Austerity is defined as a set of economic policies a government implements to control public sector debt. Austerity measures are the response of a government whose public debt is so large that the risk of default, or the inability to service the required payments on its debt obligations, becomes a real possibility. Default risk can spiral out of control quickly; as an individual, company or country slips further into debt, lenders will charge a higher rate of return for future loans, making it more difficult for the borrower to raise capital.

Source: Investopedia

One of the outcomes from an austerity program is criticism from those impacted. This blogmaster addressed the climate at play in the local environment in which BERT is being aggressively implemented by the government – The Rhetoric of Austerity.

Until there is improvement in the economy which took a precipitous dive under the last DLP administration, it is the right of the people and other stakeholders in civil society to express concerns. As always, government’s mandate is to implement policies to breath and sustain life in the economy and supporting sectors.

So far the Barbados austerity program has been following the script. The blogmaster has added our dissenting voice to those criticizing the prime minister for allowing her father to be conferred a knighthood. Against the background of the imbroglio of waiver of tax penalties to Elliot Mottley. And of recent the significant hike in the bus fare, a measure that will impact the most vulnerable in the society. Government’s remit will never change, the vulnerable MUST be protected – Pay the $3.50 or Alternatively Drink the Poison.

Another enduring criticism of the Mia Mottley led administration since the unprecedented mandate from the people on May 24, 2018 has been the size of her Cabinet. It is easily the largest in the world per capita in the world. Mottley’s response at the time of the announcement was – “Given the dire state of our economy and the tremendous work that would be involved in rescuing and rebuilding this country, the salaries of a few extra ministers is relatively insignificant given that there will be tremendous savings from the containment of wastage and the curtailment of corruption in my Cabinet”.

An effective Opposition should file Mottley’s promise and use it to measure government’s performance of the country in the coming months.  In  summary, if the Prime Minister holds the view that many hands make light work, during a time of austerity the optics of decisions and the uninspiring and demotivating influence they may be having must be evaluated AND reassessed if the situation demands it. Does the political reward of employing an unprecedented number of ministers, supported by a bevy of consultants worth the risk of voter disaffection?

The point about the size of the Cabinet is important, it will continue to generate criticism for another reason. The Prime Minister to her credit has demonstrated a high work rate since assuming the office. This cannot be refuted by a simple measure if compared to  a slothful predecessor. She is leading the CSME project, meeting with IMF, World bank and other global players and the list is long. What is disturbing is that Prime Minister Mottley has had to insert her presence into many ministries to lead the narrative or resolve ‘disputes’. Why should she have a large Cabinet if she is always exerting the influence of being in primus inter pares mode?

One example that should give the Prime Minster pause is the meeting called recently with stakeholders in the transport sector. A meeting to deal with the public backlash to the $3.50 bus far hike. Another meeting she had to intervene.

Prime Minister Mottley continues to enjoy good public support informed by the fact John Citizen is aware tough measures have to be taken. And a discombobulated Opposition. Mottley will have to tread clearly to ensure her policies do not create so much opposition that it railroads what she is attempting to do. Perhaps a midterm reshuffle is in the offing.

A word to the Prime Minister should be enough.

325 responses to “An Invisible Mottley Cabinet”

1. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

As you can see, I have limited my comments on this blog due to the feeling that David is no longer credible, but deceitful. He is also personal so you should not be surprised if he decides to allow a few of your submissions to feature on BU or none at all. I am not even bothering sending him the posters I have done so you can say, for now, that his master has won. Maybe, I email them to you and you can then use them as you wish.

I also have a few shirt designs for Alden Blackman. Will send those to you too if you wish. Give them to Mr Blackman only if he is serious about using them in some form of protest campaign against the injustices meted to him by the incumbent and past governments.

SSS out

2. One wonders if in the interest of transparency if the min ster should have given the public an explanation as to the sudden departure of Nicholls. More of the same?

CBC News Barbados
    10 hrs ·

https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/58647077_2427707607509935_1576580995694460928_n.jpg

Gregory Nicholls and the Transport Board have parted ways.

The legal practitioner was appointed Chairman of the Board when the Barbados Labour Party took the reins of Government almost a year ago.

While offering no real comment as to why the resignation was tendered this afternoon, Mr. Nicholls told CBC News the process was amicable.

Our Newsroom also contacted Minister of Transport, Works and Maintenance Dr. William Duguid, who said he had no comment on the development.

3. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Bajans are no longer swallowing the koolaid without thinking for themselves.

oh really now, is that the new plan..

“JOHNNY CROW
    Mia needs to keep her huge self out of the Cricket West Indies business. We don’t need politicians to be washing their mouths all over the new Board, especially a bully.
    It seems to me, that Barbados is trying to be the USA in the Caribbean. This trumped up idea that we must always be out front, and lead the others, especially when we consider who is leading, could end us all up further into hell.
    The open door policy off this slick BLP Administration is one I can point too. While most countries of the world are having problems with immigration, and are trying to control being overrun, Barbados has opened her legs to Tom, Dick and even Harry. We canot even provide enough jobs for our people at this stage of our existence, but the 30 fat cats who draw fat salaries, insist that we can.”

4. Robert Goren Avatar

@David Blogmaster

Recently, you have been called lots of names for expressing your opinion, not only from the usual idiot, who recently said people should not resort to calling others names simply because they don’t agree with them, but I see you have been found to be no longer credible, but deceitful.

Is this because you are not joining the team to call Mottley Mugabe or Rogue Works?

What puzzles me is that they prefer to criticise and insult you, but they can’t keep off BU, wanting to change the blog to suit themselves.

Yet they are not brave enough to CREATE their own blog for people to comment on.

5. Black people seem to be cursed with a trait that compels them to eat their kind. We can do well to learn from the minorities who walk among us.

6. Robert Goren Avatar

Johnny Crow is a bad example to use to say people are not drinking koolaid.

This person is a regular commenter on the online newspapers. He is a known DLP supporter in that forum and has been criticizing the BLP snd supporting Stuart and Sincker long before last year’s general elections.

But we all know how you op

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Grenville
    “If you need additional details, then you may contact me privately by via e-mail. You can then report to BU and others on whether you think that we should release it publicly, or how we can do so responsibly.
    Thanks for this offer. I will contact you by email.

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “Stop sitting on the fence.”
    I’ve given you a much more comprehensive outline of proposed policy options that any of the opposition parties in Barbados. I enumerated 9 policies which are achievable and realistic within the local economic circumstances and political culture. There is much about them that can be coherently criticised— NortherObserver, for example, points out that inheritance taxes are easily avoided— but I do not see the point of trying to encapsulate them in a sound bite as “austerity light” or any such descriptor. If you must condense them into two words I would suggest “community pragmatism.”

If you consider that to be sitting on the fence, so be it.

9. The issue remains the government inherited a financial situation and must do what is best for the country all I will say is that Jamaica appears to have found a formula and the Barbados government should pay attention to best practice the numbers do not lie

10. David BU ,i took a break , and returned to see the same jackasses who you allow to blog on your site , insulting you and you allowing them to continue.David it is time you ban these egotistical knowalls,Piece,SSS, and Hal Austin off this blog let them form their own and let,s see how sucessful they are.They over doing it now.

11. Latest report debt to gdp has dropped below 100. They have traveled a long road to arrive at today. While they are happy with the performance of the economy the poor and vulnerable continue to struggle.

12. @ PLT

The question remains: do you think a light-touch austerity programme would be good for the economy; an all out austerity programme; or none at all. I am not interested in your nine proposals. Just in the broad path you would follow. If you are not prepared to commit yourself, then end of conversation. You cannot keep one foot in, and the other out. That is the Barbadian way. Just have a look at BERT.

13. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“But we all know how you op”

And I know how yall …the duopoly…OP.

14. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    A “light-touch austerity programme [,..] an all out austerity programme […] none at all.” These are such broad generalizations as to be fundamentally meaningless. David quoted a respected paragraph long definition of ‘austerity’ and got raked over the coals because it was “vacuous.” I prefer quantifiable specifics to sound bites. I am prepared to commit myself to quantifiable specifics. That is both feet in.

15. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Some people are smart, some are not.

“I have resigned as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Transport Board today. I was not fired nor was I accused of any infelicities during my tenure. All of the instances of corruption concerning Transport Board occurred before my tenure and are well documented in the provisional report of the Auditor General who has just completed a special audit of the Board. When this report is published, you will all get to see how difficult it was to turn around the Transport Board given the poor shape in which I inherited it.

I cannot stop criticism or the slander of detractors but I can assure all of you friends that when my tenure of Chairman is reviewed, there will be no basis for the rumors now being spread on social media tonight. All is well with me and I have no regrets whatsoever.

I want to thank my friend Dr. William Duguid for the confidence, advice, consideration and support over the last ten months. He has been a true friend. I will also like to thank Prime Minister Mia Mottley for the opportunity I’ve been given. The Transport Board is indeed a tough assignment. I’ve tried my best and I am happy with the job I’ve done. But there is always that point in life where your best will not suffice and this is certainly that time for me to move on. I am human, not superhuman and there are things in life that you cannot change. This experience has certainly reinforced that fact for me.

I will also like to thank my wife, family and friends for the support I’ve received. I will also like to thank my clients for their forbearance patience and understanding over the course of this sojourn.

For those of you who are wondering, I am well. I will stay the course. Blessings.

Gregory”

16. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

REPEAT:

“All of the instances of corruption concerning Transport Board occurred before my tenure and are well documented in the provisional report of the Auditor General who has just completed a special audit of the Board. When this report is published, you will all get to see how difficult it was to turn around the Transport Board given the poor shape in which I inherited it.”

17. Hal
    If I were making the choices there would be much less austerity, for example:
    1. no increase in bus fares until a full fleet of new electric busses are on the road, then charge $4 and institute monthly passes for unlimited use at $80/month… licence only electric vehicles as PSVs starting in 2020,
    2. cut Cabinet salaries by 10% and not apply the 5% public service raise to Cabinet This actually doesn’t save much money but the optics are important),
    3. make property tax very aggressively progressive so that the owners of expensive property pay MUCH more in land tax than they save in reduced income tax. This would also cool property price inflation.
    4. concentrate growth planning on the agricultural sector instead of tourism,
    5. institute a 10% inheritance tax on estates of more than $1 million,
    6. revamp the VAT so that there are no exemptions and use the income tax system to compensate low income earners with earned income tax credits,
    7. remove all import duties on electric vehicles and then double the import duties on fossil fuel vehicles so that the cheapest economy vehicle is an electric one,
    8. set the rate for solar or wind power to the grid at a rate which makes it very attractive for individuals and companies to move to renewable energy provided they also invest in grid tied battery storage so that grid stability is maintained,
    9. revamp the securities legislation so that equity investments in Barbadian companies can be crowdfunded.(Quote)

@PLT

Do you seriously think this economic illiteracy could sort out the Barbados economy?
    1 -a freeze on bus fares;
    2 – cutting Cabinet salaries;
    3 – what do you mean by an aggressive property tax?
    4 – concentrate growth planning on agriculture, in an island 21×14?
    5 – a 10 per cent inheritance tax? What ? Explain your policy on IHT.
    6 – revamp VAT;
    7 – remove tariffs on electric vehicles;
    8 – new rates for solar energy;
    9 – revamp securities legislation.

All these proposals will somehow rescue the Barbados economy?

@PLT
    The truth is that from your postings it is clear you know nothing about financial economics and are simply writing nonsense after Googling. If one of my young reporters had written this nonsense I would out him/her on probation. I am out of this discussion.

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    “I am out of this discussion.”
    +++++++++++++++
    Clearly, because you seem to have nothing positive to contribute. Enjoy your day

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Robert Goren

And here I thought you were one of the more sensible ones, and indeed you are, but your comment certainly is not this time, so go in the corner and chillout. Also, please take this shite talk about keeping off of BU to yourselves. Where in any of my comments I stated I have a problem with BU. I am limiting my comments until further notice, and will not send any more posters because I have no idea to whom I am emailing them here on this BU site. My problem at the moment is with David(s) and the true David would tell you that I have never had reason to question his efforts on BU until of recent. Before that, I had the utmost respect for David and what he was doing here. In fact, I went as far as offering him another element to enhance his blog with protest posters to reach that segment of people who do not like to read. On here, the SSS never needed any support for anything that she has stated on this blog. Calling Mia Rogue Works is not a shout out to all to follow, so again chill to shite out. My vendetta against Mia Rogue Works Mottley is personal and did not just started when she took up office. It started long before that. Sooner or later, she will come out of hiding to show her true self just like she showed it by knighting her father so early in her tenure irrespective of what people may say or think, irrespective of sending home people, and ensuring that a tax amnesty was instituted to free him from the burden of interest accrue on his years of not paying taxes. My venom towards this Rogue did not start yesterday afternoon, it commenced years before. My feelings concerning her are well known, and where she is likely to pull wool over blinded fools eyes, the proof, that will prove me wrong or right, will be in her doings if blind fools can decipher her true meaning. So take a chill pill, boy.

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Waru

What instances of corruption? This is why I have a big ass problem with this Rogue Prime Minister. Corruption at the helm of the transport board as indicated. A call to conduct an investigation into the doings of the DLP has been uttered from afar and near. What has the rogue done? Made sure her friends are in the money; make sure her father is elevated above normal status; make sure her father and all those guilty of unpaid taxes for years get off scot-free. So why mention corruption at the transport board or any state entity when those in power want to give the impression that there is not a thing to investigate because corruption and an auditor general’s report that would hint at corruption is not corruption enough to do something about it.

21. Enuff,

A BLP supporter speaking about cannibalism is indeed rich! We do not have such short memories. Mia and Maria, Mia and Owen etc. I’m sure Fractured BLP could complete the list.

22. William Skinner Avatar

You have been critical of me and I have been critical of you. I have long denounced the corrupt , decadent BLPDLP.
    I find it strange that you now have hypocrites , pretending to be bleeding hearts telling you who to ban from BU.
    Prior to May 24th 2018 everything possible was said about the government. You never stopped anybody , you allowed them on both sides to castigate and attempt to humiliate anybody who attacked the Bees or Dees.
    Suddenly they now deciding what is fit and proper. I read long articles about corruption and endured senseless attacks on everybody: Mottley, Sinkler and Stuart were the prime targets.
    These Bees and Dees are the worst examples of what it means to love ones country. They don’t care about democracy- they care about having the most seats in parliament.
    They cannot defend the mismanagement of the Dems and they cannot defend the missteps of the current regime.
    What they are now telling you is to shut down the same people that had to endure their piffle prior to May 24th 2018.
    These Bees and Dees really believe the country belongs to them. Now they want to own BU.
    I guess after you chase way people the bus fares will come down and those who raped the country will be brought to justice and sending home poor black people will cease.
    Dees + Bees = Hees (Hypocrites)

23. All i would say is that Jamaica has found a formula to pay debt at a high price towards it social enviroment
    Anyone here remembers Tiviola Gardens
    Right now barbados murder rate continues to climb
    A hungry belly is an angry belly

24. The blogmaster decides who to ban. As you know banning is not a first option with the blogmaster. It must be an extreme when the good of all is potentially compromised by the few.

25. Read what Hants wrote. They each have a base that supports them no matter what. Those people are in the minority.

As the Barrow and Grantley people die out the bases will shrink… and so will yardfowlism.

26. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“So why mention corruption at the transport board or any state entity when those in power want to give the impression that there is not a thing to investigate because corruption and an auditor general’s report that would hint at corruption is not corruption enough to do something about it.”

meh nah know, must be part of the master plan…

27. Robert Goren Avatar

SSS

Please RE-READ what I wrote.

I never said you or anyone should KEEP OFF BU, nor did I tell David BU to BAN anyone.

All I said in a nut shell was that some of you have been calling David all types of names and insulting him, YET none of you can’t keep off the blog.

Can’t you see the difference?

It’s like Bajans calling brass racks to complain about FLOW, yet they find all types of reasons to keep the service.

Or just like how BLPNationnewspaper used to complain on BU about the Nation being biased, yet he bought the paper every day just to complain.

Does that make sense?

28. Robert Goren Avatar

And I know how yall …the duopoly…OP. (Quote)

You need to do two things.

You need to stop labelling people just because they don’t sing in your choir. Because I choose not to follow your folly, means I’m a BEE or DEE.
    You need to come with something original. Take the advice of a contributor who told you recently to stop copy and pasting other people’s contributions and piggy backing on them.

Then people may take you seriously.

I await your abuse because you can’t help. It is the type of person you are.

Have a wonderful day.

29. Freedom Crier Avatar

peterlawrencethompson April 30, 2019 8:42 PM

Re “I have launched nothing. I have no time to argue with those who cannot see beyond their own narrow self interest to the obvious fact that a government needs to be properly financed. It is boring and tedious to argue with people who lack the moral character to see that the purpose of their life in this universe is to contribute to the common good.”

That is your Argument in the Nut Shell…You want people to Serve the Government you do not want the Government to Serve the People …They will be the Masters not the Servants of di people.

PLT you believe that a man must waste his life to Support a Government not that the Government should serve the people by Extracting the Least from them that is Possible, that thereby the people would have their own means to pursue their own life the way they see fit!

PLT you believe the Government should tell the people, how to live, what to believe, who they must serve (the Government) and they are to have no other life but what is granted to them by their “god the Government,” that their life is not their own, it belongs to the Government.

THANK GOD WE DO NOT HAVE YOU IN POWER…BUT I CAN RECOMMEND WHERE YOU CANE ENJOY THE POLICIES YOU ESPOUSE, WHERE YOU CAN PLEDGE YOUR LIFE TO YOUR god THE GOVERNMENT…GO TO CHINA XI IS AWAITING YOU.

https://img.libquotes.com/pic-quotes/v1/ayn-rand-quote-lbe1u2h.jpg

30. Freedom Crier Avatar

Hal Austin @ PLT May 1, 2019 8:11 AM

“The truth is that from your postings it is clear you know nothing about financial economics and are simply writing nonsense after Googling. If one of my young reporters had written this nonsense I would out him/her on probation. I am out of this discussion.”

Amen & Amen another has AWOKE!!

You cannot claim to be an Entrepreneur and not believe in Increase that is the Law of the Harvest…But PLT does not believe in God or His word of Prosperity how then do you claim to teach people to be productive, when you only believe in Dividing wealth not Multiplying wealth? Maybe he is grooming his pupils to work for Government!

Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right April 30, 2019 9:44 PM @Peter Lawrence Thompson
    “It has become glaringly obvious after you several submissions here that you are clearly a thinker.”

WHAT IS CLEAR IS THAT SOME PEOPLE ARE ‘THINKERS’ WHILE OTHERS ARE ‘TINKERS!’…DEM TRYING TO SOUND ALL-KNOWLEDGEABLE… ONE LOAD OF DROSS!!

Pieces Di Legion & PLT Di Tinker of Di EMP (EGO MANIAC PARTY)

https://www.facebook.com/FrederickDouglassAmericanHero/photos/a.309430002529568/1362904457182112/?type=3&theater

31. @David
    One wonders if in the interest of transparency if the min ster should have given the public an explanation as to the sudden departure of Nicholls. More of the same?

++++++++++++++++++

If Nicholls resigned because of the TB issue with insufficient buses for patrons on National Heroes Day he has displayed a measure of integrity that is rare in Bajan public life. However, I believe the buck stops with the Minister William “Make Barbados Great Again” Duguid and his lack of comment speaks volumes.

This is an example of Party before country, they should retire the slogan “Mia cares”

32. @MoneyBrain

It depends on the reason he has resigned. There has to be a reason, at this point Nicholls has decided to stay within the ranks of the party. He has not done a David Estwick, yet.

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Robert Goren

Wow. And here I am thinking that you were neutral to the core, but by your very comment, you seek to present a subliminal that the SSS is some type of fool with clarity issues. You said more than what you are trying to imply, but such is the nature of some. The blog master dishes and so he should know how to receive. If my assumptions about him are wrong, the SSS is not too big to say that she is sorry. But, until that time, I have to remain suspicious of the blogmasters actions because recent behaviours suggest that he might be compromised and infiltrated by influences of another kind. Robert Goren, I have engage many on here in back and forths over the years to the point that it does not matter who you are, if it is shite I will say it is shite, if I am talking shite, I will accept that I am talking shite, that has been the mantra of the SSS from day one. On here, I am not about fabrication so you would never find any made up stores by me to paint the worst pictures about anyone. BU serves a great purpose, a very important service, hence those who may have a problem with certain recent elements will still continue to come here and make their contribution. I will limit mine until I decide that I am done. No one is trying to change the blog master’s blog or dictate to him, but if he behaves contrary to what people glean from the original him, then one has to question what the hell has changed. Doubtfulness will always take centre stage in anything to-do-bajan because the affairs of Barbados are heavily influenced by Sir Grantleys and persuasions just need a few thousand to get cheeks turning the other way.

Lorenzo

You two face cocksucking lick de pooch BLP sycophant. You think if David(s) ban me I give a wuk up? I am only here because I see a trouble Barbados in deep do-do and two political parties that want you to believe that none of them is responsible for where we are now. Glad to know your course is over though and that you come back to check the jackasses. Hope you learned new techniques in how to clean properly.

34. Freedom Crier Avatar

David Freedoms Post in Limbo an hour now,Do you Not think it is time to allow Freedom the Right to Speak without moderation given the Worthwhile Contributions and Awareness that Freedom brings to BU? By not being able to respond and Freedoms Comments restricted time wise reduces the impact of the intent when time elapses on the blog and freedoms comments including not showing up recent comments Box… Is Freedom infringing on BU in any way who says…Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Freedom Crier May 1, 2019 10:02 AM

35. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

And I know how yall …the duopoly…OP. (Quote)

36. Freedom Crier Avatar

The Hand of Providence …David look what I just came across…

• William Skinner July 28, 2018 10:46 PM @ Freedom Crier

“You continue to lift the contents of this blog. I am delighted , that we are finally sending a message to the Dees and Bees that we have indeed had “Enuff” of their non-productive nit -picking.”

Others have said Similarly…

Why then is Freedom being Continually Restrained by Administration?

37. Fractured BLP Avatar

Gregory Nicholls has resigned !

RESIGNED from the fact that he & the board he led cannot trust Mia Mottley !

RESIGNED because despite the sweet promises ….daily bus availabilty at the TB ….barely surpasses 30 buses !

RESIGNED from the fact that having buses for the BLP ” eat a food ” shin bing on the East Coast Road …..is more important than having buses for the travelling public !

Oh what a tangled web the BLP continue to weave !!

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

sooooo, the other day I posted a quote from Barbados Today, just to see if bloggers were only interested in political sound bites, or actually had any idea of the FACTS. I knew the answer before I posted it… LOL

The quote was by Verla DePezia…..

“”In addition to her calls for the sacking of Duguid and Phillips, Depeiza rushed to the defence of her party’s handling of the Transport Board for the last ten years. She argued that the entity was showing significant decline long before the DLP formed the Government in 2008.

“If you look at the Transport Board’s 2008-2009 annual report, table 20, it showed significant decline in the tens of millions beginning from the year 2004. So, the Transport Board decline was not in the last ten years,” she said.

The JOKE??? The TB like so many public bodies has NOT ISSUED AN ANNUAL REPORT since the year ending 2010!!!
    If you do not believe me, you can check here
    https://www.transportboard.com/about-us/reports-documents/
    Nor could I find anything more recent laid before Parliament.

So how would Ms DePezia know, or anybody else, about what had transpired in the past 10 years??? Rumour? Hearsay? Surely she did not have reports which the TB failed to submit to the people’s Parliament?

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

My layperson’s opinion
    “I was not fired nor was I accused of any infelicities during my tenure. All of the instances of corruption concerning Transport Board occurred before my tenure and are well documented in the provisional report of the Auditor General who has just completed a special audit of the Board.”

The battleground (area of disagreement) was how to deal with whatever entities/matters were “well documented” in the AudG special audit.

“When this report is published”….confirms the battleground. The admission of a ‘special audit’ and the word “corruption” now places pressure to publicly RELEASE the Report. The word “provisional” is the out. If the final report does not provide clear documentation, it can be said “the provisional report included certain conclusions which after careful consideration, and subsequent evidence, were not an accurate reflection of what transpired”.

Hmmmm…when is the IMF next due? could it be next week, it feels like they were just here?

40. “The JOKE??? The TB like so many public bodies has NOT ISSUED AN ANNUAL REPORT since the year ending 2010!!!”……“So how would Ms DePezia know, or anybody else, about what had transpired in the past 10 years??? Rumour? Hearsay? Surely she did not have reports which the TB failed to submit to the people’s Parliament?”

Excellent observation!!!

This is how politicians believe they could “pull the wool over the eyes” of intelligent people (not me, as you know, I’m appallingly ignorant). And to make things worse, if you had not highlighted that “blunder,” I bet Fractured BLP and especially Mariposa, would have defended DePeiza’s comments.

I await the results of the special audit, especially against the background of Caswell Franklyn saying in parliament, that some TB employees purposely sabotaged buses to make the former administration and their $22,000 per month Trinidadian consultant “look bad.”

41. Fractured why are there only above 30 buses on the road?Answer because in my view the indifferent Dems you support bought not one j/a.Therefore take a hike,you Dems should be ashamed to speak.As for SSS i do not care if you go or stay,since you are just an disappointed Dem and long may it last.Sarge i notice you and the other bajan canadian who likes to bring breaking news,which we in Barbados already know of,suddenly speaking of transparency.Tell me where were you between 2008 and 2018 when your DLP party refused to speak to the people on most matters, bunch of hyprocrites.

42. @ NorthernObserver,

The most efficient transport in Barbados between 2004 and 2010 .

43. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

More for the yardfowls to fret about, the lights are on.

“Ian Gooding Edghill, M.P for St Michael West Central, director of NIS causing panic in middle age barbadians who are receving an Invalidity Benefit. This is the government they just voted in. They are living in fear, anxiety , sucidial thoughts and is in emotional distress. Mr. Gooding Edgill was currently made chairman of the NIS board he took it upon himself to decided that the invalidity benefit you get when you leave service medically unfit is a pension. All the years it was classified as a benefit. Question is, for over thirty years this was practice with successive government and was never deem to be a pension. This benefit was given to supplement the small pension from the treasury and bring you closed to your salary before you leave medical unfit. Already bearing the brunt of taxes and rising cost of living one a small income Ian Gooding edgill cut the money in half and caused people more stress on their sickly bodies. These persons have mortgages, life insurance policies attached to morgages ,health insurance, car insurance, visa cards and other montly debts, are agonising how their are going to survive in this harsh economy with the draconian measures he implemented. Some getting as little 1500 monthly.
    Ian gooding edghill want to show PM mottley that he is worthy of running a minstry and bragged that he is going to save millions of dollars for her off the back of the said people who voted her in by cutting they measely income. He is also misquoting the pension regulation by quoting you can’t get two pension unless you join the service before 1975. This section refers to people who reach pensionable age. They also have a section and guide lines for people who left with injuries and sickness.

Pensions Regulation Cap.25

Section V supplementary from 24 (1) to
    3 and section (2) to 5 (3)

He and Dane Coppin, acting Acccountant General is the master mind behind this atrocity because he want to get appointed to accountant general.

Section 27 and27a. Refers to people who is retiring at pensionale age. Also it refers to ” the national insurance pension ” which means old age pension. Also to note the regulation also spoke about the reduction referred to in paragraph one (1) shall not take effect until the date the national insurance pension become payable . Question is which date the NIS become payable?. Isn’t retirement date age 67.
    It is a matter of interpretation.

The NIS sending a list of name to the treasury stating that these people are receiving a invalidity benefit pension and the treasury acts on it and stop people’s pensions. They do not care if you were medical unfit for 2, 10, 15 years they just cutting, so the aim is to stop paying pensions to everybody who retires medical.

Every government worker should take note this can be their fate tomorrow if they become incapacitated.

Where are the union’s?
    Where is caswell franklyn who is knowledgeable in this area?
    Where are the Parliamentary Representative.

Mia says she cares . Is she aware.? We need to hear from her. She needs to put a stop to this. This group of people take care of their own health care and don’t depend on government
    We know things would be hard but not for her to destroy a certain group of people and bring us to proverty.

If it become a pension from this year. Why are people who getting it already being affect. How many are going to loose their homes because of this cruel act of one man.

There are something name customs in law and it takes precedence .

This is class racism to the fullest.”

44. @NO

Prior to the 2008 Election Thompson promised to initiate Forensic Audits to look into the operations of some Gov’t entities, that promise quickly “went through the eddoes”. The last GM of the TB was a complete joke- a square peg in a round hole- and that’s putting it mildly.

The new Gov’t has been silent about audits so we don’t know if it has commissioned any, but it knew there were ongoing concerns about TB and it would have been in its best interest to check under the hood before driving the car off the lot.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Lorenzo

The second part of the comment was for you. My leaving would break your heart- Joker. How you feel about the BLP starting to show what is their true worth. And for God sake, stop associating me with the stinking DLP. I told you once, twice, three so in so times certified pooch licker that the stinking DLP is now dead to me. You head that hard to understand the difference?

46. NorthernObserver Avatar

what changed in 2010? isn’t it still so?

47. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

The master plan..lol

48. @ NorthernObserver,

2010 is the last time I visited Barbados. Can only speak about my personal experience.

49. “Mr. Gooding Edghill was currently made chairman of the NIS board he took it upon himself to decided that the invalidity benefit you get when you leave service medically unfit is a pension.”

Comments such as these should be “taken with a pinch of salt” and we must not be so eager and gullible as to believe “every and anything” we read, just because it may suit our particular agendas.

I found the post to be a bit “far fetched,” and decided to send a copy of it to a personal mate of mine who works in the NIS.

He told me that the “invalidity benefit” was ALWAYS classified as a pension, and persons who joined the Civil Service AFTER September 1976 are no LONGER ENTITLED to TWO pensions.

He also said people were getting away with a luxury that they shouldn’t have been receiving. That is one of the reasons why the Treasury has run out of money.

So, what they have done is ENFORCED what WAS already ESTABLISHED in LAW.

I further asked him if the “invalidity benefits” have been “stopped” or “cut,” to which he responded it was NOT…….only the one from the Treasury was affected.

This is one of the most significant problems of “copy and pasting” information without first attempting to ascertain if it’s credible or misleading.

More discussion is definitely needed on this topic.

50. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    now we know. The cat is outta the bag? Isn’t this how the Judy Wilson-Raybould issues began….a little information to get the ball rolling.

Leave a Reply to TronCancel reply