The following article was posted to the Financial Times and will be of interest to the BU family. Discuss for 10 marks.

-David, blogmaster

Barbados creditors fume at ‘absurd’ $27m advisory fees

“London-based boutique, White Oak, in line for payout for work on $7bn restructuring

“White Oak’s engagement letter was signed five days after Mia Mottley was sworn in as prime minister last year…”

May 9, 2019 8:30 pm by Colby Smith in New York

A little-known UK advisory firm stands to make about $27m from the restructuring of Barbados’s $7bn of debts — close to what Lazard earned seven years ago when it advised Greece on defaulted debt nearly 40 times bigger.

White Oak Advisory is a small firm with just two partners located opposite Claridge’s hotel in London’s Mayfair. The size of the fee it will receive from its work on the default has outraged the Caribbean island’s creditors.

“The fee is absurd given the size of the debt,” said Sean Newman, an Atlanta-based portfolio manager at Invesco and a member of the external committee of creditors. “I’ve never seen anything like this in my 20 years in the business.”

White Oak was founded a decade ago by Sebastian Espinosa, a former Houlihan Lokey banker, and David Nagoski, an ex-US Treasury Department official. It will earn about $27m from the bankrupt country, according to FT calculations. That is almost double what Ukraine paid for advice on its $18bn restructuring in 2015, according to people familiar with the deals.

The Bajan government hit back at the creditor criticism. “We believe it is excellent value for money given that through their efforts we have saved over $1bn of interest and principal. We would hire [White Oak] again.”

White Oak’s engagement letter indicates that the Bajan government agreed to pay the firm just over $21m for the successful restructuring of its roughly $5bn of domestic debts, excluding arrears. The letter was signed five days after Mia Mottley was sworn in as prime minister on May 25 last year, and two days before the government announced it was defaulting on its debts.

By any metric or rationale, the fee is outsized and unwarranted.

Sean Newman, Invesco
Negotiations with external creditors are ongoing. Once complete, the government is set to pay White Oak about $4m for restructuring approximately $910m of debt owed to foreign investors. The firm is also receiving an $85,000 monthly retainer.

It is likely to take at least another 12 months to finalise the deal, according to another person involved in the negotiations. The additional $2m in monthly fees brings the total payout from Barbados to roughly $27m.

“It is a disproportionate fee for a small country,” said one financial adviser.

“Barbados is not Greece, which had a massive debt stock, multiple debt instruments and huge political tensions,” the financial adviser said. “Double-digit fees are for very large transactions that are super complicated with a large number of instruments and a large number of different creditors.”

White Oak’s partners said the fee was justified because “placing this debt on a sustainable footing has required an unusually complex operation”. Its rates are “among the lowest charged in any Caribbean restructuring, again in relative terms”.

Barbados’s debts came to roughly 160 per cent of gross domestic product at the beginning of the restructuring in June last year, among the highest in the world.

Mr Espinosa and Mr Nagoski point out that their business in the country goes beyond the public restructuring and that they are not charging a fee for additional work. The pair say they are advising Barbados on several commercial contracts, as well as the restructuring of a number of state-owned enterprises and the country’s regional airline, of which the government is the largest shareholder.

However, few Caribbean debt restructurings have paid out fees in the tens of millions to financial advisers in recent years. Citigroup earned roughly $3m restructuring Jamaica’s $9bn of defaulted debts in 2013, and in Belize advisers were paid single-digit millions for the restructuring of more than $525m of debt in 2017, according to people familiar with both deals.

https://www.ft.com/content/164613a4-7234-11e9-bbfb-5c68069fbd15”

367 responses to “Two Man White Oak Making 27 Million from Restructuring Deal”

1. Piece the Legend Avatar

@Theophillus

There is a noticeable feature about people which supports your assessment of them

They lie about inconsequential stuff

These Mugabe clowns have been caught out with this White Hoax scheme and instead of just letting it go and take responsibility for their mistake, dem gots eveybody telling lies bout eveyting

And check out what they are doing in Parliament

“…Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn once again expressed his dissatisfaction with the continued late circulation of documents to members ahead of debate.

Government Senator Kay McConney had moments earlier moved the first reading of the Proceeds of Crime (Amendment) Bill which would provide greater transparency and compliance with international regulations in the financial sector.

After acknowledgment from President of the Senate Sir Richard Cheltenham, Franklyn said he had no intention of delaying Government’s business, but pointed out he was being asked to support an amendment he had not seen…”

This nasty move is to do two things.

It is to force Force Senator Caswell Franklyn to place their malware on his computer and

To get him off balanced for the real Sleight of Hand they are planning with another Act.I hahave been telling Caswell to protect his machines.

But now, AFTER DEM KILL OUT BRIAN, Caswell’s iT man is gone.

Caswell you cant trust Peter cause he is Freundal’s man, you got to get a new feller.

He needs to install a few virtual machines on a Linux OS and then you can use your laptop with anything they send you via email.

They fear your new party Caswell BUT MORE SPECIFICALLY THEY FEAR YOU

ATHERLEY WONT MAKE IT TO THE 2023 RACE.

HIS TENURESHIP AS SHEPHERD OF THE FOLD IS TAINTED WITH ***

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for my compatriot Theophillus thank you

3. The White Oak matter will not go away never mind the excuses offered by the 2 big up economists.It is a waste of taxpayers money.Nobody is suggesting WO is not capable based on their track record but the price is too high when compared with other companies and countries which went through the same debt restructuring.Banks charge a fee of 3% for the service.
    The PM says she will not be negotiating the LIAT matter in the public domain.Poor choice of words coming from an intelligent woman.A more acceptable approach would be to indicate a time frame for getting back to the press on the matter.LIAT is a significant investment of taxpayer dollars.The media has a big role to play unless there is something to hide.
    Watching the role of arrogance beginning to creep in already.

4. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Gabriel the Archangel

Welcome to the Mugabe Watchers.

Many of us have been saying this for years.

It takes a while for others to catch up with us – we, the few, and the vigilant.

What Mugabe is, CANNOT BE SUPPRESSED by any title or office or acclaim.

And this is why Owen called her a despot.

But slowly and surely you people will see this.

The sheeple never will.

Bajan sheeple and peeple can only stay thd course for 2 more years.

Either Mugabe Mottley starts to produce something by then OR HER PARTY IMPLODES.

The pressure socially and economically will cause the fractures

Watch and see

http://imgur.com/FTR7JMN

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

Pressure to produce things which she cannot.

And instances of 30 minister cabinets

Constitutional Changes for a man and 2 women who have produced NOTHING

INCREASES to her salaries

Haircuts for pensioners

$40 million scanners

$27 million dollar consultants who never do this job before

And the list deepens…

6. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

So all these PRETEND economists have these fancy titles and uppity personas and they don’t know shit about shit….lol, lol, murdahhh!!!

7. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

” Are steps in place to ensure that some level of expertise is passed on to a local, or will we never have that experience?”

please don’t hold your breath..

8. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

As long as there are no kickbacks and multimillion dollar thrills of syphoning and funneling taxpayers and pensioners money involved, they are not interested in training any local for anything.

ah wonder if the THICK SKULLS want me to shit up about that too…TOUGH.

9. Here are the items posted 2 days ago in response to the blog by ***

https://i.imgur.com/amr0cMO.png

Here is the second item

https://i.imgur.com/hLuyT7X.png?1

and the third one all captured 10 months ago when the second of the rented donkeys that we going beat told de ole man Shut the Fvck UP

https://i.imgur.com/16YJuoL.png

Do enjoy, I know Mugabe not White Hoax wont

10. @ the Honourable Blogmaster you assistance please with an item of drivel here thank youuu

11. “You (as in White Hoax, Avinash Persaud, Clyde Malik and Mugabe Mottley) can hide and buy land but you cannot hide and work um”

Show to the Bajan people where you have been working on 7 big debt restructuring projects in these your financials that you files with your British Authorities!!

You continue to show yourselves to be liars who are conspiring to steal US $27 million dollars from the Bajan Treasury or 1/5 th of the $200+ millions we the people of Barbados have borrowed from the IMF and have to pay back.

While you pay these two men US $85,000 a month.

You are thieves AND IN 2023 WE ARE GOING TO REPAY YOU FOR YOUR THIEVERY

12. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

Piece…ah told them the said same thing on another thread..

don’t care how they try to twist and turn it, they designed a 27 million US dollar heist from the bajan treasury and now they gotta live with it..and own it.

13. @ Theophillus Gazerts

De ole man is taking your advice very seriously about hiding and ting.

Here is a BIOPIC regarding the IMF and a perceptions about its involvement in this matter

https://imgur.com/0fpgKOH

14. Keep vigilant Theophillus.

Dem going try to place all sorts of inconsequential stories here pun BU but all sorts of shy$e especially de white black ORourke ting and everybody gine run off pun dat AND ALL DIS TEIFING OF $27 million US gine get lost in the comments.

But de ole man ent gine let dem forget US$27 million blown for a job dat costs $5 million

15. Will there be a government update on the work done by White Oak?
    A simple statement like “The BDS $54M was well spent. White Oak was successful in ….”
    You don’t have to reveal state secrets, just an update.

Tired of waiting for dribs and drabs from the Financial Times.