, the BLP invites unnecessary speculation. Why do the prices seem so massively inflated? Why allow only one business to tender when there was no urgency? Why were other more competent companies excluded from tendering?

The way of no-bid contracts is the proven way of political corruption. To stay on that path is to invite rigorous public scrutiny of all no-bid contracts. To stay on that path, while disallowing the promised oversight, is to attract valid suspicions of gross corruption.

The BLP administration has only itself to blame, because they can correct this mess whenever they wish. If they choose not to, then we can expect them to score more own goals. However, if we are forced to pay more taxes after each of their own goals, then we should no longer assume that it is coincidental.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

156 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The BLP’s Own Goals”

1. Freedom Crier Avatar

First…If a Private Person was putting down a road, it was going to go through property, and that person who owned the private property decided he does not want to sell, he does not want to move, he is happy where he is. To allow the road builder to compulsory acquire the man’s land whither it be through the Government or by Force or whatever strategy is used that is wrong. You have taken one individual rights and put it above another’s individual rights.

Second…If the road builder was the Government and the road was to be a public road you could say that the Government would have the right to purchase the property for the public’s good. However, the Caveat being that the Government must pay a Fair Price.

The Third possibility is that the road builder being a Private Enterprise and the land on the other side of the private man’s land belonged to the Government. And that the Government finds that it is indeed desirable that the road is built and all the land be joined and is a party and partner with the private road builder. The question is can the Government enter into such an arrangement? The Answer must be yes. The only question remains is what is Fair Value for the man in the middle’s property.

With all the Hoo-rang and all the Discussion, what is to say that the Government does not have a Steak in the Hyatt…They Already own the Two Properties adjacent to Mrs. Rams Place. As Enuff stated, “Deny that govts can, and do, acquire private land to facilitate urban regeneration or any development with private sector investors.”

As pertaining to Hal’s comment… Since when do you determine what is in the Public’s Interest or the Public Good? Where There Is No Vision The People Perish…Were you ever an Entrepreneur. Do you know what it takes to take Risk at your own Expense?

It is always necessary to Upgrade and Enhance our Tourism Product. We have many A Class Hotel Facilities but we have a great deal of aging Hotel Facilities and many Dilapidated Buildings in between. Barbados is an Expensive destination it therefore makes sense to have more A Class Facilities and let the market shake out how it will. The Older Properties will Spruce Up and cater to the Value End of the market and that will be the effect of people putting down more High-end Accommodations.

What have we against upgrading the whole environment of Bridgetown or for that matter all of Barbados!

BTW the people are not Immune to Selling they are just Haggling about the Price, who you expect less of Mrs. Ram?

https://businessbarbados.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/CarlisleBayHilton.jpg

2. @ Enuff

Again talking shiiite! Case law does not support your position on compulsory acquisition.(Quote)

Your comment about policy and case law is an attempt to save face. I never mentioned case law to prove any policy. I cited case law to prove that the acquisition of land to facilitate private development has been deemed lawful by the Court after you asked “whatever happened to the rule of law in Barbados?(Quote)

Second, why is government intervening in what should have been a private sale between Hyatt and Mrs Ram? So, and this is a real case, if a potential investor drives along the west coast and sees a spot of land they like, they can get government to compulsorily purchase it and throw the rightful owners off so the investor can ‘develop’ it?
    Whatever happened to the rule of law in Barbados?(Quote)

You read but do not understand. Read your edited submission again. Is the government of B’dos going to be part-owners of Hyatt?

3. “our comment about policy and case law is an attempt to save face.”

hahaha

The Apologist get show up again?.

All the BLP doing is bluffing and winging it, while bamboozling the uninformed.

No policy, no plan. Just spin and PR guff.

The Dullard see piece a land he like. Somebody put in a good word wid Mugabe fuh muh hear..

4. Hal
    Is the Council in my post above going to be part owner of the hotel or the office building or even ALL the apts? The article even makes it clear that the regeneration would not have happened without the Council’s CPO. In the era of scarce public, urban regeneration projects are driven by private sector developers, government facilitates and seeks public goods in return; but at the end of the day, the scheme must be VIABLE for developers and the standard developer profit in England from what I know was up to last year 20% on market housing and about 15% on commercial.

5. William Skinner
    You can search for my old comments as much as you like. You will never see me opposing a hotel. I always spoke about the characteristics of the proposal (design, massing, product, scale etc) not the principle. I also spoke about how the then proposal could prejudice the development of other sites. By consolidating the lots you should get a better designed scheme. Please have a seat and stick to talking about things that led to you losing your deposit.#bitterlikealoes🖐🏾

6. Dullard
    You must have been drinking. I said no such thing! Y’all don’t get tired tho, sure suckers for capitulation and annihilation Exits stage!#wasteoftime#pearlsb4🐖

7. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Wuhloss…

#notaseasyasyallthought

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Enuff
    where you are missing the boat, is the proposed development on Bay St, is NOT a JOINT PROJECT between the GoB and a private developer. A public entity and a private one.

Min Payne is quoted as saying “after the acquisition, the property will be vested in the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc., which in turn will transfer the property to a private developer”. This is a pure transfer play from the GoB to a private developer.

9. @Tron (May 15, 2019 3:43 PM)
    “The corruption allegations are pure speculation at the edge to slander honorable government members. The ten years of economic terror by Chris Sinckler and Donville Inniss are reality, no speculation.”

As stated in my article, they are not corruption allegations, they are valid corruption suspicions – only because the BLP administration has so far refused to protect the public with a Contractor General. If people promise, on their sacred honour, to protect us from the corrupting no-bid contracts with a Contractor General, and then allow the signing of well over $100M no-bid contracts without the promised oversight, do you think that they deserve the title “honourable”?

10. Barbados better be nice to Hyatt.

“More than 20 new Hyatt hotels to open in Canada”

CHICAGO (May 14, 2019) – Hyatt Hotels Corporation (NYSE: H) today announced that more than 20 new hotels are expected to open in Canada by the end of 2022,

11. Enuff,do not pay these overseas bajans no mind,you got them good.All they good for is bellyaching here everyday.The likes of Ssrge,Hal Austin,Waru,Hants,SSS,William Skinner, and the j/a bandwagon hopper got four more years to bray.At the end of the day the voters will make their choice in 2023.

12. If the BT article (linked below) is accurate, then that is important evidence to consider.

If there is a willing buyer and a willing seller, but there is a block in the negotiations, then the buyer has no standing to approach the court to force a sale. So, what is a developer to do but to appeal to the Government.

The Government is not obligated to intervene in a private matter unless it is in our interests. This can be argued both sides, with valid supporting reasons for both sides. The people voted and it is for the BLP administration to determine whether they wish to intervene or not. They have chosen to.

With no Contractor General or independent oversight to protect our best interests, it is left to citizens to scrutinize the Government’s actions once they have decided to pursue a course of action.

We should be concerned if the Government wanted to pay an inflated cost for the property. However, it seems reasonable for the Government to try to objectively determine the value of the property through the courts.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/05/15/off-to-court/?fbclid=IwAR3ebZugIyBPDClo-KEH1fLB57EiN7CCL7g-dP-KyzXlSabkqPvmLGTjYx8

13. “Sometimes you have to put people in their place and he came in here making several accusations. They were not just accusations against this Cabinet, the accusations were against the Government and the entire people of Barbados,” Payne said.
    ++++++++++++

Wunnah should stop this criticism, it is not only against the Cabinet, the Government but the entire people of Barbados.
    A word to the wise is sufficient

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wuh Loss!

Sargeant,

Are you threatening me? Looka muh crosses nuh!

15. Will any of you BU bloggers benefit directly from the design, engineering and construction of Hyatt Barbados ?

16. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“the Government but the entire people of Barbados.”

Don’t mind them, they only use “the people” spiel when THEY GOT SOMEBODY TO ROB…, that’s the only time they even remember “the people” …..when it’s in their own self interest and when it’s time to inflate those greedy pockets….

…..ah wonder where they plan to hide the money though..

17. “BARBADOS’ ECONOMY has stabilised, and now Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley has her eyes set on transforming the country’s ability to perform.

Speaking at yesterday’s Barbados Employers’ Confederation (BEC) annual general meeting and luncheon, she said Cabinet would now focus on legislation aimed at decreasing levels of bureaucracy, and encouraging the efficient facilitation of business, which would combine to help produce growth”

18. Hants: Not me.

19. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

When yall bullying people these days to TIEF THEIR PROPERTIES, remember, most people have CCTV and all types of cameras set up around their houses, both inside and outside waiting for yall to SET THEM UP….so they can take ya photos and make yall facebook famous…lol…..lookee here.

https://scontent.fbgi3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/60336886_1029205913955614_8057440599566974976_n.jpg?_nc_cat=106&_nc_ht=scontent.fbgi3-1.fna&oh=9ce81d4594baa0445231870ecde95058&oe=5D6D3ED9

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

There is a disconnect….in the same BT article above, AG Marshall was quoted
    “to facilitate the construction of the 350-room Hyatt Centric Hotel at Bay Street, St Michael.”

Now we know from multiple Hyatt sources that Centric, and they were 24 as of Sept 2018, have a room range of 100-250. When the Barbadian Hyatt was announced…it was 237 rooms with 32 Hyatt branded residential condominium units

So WHERE does AG Marshall get Hyatt Centric and 350 rooms from? Something has changed? Is this change what now requires the developer to need more land?

@GPII
    “So, what is a developer to do but to appeal to the Government.”

The developer is to find land that fits within their budget, or ,build a structure which fits within the confines of the land they can afford. The developer can appeal to whomever they want. It is one thing for the approving body, TCP or similar, to alter the height, max units, use, set backs etc etc It’s another for a Government to decide a private project is of such great importance, they must intervene and use their land acquisition powers, because the developer and current land owner cannot agree on a price.

Why not go and acquire the BYC, that would be a perfect site for a Ritz or Belmond.

21. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Thuglife…make sure ya got ya cameras always focused and trained on them…send them live to FB..they are dangerous.

THUGLIFE…the setups are REAL.

22. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

WHITE HOAX SCAM EXPOSED….ah done saying anything to president Enuff…she is a real, real, fraud.

and yall want the UK and Europe to put billions of dollars of reparations money in yall hands, like it belong to hall and like if they foolish and like if we are even more foolish not to see the plan…the MASTER PLAN…the SETUP OF THE CENTURY.

“Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn has accused Government of getting into bed with White Oak Advisory without Cabinet approval and carrying out due diligence.

In a heated presentation which was interrupted on several occasions by Government senators Lucille Moe, Rudy Grant and Kay McConney, the Opposition senator lambasted the ruling party for “giving away $27 million” to the financial advisory firm and demanded that someone should resign over it.

“A mere couple of days after the Government has changed a contract is signed. First of all there was no Cabinet in place to approve this. You have taken 27 million of our dollars and given it to people for information that you could gotten from the whole lot of people here who you have given consultancies to.”

The trade unionist pointed out that what took place was against the good governance and transparency laws under which Government has committed to adhere.

“This is not the only company in the world that does this kind of business so if Government wanted to do something above board they would have put it out to tender and in accordance with the legislation we passed here last year and what existed previously.”

23. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

… like if it belong to YALL

YALL better get those delusions out of ya crazy heads…

how bout…we ask Europe and UK to pay those billions in reparations to our grandchildren and great grandchildren…AFTER ALL YALL DEAD…that way our ancestors would not have toiled in vain…

…and that way yall won’t go to prison for TIEFING IT…

24. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Franklyn continued: “….I have here a copy of a letter from the office in England saying they will strike off White Oak Advisory if they fail to file their annual returns. We are not doing our due diligence. Government jumped into bed with a company who they know nothing about, that the corporate office in England knows nothing about. That is the problem I have. And we are spending all of our money making a company that is resident outside of Barbados that is failing to comply with the laws of England. But we want to put those same laws in place for Barbados. That is hypocrisy.””

Crooks and thieves WHO CARE NOTHING about the people in Barbados, we have been telling yall bout them on BU for years longer than i have been here, now everyone sees for themselves.

They are the…. FUNNELING AND SYPHONING OFF CREW.

That reparations money will go to our future generations…after yall ARE GONE to the boneyard…minimize the chances of THEFT OF REPARATIONS..

25. I am still at lost trying to understand how govt can decided or make changes to design and construction for the Hyatt to their liking.
    It seems as if govt plans are not for the construction of Hyatt but for an unknown entity
    So far govt has shown by their back door dealings with White Oaks and Ross University that govt has the capacity to over rule the laws of barbados by throwing transparency out the door
    Cant see Hyatt shareholders and board members accommodating govt idea of rearranging and changing the design and construction model of the Hotel
    Right now all i am seeing is gun toting govt trying to get its way while getting in the way of what is in the better interest of the people

26. @VC
    Take it as friendly advice 😊 , I was channeling the Deputy PM who made the statement. I wouldn’t want you to be the face of any treason charges, but if it comes to that I am prepared to be a character witness on your behalf.

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Sargeant

It is comforting to have friends like you.

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Mariposa

I think I have stated this before on this blog. International hotel chains, such as Hyatt, seldom build and own hotels . They franchise their brand names and manage these hotels for use of name and management services. Their fees are a percentage of total revenues. In the case under discussion GoB or the Maloney group would be the owners,builders and designers.

29. Maloney would be the builder but as far as the design plan .The Hyatt are the owners of the design
    Maloney cannot nor govt change the signature design feature of the Hyatt
    Same goes for all Corporate Hotels groups
    It is near to impossible that Hyatt Corporation would allow any individual entity or govt to change the main feature design of the building and Hyatt placed the Name Hyatt on the property or building
    Not gonna happen

30. Northern:

The Government desperately needs these projects to move forward. They have rejected the ISO 9001 international management system that could have significantly improved all of the Government’s management functions, and have adopted their current ad-hoc management style. So we must work with that. Our job is to see that whatever management style they choose, that the public is not disadvantaged.

Yes, the Government could have stayed out of facilitating Ross, Hyatt and others, but they chose not to. Actually after rejecting the international standard for managing these sort of things, the Government had no little choice but to intervene. The other option was frustrate these businesses through decades of the Government managed bureaucracy.

So, if you reject international management standards that can benefit all of us, the general public must tolerate our home-grown abysmally low public sector reform standards, and let our fruit die on the vine – while others are able to convince the Government that their projects are in the public’s (our) interest and receive favourable treatment.

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Mariposa at 9 :52 AM

Obviously you have more up- to- date and inside information of the business model of Hyatt. For the time being, I will take that as a given. May I ask where is the net benefit to the people of Barbados?

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    you expect @ac to understand that? It doesn’t fit with her intended narrative, criticize the B’s. One only need go back to the Hilton issues to know she has little understanding of how hotels from the major chains operate.

It would appear they have either dumped Hyatt for another, or changed the Hyatt BRAND to another of the 14 they offer. Wonder how the local narrative would change if it was Hyatt Zilara or Ziva (all inclusive brands). Or if it was learned the concessions given, and you know they are a bunch.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

@GPII
    really a s-t-r-e-t-c-h to link ISO with involvement between two private parties.

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wuh Loss!!

Neither hills ,nor fields ,nor shorelines are longer our own.

This beach is yours you can do whatever you want.

Talk about Neo-colonialism !!

Just some rambling thoughts of one who thought he was leaving a legacy.

35. @ Vincent Codrington,

Take a look at the Hyatt Centric FRENCH QUARTER NEW ORLEANS

https://www.hyatt.com/en-US/hotel/louisiana/hyatt-centric-french-quarter-new-orleans/msyrf

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Thanks Hants

Architecture, internal and exterior, are very French.

Do you think we will get a signature Barbados design?

37. Memphis

https://www.hotelnewsresource.com/article100947.html

I have shown that Hyatt Centric hotels vary in design.

38. NO
    What u call a criticism is an observing which goes along with good busineess planning with a legal right to protect all that is solely attached to their property
    Of course your object is to plant political seeds of doubt on my comments
    However what you cannot dispute is that design and ownership are legally ironclad in an effort to dissuade illegal usage or an attempt to defraud consumers into beliving that the original plan or design is one of the same and was authorized by the original owners / corporations
    However what i will agree is that govt might be on a desperate move to revitalize bridgetown by using a different business model exclusive of Hyatt

39. @ Vincent,

I am hoping that Barbados gets a design that the average Bajan likes.

40. @Hants

The final design is the developer (Maloney) and Hyatt the management company then meeting TP requirements?

41. “They have rejected the ISO 9001 international management system that could have significantly improved all of the Government’s management functions”

You continually overvalue the impact ISO 9001 would have on government management. ISO is strongest in manufacturing or where a tangible product is involved because quantitative assessment of quality is easy to measure and analyse, thus making performance measurement straightforward.

The quality of government services on the other hand is difficult to measure quantitatively and requires such measures as customer satisfaction and customer complaints which are subject to bias and political interference. Analysis is also a challenge because data gathered is questionable due to the aforementioned bias and the subjectivity of the measurements (customer satisfaction depends on the person).

Government’s inability to properly manage is not due to a singular cause as you claim. Rather it is the result of lack of discipline, lack of accountability, lack of innovation, lack of skill, poor resource (including human) allocation and corruption/interference.

42. @ David,

” Hyatt Centric Carlisle Bay, Barbados

The project will be led by international firm SB Architects and the hotel’s interiors will be designed by DAS Concepts.”

43. @Hants

That is Shelby and Mapp, they have a reasonable body of work in Barbados.

44. @ David,

SB architects is American.

http://www.sb-architects.com/about-us/our-firm/

SRM Architects Ltd. (formerly Selby, Rose & Mapp Architects Ltd.) is a highly respected and well recognized architectural firm operating in Barbados

45. Thanks Hants, confused the company with SRM.

46. Hi Redguard:

ISO 9000 started out as a management standard to benefit the manufacturing of goods. The ISO9001: 2000 version was specific to both goods and services. Our service firm was the first to achieve ISO 9001 in the Caribbean. I am not overstating its benefits since other governments have benefited from its implementation.

47. Has anyone got a full list of Solutions spokespeople and their areas of responsibility?

48. Barbados 2019 Avatar

@ Nextparty246

I think it is great advice you do away with continued pushing ISO 9000.

This is not appealing to Barbadians and will NOT get Solutions Barbados anywhere in terms of electoral support despite its benefits as pushed by you.

I am the holder of a Masters Degree in Management from an Overseas University.

What you and your party needs to focus on is the issues including corruption.

If your Solutions Party is elected then you can roll out and implement.

However as it is will never appeal to the masses who are comfortable with the current Status Quo.

So my FREE unsolicited advice is stop trying to flog a ISO 9000 DEAD HORSE.

49. Mottley says she “surrendered” her political role to lead Barbados out of worst crisis

Patrick Hoyos

May 16, 2019

Prime Minister Mia Mottley said on Wednesday that she had “surrendered” her role as a politician when she took on the responsibility of leading Barbados out of the worst crisis of its modern history.

The changes going on in the world all around Barbados had imposed a “new reality” on the country which required an “anchor” so that its people could “soar” once again as they had done in the past.

Addressing an audience of business leaders gathered for the 59th annual general meeting and luncheon of the Barbados Employers’ Confederation at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, the prime minister said she would not allow politics to “constrain” her from doing sometimes unpopular things in order to keep the country on the right track.

The prime minister, who led the Barbados Labour Party to victory in the election held one year ago on May 24, 2018, said at that time – with the Barbados economy sunk to its worst financial position in decades and the country facing the real possibility of devaluation – that she had established a partnership with the other stakeholders in the country, because the new government had “determined this was a journey we all had to walk together.”

She said people abroad were “amazed” at what all Barbadians had accomplished over the past year in the effort to, as she put it, “stop the rot,” and build a “platform for transformation.”

The new government had established the mission, which was the stabilisation and transformation of the country’s economy and institutions, and the major priority, she said, was to save the Barbados dollar.

As a result of the efforts of the whole country, she said, the national debt had been reduced from 175% to 129% of Gross Domestic Product and the country’s foreign reserves now stood at $1.1B. All other economic fundamentals were going in the right direction.

She added: “Our national mission is to be the best that we can be. It is an inclusive mission – we have to ask ourselves what constitutes excellence in every job and how do we fulfill it.” It was not a five-year mission, she added, and thus not tied to political considerations.

The prime minister said the new government was embarked upon “deconstructing and reconstructing” every agency of the public service, and by reducing both corporate and personal income tax it was putting disposable income back into people’s pockets.

She said that if the government undertook on its own the “Re-Re” programme – the so-called retooling and retraining initiatives necessary for transformation – it would be a lop-sided effort, as it required input from the other sections of society and the social partnership.

She wanted to re-enforce the principle that many hands made light work, because the country was “on course to do something extraordinary but we must stay on mission,” adding that “What makes this journey special is that it is shared.”

She noted, however, that systems take time to re-engineer, and so she needed every institution, business and household to redefine what it needed to do so that “we must be the best we can be.”

Said Ms. Mottley: “We must all move out of our comfort zones in order to move forward.”

Patrick R. Hoyos is a Barbadian journalist who focusses on business and the economy. He is CEO of Hoyos Publishing Inc., publisher of this website and the annual Who’s Who in Barbados Business.

50. the country is desperate for growth. desperate for fx inflows. desperate for jobs. the imf pain hasnt started to be felt yet and it will last for many years. but nothing justifies the govt compulsorily acquiring this land for a hotel.

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply