Submitted by Tee White

Much of the discussion going on in Barbados today about the current situation in the country tends to ignore both the historical and international context. However, it is very difficult to make sense of the current situation without taking these into account.

From a historical point of view, the origin of modern Barbados can be traced back to 1627, when the rising English merchant class and their aristocratic backers took control of the island and established it as a cog in Britain’s growing imperial economy. Its sole role in this relationship was, through various forms of forced labour and slavery, to generate wealth which would, in the main, be transferred to Britain for consumption. Therefore by the early 1920s, after 200 years under capitalism as slavery and 100 years under capitalism as colonial apartheid, the mass of working class Bajans, who were mainly the descendants of the enslaved Africans, were living in utter poverty and degradation. Mary Chamberlain in her book, Empire and Nation-Building in the Caribbean: Barbados, 1937-1966, points out that “wages in Barbados were the lowest in the region, ….. Barbados was one of the poorest of the British West Indian colonies…… public health was ‘peculiarly deplorable’…and Infant and child mortality were at devastating levels”. Even the British government’s Moyne Commission reported that in 1937, Barbados had the highest infant mortality rate and the second lowest number of government doctors per 100, 000 of the population in Britain’s Caribbean colonies.

It was in order to address these deplorable social conditions that the then generation of Bajans developed the early trade unions and political parties. With the winning of universal suffrage in 1951, there emerged a historic compromise. The old plantocracy, both local and foreign, were guaranteed their continued control of the island’s economy, while the new black governments of the BLP and DLP carried out social reforms to raise the standard of living of the mass of Bajans. These reforms in the fields of education, health care, public transport, public health and social welfare, coupled with the economic benefits of emigration, had a significant impact on the standard of living of most working class Bajans. They were possible because they took place against a background in which the ‘social welfare state’ was the dominant form of management of global capitalism. This approach rejected the 19th century free market arrangements where only the capitalists were considered as having a legitimate claim on the society’s wealth and where for the workers it was ‘every turkey fuh he own craw’. Those who failed to make it in this cut throat approach would have to fall back on the charity of the rich or go over the cliff. The social welfare state rejected this concept and in its place declared the responsibility of the society towards its members ‘from the cradle to the grave.’

Today, the international context has changed significantly. Neo-liberalism has emerged now as the dominant means of organising global capitalism. Its main characteristic is restricting the claim of the working class on the wealth they produce so that more can be funnelled to the rich and super rich. It amounts to robbing the poor to pay the rich. Workers wage levels are frozen or cut under austerity programs, workers are sacked and left jobless, tax cuts are brought in for the rich, social welfare programs which benefit the mass of people are cut or abolished, public utilities are turned into money making opportunities for the rich through privatisation and government contracts to private firms become a new form of corporate welfare. The aim and net effect of these reforms are to erode the standard of living of the working people and, wherever they are applied, there is a deepening of social inequality, with its resultant social despair, frustration and crime.

The point that we need to recognise is that the old model of economic and social development that Barbados has experienced over the last 80 or so years is over. This is the nub of the issue. The neo-liberal economic model demands the step by step shredding of the social welfare arrangements to which the country has become accustomed. Despite the claims of the IMF, this is not a temporary arrangement to help the country get back on its feet, but is intended as a permanent setup in which the standard of living of ordinary Bajans is reduced. All over the world, working people are beginning to voice their opposition to this direction of travel. The question is when will Bajans join in.

572 responses to “Barbados in the BIG Picture”

1. John

Calling African countries shit hole countries isn’t racist?

Refusing to condemn the white supremacists at a rally which turned violent as a resulted of their own actions isn’t racist?

Boasting about putting his hands in women panties isn’t sexist?

Separating Hispanic mothers from their children is xenophobic and bigoted?

Giving law enforcement the red light to shoot down Black men in the streets of America isn’t racist?

John, let us face it … the man is an awful human being… you really sick in you head and mad in your mind if you believe otherwise …

2. John

And just because Trump said exactly what he was going to do does not make it right if he appeals to one segment of the American electorate … and if Trump is such a good president why is it that people other than white do not believe that he has their interest at heart …why is it that other minorities and Blacks do not feel comfortable with this president?

3. John

For you information the poor class working people in America received less money on their Federal income return and the wealth paid less in Federal taxes and received more in their returns … So Trump has essentially took money from the poor and working class people, and put it in the hands of the rich … so get your damn facts straight before you start spreading nonsense on BU …

4. Riddle me this…..

Who said these words….

Asked to explain his resisting arrest by the police, he responded: “Of course I am going to resist arrest because I haven’t done anything wrong.”

5. Lexicon
    May 23, 2019 7:25 AM

John
    For you information the poor class working people in America received less money on their Federal income return and the wealth paid less in Federal taxes and received more in their returns … So Trump has essentially took money from the poor and working class people, and put it in the hands of the rich … so get your damn facts straight before you start spreading nonsense on BU …

The logic escapes me!!

Any examples you could give?

6. Lexicon
    May 23, 2019 5:48 AM

John
    Calling African countries shit hole countries isn’t racist?

Do you think Barbados is a shithole country?

Read BU and you will realise many people do.

7. John
    Here is the example: last year I received four- thousand dollars in Federal income taxes …this year I got back exactly two- thousand dollars in Federal taxes … so what Trump essentially did was to take away the tax exempts poor people had and gave them to the rich …

8. John

Working class Americans depend on the little money from their Federal income taxes …to get ahead of their bills …

9. It may very well be that Barbados is a shit hole country.

I also think the USA is a shit hole country.

Any country that sends its young men to war and then does not take good care of them when they come home is a shit hole country.

Any country that fights not to take care of the now cancer-riddled First Responders who ran into the Twin Towers on 911 is a shit hole country.

Any country where average hardworking people are still unable to get really sick without going bankrupt is a shit hole country.

Any country where AR 15 s are frequently used to mow down children in classrooms is a shit hole county.

Any country that thinks the way to deal with the issue is to arm teachers is a shit hole country

Any country that has fifty-six bridges that could collapse any minute and a President who walks away from fixing them because he is under investigation is a shit hole country.

And I have found out that America is no less corrupt than is Barbados. The notion of justice being blind is nothing but a joke in that country.

I could go on and on but if I were a President I would simply have found better ways of describing the challenges faced by African and Caribbean nations because America with all its wealth and white people is not doing as well as it should be.

10. Freedom Crier Avatar

John please leave this Marxist Dungeon… you have Educated those want to be Enlightened with the Truth Backed by Historical Facts… Leave the Rest of the unwashed to Stew in their Twisted Mental Bile. An Educated man like you should be Penning Article for BU but No, you like others whose voice of Reason are restrained to the BU Pits. You do Realise that after David insulted GP, that GP may he said to a.. with BU, who need this and has not been seen since! One Less Conservative Voice the BM has lost even if temporary! Conservatives are way outnumbered by the Collectives on BU…They Rule or so the BM thinks?

11. Lexicon
    May 23, 2019 8:03 AM

John
    Here is the example: last year I received four- thousand dollars in Federal income taxes …this year I got back exactly two- thousand dollars in Federal taxes … so what Trump essentially did was to take away the tax exempts poor people had and gave them to the rich …

Has it dawned on you that you are actually getting better at filing your income tax return!!

That is why you got less, you got it right!!!

Well, not totally right … there is a $2000 improvement you can make!!!!!!!!!!

12. And I have found out that America is no less corrupt than is Barbados.

Hasn’t GP been explaining why for ages?

13. John
    May 23, 2019 10:56 AM

Lexicon
    May 23, 2019 8:03 AM
    John
    Has it dawned on you that you are actually getting better at filing your income tax return!!
    That is why you got less, you got it right!!!
    Well, not totally right … there is a $2000 improvement you can make!!!!!!!!!!

+++++++++++++++

In simple terms, you have been overpaying the Government!!!

14. @ Hants

A nine-member jury today returned a unanimous verdict declaring Richard Delisle Arthur guilty of an ammunition charge.
    He was accused of having 102 rounds of ammunition in his possession on January 31, 2012 without a valid licence to do so.
    Arthur was remanded to HMP Dodds until July 19.(Quote)

Here is what is interesting: a man accused of illegal possession of ammunition was on bail for seven years, an offence, given his position in the Barbados Rifle Association and as a dealer, should have led to a heavy fine and a ban from being a dealer or having a gun license.
    The fact he has been on bail for that length of time is proof, further proof, the criminal justice system is broken. If t hat was not enough, a white tourist was accused of indecent assault on a local black woman. He was remanded overnight and the following day pleaded guilty. But, this genius of a magistrate, faced with a guilty plea, reprimanded and discharged the accused without a record of criminal offence.
    This mickey mouse criminal justice system is a joke. The man pleaded guilty, for Heavens sake. He is guilty of a criminal offence, what is all this about a reprimand and discharge.
    That is what courts impose on people for a breach of the peace (offence against good order and discipline as it is called in the services).
    Do we have a sentencing council? Is the chief justice in charge of sentencing policy? Who supervises the magistrates? Do magistrates have to undergo an annual test of competence?

15. John

Listen hear man! …you does talk a lot of rashole … how do you mean I getting better at filing my taxes? I tell that the entire US got back less in their taxes except the rich because Trump took away a lot of the Federal exempts … what is there so difficult to understand about what I am conveying Sir?

16. Lexicon
    May 23, 2019 12:04 PM

John
    Listen hear man! …you does talk a lot of rashole … how do you mean I getting better at filing my taxes?

Actually, it is Trump you got to thank.

He made it easier to fill in the blanks.

17. Hal

Looks like you are also suffer from brainwashing!!

18. @ John

“… John May 23, 2019 1:38 PM

Hal, Wasn’t the former PM’s brother held on ammunition charges?…”

I have often heard it said “…You must not twist the Tiger’s Tail even if you have removed its claws and taken out its teeth!”

This act of obvious aggression against the brother of the former prime minister OSA is going to have some serious fallout.

Granted that Richard was unwist to be caught with these weapons/ammunition but, this case has been orchestrated by Mugabe to get back at Arthur the former Prime Minister.

But here is where it will get really nasty cause Owen IS NO ONE’s BOY IN THE YARD and he will see to it that Mugabe will be a 5 year government

heheheheheheh

19. […] Barbados in the BIG Picture – (570) […]

20. what billion? trump is not a billionaire thr IRS proved it.
    trump made his money by cheating people and lying
    inflating the value of his property when he wanted to make a loan and deflating his property value when time comes to pay taxes. and he did not write that book, he had a ghost writer. you should not talk if you do not know the facts. the third worst
    president in the history of the usa.